Novox Carprofen - Generic to Rimadyl

3.1 out of 5 Customer Rating
Novox Carprofen - Generic to Rimadyl is rated 4.5 out of 5 by 565.
  • y_2020, m_9, d_28, h_16
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.12
  • cp_3, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_4, tr_561
  • loc_en_US, sid_prod10930, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_1800petmeds
  • bvseo_sdk, dw_cartridge, 18.2.0, p_sdk_3.2.0
  • CLOUD, getAggregateRating, 8ms
  • reviews, product
1. We'll ask for your vet's info during checkout.
2. We verify your prescription and ship your order!
Close
Starts $31.96 $22.37
Most orders ship the same day

Novox Carprofen - Generic to Rimadyl

3.1 out of 5 Customer Rating
Novox Carprofen - Generic to Rimadyl is rated 4.5 out of 5 by 565.
  • y_2020, m_9, d_28, h_16
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.12
  • cp_3, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_4, tr_561
  • loc_en_US, sid_prod10930, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_1800petmeds
  • bvseo_sdk, dw_cartridge, 18.2.0, p_sdk_3.2.0
  • CLOUD, getAggregateRating, 8ms
  • reviews, product
Starts $31.96 $22.37
Most orders ship the same day
Chewable Tablet
Caplet
Please select all product options.

