Arthritis
Allergies
Anxiety
Ear Infections
Flea & Tick
Heart Problems
Heartworm
Hot Spots
Hyperthyroidism
Hypothyroidism
Incontinence
Shedding Control
Skin Irritation
Tear Stains
Urinary Infections
Vomiting/Diarrhea
Weight Management
Worms
See All A-Z
Arthritis
Allergies
Anxiety
Ear Infections
Flea & Tick
Heart Problems
Heartworm
Hot Spots
Hyperthyroidism
Hypothyroidism
Incontinence
Shedding Control
Skin Irritation
Tear Stains
Urinary Infections
Vomiting/Diarrhea
Weight Management
Worms
See All A-Z
Breath Fresheners
Chews & Treats
Rinses & Water Additives
Toothpaste & Toothbrushes
Ear Cleansers
Ear Infection Remedies
Ear Mite Treatments
Antibiotic Anti-Infective
Artificial Tears & Lubricants
Eye Inflammation
Glaucoma
Tear Stain Removers
Flea & Tick Prevention
Heartworm & Flea Control
Home Flea & Tick Treatment
Oral Flea Treatments
Pet Flea & Tick Control
Canned Pet Food
Dry Pet Food
Raw Pet Food
Adult Pet Food
Hypoallergenic
Glucose Balance
Digestive Health & Support
Grain Free
Joint Support
Kitten Food
Puppy Food
Senior Pet Food
Skin Support
Small Breed Dog Food
Weight Loss & Management
Treats
Pet Food Storage
Joint Pain
Joint Supplements
Lifting Harness
Orthopedic Beds
Steps & Ramps for Mobility
Allergy Relief
Antibiotics
Antifungal
Anxiety
Asthma
Compound Medications
Cough Relief
Digestive Health & Enzymes
Diuretics
High Blood Pressure
Hormonal Endocrine
Insulin & Glucose Balance
Motion Sickness & Nausea
Pain
Seizure Disorder
Thyroid
Urinary Tract & Kidneys
Wormers
Beds
Bowls & Elevated Feeders
Carriers
Car Seats & Pet Carriers
Cat Litter
Cesar Millan Training Aids
Crates & Kennels
Drinking Fountains
Elizabethan Collars
First Aid
Furniture
Furniture Protectors
Gates
Grooming Tools
Leashes & Harnesses
Life Jackets
Outdoor Cat Pens
Pet Food Storage
Shampoos
Stain Removers
Steps & Ramps
Strollers
Toys
Training Aids
Treats
Wireless Dog Fences
Antibacterials
First Aid
Fish Oils & Omega 3
Fly Control
Grooming Tools
Hairball Remedies
Itch Relief
Ringworm Treatments
Shampoos
Shedding Control
Skin Care Supplements
Skin Medications
Antioxidants
Calcium
Dietary
Digestive Enzymes
Fish Oils & Omega 3
Liver Support
Multivitamins
Potassium
Senior Support
Whole Food Supplements
 
   
Sentinel (Click for Larger Image)
 
    Click for Rx info
Monthly heartworm and flea prevention in the convenience of a tablet.
 
  • Prevents heartworm disease
  • Controls flea population
  • Controls hookworms
  • Removes and controls roundworms
  • Removes and controls whipworms
  • Beef flavor tablet
  • For dogs only
  •  
     
     

    Sentinel

     
    Q & A
    Starts at $38.69 Ships in one business day or less
    1_Select a Weight
      Dogs:




       
     
     
      Product Info   How to use   Ingredients   Customer Reviews   Q & A  

    What is Sentinel?

     

    Sentinel is the only monthly oral preventive that guards against heartworms, adult roundworms, adult hookworms, whipworms, and prevents the development of flea eggs. Sentinel requires a prescription from your veterinarian.

