4.2 out of 5 Customer Rating
FURminator Nail Grinder is rated 2.5 out of 5 by 71.
  • y_2021, m_2, d_25, h_17
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.14
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_71
  • loc_en_US, sid_prod11714, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_1800petmeds
  • bvseo_sdk, dw_cartridge, 18.2.0, p_sdk_3.2.0
  • CLOUD, getAggregateRating, 46ms
  • reviews, product
prod11714 product detail number 1.0

FURminator Nail Grinder

4.2 out of 5 Customer Rating
FURminator Nail Grinder is rated 2.5 out of 5 by 71.
  • y_2021, m_2, d_25, h_17
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.14
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_71
  • loc_en_US, sid_prod11714, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_1800petmeds
  • bvseo_sdk, dw_cartridge, 18.2.0, p_sdk_3.2.0
  • CLOUD, getAggregateRating, 46ms
  • reviews, product
Starts at $22.99
$32.84 Save $9.85 (30% off)


$22.99
Earn points 22.99 pts Prescription Item
This number represents the amount of PetMeds Points you will receive by purchasing this item

Please select all product options.
Most orders ship the same day
Checkbox Out of stock
Estimated back in stock soon. Be the first to know.
FURminator Nail Grinder
Other Options
Swipe

Reviews

Rated 2 out of 5 by from generally disappointed I have had many problems with this unit long term. First use was wonderful, but shortly later the batteries corroded. Since then, I have cleaned all the contacts and greased and installed new batteries and all was working again. Now, the sanding disk is slipping and so does NOT grind the nails. The disk is still in good shape and I even still have the second new disk to replace it with, but they BOTH slip and do not grind the nails consistently. It is like the rubber has shrunk and doesn't hold the sanding disk secure. TOTALLY disappointing. The furminator brush is just so effective, it is SUCH a disappointment to see that the nail clipper is such poor quality and so short lived.
Date published: 2020-03-22
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great grinder ! Great grinder. I contacted customer service with a question about the product , I was very impressed with the level of service.
Date published: 2019-07-02
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Worthless Don't waste your money on this grinder, it is junk. The grinding wheel comes off every time I use it and is very loud. It's very hard to get the battery compartment open.
Date published: 2019-06-08
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Easy to Use, Once You Know How I bought this product about a year and a half ago, and boy does it work wonders with my pup. I was always afraid of accidentally bucking her quick with clippers, plus I’m not great at quickly doing the clipping and tended to crush the nail a bit. My girl doesn’t appreciate how loud the grinder is, but she tolerates me grinding her nails with little resistance (She’s not a fan of people touching her paws). There were no instructions with the device, but it was easy enough to look up how to do it + asked a groomer for her advice as well. While I couldn’t be happier with the product, it seems that it’s at the end of its life as just about twenty minutes ago after swapping out the sand paper and batteries I got through one paw before the motor started shaking like it hadn’t before and then the head stopped spinning while the motor screeched like it was stuck. Happened twice after I let it sit for a few minutes and I’ve given up on it for now until I get a new one ):
Date published: 2019-04-28
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Missing replacement grinder band My dog is still adjusting to the grinding sound. I tried, just grinding the tips of a few nails. I am optimistic. the box I purchased states that there are two grinder bands included. The box only came with the one on the device. If there were two bands, and I had to replace the old one, what is the procedure to do that? I did not read definitive instructions for replacement of the grinder band stating how to remove the plastic protector shield. Thank you.
Date published: 2019-04-19
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I LOVE THE NAIL GRINDER EXCEPT FOR THE FACT THAT I have been using my nail grinder on my dog for awhile now. It's the only way I am able to shorten her nails. The only issue I am having is that the sand paper part slides down in less then a second of using it and I can't get the nail shortened with out constantly putting the sand paper back every second. I don't know how to fix it and it is superrrrr frustrating. I have to shorten the dew claws all the time or she rips them and they get infected and it's a huge vet bill. Please help.
Date published: 2019-04-18
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Strong motor until it stopped working Worked great for our lab that would not let us use a clipper. It stopped working ...bought less than a year ago. Wondering if there is a warrant?
Date published: 2019-03-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product, Dog loves it! I bought this at least a year ago. My only issue is it does not tell you what grade replacement bands. But my 60lb black lab actually likes when I trim them for her.
Date published: 2019-01-28
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Disappointing. I've use the Furminator brushes before and they work great. This is a piece of junk. I've had 2 screws simply fall out. Also the sanding wheel is not tight on the rubber part and moves around. It's a good idea, but cheap product.
Date published: 2018-11-29
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Not Worth It I bought one of these through Amazon and normally recommend Furminator products to friends. I am very disappointed that the second speed did not work and that it was very noisy. I was unable to buff my dog's nails due to the sound.
Date published: 2018-11-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from No More Cutting Nails Too Short I bought this nail grinder for my cairn terrier because I hate using regular clippers on him, and I’ve tried using the Dremel tool on him but there’s no guard to prevent getting his hair caught up in it. Side benefit is, this tool is quite a bit quieter than my old Dremel tool. My dog just laid on his back and let me get the job done, no problem at all. I’m not sure how long the batteries will last, but even if I had to replace the batteries every single time I clipped his nails (doubtful) it would still be cheaper, easier, faster, than taking him to the vet to get his nails trimmed.
Date published: 2018-10-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from PERFECT INVENTION Best invention ever for our 3 xlarge dogs. Been using the agonizing clippers for over 20 years and through more than 5 xlarge dogs. Never thought this would work. Daughter bought for me as I was experiencing problems with my hands due to RA. For more than 6 months have been keeping white nails, black nails trimmed to perfection! A few treats and both the dogs and I are happy. Scores a 10 at my home!
Date published: 2018-09-22
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Issues with the battery pack I love this product and so easy to trim my Dogs nails, he is so relaxed as he hated the clippers. The issue I have is I didn't use it for very long and the trimmer got slower and when I went to replace the batteries nothing worked. I tried several new batteries and cannot get it to work. I see other comments on the battery issue as well. I use a lot of furminator products and hoping this one is just a dud.
