5 out of 5 Customer Rating
Vetmedin (pimobendan) is rated 4.8 out of 5 by 334.
  • y_2020, m_11, d_21, h_16
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.12
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_2, tr_332
  • loc_en_US, sid_prod10980, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_1800petmeds
  • bvseo_sdk, dw_cartridge, 18.2.0, p_sdk_3.2.0
  • CLOUD, getAggregateRating, 44ms
  • reviews, product
1. We'll ask for your vet's info during checkout.
2. We verify your prescription and ship your order!
Close
Starts $68.27 $47.79
Most orders ship the same day

Vetmedin (pimobendan)

5 out of 5 Customer Rating
Vetmedin (pimobendan) is rated 4.8 out of 5 by 334.
  • y_2020, m_11, d_21, h_16
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.12
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_2, tr_332
  • loc_en_US, sid_prod10980, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_1800petmeds
  • bvseo_sdk, dw_cartridge, 18.2.0, p_sdk_3.2.0
  • CLOUD, getAggregateRating, 44ms
  • reviews, product
Starts $68.27 $47.79
Most orders ship the same day
Please select all product options.

Reviews

Rated 5 out of 5 by from Vetmedin is a necessity! My 13 1/2 year old Pom takes 1 1/2 in AM & 1 1/2 in PM. She needs these pills. Thank you for the shipment! I don't like it when there is a shortage from the manufacturer.
Date published: 2020-03-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Game Changer My sweet baby (15 yrs) had congestive heart failure and at the first diagnosis, the vet put him on a medicine that made him lose his appetite and he started having syncope episodes. He went downhill so quick! After discussing options with my vet, he suggested Vetmedin....what a game changer! Only a couple days after Klaus was on Vetmedin, he was running through the yard! We were so blessed to have Klaus with us for another 18 months!! To note, he was on vetmedin, Enalapril (blood pressure) and a diuretic.
Date published: 2020-03-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Vetmedin to the rescue Beau was in heart failure and since taking this drug he is doing so much better. It is very expensive by my standards.
Date published: 2020-03-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Cuddles Cuddles seems to be doing well with this medication.
Date published: 2020-01-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Teddy is doing a lot Better!! Thank you so much this works for the little guy Teddy so much!! Helps his heart and gets the fluid out!!
Date published: 2020-01-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Life saving drug My Bichon collapsed as she went into 3rd degree AV heart block with a heart rate of 40. She is 14 years old so a pacemaker was not an option. We tried Vetmedin as a last such effort before having to put her down. 5 weeks later she is happy, moving around better than she did before. I can’t believe the results we got from this drug.
Date published: 2020-01-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My Sophie has congestive heart failure. The Dr. Recommended putting her on Vetmedin and I think it has helped to make her life more comfortable. She is such a sweetheart that I would do anything to help her. She's still got spunk.
Date published: 2020-01-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great affect My Vet put my Doxie on it..great stuff
Date published: 2020-01-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Working very well, but a little pricey!! There is no doubt that the pimobendan has been great for a King Charles spaniel. The results were almost instant when we first tried it nine months ago. We noticed an increase in her energy alertness and stamina! The drug is a little pricey for sure, but no regrets. it has definitely helped our beloved and aging pet.
Date published: 2020-01-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Vetmedin Chico is 14 years young has been doing very well since we started him on Vetmedin and Enalapril in 2018. Chico, had suffered 2 seizures. after taking with his vet she recommended that we put him on Vetmedin and Enalapril for his heart Mermer. We love our little old
Date published: 2020-01-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Bella’s heart Bella my 10-year-old ductshund is doing fine as long as I keep her on the heart medicine that she needs Pet Meds has been great I call them in for a refill they contact my doctor and keep me abreast of when they got the OK from the doctor and she’s doing great she’s up and moving around so I can have her a little more time with me thank you Pet Meds
Date published: 2019-12-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Back to his happy self My baby boy is so playful and happy again!! It’s like he’s a puppy again!!
Date published: 2019-11-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fantastic medication Miss Annie my 8year old dashund has a heart murmmer. After taking this medication her heart levels are now in the normal range so thankful
Date published: 2019-10-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great med for heart patients. My dog has been on Vetmedin over half of his life due to his heart condition. But thanks to this medicine he has already lived to 15 and we hope for many more years!
Date published: 2019-09-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very pleased This is my first experience using petmeds and I’m very pleased. The meds have helped mocha so much. She’s doing so much better.
Date published: 2019-08-31
Rated 4 out of 5 by from My dog is doing much better on this Max seems to do so much better on this medicine that it's a wonder. It's unfortunate that it was so hard to get and there have been such price fluctuations from the manufacturer because this medication really has done amazing things for my pup. He's running around like he is years younger!
Date published: 2019-08-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Saving my dog’s life 1800petmeds is the only source for this Rx at a reasonable price. Distraught when I first called, the rep called my vet and I had the meds quickly. Just reordered and all was done promptly. If your pet has a heart condition that requires this Rx, I highly recommend that you check out this source. I’m glad I did!!!
