Arthritis
Allergies
Anxiety
Ear Infections
Flea & Tick
Heart Problems
Heartworm
Hot Spots
Hyperthyroidism
Hypothyroidism
Incontinence
Shedding Control
Skin Irritation
Tear Stains
Urinary Infections
Vomiting/Diarrhea
Weight Management
Worms
See All A-Z
Arthritis
Allergies
Anxiety
Ear Infections
Flea & Tick
Heart Problems
Heartworm
Hot Spots
Hyperthyroidism
Hypothyroidism
Incontinence
Shedding Control
Skin Irritation
Tear Stains
Urinary Infections
Vomiting/Diarrhea
Weight Management
Worms
See All A-Z
Breath Fresheners
Chews & Treats
Rinses & Water Additives
Toothpaste & Toothbrushes
Ear Cleansers
Ear Infection Remedies
Ear Mite Treatments
Antibiotic Anti-Infective
Artificial Tears & Lubricants
Eye Inflammation
Glaucoma
Tear Stain Removers
Flea & Tick Prevention
Heartworm & Flea Control
Home Flea & Tick Treatment
Oral Flea Treatments
Pet Flea & Tick Control
Tick & Flea Collars
Canned Pet Food
Dry Pet Food
Raw Pet Food
Adult Pet Food
Hypoallergenic
Glucose Balance
Digestive Health & Support
Grain Free
Joint Support
Kitten Food
Puppy Food
Senior Pet Food
Skin Support
Small Breed Dog Food
Weight Loss & Management
Treats
Pet Food Storage
Joint Pain
Joint Supplements
Lifting Harness
Orthopedic Beds
Steps & Ramps for Mobility
Allergy Relief
Antibiotics
Antifungal
Anxiety
Asthma
Compound Medications
Cough Relief
Digestive Health & Enzymes
Diuretics
High Blood Pressure
Hormonal Endocrine
Insulin & Glucose Balance
Motion Sickness & Nausea
Pain
Seizure Disorder
Thyroid
Urinary Tract & Kidneys
Wormers
Beds
Bowls & Elevated Feeders
Carriers
Car Seats & Pet Carriers
Cat Litter
Cesar Millan Training Aids
Crates & Kennels
Drinking Fountains
Elizabethan Collars
First Aid
Furniture
Furniture Protectors
Gates
Grooming Tools
Holiday
Leashes & Harnesses
Life Jackets
Outdoor Cat Pens
Pet Food Storage
Pet Halloween Costumes & Treats
Shampoos
Stain Removers
Steps & Ramps
Strollers
Toys
Training Aids
Treats
Wireless Dog Fences
Antibacterials
First Aid
Fish Oils & Omega 3
Fly Control
Grooming Tools
Hairball Remedies
Itch Relief
Ringworm Treatments
Shampoos
Shedding Control
Skin Care Supplements
Skin Medications
Antioxidants
Calcium
Dietary
Digestive Enzymes
Fish Oils & Omega 3
Liver Support
Multivitamins
Potassium
Senior Support
Whole Food Supplements
 
   
 
 
    Click for Rx info
Monthly heartworm and flea prevention in the convenience of a tablet.
 
  • Prevents heartworm disease
  • Controls flea population
  • Controls hookworms
  • Removes and controls roundworms
  • Removes and controls whipworms
  • Beef flavor tablet
  • For dogs only
  •  
     
     

    Sentinel

     
    Q & A
    Starts at $42.99 Ships in one business day or less
    1_Select a Weight
      Dogs:




       
     
     
      Product Info   How to use   Ingredients   Customer Reviews   Q & A  

    What is Sentinel?

     

    Sentinel is the only monthly oral preventive that guards against heartworms, adult roundworms, adult hookworms, whipworms, and prevents the development of flea eggs. Sentinel requires a prescription from your veterinarian.

    For:
    Dogs
     
    Benefits:
    Comes in palatable flavored tabs
    Easy to administer just once a month

    How it works:
    Milbemycin oxime eliminates the tissue stage of heartworm larvae and the adult stage of hookworm, roundworm, and whipworm infestations. Lufenuron, the other active ingredient, is an insect development inhibitor that breaks the flea life cycle by inhibiting egg development. Lufenuron prevents most flea eggs from hatching or maturing into adults and thus prevents and controls flea populations by breaking the life cycle.

