Tri-Heart Plus - Generic to Heartgard Plus

4.8 out of 5 Customer Rating
Tri-Heart Plus - Generic to Heartgard Plus is rated 4.4 out of 5 by 1301.
  • y_2020, m_10, d_23, h_16
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.12
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_12, tr_1289
  • loc_en_US, sid_prod10413, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_1800petmeds
  • bvseo_sdk, dw_cartridge, 18.2.0, p_sdk_3.2.0
  • CLOUD, getAggregateRating, 9ms
  • reviews, product
1. We'll ask for your vet's info during checkout.
2. We verify your prescription and ship your order!
Close
Starts $28.56 $19.99
Most orders ship the same day
Note: Manufacturer excludes this item from promotional offers

Tri-Heart Plus - Generic to Heartgard Plus

4.8 out of 5 Customer Rating
Tri-Heart Plus - Generic to Heartgard Plus is rated 4.4 out of 5 by 1301.
  • y_2020, m_10, d_23, h_16
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.12
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_12, tr_1289
  • loc_en_US, sid_prod10413, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_1800petmeds
  • bvseo_sdk, dw_cartridge, 18.2.0, p_sdk_3.2.0
  • CLOUD, getAggregateRating, 9ms
  • reviews, product
Starts $28.56 $19.99
Most orders ship the same day
Note: Manufacturer excludes this item from promotional offers
Dog
Please select all product options.

