4.9 out of 5 Customer Rating
Temaril-P is rated 4.6 out of 5 by 102.
  • y_2021, m_2, d_25, h_17
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.14
  • cp_4, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_102
  • loc_en_US, sid_prod10406, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_1800petmeds
  • bvseo_sdk, dw_cartridge, 18.2.0, p_sdk_3.2.0
  • CLOUD, getAggregateRating, 48ms
  • reviews, product
Prescription Item Prescription Item Prescription Item
1. We'll ask for your vet's info during checkout.
2. We verify your prescription and ship your order!
Close
Prescription Item Easy refill eligible
$5 to $20 Off with Code EZREFILL
prod10406 product detail number 1.0
SOLD PER TABLET

Temaril-P

4.9 out of 5 Customer Rating
Temaril-P is rated 4.6 out of 5 by 102.
  • y_2021, m_2, d_25, h_17
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.14
  • cp_4, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_102
  • loc_en_US, sid_prod10406, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_1800petmeds
  • bvseo_sdk, dw_cartridge, 18.2.0, p_sdk_3.2.0
  • CLOUD, getAggregateRating, 48ms
  • reviews, product
Prescription Item Prescription Item Prescription Item
Prescription Item Easy refill eligible
$5 to $20 Off with Code EZREFILL
Starts at $0.94
$1.34 Save $0.40 (30% off)


$0.94
Earn points 0.94 pts Prescription Item
This number represents the amount of PetMeds Points you will receive by purchasing this item

Please select all product options.
Most orders ship the same day
Checkbox Out of stock
Estimated back in stock soon. Be the first to know.
Temaril-P
Other Options
Swipe