Reviews

Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing product!! Roscoe is 13 1/2 and overweight (125 pounds). Last summer I thought I was going to have to put him down. He kept falling, had trouble walking, and whined-- I was in tears. Over a year later, Roscoe is walking better, and never falls. This stuff is amazing!! And the only place I would even consider buying it is 1-800-PET-MEDS- a truly remarkable, caring company
Date published: 2018-09-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from relief Great product. Dixie (16 y/o) is moving around much better. I can tell she is feeling much better. Thank
Date published: 2018-08-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Novox Carprofen Novox Carprofen is a positive, life changing medication for our sweet, white Lab Buddy. It works remarkably well. It gives our 15 year old Lab, increased, pain free mobility from his arthritis. Thank you for putting a smile back on our Buddy's face!
Date published: 2018-07-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My 10 year old lab is moving better Lodi will always limp as his back right knee is missing cartilage & has a small chip but he’s moving better.We keep it slow,no more beach but we can go on walks & he’s happy.
Date published: 2018-07-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fast Shipping/Awesome Generics The speed of shipping was outstanding, and the generic of Rimadyl works wonderfully.
Date published: 2018-07-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Adds new life to old dog Nina has been on Carprofen for a little over a year and it has done wonders for her ability to be active and agile. She has bad knees and her age was telling on her until we tried this product. Nina is 15 years old and weighs 5.5 lbs.
Date published: 2018-07-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Mollie has been given Novox Carprofen for a few years+ now. We haven't seen a difference when she was given Rimadyl. This dog has had 2 surgeries by the time she was 3 years old. She is now soon to be 12 and doing well. Had a vet visit 3 weeks ago - blood work - everything looks good. I highly recommend the Generic brand Novox for your loved furry one!!!
Date published: 2018-07-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from great features so far he is doing great on medication
Date published: 2018-06-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product!! My Golden had arthritis with difficulty moving...after about a week, she’s like a new dog!!!
Date published: 2018-06-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product! My golden retriever has severe osteoarthritis in her elbow and had been limping badly until 2 years ago when she was started on 1 Novox Carprofen daily, and a prescription dog food for joint health. She has a liver panel done every 6 months and everything is fine. She no longer limps!
Date published: 2018-06-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product and price This item has been noticeably beneficial to my pets comfort. I suggest this over name brand anytime.
Date published: 2018-05-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great success with Carprofen We have a three-legged, 12 year old lab. We used Rimadyl with a once a day supplement for years when it was suggested that we try Carprofen because it’s much less expensive. We’ve been using Carprofen instead of Rimadyl for a couple years now and have great success.
Date published: 2018-05-12
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Carprofen I'm being cautious with 4 stars because after this supply, Charlie will need a blood test. He's 12 years old and just had surgery and he seems to be doing well.
Date published: 2018-05-09
Rated 4 out of 5 by from great medicine I bought double the quantity of medication for a fraction of the cost on 1800petmeds! This medication has helped my dog along with pain meds to manage arthritis in her left hip. I am very happy with my order and will continue ordering in the future with 1800petmeds!
Date published: 2018-04-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Improved quality of life This medication has drastically improved Beckett’s mobility. He is a soon to be 8 yr old 105 lb lab. Not overweight but very muscular. We never saw an injury but he was limping and uncomfortable., and appeared to require an anti inflammatory drug. He has been using the drug for approximately 2 weeks and he is running around like his younger self again. We r very pleased and no side effects thus far. We have not made a decision about the length of time we will use this drug.
Date published: 2018-04-06
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Generic does not seem to be the same I stopped using Novox and went back to Rimadyl for my old dog, even thought the Rimadyl is quite a bit more expensive. She improved remarkably within two weeks after I switched back to Rimady. I'm convinced that the generics like Novox are just not the same, even though they are supposed to be.
Date published: 2018-04-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great fast service Carprofen works wonders for rottie with bad hips. Can see difference in his movement and activity level. Great service and fast shipping, prices much better than from vet.
Date published: 2018-03-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Novox Carprofen Works Great!! Mandi has been using this for only five days and is responding well. I will be sure to get a refill prescription from my vet as the cost for this is much more lower than what they had her on before. Thanks for the great pricing to allow my dog to get around so much better so she has a longer life with us! We were afraid we had to make the "quality of life" decision and we are not longer at that point. Thank you!
Date published: 2018-03-26
Rated 4 out of 5 by from LOVE this stuff we went to the vet about 2 months ago, our Maxx was given this med and it worked very well for him..we ordered more from 1800. it has made a huge difference in Maxx
Date published: 2018-03-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing difference in my 14 year old lab. The difference in Sammi, our 14 year old lab mix, is like night and day. She was lethargic and had to be carried home from a walk to jumping down from our car and playing with a 3 year old friend again. These pills worked great, so happy we got them.
Date published: 2018-03-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This company goes above and behind. This company really goes above and beyond for my pet. I purchased meds and usual because I had moved they had my old vets name in their database so had to call my new vet. They went above and beyond to make sure she got her meds to me in a timely fashion. To be honest I think they care more about my pet than most of the vets I’ve seen. I have health issues and live for this dog. I truly appreciate anyone who care about her like this. This isn’t an isolated instance either, they always are nice.
Date published: 2018-02-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Visible Difference The vet recommended Carprofen for my almost 10 year old Golden Retriever and she's been on it for close to a year. The prescription ran out and the vet needed to see and examine her before a refill could be written, so there was a week or more where I wasn't able to give it to her. Within a day of taking Carprofen again, her limping almost completely subsided. After more than a week, her limping was rare or almost non-existent unless she does a lot a running or playing.
Date published: 2018-01-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Definitely see a difference My 10 year old golden was having trouble standing up on the hardwood floors. My vet suggested trying Novox and I’m really glad I did. We go to the dog park every day and I have actually seen her running around. She jumps on the bed now whereas before she had to be helped. I will do whatever I can do to give her the best life possible.
Date published: 2018-01-13
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Caused Diarrhea We bought this generic for our 13 year old lab, within a few weeks, we noticed he had diarrhea, leaky stool. We thought it was his glands and had them checked. I started to do online reviews of medicine and found it has these side effects. We stopped using it and two days later, he’s doing much better.
Date published: 2017-12-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great pill My old boy is 16 years old now and I really can say this helps a lot.
Date published: 2017-11-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from She loves her nightly walks. It keeps her mobile. Otherwise she'd be in too much discomfort to move around much and then of course her muscles and joints would degenerate making her condition even worse. She's 14 1/2. This way we go for walks nearly every night after I'm home from work, which I know would be impossible for her without the Novox. She loves her walks and this of course helps keep her mental state of mind healthy and happy.
Date published: 2017-11-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from She has spirit again and a bounce to her step ! We have had Sierra on Novox for 2 months now . She is Boxer/ Rottweiler mix 11 years old . Prior to Novox vet prescribed the Rimadyl for arthritis and a hip issue so bad that she was walking on 3 legs. The Rimadyl worked and it was a smooth transition to Novox which continues to keep her comfortable and active on all 4 legs!
Date published: 2017-11-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My dog still acts like a puppy! We've been using Novox carprofen for over six months and my dog is still doing great! He's a 12 year old male vizsla (birthday is August 17th) who was diagnosed with bladder cancer January 2017, he was given 3-6 months at best!! We decided to not do chemo as this cancer really has no good outcome :/ So we took our vets advise and have him this medication, for pain and some vitamin C. Not saying this is what anyone should do but so far he's still with us...minor issue of urine accidents due to the tumours but other than that he's still our happy boy!!
Date published: 2017-11-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works great My lab Tobi quit taking the chewable version of this med. So, we went with the regular pill. He has been taking it for years now and works as well as the name brand.
Date published: 2017-11-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from He can get up again without struggle again!! My dog Petey is over 16 years old, He was struggling to get up, tripping and he looked in pain out of his eyes..> He always had a great appetite to. After Novox/ Carprofen he can get up, easier and no more stumbles and tripping...he eats his whole dinner to/ Thank you.
Date published: 2017-10-16
  • y_2020, m_9, d_28, h_16
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.12
  • cp_3, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_4, tr_561
  • loc_en_US, sid_prod10930, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_1800petmeds
  • bvseo_sdk, dw_cartridge, 18.2.0, p_sdk_3.2.0
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 7ms
  • reviews, product