Reviews

Rated 4 out of 5 by from easy to use no trouble getting dog to eat them, great price
Date published: 2020-05-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from concern We have used heartguard/tri heart for years, for other dogs, and it has been fine, as this has been for our current dogs. We selected the medication with the least potential negative effects because Scarlett had a severe negative reaction to her rabies vaccination . . . even though there is no medical connection between the two. We just did not know if we had a dog that was sensitive to more medications. She did fine.
Date published: 2020-05-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great value I'm glad I found these, save lots of money
Date published: 2020-05-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Had no problem giving medicine it was a treat
Date published: 2020-05-11
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great Works great, the price is fantastic and my dog loves them! Been buying these for the last 5 years.
Date published: 2020-05-09
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Actual product now great. I'm giving a review on the product. I thought i could save some money. But not worth fighting with my dog to eat it. It's not a chew but a hard tablet, like your vitamin C. With all the high reviews i thought it was going to be the same as others i use to use. But mostly the reviews are on the service not the product. I'm going back to heart guard, at least i know he will take it.
Date published: 2020-05-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fast delivery and good customer service Great service by petmeds. Our pup ate his meds quickly and without a fight. The package even came with a wine voucher! Unfortunately the vouchers aren’t for use in the state of Texas :(
Date published: 2020-05-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Just got my first order about 10 days ago and couldn't be more pleased with the results.
Date published: 2020-04-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome Prices Very happy I found Pet Meds. Prices are fantastic! No worries at all. Create account, fill in vet and pet info. They took care of contacting my vet for prescription. Sent meds very quickly. I chose generic heart guard. Exact same dosage of ingredients as the name brands. My 8 dogs had no problem taking it willingly. Great customer service!
Date published: 2020-04-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Meds are Great I am very happy and the meds are of high standards.
Date published: 2020-04-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great price Same medicine at a great price.
Date published: 2020-04-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product Great product at a great price. Dogs love them.
Date published: 2020-04-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I have been using this product for several years and am completely satisfied. I have all my furrbabies on this product. My Frenchies and Bostons are not dogs they are my children so I make it a point to only provide them with the very best of everything. They are rescues so I am very adamant about being sure they get the best life they have ever had!
Date published: 2020-04-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works and saves $ Having been using Tri- Heart for several years and both dogs have remained Heartworm negative. Wish the manufacturer offered a giant dog size so I didn’t need to buy two separate boxes and get our Dane to take two pills each month. But, as long as it works that’s what’s important.
Date published: 2020-04-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy and effective I’ve been using the generic brand for years now. Very easy to give my dog and he loves it and I haven’t had any issues! Added plus is the cost!
Date published: 2020-04-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Eddie likes it...alot This is a wonderful product, every bit as good as Heartguard, but, at a fraction of the cost.
Date published: 2020-04-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Dog Liked It We've only taken one dosage so can't review on its effectiveness (yet) but it was easy to administer to my dog. Jameson gobbeled down the dosage without issue and despite it looking like more of a pill than a "treat." He seemed to like it!
Date published: 2020-04-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works great We have been using for about 6 months and is working great. Othets have given Angle upset stomach, but Tri heart works well with no tummy upset. Just wish it was a pill and not a chewable. She does not like the taste. I have to mash it and hid in her food.
Date published: 2020-04-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great service and three yrs with generics and no p Great products My Boykin Spaniel readily take his Tri-Heart plus.
Date published: 2020-04-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome I was really worried when I switched to the generic brand of HeartGard. But my dogs love it and it’s so simple and hassle free. Thanks for the affordable and reliable medication for my fluffy children.
Date published: 2020-04-06
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Questionable effectiveness I’ve been using this product, religiously, for two years now. My dog just tested negative for heart worms, but positive for hook worms. We have never missed a dose or been off schedule. Makes me question just how well it’s working.
Date published: 2020-03-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Stuff To Buy Ig You Have 2 Dogs Or More I have a 11 year old dog and a 5 month old puppy and with two dogs you have to go were the deals are and the good prices... Heartgard Plus is good heartworm meds but with 2 dogs stuff can get prices so when I can I try to find a Generic brand of the good heartworm and flea meds...
Date published: 2020-03-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from He Loves It Pup thinks he’s getting a treat every month. Plus I love 1800petmeds. Saves me a ton of money and the customer service is the best.
Date published: 2020-03-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Totally satisfied I’ve been giving my dog Heartgard for over a year and would highly recommend this product. It’s the generic version of the more expensive heart worm medicine.
Date published: 2020-03-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product I have bought several times the product. My Lety love the chew that protects her.
Date published: 2020-03-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Taken with no problem Beau-Beau really liked the Heartguard chews he's been taking since he came home with me so I was a little concerned that he wouldn't take the Tri-Heart tablet. No problem at all, just another treat to him!
Date published: 2020-03-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect moneysaver Less expensive than those I've been buying from the vet. Just a note, though: Don't apply for Triheart's 6 dollar rebate (they offer with proof of purchase/receipt). They don't consider 1 800 PetMeds a valid vendor.
Date published: 2020-03-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I've been using this medication for my pups for awhile, and I love it! Not only does it keep them protected, but they think it's a treat as well. Win! Win!!!
Date published: 2020-03-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from generic alternative After consulting with 1800petmeds, I decided to switch to the generic tri-heart plus...They took care of contacting the vet's office and I saved over $500 for the year buying tri-heart plus and flea and tick control meds for my two Lhasa Apsos. I will never go back to feeling pressured to buy overpriced meds again!!!
Date published: 2020-03-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great med with lower price Bentley love his medication. Taste great he said.
Date published: 2020-02-29
  • y_2020, m_10, d_23, h_16
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.12
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_12, tr_1289
  • loc_en_US, sid_prod10413, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_1800petmeds
  • bvseo_sdk, dw_cartridge, 18.2.0, p_sdk_3.2.0
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 8ms
  • reviews, product

Questions

My dog is 120lbs. What can take for like tri heart plus?

Asked by: Deana
You would need to give your large furry friend one of the 50-100 pound dose plus one of the 1-25 pound dose to cover the entire 120 pounds.
Answered by: SuzyCVT
Date published: 2020-05-13

My pet's weight is fluctuating between 24 lbs. and 26.5 lbs. What dosage should I purchase?

