3.7 out of 5 Customer Rating
Frontline Plus is rated 3.6 out of 5 by 567.
  • y_2021, m_1, d_15, h_17
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.12
  • cp_3, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_12, tr_555
  • loc_en_US, sid_prod10459, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_1800petmeds
  • bvseo_sdk, dw_cartridge, 18.2.0, p_sdk_3.2.0
  • CLOUD, getAggregateRating, 13ms
  • reviews, product
Starts $44.99 $36.99
Most orders ship the same day

Frontline Plus

3.7 out of 5 Customer Rating
Frontline Plus is rated 3.6 out of 5 by 567.
  • y_2021, m_1, d_15, h_17
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.12
  • cp_3, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_12, tr_555
  • loc_en_US, sid_prod10459, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_1800petmeds
  • bvseo_sdk, dw_cartridge, 18.2.0, p_sdk_3.2.0
  • CLOUD, getAggregateRating, 13ms
  • reviews, product
Starts $44.99 $36.99
Most orders ship the same day
Dog
Cat
Please select all product options.
Customers Also Viewed
Starts $35.70 $24.99
Shop Now
Customers Also Viewed
Starts $35.70 $24.99
Shop Now

Reviews

Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Product I've been using this for years on my dog. It's a great product. We have never had an issue with Frontline. Easy to use.
Date published: 2019-09-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My poor dog was going crazy because she is allergic to fleas. Frontline Plus worked straight away. She’s happy and so am I.
Date published: 2019-09-19
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Not effective Have treated our dogs with this monthly and they still got fleas. Never again. And Yes we treat our yard and home.
Date published: 2019-09-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product! Molly & Winston have never had fleas or ticks since using Frontline
Date published: 2019-09-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Working great I bought this product and a heartworm product. My pup did great on both. Super happy with the 800petmeds and their products
Date published: 2019-09-05
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Frontline Plus I have used Frontline for years, always with success and cat and dog. I recently purchased Frontline Plus and it is not working. I don’t think it is as strong as once was. I am looking for another flea product that works.
Date published: 2019-09-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works great I have been using Frontline plus for 20 years and have never had any issues. It always works great.
Date published: 2019-09-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Like product Have been using this product for a couple of year and like it
Date published: 2019-08-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product im very happy and pleased with this product no flees or ticks.
Date published: 2019-08-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works extremely well I began using Frontline 6 months ago and am very pleased with it. No flees. Maxwell has had no side effects which I am so happy for. The last flee medication was a disaster.
Date published: 2019-08-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from It's easy to use, cheaper than the Vet and does a great job. I live on 10 acres of land in the country so we have tons of fleas and ticks!Hardly ever see one on our dogs.
Date published: 2019-08-10
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Topical over Ingestible I tried the investable flea and tick options; but poor Gray did have spotty blood in his stools, so I went back to the topical: Front Line. I've always used this product with much success on all three of my previous dogs.
Date published: 2019-07-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works great I have been using Frontline plus since I adopted Styx and it's been great. 100% free and clear of anything.
Date published: 2019-07-29
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Frontline Just started using. Vet recommended, so far everything is good
Date published: 2019-07-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Front Line Plus Has been my choice with all my dogs in many years. Currently last 11 for my English male Bull dog. I give it Thumbs UP!
Date published: 2019-07-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Its good stuff!) Ive purchased frontline and advantix both in the past. They r great for dogs and cats. Frontline was cheaper this go around and equally good in my opinion. Great value fir the $! Enjoy!!
Date published: 2019-07-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Product! We have used the frontline products on our cats for years. Always happy with the results. No fleas, no lice, no ticks. Thank you Petmeds!
Date published: 2019-06-28
Rated 1 out of 5 by from I bought Frontline for my dogs and cats this year. I’ve used it before & never had an issue. This time it didn’t do ANY good. I spent over $80, and today I had to go spend another $80+ to get flea meds from the vet, as this did absolutely nothing.
Date published: 2019-06-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Always Works!! We have been using this product for years. Never have had any fleas or ticks (only one we found dead once) on our dog. We have had many vets try to change us to another brand, but after trying a different brand once, we went back to Frontline. The different brand caused her to get a horrible pus rash at the spot of application. It also was so smelly, we could hardly stand it, much less our poor dog that had it on her. Now we stay with Frontline Plus!!!