Questions

What is the shelf life after expiration date for Novox?

Asked by: shane
Thank you for your question. Medications have expiration dates to ensure that they are only taken within the time the active ingredient and other ingredients are safe and effective to use. Rimadyl/Novox has an expiration date after which the active ingredient, carprofen, may not be effective and may even be dangerous. The active ingredient in each form may have degraded to a point where not enough medicine is being supplied.
Answered by: leanniejo
Date published: 2020-07-06

how much of a dosage do i give my toy poodle weighing 15 lbs.

Asked by: reneemh
Thank you for your question. The usual total daily dose in dogs is 2 mg per pound given as a single daily dose or divided and administered as 1 mg per pound twice a day. Contact the veterinarian if your pet has bloody, black or tarry stools as these symptoms could indicate damage to the stomach or intestines, which could be dangerous. Before giving your pet any prescription or over the counter medications, check with your veterinarian or pharmacist as Novox requires a prescription from your veterinarian who will tell you what specific dosage is needed for your dog.
Answered by: leanniejo
Date published: 2017-08-01

I don't have a vet nearby. How do I get this without a RX?

Asked by: CT62
This medication requires a prescription from a veterinarian.
Answered by: Megan Student Pharmacist
Date published: 2017-12-25

Can benadryl be given to a dog while on this medication?

Asked by: Bernie
Yes, Benadryl (diphenhydramine) can be safely give with carprofen.
Answered by: SuzyCVT
Date published: 2018-11-27

I had assumed this generic would be really similar to rimadyl, but my dog likes the rimadyl chewables, thinks they are a treat. He sniffs the generic and refuses to eat it. Is this generic not flavored? If I can't get him to eat it can I return it?

Asked by: Joanna
Novox only comes in a non-flavored caplet. A chewable alternative to Rimadyl is Quellin. As for unused medication being returned, someone from PetMeds will need to answer that. All I know is that Florida state law (my home state) does not permit the return of any prescription medication for refund once it has left the building.
Answered by: SuzyCVT
Date published: 2017-07-23

If I have a prescription for Rimadyl 100mg chewable 60 county can I use it to by the generic Novox caplets? can I fax the prescripton? thanks.

Asked by: CODAH
This would only work if it says substitution allowed so that you can get the generic. Otherwise, I would just have the Vet change it for you and then can fax it. If you have further questions about this topic, I would call our customer support line, toll free 1-800-738-6337. Hope this helps.
Answered by: Trey W
Date published: 2017-03-08

Can I crush novavx

Asked by: Stella
It is okay to break or crush Novox and administer it to your dog mixed with food. It is best to mix it with some moist food and make sure there is plenty of clean water is available.
Answered by: 1800Petmeds Pharmacist
Date published: 2017-12-25

My dog is about 80/85 lbs what should be her dosages

Asked by: Mrs vee
The usual total daily dose in dogs in this weight range is around 75mg twice daily, given with food. Even though the usual daily dose in dogs is 1mg per pound twice a day, it is extremely important to contact the veterinarian in order to get the appropriate dose for your pet. Each pet is different and the correct dose would depend of a variety of factors that your veterinarian can assess.
Answered by: 1800Petmeds Pharmacist
Date published: 2016-12-30

where do you get the coupons from?

Asked by: joanne
Please contact our customer care department for pricing and special offers.
Answered by: S Duesler PharmD MBA
Date published: 2017-12-08

Where is this medicine actually made and where is it distributed from?  I supposed I could go farther and ask where the ingredients come from? Thanks....