Asked by: Bubba
We suggest consulting with your veterinarian. Your veterinarian will have the last say so due to they have to approve the prescription.
Answered by: Shari PetMed Pro
Date published: 2020-05-06

Do you need a prescription to purchase?

Asked by: Laura
Yes, Tri-Heart Plus, and all heartworm preventatives, require a veterinarian's prescription.
Answered by: SuzyCVT
Date published: 2020-07-13

Will this work for.mange

Asked by: tane777
No, Tri-Heart Plus prevents heartworms and treats and controls hookworms and roundworms but does not treat for mange mites. Please consult your veterinarian for proper diagnosis (there are 2 types of mange) and treatment.
Answered by: SuzyCVT
Date published: 2020-05-04

Do we need a prescription?

Asked by: Joan
Yes. Tri-Heart Plus requires a prescription from your veterinarian. Thank you.
Answered by: Joshua T
Date published: 2020-04-28

What are the symptoms of a 7 week old puppy having worms

Asked by: Tink
We do suggest speaking with your vet.
Answered by: Shari PetMed Pro
Date published: 2020-04-13

What are the symptoms of a 7 week old puppy having worms

Asked by: Tink
We do suggest speaking with your veterinarian.
Answered by: Shari PetMed Pro
Date published: 2020-04-13

What are the symptoms of a 7 week old puppy having worms

Asked by: Tink
We do suggest speaking with your veterinarian.
Answered by: Shari PetMed Pro
Date published: 2020-04-13

What are the symptoms of a 7 week old puppy having worms

Asked by: Tink
We do suggest speaking with your veterinarian.
Answered by: Shari PetMed Pro
Date published: 2020-04-13

If your dog only weighs 8 pounds can you give 1/2 of the tablet for a 0 to 25 pound dog?

Asked by: PaulaLJ
The tablets are not scored and not meant to be split in half as the manufacturer does not guarantee the active ingredients to be evenly distributed throughout the tablet which could result in an under-dose when using 1/2 tablet. The medication is perfectly safe for the weight range it is labeled for and a whole tablet should be given to your little furry friend.
Answered by: SuzyCVT
Date published: 2020-04-29

Where are these pills made?

Asked by: Jackie f
Tri-Heart Plus is manufactured by (Merck). They are located in the U.S.
Answered by: Cherley Petmeds Pro
Date published: 2020-04-07

Are the ingredients of triheart plus same as heartguard

Asked by: Anita
Yes the active ingredients is the exact same for tri heart plus and heartgard plus.
Answered by: Shari PetMed Pro
Date published: 2020-04-05

Why does the generic cost more than Heartgard??

Asked by: Bec044
Our generic cost is less then the Heartgard Plus. Please give us a call and we will happily go over the prices with you.
Answered by: Shari PetMed Pro
Date published: 2020-03-14

My Shih Tzu is currently on Trifexis can I switch him over to Heartgard or Comfortis. What is the best to use foe fleas and heart

Asked by: Jeanene
You are welcome to switch. You will need to discuss it with your veterinarian on switching it due to they have to approve the change.
Answered by: Shari PetMed Pro
Date published: 2020-03-09

My veterinarian says before I can buy more pills, I must pay $50 for each dog to check for heartworms. The dogs have been on Tri-Heart Plus every mo. for 2 yrs. I believe this fee is a rip-off and I'm looking to get these pills elsewhere. Can you help?

Asked by: AlanL
We would be glad to if we can. Unfortunately we can't ship out the heart worm preventative without your furry baby's veterinarian approving it.
Answered by: Shari PetMed Pro
Date published: 2020-02-29

Is this website from China? Do the medicines come from China?

Asked by: SraBugsy
No. We are located in Delray Beach Florida and all of our products/medications are shipped from our warehouse located in Delray Beach Florida.
Answered by: Cherley Petmeds Pro
Date published: 2020-02-10

Do I need a prescription from a vet to order the Tri-Heart Plus?