Date published: 2018-09-21
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Disappointed in Product I bought this product about 2 months ago. I spent a week with the grinder running for a few minutes to get my dogs used to the noise. I was able to use the grinder for nail grinding one time. The second time I tried to use it the nail grinder it didn’t seem like the motor was running at the same speeds as the first time I used it. It was not grinding the nails at all. I tried new batteries and that didn’t work. I also tried replacing the grinding band but that didn’t work either. The light wouldn’t light up and the motor was barely running. I was extremely disappointed in the quality of this product because I thought it would last longer than one use.
Date published: 2018-08-08
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Second speed doesn’t work I bought this because I wanted a nail grinder with a higher speed option for my dog who has thicker nails. I had trouble getting the battery pack open, then I was trying to get my dog used to the noise and vibration. The grinder would turn on when I flipped the switch to 1 but when I change to 2 the power turns off. I bought this specifically for the higher speed so I’m very disappointed.
Date published: 2018-07-28
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Can’t use replacement pads I bought this awhile ago and it came with the replacement pad. I just recently went to change it out and had some big problems. First, I couldn’t seem to get the old pad off, ended up carefully slicing it off. Then I found out the rubber cylinder that spins, expanded to the point where the replacement pad won’t actually fit over it, (also why the old one wouldn’t slid off). Very disappointed that I can’t continue to use this. It’s the first grinder I’ve ever used and it seemed to work well for my needs. The photo shows the replacement as far down on the cylinder as it can go... as well as the rubber part empty and you can see where the top is more narrow than the middle part.
Date published: 2018-07-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product ! I have had Furminator naigrinder for five years . I use it once a week at my two tiny poodles . I have to change batteries about twice a year only . The dogs are very relaxed , they can feel that I have full control with the grinder ! I love it , and will buy a new immediately if I have to .
Date published: 2018-06-29
Rated 1 out of 5 by from I'm less than happy about this. I bought this product for my pug. I only use it on her and it just stops. I get through a nail and have to replace the batteries. Now even new batteries have made it do NOTHING. I've stressed her out to hold her down and now I can't even trim her nails. Very frustrating. Too expensive to throw away after just a couple of sessions.
Date published: 2018-04-23
Rated 1 out of 5 by from how does this open to put batteries in trying to open the bottom to put batteries in how do you do this i cant find any information to help me
Date published: 2018-03-21
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Grinding Bands While the pack says it comes with two grinding bands, there was only one grinding band in the pack.
Date published: 2018-03-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from -Follow up review Soon after my review regarding my Furminator grinder that would not accept replacement batteries, a representative reached out to me. Furminator asked for some information, then offered to send a replacement. Now that's customer service!
Date published: 2018-02-13
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Not worth it... Looks like I am not the only one who can't get this product to work after changing the batteries.Started out strong, although obviously built to be disposable.
Date published: 2018-02-10
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Stop working I used it a few times.. Then it sat for a few months now it doesn't turn on changed batteries as well..
Date published: 2017-09-17
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Pretty weak, Bands slip. Would not reccomend I have two boxers who really don't like clippers so I bought this hopping to make their and my lives easier. I'm not having and of the problems with batteries people seem to have but This thing has no power. Like even a little pressure stops this thing from spinning. My other complaint is the bands dont stay still for anything. They just keep slipping up and down on the rotor so I have to adjust them every 10 seconds. The sound and stuff doesn't bother my dogs at all so there is that but its pretty useless so it doesn't matter.
Date published: 2017-07-12
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Helpful Bought this a while ago because I have a hard time clipping my dogs nails. I have cut his quick a few times and have been worried about it since. This makes it easy to keep his nails short without risk of hitting the quick.
Date published: 2017-06-19
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Difficult but useful...not enough replace grinders It took me 25 minutes to figure out how to open the thing withou braking it. Not a good experience. I have 2 dogs and 1 grinder was shot. Need to include more grinders.
Date published: 2017-05-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works just fine I bought this because I hated using clippers to trim my dogs nails. This product works beautifully - it's quick, so it's less stressful for my dog. I've never hit the quick like with clipping, and her nails are smooth.
Date published: 2016-09-04
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Worked! It took me three tries to get the battery cover off but after that it went well. My dog hates any kind of grooming but he quickly adapted. Would recommend.
Date published: 2016-08-14
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Absolute Junk I bought this piece of junk less than a week ago. First problem, the battery compartment is difficult to get into. Second problem, the cheap Duracell knockoff batteries included with the grinder were dead. Third problem, no instructions, the packaging indicates that you can come to this address to find instructions. Not true. The only instructions I found were a quick product demo from the manufacturer that was less than helpful. Final problem, I put new, brand-name batteries in the grinder, turned it on, and in less than 2 minutes, it wouldn't grind my nails, much less my dog's. The batteries had died again. This was a waste of money, and I WILL be returning it tomorrow.
Date published: 2016-07-24
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Doesn't Work This did not work right out of the packaging. At first I thought I was putting the batteries in incorrectly. I have tried every possible configuration. This DOES NOT Work.
Date published: 2016-07-23
  • y_2021, m_2, d_25, h_17
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.14
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_71
  • loc_en_US, sid_prod11714, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_1800petmeds
  • bvseo_sdk, dw_cartridge, 18.2.0, p_sdk_3.2.0
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 9ms
  • reviews, product