Asked by: Jenn
Novox is manufactured by Norbrook, Newry, Ireland and distributed by Vetco, St. Joseph, MO.
Answered by: Lisa M
Date published: 2016-11-10

What if this medication is accidentally taken by a human

Asked by: Cjdi
This medication should only be given to dogs 6 weeks and older. If you accidentally ingested this medication, contact your doctor.
Answered by: Christine
Date published: 2017-01-04

Can I crush novox to be given by syringe 

Asked by: Bobbie
Yes, you can crush Novox. However, this medication should be given orally. If you cannot get your pet to take it, try putting it in their food.
Answered by: Christine
Date published: 2016-10-12

Do i need a prescription to get this medicine? My jack Russell has had surgery to remove a very bad tooth and just like the vet said, the other will probably go bad also. He is back to rubbing his face on the floor, screaming if his mouth is touched.

Asked by: Scooterbug
Yes, Novofox does require a prescription from your veterinarian.
Answered by: Christine
Date published: 2016-11-15

Has Novox caused side effects of irregular heartbeat and impairment of gate causing the dog to shuffle, sometimes barely able to move?

Asked by: Laura Lee
Thank you for your question. If there are any issues you believe that are being caused by a prescription medication you should consult your vet immediately.
Answered by: James PetMeds Pro
Date published: 2016-08-29

Can novax be split 4 x. My dog is 5.5 lbs so only needs a quarter pill

Asked by: Rere
The tablets/caplets can easily be split... each are scored in half which means that you're guaranteed to be giving 1/2 of the dose of the full tablet. When you break beyond the scoring, you aren't guaranteed the exact milligram... this shouldn't be too much of an issue though.
Answered by: chiararaiden
Date published: 2017-01-27

What is the strength of a 25 mg pill of Norox?

My dog currently takes a 1/2 of 25 mg/240# strength Vetprofen pill once a day.
Asked by: Phylis
The mg is short for milligram.. so, the strength of the tablet, is 25 milligrams. You're pet is on 12.5 milligram for each dose.
Answered by: chiararaiden
Date published: 2017-07-23

Why do you not offer the chewalbe carprofen?

Asked by: vanessa2155
We now carry Quellin which is a generic version of chewable carprofen. It is less expensive than the brand name Rimadyl chew tablets that we also carry. Please check it out on our website to compare prices.
Answered by: Linda petmeds pharmacist
Date published: 2017-01-27

mg of Novax

How do I know what dosage to give my 105 lb Malamute and my 8 lb. Doxie?? Thanks
Asked by: Val
Ask your vet for the proper dosage.
Answered by: Loan Wizard
Date published: 2015-06-09

Prescription from Mexican Vet

We use a vet in Mexico for our cocker spaniel as we live there six months of each year. Will you accept a prescription from a Mexican Vet for Rimadyl or Carprofen? Thanks.
Asked by: Cooper
Yes, we can fill prescriptions from a licensed veterinarian in Mexico
Answered by: Linda petmeds pharmacist
Date published: 2015-04-29

my doberman takes trifexix. is this a problem?

Asked by: dobie lover
Novox can be given to a pet that uses Trifexis.
Answered by: Kelly P
Date published: 2015-04-01

Vetalog & Carprofen

My dog was given a Vetalog injection today at the vet. She was diagnosed with a partial ACL tear and is in a lot of pain tonight. Is it ok to give her a Carprofen after receiving the Vetalog injection today?
Asked by: scaw528
This is a question that you must ask your veterinarian. The vetalog is a steroid and the Carprofen is an NSAID - non -steroidal anti-inflammatory drug.
Answered by: Kelly P
Date published: 2016-06-07

Cosequin DS plus MSM

My 2 year old yellow lab takes 1 Cosequin DS plus MSM and a fish oil tablet everyday. Is it ok to give her this medicine at the same time?
Asked by: Christy
I would ask your vet, he might want you to give 1 in the am and 1 in the pm.
Answered by: Love Louie
Date published: 2015-03-14

My 8-1/2 lb yorkie mix just started taking Novox and now has been shaking constantly. Is this a side effect and should I discontinue usage.

He was perscribed this for arthritis.
Asked by: Tabitha
I would speak to your vet, my 13 yr old does not shake at all when I give him the medicine. I put it in a little bit of peanut butter and give it to him every morning.
Answered by: Love Louie
Date published: 2016-07-03

Split the pill

Can this pill be split? My dog takes 75mg a day but the chewables. Half in the morning half at night.
Asked by: Amp1069
Yes
Answered by: Love Louie
Date published: 2016-07-10

What country is it made in?

Asked by: mcowan
Per the label on my bottle: Made in the UK Manufactured by Norbrook Laboratories Limited Newry, Northern Ireland Hope this helps.
Answered by: Hajnalka
Date published: 2014-12-29

I, too, would like to know what country this is made in.