    Sentinel may be given along with Capstar, which treats flea infestation.

    Cautions:
    Side effects are rare, though some animals may exhibit depression, drowsiness, vomiting, itching, hives, loss of appetite, diarrhea, or seizures. If these or other symptoms develop contact your veterinarian. Its important to maintain good personal hygiene, since humans can contract hookworms and roundworms. Its also important to eliminate fleas and to not feed your pet uncooked meat or fish. To prevent re-infection, clean up stools on a daily basis. Consult your veterinarian for pregnant or lactating dogs.


    More Information:
    Brand Name
    Sentinel (Novartis)
    Generic Name
    Milbemycin Oxime (milí-beh-myí-sin oxí-eem) and Lufenuron (lew-fení-your-on)

    What is the most important information I should know about Sentinel: Sentinel is a prescription medication FDA-approved for use in dogs. Sentinel is available as artificial beef flavored (derived from pork and soy protein) chewable tablets. This medication should be given once a month year-round.

    What is Sentinel: Sentinel is given once a month for the prevention of heartworm disease in dogs. Sentinel also protects against hookworms, roundworms, and whipworms. Sentinel is also used to control fleas by preventing the development of flea eggs. Sentinel does not kill adult fleas. The American Heartworm Society recommends that heartworm prevention be used year-round. Sentinel may also be used for purposes other than those listed in this guide.

    What should I discuss with my veterinarian before giving Sentinel to my pet: Tell your veterinarian if your pet has ever had an allergic reaction to the medication.

    How should this medication be given: Give Sentinel exactly as directed by the veterinarian. If you do not understand the directions ask your pharmacist or veterinarian to explain them to you. The usual dose of Sentinel for dogs 2 to 10 pounds is 2.3mg/46mg, 11 to 25 pounds is 5.75mg/115mg, 26 to 50 pounds is 11.5mg/230mg and 51 to 100 pounds is 23mg/460mg given once a month year-round. For dogs over 100 pounds give the appropriate combination of tablets. Heartworm testing should be performed prior to the start of prevention therapy. If your pet is off Sentinel for 6 months or less, re-start the medication and test after 6 months since microfilaria, that take 6 months to mature, will result in a positive test result. Store Sentinel at room temperature. Do not remove the tablet from its wrapper until ready to give the medicine. Keep this medication away from children and pets. Consult your veterinarian for pregnant or lactating dogs.  

    What happens if I miss giving a dose: Give the missed dose as soon as you remember. Do not give a double dose of the medication.

    What happens if I overdose the pet: Seek emergency veterinary medical treatment. Symptoms of overdose may include depression, drowsiness, vomiting, loss of appetite, diarrhea, hypersalivation, seizures, and weakness.

    What should I avoid while giving Sentinel to my pet: Because humans can contract hookworms and roundworms from animals, it is important to maintain good personal hygiene. It is also important to eliminate fleas on your pet and in the household and to not feed your pet rodents or uncooked meat or fish. To prevent reinfection, daily cleanup of stools is recommended.

    What are the possible side effects of Sentinel: Side effects of Sentinel are rare although some animals may exhibit depression, drowsiness, vomiting, itching, hives, loss of appetite, diarrhea, hypersalivation, seizures, and weakness. If these or other symptoms develop contact your veterinarian.

    What other drugs will affect Sentinel: While Sentinel is safe to use in dogs at risk for MDRI-allele mutation (Australian Shepherds, Collies, Shelties,etc.), unless tested normal, caution is advised if the pet is also being given amiodarone (Cordarone), azole antifungals such as ketoconazole, carvedilol (Coreg), cyclosporine (Atopica), diltiazem (Cardizem), erthromycin (Ery-Tabs) or clarithromycin (Biaxin), quinidine, spironolactone (Adlactone), tamoxifen, and verapamil (Calan). Do not give Sentinel to your pet if already giving an alternate heartworm medication.

