Apoquel

5 out of 5 Customer Rating
Apoquel is rated 4.4 out of 5 by 91.
  • y_2020, m_9, d_28, h_16
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.12
  • cp_3, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_91
  • loc_en_US, sid_prod11700, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_1800petmeds
  • bvseo_sdk, dw_cartridge, 18.2.0, p_sdk_3.2.0
  • CLOUD, getAggregateRating, 7ms
  • reviews, product
1. We'll ask for your vet's info during checkout.
2. We verify your prescription and ship your order!
Close
Starts $3.27 $2.29
Most orders ship the same day
SOLD PER TABLET

Apoquel

5 out of 5 Customer Rating
Apoquel is rated 4.4 out of 5 by 91.
  • y_2020, m_9, d_28, h_16
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.12
  • cp_3, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_91
  • loc_en_US, sid_prod11700, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_1800petmeds
  • bvseo_sdk, dw_cartridge, 18.2.0, p_sdk_3.2.0
  • CLOUD, getAggregateRating, 7ms
  • reviews, product
Starts $3.27 $2.29
Most orders ship the same day
Please select all product options.

Reviews

Rated 5 out of 5 by from Apoquel is a Miracle drug I bought Apoquel, from my Vet's office the first. Then started to purchase Apoquel from 1-800 petmeds. This a Miracle drug my Lhasa Apso Raggs has terrible allergies when I started giving the medication I noticed during the day he was just scratching or chewing his paws any longer. Raggs is 13 years old An had the problem all his life. Where was drug 8 years ago all the money I've spent over the years with other medication. I would be rich
Date published: 2017-10-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from 100% Improvement. My 7yo Australian Shepherd has an unknown fall/spring allergy and will lose clumps of hair constantly and chews his legs and feet bald. Antihistamines didn't help and Temaril (steroid) gave him tremors. Apoquil completely stopped the itching, hair loss (from itching?), and red skin. My dog is so much happier and can finally get some sleep. 0 side effects. I wish I'd discovered this MIRACLE drug when it first came out a couple years ago. It is pricey so I'm glad we don't need it year round.
Date published: 2017-10-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Miracle! My vet recommended this for my dog. He is some sort of corgi mix (we believe). He was scratching and biting constantly due to some unknown allergy. It had gotten much worse as he got older (he is around 12). It was to the point that he would scratch so much and whimper because he was making himself bleed. We changed his diet to grain free, gave him supplements..etc. nothing worked and we felt so bad because he was so uncomfortable. We started him on Apoquel and within hours he stopped scratching. He has been on it for 3 days now and has not scratched or bitten at all. He actually played with our younger dog today! I haven't seen him happy like this in a while. The pills are a bit expensive (around $2 per pill) but for us, it is worth having our happy little guy back.
Date published: 2017-10-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Vicious skin allergies My pure bred English Bull Terrier was always pink around his belly and nose and was always going after his paws. I tried different food, (non allergenic) minerals and vitamins, fishoil.... none of it worked. If not for benedryl (8 tablets a day, which messed with his gut) just to keep it in check. Apoquil has been the answer! Your dog has skin allergies, this is most times the answer. My pitbull had paw issues, since taking apoquil her allergies have disappeared. I-16mg tablet a day...per dog.....1/2 in the morning with a meal and 1/2 with their evening meal....
Date published: 2017-10-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A God Send! I have a 7-year-old golden mix who has had problems all his life chewing on his paws. It seemed to be mostly a habit after eliminating different kinds of foods. Turns out it's not. After starting this medication I pretty much immediately saw a 180-degree turn. There is ZERO paw chewing any longer ...no more wet spots on his bed, the couch etc from his long gnawing sessions. It's been a total life saver!!!!
Date published: 2017-09-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from It's a great medicine Luna has a serious problem of atopy and what is helping is Apoquel. Since we started using Apoquel, Luna got much calmer and greatly reduced the itching.
Date published: 2017-08-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My 4 year old Min Pin went swimming and he ended up with a skin infection, he was itching 24/7 and losing hair due to the scratching. Our vet prescribed Apoquel for the scratching and an antibiotic for the infection. He has totally stopped scratching, he has been on this medication for a week now and he is now getting the relief from the itching, scratching skin. I highly recommend this product. The first dose he totally stopped scratching.
Date published: 2017-07-29
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Not worth the money I used apoquel on my German shephard about a year. Initially, it worked like a miracle drug. I was so happy to finally have remedied my dogs itching and red ear canals. However, after 6 months my dog went right back to itching. I did a little research and decided to start giving him Zyrtec allergy pills and have been giving them to him since. My dogs itching declined significantly and no constant ear infections. I give him Zymox (OTC) medicine for that and it clears up immediately. Do not waste your money.
Date published: 2017-07-16