Reviews

Rated 1 out of 5 by from Possible seizure reason My Labrador is 9 years old and has been on Temaril P on and off for the last 4 years. She takes 1.5 pills 2x a day, very low dose. It works well by suppressing the immune system, but 2 weeks ago she had 2 seizures, one day apart. I switched to Atopica to get her off the steroid as long term use is bad. Will wean her off of it after 3 weeks on the Atopica. Remember the old saying "Everything in moderation." If you can get by with some Benadryl tablets that is the best. Temaril P does not stop the itching per say but tells the body not to react so much to the issue at hand. 1-800 pet meds sells it for 60 cents per pill, very reasonable. My dog has both food and airborne allergies so we have been battling this for 9 years. Topical creams are helpful also. My dog makes yeast in her paws, ears, and chin when not on Temaril P. Be careful and you can treat your pet every other month to avoid poor side effects. Good luck. Hope to not have to use the steroid Temaril P ever again. She may not be as happy or content but she will get by and be healthier and live longer.
Date published: 2010-10-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works for Bebe Thankyou for such great shipping. I was surprised by how quickly I recieved the med. It is very helpful with Bebe's cough and itching.
Date published: 2010-09-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Temaril-P Rex, my golden retriever, has thyroid problems and itching problems. This product, Temaril-P, is the med. that has worked best for his itching out of lots of different ones i have tryed. He smiles all the time now & wants to play which is a big improvment! I recieved the meds within a week with 1-800-petmeds which is awsome!! It is so expensive at the vets office that i couldn't of continuned to give it to him even as helpfull as it is. Psst. I put it in a small piece of cheese.
Date published: 2010-09-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very Helpful Sam is a 3-yr old, 40+ pound, Beagle mix with lots of inhalant (grass, trees, mold, etc.) and food allergies. We have had lots of blood work done and have seen many specialists. Sam takes a monthly allergy shot, a daily antihistamine pill, and one dose of Temaril-P. We can double his dose of Temaril-P during the really bad allergy seasons. This combination works wonders for his "asthma" and "coughing" attacks. We've been on this strategy for 2 years now with no side effects so far. We did have a choice of using an inhaler once a day, but the complications of making a dog take a sharp breath using an inhaler was just too much. The specialist said the amount of steroids in Temaril-P would not harm him in the long run, but we get yearly full-scope check-ups just in case. The cons: weight gain and excessive thirst. We remedy that with a strict diet and lots of water.
Date published: 2010-07-19
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Dog scratching not resolved After various meds and food trials we tried Temaril P. It helped initially when he was on the strongest dose. Now that I have weaned him down to a lower dosage (due to the health risks) he is back to his same old scratching patterns.
Date published: 2010-07-13
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Do not recommend My vet prescribed Temaril-P to treat for my dog's ear infection. My dog became thirsty and increased her appetite. During the 4th day on Temaril in the middle of the night She fell off the bed and had a seizure. I will not give her Temaril ever again.
Date published: 2010-07-11
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Helped my dog out of his misery! My dog who is now almost 11 years old, has always had a skin irritation problem since he was about 5 years. We have gone to the vet many times for this, tried many different shampoos, sprays, lotions, you name it, I've tried it! After several years of watching my dog constantly licking his skin and even biting at it(to the point of making himself bleed), something had to be done! They finally put him on this Temaril-P, and it has worked wonders!! There was a few weeks after his prescription had ran out that I really noticed the difference. While not on the pills he went right back to licking and biting! Tiger is now on his second prescription of Temaril-P, and hopefully not his last!
Date published: 2010-05-31
Rated 4 out of 5 by from TEMERIL-P i think it works but dont forget it is a steroid and that is not good in the long run
Date published: 2010-05-30
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Worked halfway Gave Temaril-P to treat her continious scratching and it worked since the first day, but she developed a very strong phlem. Had to discontinue after three weeks. The scratching is back but the phlem is going away.
Date published: 2010-05-21
Rated 4 out of 5 by from This product is great Leia started this product a few months ago. She has allergies and would just scratch herself bald and miserable and give herself infections. It was awful, the doc said lets try this. It was really expensive at the vet and thought I would not be able to afford to keep her on them but found them here a LOT cheaper. She has since almost stopped itching and she is furrier than I remember ever seeing her. I now call her my woolybear. I highly recommend this product for any furry baby that has itchy allergy problems.
Date published: 2010-05-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Sadie is holding her own. the medication seems to be working and drying up her nose. she still doesn't like taking any medication and she doesn't like the pill pockets at all unless she is hungry. Rob Stenson
Date published: 2010-04-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Inner ear problems This medication was prescribed by our vet and it has been a miracle for us and our dog, We had her for 12 years and this has been prescribed twice for her but just recently has she had the problem and it has worked both times. Our Aus sheep dog/ mix that was rescued from the APL has not displayed any side effects at all and her balance which was the problem is completely resolved with temeril-p. Since I see that it is usually for itching/allergies I am surprised the vet gave it to us for this inner ear problem, but it has been great !
Date published: 2010-03-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wonderful Itch Relief My new rescue dog has multiple skin/itch issues. The Temaril-P is providing wonderful itch relief while my vet and I are working on minimizing this problem (hypo-allergenic diet, etc.). Temaril-P provides better itch relief than any other pill we have tried, and we have tried a LOT.
Date published: 2010-03-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I love these pills!! Termaril-P is the only thing that completely clears up my dogs allergies within one day. I'm amazed at how well it works, and its the only thing I will EVER use on him! Overall my dog and I are extremly happy with Termaril-P and PetMeds! :)
Date published: 2010-02-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Itchy Dog Syndrome Temaril-P must be used consistently, but so doing we have Robbie's dose down to one pill a day. This controls his itchy skin which if untreated leads progressively to a tattered, mangey looking coat and a depressed dog.
Date published: 2010-02-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Sweet Relief! Our dog, Cricket, was a puppy I found with horrible environmental allergies and a collapsed trachea. She scratched so hard she tore her face open pretty badly, and that was while she was on the vet recommended highest dose of daily benedryl. She would have hard coughing fits when she got too excited while excercising. Our vet switched her to Temaril-P, and wallah! Started her on a half pill a day and like magic, she's a normal dog with no itches, no more foaming from the nose, or coughing during play time. We even down-graded her dosing for the winter and a half a pill every other day works just as well! Her lethargy was greatly reduced compared to benedryl, and we have seen no negative side effects. This drug is a lifesaver considering the small dose required to keep our girl happy!