Date published: 2019-06-07
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Doesn't work anymore! I've used Frontline Plus as directed on both my dogs for years with decent results (occasional fleas) but highly recommend looking to another product as it is worthless now! This was almost $100.00 wasted!
Date published: 2019-05-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Frontline works Great! I've been using Frontline on my dogs for over 10 years now. It works great! I've never had a flee issue.
Date published: 2019-05-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from It works! Frontline Plus is an essential tool here in Deer Tick Central! My poodle's life deepends on good protection. I have never found a tick on her, nor any fleas, in all the years I have used this product, and she has never had an adverse reaction to it.
Date published: 2019-05-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product Della and Effy have been using Frontline and Sentinel for years. They are both great products and they work. No fleas Thanks Mama Carolyn
Date published: 2019-05-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Product I have used this product for 20+ years on multiple dogs and never been disappointed.
Date published: 2019-04-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My 8 year old dog has been using frontline plus since he was 3 months old. He’s a city dog but in parks almost every day. No side effects nor any problems with ticks/fleas etc. He’s very happy!
Date published: 2019-04-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from No Muss, No Fuss, No Greasy Mess!! We've been using Frontline Plus on our dogs (multiple, over the years) since it was just Frontline. We've always had a Lab in the bunch and being water dogs I wondered about efficacy after swimming when we first used it. No worries-- it worked as well on the water dogs as the dogs who thought they would melt if they got wet. The other great advantage to this product is that there is no greasy mess from their coat, which is especially important as our dogs are all house pets.
Date published: 2019-04-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Frontline Plus I have been using frontline for years and never had any issues! It came very fast plus a surprise for my two pups who loves treats!
Date published: 2019-04-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product, I have been using front line since it first came out many years ago and several dogs and breeds. I have had no problems with this product and I have had working hearing dogs and household inside dogs. It applies easily and once it drries on them I do not worry about people possibly touching them. For folks who have had problems do not forget that you should part the pets hair before applying so that it reaches the skin, at least that’s what I do. This product WORKS if used properly and monthly.
Date published: 2019-04-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from So far this is a great product I purchased Frontline because Max had a really bad reaction with another product. So far I am really pleased with how it works and we have had no problems.
Date published: 2019-03-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from works on our cat Been using Frontline Plus for many years on our cat, now 10 and we have never had a problem. We do use it year round even though it's unlikely to be a problem in northern winters. Our cat is an indoor cat and I am sure this helps. However, we feel she is at risk when she goes to the vets where she may be in the proximity of untreated cats. She has spent time at our son's house where they have 3 OUTDOOR cats while are are on vacation and I know THEY have had flea problems on their cats and in their house. Using Frontline Plus on OUR cat seems to have protected her during this exposure. Seems like it is the dog owners who have rated this product negatively but on the whole cat owners are happier.
Date published: 2019-03-03
  • y_2021, m_1, d_15, h_17
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.12
  • cp_3, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_12, tr_555
  • loc_en_US, sid_prod10459, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_1800petmeds
  • bvseo_sdk, dw_cartridge, 18.2.0, p_sdk_3.2.0
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 7ms
  • reviews, product

Questions

I have 4 cats one of which is allergic to fleas and their salvia. He gets terrible scans and pulls his hair out. Which product would be better? Frontline plus or Bravecto? How is frontline plus in comparison with Bravecto? Which 

Asked by: Sammii
For pets with allergies to flea it is best to get a product that repels fleas and kills on contact so the flea / tick does not have to bite your pet to die. Frontline Plus is applied topically and can be purchased without a veterinarian prescription. Bravecto is administered orally in the form of a chew and requires a veterinarian prescription.
Answered by: Crystal RPTechnician
Date published: 2019-04-09

My dogs are very small, around 3-4 pounds, can I still use the 5-22 pound Frontline?