Asked by: LilPeach
Thank you for your question. This is manufactured in Northern Ireland.
Answered by: Maureen PetMeds Pro
Date published: 2015-09-10

How much novox should I give my 80 lb boxer??

I have been giving Metacam, and Tramadol on occasion to my 12 year old Boxer Truman, He still gets around ok, but his back and his hind legs get really stiff from laying around.and it seems like he can't really bend his Hind legs so well any more.
Asked by: Crouchingtutu
2mg per lb per day. Abby weighs 20lbs and she gets a 25 mg pill 2x a day. I would go with 75 mg 2x per day. I feed with meal and a little peanut butter,
Answered by: Karen & Abby
Date published: 2014-08-19

Rimadyl / Novox

Can I email a copy of the Rimadyl bottle showing I have a script so I can order online?
Asked by: loulouok
Pet Meds handles everything including calling the Vet to get the Rx. They keep you informed of any delays so you can intervene if need be. Just order the meds you need and they'll take it from there...
Answered by: donna
Date published: 2014-11-13

how much novox for a 68 lb. lab?

how much novox for a 68 lb lab?
Asked by: patti
Your Vet should give you the dosage but my Doberman is about that same weight and she's on half a 100mg pill and half a 25 mg pill or 62.5 mg twice daily.
Answered by: donna
Date published: 2014-08-02

Can Novox cause more frequent urination?

Asked by: Kim
No change in urination that I can tell, and Rose has been on it for about 6 weeks now
Answered by: donna
Date published: 2014-08-02
  • y_2020, m_9, d_28, h_16CST
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvqa, vn_bulk_3.0.12
  • cp_3, bvpage2n
  • co_hasquestionsanswers, tq_149
  • loc_en_US, sid_prod10930, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=LAST_APPROVED_ANSWER_SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_1800petmeds
  • bvseo_sdk, dw_cartridge, 18.2.0, p_sdk_3.2.0
  • CLOUD, getContent, 13ms
  • questions, product

What is Novox Carprofen - Generic to Rimadyl?

Novox is a generic equivalent for Rimadyl (carprofen). It's a non-steroidal anti-inflammatory (NSAID) used to treat pain and inflammation due to arthritis and other joint diseases, including hip dysplasia. It's also used to reduce fever and to help control postoperative pain associated with soft tissue and orthopedic surgery in dogs. Novox is available as caplets (non-chewable) and liver-flavored chewable tablets. Both are scored for easy dosing and administration. Novox requires a prescription from your veterinarian.

Generic to Rimadyl and same as: Vetprofen, Carpaquin, Norocarp and Putney's Carprofen

For:

Dogs (over 6 weeks of age)

Benefits:

  • Can be given as a single daily dose
  • Effective
  • Easy to administer
  • Available as a liver-flavored chewable tablet or caplet
  • Same ingredient as: Norocarp, Vetprofen, Carpaquin and Putney's Carprofen

How does Novox Carprofen work?

Novox works by reducing hormones that cause pain and inflammation in your dog's body.

Cautions:

Talk to your veterinarian or pharmacist before giving any other prescription or over-the-counter medications to your pet. Should not be given to pregnant or lactating dogs, or dogs used for breeding. Novox Carprofen should not be given to humans or cats. Seek medical assistance if cats or humans accidentally take Novox Carprofen. Your dog should not be given Novox Carprofen if he/she has had an allergic reaction to carprofen, the active ingredient of Novox. Do not give your dog Novox Carprofen if he/she has had an allergic reaction to aspirin or other NSAIDs (for example deracoxib, etodolac, firocoxib, meloxicam, phenylbutazone or tepoxalin) such as hives, facial swelling, or red or itchy skin.

Brand Name:

Novox (Vedco)

Generic Name:

Carprofen (car-pro'-fen)

What is the most important information I should know about Novox Carprofen?

Novox is a prescription medication that is FDA approved for use in dogs. Novox is available as 25 mg, 75 mg and 100 mg capsule shaped scored non-chewable caplets, and as 25 mg, 75 mg and 100 mg liver-flavored scored chewable tablets. The usual total daily dose in dogs is 2 mg per pound given as a single daily dose or divided and administered as 1 mg per pound twice a day. Contact the veterinarian if your pet has bloody, black or tarry stools as these symptoms could indicate damage to the stomach or intestines, which could be dangerous. As with all prescribed medicines, Novox Carprofen should only be given to the dog for which it was prescribed. It should be given to your dog only for the condition for which it was prescribed. It is important to periodically discuss your dog's response to Novox Carprofen at regular check ups. Your veterinarian will best determine if your dog is responding as expected and if your dog should continue receiving Novox Carprofen. Before giving your pet any prescription or over the counter medications, check with your veterinarian or pharmacist.