    For:
    Dogs
     
    Benefits:
    Comes in palatable flavored tabs
    Easy to administer just once a month

    How it works:
    Milbemycin oxime eliminates the tissue stage of heartworm larvae and the adult stage of hookworm, roundworm, and whipworm infestations. Lufenuron, the other active ingredient, is an insect development inhibitor that breaks the flea life cycle by inhibiting egg development. Lufenuron prevents most flea eggs from hatching or maturing into adults and thus prevents and controls flea populations by breaking the life cycle.

    Sentinel may be given along with Capstar, which treats flea infestation.

    Cautions:
    Side effects are rare, though some animals may exhibit depression, drowsiness, vomiting, itching, hives, loss of appetite, diarrhea, or seizures. If these or other symptoms develop contact your veterinarian. Its important to maintain good personal hygiene, since humans can contract hookworms and roundworms. Its also important to eliminate fleas and to not feed your pet uncooked meat or fish. To prevent re-infection, clean up stools on a daily basis. Consult your veterinarian for pregnant or lactating dogs.


    More Information:
    Brand Name
    Sentinel (Novartis)
    Generic Name
    Milbemycin Oxime (milí-beh-myí-sin oxí-eem) and Lufenuron (lew-fení-your-on)

    What is the most important information I should know about Sentinel: Sentinel is a prescription medication FDA-approved for use in dogs. Sentinel is available as artificial beef flavored (derived from pork and soy protein) chewable tablets. This medication should be given once a month year-round.

    What is Sentinel: Sentinel is given once a month for the prevention of heartworm disease in dogs. Sentinel also protects against hookworms, roundworms, and whipworms. Sentinel is also used to control fleas by preventing the development of flea eggs. Sentinel does not kill adult fleas. The American Heartworm Society recommends that heartworm prevention be used year-round. Sentinel may also be used for purposes other than those listed in this guide.

    What should I discuss with my veterinarian before giving Sentinel to my pet: Tell your veterinarian if your pet has ever had an allergic reaction to the medication.

    How should this medication be given: Give Sentinel exactly as directed by the veterinarian. If you do not understand the directions ask your pharmacist or veterinarian to explain them to you. The usual dose of Sentinel for dogs 2 to 10 pounds is 2.3mg/46mg, 11 to 25 pounds is 5.75mg/115mg, 26 to 50 pounds is 11.5mg/230mg and 51 to 100 pounds is 23mg/460mg given once a month year-round. For dogs over 100 pounds give the appropriate combination of tablets. Heartworm testing should be performed prior to the start of prevention therapy. If your pet is off Sentinel for 6 months or less, re-start the medication and test after 6 months since microfilaria, that take 6 months to mature, will result in a positive test result. Store Sentinel at room temperature. Do not remove the tablet from its wrapper until ready to give the medicine. Keep this medication away from children and pets. Consult your veterinarian for pregnant or lactating dogs.  

    What happens if I miss giving a dose: Give the missed dose as soon as you remember. Do not give a double dose of the medication.

    What happens if I overdose the pet: Seek emergency veterinary medical treatment. Symptoms of overdose may include depression, drowsiness, vomiting, loss of appetite, diarrhea, hypersalivation, seizures, and weakness.

    What should I avoid while giving Sentinel to my pet: Because humans can contract hookworms and roundworms from animals, it is important to maintain good personal hygiene. It is also important to eliminate fleas on your pet and in the household and to not feed your pet rodents or uncooked meat or fish. To prevent reinfection, daily cleanup of stools is recommended.

    What are the possible side effects of Sentinel: Side effects of Sentinel are rare although some animals may exhibit depression, drowsiness, vomiting, itching, hives, loss of appetite, diarrhea, hypersalivation, seizures, and weakness. If these or other symptoms develop contact your veterinarian.

    What other drugs will affect Sentinel: While Sentinel is safe to use in dogs at risk for MDRI-allele mutation (Australian Shepherds, Collies, Shelties,etc.), unless tested normal, caution is advised if the pet is also being given amiodarone (Cordarone), azole antifungals such as ketoconazole, carvedilol (Coreg), cyclosporine (Atopica), diltiazem (Cardizem), erthromycin (Ery-Tabs) or clarithromycin (Biaxin), quinidine, spironolactone (Adlactone), tamoxifen, and verapamil (Calan). Do not give Sentinel to your pet if already giving an alternate heartworm medication.