Date published: 2010-01-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Medication for Allergies Our 11 yr old golden retreiver has suffered with environmental allergies all he life. They got worse the older she got. We started out with her on Benadryl years ago, that stopped working. Moved on to other over-the-counter medications, tried various other prescription medications. They worked for a time, then stopped. Tried shots, didn't work. Finally her allergies got so bad she would not stop chewing on her feet, even after she drew blood, and she had to wear a cone for a couple months while our vets were trying to figure out what to do with her - poor thing! We saw a pet dematologist who wanted to put her on Atopica and see if it stopped the itching cycle. But first he put her on Temaril-P for two weeks before the Atopica. The Temaril-P worked!!! We did put her on the Atopica for a month, but that medication was too expensive to stay on. So we have stuck with using Temaril-P for about 6 years now and she does great on it! She is a 68-lb golden retreiver and for the most part can get by on 1 tablet a day. Some times of the year we have to up the dose depending on what allergy is triggered at that time, but the majority of the time she only needs 1 tablet a day.
Date published: 2009-11-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Temaril Buddy itched a lot over the years, But this medicine for the first time, has stopped Buddy's itching. We are so happy, and so is our dog.
Date published: 2009-11-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Results We found an older Pomeranian running down the middle of a 4 lane highway and picked her up. She had kennel cough, intestinal parasites and an allergic skin reaction to all the fleas she was hosting. The Temeril-P that our vet prescribed worked within the first 20 minutes in calming her cough and has eased her skin condition alot.
Date published: 2009-11-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great for coughing I have used Temaril-P for my dog for over a year now for coughing and it really helps sooth her cough. Her behavior hasn't changed. I would recommend this product, but of course all dogs are different and you should always consult with your vet.
Date published: 2009-10-27
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Temaril (Same as Temaril-P in picture) Temaril produced very dramatic loss of bladder control and excessive thirst in my large breed dog. If there is any alternative for other pet owners, I would avoid this drug. At very least , be warned to cover your carpets with plastic and confine your dog to one room overnight and until he/she has been let outside at least twice already the next morning for the duration of treatment and a few days afterward. Never again for me or my dog. This medication was prescribed by my vet for an ear infection related problem with swelling/skin tissue in ear. I had thought it was an anti-biotic, and cannot recall my vet stating it was a cortisone-related product nor warning of any side-effects. Within less than 40 hours, possibly as few as 16, I woke up to a wet area on the carpet that was so lacking in odor (at first), I thought the dog drank too much water and threw it up. I spent hours cleaning the carpet anyway, just in case. Next day early morning, the dog peed in the area I had cleaned the day before. Totally out of character behavior. Massive cleaning effort, hours and hours. Next day very early morning the dog peed in two different rooms, despite having been walked and been outside several times including late night the night before. Over 10 days, this abnormal behavior is repeated. I begin to think the dog is having some major kidney problem. But tonight, Thanks to PetMeds website, I learn for the first time that this Temaril causes Cushing's-type syndrome with excessive thirst and frequent urination. The behavior is totally out-of-character for my dog, and has forced a major change in my schedule, with hours every day spent carpet cleaning. I WISH my vet had warned me. The dog is an Italian Spinone, with a low metabolism and usually exceptionally good bladder control.
Date published: 2009-10-27
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Use of temaril-p Did I just note an increase in the price of temaril-P? My Toy fox Terrier has a collapsing trachea and has benefitted greatly from the use of the temeril and an antihistamine. We are maintaining a low dose for both and they work well. When she misses doses she has very bad attacks. I was pleased to find this drug on Pet Med at such a reasonable rate. I'm not sure of where I'll find the drug needed but if the rates are going to increase I'll be looking.
Date published: 2009-10-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from ABSOLUTELY GREAT!!!!! For the past 2 yrs, our dog has had problems with allergies, scratching, and chewing , we've had to put 'socks' on her feet to keep her from chewing her pads. We've spent over $300 on tests, and 1 1/2 years of shots we had to give her ourselves, ( til we realized it only slowed her chewing , nothing else) . . AND 6 to 8 antihistamine pills a day that only 'somewhat' relieved her problems. After talking w/the owner of a dog kennel who has a dog with worse allergies , she recommended Temaril P. . . our own VET never mentioned this at all!!!! So we ordered some and within 2 days, all her scratching stopped, we couldn't believe it!!!! We only started her on 2 pills twice a day (instead of 3 pills twice a day) and it was enough for her, we're down to 2 pills a day now and hope to lower it to maybe 1 pill a day / or 1 every other day .... It's worked WONDERS!!! We can't believe all the misery she went thru, and money we've wasted , and we are considering changing vets as this one just kept charging us for this and that, that NEVER worked as great as this pill does!!!! To us, it's a miracle pill , after what we've been through. We highly recommend it to anyone who has a pet with severe allergies.
Date published: 2009-09-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Miracle working drug! Our beagle, Kaya, itched and chewed herself till hair around one eye was completely gone and her skin under her arms were raw and bare. She was probably so miserable! After putting her on Temaril-P, Kaya no longer excessively itches and chews on herself. She seems so much happier and is the same rambunctious beagle when we first got her!
Date published: 2009-09-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from It works! My two bichons were constantly battling rashes, allergies and chewing themselves raw. After many, many expensive trips to the vet, they started on Temaril P, amazing improvement and happier dogs. Not to mention our enhanced enjoyment of our dogs. No doubt, it is worth it.
Date published: 2009-09-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Today at the vets i just paid $23.78 for the same thing and 57.33 for Simplicef 100mg. What a rip off. I wish I had time to get this for my dog Sam before got a skin infection
Date published: 2009-08-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Price Can't beat the price vs what the vet charges from their office and what prompt shipment.
Date published: 2009-02-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from for sadie when my vet ran out of this product . i was lost my dog needed this med. i called all over to see if i could find it then a friend said call 1-800-pet meds.thanks 1-800-pet-meds for being there for us.these meds are the same as you would get at the vets.and there shipping is very fast. i called that day it was shiped that night. keep up the good work for our love one,s who can,t tell us how they feel
Date published: 2008-12-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent for allergies My 5 year old chihuahua mix has seasonal allergies every fall and chews at her feet and legs constantly. This stuff is great! She had relief within 48 hrs.
Date published: 2008-10-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great for my Bulldog My Bulldog has very sensitive skin and broke out in a rash that we can't figure out what started it. After a month the vet put him on Temaril-P and I saw an extremely noticeable difference within 2 days. When he comes off it, he breaks out again. This stuff is excellent!
Date published: 2008-09-25
  • y_2021, m_2, d_25, h_17
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.14
  • cp_4, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_102
  • loc_en_US, sid_prod10406, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_1800petmeds
  • bvseo_sdk, dw_cartridge, 18.2.0, p_sdk_3.2.0
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 7ms
  • reviews, product