Asked by: grcts
Thank you for your question. Your dog must be 5lbs and up and at least 8 weeks of age or older to use this product. We offer K9 Advantix which can be used for dogs 4lbs and up if your dog is 7 weeks of age or older. If your dog is less than 4lbs we recommend looking into spray or shampoo flea and tick preventatives or consult with your DVM.
Answered by: Crystal RPTechnician
Date published: 2019-03-26

My 12 year old cat has the mange, he is miserable. Will this work on his problem?

Asked by: Cyrisez
Thank you for your question. Frontline Plus is labled to aid in the control of sarcoptic mange infections in dogs not cats. Treatment for mange (demodex) infection in dogs and cats varies depending upon whether it is a localized or generalized mange infection. Consult your DVM.
Answered by: Crystal RPTechnician
Date published: 2019-03-05

I just treated my cat a week ago with the Frontline Plus. Tonight i pulled 2 fleas off of him back to back that were on his face. He is also an inside cat. Is that normal for him to still have living fleas on him?

Asked by: Susie
Thank you for your question. Fleas rise to the top of your pet's hair coat as they die. So if you start seeing more fleas after treating your pet, consider it a victory for the killing force. If after 30 days you see no improvement and the medication was purchased with our company we can offer you an exchange for another product.
Answered by: Crystal RPTechnician
Date published: 2019-01-22

Can I use frostline plus for dogs on my cat too? 

Asked by: Ally1
Thank you for your question. Frontline Plus is available for cats and dogs seperately . Be sure to purchase base on your pet type and their weight.
Answered by: Crystal RPTechnician
Date published: 2019-01-15

My dog has her bed that she sleeps in. How do I make sure there are no fleas or eggs in her blankets that could possible get back into her hair? 

Asked by: Ally1
You may want to wash all of your furry baby's bedding.
Answered by: Cherley Petmeds Pro
Date published: 2019-03-23

Is frontline plus safe for pregnant dogs

Asked by: Cher
Frontline Plus is approved for use on breeding, pregnant, or nursing animals
Answered by: Cherley Petmeds Pro
Date published: 2019-01-11

If my 9 month old puppy is at 22 pounds, should I go ahead and buy next weight or stay at the lower weight one?

Asked by: dahargrave
Thank you for your question. As your puppy is still growing you can use the next size up which is 23-44lbs.
Answered by: Crystal RPTechnician
Date published: 2018-11-19

We incorrectly applied wrong dossge. have some frontline for 23 to 44 lbs In the cupboard. Applied to our 50 lb dog on 12th when she got home from kennel. It is 18th and she still has live fleas. Should we apply a secong dose of this 23 to 44 lb

Asked by: Maddiemom
Thank you for your question. The correct dosage of Frontline Plus for a 50lbs dog would be 45-88lbs. As you applied the incorrect dose you would need to apply a second application of the 23-44lbs dose. Alternative would be you may wait 3 weeks and apply the correct dose of 45-88lbs.
Answered by: Crystal RPTechnician
Date published: 2018-11-19

Is frontline FAD approved safe for cats

Asked by: Stella
Thank you for your question. Yes the Frontline Plus for Cats is FDA approved.
Answered by: Sarah B PetMed Pro
Date published: 2018-11-02

My cat passed away. I have some Frontline Plus for cats remaining.  Is of safe and effective to use it on my dog that is about 16 pounds? 