Questions

  • bvseo_sdk, dw_cartridge, 18.2.0, p_sdk_3.2.0
  • CLOUD, getContent, 40ms
  • questions, product
  • bvseo-msg: Unsuccessful GET. status = 'ERROR', msg = 'Not Found.', code = '404';

What is the FURminator Nail Grinder?

The FURminator Nail Grinder is a convenient, stress-free tool to trim your pet's nails quickly and painlessly. The rotating grinding band smooths and shapes nails without leaving sharp edges, as is common with traditional nail clippers. The easy-grip handle gives you good control during the grooming process and the anti-microbial plastic casing helps prevent spread of germs and bacteria. Pets require nail trimming on a regular basis, usually every 3 to 4 weeks. Untrimmed nails can cause your dog or cat great discomfort, including sore feet, legs and hips, as walking on long nails can be a painful experience and may affect natural gait. Keep your pet's nails salon perfect with the FURminator Nail Grinder.

NOTE: FURminator Nail Grinder Replacement Grinding Bands are also available in a pack of 6, sold separately.

For:

Dogs and Cats

Benefits:

  • Anti-microbial plastic helps keep germs and bacteria to a minimum
  • 2-Speed cordless grinder is lightweight, compact and easy to handle
  • LED light illuminates the nail for easier and safer trimming.
  • Features an easy-grip handle for safe, secure trimming
  • Cordless design makes it easy to maneuver
  • Plastic safety shield helps guide your pet's nails and helps prevent injury
  • Operates for 100+ hours on 4 AA alkaline batteries (included)
  • Includes two grinding bands
  • Replacement grinding bands in a pack of 6 are also available, sold separately

How it works:

The FURminator Nail Grinder has a 2-speed motor that spins the grinding band at just the right speed to shape and trim your pet's nails to the desired length. The clear plastic safety shield helps guide trimming and allows you to see how much you are trimming. The cordless design with special easy-grip handle aids in maneuverability, while the anti-microbial plastic casing helps prevent spread of germs and bacteria. The FURminator Nail Grinder runs on 4 AA batteries, which are included. Replacement grinding bands are also available, sold separately.

Cautions:

As with all pet nail grooming tools, care must be taken not to damage the quick of the nail, which is the pink area that contains the blood vessels and nerves. Use as directed. Keep out of the reach of children.