Questions

is there a generic drug for Temaril P?

Asked by: Sophies mom
No there isn't.
Answered by: Gary, Dir, of Pharmacy Services
Date published: 2013-10-22

My 60# lab/collie only gets hot spots & itching during the month of August-its not her food-what is she allergic to?

Asked by: karma5
Allergies can be due to a wide range of causes. It would be impossible for me to answer. However, one cause may be flea bite allergy. You may want to consider discussing this with your veterinarian and maybe having your pet allergy tested.
Answered by: Gary, Dir, of Pharmacy Services
Date published: 2013-10-22

Is there another substitute for Temaril?

My 4 yr old Dachshound was prescribed this for his allergies (bad rash/sores and losing hair on his belly/inbetween toes). We were directed to administer for 3-4 days, and then break for 4-5. However, when I skip one day, his rash immediately returns. Is there another substitute we can try that might work better and/or be cheaper?
Asked by: Doxie
What food are you feeding your pets? Ensure it has no corn, ground corn, corn gluten, wheat, wheat gluten or soy. Your dog could also be allergic to a meat meal like chicken. Check your food first. If they are on a prescription diet from your vet, check that too because many prescription diets use unsavory ingredients like soy, animal digest and other preservatives and additives. Many veterinarians won't tell you this. So check your food first. Try a food like Flint River Ranch, Natural Balance with simple ingredients.
Answered by: cocker spaniel girl
Date published: 2013-10-22

Can this medication cause a distended belly?

My 9 year old Shih Tzu/Poodle mix has a collapsing trachea and is taking this medication to control his cough and inflammation in the trachea. I've noticed in the last few weeks he has a full, firm abdomen, possibly distended? Can this be a side effect?
Asked by: Sarah
I would recommend you speak to your veterinarian about this.
Answered by: Gary, Dir, of Pharmacy Services
Date published: 2013-10-22

Side effect of Temaril on my Husky

My Husky was prescribed Temaril P for rashes on her tummy, back legs, and armpits. The first couple of days at 2 pills a day she improved. As instructed by the vet, on the 4th and 5th day I gave her 2 1/2 pills and she began losing her urine. Has anyone else had this problem? Please help!
Asked by: Dakota
My Australian Shepherd's vet warned that Temaril P would increase the amount of urination and urination would come more frequently. She wasn't kidding. For those just starting the medication on their pet, if the dog sleeps in the house, be prepared to let him/her out during the night.
Answered by: Polly
Date published: 2013-10-22

My 9 yr old black lab is currently on Prednisone and Torbutrol for coughing, would Temaril-P possibly have the same affect.

Asked by: Tysons Mom
It could, yes.
Answered by: Gary, Dir. of Pharmacy Services
Date published: 2013-10-22

Can this med. give shivering like sympotoms to my dag of 23 lbs. wil he is sleeping/relax?

He is also on A2/N nut. supplement and Cefpodoxime Proxetil med
Asked by: jen
I would suggest you speak to your veterinarian about this unusual side effect.
Answered by: Gary, Dir. of Pharmacy Services
Date published: 2013-10-22

Does temaril-P come in liquid form?

Asked by: roxy
It does not. Options would be to crush the tablet and mix it with a small amount of food or water that the pet will finish completely, or to have a compounding pharmacy in your area make this into a liquid form.
Answered by: Gary, Dir. of Pharmacy Services
Date published: 2021-02-18

will this work for a dog with reverse sneezing disorder due to allergies.

