4.9 out of 5 Customer Rating
Capstar Flea Treatment Tablets is rated 4.2 out of 5 by 706.
  • y_2020, m_11, d_22, h_16
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.12
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_6, tr_700
  • loc_en_US, sid_prod10325, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_1800petmeds
  • bvseo_sdk, dw_cartridge, 18.2.0, p_sdk_3.2.0
  • CLOUD, getAggregateRating, 49ms
  • reviews, product
Starts $42.84 $29.99
Most orders ship the same day

Capstar Flea Treatment Tablets

4.9 out of 5 Customer Rating
Capstar Flea Treatment Tablets is rated 4.2 out of 5 by 706.
  • y_2020, m_11, d_22, h_16
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.12
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_6, tr_700
  • loc_en_US, sid_prod10325, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_1800petmeds
  • bvseo_sdk, dw_cartridge, 18.2.0, p_sdk_3.2.0
  • CLOUD, getAggregateRating, 49ms
  • reviews, product
Starts $42.84 $29.99
Most orders ship the same day
Dog
Cat
Please select all product options.

Reviews

Rated 5 out of 5 by from Capstar I bought this for my 2 cats& saw results in 2 to 3 hours.I would recommend.
Date published: 2019-11-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works like magic My sister works in an animal hospital in Manhattan, yes ago when I had an fleas infestation on my 3 indoor cats, she advised me to administer topical treatment of REVOLUTION and CAPSTAR tablets , simultaneously. It works like magic. Since then , I administer both medications to my only cat now (the other 2 past away), as a prevention for fleas during the summertime, when the doors are open more often, and we can bring the fleas with as from the garden.
Date published: 2019-05-10
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I used this for years on my dogs. Fleas are never on my dogs. They seems to not have any problems since using this product. I prefer this then other flea medicine.
Date published: 2019-04-23
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Did its job but almost at my cats life They people we got our 2 newest rescues for give them both each a Capstar before we brought them home. Yes this product did work remotely quickly and they had no fleas after. But about 5 to 6 hours after giving it to both my younger cats (16 to 18 weeks at the time) they both had these fits almost like convulsions. They sprinted around in circles shaking, and meowing in pain. Eventually collapsing near me still shake terribly! I could tell how scared they were cause I held them thru the worst of it. They are both better now and growing up fine but I just caution anyone from trying this without atleast talking to you vet first. Not every medication is right for your animal.
Date published: 2019-04-18
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great price point Been using this product for over a year. Works as well as the higher priced products
Date published: 2019-04-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Product! Saw results within just a couple hours and the next day there was almost no itching at all. Easy to use
Date published: 2019-03-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Capstar works! I purchased this product for fleas on my cats and it works in 20 minutes of application. I prefer this over spot treatments as it is easier to administer and safer to use.
Date published: 2019-01-25
Rated 1 out of 5 by from HORRIBLE. Used every single pill as per recommended. DID NOT WORK. pup still has fleas... nothing seems to work...
Date published: 2018-12-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Happy and relaxed! I have tried the topical flea treatments for 2 years on both my Lab and Multi-poo, did not work and was messy. I gave them each Capstar and the same day they stopped scratching and finally relaxed. They are no longer miserable. Happy dogs, happy owner!
Date published: 2018-11-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Finally, something that worked! I have had a huge flea issue, but Capstar helped tremendously. Nothing else seemed to work. It took 3 treatments for each dog, but they finally got some relief. The fleas were gone! Then I applied Advantix 2 as well to help keep they away! One thing though, both of my Dachshund's skin flaked quite a bit. Not true with my larger Retriever. No sores or redness, just a thin peel like the top layer of skin.
Date published: 2018-10-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from fleas be gone. I noticed that Capstar was priced at a reasonable cost. I needed flea treatment for my cats and dog. It took two doses, but so far the flea problem is over. Very happy about the purchase.
Date published: 2018-10-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Capstar really works My poor dog was suffering with allergies from flea bites and I took him to the vet who suggested capstar and it worked in one day. Since then I have been giving him one a day for 6 days because that is all I could afford at the time. I am glad I found something that works for my pet.
Date published: 2018-08-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Work I use this product on my dog with in 30 minuets flea started dying, Ater waiting 30 minuets I brush my dog. I gave medicine to him for 4 days straight to make sure all flea were gone. Now I am giving him one a week .
Date published: 2018-08-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I use Capstar because it's so cheap to kill all the fleas and things off of my pets and then I buy the Advantage Multi or the Advantix II to prevent reinfest station and also to kill the eggs and larvae and the worms and the mosquitoes and things like that caps star Works within 30 minutes all the fleas and stuff are gone it only last for 24 hours so you have to use another treatment for your animals I love it!
