4.9 out of 5 Customer Rating
Temaril-P is rated 4.6 out of 5 by 102.
  • y_2021, m_1, d_26, h_17
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.13
  • cp_3, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_102
  • loc_en_US, sid_prod10406, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_1800petmeds
  • bvseo_sdk, dw_cartridge, 18.2.0, p_sdk_3.2.0
  • CLOUD, getAggregateRating, 67ms
  • reviews, product
1. We'll ask for your vet's info during checkout.
2. We verify your prescription and ship your order!
Close
Starts $1.34 $0.94
Most orders ship the same day
prod10406 product detail number 1.0
SOLD PER TABLET

Temaril-P

4.9 out of 5 Customer Rating
Temaril-P is rated 4.6 out of 5 by 102.
  • y_2021, m_1, d_26, h_17
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.13
  • cp_3, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_102
  • loc_en_US, sid_prod10406, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_1800petmeds
  • bvseo_sdk, dw_cartridge, 18.2.0, p_sdk_3.2.0
  • CLOUD, getAggregateRating, 67ms
  • reviews, product
Starts $1.34 $0.94
Most orders ship the same day
Please select all product options.

Reviews

Rated 4 out of 5 by from good for itchy dogs My golden retriever is a very allergic dog. This medicine helps, still some itching but not tearing his fur out! Wasn't sure about the taste. I hide it in a small piece of cheese!
Date published: 2013-03-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This works for my Boston Terrier Years ago we rescued a Boston Terrier. He scratched like crazy and licked everywhere. We brought him to the vet and she prescribed Temaril-P and it worked wonders. Unfortunately, she told us that it was very dangerous to use it long term so we discontinued. Next we tried 3 months of hypoallergenic food, no success. Then we tried 2 years of injections, no success. Then we tried Atopica, no success. Finally we switched vets and found one who advised us that in fact Temaril-P is safe for long-term use in dogs. He explained that for humans it's not but for dogs it is because their body's react differently to it. So we are back on the Temaril-P and really regretting that we didn't switch vets sooner. The Temaril-P does make him thirsty but the scratching is almost completely gone!
Date published: 2013-03-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Results Darky is a super allergy Boston Terrier, I have had great results with this medicine. Glad my Vet recommended it.
Date published: 2013-01-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very Satisfied I am happy with my first purchase from PetMeds. I would prefer not to give Bubba pills but I do not want her to be uncomfortable either. Keep up the good service.
Date published: 2012-12-16
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Peter, my boy I have had great results with this medicine. glad my Vet recommended it.
Date published: 2012-10-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Temaril Works My 11 year old Pom rescue has a collapsed trachea. According to the vet, it was the worst he's ever seen. He takes the Temaril in conjunction with Theophylline (100 mg#, so that may help the other Pom #previous review) with his coughing!
Date published: 2012-10-16
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Help We have used this product for 10 days now and my dog is still scratching and coughing. How long should it take before he gets some relief? Thanks for any help you can give me.
Date published: 2012-09-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works Great Temaril-P was recommended by our vet for dog's itchy eyes and skin. He was scratching so much that he started to bleed. His eyes were always watery. We tried Benadryl which I am told works well for some dogs but did not help ours much. We think that regulating the dose with pills is better than the cortisone injection he was getting (which worked well) since the injection is once every 8-12 weeks. Our only concern is side effects of long term regular use of Temaril-P which also contains a steroid.
Date published: 2012-09-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great pill My Chihua mix has always had problems, bronchitis an so forth. His trachea was very weak and is now what they call a collapsible trachea. Temaril p is a great pill. Taco and I both feel better.
Date published: 2012-08-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Tabby able to play again My Yorkshire TerrierTabby has a collapsed Trachea and was finding it vey difficult to play with her best friend Cloie, without couching. After just a few days of Temaril-P she is playing and barking with Cloie again.
Date published: 2012-08-06
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Temaril-P Temaril-P has worked in the past for Maximus. The combination of this with Atopica is helping very much. It has healed his coat and his paws are coming along. Although, it does make him hungry. I give him bully sticks to grave the extra appetite. I used the Be Soothed shampoo as well. He may have to be on it for sometime since this is a record worst pollen season!!
Date published: 2012-04-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Poodle My miniature poodle Jasmine has been taking Temaril-P as well as Clavamox and she has been doing VERY MUCH BETTER than before she isnt biting her wounds she gets from the flea bites (shes allergict to the flea saliva) on her back and she looks very much more relaxed and not having to stress about how much it hurts.
Date published: 2012-04-24
Rated 2 out of 5 by from No Relief Not responding at all.Biting himself continuously.
Date published: 2012-04-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Temaril-P Max is doing well on the Temaril-P. He takes 1/2 table per day. Without the Teraril-P he starts coughting and retaining fluid. The only problem is holding his urine and being so hungry all the time.
Date published: 2012-04-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very effective against allergies My dog has terrible allergies to just about everything. She'd constantly lick and chew her elbows and the back of her thighs until she got hot spots. We tried benadryl, then atarax with a special topical spray and it did not help at all! Finally, we put her on Temaril-P 2 months ago and there has been a dramatic change. She still licks once in a while but I just tell her "No licking!" and she stops. Before, we had to put the cone of shame on her to get her to stop licking and chewing herself. She is 43 lbs. so she gets 3 pills every night. She won't eat them unless we put them in a little cream cheese so they must taste bad.
Date published: 2012-04-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from VERY GOOD FOR YORKIES OUR FEM YORKIE WAS ATTACKING HER HIND QUARTERS LIKE SHE HAD FLEES, WE DID NOT FIND ANYTHING BUT SORES FROM KNAWING AND DRAGGING ON THE CARPET. WE GAVE HER HALF A PILL DAILY AND SHE SLEPT PEACEFULLY AND NO LONGER SUFFERS. BE CAREFUL WITH STEROIDS...DO NOT OVERDOSE.
Date published: 2012-04-02
