4.9 out of 5 Customer Rating
Temaril-P is rated 4.6 out of 5 by 102.
  • y_2020, m_11, d_21, h_16
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.12
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_102
  • loc_en_US, sid_prod10406, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_1800petmeds
  • bvseo_sdk, dw_cartridge, 18.2.0, p_sdk_3.2.0
  • CLOUD, getAggregateRating, 8ms
  • reviews, product
1. We'll ask for your vet's info during checkout.
2. We verify your prescription and ship your order!
Close
Starts $1.26 $0.88
Most orders ship the same day
prod10406 product detail number 1.0
SOLD PER TABLET

Temaril-P

4.9 out of 5 Customer Rating
Temaril-P is rated 4.6 out of 5 by 102.
  • y_2020, m_11, d_21, h_16
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.12
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_102
  • loc_en_US, sid_prod10406, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_1800petmeds
  • bvseo_sdk, dw_cartridge, 18.2.0, p_sdk_3.2.0
  • CLOUD, getAggregateRating, 8ms
  • reviews, product
Starts $1.26 $0.88
Most orders ship the same day
Please select all product options.

Reviews

Rated 5 out of 5 by from Only thing that gives my dog relief! My Westie suffers from skin allergies. We are very strict with a fish protein/ gluten free diet however he still was itching. 1/2 pill in AM feeding and 1/2pill in PM feeding really helps. Without it he scratches non stop.
Date published: 2018-07-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Med I have a 13 year old pug, that started coughing and it just got worse.He was at the point if he was not sleeping he was coughing.He layed on the floor with no energy and sometimes would not eat. After trying different meds my vetsaid try temaril-p from pet-meds. Well after 2 weeks no more coughing, he has great energy and eats well.So if your dog has a cough try this med,good luck
Date published: 2018-06-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Pooches with allergies First, the drug is a miracle for our "mutt with a million maladies". He's an old man with a list of issues but we're managing them. The thing is, he gets very itchy, especially in the summer and temaril P does the trick. It's a god-send, particularly at 3am when his ears start to bother him and nothing calms him down. Trust me, if itchy skin/ears/paws are your problem - this is the cure.
Date published: 2018-06-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Dog Allergys This product works great! Every year in the spring my border collie has allergies. Within 2 days she stopped scratching herself to death and was able to relax and sleep without going into a frenzy scratching.
Date published: 2018-04-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Helps with bronchitis Was referred to by my vet when they ran out of. Fast shipping, easy to understand web page. Great prices
Date published: 2018-02-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I was referred to pet meds by a friend. I signed up and my dog needs allergy meds that have to have prescription and my vet would not respond to pet meds so they sent me and email to let me know so I could call my vet. Then rushed me the meds cause I was out due to vet not approving quickly. Thanks pet meda
Date published: 2017-08-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Help with Sinus/Allergies We have used Temeril P due to Sinus/Allergy for a number of years. It is the only MED that has helped our dog.
Date published: 2017-07-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great pill Gracie can not live with out these mess,she is a different dog when she gets her pill,no more scratching.
Date published: 2017-04-17
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Much improvement My rescue dog has terrible allergies with itchy skin, yeast, infections etc. temaril P one twice a day has virtually eliminated the itch! Still in a work in progress but so much better!
Date published: 2016-12-24
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Has worked wonders but be aware of this! This was the only medication that has worked for my dog's cough. Which had completely stumped the veterinarian. But BEWARE! For every time that I have given her this medication she has wet the bed! Thought there was something else going on until I looked up the side effects. Now I know that EVERYTIME I give her a half dose, she needs to stay off the furniture. This is not an old dog either. It is the medication and it is listed as a known side effect.
Date published: 2016-08-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Temaril My golden retriever has become allergic to something that the testing can't catch, This med has been pretty helpful to control it without been down or sleepy. This low dose steroid does the trick. Keep an eye on ur puppy weight
Date published: 2015-12-12
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Helping with cough My Pomeranian, Kiki, has a collapsed trachea and has been coughing when getting up from a reclining position. She also will have shortness of breath at times. Temaril-P has calmed most of the coughing and given myself confidence that the medication is finally helping to some degree.
Date published: 2015-08-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent med for a scratchy dog. Zorro is a 12 year old fox terrier and has always had scratching issues. After just one pill, his scratching had decreased to almost none at all. We are all relieved!
Date published: 2015-08-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This has truly been a blessing for our dogs skin allergies/irratations.
Date published: 2015-05-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Meds I went to a new vet for my dogs itching. He put him on Tamaril P and it has worked great. The only draw back is it makes him drink more water and he urinates a lot more. If your dog has skin issues ask your vet about this.
Date published: 2015-05-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I am thrilled with the results of Temaril-P. My Shi-Tzu, Grady, has scratched himself since the first day I got him. He was 18 months old. My vet gave straight steroid shots but they wore off after awhile and he didn't want to continue with the steroids. At first I put the Temeril-P pill in Grady's food. He ate everything but spit the pill out (as dogs will). I had some pill pockets and put the pill in that. Works like a charm. Most importantly, Grady no long scratches constantly. He will scratch occasionally but it's probably due to some minor irritation and not allergies. Grady and I thank you for this miraculous product. He has suffered no side effects whatsoever.
Date published: 2015-03-24
Rated 4 out of 5 by from A Must Have My JRT has been on this med for years and it's a life saver for her when it comes to her allergies. Her other allergy med wasn't quite enough so her doc added Temaril-P, and we are so grateful, especially for those flair up moments/days.