Asked by: Elizabeth
Thank you for your question. We do not recommend using Frontline Plus for Cats on your dog.
Answered by: Sarah B PetMed Pro
Date published: 2018-10-30

I applied medicine last wk but not sure I got it all on her & she’s still itching like crazy. Can I give her another dose 

Asked by: Goose
Thank you for your question. The medication cannot be reapplied for at least 3 weeks. In the interim we recommend Capstar . Capstar Flea Treatment Tablets are used to kill fleas on dogs and cats, which begins working within 30 minutes. Capstar will kill more than 90% of adult fleas within 4 hours on dogs and 6 hours on cats. The effects of Capstar only last for 24 hours. Be sure when reapplying Frontline Plus in 3 weeks you use the medication as follows: Part your pet's hair between the shoulder blades until you can see the skin, and place the tip of the applicator on the skin. Apply entire content of applicator. Wait until application site is fully dry (usually 24 hours) before bathing your pet or letting your pet go swimming.
Answered by: Crystal RPTechnician
Date published: 2018-12-10

how long do you have to wait before giving a bath to rid of eggs?

Asked by: lauretta
Thank you for your question. It is recommended not to bathe, shampoo or swim pets during the 48 hours after treatment. It is okay to bathe your pet before using Frontline Plus but the coat should be completely dry prior to application.
Answered by: Crystal RPTechnician
Date published: 2019-05-21

Hi, I have a dog and three cats who are infested with fleas. If I use the dog one on the dog is it safe for her to be around the cats? I looked at some other companies and their products say that she can’t be around the cats cause it could kill them!

Asked by: SelenaB
Thank you for your question. Frontline Plus is formulate for use for cats and dogs so there is no need to separate your pets when treated.
Answered by: Crystal RPTechnician
Date published: 2018-09-05

I have a terrier mix male dog that is almost 19 yrs old....is this product safe for him??? Both he & my female chihuahua have fleas, both house dogs & having terrible problem w the fleas. I tried an over the counter med but it's not working❗❗

Asked by: Jojo
Thank you for your question. Frontline Plus is for cats/kittens and dogs/ puppies (8 weeks of age and older). Your pet may experience some temporary irritation at the site of application. If signs persist or become severe within a few days of application, consult your veterinarian immediately.
Answered by: Crystal RPTechnician
Date published: 2018-08-27

Hi if my dog already has a tick will the kill them ? Or do we still need to remove them

Asked by: Jay68
Thank you for your question. Frontline Plus kills 100% of adult fleas on your pet within 12 hours and 100% of all ticks and chewing lice within 48 hours.
Answered by: Crystal RPTechnician
Date published: 2018-08-27

Do you need a prescription for this med. frontline plus 

Asked by: Patty
Thank you for your question. Frontline Plus does not require a prescription.
Answered by: Crystal RPTechnician
Date published: 2018-08-01

I ha e a 10 week old kitten. When can I start flea control meds

Asked by: Lori
Thank you for your question. Frontline Plus can be used on Cats/kittens 8 weeks or older.
Answered by: Crystal RPTechnician
Date published: 2018-07-09

I’ve read that deer ticks need to be attached about 24 hours to transmit Lyme disease.  The description for Frontline Plus lists 48 hours as the time to kill 100 percent of ticks.  Can you recommend a product that may be more effective in the timing?

Asked by: Bentley
Ticks actually need to be attached to the dog for 48-72 hours (2-3 days) to transmit Lyme disease. Frontline Plus kills 100% of ticks within 48 hours. Other products that may give you a quicker kill rate would be Bravecto or Simparica.
Answered by: SuzyCVT
Date published: 2018-06-28

If l order today will get tomorrow 

Asked by: Sandy
Our standard shipping takes 5 to 7 business days. We do offer 3 to 5 day delivery for $3.99, 2 day delivery for $12.99, and overnight delivery for $19.99.
Answered by: Cherley Petmeds Pro
Date published: 2018-06-21

Have 13 year old cat. Never needed more than a flea collar until we moved. Now we have chiggers no fleas or ticks in our area only chiggers. Will this work for Kitty and is it safe because of her age?