What should I discuss with my veterinarian before giving Novox Carprofen to my pet?

Tell your veterinarian if your pet is pregnant or lactating. Tell your veterinarian if your pet is being given any other medications, including those you can get over the counter. Also, tell your veterinarian if your dog has any other medical problems or allergies. Talk to your veterinarian before giving your pet any new prescription or over the counter medicines. Tell your veterinarian if your dog has ever experienced side effects from Novox or other NSAIDs such as aspirin, had digestive upset (vomiting and/or diarrhea), liver disease, kidney disease, or a bleeding disorder (for example, Von Willebrand's disease).

How should Novox Carprofen be given?

Give this medication exactly as directed by your veterinarian. If you do not understand the directions ask the pharmacist or veterinarian to explain them to you. Novox should be given with food. Keep plenty of water available for your pet. Store Novox Carprofen Caplets at room temperature, away from moisture and heat. Store 25 mg and 75 mg Novox Carprofen Chewable Tablets at 59-86F (15-30C). Store 100 mg Novox Carprofen Chewable Tablets at controlled room temperature, 68-77F (20-25C). Use half-tablets within 30 days. Keep this medication away from children and pets. Do not give Novox Carprofen to cats. Novox Carprofen Chewable Tablets are formulated to taste good to pets. Keep Novox Carprofen in a secured storage area out of the reach of your dog and other pets. If your dog ingests more than your veterinarian prescribed, or if your other pets accidentally take Novox Carprofen, contact your veterinarian right away.

What are the possible side effects of Novox Carprofen?

Adverse reactions may include decreased appetite, vomiting, diarrhea, dark or tarry stools, increased water consumption, increased urination, pale gums due to anemia, yellowing of gums, skin or white of the eye due to jaundice, lethargy, incoordination, seizure, or behavioral changes. Serious adverse reactions associated with this drug class can occur without warning and in rare situations result in death. Pet parents should be advised to discontinue Novox Carprofen therapy and contact their veterinarian immediately if signs of intolerance are observed. The vast majority of patients with drug-related adverse reactions have recovered when the signs are recognized, the drug is withdrawn, and veterinary care, if appropriate, is initiated. Talk to your veterinarian about any side effect that seems unusual or bothersome to your dog.

What happens if I miss giving a dose of Novox?

Give the missed dose as soon as you remember. However, if is almost time for the next regularly scheduled dose, skip the missed dose and give the next one as directed. Do not give a double dose of the medication.

What should I avoid while giving Novox Carprofen to my pet?

Many over the counter cough, cold, allergy and pain medicines contain aspirin or other NSAIDs similar to Novox Carprofen. Before giving any prescription or over the counter medications talk to the veterinarian or pharmacist.

What other drugs will affect Novox Carprofen?

Tell your veterinarian if your pet is being given aspirin; another NSAID such as etodolac, carprofen or piroxicam; an over the counter cough, cold, allergy or pain medication; warfarin; furosemide; a steroid such as prednisone, insulin; or probenecid. Novox Carprofen should not be given with other NSAIDs (for example, aspirin, deracoxib, etodolac, firocoxib, meloxicam, tepoxalin) or steroids (for example, cortisone, dexamethasone, prednisone, triamcinolone). Drugs other than those listed may also interact with Novox Carprofen. Talk to your veterinarian before giving your pet any prescription or over the counter medicines.

Novox Carprofen - Generic to Rimadyl Directions:

  • The recommended dosage for oral administration to dogs is 2 mg/lb of body weight daily. However, Novox Carprofen should be given only as prescribed by your veterinarian.
  • Use the lowest effective dose for the shortest duration consistent with individual response.
  • Novox Carprofen can be given as a single full dose once a day or divided in half and given twice a day.
  • Novox Carprofen is for dogs only. Do not give to cats.
  • Novox Carprofen Caplets and Chewable Tablets are scored and dosage should be calculated in half-tablet increments. Tablets can be halved by placing the tablet on a hard surface and pressing down on both sides of the score.
  • Novox Carprofen Caplets and Chewable Tablets may be offered to your dog by hand or placed on food. If your dog does not willingly consume the tablets, they may be hand-administered (pilled) as with other oral tablets.
  • Care should be taken to ensure that your dog consumes the complete dose.
Tip:

Keep plenty of water available for your pet to drink.