I have a toy terrier with a reverse sneezing problem, i have notice and even spoke to my vet about it but he sniffs everything. He has that his allergies is what causes him to have the reverse sneezing problems, it gets so bad that i have had to give him mouth to snout just to gently push some air into him. But it happens more often when he gets overly excited. Will this help, I don't like giving him benedyl 3X a day?
Asked by: suzie
If this is due to allergies, because of the size of your pet you should speak to your veterinarian about the use of antihistamines or have your pet allergy tested so you can treat the specific allergy.
Answered by: Gary, Dir. of Pharmacy Services
Date published: 2013-10-22

What should be done if the vet did not tell us to taper the dosage and our dog took for ten days and then just stopped the medication?

Our dog now seems to always have a dry oth and breathing seems to be laboring. Could this cause cushings disease?
Asked by: luke
10 days is a relatively short period of time. However, because your pet is exhibiting symptoms that are unusual for your pet, I would suggest you speak to your veterinarian.
Answered by: Gary, Dir. of Pharmacy Services
Date published: 2013-10-22

WHAT COLOR ARE THESE PILLS?

ARE THERE ANY NUMBERICAL MARKINGS ON THE PILLS?
Asked by: GINNY
Temaril-P comes in a round white tablet with a T 100 on the front of the tablet.
Answered by: Efleda Orpilla, Pharm D Student Intern
Date published: 2013-10-22

Are there side effects from this medication

My dog seems to get very hyper when given the medicine.
Asked by: Winnie
Unusual excitement is a rare side effect of this medication mostly due to the antihistamine component of this medicine. Perhaps you should discuss this unusual side effect with your veterinarian.
Answered by: Gary, Dir. of Pharmacy Services
Date published: 2013-10-22

Can you give your dog heart worm medicine while on temaril-p

Asked by: Doggone
Yes you can.
Answered by: Gary, Dir. of Pharmacy Services
Date published: 2013-10-22

does this pill work for a colapsed tracha or can you recommend any other meds i can talk to my vet about

my min pin has been on this pill and i wanted to know if there was something else i could try or if i should find a new vet
Asked by: Amanda
This is a medical question that's beyond my scope as a pharmacist. I would recommend asking your veterinarian, or, if necessary, you can always get a second opinion.
Answered by: Gary, Dir. of Pharmacy Services
Date published: 2013-10-22

Can this med. help with Hot Spots

Asked by: Chewi
Temaril-P is used to control itching and requires a prescription from your veterinarian. There are over the counter products that can be used to control hot spots such as Be Soothed.
Answered by: Gary, Dir. of Pharmacy Services
Date published: 2013-10-22

can this pill be crushed for a dog that wont take medicine?

Asked by: dottie
Yes, you can crush it, or you can insert it into a pill pocket or a small amount of peanut butter.
Answered by: Gary, Dir. of Pharmacy Services
Date published: 2013-10-22

Can you give human amoxicillin to your dogs?

I have a Corgi that has a clear runny nose that started after coming in contact with a puppy from the local dog pound. Can i give him my left over amoxicillin?
Asked by: kingston
No. Contact your veterinarian to discuss your pet's health.
Answered by: Gary, Dir, of Pharmacy Services
Date published: 2013-10-22

how long does it take to work?

My JRT has been on it for two days and so far it has not helped her itching.
Asked by: Amy
Temaril-P should have begun to work by now. You should contact your veterinarian.
Answered by: Gary, Dir, of Pharmacy Services
Date published: 2013-10-22

Does this med. relieve demodectic mange?

We have a 10 month old Boxer who has little patches of hair missing all over her body. I just changed her food to Nutro for better nutrition and protein for her skin. Her sister had the same patches of missing hair and was given temoral-p it seemed to clear her up pretty good. Zoey is a little bigger and has a worse case. How long and much should she be given to help clear her up. Thank you Nicole C.
Asked by: Nicole C.
This medication will not treat demodectic mange.
Answered by: Gary, Dir, of Pharmacy Services
Date published: 2013-10-22

Is there an OTC that would be comparable to Temaril P?

Asked by: Leslie
If you are treating your dog for allergies or itching you could use the diphenhydramine or chlorpeneramine. If you are treating coughing we would suggest the Nectadyn syrup.
Answered by: Eric Customer Care
Date published: 2013-10-22

does this come in a liquid form?

Temaril P
Asked by: lil bit
It does not, but you may be able to have it compounded into a liquid form by a local pharmacy that offers compounding services.
Answered by: Gary, Dir, of Pharmacy Services
Date published: 2013-10-22

What can be done about nasal bleeding?