Date published: 2019-08-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from If it wasn't for Vetmedin, my two senior pug would probably be dead from CHF. They both had gotten really lazy and lethargic. After running tests, the vet put them on Vetmedin and lasix. Within a month, they were like different dogs. This medication has added valuable time to their precious lives. Even though they can't really take walks, they now run around the backyard a little like they did when they were younger.
Date published: 2019-07-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Improving my best pal's quality of life Armani is 14 yrs. old and he was born with a heart murmur which didn't give him an ounce of trouble until this year when the vet told me his fainting and collapsing was due to his advanced heart disease. He also had a lot of fluid in his lungs which is why he had started coughing. She recommended vetmedin and a water pill. The vetmedin worked immediately and he was back to his old active self - climbing up and down the stairs to keep up with me because he likes to be near me always. He also resumed his happy jaunty walks. The reason I am getting it from here is because the vet charges a bit more for the vetmedin. It's a miracle drug and though I know my guy will eventually leave me and my heart will be torn to shreds but at least I can say that he is living much more comfortably until that time comes.
Date published: 2019-07-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from No longer hyper vigilant! Whew.. He had frightening life threatening fainting episodes and seizures when excited by door bell, guests, etc. It’s been a huge relief to know he’ll be ok when he gets excited. He’s been free to enjoy life experiences and my fear & anxiety are relieved. It’s been amazingly life changing!
Date published: 2019-06-24
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very helpful Isabelle was diagnosed with DCM a year ago and has been taking Vemedin. I just wish the 10 mg dose would become available since we have to give her 2 tablets 2x a day which means a bottle of 5 mg Vetmedin lasts 11 days and is more expensive than if we could use the 10 mg tablets. The medication itself has maintained her heart health from what her follow ups have shows. We're hoping with this medication she makes it as long as our last Doberman which was 13 years. Isabelle is 9 and a half now so fingers crossed. Would have given 5 stars if we could get the 10 mg dose.
Date published: 2019-06-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Chewable Zoe was started on Vetmedin when it was determined that she was suffering from dilated cardiomyopathy.We feel it has improved her quality of life & has probably helped her live longer.
Date published: 2019-06-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love the followup I truly appreciate the follow up on the heart medication and the info provided as to how to feed the dog, the needs and requirements w/ heart disease. Informative and comforting to know that you care and aren't just pushing for a sale. Thank you. Much appreciated.
Date published: 2019-06-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great VETMEDIN, and it's chewable. Guy takes his Vetmedin so easily, and most of the time he lets me know when it's time to take his pill, he really likes them and I really like what has done for him, he is more on the good side than the bad side, health wise. He will be 12 in August.
Date published: 2019-06-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Life Saving My almost 14 yr old Schnauzer is doing fantastic with Vetmedin along with a combination of other CHF meds. It has been three months, since diagnosis.
Date published: 2019-05-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product! My fur-baby was on compounded liquid pimobendan but it was putting a huge dent in our pockets. I tried these pills as a replacement for his medication and I am so glad I did. These are literally 1/3 the price of his current medication and They are soft chew which makes it easy for him to eat.
Date published: 2019-05-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My dog Finn developped a serious cough and was diagnosed with enlarged heart and collapsed trachea. Since I can't afford serious medical procedures I opted for VETMEDIN which worked right away
Date published: 2019-05-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I was very sad when our vet informed us that our little buddy Chico has a hart condition. This meditation has helped him so much, we can see the difference in him
Date published: 2019-05-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I really appreciate the extra step by sending a email asking how my dog is doing after receiving the medication for CHF. That alone speaks volumes on your customer service. Thank you!!!!!!! My papillion who is 14 has been on vetmedin for the last 5 Years and does so well on this med and your prices are about 20% less! That’s a savings !!!! Also this medication is in high demands but when the pharmacy can’t get it you can sooner! Once again thank you so much for your company and service.
Date published: 2019-04-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My dog will be 14 yrs old in one month and has heart disease. He was having trouble breathing and lethargic. He started the vetmedin and also a blood pressure med. the combination of the two meds has made a big difference! He’s breathing is better and he is even jumping up onto low chairs! Which he couldn’t do before. I think he will live out his life a happier dog!
Date published: 2019-04-26
  • y_2020, m_11, d_21, h_16
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.12
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_2, tr_332
  • loc_en_US, sid_prod10980, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_1800petmeds
  • bvseo_sdk, dw_cartridge, 18.2.0, p_sdk_3.2.0
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 7ms
  • reviews, product