Rated 1 out of 5 by from too many side effects my vet put my 9 year old newfoundland on this for his allergies as on the past he has always been on predisione for them with no side effects ,well after about 1 month on apoquel he developed demodicosis which is demodex mange on his face and now costing a small fortune we are fighting this and they say this side effect is rare but its crazy that a drug can be put on the market that would cause this,hes my baby and I was trying to make him better not cause something worse
Date published: 2017-07-10
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Worked for a while At first Apoquel was a Godsend. My 9 yr old male pit mix has been itchy since he was 8 months old. I've tried everything so when his itching disappeared a week into taking it I thought finally! It had gotten to be a quality of life thing because he is always scratching. This was great for about 5 months. But with spring turning into summer he's back to scratching again. Not as bad as before but not good either.
Date published: 2017-06-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This saved our dog and our sanity Charlie was constantly bitting his paws till they were raw whimpering through out the night. We lost all hope. No matter if we washed them put booties on them gave him steroid injections every couple of months (so costly). Then our groomer recommended apoquel and thank goodness he is completely cured! Half a pill a day and he is a different dog. He's our sweet happy Charlie again. I highly recommend this medication so worth it and way cheaper than steroid injections
Date published: 2017-06-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Miracle Drug My dog had suffered bad allergies for about a year. He got to the point where he would constantly itch, had sores on his body and lots of hair loss. Nothing we tried worked (including expensive food trials and ointments). Our vet finally recommended a new drug called Apoquel and I can't believe the wonders it has done for him. He still breaks out with an occasional sore on his body, but he is no longer itching. His fur grew back and he can live a comfortable life. I do wish the price was more affordable, but the results are so worth it.
Date published: 2017-06-19
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Effective but very expensive Several years ago our dog was given skin allergy testing by a specialist veterinary dermatologist. He takes the custom serum twice, sublingual, daily, plus Apoquel. Very, very expensive. He is a 13 yr. old mixed breed Jack Russell rescue. No more pets for us after he goes, and we really love him. Cost prohibitive.
Date published: 2017-06-14
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Apoquel My dog has been itching for 1 1/2 years and when my vet urged me to try this medication I was very hopeful. I ended up buying 2 bottles for almost $400. Well my dog is no better and now even has patches of fur missing. I had hydroxyzine for a family member and it worked like a charm and the vet ordered me a bottle of 100 tablets for $16. I will never use apoquel again and my dog is finally happier and recovering.
Date published: 2017-05-17
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Good, But Very $$$ My 5 y/o GSD Jäger is 110 lbs= +$90 USD/2 weeks. Must be a better altnerative!
Date published: 2017-05-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing! Nothing worked for my dog, she was losing hair, and her skin was bright red, she was miserable, then we started using apoquel a couple of years ago, and she hasn't had any issues since. Always read the bottle, it says not for pets under 1 year.
Date published: 2017-05-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This is an excellent product. My dog has been scratching for several years and nothing has worked. Saw the ad for this and called the vet. He gave us a prescription for this and I could not believe hat the itching decreased within 4 hours. She has been on this medication for 1 month and the difference is amazing. Thank you for making such a great product.
Date published: 2017-04-28
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Wait for More Testing This was prescribed for my puppy to help calm skin rash and general itchiness. I blindly administered it for a few months, feeling it must be safe since Vet had prescribed. Shame on me. Visited a different vet for a second opinion on another issue thought to be unrelated and was told that Apoquel SHOULD NOT be prescribed to dogs under 1 yr of age, as it suppresses the immune system which can, can, allow Parvovirus (which every dog has) take root. Which is what happened to my boy- weird growths on his paws got larger and larger and were eventually lased off. Could this have been avoided? Perhaps, perhaps not. All meds have risks I know, but from now on, due diligence on anything that goes into my boy will be scrutinized by me. I do not think the rx and the warts were a mere coincidence. Needless to say, I have a new vet now as well.
Date published: 2017-03-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This stuff works With the seasonal allergies that our Schnoodle has, he was going absolutely crazy, quite sad. Friend told me about Apoquel Amazing! With the right dosage, he is transformed back to his normal self. Happy day!
Date published: 2017-02-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from What an amazing transformation! Our 4 year old shelty mix rescue dog has been itchy and scratchy since the day we brought him home. We have tried everything and spent thousands on vet visits, creams, pills, shampoos, nutrition supplements, training, shots and more. After 24 hours I'm watching our dog just lay in the middle of the living room floor completely relaxed and happy. It is truly a miracle!