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Temaril-P and diarrhea I have a 3 1/2-year-old Shih-Tzu. She had a very bad ear infection and scratched at her feet to the point of causing an open wound. My vet prescribed Zymox for her ear infection which was excellent and the ear infection is completely healed up. She also prescribed Temaril-P for her itching. She started out with Temaril-P daily and then every-other-day. I noticed that she drank a lot of water during the Temaril use which was okay but she has recently developed a very bad case of diarrhea. She eats well and is her usual playful self. Her Temaril has been reduced to one pill every 48 hours and she has 10 pills left. I am going to call the vet today to see if I can discontinue the Temaril since that is the obvious cause of her diarrhea. Her food has not changed, she eats the same brand and she is not fed from the table other than vegetables. I will write another review in a week to see if discontinuing the Temaril cleared up her diarrhea. Incidentally she still scratches at her paws though not as much and I am just using a hot spot spray from the pet store for that which is helping.
Date published: 2011-11-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Sheltie helped My Sheltie has allergies to food mites and dust mites. We had a full panel blood work up last spring to see what could be done. He has been on Temaril p for several years. He could get off of it in December and have to start back on it in March. We started allergy shots but he got itchy again from the shots. He gets 3/4 of a pill 1 time/day. Any less and he starts to lick the fur off his feet and his elbows which leads to bleeding. He is always hungry, but some of that is just his nature, I think. I have taped his feet and he seems to tolerate that most of the time. Must feel better covered. The other side effect for him is that his fur doesn't grow very well while on T-P. The vet says it's not possible, but it takes a long time to grow. I have tried a lot of things for this dog, but T-P works the best.
Date published: 2011-11-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works for cats too I have used this medication for a couple of my cats that arrived at my home with chronic upper respiratory issues. It calms their cough and/or congestion and helps them feel so much better, it increases their appetite. I start with 1 tablet for my cats close to 10 pounds and then after 4 days I cut the tab in half ode a couple of more days. My chihuahua takes this for her allergies also. Good drug, just remember it does have steroids in the mix and those should never be used unless really needed and prescribed.
Date published: 2011-10-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Toby & Tenerail-P Just a day after receiving a refill from PetMeds, Toby's vet took him off the Tenerail-P. It is a steroid and Toby was not losing weight, so............... Thank-you for your understanding and accepting the return. Now .......... everheard of Valley Fever. It is a spore that can afect humans and animals. Usually more evident in areas of dust-storms (which we have) due to the disturbing of the spores and making them air borne. Toby is being rested for the possibility of having contracted valley fever.
Date published: 2011-07-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Temaril-P I've tried everything to keep my girl from scratching and biting during allergy season. Nothing helped. My vet then recommended trying Termaril-P. Lo and behold, it works great. Once in a while she does scratch, but infrequently. I love the way this medication works. Thank you Dr. Dunn. Thank you 1-800-PetMeds.
Date published: 2011-07-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works Wonderful For Dallas's Cough My Yorkshire Terrier Dallas has a collapsed Trachea. We took him to the vet because he was constantly wheezing and coughing. The vet said it was collapsed trachea and he gave us this medicine for Dallas. I am very happy with the results as Dallas has been taking it for 4 days now and he has only coughed a few times since he started it. I would recommend this product to a friend! The only side effects i have noticed is that he drinks more and therefore has to go to the bathroom more often. This is a wonderful product to help with coughs!
Date published: 2011-05-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works like a charm Campy is allergic to almost everything and when dust and pollen are at their worst, he develops a very bad cough, especially at night (can't do ceiling fan in bedroom for sure). Temaril-P is the only thiing that get his bad cough under control. I've tried other medicines, both OTC and RX and this is the stuff that truly does the job.
Date published: 2011-03-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from TInker Bell Tinker is a chuwawah/pug mix that is about 10 years old. we rescued her about 3 years ago and found out she has ALOT of health issues., She also lost her sight. Besides being on Temeril P she has about 4 other pills and an insulin shot she needs 2x daily. BUT.. with these meds, she is a happy puppy, you would never know she was blind and had health issues. she runs around with our other dogs, just like she is one of them and she keeps up. Im grateful that Pet meds allows me to keep her happy and healthy. THANK YOU!!!
Date published: 2011-03-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very effective My dog is a Jack Russel and she has allegery problems with scratching and skin irritations, common to this dog breed. Temaril-P is very effective I have found to help contol these problems. Only 1/2 a tab daily or every other day makes a big difference.
Date published: 2011-02-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Temparil-P Jazz has been on Temaril-P for a number of years for a chronic cough, and we are very pleased with the results.
Date published: 2011-01-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Highly recommend this product Our dog has a food allergy that we haven't been able to pinpoint yet. Whenever he has an itching outbreak, we start him on the Temaril-P treatment and it provides relief even after the first dosage. PetMeds provides these meds at a much lower cost than what our vet charges. This drug increases our dog's appetite but at least we have no problem getting him to take his pills!
Date published: 2011-01-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Itchy helper Before using Temeril-P our Zelda girl would have rashing, dry, and itchy skin. Since she has been on it, her symptoms have decreased dramatically. She has put on a little extra weight, but she was miserable before we started on this. Spendy, but worth it to give her the relief. We tried so many other alternatives, before going this route, and nothing worked. A+++++
Date published: 2010-12-31
Rated 4 out of 5 by from A Great Product!!!! Termaril-P has been amazing for my dog Rocky. He's a 5 year old Maltese with airborne allergies and this is the only medicine that has helped. He used to chew his back legs and shoulders until they were bleeding and now he takes half a pill a day and he's doing great! The only downside is he's hungry all the time but I'll take that over the allergies any day!!!
Date published: 2010-12-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from temaril P works We rescued a 10 year old chuwawa/pug mix and found out she is very ill. Since we tuned in the right medication, she has been a happy puppy. She receives about 4 different pills twice a day and all are ordered thru Pet meds. The pills are cheaper than getting them from the vet and she is very worth it. All rescue dogs seem to be more loveable...
Date published: 2010-11-05
  • y_2021, m_1, d_26, h_17
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.13
  • cp_3, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_102
  • loc_en_US, sid_prod10406, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_1800petmeds
  • bvseo_sdk, dw_cartridge, 18.2.0, p_sdk_3.2.0
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 7ms
  • reviews, product