Questions

Sorry but the last question I asked was supposed to be for the 2.5mg and 5mg pills. I see that the 10mg are in stock. I really need the 2.5mg, however can break the 5mgs in half. Just want to know the reliability of being able to order these from you.

Asked by: Misha
Only 1 manufacturing company. All suppliers have same problem. Your vet should be able to get you some although more expensive. Just went through the same with my dog. Good luck.
Answered by: Pammie
Date published: 2020-08-23

When will vetmedin 1.25 be available

Asked by: Dave231
Thank you for your question. The Vetmedin 1.25mg is expected to be back in stock 8/15/2020.
Answered by: Crystal RPTechnician
Date published: 2020-08-06

When will the 1.25 mg or 2.5 mg be back in stock?

Asked by: Chi mama
Thank you for your question. The estimated back to stock date for Vetmedin 1.25mg and 2.5mg is 8/15/2020. To be notified via email once the medication is back in stock click on "Out of stock See option" in red under the product. This will allow you to enter your email address.
Answered by: Crystal RPTechnician
Date published: 2020-08-04

Can this medication be given to cats ?

Asked by: Garyd504
Vetmedin is not labeled for use in cats but consult your veterinarian for potential "off-label" use.
Answered by: SuzyCVT
Date published: 2020-08-01

Do you have this in 1.5 mg?

Asked by: Heather
Vetmedin is not available in a 1.5 mg strength.
Answered by: SuzyCVT
Date published: 2020-08-01

How much time will it take for Vetmedin to begin working?

Asked by: Sherwood
Thank you for your question. The medication generally starts to work within several days to a week.
Answered by: Crystal RPTechnician
Date published: 2020-07-06

Can Vetmedin be crushed and mixed with food?

Asked by: gmaa
Thank you for your question. Yes, Vetmedin can be crushed and mixed with food. Just be sure to monitor your pet to ensure they are getting the full dose of medication prescribed.
Answered by: Crystal RPTechnician
Date published: 2020-06-24

Are the 2.5mg tablets scored for splitting?

Asked by: Heine
Yes.
Answered by: Shari PetMed Pro
Date published: 2020-06-14

My dog needs 5 mg. Is it possible to break a 10mg. In half?

Asked by: Susan22
Yes, Vetmedin® (pimobendan) tablets may be split in half. Vetmedin® is a prescription-only medication and should be given exactly as prescribed. Thank you.
Answered by: Joshua T
Date published: 2020-04-23

Does this need a prescription?

Asked by: Alyn
Yes. Vetmedin® (pimobendan) is a prescription-only medication. Consult your veterinarian to discuss if this medication is appropriate for your pet. Thank you.
Answered by: Joshua T
Date published: 2020-04-23

My doggie weighs only 1.4kg and she needs to get a 1/3 tablet, I break 1.25 mg in 3 pieces -close as possible to have 3 x1/3 (0.41mg)..Then this 0.41 needs to be halved again to administer one .20 mg in the morning and 0.20 mg 12 hours later - correct?