Date published: 2017-02-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing relief! My 13 year old Yorkie developed skin allergies this past year. We have tried many things to help him with no luck. He started this pill today and found relief with a couple of hours. I am so happy he is feeling better.
Date published: 2017-01-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Miracle drug! My 6 month old Newfoundland has awful skin allergies, to the point that she was pulling out all of her fur on her back legs and the rest of her fur was very thin. I switched her to hypoallergenic food, and gave her salmon oil daily. I also tried every cream and spray you could imagine and nothing seemed to help. Then my vet recommended Apoquel, well after just one day she quit itching and now after just two weeks her fur is already growing back in and there have been no negative side effects. Apoquel is honestly a miracle drug!
Date published: 2016-12-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wonder Drug! This is by far the best medication you can give your dog if they have any type of skin issues. My Wire Fox Terriers have some skin issues during the summer months.. Ones you give them a few doses of this WONDER DRUG they will stop itching with in a day or two.. Thank god this med is back on the market b/c I would not know what my babies would do with out it. I stock up on it since it sells out fast. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED if you baby or babies have any type of Allergies or skin issues.. There is no drug that even come close to Aqopel and that's a Fact!
Date published: 2016-11-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fast results Our vet prescribed this for my baby girl, a 6 yr old chihuahua, who was having a really bad problem with itching, especially in her ears. Because of her small size, she could put her entire paw into her ears & really get after the scratching. She would cry & whimper when scratching her ears. In one day, she had almost completely quit scratching. Great product.
Date published: 2016-11-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing results Had used it one day and saw results. Poor pups had been itchy scratchy but have all but stopped. Down to one pill a day and hoping soon that allergy season will be over and none will be needed.Also,the fast delivery time from 1800Petmeds was pretty remarkable. Happy dog.. Happy mom.
Date published: 2016-10-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A life changer for my dog My dachshund is 10 years old. Needless to say, over the years, we've tried everything under the sun from pills, to cremes, to diet changes, etc. Nothing seemed to work for the poor little guy. Spring and Fall would be especially tortuous for him. Last year, my vet recommended we try Apoquel and it has completely changed him. He's like a young puppy again. His energy is back, his appetite is back. I'm so happy that our Doc asked us to give this a try. I've seen lots of online websites knocking this drug. I've really given this some thought and even if it does shorten his life somewhat, it has given him a quality of life that was completely unavailable to him before.
Date published: 2016-10-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Pill When my veterinarian prescribed it I really didn't know how it was going to work for my little Delta. But after the first two weeks her itching completely subsided. As a little mini Schnauzer, she has some allergies but this medication has really been her saving grace. Thank your pet meds for making it affordable.
Date published: 2016-10-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Shin Tzu allergies under control 2year old ShihTzu started developing allergies out of the blue and it turned out to be grass and fleas. After an initial antibiotic course we started Apiquel and she has done amazingly well. I would recommend it to anyone who struggled with allergies in their pet.
Date published: 2016-09-21
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Works well but scary potential side effects My mini Aussie has horrible allergies and tested positive for 9 allergens in the Virginia outdoors. We suffered greatly every spring, summer and autumn. Until we discovered sublingual immunization. Within 3 months the dog was completely back to his normal self. The drops strengths the immune system. We use the drops by Heska. Fantastic people, and no crazy side effects. Use Apoquel only for flare ups.
Date published: 2016-09-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A Miracle We have had our 10 year old cocker spaniel on this for almost a month and everyone including her groomer has noticed a huge improvement. She has struggled with allergies her whole life and we there was nothing we hadn't tried until at a recent vet visit they recommended Apoquel. I was very leary as we had already tried so many things to no avail but figured why not try it and within 6 hours she quit licking and scratching. I was worried that it would start again when reducing to once a day but it hasn't. It is so amazing, I just wish she would have been on it sooner.
Date published: 2016-09-16
  • y_2020, m_9, d_28, h_16
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.12
  • cp_3, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_91
  • loc_en_US, sid_prod11700, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_1800petmeds
  • bvseo_sdk, dw_cartridge, 18.2.0, p_sdk_3.2.0
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 8ms
  • reviews, product