    Where can I get more information: Your pharmacist has additional information about Sentinel written for health professionals that you may read.

     

    Directions:
    Give Sentinel Flavor Tabs once a month on the same day of each month year-round.
    Sentinel Flavor Tabs is for use in dogs only. Do not give to cats.
    Watch your dog closely following dosing to be sure the entire dose has been swallowed. If it is not completely swallowed, give one more full recommended dose as soon as possible.
    Tip: Do not remove Sentinel from its wrapper until ready to give to your pet.
    Dosage:
    Pet Weight Dosage
    Dogs/puppies: (4 weeks of age or older)
    2-10 lbs Give 1 Flavor Tab every month
    (Brown Box)

    11-25 lbs Give 1 Flavor Tab every month
    (Green Box)

    26-50 lbs Give 1 Flavor Tab every month
    (Yellow Box)
      51-100 lbs Give 1 Flavor Tab every month
    (White Box)

    Over 100 lbs Give combination of Flavor Tabs based on weight
    Cats:
    Horses:
    Storage: Should be stored at room temperature between 59° and 77° F.
    Sentinel Brown for Dogs 2-10 lbs:
    Active Ingredient (per tablet) Amount
    Milbemycin Oxime 2.3 mg
    Lufenuron 46 mg

    Sentinel Green for Dogs 11-25 lbs:
    Active Ingredient (per tablet) Amount
    Milbemycin Oxime 5.75 mg
    Lufenuron 115 mg

    Sentinel Yellow for Dogs 26-50 lbs:
    Active Ingredient (per tablet) Amount
    Milbemycin Oxime 11.5 mg
    Lufenuron 230 mg

    Sentinel White for Dogs 51-100 lbs:
    Active Ingredient (per tablet) Amount
    Milbemycin Oxime 23 mg
    Lufenuron 460 mg