Asked by: Cuddles
The recommendation is to only split Vetmedin tablets into halves. When splitting into smaller increments, there is no guarantee of an accurate (safe/effective) dose. Thank you.
Answered by: Joshua T
Date published: 2020-04-13

My dog is prescribed 1.25mg but that is out of stock ,  can I buy the 2.5 and just give him 1/2 the pill

Asked by: Xavier
Please consult with your veterinarian prior to doing so.
Answered by: Cherley Petmeds Pro
Date published: 2020-04-11

When will you be getting the 5mg vetmiden for dogs in?

Asked by: Lindygirl
They are back in stock now. So sorry for the inconvenience this may have caused you.
Answered by: Cherley Petmeds Pro
Date published: 2020-04-10

My dogs prescription calls for 3.75 mg. Do you have that strength available?

Asked by: Calip
No we don't.
Answered by: Shari PetMed Pro
Date published: 2020-02-21

Can the 5mg tablet be split into 4 pieces?

Asked by: jode
The tablet is scored to be split in half. The oblong shape would make it tricky to try and cut into quarters. Please consult with your veterinarian.
Answered by: Lilli Rph
Date published: 2020-01-24

Does Pimobendan come in liquid form?

Asked by: Eleanorhr
Unfortunately, we do not carry this medication in liquid form.
Answered by: Cherley Petmeds Pro
Date published: 2020-01-17

Is there a cheaper drug then vetmedin that works the same?

Asked by: Bisquit
I'm sorry, we do not offer a generic brand for Vetmedin. You may want to consult with your veterinarian to see if he/she can prescribe a cheaper alternative medication for your furry baby's condition.
Answered by: Cherley Petmeds Pro
Date published: 2020-01-15

What is the daily dosage of vetmedin 1.25 for my dog.  She weighs 15 lbs.

Asked by: Babe
The usual dose is 0.23mg per pound of pet's body weight divided into 2 portions to be given 12 hours apart. The portion to be given should be to the nearest ½ tablet increment. Please give exactly as directed by your veterinarian.
Answered by: Cherley Petmeds Pro
Date published: 2020-03-23

My dog will not take the pill at all. Could I crush the dosage and put it in her food?

Asked by: Beebe7
Yes. You may put it in a teaspoonful of wet dog food and ensure the entire amount of food has been consumed. Please avoid leaving it out for your pet to graze on a large amount of food during the day.
Answered by: Lilli Rph
Date published: 2020-03-20

What are the side effects of Vetmedin?

Asked by: Sandra
If any of the following serious side effects occur, stop giving Vetmedin and seek emergency veterinary medical attention; an allergic reaction (difficulty breathing; swelling of the lips, tongue or face; hives), scratching, sudden onset of diarrhea, vomiting, shock, seizures, pale gums, coma. Discontinue giving Vetmedin and contact your veterinarian if your pet develops; poor appetite, drowsiness, diarrhea, labored breathing, weakness, incoordination, fainting, accumulation of fluid in the lungs or abdomen, and cough. Other side effects may also occur. Talk to your veterinarian about any side effect that seems unusual or bothersome to the pet.
Answered by: Lilli Rph
Date published: 2020-01-09

What if I can't get my dog to take this medication

Asked by: Binky
I use a small piece of hotdog, stuff bill into it. He thinks he's getting a scooby snack twice a day.
Answered by: Dann
Date published: 2019-12-13

When will you have vetmedin 1.2mg in stock

Asked by: Jeff
We are hoping to have Vetmedin 1.25mg back in stock on or about 12/13/19.
Answered by: Lisa M
Date published: 2019-12-12

How do we order prescriptions online

Asked by: Crystal
Please call us at 1-800-738-6337 so we can walk you through the process of online ordering.
Answered by: Lisa M
Date published: 2019-11-10

Is vetmedin considered a blood thinner?