Questions

I have refills of this  medication can you refill it. What information would you need 

Asked by: Kevin J
You can place an order for your refill by calling us at 1-800-738-6337 or on our website.
Answered by: Lisa M
Date published: 2019-08-20

Can my vet fax over the script?

Asked by: Vivian
Your veterinarian can fax a prescription to us at 800-600-8285.
Answered by: Lisa M
Date published: 2019-08-20

Do I need a prescription for this.

Asked by: Roberta
Yes. We normally contact your veterinarian to obtain the prescription for you.
Answered by: Cherley Petmeds Pro
Date published: 2019-08-10

Is there a generic brand

Asked by: Glb21072
I'm so sorry, we do not carry a generic brand for this medication.
Answered by: Cherley Petmeds Pro
Date published: 2019-08-06

Is this a prescription med

Asked by: Helen02
Yes. This medication requires a prescription.
Answered by: Cherley Petmeds Pro
Date published: 2019-07-31

My dog has been in Prednisone 2.5mg daily for the past 2 years, with undesirable side effects. My vet suggested Apoquel, which has fewer side effects with long-term use. My question is how long should she be off the Prednisone before starting the Apoquel

Asked by: Joell
Your veterinarian will determine the length of the washout period between prednisone and Apoquel administration for your specific pet.
Answered by: Lisa M
Date published: 2019-07-23

Is this product a steroid?0

Asked by: lINDA
Apoquel is a selective janus kinase (JAK) inhibitor, which targets pruritogenic (itch creating) cytokines. It effectively controls itching due to food allergies, flea allergies, contact dermatitis, and atopic dermatitis.
Answered by: Lisa M
Date published: 2019-10-30

Is prescription needed 

Asked by: Elmer
Yes, Apoquel requires a prescription from your veterinarian.
Answered by: Lisa M
Date published: 2019-05-27

17lb doxund. Took l benedryl pill n one 5.4 and l Apoquel ..is this deadly

Asked by: Marie
Administering 1 dose of Benadryl and Apoquel is not a fatal combination; however, antihistamines should not be given with Apoquel unless instructed by a veterinarian.
Answered by: Lisa M
Date published: 2019-09-23

My dog seems to be suffering from seasonal allergies and breaks out in hives multiple times a day. They don't always cause him to itch, but will Apoquel help with his reaction? Also, my doctor said 16mg would be fine for my 53lb pit mix. Is this too much?

Asked by: Jax11
Apoquel is used to treat and control itching and inflammation in dogs resulting from a variety of causes, including flea allergy, food allergy, contact allergy and atopic dermatitis. Two 5.4 mg tablets twice daily for up to 14 days is the recommended dose for dogs between 45-59.9 lbs.
Answered by: Lisa M
Date published: 2019-09-23

Do you have to have a prescription

Asked by: Sherry
Yes, Apoquel requires a prescription from your veterinarian.
Answered by: Lisa M
Date published: 2019-05-15

Can a chichucha dog 6 lbs take this 

Asked by: Oslater
Apoquel is for dogs over 12 months in age and weighing more than 6.6 lbs. our veterinarian will determine if this medication is safe for your pet as well as the appropriate dose for your dog.
Answered by: Crystal RPTechnician
Date published: 2019-05-06

Hello Can you tell me how many pills come in the 16mg bottle? Thank you

Asked by: Jodi
Apoquel is sold by the tablet so you can get as many or as few as you need. A full bottle contains 100 tablets.
Answered by: SuzyCVT
Date published: 2019-06-27

My terrier mix (rescued) is 24lbs, currently overweight, healthy weight is 20-22 lbs. She's currently on the 5.4 g Apoquel twice a day. Would it be possible to save some money by purchasing the 16 mg Apoquel and giving it to her once a day?

Asked by: mimisdaddy
Thank you for your question. 5.4mg twice a day would only be 10.8mg of medication per day. And a 16mg tablet would not be scored evenly for 10.8mg dosage per day as prescribed by your DVM. Consult your DVM. Dosage is generally determined by weight and 16mg is generally for pets 30lbs & up.
Answered by: Crystal RPTechnician
Date published: 2019-02-22

My vet is ready to give approval for Apoquel for my rescue Chihuahua.  She’s has been on it for a while. What I need to know is, do I put the number of pills for one month and then get refills or do I put the number for one year

Asked by: PeanutsMom2019
Thank you for your question. We sell the medication per tablet so you would get to choose how man you wish to purchase whether it be a one month supply , etc. Once the order is placed we will contact the veterinarians office for the prescription authorization. We do ask the vet for refills which is at their discretion.
Answered by: Crystal RPTechnician
Date published: 2019-03-20

do I need a script for this med

Asked by: chines
Thank you for your question. Apoquel requires a prescription from your veterinarian. Once an order is placed our pharmacy staff will obtain that directly from your veterinarian for you. We make that process as simple as possible for you, the customer.
Answered by: Crystal RPTechnician
Date published: 2019-04-24

My chi is 5.5 lbs.  what dosage would you recommend? 