Date published: 2018-07-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Kills adult fleas My dog is allergic to flea bites and this stuff kills adult fleas within an hour. You will have to use a preventative but if you want fleas gone now this is the best I have used. Love it! I have to crush it in peanut butter so my dog will eat it tho.
Date published: 2018-07-01
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Very unhappy I bought this product for my pets, it killed the fleas off with in a day or so ....however it does not continue to work after. It has been less than 2 weeks and my pets have fleas again
Date published: 2018-06-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The Capstar Flea treatment tablets killed fleas.. I love 1-800 Pet Meds, I haven't been able to take my dogs to the vet. Thank Goodness I could depend on Pet meds to sell the medication that works and it was also a good price.
Date published: 2018-05-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works fast 24 hours in and my Chihuahua and my bichon don’t have any visible fleas. I am combing and they look flea free I couldn’t be happier
Date published: 2018-05-26
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Not great I am fully aware that Capstar is not meant as flea prevention. It is supposed to kill fleas for only about 24hrs at a time. The 1st dose worked well for my 2 dogs. The 2nd and 3rd dose didn't work at all in my opinion. I did call and received a full refund with no issues. So 2 stars for Capstar and 5 stars for PetMeds
Date published: 2018-05-17
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Worthless! We wanted to save a little money and chose this product over Comfortis, our usual brand and have regretted it enormously. The medicine only works for a couple of days and our dog is covered in fleas again. Lesson learned. Back to Comfortis!
Date published: 2018-04-29
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Longer Capstar is great for getting the fleas off but I really wish it lasted longer than 24 hours. I can’t seen to find anything that works well beyond the 24 hours of Capstar.
Date published: 2018-04-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works Great I purchased Capstar along with Revolution and they work great together. My kitties are indoor/outdoor so I like to use one Capstar right before the Revolution this helps for extra protection.
Date published: 2018-03-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works GREAT Had tried everything to ride our dog of fleas, nothing worked. Or everything worked a little but no long lasting cure. Used everything from a flea bath at the groomer to combing daily with a flea comb. This product works!!!!!
Date published: 2018-03-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Capstar Love the product, works great on my 4 dogs, been using this product for several months
Date published: 2018-03-15
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Not great Used this on my dog, in combination with Sentinel. While it did cause a lot of adult fleas to die and come off, it left A LOT still on my poor pup. I gave all six tablets to my dog for six consecutive days in combination with bombing, and excessively cleaning my house and I am STILL finding fleas on my dog. Really frustrated with the product. Only giving it two stars because it did relieve my pup for about an hour.
Date published: 2018-03-14
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Doesn't last; pets are nervous wrecks for 12 hours I won't put my cats through what they experienced with this flea treatment...they were both howling and eyes dilated, pacing the floor for hours...followed by them sleeping for two days and barely eating...I'd rather use a flea comb and give them a bath if necessary...the ingredient is nicotine based and I guess it overdoses the adult fleas and they die almost immediately, but what it put my cats (they are both older) through is not worth it...
Date published: 2018-03-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Immediate action I have used Capstar dozens of times over 20 years with all of my Golden Retrievers and it always works. You can the the fleas jumping ship within 30 minutes of application!!!
Date published: 2018-03-02
Rated 1 out of 5 by from NOT GOOD IT DIDNOT WORK FOR LITTLE DOG OR CAT
Date published: 2018-03-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very quick, safe knock-down of fleas! I treat the dog with Advantage II but in hot weather, when the fleas are breeding like crazy, sometimes a whole bunch of fleas will climb on board when I take dog for a walk. Because Capstar can be used with a wide variety of other flea meds, I've been able to treat for occasional flea outbreaks safely. It works very quickly and she's never had a reaction to the med.
Date published: 2017-11-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Finally - Flea Annihilation! This has been a bad year for fleas for my dogs, and while Chloe the Rat Terrier isn't too bothered by them, Jack the Jack Russell (yeah, I know, original) gets terrible flea allergies from one bite. The vet wouldn't prescribe cortisone to alleviate his misery, but rather gave me a lecture about flea control. I tried some of the flea repellent applications and they were absolutely useless. After reading the reviews for Capstar, I got some for my kids. The flea problem has all but disappeared, and with applications of a tea tree oil/lavender oil spray to his skin, Jack is finally quieting down. I would definitely use this product again, and it can be used as frequently as necessary to kill fleas.
Date published: 2017-11-15
  • y_2020, m_11, d_22, h_16
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.12
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_6, tr_700
  • loc_en_US, sid_prod10325, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_1800petmeds
  • bvseo_sdk, dw_cartridge, 18.2.0, p_sdk_3.2.0
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 7ms
  • reviews, product

Questions

Can this be used in conjunction with frontline?