Asked by: Kf444
Vetmedin opens up the blood vessels that take blood away from the heart, effectively reducing work the heart does to pump blood. At the same time, Vetmedin opens up the blood vessels returning blood to the heart, reducing pressure on the heart.
Answered by: Lisa M
Date published: 2019-12-29

Is there a generic version of this drug 

Asked by: Ronjon
There is not a generic equivalent of Vetmedin currently available.
Answered by: Lisa M
Date published: 2019-11-10

Can you get more than a month supply at a time?

Asked by: Sunny711
Yes, you may get more than a month supply at a time if prescribed by your veterinarian.
Answered by: Lisa M
Date published: 2019-09-25

My dog takes 1/2 2.5 mg twice daily.  Could I purchase the 5 mg & cut it in half and give my dog 1/2 of the half twice a day?

Asked by: Renee H
One quarter tablet of Vetmedin 5mg is a 1.25mg dose. Some veterinarians; however, prefer that you do not split the tablet. Consult your veterinarian for more information.
Answered by: Lisa M
Date published: 2019-09-12

What is the cost of shipping for the 1.5mg

Asked by: Levi
We offer Vetmedin in 1.25mg, 2.5mg, 5mg and 10mg tablets. Shipping is free on orders over $49. There is a $4.99 fee for orders under $49.
Answered by: Lisa M
Date published: 2019-08-24

Hi do you know when this will come back in stock? 1.25mg or 5mg? Everyone is out of this medication. 

Asked by: MelissaC
How does theophylline affect this drug? My 7 lb Teacup Yorkshire Terrier who us 10 years and 7 mos. old takes theophylline daily and her vet put her on 2.5 MG of Vetmedin today and he is also the vet who has her on theophylline daily.
Answered by: SophiesMom
Date published: 2019-07-09

Since it is cheaper to buy the 5mg and my dog takes 2.5mg twice a day can I just get the 5mg and cut it in half and give him one half (2.5mg) twice a day

Asked by: Me Toby
Thank you for your question. Yes , you can cut the 5mg in half and give him 2.5mg twice a day with approval from your veterinarian.
Answered by: Crystal RPTechnician
Date published: 2019-02-04
  • y_2020, m_11, d_21, h_16CST
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvqa, vn_bulk_3.0.12
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasquestionsanswers, tq_233
  • loc_en_US, sid_prod10980, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=LAST_APPROVED_ANSWER_SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_1800petmeds
  • bvseo_sdk, dw_cartridge, 18.2.0, p_sdk_3.2.0
  • CLOUD, getContent, 65ms
  • questions, product

What is Vetmedin?

Vetmedin is used to manage mild, moderate, or severe congestive heart failure in dogs caused by atrioventricular valvular insufficiency or dilated cardiomyopathy. It differs from other commonly used heart drugs because it helps the heart pump more efficiently. Vetmedin requires a prescription from your veterinarian.

For:

Dogs (6 months or older)

Benefits:

  • Helps pets suffering from congestive heart disease
  • Shown to increase quality and length of life in pets
  • Increases the ability of the heart to pump blood

How does Vetmedin work?

Vetmedin opens up the blood vessels that take blood away from the heart, effectively reducing work the heart does to pump blood. At the same time, Vetmedin opens up the blood vessels returning blood to the heart, reducing pressure on the heart.

Cautions:

If serious side effects or allergic reactions occur, stop giving Vetmedin and seek emergency veterinary medical attention.

Brand Name:

Vetmedin (Boehringer Ingelheim)

Generic Name:

Pimobendan

What is the most important information I should know about Vetmedin?

Vetmedin is used in dogs 6 months of age or older for the management of mild, moderate, or severe congestive heart failure due to atrioventricular valvular insufficiency or dilated cardiomyopathy. Vetmedin is available by prescription as 1.25mg, 2.5mg, 5mg and 10mg scored, porcine derived beef flavored, chewable tablets. The usual dose for dogs is 0.23mg per pound divided into 2 portions to be given 12 hours apart. The portion to be given should be to the nearest 1/2 tablet increment.

What should I discuss with my veterinarian before giving Vetmedin to my pet?

Tell your veterinarian if your pet has any congenital heart defects, diabetes, or other serious metabolic disease. Tell your veterinarian if your pet is pregnant or lactating.

How should Vetmedin be given?