Questions

I have compounded Temeril-P compounded in liquid form. One bottle said REFRIGERATE one says DO NOT REFRIGERATE. Which is correct?

Asked by: GrannyBee
We do not compound Temaril-P into liquid form. However, my understanding for compounded liquids is they DO require refrigeration. You may want to check with the pharmacy that prepared the liquid for you.
Answered by: Gary, Dir. of Pharmacy Services
Date published: 2013-10-22

Is it safe to take ketoconazole with Temaril-p?

Asked by: lolasmama
There are no drug interactions between Temaril-P and ketoconazole that I am aware of.
Answered by: Gary, Dir. of Pharmacy Services
Date published: 2013-10-22

What is the MG on Termaril P?

Asked by: yankees
Each tablet of Temaril-P contains 2 medications; trimeprazine tartrate 5mg and prednisolone 2mg.
Answered by: Gary, Dir. of Pharmacy Services
Date published: 2013-10-22

can you take prozac with Temaril-p

Asked by: karlee
You and your veterinarian will need to determine if the benefit outweighs the risk. There is the possibility of increased side effects as a result of using these 2 medications together.
Answered by: Gary, Dir. of Pharmacy Services
Date published: 2013-10-22

will this pill help coughing from enlarge heart

Asked by: an
Coughing from an enlarged heart is most likely due to congestive heart failure (CHF). Because the heart is not pumping efficiently, fluid builds up in the lungs causing the cough. Only your veterinarian can make this diagnosis. Treatment for CHF usually involves a medication to make the heart beat stronger (digoxin, or Vetmedin), a diuretic (furosemide), and an ACE inhibitor (enalapril). Once again, it is the veterinarian who makes the determination as to how to treat the pet based on his/her diagnosis. Please have your pet examined by your veterinarian.
Answered by: Gary, Dir. of Pharmacy Services
Date published: 2013-10-22

Are these side effects normal?