    Where can I get more information: Your pharmacist has additional information about Sentinel written for health professionals that you may read.

     

    Directions:
    Give Sentinel Flavor Tabs once a month on the same day of each month year-round.
    Sentinel Flavor Tabs is for use in dogs only. Do not give to cats.
    Watch your dog closely following dosing to be sure the entire dose has been swallowed. If it is not completely swallowed, give one more full recommended dose as soon as possible.
    Tip: Do not remove Sentinel from its wrapper until ready to give to your pet.
    Dosage:
    Pet Weight Dosage
    Dogs/puppies: (4 weeks of age or older)
    2-10 lbs Give 1 Flavor Tab every month
    (Brown Box)

    11-25 lbs Give 1 Flavor Tab every month
    (Green Box)

    26-50 lbs Give 1 Flavor Tab every month
    (Yellow Box)
      51-100 lbs Give 1 Flavor Tab every month
    (White Box)

    Over 100 lbs Give combination of Flavor Tabs based on weight
    Cats:
    Horses:
    Storage: Should be stored at room temperature between 59° and 77° F.
    Sentinel Brown for Dogs 2-10 lbs:
    Active Ingredient (per tablet) Amount
    Milbemycin Oxime 2.3 mg
    Lufenuron 46 mg

    Sentinel Green for Dogs 11-25 lbs:
    Active Ingredient (per tablet) Amount
    Milbemycin Oxime 5.75 mg
    Lufenuron 115 mg

    Sentinel Yellow for Dogs 26-50 lbs:
    Active Ingredient (per tablet) Amount
    Milbemycin Oxime 11.5 mg
    Lufenuron 230 mg

    Sentinel White for Dogs 51-100 lbs:
    Active Ingredient (per tablet) Amount
    Milbemycin Oxime 23 mg
    Lufenuron 460 mg