Novox Carprofen - Generic to Rimadyl Dosage for Dogs:

Dogs:
WeightDosage
All weights2 mg/lb of dog's weight once a day or 1 mg/lb of dog's weight twice a day, or as prescribed by your veterinarian.
Novox Carprofen - Generic to Rimadyl Dosage for Cats:
Cats
Do not use!
Novox Carprofen - Generic to Rimadyl Dosage for Horses:
Horses
Do not use!

Storage:

Novox Carprofen Caplets should be stored at room temperature. Store 25 mg and 75 mg Novox Carprofen Chewable Tablets at 59-86°F (15-30°C). Store 100 mg Novox Carprofen Chewable Tablets at controlled room temperature, 68-77°F (20-25°C). Use half-tablet within 30 days.

Novox Carprofen Ingredients:

Novox Carprofen 25 mg
Active IngredientAmount
Carprofen 25 mg
Novox Carprofen 75 mg
Active IngredientAmount
Carprofen75 mg
Novox Carprofen 100 mg
Active IngredientAmount
Carprofen100 mg

What is Novox Carprofen - Generic to Rimadyl?

Novox is a generic equivalent for Rimadyl (carprofen). It's a non-steroidal anti-inflammatory (NSAID) used to treat pain and inflammation due to arthritis and other joint diseases, including hip dysplasia. It's also used to reduce fever and to help control postoperative pain associated with soft tissue and orthopedic surgery in dogs. Novox is available as caplets (non-chewable) and liver-flavored chewable tablets. Both are scored for easy dosing and administration. Novox requires a prescription from your veterinarian.

Generic to Rimadyl and same as: Vetprofen, Carpaquin, Norocarp and Putney's Carprofen

For:

Dogs (over 6 weeks of age)

Benefits:

  • Can be given as a single daily dose
  • Effective
  • Easy to administer
  • Available as a liver-flavored chewable tablet or caplet
  • Same ingredient as: Norocarp, Vetprofen, Carpaquin and Putney's Carprofen

How does Novox Carprofen work?

Novox works by reducing hormones that cause pain and inflammation in your dog's body.

Cautions:

Talk to your veterinarian or pharmacist before giving any other prescription or over-the-counter medications to your pet. Should not be given to pregnant or lactating dogs, or dogs used for breeding. Novox Carprofen should not be given to humans or cats. Seek medical assistance if cats or humans accidentally take Novox Carprofen. Your dog should not be given Novox Carprofen if he/she has had an allergic reaction to carprofen, the active ingredient of Novox. Do not give your dog Novox Carprofen if he/she has had an allergic reaction to aspirin or other NSAIDs (for example deracoxib, etodolac, firocoxib, meloxicam, phenylbutazone or tepoxalin) such as hives, facial swelling, or red or itchy skin.

Brand Name:

Novox (Vedco)

Generic Name:

Carprofen (car-pro'-fen)

What is the most important information I should know about Novox Carprofen?

Novox is a prescription medication that is FDA approved for use in dogs. Novox is available as 25 mg, 75 mg and 100 mg capsule shaped scored non-chewable caplets, and as 25 mg, 75 mg and 100 mg liver-flavored scored chewable tablets. The usual total daily dose in dogs is 2 mg per pound given as a single daily dose or divided and administered as 1 mg per pound twice a day. Contact the veterinarian if your pet has bloody, black or tarry stools as these symptoms could indicate damage to the stomach or intestines, which could be dangerous. As with all prescribed medicines, Novox Carprofen should only be given to the dog for which it was prescribed. It should be given to your dog only for the condition for which it was prescribed. It is important to periodically discuss your dog's response to Novox Carprofen at regular check ups. Your veterinarian will best determine if your dog is responding as expected and if your dog should continue receiving Novox Carprofen. Before giving your pet any prescription or over the counter medications, check with your veterinarian or pharmacist.

What should I discuss with my veterinarian before giving Novox Carprofen to my pet?

Tell your veterinarian if your pet is pregnant or lactating. Tell your veterinarian if your pet is being given any other medications, including those you can get over the counter. Also, tell your veterinarian if your dog has any other medical problems or allergies. Talk to your veterinarian before giving your pet any new prescription or over the counter medicines. Tell your veterinarian if your dog has ever experienced side effects from Novox or other NSAIDs such as aspirin, had digestive upset (vomiting and/or diarrhea), liver disease, kidney disease, or a bleeding disorder (for example, Von Willebrand's disease).

How should Novox Carprofen be given?