Asked by: Candi
Yes. We normally contact your veterinarian to obtain the prescription for you by phone or fax prior to shipment.
Answered by: Cherley Petmeds Pro
Date published: 2020-04-01

how many tablets in a 6 pack?

Asked by: Nadine
6 tablets.
Answered by: TMPE
Date published: 2020-02-06

Why the difference in the price from 20 something to 19 something? Is it close to expiration?

Asked by: Floss
No. 1-800-PetMeds® is committed to providing the highest quality products. We offer different discounts and sales periodically.
Answered by: Cherley Petmeds Pro
Date published: 2020-04-01

Is this product the same as Heartgard?

Asked by: Raheam
Tri-Heart Plus has the same active ingredients as Heartgard Plus.
Answered by: SuzyCVT
Date published: 2020-02-19

Does the Tri-Heart plus have the same guarantee like Heartgard carries. If the animal gets heartworms while on this they help out with the medical expenses ?

Asked by: Rick
Yes, all of our heartworm preventatives are guaranteed provided the qualifications are met.
Answered by: Lisa M
Date published: 2020-01-09

How does it smell? Attractive to a dog?

Asked by: Roger
Tri Heart Plus is beef flavored and highly palatable.
Answered by: Lisa M
Date published: 2020-01-09

My dog is currently 58 lbs. She is only 3 yrs old and I could see her weight changing a bit as she's a husky. What's the safest bet for her as far as heart wormer? Would it hurt her if I give her a 50-100 lbs dose?

Asked by: Tiffany
At 58 pounds, your furry baby would take the 50-100 pound dose.
Answered by: SuzyCVT
Date published: 2019-12-27

Where is this product made.

Asked by: Lucy
Triheart Plus is made by Merck in Des Moines, Iowa.
Answered by: Crystal RPTechnician
Date published: 2019-12-13

Does this product contain any beef products or beef flavoring? 

Asked by: ElizabethC
Tri-Heart Plus contains artificial beef flavoring.
Answered by: Lisa M
Date published: 2019-12-12

My dog is 115 lbs. do I order two doses?

Asked by: Relic
Yes, your dog will need both the 51-100 and 1-25 lb sizes of Triheart to cover your pet's weight.
Answered by: Lisa M
Date published: 2019-11-15

Has anyone notice a reaction from their  pet after taking generic?

Asked by: Didi
By law, a generic drug must contain the identical active ingredient as the brand name. They may, however, contain different inactive ingredients. This may explain a "reaction" in some pets.
Answered by: Lisa M
Date published: 2019-10-27

SUPPOSE YOUR DOG WEIGHS 120#'S? WHAT DO YOU SUGGEST?`

Asked by: TANK
For dogs over 100 pounds, two tablets are required. For 120 pounds, you need one of the 50-100 pound and one of the up to 25 pound.
Answered by: SuzyCVT
Date published: 2019-10-18

I’d like to hear from other customers about the effectiveness of the product. What % of the dogs were HW+ and HW- after using this product after 1, 2, or more years? 

Asked by: MommaBrick3
Your veterinarian and the manufacturer may also be valuable resources for the type of information that you seek.
Answered by: Lisa M
Date published: 2019-10-10

Does Heartgard cover fees associated with vet care if the product fails? For example, if my pet were to get hookworms while being on an active prescription?

Asked by: Jenna
If your pet gets heartworms, here's what's required for reimbursement of veterinary costs: 1.Send us your bill for treatment of heartworms and we'll send you a check (requires 9 months of continuous use of heartworm product purchased from 1-800-PetMeds on the pet for whom the medication was prescribed. Monetary limitations apply). We also assist with treatment if your pet contracts intestinal parasites. Feel free to call us at 1-800-738-6337 for more information.
Answered by: Lisa M
Date published: 2020-02-09
  • y_2020, m_10, d_22, h_17CST
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvqa, vn_bulk_3.0.12
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasquestionsanswers, tq_447
  • loc_en_US, sid_prod10413, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=LAST_APPROVED_ANSWER_SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_1800petmeds
  • bvseo_sdk, dw_cartridge, 18.2.0, p_sdk_3.2.0
  • CLOUD, getContent, 12ms
  • questions, product

What is Tri-Heart Plus - Generic to Heartgard Plus?