Give this medication exactly as directed by your veterinarian. If you do not understand these directions ask the pharmacist or veterinarian to explain them to you. Unless otherwise directed by your veterinarian, the total daily dose should be divided into 2 portions to be given 12 hours apart. The portion to be given should be to the nearest 1/2 tablet increment. Store Vetmedin at room temperature away from moisture and light.

What are the possible side effects of Vetmedin?

If any of the following serious side effects occur, stop giving Vetmedin and seek emergency veterinary medical attention; an allergic reaction (difficulty breathing; swelling of the lips, tongue or face; hives), scratching, sudden onset of diarrhea, vomiting, shock, seizures, pale gums, coma. Discontinue giving Vetmedin and contact your veterinarian if your pet develops; poor appetite, drowsiness, diarrhea, labored breathing, weakness, incoordination, fainting, accumulation of fluid in the lungs or abdomen, and cough. Other side effects may also occur. Talk to your veterinarian about any side effect that seems unusual or bothersome to the pet.

What happens if I miss giving a dose of Vetmedin?

Give the missed dose as soon as you remember. However, if it is almost time for the next regularly scheduled dose, skip the missed dose and give the next one as directed. Do not give a double dose of the medication.

What should I avoid while giving Vetmedin?

Vetmedin is not for use in humans. Do not give this medication to animals allergic to it. Do not give to animals with hypertrophic cardiomyopathy, aortic stenosis, or any other condition where an increase in cardiac output is not recommended. Do not give this medication to dogs less than 6 months of age. Do not give this medication to pregnant or lactating animals.

What other drugs will affect Vetmedin?

Tell your veterinarian if your pet is also being given verapamil (Isoptin, Calan, Verelan), propranolol (Inderal), theophylline (Theo-Dur), and pentoxiphylline (Trental). Talk to your veterinarian or pharmacist before giving any prescription or over the counter medicines, including vitamins and minerals.

Vetmedin (pimobendan) Directions:

  • Vetmedin is a prescription medication used in dogs to increase the ability of the heart to pump blood.
  • Vetmedin is used for the management of mild, moderate, or severe congestive heart failure due to atrioventricular valvular insufficiency or dilated cardiomyopathy.
Tip:

Vetmedin is available as beef-flavored chewable tablets.

Vetmedin (pimobendan) Dosage for Dogs: (over 6 months of age)

Dogs: (over 6 months of age)
WeightDosage
All weightsThe usual dose is 0.23mg per pound of pet's body weight divided into 2 portions to be given 12 hours apart. The portion to be given should be to the nearest ½ tablet increment
Vetmedin (pimobendan) Dosage for Cats:
Cats
Do not use!
Vetmedin (pimobendan) Dosage for Horses:
Horses
Do not use!

Storage:

Store Vetmedin at room temperature away from moisture and light.

Vetmedin Ingredients:

Vetmedin 1.25 mg Tablet
Active Ingredients (per tablet)Amount
Pimobendan1.25 mg
Vetmedin 2.50 mg Tablet
Active Ingredients (per tablet)Amount
Pimobendan 2.50 mg
Vetmedin 5.0 mg Tablet
Active Ingredients (per tablet)Amount
Pimobendan 5.0 mg
Vetmedin 10 mg Tablet
Active Ingredients (per tablet)Amount
Pimobendan 10 mg

What is Vetmedin?

Vetmedin is used to manage mild, moderate, or severe congestive heart failure in dogs caused by atrioventricular valvular insufficiency or dilated cardiomyopathy. It differs from other commonly used heart drugs because it helps the heart pump more efficiently. Vetmedin requires a prescription from your veterinarian.

For:

Dogs (6 months or older)

Benefits:

  • Helps pets suffering from congestive heart disease
  • Shown to increase quality and length of life in pets
  • Increases the ability of the heart to pump blood

How does Vetmedin work?

Vetmedin opens up the blood vessels that take blood away from the heart, effectively reducing work the heart does to pump blood. At the same time, Vetmedin opens up the blood vessels returning blood to the heart, reducing pressure on the heart.

Cautions:

If serious side effects or allergic reactions occur, stop giving Vetmedin and seek emergency veterinary medical attention.