Asked by: Paducahkitty
While Frontline Plus is not specifically labeled to control chiggers, since they are a family of mites, it definitely wouldn't hurt your kitty, even at her age, to try to see if it helps.
Answered by: SuzyCVT
Date published: 2018-06-17

I applied frontline on June 2. In the area is a bad reaction. How can I tell the difference between hot spot and a chemical burn/reaction?

Asked by: Denjen
Thank you your question. Hot spots (flea allergy dermatitis) is a skin disease (dermatitis) caused by your pet's allergic reaction to fleas. Derm means skin, and "itis" means inflammation, so your pet will have itchy, inflamed skin. Inflamed skin is hot, red, and itchy. A potential side effect of the medication is some temporary irritation at the site of product application. If signs persist or become more severe within a few days of application, consult a veterinarian immediately.
Answered by: Crystal RPTechnician
Date published: 2018-06-10

Does this require a prescripition?

Asked by: Charlotte
Thank you for your question. This medication does not require a prescription.
Answered by: Crystal RPTechnician
Date published: 2018-06-07

How many months do I apply this

Asked by: Kathleen
Frontline Plus should given once a month.
Answered by: Cherley Petmeds Pro
Date published: 2018-05-31

I am niw treating my cat, Sprocket with revolution. I need a tick prevention. What do you suggest? Frontline Plus? Generic?

Asked by: Reggi
Flea5X Plus is a monthly topical flea and tick preventative for dogs and cats over 8 weeks of age. It contains the same active ingredients as Frontline Plus. Flea5X Plus contains fipronil to quickly kill adult fleas, ticks and chewing lice on your pet. Flea5X Plus also contains (S)-methoprene, an insect growth regulator that kills flea eggs and larvae to help end the flea life cycle.
Answered by: Cherley Petmeds Pro
Date published: 2018-05-30

Is there any negative side effects?

Asked by: Chaz
Thank you for your question. Pets may experience some temporary irritation at the site of product application. If signs persist or become more severe within a few days of application, consult a veterinarian immediately.
Answered by: Crystal RPTechnician
Date published: 2018-05-15

How efficient is the generic frontline and what makes it generic?

Asked by: Cathleen
Thank you for your question. Our Flea 5x Plus the generic to Frontline is a very popular product. The product is just as efficient but for a fraction of the cost. A generic medication means the drug product is comparable to a brand/reference listed drug product in dosage form, strength, quality and performance characteristics, and intended use.
Answered by: Crystal RPTechnician
Date published: 2018-05-13

Why does the Frontline flea prevention say $135.? And then at checkout say &160?  

Asked by: Rhonda
It looks like you did not apply the current discount code. Please hit the "View Cart" button located at the top right-hand corner of our site and under the pictures of the items you have in your shopping cart, there is a little white box that allows you to enter your OFFER CODE. Please type in the offer code that you have and click "Apply".  
Answered by: Cherley Petmeds Pro
Date published: 2018-05-03

Can you use frontline with a chewable? If so, what?

Asked by: Sandy K
Yes. It is safe to use Frontline Plus with an oral flea and tick pill. You may click on the link below to view our flea pills and oral medications. Here is the link: https://www.1800petmeds.com/Flea+Pills+++Oral+Medications-cat4950008.html
Answered by: Cherley Petmeds Pro
Date published: 2018-04-23

Can't weigh the 7 year old feral cat but estimate she might not weigh 5 lbs. Is this safe on all cats regardless of weight?