Asked by: Jess
Yes
Answered by: Shari PetMed Pro
Date published: 2020-01-24

The packaging looks different than what I bought in the past. Did the product change or just the package?

Asked by: MilosMom
The product is the same. However, the packaging changed.
Answered by: Cherley Petmeds Pro
Date published: 2020-01-14

How long does it last

Asked by: Jennifer 6969
While Capstar begins working quickly, the effects do not last beyond the initial 24 hours. You can repeat the dosage of Capstar as needed when you see fleas on your pet, as often as once per day. However, because the effects are not long-lasting, you may choose to follow up with a longer-lasting monthly flea treatment.
Answered by: Issiah O
Date published: 2020-05-01

Is this safe to use with topical treatments as well?

Asked by: Mt1981
Yes. This product is safe to use with topical flea/tick treatments.
Answered by: Cherley Petmeds Pro
Date published: 2020-04-01

Can you use even if dog already has frontline plus applied?

Asked by: Rahja
Thank you for your question. Yes, Capstar can be used in conjunction with Frontline Plus.
Answered by: Crystal RPTechnician
Date published: 2019-12-14

How long should i wait to bathe my dog after giving him a dose of Capstar?

Asked by: Deanna
Thank you for your question. Capstar is an oral treatment. Therefore, it does not require any restrictions of bathing and swimming. Just after administration, you can take your dog for a swim or a bath.
Answered by: Crystal RPTechnician
Date published: 2019-12-14

Does it kill the flea eggs too?

Asked by: Trigger
Thank you for your question. This product kills Adult Fleas only.
Answered by: Crystal RPTechnician
Date published: 2019-12-13

Is it just for fleas or eggs too ? 

Asked by: La laca
Thank you for your question. Capstar kills adult fleas only.
Answered by: Crystal RPTechnician
Date published: 2019-12-13

so this is just to kill fleas. not for prevention?

Asked by: sis729
That is correct. This medication treats the pet only. To properly control fleas all pets must be treated and the outside and inside environments also need to be treated to prevent a reoccurrence.
Answered by: Cherley Petmeds Pro
Date published: 2019-11-01

How frequently do you use thus to prevent reinfestation

Asked by: MaryMac
This product can be used as needed. Each tablets stays effective for 24 hours. For longer relief, you may want to apply a 30 day oral or topical flea and tick preventative.
Answered by: Cherley Petmeds Pro
Date published: 2019-08-02

How long does it last

Asked by: RaeEtta
This product stays effective for 24 hours and is safe to use as needed.
Answered by: Cherley Petmeds Pro
Date published: 2019-07-09

Can it be used on a pregnant cat?

Asked by: Terry
Yes. This product is safe for pregnant or nursing dogs and cats.
Answered by: Cherley Petmeds Pro
Date published: 2019-06-28

Can you give to cats

Asked by: Beeking1
Yes. Capstar is formulated for both cats and dogs.
Answered by: Cherley Petmeds Pro
Date published: 2019-05-29

What if my dog is only 27 pounds? Do I give him the pill for up to 25 pound dogs or the one for 25.1 and up? Only 2 pounds over makes me nervous to administer the bigger one.

Asked by: Sherybar
The correct dosage for a 27 lbs dog is the Capstar for dogs over 25 lbs.
Answered by: Cherley Petmeds Pro
Date published: 2019-04-16

My dog is 13yrs and takes a heart pill is this safe for her?

Asked by: virginia
Thank you for your question. Yes, it would be fine unless otherwise advised by your DVM.
Answered by: Crystal RPTechnician
Date published: 2019-03-11

I use Cheristin on my cat, can I also use capstar in conjunction with Cheristin

Asked by: Catdude
Thank you for your question. Yes, you can use Capstar in Conjunction with Cheristin.
Answered by: Crystal RPTechnician
Date published: 2019-03-28

Do you need to wash your hands after handling the pill?