Asked by: Cassie
Thank you for your question. Apoquel is for dogs over 12 months in age and weighing more than 6.6 lbs. Consult your pets DVM.
Answered by: Crystal RPTechnician
Date published: 2019-01-15

Is there anyone working on a generic? I have a white lab that constantly itches and chews. This is helping wonderfully but super expensive! What else can I do!

Asked by: adamwho2
There is no generic form of Apoquel at this time. There is a similar medication called Cytopoint which is an injectable, but for a large breed dog such as your lab, can be even more expensive than the Apoquel. Prior allergy treatments often consisted of the use of steroids, which, long term, can have detrimental side effects. Apoquel does not have those bad side effects. Your only other alternative would be having an allergy test done to determine exactly what your dog is allergic to. Some things can potentially be eliminated (such as food allergies) but unfortunately, others can be almost impossible to eliminate (such as tree and grass pollens). You can have specific injections created for your dog's specific allergies (some allergy testing labs can make those). but they too, are expensive and do not always work that well. I would suggest talking to your vet about trying a lower dose of Apoquel to see if his allergies can be controlled at that lower dose to help with the cost.
Answered by: SuzyCVT
Date published: 2019-04-24

Can give two tablets fir mire than the initial two weeks. 

Asked by: Linda
Thank you for your question. Only if recommended by DVM.
Answered by: Crystal RPTechnician
Date published: 2018-12-13

Hello I have a 72 lbs pitbull that was prescribed this medicine back in July it work within a week and he was doing fine up until now, the question is can I order him more of this medicine without going broke taking him back to vet?

Asked by: Kandi
Thank you for your question. Apoquel requires a prescription from your veterinarian. Once an order is placed we would be happy to reach out to your veterinarian for the prescription. Generally the prescription is good for a year unless otherwise specified by your veterinarian. If you check the bottle of medication last filled the label should advise if you have any refills remaining on the prescription.
Answered by: Crystal RPTechnician
Date published: 2019-04-24

I have a  100lb wimp pit bull  10 yrs old he has suffered with allergies for several years scratching and chewing mainly his paws. He does scratch his side with hind leg often  I purchased 60 pills hopefully it will help him 

Asked by: Mac n Zeus
Thank you for your question. Apoquel is used to treat and control itching and inflammation in dogs resulting from a variety of causes, including flea allergy, food allergy, contact allergy and atopic dermatitis. Apoquel delivers onset of relief within 4 hours. It effectively controls itching within 24 hours. We hope it works wonders for your furry friend.
Answered by: Crystal RPTechnician
Date published: 2018-12-05

It was a winderful solution to Coal’s skin issue. Cleared up the bumps and he stopped scratching. After about 1 week he started throwing up and it upset his stomach. Any other alternative or tips to avoid this happening? 

Asked by: CoalsMom
Thank you for your question. Adverse reactions of this medication reported in a masked field study included diarrhea, vomiting, anorexia, new cutaneous or subcutaneous lumps, and lethargy. In most cases, diarrhea, vomiting, anorexia, and lethargy spontaneously resolved with continued dosing. We recommend you try giving the medication with food.
Answered by: Crystal RPTechnician
Date published: 2019-09-30

I have a discount card (USA medical card) do I get a discount on apoquel?

Asked by: Julio
Thank you for your question. Unfortunately we do not accept discount medical cards at this time. We are however currently offering 20% off.
Answered by: Crystal RPTechnician
Date published: 2018-12-05

How many pills in the bottle

Asked by: Eleanor
Thank you for your question. Apoquel is sold per tablet.
Answered by: Crystal RPTechnician
Date published: 2018-12-05

Why can’t I give this to my horse’s?

Asked by: MD Jarhead
Thank you for your question. Apoquel is only FDA approved for use in dogs.
Answered by: Crystal RPTechnician
Date published: 2018-12-05

Prescription expired 10/01/17 Is it safe to use?? And will it be affective?

Asked by: Linnie
Thank you for your question. It is not recommended to use any medication past the date labeled for expiration. Beyond that date, there is no guarantee of the full potency and safety of the drug. Giving expired medication could lead to inadequate results. Please keep in mind the expiration date of the product versus expiration date of the actual prescription differ.
Answered by: Crystal RPTechnician
Date published: 2018-12-05

I did the 14 day usage on my 7 year old male Corgi. Everything cleared up, but his paws have broken out again and he is itching like crazy. How many days do I have to wait to start the medicine again? Thanks

Asked by: ConcernedCorgiMom
Thank you for your question. Apoquel is administered twice daily for 14 days then 1 time daily thereafter. If you've discontinued administration, you should start again with the twice daily dose for 2 weeks.
Answered by: Crystal RPTechnician
Date published: 2019-09-30

75 lb dog dosage in mg.