Directions for Use:
  • Holding your pet's paw in a comfortable position, turn on the FURminator Nail Grinder and place the nail in the safety hole, gently adding pressure to grind the nail down.
  • Using the LED light, you can see where the pink is in the nail (the quick). Use caution not to grind the nail too close to the quick, as this may cause pain and/or bleeding.
  • Gently shape the nail to the desired length.
To Replace the Grinding Band:
  • Make sure the FURminator Nail Grinder is off and remove the batteries prior to opening the clear protective cover.
  • Gently pull the clear protective cover off.
  • Holding the Grinding Band between your fingers firmly, loosen the single screw on top of the Grinding Band by turning the screw counter-clockwise with a Phillips head screwdriver.
  • Remove the old Grinding Band and replace with a new one.
  • Insert and tighten the screw on top of the Grinding Band. Do not over-tighten.
  • Place the clear protective cover back on and reinsert the batteries
Tip:

It may be helpful to let your pet get comfortable with the FURminator Nail Grinder prior to first use. Most pets need their nails trimmed every 3-4 weeks. Replace the Grinding Band when it appears worn or when it becomes more difficult to file your pet's nails.

FURminator Nail Grinder Details:

FURminator Nail Grinder
Items Included
FURminator Nail Grinder unit, 2 Grinding Bands, 4 AA batteries.
FURminator Replacement Grinding Bands
Items Included
Six (6) 120-grit Replacement Grinding Bands for use with the FURminator Nail Grinder.

What is the FURminator Nail Grinder?

The FURminator Nail Grinder is a convenient, stress-free tool to trim your pet's nails quickly and painlessly. The rotating grinding band smooths and shapes nails without leaving sharp edges, as is common with traditional nail clippers. The easy-grip handle gives you good control during the grooming process and the anti-microbial plastic casing helps prevent spread of germs and bacteria. Pets require nail trimming on a regular basis, usually every 3 to 4 weeks. Untrimmed nails can cause your dog or cat great discomfort, including sore feet, legs and hips, as walking on long nails can be a painful experience and may affect natural gait. Keep your pet's nails salon perfect with the FURminator Nail Grinder.

NOTE: FURminator Nail Grinder Replacement Grinding Bands are also available in a pack of 6, sold separately.

For:

Dogs and Cats

Benefits:

  • Anti-microbial plastic helps keep germs and bacteria to a minimum
  • 2-Speed cordless grinder is lightweight, compact and easy to handle
  • LED light illuminates the nail for easier and safer trimming.
  • Features an easy-grip handle for safe, secure trimming
  • Cordless design makes it easy to maneuver
  • Plastic safety shield helps guide your pet's nails and helps prevent injury
  • Operates for 100+ hours on 4 AA alkaline batteries (included)
  • Includes two grinding bands
  • Replacement grinding bands in a pack of 6 are also available, sold separately

How it works:

The FURminator Nail Grinder has a 2-speed motor that spins the grinding band at just the right speed to shape and trim your pet's nails to the desired length. The clear plastic safety shield helps guide trimming and allows you to see how much you are trimming. The cordless design with special easy-grip handle aids in maneuverability, while the anti-microbial plastic casing helps prevent spread of germs and bacteria. The FURminator Nail Grinder runs on 4 AA batteries, which are included. Replacement grinding bands are also available, sold separately.

Cautions:

As with all pet nail grooming tools, care must be taken not to damage the quick of the nail, which is the pink area that contains the blood vessels and nerves. Use as directed. Keep out of the reach of children.

Directions for Use:
  • Holding your pet's paw in a comfortable position, turn on the FURminator Nail Grinder and place the nail in the safety hole, gently adding pressure to grind the nail down.
  • Using the LED light, you can see where the pink is in the nail (the quick). Use caution not to grind the nail too close to the quick, as this may cause pain and/or bleeding.
  • Gently shape the nail to the desired length.
To Replace the Grinding Band:
  • Make sure the FURminator Nail Grinder is off and remove the batteries prior to opening the clear protective cover.
  • Gently pull the clear protective cover off.
  • Holding the Grinding Band between your fingers firmly, loosen the single screw on top of the Grinding Band by turning the screw counter-clockwise with a Phillips head screwdriver.
  • Remove the old Grinding Band and replace with a new one.
  • Insert and tighten the screw on top of the Grinding Band. Do not over-tighten.
  • Place the clear protective cover back on and reinsert the batteries
Tip:

It may be helpful to let your pet get comfortable with the FURminator Nail Grinder prior to first use. Most pets need their nails trimmed every 3-4 weeks. Replace the Grinding Band when it appears worn or when it becomes more difficult to file your pet's nails.

FURminator Nail Grinder Details:

FURminator Nail Grinder
Items Included
FURminator Nail Grinder unit, 2 Grinding Bands, 4 AA batteries.
FURminator Replacement Grinding Bands
Items Included
Six (6) 120-grit Replacement Grinding Bands for use with the FURminator Nail Grinder.

Customers who bought also boughtView All

Swipe