Asked by: Poorhows
Thank you for your question. Frontline Plus is safe for cats of all weights (8 weeks of age and older).
Answered by: Crystal RPTechnician
Date published: 2018-04-15
  • y_2021, m_1, d_15, h_17CST
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvqa, vn_bulk_3.0.12
  • cp_3, bvpage2n
  • co_hasquestionsanswers, tq_1526
  • loc_en_US, sid_prod10459, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=LAST_APPROVED_ANSWER_SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_1800petmeds
  • bvseo_sdk, dw_cartridge, 18.2.0, p_sdk_3.2.0
  • CLOUD, getContent, 14ms
  • questions, product

What is Frontline Plus?

Frontline Plus is a monthly topical flea and tick preventative for dogs and cats. Frontline Plus kills 100% of adult fleas on your pet within 12 hours and 100% of all ticks and chewing lice within 48 hours. Frontline Plus contains an insect growth regulator, S-methoprene, which kills flea eggs and larvae. It's effective against all stages of the brown dog tick, the American dog tick, the lone star tick and the deer tick (the major carrier of Lyme disease). (3 Pack = 3 doses which lasts 3 months.)

For:

Cats/Kittens and Dogs/Puppies (8 weeks of age and older)

Benefits:

  • Kills all existing fleas on your pet within 12 hours
  • Each application provides a full month of protection
  • Also aids in the control of sarcoptic mange infections in dogs
  • Great for pets that swim since it's waterproof
  • Kills ticks and chewing lice

How does Frontline Plus work?

Frontline Plus contains fipronil, a broad-spectrum insecticide and slow-acting poison that disrupts the central nervous system of fleas and ticks and S-Methoprene, an insect growth regulator that kills flea eggs and larvae. The active ingredients are stored in the sebaceous glands and are wicked out of the hair follicles and continuously re-applied to the coat for long-lasting, waterproof protection.

Cautions:

Your pet may experience some temporary irritation at the site of application. If signs persist or become severe within a few days of application, consult your veterinarian immediately.

Brand Name:

Frontline Plus (Merial)

Generic Name:

Fipronil, S-methoprene

What is the most important thing I should know about Frontline Plus?

Frontline Plus provides convenient and effective flea and tick control in dogs and cats, puppies and kittens. It is effective against all stages of the brown dog tick, the American dog tick, lone star tick and deer ticks (the major carrier of Lyme disease). It also kills flea eggs and flea larvae. Frontline Plus rapidly eliminates infestations with chewing lice. Frontline Plus for Dogs and Puppies also aids in the control of sarcoptic mange infections.

How should Frontline Plus be applied?

Use Frontline Plus for Dogs (fipronil 9.8% and S-methoprene 8.8%) on dogs and puppies 8 weeks or older. Frontline Plus for Dogs is available as 0.67 ml applicators for use on dogs and puppies up to 22 lbs, 1.34 ml applicators for dogs 23-44 lbs, 2.68 ml applicators for dogs 45-88 lbs and 4.02 ml applicators for dogs 89-132 lbs. Wait 24 hours to fully dry before swimming or bathing. Do not reapply for 30 days. Use Frontline Plus for Cats (fipronil 9.8% and S-methoprene 11.8%), available as 0.5 ml applicators, on cats and kittens 8 weeks or older. Place the applicator tip through the animal's hair to the skin level between the shoulder blades. Apply the entire contents of the applicator in a single spot to the animal's skin. Use only one applicator per treatment.

What are the potential side effects of Frontline Plus?

Pets may experience some temporary irritation at the site of product application. If signs persist or become more severe within a few days of application, consult a veterinarian immediately.

What happens if I miss giving a dose of Frontline Plus?

Give the missed dose as soon as you remember. Do not give a double dose of the medication.

What happens if I overdose my pet on Frontline Plus?

Contact your veterinarian immediately.

What should I avoid while giving Frontline Plus to my pet?

Keep away from heat and open flame. This product is harmful to humans if swallowed. Call a physician or poison control center for advice. Have patient sip water do not induce vomiting unless advised to and patient is conscious. This product can cause eye injury. Flush eyes with plenty of water. Call a physician if irritation persists. Avoid contact with skin, eyes or clothing. Wash thoroughly with soap and water after handling.