Asked by: Ray
You can have your vetrinarian look at your pet's nose.
Answered by: Gary, Dir, of Pharmacy Services
Date published: 2013-10-22

How long can Temaril-P be used. It was given to my dog for scratching and it helped but when I stopped he started scratching again.

Asked by: Buckwheat
Temaril-P can be used long term as long as your pet is regularly examined by your veterinarian.
Answered by: Gary, Dir, of Pharmacy Services
Date published: 2013-10-22

what is the shelf life for Temaril-P?

I have some from 11/07. Are they still effective?
Asked by: Sandy
No.
Answered by: Gary, Dir, of Pharmacy Services
Date published: 2013-10-22

need to know about chinese shar-peis

he is 15 yrs old and has cough & arthritis
Asked by: punkin
You would need to have your pet examined by your veterinarian. He/she would determine if Temaril-P is the medication to use.
Answered by: Gary, Dir, of Pharmacy Services
Date published: 2013-10-22

what happens if swallowed by person?

what happens if ingusted by person?
Asked by: josie
You would need to contact your physisican or poison control center immediately.
Answered by: Gary, Dir, of Pharmacy Services
Date published: 2015-02-16

how many in a package?

My vet for Rx ok on Temaril P: Laurie McKinney, DVM at Half Moon Bay Veterinary Hospital, (650)726-9061
Asked by: Claire
They are sold by the pill. So however many you need for a month or 2. The vet must authorize the prescription.
Answered by: kaceyco
Date published: 2013-10-22
  • y_2021, m_2, d_25, h_17CST
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvqa, vn_bulk_3.0.14
  • cp_4, bvpage2n
  • co_hasquestionsanswers, tq_95
  • loc_en_US, sid_prod10406, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=LAST_APPROVED_ANSWER_SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_1800petmeds
  • bvseo_sdk, dw_cartridge, 18.2.0, p_sdk_3.2.0
  • CLOUD, getContent, 47ms
  • questions, product

What is Temaril-P?

Temaril-P is used to treat itching and coughing (including kennel cough) in dogs. Temaril-P is a combination antihistamine (trimeprazine) and corticosteroid (prednisolone). Temaril-P is used for the relief of itching regardless of cause. It is also used in the treatment of various cough conditions such as kennel cough, bronchitis and coughs of nonspecific origin. Temaril-P may also be used for purposes other than those listed here. Temaril-P is sold per tablet and requires a prescription from your veterinarian.

For:

Dogs

Benefits:

  • Easy to administer
  • Comes in scored tablet to break in half for smaller dogs
  • Sold per tablet

How does Temaril-P work?

Temaril-P contains trimeprazine and prednisolone. Trimeprazine is an antihistamine, which helps relieve itching and coughing. Prednisolone is a corticosteroid that reduces inflammation.

Cautions:

Temaril-P should be given with food to prevent stomach upset. May cause drowsiness. Do not give to pregnant dogs. Keep this medication away from children and pets.

Brand Name:

Temaril-P (Pfizer Animal Health)

Generic Name:

Trimeprazine with prednisolone (tri-mep'-rah-zeen)

What is the most important thing I should know about Temaril-P?

Temaril-P is a prescription medication that is FDA approved for use in dogs. Temaril-P is available as a scored tablet containing trimeprazine tartrate equivalent to 5 mg trimeprazine and prednisolone 2 mg. Prolonged use of Temaril-P should not be stopped suddenly. There should be a gradual reduction in dosage before stopping. Temaril-P should be taken with food to lessen stomach upset.

What should I discuss with my veterinarian before giving Temaril-P to my pet?

Do not give Temaril-P to your pet if the pet has a serious viral or fungal infection. Temaril-P can be given in the presence of acute or chronic bacterial infections provided the infection is controlled by antibiotic. Temaril-P may weaken the pet's immune response and its ability to fight infections. Tell your veterinarian if your pet has diabetes mellitus or any other medical conditions. Tell your veterinarian if your pet is being given en phenytoin, Phenobarbital, diuretics, or insulin. Also tell your veterinarian if the pet is pregnant or lactating.

How should Temaril-P be given?

Give this medication exactly as directed by your veterinarian. Do not give more or less than is prescribed by the veterinarian. If you do not understand the directions ask the pharmacist or veterinarian to explain them to you. The usual dose of Temaril-P is based on weight. For dogs up to 10 lbs give 1/2 tablet, for 11-20 lbs give 1 tablet, 21-40 lbs give 2 tablets, and for dogs 41 lbs and up give 3 tablets. These tablets are given twice a day. After 4 days, the dose is typically reduced to 1/2 the initial dose. Keep plenty of water available for the pet. Temaril-P should be given with food.