While taking the pill my Yorkshire Terrier Dallas has been drinking more water and going to the bathroom more. I read that while taking Temaril-P these can be signs of Cushing's disease. Is it likely that this is whats wrong? My vet did tell me he would drink and go to the bathroom more often when taking the medicine.
Asked by: ilovedogs229
Just like your veterinarian mentioned, increased thirst and increased urination are common side effects of this medication. These side effects are more often related to the medication as opposed to being due to disease such as Cushing's or diabetes. Your pet will need periodic lab tests while on this medication. These tests will let the veterinarian know if it's more than just a drug side effect.
Answered by: Gary, Dir. of Pharmacy Services
Date published: 2013-10-22

i have a script for temaril and our pills are little blue pills is there a difference

temaril p / #60 tablet RX #108625
Asked by: schoey
I am not sure what your "little blue pills" are. Temaril-P, however, is a grey tablet with the marking T/100 embossed on the tablet.
Answered by: Gary, Dir. of Pharmacy Services
Date published: 2013-10-22

Experation

I have temeral-p from 7-20-09 is it still effective?
Asked by: vera
I would suggest that you not give that medication anymore and order a new prescription. Medications typically carry expiration dates 1 year from the time they are dispensed from the pharmacy.
Answered by: Gary, Dir. of Pharmacy Services
Date published: 2013-10-22

Can a human take Temeril P

I have been taking Tussinex for an allergic cough. Can I take Temeril P
Asked by: Janice
No. A human cannot take Temaril-P. This medication is for veterinary use in dogs only and can be harmful if taken by a human.
Answered by: Gary, Dir. of Pharmacy Services
Date published: 2013-10-22

Is long-term use of Temaril-P at a low dose safe?

I have an 11-year old 68-lb. Aussie mix who suffers from allergies. His constant licking and scratching to the point of bleeding broke our hearts. We changed his diet to the BARF raw food diet and saw relief for a lot (but not all) of his symptons. We have done the homeopathic route, Benedryl, etc., but nothing seemed to stop the itching. Our vet finally found Temaril-P to be the best remedy for his itching and he is on a constant 1 pill per day dose (1/2 in AM and 1/2 in PM). During his worst periods, he gets 1-1/2 pills per day. Over the last 5 years, he has had 2 pancreatitis attacks, which we've been told could be from prolonged use of Temaril-P. My questions are: 1) Is long-term use of Temaril-P at a low dose truly safe? 2) Is pancreatitis a potential side affect of long term use and if so, what is the safest dose to prevent this? 3) How many years could the use of Temaril-P take off of my dog's life? With all of these questions and thoughts, I still live by my thoughts that his comfort & quality of life (no itching) is more important than a really long life but I don't want to subject him to 3-4 days in an animal hospital every 2 years because of pancreatitis attacks due to long term use of steroids. Help!
Asked by: SpinGal
I was told by my vet that pancreatitis is caused from too much fat in the diet. My dod also has this but I attributed it to giveing her skin and coat oils in her food. Since I have stopped and been very careful with her diet, she has been ok. Rice and learn boiled chicken is a good food.
Answered by: mommy
Date published: 2013-10-22

Can temaril p be given with clavamox

Our vet put our mini-wennie on clavamox for his itching but it didn't help much, so she put him on temari p but didn't say to stop or to continue the clavamox. Didn't think to ask if we were suppose to continue, so we stopped it on our own. Now I'm wondering if it was suppose to be continued until it ran out.
Asked by: Boo-Boo
We put our dog on it for her itching and chewing herself till she bled. She has stopped the chewing and scratching so much, with the added help of soapless shampoo. It has been a big help. I would stay with just the temaril p, and try some soapless shampoo to rid him of oils and dander. We have to bathe Precious about 2 times a month. She starts itching a lot right before her bath...but stops shortly after. I hope this has helped in some way. We did change to soapless shampoo befor the temaril p...it wasn't enough alone, the vet prescribed the temaril p after a couple of months on the shampoo.
Answered by: Precious' owners
Date published: 2018-09-03

Does Temaril expire?

Asked by: CAM
Yes it does. Temaril-P in the manufacturer's original bottle has an expiration date of at least 24 months.
Answered by: Gary, Dir. of Pharmacy Services
Date published: 2013-10-22

Can a human take temaril -p ?

Asked by: Pat
No. This product is FDA approved for use in dogs only.
Answered by: Gary, Dir. of Pharmacy Services
Date published: 2013-10-22

Does temparil p dry up all the dogs inflamation as the antibotic works for his bronchitis?