Tri-Heart Plus Ivermectin/Pyrantel for dogs is a heartworm preventative that also controls roundworms and hookworms. Tri-Heart Plus is a generic equivalent to Heartgard Plus, and requires a prescription from your veterinarian. It has the same active ingredients and is the same strength. Tri-Heart Plus is considered to be the #1 generic heartworm preventative recommended by veterinarians.

For:

Dogs (6+ weeks of age, no weight requirement)

Benefits:

  • Tasty flavored chewable tablets
  • Easy to administer
  • Small, easy-to-chew tablet for smaller or finicky dogs
  • Given once a month

Note: Unlike Heartgard Plus which is a soft chew, this product is a hard tablet. If your pet will not eat the flavored tablet like a treat, you can mix it intact with a small amount of food or place it in the back of your dog's mouth (far enough back in order to leave no other option but for the tablet to get swallowed). Only attempt this if you're comfortable with the procedure. Some dogs may get upset with this forceful handling which can possibly cause the tablet to come back up and be expelled.

How does Tri-Heart Plus work?

Tri-Heart Plus is an anthelmintic (dewormer). The ingredient pyrantel pamoate is used to treat and control roundworms and hookworms in dogs.

Cautions:

Can cause sensitivities in herding dog breeds. The safe use of this drug has not been evaluated in pregnant or lactating bitches. Store Tri-Heart Plus at room temperature. Do not remove the tablet from its wrapper until ready to give to your pet. Keep this medication away from children and pets.

Brand Name:

Tri-Heart Plus (Merck)

Generic Name:

Ivermectin, Pyrantel

What is the most important thing I should know about Tri-Heart Plus?

Tri-Heart Plus is a prescription medication available as flavored chewable tablets. The usual dose of Tri-Heart Plus in dogs up to 25 lbs is 68 mcg/57 mg (Blue box), for dogs 26-50 lbs is 136 mcg/114 mg (Green box) and for dogs 51-100 lbs is 272 mcg/227 mg (Brown box). Dogs over 100 lbs are given a combination of tablets.

What should I discuss with my veterinarian before giving Tri-Heart Plus to my pet?

Tell your veterinarian if your pet has ever had an allergic reaction to the medication.

How should Tri-Heart Plus be given?

Give Tri-Heart Plus exactly as directed by your veterinarian. If you do not understand the directions ask your pharmacist or veterinarian to explain them to you. Use with caution, Collies and other herding dog breeds have been known to have adverse reactions to ivermectin administered at elevated dose levels. Heartworm testing should be performed prior to the start of prevention therapy. If your pet is off Tri-Heart Plus for 6 months or less, start the medication and test after 6 months since microfilaria, that take 6 months to mature, will result in a positive test result.

Ivermectin/Pyrantel is available in 3 sizes for 1 monthly dose: up to 25 lbs, 26-50 lbs & 51-100 lbs

What are the potential side effects of Tri-Heart Plus?

Side effects of Tri-Heart Plus are rare at the recommended heartworm prevention dose, but may include lethargy, limpness, salivation, shaking, diarrhea, decreased appetite, licking lips, and belching. Higher doses in dogs may cause tremors, dilated pupils, loss of body weight, or death.

What happens if I miss giving a dose of Tri-Heart Plus?

Give the missed dose as soon as you remember. Do not give a double dose of the medication.

What happens if I overdose my pet on Tri-Heart Plus?

If you suspect that your pet has received an overdose of Tri-Heart Plus, consult your veterinarian or emergency veterinary clinic immediately.

What should I avoid while giving Tri-Heart Plus to my pet?

Because humans can contract hookworms from animals, it is important to maintain good personal hygiene. It is also important to eliminate fleas on your pet and in the household and to not feed your pet rodents. To prevent reinfection, daily cleanup of stools is recommended.