Asked by: Barb
Thank you for your question. The recommended initial dosage for a 75lbs dog is one 16mg tablet twice daily for up to 14days. And for maintenance dosage would be one 16mg tablet once daily. Apoquel requires a prescription from your veterinarian.
Answered by: Crystal RPTechnician
Date published: 2018-12-05

Is this by prescription only?

Asked by: All pets for you
Thank you for your question. Apoquel requires a prescription from your veterinarian.
Answered by: Crystal RPTechnician
Date published: 2018-08-22

Do you have the generic brand available?

Asked by: Teresa
Thank you for your question. There is currently no generic to Apoquel available.
Answered by: Crystal RPTechnician
Date published: 2018-08-14
  • y_2020, m_9, d_27, h_15CST
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvqa, vn_bulk_3.0.12
  • cp_3, bvpage2n
  • co_hasquestionsanswers, tq_207
  • loc_en_US, sid_prod11700, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=LAST_APPROVED_ANSWER_SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_1800petmeds
  • bvseo_sdk, dw_cartridge, 18.2.0, p_sdk_3.2.0
  • CLOUD, getContent, 10ms
  • questions, product

What is Apoquel?

Apoquel is used to treat and control itching and inflammation in dogs resulting from a variety of causes, including flea allergy, food allergy, contact allergy and atopic dermatitis. Apoquel delivers onset of relief within 4 hours. It effectively controls itching within 24 hours. Apoquel requires a prescription from your veterinarian, and is sold per tablet.

For:

Dogs over 12 months in age and weighing more than 6.6 lbs.

Benefits:

  • Provides onset of relief within 4 hours
  • Effectively controls itch within 24 hours
  • Safe for short term and long term usage
  • Can be used along with many other common medications, including parasiticides, antibiotics, and vaccines
  • Uniquely targeted to stop the itch with minimal negative impact on immune function
  • Controls pruritus associated with allergic dermatitis and controls atopic dermatitis
  • Sold per tablet

How does Apoquel work?

Apoquel is a selective janus kinase (JAK) inhibitor, which targets pruritogenic (itch creating) cytokines. It effectively controls itching due to food allergies, flea allergies, contact dermatitis, and atopic dermatitis. Apoquel works to control pruritus for fast-acting relief, and provides significant short-term and long-term reduction of itching and inflammation.

Cautions:

This product is not for human use. Keep this and all drugs out of the reach of children. For use in dogs only. Do not give to dogs younger than 12 months or those with serious infections. Apoquel is not for use in breeding dogs, or pregnant or lactating bitches. Wash hands immediately after handling the tablets. In case of accidental eye contact, flush immediately with water or saline for at least 15 minutes and then seek medical attention. In case of accidental ingestion, seek medical attention immediately.

Brand Name

Apoquel

Generic Name

oclacitinib (ah-clas-eh-tee-nib)

Manufacturer:

Zoetis

What is the most important thing I should know about Apoquel?

Apoquel is used to relieve itching and inflammation caused by a variety of diagnoses, including allergic dermatitis and atopic dermatitis.

What should I discuss with my veterinarian before giving Apoquel to my pet?

Tell your veterinarian if your pet has ever had an allergic reaction to the medication.

How should Apoquel be given?

The dose of Apoquel tablets is 0.18 to 0.27 mg/lb of body weight. Therefore, the recommended initial dosage for dogs 6.6-9.9 lbs is ½ of a 3.6 mg tablet twice daily. The dosage for dogs 10-14.9 lbs is ½ of a 5.4 mg tablet twice daily. The dosage for dogs 15-19.9 lbs is one 3.6 mg tablet twice daily. The dosage for dogs 20-29.9 lbs is one 5.4 mg tablet twice daily. The dosage for dogs 30-44.9 lbs is ½ of a 16 mg tablet twice daily. The dosage for dogs 45-59.9 lbs is two 5.4 mg tablets twice daily. The dosage dogs 60-89.9 lbs is one 16 mg table twice daily. The dosage dogs 90-129.9 lbs is 1½ 16 mg tablets twice daily. The dosage for dogs 130-175.9 lbs is two 16 mg tablets daily.

What are the potential side effects of Apoquel?

Apoquel may increase susceptibility to infection, including demodicosis. It may also exacerbate neoplastic conditions. Adverse reactions reported in a masked field study included diarrhea, vomiting, anorexia, new cutaneous or subcutaneous lumps, and lethargy. In most cases, diarrhea, vomiting, anorexia, and lethargy spontaneously resolved with continued dosing.

What happens if I miss giving a dose of Apoquel?