Date published: 2015-01-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This does the trick for sure Barkley, my Dorgi (Doxi-Corgi) mix has all of the sudden become allergic to a lot of things. He was constantly scratching, licking, rolling on the carpet or outside in the dirt, trying to make the itch go away! I felt so sorry for him. Even giving him Benadryl wasn't working. The vet started him on this and I could see a major difference the very next day. I used it 3 times a day for a week, then every other day for a week, then as needed. He ran out and after a week, I had to start giving him Benadryl again. The vet refilled and now on 1 1/2 tabs for a week, then half tabs every other day. I too have noticed that he drinks a lot more, and thusly has to go out to potty more. This stuff is great for piece of mind...mine and his! I felt so bad for Barkley that he was going insane with the "itchies"!! I can always find a coupon to use on the site to use in conjunction with the already lowest prices on pet meds! P.S. I have to toot this horn while I can. When my female Rottie was on a chondroitan, it was on auto refill. She passed away and I had to make the call to stop the auto refill. I received a credit for the last bottle I received and had already given her several of the pills. I also received a package in the mail with a condolence card and some treats for my other fur babies. You CAN NOT beat the customer service! I love this place!! :) :) :)
Date published: 2014-07-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Life saver !!! Temaril-p has been a life savor.It helps to keep our little one's cough under control. This is a really hard subject for me, but I do believe temaril-p has saved my little ones life and if nothing else made him comfortable. Side affects we haven't had any, he eats a lot but he's part beagle !!!! at least he has an appetite!!! thanks 1800-petmeds for stocking our meds and making it affordable.
Date published: 2014-07-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My little Bea is a 9-year old Maltese rescued from a puppy mill - she was a breeder. Needless to say, I love her dearly. She has developed an allergy to flea medication, and I can't control the squirrels that come into my yard leaving their unwanted pests behind on the grass and trees. I' have used Tamaril-P on another one of my dogs and it did wonders. It is also working on Bea....she no longer has the fire engine red skin and has stopped dragging her little bottom because of itch. I purchased from PetMeds because of price, which was about 10 cents lower per pill than my vet.
Date published: 2014-07-15
Rated 3 out of 5 by from difficult to half cleanly This product works as intended but when trying to half a tablet, it doesn't make a clean break as previous tabs I've gotten from the vet and often ends up powdered or in bits.
Date published: 2014-06-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This product really is effective Tony has asthma/ bronchitis.his coughing gets to be hard on him and annoying on us at home. The medication works very well and he is relieved of the cough. I give him half a pill every other day with no side effects.
Date published: 2014-06-02
Rated 4 out of 5 by from CeeCee is now comfortable. My poor little dog suffers from environmental allergies. She would scratch, chew, and dig at herself almost constantly until we got her on a regimen of 1/2 Temaril every other day...that's all it took! She is comfortable and sleeps all night long. So do we! She is otherwise quite healthy considering she just turned 16 years old!
Date published: 2014-04-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from works great My dog Lia also has a collapsed Trachea and this medicine helps tremendously but, my Vets around here will not write prescriptions for us to buy it anywhere else. I found a vet that says they will match the prices so, i'll see about that but, don't we have any rights for a written prescription?
Date published: 2014-02-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works great for itchy allergy skin My westies sometimes have outdoor allergies that make them miserable with skin itching. Temeril P is very effective to stop that when they are on it. On the days I forget to give it, I notice a significant difference. If I give another product antihistamine only, it does not work as well. Be aware they drink more water and urinate more often when on this product.
Date published: 2013-11-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from For itchiness due to ringworm My dog had a bad ringworm infection and she was very itchy all over. After taking other pills, the vet prescribed temaril and she is almost over taking a high dosage of the pill. We have noticed the difference in the scratching and that lets her wounds heal.
Date published: 2013-10-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works great for itchy skin She no longer licks, and itches when on this medicine. Works great. Just makes her drink more and urinate more. The only bad side effect.
Date published: 2013-10-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Itching Issues Good Results Our puppy was having ear itching issues. Our Vet prescrided Temaril-P. We could see an improvement within a day. Right at this moment I hope that this is a one time med that has to be used. Our Vet charged us $3.00 a pill.
Date published: 2013-08-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this product! I have a sheltie who was really bad allergies. In the winter, because of our fireplace, he gets really puffy pink and itchy eyes and his ears also get very itchy. In the summer, he gets rashes on his groan area from being outside in the grass. My vet prescribed these pills when he was just a puppy after we saw the allergies start to affect him. He is two now and we still use these when his allergies are flaring up. If I have a feeling they will flare up, I try to give them the pill early in the morning, that way he is not suffering all day.
Date published: 2013-08-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome Medication My German Shepard takes this medicine for skin allergies, for her scratching and itchiness. It is very effective at making her stop scratching. Only downfall of this medication is that it increases thirst and urine, and hunger. So beware, your dog will have to urinate ALOT on this medication.
Date published: 2013-06-29
  • y_2020, m_11, d_21, h_16
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.12
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_102
  • loc_en_US, sid_prod10406, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_1800petmeds
  • bvseo_sdk, dw_cartridge, 18.2.0, p_sdk_3.2.0
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 8ms
  • reviews, product