    Sentinel 4.4 5 561 568
    Sentinel Effectiveness We live in a rural area on 14 acres and have tried everything for fleas. We tried Sentinel and were overjoyed by the results. There are no more fleas and we appreciate the extra coverage for heartworm protection. Thank you Pet Meds 04/17/2010
    Wonderful heartworm preventative I got Pepper(now a 2 1/2 y/o Miniature Schnauzer) from a shelter, where she had been rescued from a puppy mill at appr. 6-7 mo. Her fear issues are still present, although we have been able to break through some of them. She seams fine, but is not terribly active. I am very happy with the Sentinal. It's easy to give and seems to taste good. Such easy protection for such a horrible disease. 04/15/2010
    Sentinel It may not be the cheapest medication out there, but it is well worth it! The fleas alone run high here in my area and I have two dogs to protect. I like Sentinel's wide range of protection and my dogs have been very healthy. Plus it saves money each yr not having to test for heart worms. 04/15/2010
    Sentinel Our 13-year-old Schnoodle Buddy has been on Sentinel for ten years and has done very well on it. He is active, social and healthy. He enjoys daily trips to the dog park and other dog owners say he appears younger than his actual years. I would and have recommended this product to friends and family. 04/14/2010
    Schatzi is a 12-1/2 year old Miniture Schnauzer and she has been on Sentinel since she was old enough to take the product. She has done remarkably well on the Sentinel and Missing Link Plus. At almost 13 years of age she is still very active - plays frisbee and takes 3 - 1 mile walks a day, loves children, other dogs and cats. Hopefully, she'll be around for years to come. She's spoiled rotten and we wouldn't have it any other way!!! 04/13/2010
    wonderful product Our Border Collie is 3 years old. He is healthy because of the products such as Sentinel and Omega 3 pills we buy from Pet Meds. Florida being a Tropical Climate is hard on pets, during the heat of summer. We never have a problem with fleas. Living in a gated community, Apache is always on a lease when he goes outside.. Pet Meds deliver on time and the prices are great. 04/07/2010
    EXCELLENT PRODUCT 1 HAVE 4 BEAGLES ON SENTINEL FOR SEVERAL YEARS NOW, NO PROBLEMS. THIS IS A BROAD SPECTRUM HEARTWORM MEDICATION THAT COVERS OTHER ISSUES AS WELL, FLEAS ETC. I WOULD DEFINATELY RECOMMEND IT. MY VET FEELS IT'S ONE OF THE BEST ON THE MARKET. 04/07/2010
    quick, easy, and dependable service. 04/03/2010
    Benefits of Products I wanted to let others know that the combination of sentinal and comfortis has helped so much with Murray's itching problems. He used to chew on himself etc til I started him on Comfortis, having been on Frontline before. And, Sentinal works well with Comfortis. I would recommend these to others who have pets with the allergy and itching problems. 03/29/2010
    Great product We have used Sentinel for years and it's very effective for everything it states it combats. The dogs eat and digest it well too. 03/23/2010
    Sentinel I love the fact that I can give Brandie 2 meds in one pill. It's so easy to just put it in her food, or give her a special breakfast of a scrambled egg. I also had another dog on this med, and was very pleased with it. I would recommend it to everyone. 03/22/2010
    Experience is proof We have been using Sentinel for 5 years on our beloved dog and have no complaints about the product. Our dog is active, playful and loves to run around in our backyard. Unfortunately some of our neighbors let their animals run loose plus nature critters (ie, racoons, squirrels, rabbits and skunks) also sometimes appear in our yard. We have had no problems with our dog acquiring unwanted fleas, ticks, etc. and we have absolute faith in Sentinel to keep him healthy. Thank you for your great product! 03/21/2010
    Great product I have 2 min schnauzers and 1 golden retriever on Sentinel. All take it like it is candy. Their checkups were negative, so it is doing it's job. 03/18/2010
    HOOK WORMS Have used the product for about a year - dog seems to like the taste - but then again she'll anything. Have had no problem with fleas and recent heartworm test was negative - however, she was diagnosed with hook worms - very disappointed - since that is the reason i chose this product over others. 03/17/2010
    Not effective for fleas I purchased this product because it stated that it was effective to combat both heartworm and fleas. Maybe it worked for haertworm, but it defenitely did not work for fleas. I had to take my dog to the vet 2 months ago because she had a flea infestation. We had to purchase another medicine only for fleas that she takes once a month. 03/11/2010
    Price Match The product has been great for Maxie. Suggest you Price Shop the internet for the best price and then get a price match. Maxie likes the cookie that comes with the order. 02/23/2010
    Great service Only place I would buy his preventative medicine! Rocky loves the biscuit that comes with the package! 02/22/2010