What are the potential side effects of Temaril-P?

If any of the following serious side effects occur, stop giving Temaril-P and seek emergency veterinary medical attention; an allergic reaction (difficulty breathing; swelling of the lips, tongue or face; hives). Trimeprazine can cause drowsiness, tremors and muscle weakness. Prednisolone may cause symptoms of Cushing's disease which include increased thirst, urination and hunger as well as vomiting and diarrhea. Other side effects may also occur. Talk to your veterinarian about any side effect that seems unusual or bothersome to your pet.

What happens if I miss giving a dose of Temaril-P?

Give the missed dose as soon as you remember. However, if is almost time for the next regularly scheduled dose, skip the missed dose and take the next one as directed. Do not give a double dose of the medication.

What happens if I overdose my pet on Temaril-P?

Seek emergency veterinary medical treatment. Symptoms of overdose may include excess drowsiness, low blood pressure, and seizures.

What should I avoid while giving Temaril-P to my pet?

Do not give Temaril-P to dogs allergic to it or to either of its ingredients. Temaril-P should not be given to dogs that are pregnant or that are diabetic. Temaril-P may cause drowsiness. Do not use any vaccines without checking with the veterinarian.

What other drugs will affect Temaril-P:

Do not give any other over the counter or prescription medications, including herbal products, during treatment with Temaril-P without first talking to the veterinarian. Many other medications can interact with Temaril-P resulting in side effects or altered effectiveness. These include sedatives, anesthetics, pain medications, epinephrine and procaine.

Temaril-P Directions:

  • Temaril-P is a combination of an antihistamine (trimeprazine) and a corticosteroid (prednisolone) available by prescription for use in dogs.
  • Temaril-P is used for the relief of itching regardless of cause. It is also used in the treatment of various cough conditions such as kennel cough, bronchitis, and coughs of nonspecific origin.
  • Allow plenty of water for your pet to drink.
Tip:

Prolonged use of Temaril-P should not be stopped suddenly. There should be a gradual reduction in dosage before stopping.

Temaril-P Dosage for Dogs:

Dogs:
WeightDosage
Up to 10 lbsInitially, give ½ tablet twice daily with food to lessen stomach upset. After 4 days, the dose is typically reduced to ½ of the initial dose.
11-20 lbsInitially, give 1 tablet twice a day with food to lessen stomach upset. After 4 days, the dose is typically reduced to ½ of the initial dose.
21-40 lbsInitially, give 2 tablets twice a day with food to lessen stomach upset. After 4 days, the dose is typically reduced to ½ of the initial dose
Over 40 lbsInitially, give 3 tablets twice a day with food to lessen stomach upset. After 4 days, the dose is typically reduced to ½ of the initial dose.
Temaril-P Dosage for Cats/Kittens:
Cats/Kittens
Do not use!
Temaril-P Dosage for Horses:
Horses
Do not use!
Storage:

Store Temaril-P at room temperature away from moisture and heat. Keep this medication away from children and pets.

Temaril-P Ingredients:

Temaril-P
Active Ingredient (per tablet)Amount
Trimeprazine Tartrate5 mg
Prednisolone2 mg

What is Temaril-P?

Temaril-P is used to treat itching and coughing (including kennel cough) in dogs. Temaril-P is a combination antihistamine (trimeprazine) and corticosteroid (prednisolone). Temaril-P is used for the relief of itching regardless of cause. It is also used in the treatment of various cough conditions such as kennel cough, bronchitis and coughs of nonspecific origin. Temaril-P may also be used for purposes other than those listed here. Temaril-P is sold per tablet and requires a prescription from your veterinarian.

For:

Dogs

Benefits:

  • Easy to administer
  • Comes in scored tablet to break in half for smaller dogs
  • Sold per tablet

How does Temaril-P work?

Temaril-P contains trimeprazine and prednisolone. Trimeprazine is an antihistamine, which helps relieve itching and coughing. Prednisolone is a corticosteroid that reduces inflammation.

Cautions:

Temaril-P should be given with food to prevent stomach upset. May cause drowsiness. Do not give to pregnant dogs. Keep this medication away from children and pets.

Brand Name:

Temaril-P (Pfizer Animal Health)

Generic Name:

Trimeprazine with prednisolone (tri-mep'-rah-zeen)

What is the most important thing I should know about Temaril-P?