Questions

my dog takes torbutrol for collapsed trachea, is this the same thing?

Asked by: sydg
Temaril-P is used to treat itching and coughing (including kennel cough) in dogs. Temaril-P may also be used for purposes other than those listed. It is always best to consult with your veterinarian.
Answered by: Crystal RPTechnician
Date published: 2017-08-28

Does Temeril cause restlessness, excessive thirst, and thus, excessive urination?

Asked by: Andie
Hello Andie, Yes, some potential side effects of Temeril are restlessness, excessive thirst, and excessive urination. Although mild, you should consult your Veterinarian if these side effects persist or get worse. It is important to take this medication with food and have plenty of water available for your pet as well. Hope this helps.
Answered by: Trey W
Date published: 2019-05-31

Can temaril p be taken with apoquel?

Asked by: Lifesaver
Those two should not be taken together. Apoquel should not be taken with corticosteroids which Termaril P contains.
Answered by: Ben B
Date published: 2017-02-21

My 9 yr old chiwawha was given temeril p for partial collapsed trachea. I never see any questions about this. I give thi to her every other day if needed and sometime she does well for 2 or 3 days. I don, t see any info, only for itching problems. Info. P

Asked by: jeanie
Hello Jeanie, Here is a link from our website with information and other questions about this product http://www.1800petmeds.com/Temaril-P-prod10406.html. This medication is a combination of an antihistamine and a corticosteroid. This medication helps with coughs of many causes, can help reduce inflammation, and is used for itching. Hope this helped, Pharmacy Intern
Answered by: Ben B
Date published: 2019-10-21

Is Temaril safe for cats

Asked by: Fel
Temaril-P is indicated for use in dogs. Speak with your veterinarian to see if it can be used in your cat.
Answered by: Christine
Date published: 2016-10-22