My dog is on amoxicillin and temparil p. The amoxicillin is breaking up the congestion however the dog is having trouble coughing up the phlyme.
Asked by: esther
Temaril-P is a combination of 2 ingredients. One ingredient helps reduce inflammation and allergic symptoms while the other ingredient is an antihistamine used for allergy as well, and cough.
Answered by: Gary, Dir. of Pharmacy Services
Date published: 2013-10-22

? kennel cough

hi there i have indy with semi-bad hips it's way to hard for her to get into the car so to make a long story short i have reeived a notice that she needs kennel cough shot -it 's way to stressful to take her to the vet i would pefer to treat her at home she rarely comes in contact with other dogs so my ? is what would be the best treatment thanks for your time :) tami cozza
Asked by: indypups
If your pet is not boarded or kept in a kennel with other dogs, giving the kennel cough vaccine (a non-core vaccine) may not be necessary.
Answered by: Gary, Dir. of Pharmacy Services
Date published: 2013-10-22

is temaril-p tablets the same as torbutrol

Asked by: katrina
No. It is not.
Answered by: Gary, Dir. of Pharmacy Services
Date published: 2013-10-22

Can Temaril be used for ear infection?

Asked by: kc
I am not aware of this medication being used for ear infection. It may, however, reduce inflammation and itching caused by an ear infection that is being treated with an antibiotic.
Answered by: Gary, Dir. of Pharmacy Services
Date published: 2017-01-27

Prolonged Use

What is considered as "prolonged use" of this med?
Asked by: z
more than 15 a month
Answered by: SNDBGR
Date published: 2013-10-22

Temaril-P (1/4 tab./ dose) safe to 10 lb cat?

10 Yr. old cat has unexplained itching along neck line. No fleas or other visable irritants. Vet has prescribed this med & dose, but seems ineffective.
Asked by: Tim
Then you need to tell the veterinarian.
Answered by: Gary, Dir. of Pharmacy Services
Date published: 2013-10-22

It appears that this med is keeping our dog from shedding at all -- is this a common side effect?

We're concerned going into the summer heat about our dog's complete lack of shedding - not even a hair! Shaving may be an option, but certainly not our preference.
Asked by: Rudysdad
I would suggest you discuss this with your veterinarian.
Answered by: Gary, Dir. of Pharmacy Services
Date published: 2013-10-22

We have given our 11 month old miniature schnauzer two doses of temaril-p. Can it cause her to lose her balance?

She is very wobbly and occassionally falls over. She is normally extremely active. This seems to have sedated her. She is taking this in conjunction with cephalexin. Both were prescribed for bronchial inflammation.
Asked by: TLT
It's possible this medication is making her excessively drowsy, which can cause her to stumble. Contact your veterinarian to discuss this side effect.
Answered by: Gary, Dir. of Pharmacy Services
Date published: 2013-10-22

Temaril-P

I have heard that this medication should not be given to a dog with a heart codition, that it can put the dog into congestive heart failure. Any one with information on this drug.
Asked by: Rose
Certain heart medications such as digoxin may interact with Temaril-P. In the presence of congestive heart failure, Temaril-P is contraindicated.
Answered by: Gary, Dir. of Pharmacy Services
Date published: 2013-10-22

is a side effect diahrea?

used product for 4 days, 6 tablets for 43 lb dog, dog started diahrea on 4th day which continues on the 5 day, stopped all medication on 5th day, dog continues to strain to relieve self anally but not much happening except wattery fluid i imagine from the water she has been drinking, but the urge is still there to relieve herself, has been out at least a dozen times today, day 5.
Asked by: michael5
Diarrhea is a possible side effect. I suggest you contact your veterinarian to discuss this.
Answered by: Gary, Dir. of Pharmacy Services
Date published: 2013-10-22

Vet doesn't like long term use - now what?

This is the only thing that help my terrier stop itching, but my vet will only prescribe it for a two-week period. As soon as she comes off, she starts itching again. Then, I have to take her back to the vet and get "lectured" - why I don't know. I've done everything he asked (prescription shampoo, prescription food, other meds) I feel like he just wants my money. Is there any way around this? It's obvious she needs the meds. I've spent HUNDREDS of dollars.
Asked by: Paigenmarc
Our 7 yr old german shepherd (105 lbs)has been maintained on temaril - P for 6 years - 2pills every other day one in AM with food and one at 5 pm with food. This was after trying everything you mentioned including special foods and diet. It hasn't stopped the itching completely but it certainly has helped. After inumerable vet visits over the years no specific cause of the itching coud be determined. Our vet monitors him for any longterm side effects. Don't give up! Maybe a consultation with another vet may help. Some dogs just respond to their environment this way.
Answered by: MC
Date published: 2013-10-22

How long can I give this medication?