Brand Name:

Vetmedin (Boehringer Ingelheim)

Generic Name:

Pimobendan

What is the most important information I should know about Vetmedin?

Vetmedin is used in dogs 6 months of age or older for the management of mild, moderate, or severe congestive heart failure due to atrioventricular valvular insufficiency or dilated cardiomyopathy. Vetmedin is available by prescription as 1.25mg, 2.5mg, 5mg and 10mg scored, porcine derived beef flavored, chewable tablets. The usual dose for dogs is 0.23mg per pound divided into 2 portions to be given 12 hours apart. The portion to be given should be to the nearest 1/2 tablet increment.

What should I discuss with my veterinarian before giving Vetmedin to my pet?

Tell your veterinarian if your pet has any congenital heart defects, diabetes, or other serious metabolic disease. Tell your veterinarian if your pet is pregnant or lactating.

How should Vetmedin be given?

Give this medication exactly as directed by your veterinarian. If you do not understand these directions ask the pharmacist or veterinarian to explain them to you. Unless otherwise directed by your veterinarian, the total daily dose should be divided into 2 portions to be given 12 hours apart. The portion to be given should be to the nearest 1/2 tablet increment. Store Vetmedin at room temperature away from moisture and light.

What are the possible side effects of Vetmedin?

If any of the following serious side effects occur, stop giving Vetmedin and seek emergency veterinary medical attention; an allergic reaction (difficulty breathing; swelling of the lips, tongue or face; hives), scratching, sudden onset of diarrhea, vomiting, shock, seizures, pale gums, coma. Discontinue giving Vetmedin and contact your veterinarian if your pet develops; poor appetite, drowsiness, diarrhea, labored breathing, weakness, incoordination, fainting, accumulation of fluid in the lungs or abdomen, and cough. Other side effects may also occur. Talk to your veterinarian about any side effect that seems unusual or bothersome to the pet.

What happens if I miss giving a dose of Vetmedin?

Give the missed dose as soon as you remember. However, if it is almost time for the next regularly scheduled dose, skip the missed dose and give the next one as directed. Do not give a double dose of the medication.

What should I avoid while giving Vetmedin?

Vetmedin is not for use in humans. Do not give this medication to animals allergic to it. Do not give to animals with hypertrophic cardiomyopathy, aortic stenosis, or any other condition where an increase in cardiac output is not recommended. Do not give this medication to dogs less than 6 months of age. Do not give this medication to pregnant or lactating animals.

What other drugs will affect Vetmedin?

Tell your veterinarian if your pet is also being given verapamil (Isoptin, Calan, Verelan), propranolol (Inderal), theophylline (Theo-Dur), and pentoxiphylline (Trental). Talk to your veterinarian or pharmacist before giving any prescription or over the counter medicines, including vitamins and minerals.

Vetmedin (pimobendan) Directions:

  • Vetmedin is a prescription medication used in dogs to increase the ability of the heart to pump blood.
  • Vetmedin is used for the management of mild, moderate, or severe congestive heart failure due to atrioventricular valvular insufficiency or dilated cardiomyopathy.
Tip:

Vetmedin is available as beef-flavored chewable tablets.

Vetmedin (pimobendan) Dosage for Dogs: (over 6 months of age)

Dogs: (over 6 months of age)
WeightDosage
All weightsThe usual dose is 0.23mg per pound of pet's body weight divided into 2 portions to be given 12 hours apart. The portion to be given should be to the nearest ½ tablet increment
Vetmedin (pimobendan) Dosage for Cats:
Cats
Do not use!
Vetmedin (pimobendan) Dosage for Horses:
Horses
Do not use!

Storage:

Store Vetmedin at room temperature away from moisture and light.

Vetmedin Ingredients:

Vetmedin 1.25 mg Tablet
Active Ingredients (per tablet)Amount
Pimobendan1.25 mg
Vetmedin 2.50 mg Tablet
Active Ingredients (per tablet)Amount
Pimobendan 2.50 mg
Vetmedin 5.0 mg Tablet
Active Ingredients (per tablet)Amount
Pimobendan 5.0 mg
Vetmedin 10 mg Tablet
Active Ingredients (per tablet)Amount
Pimobendan 10 mg