Can this be used for raspy breathing

Asked by: Sadiegiri
Temaril-P is used to treat itching and coughing (including kennel cough) in dogs. This product may not help with raspy breathing, unless it is due to a cough.
Answered by: Christine
Date published: 2018-01-17

Can I give it to my pet for a hurt back. Like is it like pretisone 

Asked by: Shannon
Temaril-P contains Prednisolone (for inflammation) and an antihistamine. It is not used for pain, and will not likely help a hurt back. Temaril-P is used to treat itching and coughing (including kennel cough) in dogs.
Answered by: Christine
Date published: 2017-08-05

is it normal for my dog to be aggressive while on this. yesterday was her last dose of this and now she is going after out other dogs. How long will this last?

Asked by: sebeangel
Aggression is not a reported side effect of Temaril-P; however, medications effect animals differently and it is a possibility. Reported side effects include drowsiness, tremors, muscle weakness, increased thirst, urination, hunger, vomiting and diarrhea.
Answered by: Christine
Date published: 2017-08-05

Are there any generic medications that provide allergy relief

Asked by: Martha
Yes, there are some generic medications that provide allergy relief. However, it depends on the type of allergy and the reaction. Below is a link to our allergy medications. You may want to speak with your veterinarian about the best option for your pet, since they know their medical history. http://www.1800petmeds.com/Allergy+Relief-cat71.html
Answered by: Christine
Date published: 2016-10-13

Is temaril-p safe for our pom that has kidney issues?

Gracie Belle has collapse trachea but also has only 33% kidney function. We have noticed an increase of drinking water and eating more.
Asked by: Belle
My Pom is 10 years old and also has kidney issues..I don't see her drinking more but she is having less control with urination. she goes out more frequently and there have been a few accidents.
Answered by: Lynn
Date published: 2017-02-05

My dog has gained weight, and taken to wetting in the house, he is drinking a lot of water is this normal for a dog that is on Temaril-P

Asked by: Judy
My Boxer is doing the same thing. The vet did tell me that he will drink a lot more and use the bathroom more often. I can't stand that side effect, but his itching has stopped and that's a good thing.
Answered by: WHTBOXEROWNER
Date published: 2017-01-02

Can this, since it contains predisone cause weight gain. My 9 yr old pom has gained weight since he has been on this med. He takes it twice a day.

Asked by: pommom
Temaril-P contains Prednisolone which is an active form of prednisone which are corticosteroids. It is possible for corticosteriods to cause weight gain.
Answered by: Lilli Pharmacist
Date published: 2014-10-27

Probiotic

Can I give my pup a probiotic supplement or yogurt while he's on this?
Asked by: miss_jlt
Yes
Answered by: Lilli Pharmacist
Date published: 2016-10-20

My ten yr old dog does not have a cough but is itching on paws. The vet prescribed Temaril, is this ok?

Asked by: Rocky
Barkley has the same problem. He didn't have a cough associated with his constant licking of his paws due to allergies. My vet prescribed Temaril-P for the allergies instead of giving him a cortisone shot.
Answered by: BarkleyBogeyBaylee'smomma
Date published: 2016-09-24

What other products can be taken with Temaril-P that will stop the itching of hot spots?

Asked by: Snoopy
You will need to discuss with your veterinarian whether or not some topical treatments may be appropriate while giving the Temaril-p.
Answered by: Pharmacist
Date published: 2014-07-03

Can my dog take Benadryl while on Temeril-P?

Asked by: fl00ssman
The Temaral-P contains and antihistamine and benadryl is also an antihistamine. These 2 medications are not usually used together unless under the direct supervision of a veterinarian.
Answered by: Kelly P
Date published: 2018-05-25

does prolonged use of Temaril p cause liver or kidney failure

Asked by: Leigh
Not likely.
Answered by: Lilli Pharmacist
Date published: 2014-02-03

Should i use this at the same time as Simplicef.