Asked by: Raine
Thank you for your question. Yes, wash your hands after handling the pill. The active ingredient in the product is an insecticide.
Answered by: Crystal RPTechnician
Date published: 2019-02-27

If my dogs are currently on sentinel spectrum but have adult fleas, can they take this in conjunction with the sentinel?

Asked by: Diggz
Thank you for your question. Yes, Capstar can be used in conjunction with the Sentinel Spectrum.
Answered by: Crystal RPTechnician
Date published: 2019-01-01

Is there a difference in the pills for cats and the pills for dogs?

Asked by: Sehly
Thank you for your question. The 2-25lbs dose can be used for both cats and dogs. The 26-125lbs would be used for dogs.
Answered by: Crystal RPTechnician
Date published: 2019-11-01

Should I give dog once a month

Asked by: Cindy
Thank you for your question. Capstar can be used as needed. However as the effects only last for 24 hours it can become quite expensive if you are using it as a preventative. We offer collars , topical and oral flea and tick preventatives that last well past 24hours to keep your furry friend protected.
Answered by: Crystal RPTechnician
Date published: 2018-12-10

If i only hv lower dosage tabs left can i gv my large dog enf to make her dose

Asked by: Bonnie 59
Thank you for your question. If your dog is 25.1-125lbs you would need to give (5) tablets of the smaller dose meant for dogs 2-25lbs.
Answered by: Crystal RPTechnician
Date published: 2018-11-28

Is it safe for a 2 month old puppy to take?

Asked by: Bri_s
Thank you for your question. Capstar is for cats (4 weeks of age and older and 2 pounds of body weight or greater) and dogs (4 weeks of age and older and 2 pounds of body weight or greater).
Answered by: Crystal RPTechnician
Date published: 2018-11-04

People are saying that they use it once and the fleas come back. How do you get the fleas to stop completely without giving monthly or weekly/daily treatments?

Asked by: bhtgwltg
Thank you for your question. To prevent flea infestation you want to be sure to treat your pet as well as your home and yard. And you want to be sure to keep your furry friend on a flea and tick preventative year round. The effects of the Capstar only lasts for 24 hours and Capstar kills the adult flea. You would need to get a preventative medication that provides long term prevention of flea and ticks.
Answered by: Crystal RPTechnician
Date published: 2018-10-22

If you use Capstar and then a flea collar which protects from fleas for about 8 months, are you able to likely get rid of fleas fovever?

Asked by: bhtgwltg
Thank you for your question. To prevent flea infestation you want to be sure to treat your pet as well as your home and yard. And you want to be sure to keep your furry friend on a flea and tick preventative year round. Unfortunately we cannot rid the world of these pesky critters indefinitely but we can keep our pets , home and yard flea and tick free.
Answered by: Crystal RPTechnician
Date published: 2018-10-22

I gave our ferral cat a capstar this morning, then my Frontline Gold for cats came in, is it safe to give him a frontline today if he will trust me to put it on him?

Asked by: Karen
Thank you for your question. Yes, it is safe to give the Frontline Gold.
Answered by: Crystal RPTechnician
Date published: 2018-10-10

I gave my American bully Sentry Plus preventative yesterday but still has live fleas on him. Can I use Capstar right after I applied the sentry?

Asked by: Bullymom
Thank you for your question. Yes, you can. It works within 30 minutes but the effects last only 24 hours.
Answered by: Crystal RPTechnician
Date published: 2018-10-08

Is it  safe to give my Australian Shepherd Capstar?

Asked by: dezinez
Thank you for your question. Capstar is approved for use in dogs and cats over 4 weeks of age and over 2 pounds of body weight and is safe for Austrailian Shepard.
Answered by: Crystal RPTechnician
Date published: 2018-09-27

how many tablets come in a box

Asked by: maizzzzzz
Thank you for your question. We offer the Capstar in a 6 pack/ 6 tablets per box.
Answered by: Crystal RPTechnician
Date published: 2019-05-30

Can I purchase two of these and use them back to back to ensure the fleas are gone?

Asked by: Kaybay
Thank you for your question. Redose pet as often as once a day if needed. The effects of the Capstar last only 24 hours. Capstar begins working within 30minutes , kills more than 90% of adult fleas within 4 hours on dogs and 6 hours on cats, and pets may temporarily scratch as a result of the fleas dying.
Answered by: Crystal RPTechnician
Date published: 2018-10-01

can cats who are pregnant take this?