Frontline Plus Directions:

  • Remove the Frontline Plus applicator from the child-resistant package. You can use scissors to snip the foil, or pull the tab to remove the applicator.
  • Snap open the tip of the Frontline applicator - away from your body and face.
  • Part your pet's hair between the shoulder blades until you can see the skin, and place the tip of the applicator on the skin.
Tip:

Wait until application site is fully dry (usually 24 hours) before bathing your pet or letting your pet go swimming.

Frontline Plus Dosage for Dogs/Puppies: (8 weeks of age or older)

Dogs/Puppies: (8 weeks of age or older)
WeightDosage
Up to 22 lbsApply contents of 1 applicator once a month (0.67 ml)
23-44 lbsApply contents of 1 applicator once a month (1.34 ml)
45-88 lbsApply contents of 1 applicator once a month (2.68 ml)
89-132 lbsApply contents of 1 applicator once a month (4.02 ml)
All weightsApply contents of 1 applicator once a month (0.5 ml)
Frontline Plus Dosage for Horses:
Horses
Do not use!
Storage:

Should be stored at room temperature.

Frontline Plus Ingredients:

Frontline Plus for Dogs & Puppies 8 weeks or older and up to 22 lbs
Active ingredients (per 0.67 ml applicator)Amount
Fipronil9.8%
(S)-methoprene8.8%
Frontline Plus for Dogs 23-44 lbs:
Active ingredients (per 1.34 ml applicator)Amount
Fipronil9.8%
(S)-methoprene8.8%
Frontline Plus for Dogs 45-88 lbs
Active ingredients (per 2.68 ml applicator)Amount
Fipronil9.8%
(S)-methoprene8.8%
Frontline Plus for Dogs 89-132 lbs
Active ingredients (per 4.02 ml applicator)Amount
Fipronil9.8%
(S)-methoprene8.8%
Frontline Plus for Cats & Kittens 8 weeks or older:
Active ingredients (per 0.50 ml applicator)Amount
Fipronil9.8%
(S)-methoprene11.8%

What is Frontline Plus?

Frontline Plus is a monthly topical flea and tick preventative for dogs and cats. Frontline Plus kills 100% of adult fleas on your pet within 12 hours and 100% of all ticks and chewing lice within 48 hours. Frontline Plus contains an insect growth regulator, S-methoprene, which kills flea eggs and larvae. It's effective against all stages of the brown dog tick, the American dog tick, the lone star tick and the deer tick (the major carrier of Lyme disease). (3 Pack = 3 doses which lasts 3 months.)

For:

Cats/Kittens and Dogs/Puppies (8 weeks of age and older)

Benefits:

  • Kills all existing fleas on your pet within 12 hours
  • Each application provides a full month of protection
  • Also aids in the control of sarcoptic mange infections in dogs
  • Great for pets that swim since it's waterproof
  • Kills ticks and chewing lice

How does Frontline Plus work?

Frontline Plus contains fipronil, a broad-spectrum insecticide and slow-acting poison that disrupts the central nervous system of fleas and ticks and S-Methoprene, an insect growth regulator that kills flea eggs and larvae. The active ingredients are stored in the sebaceous glands and are wicked out of the hair follicles and continuously re-applied to the coat for long-lasting, waterproof protection.

Cautions:

Your pet may experience some temporary irritation at the site of application. If signs persist or become severe within a few days of application, consult your veterinarian immediately.

Brand Name:

Frontline Plus (Merial)

Generic Name:

Fipronil, S-methoprene

What is the most important thing I should know about Frontline Plus?

Frontline Plus provides convenient and effective flea and tick control in dogs and cats, puppies and kittens. It is effective against all stages of the brown dog tick, the American dog tick, lone star tick and deer ticks (the major carrier of Lyme disease). It also kills flea eggs and flea larvae. Frontline Plus rapidly eliminates infestations with chewing lice. Frontline Plus for Dogs and Puppies also aids in the control of sarcoptic mange infections.