Being used on 20lb dog who is very itchy but no specific cause identified. Itching has caused open scratches, sores. No known allergies or other medical issues. Dog is 5 yrs old.
Asked by: JJ
There are no known interactions while using Simplicef and Temaril-P at the same time. Please follow the instructions pertaining to the use of these medications provided by your veterinarian. Only your veterinarian can diagnose and choose the best course of treatment for your pet.
Answered by: Pharmacy Intern
Date published: 2013-10-22

Drug interactions

Can this medicine be taken at the same time as Sam-E and Chlomipramine?
Asked by: Jennieisme
UPDATE: My Vet says yes to both.
Answered by: Jennieisme
Date published: 2013-10-22

Temaril-P

My Yorkie is 3,5 years old and for 2 years she has Temaril-P. About 35 tablets a year.It's hurt my feeling to give her this tablets but only Temaril-P can help her to stop itching.Please if anybody know for how long time can you give this tablets to dog? Thank you.
Asked by: Vika
My dog is 2 1/2 and he is on these tablets very frequently. He has really bad allergies and this is the only thing that seems to work. The vet said that because of how bad his allergies get, he might have to be on these on and off his whole life. I am not a vet, but the impression I got was that at long as you are using the dosage properly, there is not timeframe for how long you can/can't use this product.
Answered by: snowbabe1215
Date published: 2013-10-22

interactions

Would there be any drug interaction between Temaril-P and Previcox that my dog is on for pain?
Asked by: Tracey
Yes, Temaril-P contains a steroid and Previcox is a non-steroidal anti-inflammatory (NSAID). Steroids and NSAIDs are not usually prescribed together as they can cause severe gastro-intestinal side effects such as bleeding.
Answered by: Lilli Pharmacist
Date published: 2013-10-22

Do i need a perscrption?

Dogs nose area is always itching so are her feet
Asked by: Douglas
Yes
Answered by: mojad
Date published: 2013-10-22

My 90 lb golden just started taking this & it has helped his itching now we are to give 1 pill a day but he seems so tired & no energy!

Can i give him a half pill daily or skip a day and then give him one? He seems like he's really tired all day! Or can i give him a pill when i notice he starts itching & licking his paws again?
Asked by: carla
Once Temaril started working for our dog's allergies we reduced it to every other day. I would try reducing it if your dog is tired. Less medication is better if the itchy stops.
Answered by: Teddy Loki
Date published: 2013-10-22

is there a generic form of tamaril?

what would the total cost be for a twelve month supply of generic form of heartguard (green box), and 50 tamaril? Is there any first time buyer discount or promo codes or free shipping. Please itemize How would i get a prescription from my vet to you for the tamaril or its generic form? Do you contact them?
Asked by: ric
Hi Ric, please call us at 1-800-738-6337 or chat with a live rep at www.1800petmeds.com and we will be happy to assist you pricing and ordering.
Answered by: Chris B PetMed Pro
Date published: 2016-05-25

Does Kennal cough cause weight loss?? How can you tell if a dog has it??

Asked by: whitwhit
Dog keeps coughing but makes a hacking sound. Dog loses weight because not eating and raw throat.
Answered by: beegoofee
Date published: 2013-10-22

Can this be taken with an antibiotic?

We adopted a puppy that had resitory infection and were given an antibiotic (doxyciclin). Can this be taken with the antibiotic?
Asked by: Jonathan
My dog has taken Flagyl which has an antibiotic in it with Temaril-P and had no problems. But please check with a vet to find out for sure!
Answered by: Lisa M
Date published: 2013-10-22

Can Termaril-P be taken along with Furosemide and Enalpril?

My little 4# rescue dog is on Furosemide and Enalapril for an enlarged heart. Can she also be on Temaril-P for nasal congestion and reverse sneezing?
Asked by: Misty
If your veterinarian determines that your pet needs Temaril-P to control her symptoms, then yes, it can be used along with furosemide and enalapril.
Answered by: Gary, Dir. of Pharmacy Services
Date published: 2013-10-22

I have compounded Temeril-P compounded in liquid form. One bottle said REFRIGERATE one says DO NOT REFRIGERATE. Which is correct?

Asked by: GrannyBee
We do not compound Temaril-P into liquid form. However, my understanding for compounded liquids is they DO require refrigeration. You may want to check with the pharmacy that prepared the liquid for you.
Answered by: Gary, Dir. of Pharmacy Services
Date published: 2013-10-22

Is it safe to take ketoconazole with Temaril-p?