What other drugs will affect Tri-Heart Plus?

Do not give Tri-Heart Plus if your pet is already being given another heartworm medication.

Tri-Heart Plus Directions:

  • Give Tri-Heart Plus Flavored Chewables once a month on the same day of each month year-round.
  • Tri-Heart Plus Flavored Chewables can be given by hand, mixed intact with a small amount of food, or placed in the back of your dog's mouth for forced swallowing.
  • Watch your dog closely following dosing to be sure the entire dose has been swallowed. If it is not completely swallowed, give one more full recommended dose as soon as possible.
Tip:

Do not remove the chewable from its wrapper until ready to give to your pet.

Tri-Heart Plus - Generic to Heartgard Plus Dosage for Dogs/Puppies: (6+ weeks of age)

Dogs/Puppies: (6+ weeks of age)
WeightDosage
Up to 25 lbsGive 1 chewable every month (Blue Box)
26-50 lbsGive 1 chewable every month (Green Box)
51-100 lbsGive 1 chewable every month (Brown Box)
Over 100 lbsGive combination of chewables based on weight
Tri-Heart Plus - Generic to Heartgard Plus Dosage for Cats:
Cats
Do not use!
Tri-Heart Plus - Generic to Heartgard Plus Dosage for Horses:
Horses
Do not use!
Storage:

Should be stored at room temperature.

Tri-Heart Plus Ingredients:

Tri-Heart Plus - Blue Box (Dogs up to 25 lbs):
Active Ingredients (per chewable tablet)Amount
Ivermectin68 mcg
Pyrantel57 mg
Tri-Heart Plus - Green Box (Dogs 26-50 lbs):
Active Ingredients (per chewable tablet)Amount
Ivermectin136 mcg
Pyrantel114 mg
Tri-Heart Plus - Brown Box (Dogs 51-100 lbs):
Active Ingredients (per chewable tablet)Amount
Ivermectin272 mcg
Pyrantel227 mg

What is Tri-Heart Plus - Generic to Heartgard Plus?

Tri-Heart Plus Ivermectin/Pyrantel for dogs is a heartworm preventative that also controls roundworms and hookworms. Tri-Heart Plus is a generic equivalent to Heartgard Plus, and requires a prescription from your veterinarian. It has the same active ingredients and is the same strength. Tri-Heart Plus is considered to be the #1 generic heartworm preventative recommended by veterinarians.

For:

Dogs (6+ weeks of age, no weight requirement)

Benefits:

  • Tasty flavored chewable tablets
  • Easy to administer
  • Small, easy-to-chew tablet for smaller or finicky dogs
  • Given once a month

Note: Unlike Heartgard Plus which is a soft chew, this product is a hard tablet. If your pet will not eat the flavored tablet like a treat, you can mix it intact with a small amount of food or place it in the back of your dog's mouth (far enough back in order to leave no other option but for the tablet to get swallowed). Only attempt this if you're comfortable with the procedure. Some dogs may get upset with this forceful handling which can possibly cause the tablet to come back up and be expelled.

How does Tri-Heart Plus work?

Tri-Heart Plus is an anthelmintic (dewormer). The ingredient pyrantel pamoate is used to treat and control roundworms and hookworms in dogs.

Cautions:

Can cause sensitivities in herding dog breeds. The safe use of this drug has not been evaluated in pregnant or lactating bitches. Store Tri-Heart Plus at room temperature. Do not remove the tablet from its wrapper until ready to give to your pet. Keep this medication away from children and pets.

Brand Name:

Tri-Heart Plus (Merck)

Generic Name:

Ivermectin, Pyrantel

What is the most important thing I should know about Tri-Heart Plus?