How should Frontline Plus be applied?

Use Frontline Plus for Dogs (fipronil 9.8% and S-methoprene 8.8%) on dogs and puppies 8 weeks or older. Frontline Plus for Dogs is available as 0.67 ml applicators for use on dogs and puppies up to 22 lbs, 1.34 ml applicators for dogs 23-44 lbs, 2.68 ml applicators for dogs 45-88 lbs and 4.02 ml applicators for dogs 89-132 lbs. Wait 24 hours to fully dry before swimming or bathing. Do not reapply for 30 days. Use Frontline Plus for Cats (fipronil 9.8% and S-methoprene 11.8%), available as 0.5 ml applicators, on cats and kittens 8 weeks or older. Place the applicator tip through the animal's hair to the skin level between the shoulder blades. Apply the entire contents of the applicator in a single spot to the animal's skin. Use only one applicator per treatment.

What are the potential side effects of Frontline Plus?

Pets may experience some temporary irritation at the site of product application. If signs persist or become more severe within a few days of application, consult a veterinarian immediately.

What happens if I miss giving a dose of Frontline Plus?

Give the missed dose as soon as you remember. Do not give a double dose of the medication.

What happens if I overdose my pet on Frontline Plus?

Contact your veterinarian immediately.

What should I avoid while giving Frontline Plus to my pet?

Keep away from heat and open flame. This product is harmful to humans if swallowed. Call a physician or poison control center for advice. Have patient sip water do not induce vomiting unless advised to and patient is conscious. This product can cause eye injury. Flush eyes with plenty of water. Call a physician if irritation persists. Avoid contact with skin, eyes or clothing. Wash thoroughly with soap and water after handling.

Frontline Plus Directions:

  • Remove the Frontline Plus applicator from the child-resistant package. You can use scissors to snip the foil, or pull the tab to remove the applicator.
  • Snap open the tip of the Frontline applicator - away from your body and face.
  • Part your pet's hair between the shoulder blades until you can see the skin, and place the tip of the applicator on the skin.
Tip:

Wait until application site is fully dry (usually 24 hours) before bathing your pet or letting your pet go swimming.

Frontline Plus Dosage for Dogs/Puppies: (8 weeks of age or older)

Dogs/Puppies: (8 weeks of age or older)
WeightDosage
Up to 22 lbsApply contents of 1 applicator once a month (0.67 ml)
23-44 lbsApply contents of 1 applicator once a month (1.34 ml)
45-88 lbsApply contents of 1 applicator once a month (2.68 ml)
89-132 lbsApply contents of 1 applicator once a month (4.02 ml)
All weightsApply contents of 1 applicator once a month (0.5 ml)
Frontline Plus Dosage for Horses:
Horses
Do not use!
Storage:

Should be stored at room temperature.

Frontline Plus Ingredients:

Frontline Plus for Dogs & Puppies 8 weeks or older and up to 22 lbs
Active ingredients (per 0.67 ml applicator)Amount
Fipronil9.8%
(S)-methoprene8.8%
Frontline Plus for Dogs 23-44 lbs:
Active ingredients (per 1.34 ml applicator)Amount
Fipronil9.8%
(S)-methoprene8.8%
Frontline Plus for Dogs 45-88 lbs
Active ingredients (per 2.68 ml applicator)Amount
Fipronil9.8%
(S)-methoprene8.8%
Frontline Plus for Dogs 89-132 lbs
Active ingredients (per 4.02 ml applicator)Amount
Fipronil9.8%
(S)-methoprene8.8%
Frontline Plus for Cats & Kittens 8 weeks or older:
Active ingredients (per 0.50 ml applicator)Amount
Fipronil9.8%
(S)-methoprene11.8%