Asked by: lolasmama
There are no drug interactions between Temaril-P and ketoconazole that I am aware of.
Answered by: Gary, Dir. of Pharmacy Services
Date published: 2013-10-22

What is the MG on Termaril P?

Asked by: yankees
Each tablet of Temaril-P contains 2 medications; trimeprazine tartrate 5mg and prednisolone 2mg.
Answered by: Gary, Dir. of Pharmacy Services
Date published: 2013-10-22
  • y_2020, m_11, d_22, h_16CST
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvqa, vn_bulk_3.0.12
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasquestionsanswers, tq_92
  • loc_en_US, sid_prod10406, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=LAST_APPROVED_ANSWER_SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_1800petmeds
  • bvseo_sdk, dw_cartridge, 18.2.0, p_sdk_3.2.0
  • CLOUD, getContent, 61ms
  • questions, product

What is Temaril-P?

Temaril-P is used to treat itching and coughing (including kennel cough) in dogs. Temaril-P is a combination antihistamine (trimeprazine) and corticosteroid (prednisolone). Temaril-P is used for the relief of itching regardless of cause. It is also used in the treatment of various cough conditions such as kennel cough, bronchitis and coughs of nonspecific origin. Temaril-P may also be used for purposes other than those listed here. Temaril-P is sold per tablet and requires a prescription from your veterinarian.

For:

Dogs

Benefits:

  • Easy to administer
  • Comes in scored tablet to break in half for smaller dogs
  • Sold per tablet

How does Temaril-P work?

Temaril-P contains trimeprazine and prednisolone. Trimeprazine is an antihistamine, which helps relieve itching and coughing. Prednisolone is a corticosteroid that reduces inflammation.

Cautions:

Temaril-P should be given with food to prevent stomach upset. May cause drowsiness. Do not give to pregnant dogs. Keep this medication away from children and pets.

Brand Name:

Temaril-P (Pfizer Animal Health)

Generic Name:

Trimeprazine with prednisolone (tri-mep'-rah-zeen)

What is the most important thing I should know about Temaril-P?

Temaril-P is a prescription medication that is FDA approved for use in dogs. Temaril-P is available as a scored tablet containing trimeprazine tartrate equivalent to 5 mg trimeprazine and prednisolone 2 mg. Prolonged use of Temaril-P should not be stopped suddenly. There should be a gradual reduction in dosage before stopping. Temaril-P should be taken with food to lessen stomach upset.

What should I discuss with my veterinarian before giving Temaril-P to my pet?

Do not give Temaril-P to your pet if the pet has a serious viral or fungal infection. Temaril-P can be given in the presence of acute or chronic bacterial infections provided the infection is controlled by antibiotic. Temaril-P may weaken the pet's immune response and its ability to fight infections. Tell your veterinarian if your pet has diabetes mellitus or any other medical conditions. Tell your veterinarian if your pet is being given en phenytoin, Phenobarbital, diuretics, or insulin. Also tell your veterinarian if the pet is pregnant or lactating.

How should Temaril-P be given?

Give this medication exactly as directed by your veterinarian. Do not give more or less than is prescribed by the veterinarian. If you do not understand the directions ask the pharmacist or veterinarian to explain them to you. The usual dose of Temaril-P is based on weight. For dogs up to 10 lbs give 1/2 tablet, for 11-20 lbs give 1 tablet, 21-40 lbs give 2 tablets, and for dogs 41 lbs and up give 3 tablets. These tablets are given twice a day. After 4 days, the dose is typically reduced to 1/2 the initial dose. Keep plenty of water available for the pet. Temaril-P should be given with food.

What are the potential side effects of Temaril-P?

If any of the following serious side effects occur, stop giving Temaril-P and seek emergency veterinary medical attention; an allergic reaction (difficulty breathing; swelling of the lips, tongue or face; hives). Trimeprazine can cause drowsiness, tremors and muscle weakness. Prednisolone may cause symptoms of Cushing's disease which include increased thirst, urination and hunger as well as vomiting and diarrhea. Other side effects may also occur. Talk to your veterinarian about any side effect that seems unusual or bothersome to your pet.

What happens if I miss giving a dose of Temaril-P?