I have a beagle, he was coughing, we took him to the vet and he gave us Temaril-P. It works! he stopped coughing but as soon we stop giving him the medicine he starts coughing again! I was wondering if this medication has to be forever????
Asked by: Beaglemom
I f you don't want the animal to cough, keep the meds going. If you want it cough, stop the meds.
Answered by: z
Date published: 2015-08-15

side effects temaril-p

my toy pom has been having problems not sure if it is med. or if it is a seizure. he has to use ths med for breathng 1/2 tab every other day. he will be sleeping and all of a sudden he lets out the most awful noise and gets stiff like. the noise soounds like either a bad dream or someone is hurting him
Asked by: chipper
Type "Temaril-P Tablets " in the search block. When it comes up click on the "Temaril-P " written below the bottle of medication. If you scroll down on that page you can read the information provided in the data sheet.
Answered by: z
Date published: 2013-10-22

Why did the price of Temiril-P go up?

Asked by: MrButton
antihistamines can be abused or processed illegally for other purposes similar to Pseudifederine
Answered by: buttonchops
Date published: 2013-10-22

How long does Temaril last, is there really an expiration date?

Asked by: punkin
Yes, there really is an expiration date. Our current product carries an expiration date of February 2011.
Answered by: Gary, Dir, of Pharmacy Services
Date published: 2013-10-22

My 7 yr. old Scottie is on Temarol for itching.

Is there something herbal or hemeopathic she can take? She's getting so heavy, she can't jump up on the couch anymore.
Asked by: G. Stanfield
Her weight gain is most likely due the prednisone. Best procedure to follow is to give her a healthy dog food at the correct portion and exercise.
Answered by: Gary, Dir, of Pharmacy Services
Date published: 2013-10-22

Dosage

My vet put 2 tablets once a day for my 30 pound Bichon-Poodle, for two days, then one every other day. This looks like a contradiction from what you give as a dose. Which is correct? Oh, yes, she still scratches when I reduce her to one every other day.
Asked by: Linda
What we show are usual doses. They are guidelines, not "the" dose. Your veterinarian determines "the" dose based on the severity of the pets condition and also how well the pet is responding to the medication. You should discuss with your veterinarian the fact that the pet is still itching.
Answered by: Gary, Dir, of Pharmacy Services
Date published: 2013-10-22
  • y_2021, m_1, d_26, h_17CST
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvqa, vn_bulk_3.0.13
  • cp_3, bvpage2n
  • co_hasquestionsanswers, tq_95
  • loc_en_US, sid_prod10406, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=LAST_APPROVED_ANSWER_SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_1800petmeds
  • bvseo_sdk, dw_cartridge, 18.2.0, p_sdk_3.2.0
  • CLOUD, getContent, 65ms
  • questions, product

What is Temaril-P?

Temaril-P is used to treat itching and coughing (including kennel cough) in dogs. Temaril-P is a combination antihistamine (trimeprazine) and corticosteroid (prednisolone). Temaril-P is used for the relief of itching regardless of cause. It is also used in the treatment of various cough conditions such as kennel cough, bronchitis and coughs of nonspecific origin. Temaril-P may also be used for purposes other than those listed here. Temaril-P is sold per tablet and requires a prescription from your veterinarian.

For:

Dogs

Benefits:

  • Easy to administer
  • Comes in scored tablet to break in half for smaller dogs
  • Sold per tablet

How does Temaril-P work?

Temaril-P contains trimeprazine and prednisolone. Trimeprazine is an antihistamine, which helps relieve itching and coughing. Prednisolone is a corticosteroid that reduces inflammation.

Cautions:

Temaril-P should be given with food to prevent stomach upset. May cause drowsiness. Do not give to pregnant dogs. Keep this medication away from children and pets.

Brand Name:

Temaril-P (Pfizer Animal Health)

Generic Name:

Trimeprazine with prednisolone (tri-mep'-rah-zeen)

What is the most important thing I should know about Temaril-P?

Temaril-P is a prescription medication that is FDA approved for use in dogs. Temaril-P is available as a scored tablet containing trimeprazine tartrate equivalent to 5 mg trimeprazine and prednisolone 2 mg. Prolonged use of Temaril-P should not be stopped suddenly. There should be a gradual reduction in dosage before stopping. Temaril-P should be taken with food to lessen stomach upset.

What should I discuss with my veterinarian before giving Temaril-P to my pet?

Do not give Temaril-P to your pet if the pet has a serious viral or fungal infection. Temaril-P can be given in the presence of acute or chronic bacterial infections provided the infection is controlled by antibiotic. Temaril-P may weaken the pet's immune response and its ability to fight infections. Tell your veterinarian if your pet has diabetes mellitus or any other medical conditions. Tell your veterinarian if your pet is being given en phenytoin, Phenobarbital, diuretics, or insulin. Also tell your veterinarian if the pet is pregnant or lactating.

How should Temaril-P be given?