Asked by: carnett14
Thank you for your question. Capstar Tablets are safe for pregnant or nursing dogs and cats.
Answered by: Crystal RPTechnician
Date published: 2018-09-05
  • y_2020, m_11, d_22, h_16CST
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvqa, vn_bulk_3.0.12
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasquestionsanswers, tq_409
  • loc_en_US, sid_prod10325, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=LAST_APPROVED_ANSWER_SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_1800petmeds
  • bvseo_sdk, dw_cartridge, 18.2.0, p_sdk_3.2.0
  • CLOUD, getContent, 45ms
  • questions, product

What is Capstar (nitenpyram) Flea Treatment Tablets?

Capstar Flea Treatment Tablets are used to kill fleas on dogs and cats, which begins working within 30 minutes. Capstar will kill more than 90% of adult fleas within 4 hours on dogs and 6 hours on cats, and pets may temporarily scratch as a result of the fleas dying.

For:

Cats (4 weeks of age and older and 2 pounds of body weight or greater) Dogs (4 weeks of age and older and 2 pounds of body weight or greater)

Benefits:

  • Starts killing fleas within 30 minutes
  • Unflavored tablet
  • Safe for pregnant or nursing dogs and cats

How it Works:

The active ingredient in Capstar is nitenpyram, an insecticide. This oral treatment kills adult fleas quickly. Nitenpyram interferes with nerve transmission in fleas, with no adverse effect on your pet.

Cautions:

Pets may scratch as a result of the fleas dying, but it is a temporary condition and not a reaction to the medication itself Always read, understand and follow the label and use directions.

Brand Name:

Capstar (Elanco Animal Health)

Active Ingredient(s):

Nitenpyram

What is Capstar used for:

Capstar is an oral medication used to kill fleas on dogs and cats. It works within 30 minutes. See Capstar label for complete safety information.

Availability:

Capstar is a non-prescription (OTC) product.

How Capstar Flea Treatment Tablets should be used:

Capstar is approved for use in dogs and cats over 4 weeks of age and over 2 pounds of body weight. It is available in packages for dogs and cats 2-25 pounds and dogs 25.1-125 pounds. Choose the correct strength and give 1 tablet as the dose. For pets over 125 pounds give the correct combination of tablets.

Capstar Dosing Chart: Cats 2-25 pounds, Dogs 2-25 pounds, and 25 pounds and up

What are the side effects of Capstar:

Side effects that may occur in dogs include Lethargy/depression, vomiting, itching, decreased appetite, diarrhea, hyperactivity, incoordination, trembling, seizures, panting, allergic reactions including hives, vocalization, salivation, fever, and nervousness. Side effects that may occur in cats include Hyperactivity, panting, lethargy, itching, vocalization, vomiting, fever, decreased appetite, nervousness, diarrhea, difficulty breathing, salivation, incoordination, seizures, pupil dilation, increased heart rate, and trembling. There are no known drug or food interactions

What special precautions are there:

This medication treats the pet only. To properly control fleas all pets must be treated and the outside and inside environments also need to be treated to prevent a reoccurrence.

In the event of overdose:

Contact your veterinarian or veterinary emergency room.

How should I store this product:

Store this product at room temperature. Keep out of the reach of children and pets.

How to Administer Capstar

Capstar Flea Treatment Tablets Directions:

  • Capstar Flea Treatment Tablets are available in packages for dogs and cats 2-25 lbs (11.4 mg) and for dogs 25.1-125 lbs (57 mg).
  • Capstar Flea Treatment Tablets begin working within 30 minutes. Redose pet as often as once a day if needed.
Tip:

Pets may scratch as a result of the fleas dying.

Capstar Flea Treatment Tablets Dosage:

Capstar Flea Treatment Tablets Dosage for Cats (over 4 weeks of age)
Weight Dosage
2-25 lbs Give 1 tablet (11.4 mg)
Capstar Flea Treatment Tablets Dosage for Dogs (over 4 weeks of age)
Weight Dosage
2-25 lbs Give 1 tablet (11.4 mg)
25.1-125 lbs Give 1 tablet (57 mg)
Over 125 lbs Give appropriate combination of tablets
Capstar Flea Treatment Tablets Dosage for Horses
Horses
Do not use!

Storage:

Should be stored at room temperature.