Give this medication exactly as directed by your veterinarian. If you do not understand the directions ask the pharmacist or veterinarian to explain them to you. Novox should be given with food. Keep plenty of water available for your pet. Store Novox Carprofen Caplets at room temperature, away from moisture and heat. Store 25 mg and 75 mg Novox Carprofen Chewable Tablets at 59-86F (15-30C). Store 100 mg Novox Carprofen Chewable Tablets at controlled room temperature, 68-77F (20-25C). Use half-tablets within 30 days. Keep this medication away from children and pets. Do not give Novox Carprofen to cats. Novox Carprofen Chewable Tablets are formulated to taste good to pets. Keep Novox Carprofen in a secured storage area out of the reach of your dog and other pets. If your dog ingests more than your veterinarian prescribed, or if your other pets accidentally take Novox Carprofen, contact your veterinarian right away.

What are the possible side effects of Novox Carprofen?

Adverse reactions may include decreased appetite, vomiting, diarrhea, dark or tarry stools, increased water consumption, increased urination, pale gums due to anemia, yellowing of gums, skin or white of the eye due to jaundice, lethargy, incoordination, seizure, or behavioral changes. Serious adverse reactions associated with this drug class can occur without warning and in rare situations result in death. Pet parents should be advised to discontinue Novox Carprofen therapy and contact their veterinarian immediately if signs of intolerance are observed. The vast majority of patients with drug-related adverse reactions have recovered when the signs are recognized, the drug is withdrawn, and veterinary care, if appropriate, is initiated. Talk to your veterinarian about any side effect that seems unusual or bothersome to your dog.

What happens if I miss giving a dose of Novox?

Give the missed dose as soon as you remember. However, if is almost time for the next regularly scheduled dose, skip the missed dose and give the next one as directed. Do not give a double dose of the medication.

What should I avoid while giving Novox Carprofen to my pet?

Many over the counter cough, cold, allergy and pain medicines contain aspirin or other NSAIDs similar to Novox Carprofen. Before giving any prescription or over the counter medications talk to the veterinarian or pharmacist.

What other drugs will affect Novox Carprofen?

Tell your veterinarian if your pet is being given aspirin; another NSAID such as etodolac, carprofen or piroxicam; an over the counter cough, cold, allergy or pain medication; warfarin; furosemide; a steroid such as prednisone, insulin; or probenecid. Novox Carprofen should not be given with other NSAIDs (for example, aspirin, deracoxib, etodolac, firocoxib, meloxicam, tepoxalin) or steroids (for example, cortisone, dexamethasone, prednisone, triamcinolone). Drugs other than those listed may also interact with Novox Carprofen. Talk to your veterinarian before giving your pet any prescription or over the counter medicines.

Novox Carprofen - Generic to Rimadyl Directions:

  • The recommended dosage for oral administration to dogs is 2 mg/lb of body weight daily. However, Novox Carprofen should be given only as prescribed by your veterinarian.
  • Use the lowest effective dose for the shortest duration consistent with individual response.
  • Novox Carprofen can be given as a single full dose once a day or divided in half and given twice a day.
  • Novox Carprofen is for dogs only. Do not give to cats.
  • Novox Carprofen Caplets and Chewable Tablets are scored and dosage should be calculated in half-tablet increments. Tablets can be halved by placing the tablet on a hard surface and pressing down on both sides of the score.
  • Novox Carprofen Caplets and Chewable Tablets may be offered to your dog by hand or placed on food. If your dog does not willingly consume the tablets, they may be hand-administered (pilled) as with other oral tablets.
  • Care should be taken to ensure that your dog consumes the complete dose.
Tip:

Keep plenty of water available for your pet to drink.

Novox Carprofen - Generic to Rimadyl Dosage for Dogs:

Dogs:
WeightDosage
All weights2 mg/lb of dog's weight once a day or 1 mg/lb of dog's weight twice a day, or as prescribed by your veterinarian.
Novox Carprofen - Generic to Rimadyl Dosage for Cats:
Cats
Do not use!
Novox Carprofen - Generic to Rimadyl Dosage for Horses:
Horses
Do not use!

Storage:

Novox Carprofen Caplets should be stored at room temperature. Store 25 mg and 75 mg Novox Carprofen Chewable Tablets at 59-86°F (15-30°C). Store 100 mg Novox Carprofen Chewable Tablets at controlled room temperature, 68-77°F (20-25°C). Use half-tablet within 30 days.

Novox Carprofen Ingredients:

Novox Carprofen 25 mg
Active IngredientAmount
Carprofen 25 mg
Novox Carprofen 75 mg
Active IngredientAmount
Carprofen75 mg
Novox Carprofen 100 mg
Active IngredientAmount
Carprofen100 mg