Give the missed dose with food as soon as you remember and resume a regular dosing schedule.

What happens if I overdose my pet on Apoquel?

Contact your veterinarian immediately.

What should I avoid while giving Apoquel to my pet?

Apoquel should not be given to dogs younger than 12 months or those with serious infections. Apoquel is not for use in breeding dogs, or pregnant or lactating bitches. The use of Apoquel has not been evaluated in combination with glucocorticoids, cyclosporine, or other systemic immunosuppressive agents. Dogs receiving Apoquel should be monitored for the development of infections, including demodicosis and neoplasia.

What other drugs will affect Apoquel?

Talk to your veterinarian before giving any prescription or over the counter medications.

Apoquel Directions:

  • Administer to your dog orally twice daily for up to 14 days according to the weight chart below, then administer once daily for maintenance dose.
Tip:

Apoquel may be administered with or without food.

Initial Dosage:

Dogs: (over 12 months of age)
Weight Amount
6.6-9.9 lbs 1/2 of a 3.6 mg tablet twice daily for up to 14 days
10-14.9 lbs 1/2 of a 5.4 mg tablet twice daily for up to 14 days
15-19.9 lbs One 3.6 mg tablet twice daily for up to 14 days
20-29.9 lbsOne 5.4 mg tablet twice daily for up to 14 days
30-44.9 lbs 1/2 of a 16 mg tablet twice daily for up to 14 days
45-59.9 lbs Two 5.4 mg tablets twice daily for up to 14 days
60-89.9 lbs One 16 mg table twice daily for up to 14 days
90-129.9 lbs 1 1/2 16 mg tablets twice daily for up to 14 days
130-175.9 lbs Two 16 mg twice daily for up to 14 days

Maintenance Dosage:

Dogs: (over 12 months of age)
Weight Amount
6.6-9.9 lbs 1/2 of a 3.6 mg tablet once daily
10-14.9 lbs 1/2 of a 5.4 mg tablet once daily
15-19.9 lbs One 3.6 mg tablet once daily
20-29.9 lbs One 5.4 mg tablet once daily
30-44.9 lbs 1/2 of a 16 mg tablet once daily
45-59.9 lbs Two 5.4 mg tablets once daily
60-89.9 lbsOne 16 mg table once daily
90-129.9 lbs 1 1/216 mg tablets once daily
130-175.9 lbs Two 16 mg once daily
Apoquel Dosage for Cats:
Cats
Do not use!
Apoquel Dosage for Horses:
Horses
Do not use!
Storage:

Store at controlled room temperature between 68-77 F, with excursions between 59-104.

Apoquel Ingredients:

Apoquel 3.6 mg tablet
Active IngredientAmount
Oclacitinib maleate3.6 mg
Apoquel 5.4 mg tablet
Active IngredientAmount
Oclacitinib maleate5.4 mg
Apoquel 16 mg tablet
Active IngredientAmount
Oclacitinib maleate16 mg

What is Apoquel?

Apoquel is used to treat and control itching and inflammation in dogs resulting from a variety of causes, including flea allergy, food allergy, contact allergy and atopic dermatitis. Apoquel delivers onset of relief within 4 hours. It effectively controls itching within 24 hours. Apoquel requires a prescription from your veterinarian, and is sold per tablet.

For:

Dogs over 12 months in age and weighing more than 6.6 lbs.

Benefits:

  • Provides onset of relief within 4 hours
  • Effectively controls itch within 24 hours
  • Safe for short term and long term usage
  • Can be used along with many other common medications, including parasiticides, antibiotics, and vaccines
  • Uniquely targeted to stop the itch with minimal negative impact on immune function
  • Controls pruritus associated with allergic dermatitis and controls atopic dermatitis
  • Sold per tablet

How does Apoquel work?

Apoquel is a selective janus kinase (JAK) inhibitor, which targets pruritogenic (itch creating) cytokines. It effectively controls itching due to food allergies, flea allergies, contact dermatitis, and atopic dermatitis. Apoquel works to control pruritus for fast-acting relief, and provides significant short-term and long-term reduction of itching and inflammation.

Cautions:

This product is not for human use. Keep this and all drugs out of the reach of children. For use in dogs only. Do not give to dogs younger than 12 months or those with serious infections. Apoquel is not for use in breeding dogs, or pregnant or lactating bitches. Wash hands immediately after handling the tablets. In case of accidental eye contact, flush immediately with water or saline for at least 15 minutes and then seek medical attention. In case of accidental ingestion, seek medical attention immediately.

Brand Name

Apoquel

Generic Name

oclacitinib (ah-clas-eh-tee-nib)

Manufacturer:

Zoetis

What is the most important thing I should know about Apoquel?