    Sentinel 4.5 5 532 539
    Tipper & Rugrat are doing fine on Sentinel Been on it for years no problem giving it to them they love it. 01/22/2010
    Dogs clear 2 large Australian Shephers been on Sentinel for years. Tests are completey clear. Great product. 01/22/2010
    Worth it While vets and animal hospital workers may refer to Sentinel as nothing more than 'flea birth control,' I say, one flea, the flea dies and life is good. Been using Sentinel for around 15 years with 8 large dogs (dalmatians and retrievers) and am very happily satisfied with the product. Most important - no heart worms! 01/22/2010
    Have not had any problems for 2 years Both my pups have been taking Sentinel for almost 2 years and I have not had any problems. Both dogs gobble it up with no problems and even do tricks when I have it in my hand. So far I have not had anything to complain about. 01/19/2010
    Don't bother This product is supposed to prevent flea infestations, worms and heartworm. So far we had a flea infestation and 3 days ago my dog was diagnosed with having whipworms. He has gotten this medication on the 1st of the month every month since we got him. Now I am very worried that he could have heartworm since it didn't protect him against the other parasites. I don't trust this product. This dog was already treated for heartworm before we got him and I fully understand the importance of him getting him medication regularly. 01/17/2010
    Recommend Joey could not take other brands due to health history from his family line. Sentinal has been very easy. One pill a month and I haven't had to worry at all. Joey and I love to walk and run. I am pleased to have an easy remedy to preventative health care. 01/15/2010
    Definitely Recommend I've tried a heartworm preventatives and sadly to say she still got infected. I'm sure it could of been transmitted by stepping on their own _____. However, the manufacturer did stand behind their product and paid for Elsa's vet $$$$ bills for treatment - she fully recovered. That scared me that, I switched to Sentinel. Elsa has been on Sentinel for 6 years now and faithfully clear from any heartworms or fleas, etc. She's always ready to take her tablet right out of the seal packet. Happy Lab and Happy Customer. P.S. This time I make sure I wash all my dogs paws before they come in the house and pick up right after they take care of their business constantly. 01/06/2010
    may be cancer causing? i have two dogs who have been on Sentinel their entire life. Ages 12 and 11. I never had flea trouble, so i know it works. However, both dogs have osteosarcoma. i will always wonder if it was the flea meds. 01/05/2010
    Sentinel's Been a Success for 25 Years! All our dogs have had long, healthy, flea and tick and worm free lives for over 25 years thanks to Sentinel. They take it once a month in their food bowl, like candy, and there have been no side effects in any of our dogs. We've given Sentinel to a miniture poodle, a mixed breed husky/retriever, a mixed retriever, a German shepherd, and two yellow Labs. Great stuff. 01/04/2010
    Sentinel flavor tabs I've tried every heartworm pill out! This one is the best and my dog loves its taste! If you live in Texas you are experience with heartworms and this product kills adult fleas too!! 01/02/2010
    Sentinel My dog, Coco, has a very sensitive stomach and the Sentinel has been very easy on her stomach. It is also so much easier to give orally, instead of topically...no mess! 12/30/2009
    Miiko loves Sentinel I have used Sentinel for my dogs for the past 15+ years. I like the ease of dosing - I just drop the tab into her food dish with her kibble and she always picks out the tab and eats it first. I have not seen fleas in years. I had a dog that had heart worms when he came to us. I never want a pet to have to go throught what he did. It was very hard on him and us. I would never use the other treatments, the ones that are huge tabs and/or liquids that have to be put on the back of the dogs neck. They are messy and I believe hazardous and don't work as well as Sentinel. I am a customer of Sentinel and PetMeds for life. Plus - Miiko loves the dog treat that she receives too! She knows that it is in the box and won't leave me alone until I get it for her. Thanks always. 12/26/2009
    Authentic I ordered this medication for my dogs and they called my vet. My vet was very reluctant because she said that the medications that you order online may not be authentic. I received the product and they are authentic. In case any new customer is questioning ordering medications online (like I was), this order worked out perfect for me and my little loved ones. 12/24/2009
    The Only One That Works I have tried both of the other monthly flea control products numerous times...have tried rotating them for maximum effectiveness but all to no avail. Sentinel broke the cycle of my flea problem. I have been using it for about 2 years and have not seen a flea on any of my 3 dogs. Now if they could get it to control ticks, they could put the others out of business! I highly recommend Sentinel if you want to do away with fleas once and for all. 12/18/2009
    Great Protection Izzy is our precious rescue form June/09. We purchased our first pack through our vet. Izzy passed her whip test in Nov. We live in FL. This is very important medication. Recently, I ordered a year's suppy at unbelievable savings from Pet Meds. 12/15/2009
    Very Effective Our dog, Rudy, has been using Sentinel for almost 12 years. It is extremely effective and easy to give to him. Thank you PetMeds for very friendly service. You have great people representing your company. The ordering process is simple and the delivery was very fast. It is nice working with a great company! 12/13/2009
    Taste has to be put way down his throat 12/13/2009
    excellent product My parents have used this produce for years with their miniature dachshund & basset hound and have never had problems so when I got my weimaraner I knew I wanted him taking this. It was really great how easily he took it. He liked the flavour. I didn't have to trick him with any other kind of food to get him to take it and it works wonderfully. I also have to add I really love the customer service that 1800PETMEDS gives. It is such a rarity these days. Thank you! 12/12/2009
    No Complaint Buster is now 14 years old. and thid product/Med is all hes has ever had for hart works and fleas. 12/11/2009
    Very Effective I have been given this product to my Border Collie for 12 years and he has been doing very well on it. Would not change it. Also put me two other recently adopted dogs on it. PetMed has a wonderful service and items always arrive very quickly. Thanks for such a reliable company. They never mixed up any prescriptions! 12/04/2009
    Customer Service Great service from 1-800-PETMEDS. There was a mix-up on the shipping of the sentinel for my dogs and the customer service people were so kind, they shipped me some Sentinel overnight so my dogs could stay on their schedule. Thanks so much. Tag, Abbey and Star. 11/29/2009
    Very Upset I use sentinel heart worm medicine. The sentinel product is supposed to sterilize the fleas but I have seen flea eggs on my dog. I wash her about 2-3 times a month. She is an inside dog and I dont want to have her covered in fleas and living in my home. Also, if the product is not working efficiently on the fleas how do I know it is doing its job with the heart worms? 11/28/2009
    Smooth transaction Great Customer Service from 1800 Pet Meds. 11/23/2009
    Prescription drugs at discount prices I used to get the meds from the Vet but they are so much cheaper thru 1800 petmeds. 11/16/2009
    Boston Approved I have had my Boston on Sentinel in the early months and it has now been two years with 100% results. 1-800-Petmeds has the best prices around and communication is the best on the internet. Shipping is ultra fast too! I found the pill a little tricky for my Boston to swallow so I use peanut butter and it works everytime. I would never buy Sentinel from my vet ever again. Thanks 1-800-Petmeds!!! 11/16/2009
    Easy, less expensive Heard about 1-800-petmeds and finally tried them and its the only way to go . Saved over 20.00 on my pet meds. 11/13/2009
    Incredible Product Our pet has been using the Sentinel for 9 years and he has not had a single flea or tick in those 9 years. When we got him from our local Humane Shelter, he had heart worms so we got him treated. He has been on Sentinel since then and has tested negative for heart worms at every check up. We would not use any other product. 11/12/2009
    I love 1-800-PetMeds! Scrappy has been on Sentinel for 5 months, and I couldn't be happier. One pill, once a month and Sentinel takes care of it! Scrappy loves the taste, the last heartworm pill we tried I put in peanut butter and it tasted so bad it actually turned him off of peanut butter for good! He lives with my mother's dogs who are both on Advantage and at the vet last week they both had fleas but Scrappy didn't. 1-800-PetMeds has THE BEST customer service. Whenever I call they ask how each of my pets are (by name), they always tell me about the latest coupon or sale, and their delivery is prompt and accurate. Scrappy always enjoys the special treat that comes with each order too! If the rest of the businesses I have to deal with had just half the customer service of 1-800-PetMeds, my life would be perfect. . 11/10/2009
    Great Experience I was shopping for the best deal on meds and called several ads I had saved from the paper. The representative at Petmeds was the most informative and helpful. My order was shipped promptly and the whole process was quick and easy. 11/09/2009
    A great company! 1-800 Pet Meds is a great company. They fill the orders super quickly, keep me apprised of what is going on and charge a fair price. I would recommend them to anyone! 11/03/2009
    334 Questions · 620 Answers