Temaril-P is a prescription medication that is FDA approved for use in dogs. Temaril-P is available as a scored tablet containing trimeprazine tartrate equivalent to 5 mg trimeprazine and prednisolone 2 mg. Prolonged use of Temaril-P should not be stopped suddenly. There should be a gradual reduction in dosage before stopping. Temaril-P should be taken with food to lessen stomach upset.

What should I discuss with my veterinarian before giving Temaril-P to my pet?

Do not give Temaril-P to your pet if the pet has a serious viral or fungal infection. Temaril-P can be given in the presence of acute or chronic bacterial infections provided the infection is controlled by antibiotic. Temaril-P may weaken the pet's immune response and its ability to fight infections. Tell your veterinarian if your pet has diabetes mellitus or any other medical conditions. Tell your veterinarian if your pet is being given en phenytoin, Phenobarbital, diuretics, or insulin. Also tell your veterinarian if the pet is pregnant or lactating.

How should Temaril-P be given?

Give this medication exactly as directed by your veterinarian. Do not give more or less than is prescribed by the veterinarian. If you do not understand the directions ask the pharmacist or veterinarian to explain them to you. The usual dose of Temaril-P is based on weight. For dogs up to 10 lbs give 1/2 tablet, for 11-20 lbs give 1 tablet, 21-40 lbs give 2 tablets, and for dogs 41 lbs and up give 3 tablets. These tablets are given twice a day. After 4 days, the dose is typically reduced to 1/2 the initial dose. Keep plenty of water available for the pet. Temaril-P should be given with food.

What are the potential side effects of Temaril-P?

If any of the following serious side effects occur, stop giving Temaril-P and seek emergency veterinary medical attention; an allergic reaction (difficulty breathing; swelling of the lips, tongue or face; hives). Trimeprazine can cause drowsiness, tremors and muscle weakness. Prednisolone may cause symptoms of Cushing's disease which include increased thirst, urination and hunger as well as vomiting and diarrhea. Other side effects may also occur. Talk to your veterinarian about any side effect that seems unusual or bothersome to your pet.

What happens if I miss giving a dose of Temaril-P?

Give the missed dose as soon as you remember. However, if is almost time for the next regularly scheduled dose, skip the missed dose and take the next one as directed. Do not give a double dose of the medication.

What happens if I overdose my pet on Temaril-P?

Seek emergency veterinary medical treatment. Symptoms of overdose may include excess drowsiness, low blood pressure, and seizures.

What should I avoid while giving Temaril-P to my pet?

Do not give Temaril-P to dogs allergic to it or to either of its ingredients. Temaril-P should not be given to dogs that are pregnant or that are diabetic. Temaril-P may cause drowsiness. Do not use any vaccines without checking with the veterinarian.

What other drugs will affect Temaril-P:

Do not give any other over the counter or prescription medications, including herbal products, during treatment with Temaril-P without first talking to the veterinarian. Many other medications can interact with Temaril-P resulting in side effects or altered effectiveness. These include sedatives, anesthetics, pain medications, epinephrine and procaine.

Temaril-P Directions:

  • Temaril-P is a combination of an antihistamine (trimeprazine) and a corticosteroid (prednisolone) available by prescription for use in dogs.
  • Temaril-P is used for the relief of itching regardless of cause. It is also used in the treatment of various cough conditions such as kennel cough, bronchitis, and coughs of nonspecific origin.
  • Allow plenty of water for your pet to drink.
Tip:

Prolonged use of Temaril-P should not be stopped suddenly. There should be a gradual reduction in dosage before stopping.

Temaril-P Dosage for Dogs:

Dogs:
WeightDosage
Up to 10 lbsInitially, give ½ tablet twice daily with food to lessen stomach upset. After 4 days, the dose is typically reduced to ½ of the initial dose.
11-20 lbsInitially, give 1 tablet twice a day with food to lessen stomach upset. After 4 days, the dose is typically reduced to ½ of the initial dose.
21-40 lbsInitially, give 2 tablets twice a day with food to lessen stomach upset. After 4 days, the dose is typically reduced to ½ of the initial dose
Over 40 lbsInitially, give 3 tablets twice a day with food to lessen stomach upset. After 4 days, the dose is typically reduced to ½ of the initial dose.
Temaril-P Dosage for Cats/Kittens:
Cats/Kittens
Do not use!
Temaril-P Dosage for Horses:
Horses
Do not use!
Storage:

Store Temaril-P at room temperature away from moisture and heat. Keep this medication away from children and pets.

Temaril-P Ingredients:

Temaril-P
Active Ingredient (per tablet)Amount
Trimeprazine Tartrate5 mg
Prednisolone2 mg

Customers who bought also boughtView All

Swipe