    I would buy this product no where else. I have two dogs. One 9 yr old shepherd mix and a 3 yr old adopted Maltese. I bought the appropriate weight of Sentinel flavor tabs for each dog from PetMeds for my vet was charging me almost twice the price for the same product. In the future I will continue to purchase this product from PetMeds. Simple to order on line, convenient and arrived to my home within a few days. 02/22/2010
    Love It I love this product,the best thing they ever come up for fleas and works on heartworms as well. Higly recommend this product. Don't waste your money on other flea products,because this one is # 1. 02/21/2010
    Sentinel I have 3 baby's and all are on Sentinal everyone is doing great on it no more fleas haven't had a problem with them are any worms since . Love it Thanks 02/20/2010
    Best Decision Ever I tried over-the-counter and prescription flea meds my local vet had available. Nothing kept the fleas away for an entire month. My Vet kept telling me you really need to use the liquid meds (Advantage) every three weeks not just every month. That became expensive. I finally looked up Sentinal which was a tablet to treat fleas and heartworms. I used Capstar with Sentinal the first month and Now for half the cost I was paying (heartworm/fleas)- I use only Sentinal. It works Great!! I only order through PetMeds because for some reason local vets do not carry it. 02/18/2010
    I live in East Texas, where fleas and mosquitoes can be a year around problem. Sentinal works great for my German Shepherd, who roams our 12 acres daily, exposed to the elements. ‚ÄúMax‚ÄĚ takes her Sentinal easily, with a dog treat followed, and it is a non-messy, once a month product that is very effective. I recommend Sentinal for any dog!!! 02/16/2010
    I have had all of my dogs on Sentinel for years, and have been very happy with the results. Occasionally during the summer months, or after they have been on vacation with us to flea-infested areas, I have had to use Capstar to kill some fleas they picked up. For the most part, they have been free of fleas, and my house has never been infested with them. 02/14/2010
    Best worm & flea preventive I have used sentinel for years. I have used it for my 8 yr old jack russell & my 3 yr old akita since they were pups (I also used it on my deceased 13 yr old akita) We never had a problem with worms or fleas. My Jack Russell eats it herself. My akita will lick off the coating and leave the pill so I have to place the pill on the back of his tongue. Problem solved. I would recommend this product to every pet owner. The cost is $$$ but less expense than using heartworm & flea preventiion meds bought separately. 02/14/2010
    Works for us We have had our 3 Yorkies Gizmo, Jasmine & Raizin on Sentinel their whole lives. It sure does the trick in keeping the fleas away and they never have any worm problems. I highly recommend this product. I used to buy directly from my vet but it is about $3.00 cheaper thru this site, plus no tax, free shipping and I can buy a year at a time. No extra trips back to the vet to purchase every 3 months. 02/10/2010
    Great Product I got my Crescent last Jan.14,2009 and I have had her on Sentinel since then. She has nver had a flea on her and it works great for heartworm...and etc. 02/10/2010
    Very Happy with Sentinel - It Works !! Willie is a Malshi (half Maltese/half Shih Tzu). Sentinel is the only product I use. He's been on Sentinel ever since he came to our family as a new born puppy, so I know no other product and reason I have never switched is because Sentinel works. I have looked around believe me to see if I could find something equivalent to Sentinel but less expensive . . . no such luck. Sentinel does it all, too. I don't even have him on a separate flea product either. That's not to say he may not have an adult flea from time to time bothering him and if I see he does, I will give him a Capster pill which compliments Sentinel quite well, but normally he is only on Sentinel. I would highly recommend this product -- you won't be sorry. Shih Tzu/maltese are sometimes prone to sensitivities, so I keep my eyes open at all times thinking he m ay have a negative reaction, but he's never had one to Sentinel, so just another reason I have kept him on it. IT DOES WORK FOLKS !!!!!! 01/31/2010
    Too good to be true I put off using Sentinel for a long time. I just use to use the Heartgard plus until I realized that all of the flea control products I was using was not really working. Even though all three of my dogs are inside dogs, I still was seeing more and more fleas. It wasn't long after starting the Sentinel that I noticed a reduction in fleas and eventually virtually none. I am so pleased. It is a little more of a challenge to get the dogs to take the Sentinel since it is in pill form and not a chew tab like the Heartgard but I just find something to wrap int in and they swallow it. 01/30/2010
    Tipper & Rugrat are doing fine on Sentinel Been on it for years no problem giving it to them they love it. 01/22/2010
    Previous 14 15 16 17 18 ... 20 Next
    341 Questions · 632 Answers