Tri-Heart Plus is a prescription medication available as flavored chewable tablets. The usual dose of Tri-Heart Plus in dogs up to 25 lbs is 68 mcg/57 mg (Blue box), for dogs 26-50 lbs is 136 mcg/114 mg (Green box) and for dogs 51-100 lbs is 272 mcg/227 mg (Brown box). Dogs over 100 lbs are given a combination of tablets.

What should I discuss with my veterinarian before giving Tri-Heart Plus to my pet?

Tell your veterinarian if your pet has ever had an allergic reaction to the medication.

How should Tri-Heart Plus be given?

Give Tri-Heart Plus exactly as directed by your veterinarian. If you do not understand the directions ask your pharmacist or veterinarian to explain them to you. Use with caution, Collies and other herding dog breeds have been known to have adverse reactions to ivermectin administered at elevated dose levels. Heartworm testing should be performed prior to the start of prevention therapy. If your pet is off Tri-Heart Plus for 6 months or less, start the medication and test after 6 months since microfilaria, that take 6 months to mature, will result in a positive test result.

Ivermectin/Pyrantel is available in 3 sizes for 1 monthly dose: up to 25 lbs, 26-50 lbs & 51-100 lbs

What are the potential side effects of Tri-Heart Plus?

Side effects of Tri-Heart Plus are rare at the recommended heartworm prevention dose, but may include lethargy, limpness, salivation, shaking, diarrhea, decreased appetite, licking lips, and belching. Higher doses in dogs may cause tremors, dilated pupils, loss of body weight, or death.

What happens if I miss giving a dose of Tri-Heart Plus?

Give the missed dose as soon as you remember. Do not give a double dose of the medication.

What happens if I overdose my pet on Tri-Heart Plus?

If you suspect that your pet has received an overdose of Tri-Heart Plus, consult your veterinarian or emergency veterinary clinic immediately.

What should I avoid while giving Tri-Heart Plus to my pet?

Because humans can contract hookworms from animals, it is important to maintain good personal hygiene. It is also important to eliminate fleas on your pet and in the household and to not feed your pet rodents. To prevent reinfection, daily cleanup of stools is recommended.

What other drugs will affect Tri-Heart Plus?

Do not give Tri-Heart Plus if your pet is already being given another heartworm medication.

Tri-Heart Plus Directions:

  • Give Tri-Heart Plus Flavored Chewables once a month on the same day of each month year-round.
  • Tri-Heart Plus Flavored Chewables can be given by hand, mixed intact with a small amount of food, or placed in the back of your dog's mouth for forced swallowing.
  • Watch your dog closely following dosing to be sure the entire dose has been swallowed. If it is not completely swallowed, give one more full recommended dose as soon as possible.
Tip:

Do not remove the chewable from its wrapper until ready to give to your pet.

Tri-Heart Plus - Generic to Heartgard Plus Dosage for Dogs/Puppies: (6+ weeks of age)

Dogs/Puppies: (6+ weeks of age)
WeightDosage
Up to 25 lbsGive 1 chewable every month (Blue Box)
26-50 lbsGive 1 chewable every month (Green Box)
51-100 lbsGive 1 chewable every month (Brown Box)
Over 100 lbsGive combination of chewables based on weight
Tri-Heart Plus - Generic to Heartgard Plus Dosage for Cats:
Cats
Do not use!
Tri-Heart Plus - Generic to Heartgard Plus Dosage for Horses:
Horses
Do not use!
Storage:

Should be stored at room temperature.

Tri-Heart Plus Ingredients:

Tri-Heart Plus - Blue Box (Dogs up to 25 lbs):
Active Ingredients (per chewable tablet)Amount
Ivermectin68 mcg
Pyrantel57 mg
Tri-Heart Plus - Green Box (Dogs 26-50 lbs):
Active Ingredients (per chewable tablet)Amount
Ivermectin136 mcg
Pyrantel114 mg
Tri-Heart Plus - Brown Box (Dogs 51-100 lbs):
Active Ingredients (per chewable tablet)Amount
Ivermectin272 mcg
Pyrantel227 mg