    Ask & Answer.

    Talk to other pet lovers about this product.

     
     
    « Back
     
     
    Do we change the original,schedule to the new date
    1 week, 1 day ago
    by
    Anonymous
    Ontario, Canada
    Answer this question

    Answers

    Answer: 
    schedule to the new date
    1 week, 1 day ago
    by
    Linda M 1800petmeds pharmacist
    Vote as Best Answer
    Thanks for Voting
     
    2 answers

    sentinel

    my poodle weighs 26 pounds. should i give her the 11-25# or the 26-50# sentinel tablet?
    3 weeks ago
    by
    Anonymous
    Answer this question

    Answers

    Answer: 
    I would give the 26-50# just to be safe.
    1 week, 5 days ago
    by
    colliemom
    Concord, NC
    Vote as Best Answer
    Thanks for Voting

    Answer: 
    Thank you for your question. Please consult with your vet in regards to which weight range to purchase.
    3 weeks ago
    by
    Maureen PetMeds Pro
    Pompano Beach, FL
    Vote as Best Answer
    Thanks for Voting
    3 weeks, 2 days ago
    by
    Anonymous
    Answer this question

    Answers

    Answer: 
    Yes you need a prescription from a vet. I order a years supply after my dog's annual checkup.
    1 week, 4 days ago
    by
    Hound dog approved
    Kansas
    Vote as Best Answer
    Thanks for Voting