    Ask & Answer.

    Talk to other pet lovers about this product.

     
     
    « Back
     
     
    1 week, 4 days ago
    by
    Paula
    Answer this question

    Answers

    Answer: 
    Please consult with your veterinarian.
    1 week, 2 days ago
    by
    Lilli Pharmacist
    Pompano Beach, FL
    Vote as Best Answer
    Thanks for Voting
    2 weeks, 5 days ago
    by
    CollieMan
    Answer this question

    Answers

    Answer: 
    Not that we are aware of. Sentinel may be used on the collie breed.
    2 weeks, 2 days ago
    by
    Lilli Pharmacist
    Pompano Beach, FL
    Vote as Best Answer
    Thanks for Voting
    3 weeks, 5 days ago
    by
    Gary
    Kathleen ga
    Answer this question

    Answers

    Answer: 
    Comfortis and Sentinel are both preventatives ( think) I would do Capstar to kill the fleas and the next day either Comfortis or Sentinel to prevent new ones.
    1 week, 3 days ago
    by
    Lauren
    Vote as Best Answer
    Thanks for Voting

    Answer: 
    it is not uncommon to see Sentinel and Comfortis used together , However you may want to
    consider the product TRIFEXIS..which has the ingredients of comfortis in it but also covers
    heartworm. Ask your vet want they think. Good Luck with everything !
    3 weeks, 4 days ago
    by
    Linda M 1800petmeds pharmacist
    Vote as Best Answer
    Thanks for Voting
    1 month, 2 weeks ago
    by
    barb
    Answer this question

    Answers

    Answer: 
    Same thing happened to my Great Dane. She got her brother's pill (along with hers) before I could give it to him. She was fine. Just super flea free!
    1 week, 3 days ago
    by
    Lauren
    Vote as Best Answer
    Thanks for Voting

    Answer: 
    Please contact your veterinarian.
    1 month ago
    by
    Stephanie Duesler, Pharm. D, MBA
    Vote as Best Answer
    Thanks for Voting
    Since my puppy is protected from fleas and heartworm, what is a good prevention medicine that can be used in conjunction with Sentinel?
    1 month, 2 weeks ago
    by
    Anonymous
    Answer this question

    Answers

    Answer: 
    Bravecto will protect your pet against ticks and can be used with Sentinel
    1 month ago
    by
    Stephanie Duesler, Pharm. D, MBA
    Vote as Best Answer
    Thanks for Voting
    2 3 4 5 ... 13 Next
    2 3 4 5 ... 13 Next
    This information sheet is for educational purposes only and is intended to be a supplement to, and not a substitute for, the expertise and professional judgment of your veterinarian. The information is NOT to be used for diagnosis or treatment of your pet. You should always consult your own veterinarian for specific advice concerning the treatment of your pet. The information is not intended to cover all possible uses, directions, precautions, warnings, allergic reactions, drug interactions or adverse effects, nor should it be construed to indicate that use of a particular drug is safe, appropriate or effective for your pet. It is not a substitute for a veterinary exam, and it does not replace the need for services provided by your veterinarian.
    Note: Any trademarks are the property of their respective companies.
     
    Facebook Twitter Pin It
     
    You May Also Like
     
    Be Flea Free Spray 12oz

    Be Flea Free Spray
    Be Flea Free Spray 12oz

    $22.49
    $17.99
     
    Shop Now
     
    Also For Your Pet
     

    Kill Roundworms, Hookworms, Whipworms & Tapeworms:

     

     

    Tape Worm Tabs:

     

     

    Homeopathic Wormer:

     

     

    Health and Well Being:

     

     

    Your Pet's Dream Den:

     

     

    Squeaky Max Toy :

     

     
     
     
       
    Help / Customer Service
    My Account
    PetMeds® Sites
    PetMeds® Programs
    Our 100% Guarantee
    About Us
    Contact Us
    FAQs
    PetMeds® Help
    Privacy Policy
    Printable Order Form
    Site Map
    Testimonials
    Vet Directory
    Request a Catalog

    Home
    Login
    Email Preferences
    Reorder
    Easy refill
    Track my order
    My Account Page
    My pet has passed away
    PetMedsģ Blog
    PetHealth 101ģ
    PetMedsģ Charitable Causes
    1-800-PetMedsģ Careers
    PetMeds® Investor Relations
    pet meds
    Pet Meds Photos
    Pet Meds News
    Pet Health Articles
    Affiliate Program
    Corporate Program
    Shelter & Rescue Program
     
    Join our Social Network
     
        PetMeds® on Facebook
        PetMeds® on Twitter
        PetMeds® on YouTube
        PetMeds® Google+
        PetMeds® LinkedIn
    Copyright © 2014 PetMed Express, Inc. All Rights Reserved.
       
     
    Vet-VIPPSVETERINARY-VERIFIED INTERNET PHARMACY PRACTICE SITES(CM) Online Veterinary Pharmacy Services
     
    1800PetMeds.com has earned Veterinary-Verified Internet Pharmacy Practice Sites(CM) (Vet-VIPPS(CM)) accreditation through the National Association of Boards of Pharmacy® (NABP®).
    Verisign Secured Click for the BBB Business Review of this Pharmacies in Pompano Beach FL