Capstar Flea Treatment Tablets Ingredients:

Capstar Flea Treatment Tablets (for Cats 2-25 lbs)
Active Ingredient Amount
Nitenpyram 11.4 mg
Capstar Flea Treatment Tablets (for Dogs 2-25 lbs)
Active Ingredient Amount
Nitenpyram 11.4 mg
Capstar Flea Treatment Tablets (for Dogs over 25 lbs)
Active Ingredient Amount
Nitenpyram 57.0 mg

What is Capstar (nitenpyram) Flea Treatment Tablets?

Capstar Flea Treatment Tablets are used to kill fleas on dogs and cats, which begins working within 30 minutes. Capstar will kill more than 90% of adult fleas within 4 hours on dogs and 6 hours on cats, and pets may temporarily scratch as a result of the fleas dying.

For:

Cats (4 weeks of age and older and 2 pounds of body weight or greater) Dogs (4 weeks of age and older and 2 pounds of body weight or greater)

Benefits:

  • Starts killing fleas within 30 minutes
  • Unflavored tablet
  • Safe for pregnant or nursing dogs and cats

How it Works:

The active ingredient in Capstar is nitenpyram, an insecticide. This oral treatment kills adult fleas quickly. Nitenpyram interferes with nerve transmission in fleas, with no adverse effect on your pet.

Cautions:

Pets may scratch as a result of the fleas dying, but it is a temporary condition and not a reaction to the medication itself Always read, understand and follow the label and use directions.

Brand Name:

Capstar (Elanco Animal Health)

Active Ingredient(s):

Nitenpyram

What is Capstar used for:

Capstar is an oral medication used to kill fleas on dogs and cats. It works within 30 minutes. See Capstar label for complete safety information.

Availability:

Capstar is a non-prescription (OTC) product.

How Capstar Flea Treatment Tablets should be used:

Capstar is approved for use in dogs and cats over 4 weeks of age and over 2 pounds of body weight. It is available in packages for dogs and cats 2-25 pounds and dogs 25.1-125 pounds. Choose the correct strength and give 1 tablet as the dose. For pets over 125 pounds give the correct combination of tablets.

Capstar Dosing Chart: Cats 2-25 pounds, Dogs 2-25 pounds, and 25 pounds and up

What are the side effects of Capstar:

Side effects that may occur in dogs include Lethargy/depression, vomiting, itching, decreased appetite, diarrhea, hyperactivity, incoordination, trembling, seizures, panting, allergic reactions including hives, vocalization, salivation, fever, and nervousness. Side effects that may occur in cats include Hyperactivity, panting, lethargy, itching, vocalization, vomiting, fever, decreased appetite, nervousness, diarrhea, difficulty breathing, salivation, incoordination, seizures, pupil dilation, increased heart rate, and trembling. There are no known drug or food interactions

What special precautions are there:

This medication treats the pet only. To properly control fleas all pets must be treated and the outside and inside environments also need to be treated to prevent a reoccurrence.

In the event of overdose:

Contact your veterinarian or veterinary emergency room.

How should I store this product:

Store this product at room temperature. Keep out of the reach of children and pets.

How to Administer Capstar

Capstar Flea Treatment Tablets Directions:

  • Capstar Flea Treatment Tablets are available in packages for dogs and cats 2-25 lbs (11.4 mg) and for dogs 25.1-125 lbs (57 mg).
  • Capstar Flea Treatment Tablets begin working within 30 minutes. Redose pet as often as once a day if needed.
Tip:

Pets may scratch as a result of the fleas dying.

Capstar Flea Treatment Tablets Dosage:

Capstar Flea Treatment Tablets Dosage for Cats (over 4 weeks of age)
Weight Dosage
2-25 lbs Give 1 tablet (11.4 mg)
Capstar Flea Treatment Tablets Dosage for Dogs (over 4 weeks of age)
Weight Dosage
2-25 lbs Give 1 tablet (11.4 mg)
25.1-125 lbs Give 1 tablet (57 mg)
Over 125 lbs Give appropriate combination of tablets
Capstar Flea Treatment Tablets Dosage for Horses
Horses
Do not use!

Storage:

Should be stored at room temperature.

Capstar Flea Treatment Tablets Ingredients:

Capstar Flea Treatment Tablets (for Cats 2-25 lbs)
Active Ingredient Amount
Nitenpyram 11.4 mg
Capstar Flea Treatment Tablets (for Dogs 2-25 lbs)
Active Ingredient Amount
Nitenpyram 11.4 mg
Capstar Flea Treatment Tablets (for Dogs over 25 lbs)
Active Ingredient Amount
Nitenpyram 57.0 mg