    Answer: 
    yes
    3 weeks, 1 day ago
    by
    Linda M 1800petmeds pharmacist
    Vote as Best Answer
    Thanks for Voting
    1 month ago
    by
    Anonymous
    Answer this question

    Answers

    Answer: 
    The pill should be given with a meal. You don't need to split the pill. I just wrap it in a piece of lunchmeat and then feed my dog her regular meal.
    1 week, 4 days ago
    by
    Hound dog approved
    Kansas
    Vote as Best Answer
    Thanks for Voting

    Answer: 
    Yes
    4 weeks ago
    by
    Linda M 1800petmeds pharmacist
    Vote as Best Answer
    Thanks for Voting
    1 month, 1 week ago
    by
    Queen
    Answer this question

    Answers

    Answer: 
    There are no known drug interactions between these two drugs but you should consult your veterinarian before giving both drugs to your pet.
    1 month, 1 week ago
    by
    Pharmacist
    Pompano beach
    Vote as Best Answer
    Thanks for Voting
    2 3 4 5 ... 12 Next
    2 3 4 5 ... 12 Next
    This information sheet is for educational purposes only and is intended to be a supplement to, and not a substitute for, the expertise and professional judgment of your veterinarian. The information is NOT to be used for diagnosis or treatment of your pet. You should always consult your own veterinarian for specific advice concerning the treatment of your pet. The information is not intended to cover all possible uses, directions, precautions, warnings, allergic reactions, drug interactions or adverse effects, nor should it be construed to indicate that use of a particular drug is safe, appropriate or effective for your pet. It is not a substitute for a veterinary exam, and it does not replace the need for services provided by your veterinarian.
    Note: Any trademarks are the property of their respective companies.
     
    Facebook Twitter Pin It
     
    You May Also Like
     
    Be Flea Free Spray 12oz

    Be Flea Free Spray
    Be Flea Free Spray 12oz

    $22.49
    $17.99
     
    Shop Now
     
    Also For Your Pet
     

    Kill Roundworms, Hookworms, Whipworms & Tapeworms:

     

     

    Tape Worm Tabs:

     

     

    Homeopathic Wormer:

     

     

    Health and Well Being:

     

     

    Your Pet's Dream Den:

     

     

    Squeaky Max Toy :

     

     
     
     
       
    Help / Customer Service
    My Account
    PetMeds® Sites
    PetMeds® Programs
    Our 100% Guarantee
    About Us
    Contact Us
    FAQs
    PetMeds® Help
    Privacy Policy
    Printable Order Form
    Site Map
    Testimonials
    Vet Directory
    Request a Catalog

    Home
    Login
    Email Preferences
    Reorder
    Easy refill
    Track my order
    My Account Page
    My pet has passed away
    PetMedsģ Blog
    PetHealth 101ģ
    PetMedsģ Charitable Causes
    1-800-PetMedsģ Careers
    PetMeds® Investor Relations
    pet meds
    Pet Meds Photos
    Pet Meds News
    Pet Health Articles
    Affiliate Program
    Corporate Program
    Shelter & Rescue Program
     
    Join our Social Network
     
        PetMeds® on Facebook
        PetMeds® on Twitter
        PetMeds® on YouTube
        PetMeds® Google+
        PetMeds® LinkedIn
    Copyright © 2014 PetMed Express, Inc. All Rights Reserved.
       
     
    Vet-VIPPSVETERINARY-VERIFIED INTERNET PHARMACY PRACTICE SITES(CM) Online Veterinary Pharmacy Services
     
    1800PetMeds.com has earned Veterinary-Verified Internet Pharmacy Practice Sites(CM) (Vet-VIPPS(CM)) accreditation through the National Association of Boards of Pharmacy® (NABP®).
    Verisign Secured Click for the BBB Business Review of this Pharmacies in Pompano Beach FL 1800PetMeds.com is rated ELITE by STELLAService.