Give this medication exactly as directed by your veterinarian. Do not give more or less than is prescribed by the veterinarian. If you do not understand the directions ask the pharmacist or veterinarian to explain them to you. The usual dose of Temaril-P is based on weight. For dogs up to 10 lbs give 1/2 tablet, for 11-20 lbs give 1 tablet, 21-40 lbs give 2 tablets, and for dogs 41 lbs and up give 3 tablets. These tablets are given twice a day. After 4 days, the dose is typically reduced to 1/2 the initial dose. Keep plenty of water available for the pet. Temaril-P should be given with food.

What are the potential side effects of Temaril-P?

If any of the following serious side effects occur, stop giving Temaril-P and seek emergency veterinary medical attention; an allergic reaction (difficulty breathing; swelling of the lips, tongue or face; hives). Trimeprazine can cause drowsiness, tremors and muscle weakness. Prednisolone may cause symptoms of Cushing's disease which include increased thirst, urination and hunger as well as vomiting and diarrhea. Other side effects may also occur. Talk to your veterinarian about any side effect that seems unusual or bothersome to your pet.

What happens if I miss giving a dose of Temaril-P?

Give the missed dose as soon as you remember. However, if is almost time for the next regularly scheduled dose, skip the missed dose and take the next one as directed. Do not give a double dose of the medication.

What happens if I overdose my pet on Temaril-P?

Seek emergency veterinary medical treatment. Symptoms of overdose may include excess drowsiness, low blood pressure, and seizures.

What should I avoid while giving Temaril-P to my pet?

Do not give Temaril-P to dogs allergic to it or to either of its ingredients. Temaril-P should not be given to dogs that are pregnant or that are diabetic. Temaril-P may cause drowsiness. Do not use any vaccines without checking with the veterinarian.

What other drugs will affect Temaril-P:

Do not give any other over the counter or prescription medications, including herbal products, during treatment with Temaril-P without first talking to the veterinarian. Many other medications can interact with Temaril-P resulting in side effects or altered effectiveness. These include sedatives, anesthetics, pain medications, epinephrine and procaine.

Temaril-P Directions:

  • Temaril-P is a combination of an antihistamine (trimeprazine) and a corticosteroid (prednisolone) available by prescription for use in dogs.
  • Temaril-P is used for the relief of itching regardless of cause. It is also used in the treatment of various cough conditions such as kennel cough, bronchitis, and coughs of nonspecific origin.
  • Allow plenty of water for your pet to drink.
Tip:

Prolonged use of Temaril-P should not be stopped suddenly. There should be a gradual reduction in dosage before stopping.

Temaril-P Dosage for Dogs:

Dogs:
WeightDosage
Up to 10 lbsInitially, give ½ tablet twice daily with food to lessen stomach upset. After 4 days, the dose is typically reduced to ½ of the initial dose.
11-20 lbsInitially, give 1 tablet twice a day with food to lessen stomach upset. After 4 days, the dose is typically reduced to ½ of the initial dose.
21-40 lbsInitially, give 2 tablets twice a day with food to lessen stomach upset. After 4 days, the dose is typically reduced to ½ of the initial dose
Over 40 lbsInitially, give 3 tablets twice a day with food to lessen stomach upset. After 4 days, the dose is typically reduced to ½ of the initial dose.
Temaril-P Dosage for Cats/Kittens:
Cats/Kittens
Do not use!
Temaril-P Dosage for Horses:
Horses
Do not use!
Storage:

Store Temaril-P at room temperature away from moisture and heat. Keep this medication away from children and pets.

Temaril-P Ingredients:

Temaril-P
Active Ingredient (per tablet)Amount
Trimeprazine Tartrate5 mg
Prednisolone2 mg

What is Temaril-P?

Temaril-P is used to treat itching and coughing (including kennel cough) in dogs. Temaril-P is a combination antihistamine (trimeprazine) and corticosteroid (prednisolone). Temaril-P is used for the relief of itching regardless of cause. It is also used in the treatment of various cough conditions such as kennel cough, bronchitis and coughs of nonspecific origin. Temaril-P may also be used for purposes other than those listed here. Temaril-P is sold per tablet and requires a prescription from your veterinarian.

For:

Dogs

Benefits:

  • Easy to administer
  • Comes in scored tablet to break in half for smaller dogs
  • Sold per tablet

How does Temaril-P work?

Temaril-P contains trimeprazine and prednisolone. Trimeprazine is an antihistamine, which helps relieve itching and coughing. Prednisolone is a corticosteroid that reduces inflammation.

Cautions:

Temaril-P should be given with food to prevent stomach upset. May cause drowsiness. Do not give to pregnant dogs. Keep this medication away from children and pets.

Brand Name:

Temaril-P (Pfizer Animal Health)

Generic Name:

Trimeprazine with prednisolone (tri-mep'-rah-zeen)

What is the most important thing I should know about Temaril-P?