Give the missed dose as soon as you remember. However, if is almost time for the next regularly scheduled dose, skip the missed dose and take the next one as directed. Do not give a double dose of the medication.

What happens if I overdose my pet on Temaril-P?

Seek emergency veterinary medical treatment. Symptoms of overdose may include excess drowsiness, low blood pressure, and seizures.

What should I avoid while giving Temaril-P to my pet?

Do not give Temaril-P to dogs allergic to it or to either of its ingredients. Temaril-P should not be given to dogs that are pregnant or that are diabetic. Temaril-P may cause drowsiness. Do not use any vaccines without checking with the veterinarian.

What other drugs will affect Temaril-P:

Do not give any other over the counter or prescription medications, including herbal products, during treatment with Temaril-P without first talking to the veterinarian. Many other medications can interact with Temaril-P resulting in side effects or altered effectiveness. These include sedatives, anesthetics, pain medications, epinephrine and procaine.

Temaril-P Directions:

  • Temaril-P is a combination of an antihistamine (trimeprazine) and a corticosteroid (prednisolone) available by prescription for use in dogs.
  • Temaril-P is used for the relief of itching regardless of cause. It is also used in the treatment of various cough conditions such as kennel cough, bronchitis, and coughs of nonspecific origin.
  • Allow plenty of water for your pet to drink.
Tip:

Prolonged use of Temaril-P should not be stopped suddenly. There should be a gradual reduction in dosage before stopping.

Temaril-P Dosage for Dogs:

Dogs:
WeightDosage
Up to 10 lbsInitially, give ½ tablet twice daily with food to lessen stomach upset. After 4 days, the dose is typically reduced to ½ of the initial dose.
11-20 lbsInitially, give 1 tablet twice a day with food to lessen stomach upset. After 4 days, the dose is typically reduced to ½ of the initial dose.
21-40 lbsInitially, give 2 tablets twice a day with food to lessen stomach upset. After 4 days, the dose is typically reduced to ½ of the initial dose
Over 40 lbsInitially, give 3 tablets twice a day with food to lessen stomach upset. After 4 days, the dose is typically reduced to ½ of the initial dose.
Temaril-P Dosage for Cats/Kittens:
Cats/Kittens
Do not use!
Temaril-P Dosage for Horses:
Horses
Do not use!
Storage:

Store Temaril-P at room temperature away from moisture and heat. Keep this medication away from children and pets.

Temaril-P Ingredients:

Temaril-P
Active Ingredient (per tablet)Amount
Trimeprazine Tartrate5 mg
Prednisolone2 mg

What is Temaril-P?

Temaril-P is used to treat itching and coughing (including kennel cough) in dogs. Temaril-P is a combination antihistamine (trimeprazine) and corticosteroid (prednisolone). Temaril-P is used for the relief of itching regardless of cause. It is also used in the treatment of various cough conditions such as kennel cough, bronchitis and coughs of nonspecific origin. Temaril-P may also be used for purposes other than those listed here. Temaril-P is sold per tablet and requires a prescription from your veterinarian.

For:

Dogs

Benefits:

  • Easy to administer
  • Comes in scored tablet to break in half for smaller dogs
  • Sold per tablet

How does Temaril-P work?

Temaril-P contains trimeprazine and prednisolone. Trimeprazine is an antihistamine, which helps relieve itching and coughing. Prednisolone is a corticosteroid that reduces inflammation.

Cautions:

Temaril-P should be given with food to prevent stomach upset. May cause drowsiness. Do not give to pregnant dogs. Keep this medication away from children and pets.

Brand Name:

Temaril-P (Pfizer Animal Health)

Generic Name:

Trimeprazine with prednisolone (tri-mep'-rah-zeen)

What is the most important thing I should know about Temaril-P?

Temaril-P is a prescription medication that is FDA approved for use in dogs. Temaril-P is available as a scored tablet containing trimeprazine tartrate equivalent to 5 mg trimeprazine and prednisolone 2 mg. Prolonged use of Temaril-P should not be stopped suddenly. There should be a gradual reduction in dosage before stopping. Temaril-P should be taken with food to lessen stomach upset.

What should I discuss with my veterinarian before giving Temaril-P to my pet?