Apoquel is used to relieve itching and inflammation caused by a variety of diagnoses, including allergic dermatitis and atopic dermatitis.

What should I discuss with my veterinarian before giving Apoquel to my pet?

Tell your veterinarian if your pet has ever had an allergic reaction to the medication.

How should Apoquel be given?

The dose of Apoquel tablets is 0.18 to 0.27 mg/lb of body weight. Therefore, the recommended initial dosage for dogs 6.6-9.9 lbs is ½ of a 3.6 mg tablet twice daily. The dosage for dogs 10-14.9 lbs is ½ of a 5.4 mg tablet twice daily. The dosage for dogs 15-19.9 lbs is one 3.6 mg tablet twice daily. The dosage for dogs 20-29.9 lbs is one 5.4 mg tablet twice daily. The dosage for dogs 30-44.9 lbs is ½ of a 16 mg tablet twice daily. The dosage for dogs 45-59.9 lbs is two 5.4 mg tablets twice daily. The dosage dogs 60-89.9 lbs is one 16 mg table twice daily. The dosage dogs 90-129.9 lbs is 1½ 16 mg tablets twice daily. The dosage for dogs 130-175.9 lbs is two 16 mg tablets daily.

What are the potential side effects of Apoquel?

Apoquel may increase susceptibility to infection, including demodicosis. It may also exacerbate neoplastic conditions. Adverse reactions reported in a masked field study included diarrhea, vomiting, anorexia, new cutaneous or subcutaneous lumps, and lethargy. In most cases, diarrhea, vomiting, anorexia, and lethargy spontaneously resolved with continued dosing.

What happens if I miss giving a dose of Apoquel?

Give the missed dose with food as soon as you remember and resume a regular dosing schedule.

What happens if I overdose my pet on Apoquel?

Contact your veterinarian immediately.

What should I avoid while giving Apoquel to my pet?

Apoquel should not be given to dogs younger than 12 months or those with serious infections. Apoquel is not for use in breeding dogs, or pregnant or lactating bitches. The use of Apoquel has not been evaluated in combination with glucocorticoids, cyclosporine, or other systemic immunosuppressive agents. Dogs receiving Apoquel should be monitored for the development of infections, including demodicosis and neoplasia.

What other drugs will affect Apoquel?

Talk to your veterinarian before giving any prescription or over the counter medications.

Apoquel Directions:

  • Administer to your dog orally twice daily for up to 14 days according to the weight chart below, then administer once daily for maintenance dose.
Tip:

Apoquel may be administered with or without food.

Initial Dosage:

Dogs: (over 12 months of age)
Weight Amount
6.6-9.9 lbs 1/2 of a 3.6 mg tablet twice daily for up to 14 days
10-14.9 lbs 1/2 of a 5.4 mg tablet twice daily for up to 14 days
15-19.9 lbs One 3.6 mg tablet twice daily for up to 14 days
20-29.9 lbsOne 5.4 mg tablet twice daily for up to 14 days
30-44.9 lbs 1/2 of a 16 mg tablet twice daily for up to 14 days
45-59.9 lbs Two 5.4 mg tablets twice daily for up to 14 days
60-89.9 lbs One 16 mg table twice daily for up to 14 days
90-129.9 lbs 1 1/2 16 mg tablets twice daily for up to 14 days
130-175.9 lbs Two 16 mg twice daily for up to 14 days

Maintenance Dosage:

Dogs: (over 12 months of age)
Weight Amount
6.6-9.9 lbs 1/2 of a 3.6 mg tablet once daily
10-14.9 lbs 1/2 of a 5.4 mg tablet once daily
15-19.9 lbs One 3.6 mg tablet once daily
20-29.9 lbs One 5.4 mg tablet once daily
30-44.9 lbs 1/2 of a 16 mg tablet once daily
45-59.9 lbs Two 5.4 mg tablets once daily
60-89.9 lbsOne 16 mg table once daily
90-129.9 lbs 1 1/216 mg tablets once daily
130-175.9 lbs Two 16 mg once daily
Apoquel Dosage for Cats:
Cats
Do not use!
Apoquel Dosage for Horses:
Horses
Do not use!
Storage:

Store at controlled room temperature between 68-77 F, with excursions between 59-104.

Apoquel Ingredients:

Apoquel 3.6 mg tablet
Active IngredientAmount
Oclacitinib maleate3.6 mg
Apoquel 5.4 mg tablet
Active IngredientAmount
Oclacitinib maleate5.4 mg
Apoquel 16 mg tablet
Active IngredientAmount
Oclacitinib maleate16 mg