Temaril-P is a prescription medication that is FDA approved for use in dogs. Temaril-P is available as a scored tablet containing trimeprazine tartrate equivalent to 5 mg trimeprazine and prednisolone 2 mg. Prolonged use of Temaril-P should not be stopped suddenly. There should be a gradual reduction in dosage before stopping. Temaril-P should be taken with food to lessen stomach upset.

What should I discuss with my veterinarian before giving Temaril-P to my pet?

Do not give Temaril-P to your pet if the pet has a serious viral or fungal infection. Temaril-P can be given in the presence of acute or chronic bacterial infections provided the infection is controlled by antibiotic. Temaril-P may weaken the pet's immune response and its ability to fight infections. Tell your veterinarian if your pet has diabetes mellitus or any other medical conditions. Tell your veterinarian if your pet is being given en phenytoin, Phenobarbital, diuretics, or insulin. Also tell your veterinarian if the pet is pregnant or lactating.

How should Temaril-P be given?

Give this medication exactly as directed by your veterinarian. Do not give more or less than is prescribed by the veterinarian. If you do not understand the directions ask the pharmacist or veterinarian to explain them to you. The usual dose of Temaril-P is based on weight. For dogs up to 10 lbs give 1/2 tablet, for 11-20 lbs give 1 tablet, 21-40 lbs give 2 tablets, and for dogs 41 lbs and up give 3 tablets. These tablets are given twice a day. After 4 days, the dose is typically reduced to 1/2 the initial dose. Keep plenty of water available for the pet. Temaril-P should be given with food.

What are the potential side effects of Temaril-P?

If any of the following serious side effects occur, stop giving Temaril-P and seek emergency veterinary medical attention; an allergic reaction (difficulty breathing; swelling of the lips, tongue or face; hives). Trimeprazine can cause drowsiness, tremors and muscle weakness. Prednisolone may cause symptoms of Cushing's disease which include increased thirst, urination and hunger as well as vomiting and diarrhea. Other side effects may also occur. Talk to your veterinarian about any side effect that seems unusual or bothersome to your pet.

What happens if I miss giving a dose of Temaril-P?

Give the missed dose as soon as you remember. However, if is almost time for the next regularly scheduled dose, skip the missed dose and take the next one as directed. Do not give a double dose of the medication.

What happens if I overdose my pet on Temaril-P?

Seek emergency veterinary medical treatment. Symptoms of overdose may include excess drowsiness, low blood pressure, and seizures.

What should I avoid while giving Temaril-P to my pet?

Do not give Temaril-P to dogs allergic to it or to either of its ingredients. Temaril-P should not be given to dogs that are pregnant or that are diabetic. Temaril-P may cause drowsiness. Do not use any vaccines without checking with the veterinarian.

What other drugs will affect Temaril-P:

Do not give any other over the counter or prescription medications, including herbal products, during treatment with Temaril-P without first talking to the veterinarian. Many other medications can interact with Temaril-P resulting in side effects or altered effectiveness. These include sedatives, anesthetics, pain medications, epinephrine and procaine.

Temaril-P Directions:

  • Temaril-P is a combination of an antihistamine (trimeprazine) and a corticosteroid (prednisolone) available by prescription for use in dogs.
  • Temaril-P is used for the relief of itching regardless of cause. It is also used in the treatment of various cough conditions such as kennel cough, bronchitis, and coughs of nonspecific origin.
  • Allow plenty of water for your pet to drink.
Tip:

Prolonged use of Temaril-P should not be stopped suddenly. There should be a gradual reduction in dosage before stopping.

Temaril-P Dosage for Dogs:

Dogs:
WeightDosage
Up to 10 lbsInitially, give ½ tablet twice daily with food to lessen stomach upset. After 4 days, the dose is typically reduced to ½ of the initial dose.
11-20 lbsInitially, give 1 tablet twice a day with food to lessen stomach upset. After 4 days, the dose is typically reduced to ½ of the initial dose.
21-40 lbsInitially, give 2 tablets twice a day with food to lessen stomach upset. After 4 days, the dose is typically reduced to ½ of the initial dose
Over 40 lbsInitially, give 3 tablets twice a day with food to lessen stomach upset. After 4 days, the dose is typically reduced to ½ of the initial dose.
Temaril-P Dosage for Cats/Kittens:
Cats/Kittens
Do not use!
Temaril-P Dosage for Horses:
Horses
Do not use!
Storage:

Store Temaril-P at room temperature away from moisture and heat. Keep this medication away from children and pets.

Temaril-P Ingredients:

Temaril-P
Active Ingredient (per tablet)Amount
Trimeprazine Tartrate5 mg
Prednisolone2 mg