Do not give Temaril-P to your pet if the pet has a serious viral or fungal infection. Temaril-P can be given in the presence of acute or chronic bacterial infections provided the infection is controlled by antibiotic. Temaril-P may weaken the pet's immune response and its ability to fight infections. Tell your veterinarian if your pet has diabetes mellitus or any other medical conditions. Tell your veterinarian if your pet is being given en phenytoin, Phenobarbital, diuretics, or insulin. Also tell your veterinarian if the pet is pregnant or lactating.

How should Temaril-P be given?

Give this medication exactly as directed by your veterinarian. Do not give more or less than is prescribed by the veterinarian. If you do not understand the directions ask the pharmacist or veterinarian to explain them to you. The usual dose of Temaril-P is based on weight. For dogs up to 10 lbs give 1/2 tablet, for 11-20 lbs give 1 tablet, 21-40 lbs give 2 tablets, and for dogs 41 lbs and up give 3 tablets. These tablets are given twice a day. After 4 days, the dose is typically reduced to 1/2 the initial dose. Keep plenty of water available for the pet. Temaril-P should be given with food.

What are the potential side effects of Temaril-P?

If any of the following serious side effects occur, stop giving Temaril-P and seek emergency veterinary medical attention; an allergic reaction (difficulty breathing; swelling of the lips, tongue or face; hives). Trimeprazine can cause drowsiness, tremors and muscle weakness. Prednisolone may cause symptoms of Cushing's disease which include increased thirst, urination and hunger as well as vomiting and diarrhea. Other side effects may also occur. Talk to your veterinarian about any side effect that seems unusual or bothersome to your pet.

What happens if I miss giving a dose of Temaril-P?

Give the missed dose as soon as you remember. However, if is almost time for the next regularly scheduled dose, skip the missed dose and take the next one as directed. Do not give a double dose of the medication.

What happens if I overdose my pet on Temaril-P?

Seek emergency veterinary medical treatment. Symptoms of overdose may include excess drowsiness, low blood pressure, and seizures.

What should I avoid while giving Temaril-P to my pet?

Do not give Temaril-P to dogs allergic to it or to either of its ingredients. Temaril-P should not be given to dogs that are pregnant or that are diabetic. Temaril-P may cause drowsiness. Do not use any vaccines without checking with the veterinarian.

What other drugs will affect Temaril-P:

Do not give any other over the counter or prescription medications, including herbal products, during treatment with Temaril-P without first talking to the veterinarian. Many other medications can interact with Temaril-P resulting in side effects or altered effectiveness. These include sedatives, anesthetics, pain medications, epinephrine and procaine.

Temaril-P Directions:

  • Temaril-P is a combination of an antihistamine (trimeprazine) and a corticosteroid (prednisolone) available by prescription for use in dogs.
  • Temaril-P is used for the relief of itching regardless of cause. It is also used in the treatment of various cough conditions such as kennel cough, bronchitis, and coughs of nonspecific origin.
  • Allow plenty of water for your pet to drink.
Tip:

Prolonged use of Temaril-P should not be stopped suddenly. There should be a gradual reduction in dosage before stopping.

Temaril-P Dosage for Dogs:

Dogs:
WeightDosage
Up to 10 lbsInitially, give ½ tablet twice daily with food to lessen stomach upset. After 4 days, the dose is typically reduced to ½ of the initial dose.
11-20 lbsInitially, give 1 tablet twice a day with food to lessen stomach upset. After 4 days, the dose is typically reduced to ½ of the initial dose.
21-40 lbsInitially, give 2 tablets twice a day with food to lessen stomach upset. After 4 days, the dose is typically reduced to ½ of the initial dose
Over 40 lbsInitially, give 3 tablets twice a day with food to lessen stomach upset. After 4 days, the dose is typically reduced to ½ of the initial dose.
Temaril-P Dosage for Cats/Kittens:
Cats/Kittens
Do not use!
Temaril-P Dosage for Horses:
Horses
Do not use!
Storage:

Store Temaril-P at room temperature away from moisture and heat. Keep this medication away from children and pets.

Temaril-P Ingredients:

Temaril-P
Active Ingredient (per tablet)Amount
Trimeprazine Tartrate5 mg
Prednisolone2 mg