3.4 out of 5 Customer Rating
Simparica is rated 3.5 out of 5 by 63.
  • y_2021, m_1, d_15, h_17
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.12
  • cp_3, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_63
  • loc_en_US, sid_prod11716, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_1800petmeds
  • bvseo_sdk, dw_cartridge, 18.2.0, p_sdk_3.2.0
  • CLOUD, getAggregateRating, 49ms
  • reviews, product
1. We'll ask for your vet's info during checkout.
2. We verify your prescription and ship your order!
Close
Starts $67.54 $47.28
Most orders ship the same day
prod11716 product detail number 1.0
Simparica

Simparica

3.4 out of 5 Customer Rating
Simparica is rated 3.5 out of 5 by 63.
  • y_2021, m_1, d_15, h_17
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.12
  • cp_3, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_63
  • loc_en_US, sid_prod11716, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_1800petmeds
  • bvseo_sdk, dw_cartridge, 18.2.0, p_sdk_3.2.0
  • CLOUD, getAggregateRating, 49ms
  • reviews, product
Starts $67.54 $47.28
Most orders ship the same day
Dog
Please select all product options.

Reviews

Rated 2 out of 5 by from Ineffective Seemed to work at first but after first two months my dog was still scratching himself.
Date published: 2018-06-03
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Simparica Review I gave Puffy a simperica dose exactly 3 weeks ago and saw a couple fleas on him this evening showing me that it is not effective for a whole month. He was previously treated with a pet action 6-month collar and I wanted to try something he could take internally. Strike!
Date published: 2018-05-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I tried a lot of things before Simparica, and none of it worked. This actually did, I've been using it for 6 months and I need to get some more for my dog. I love it, and so does she.
Date published: 2018-05-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from works well I have used Simparica on my dog. The ticks die very quickly. Once the tick connects on to my dog, they die quickly and do not get a chance to engorge. Where I live, we have a lot of dog ticks in the spring and deer ticks in later summer and fall. This is the best flea and tick medicine I have used.
Date published: 2018-04-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Response to Nosilayellow's Review There is not a tick product available that will 100% prevent ticks from getting on your pet. The best any product can offer is to kill the tick (and they are very resilient insects) within 24-48 hours before it is able to transmit any disease. Just because you saw a tick on your Shih Tzu does not mean that Simparica, or any tick product, does not work. I have used Simparica for several months now on my Pit Bull and have had wonderful success with it. I have often found ticks on him and while I usually end up pulling them off when I see them, I did find 2 dead ones in his bed just last week.
Date published: 2018-04-06
Rated 1 out of 5 by from I gave this medicine to both my Shih-tzus on Feb. 11. Last night, Feb. 25, I found a tick on one of my dogs for the first time ever. We have a small yard w/ a pool & very small amount of grass. Recent surge in neighborhood squirrel population is probably to blame. However, this medication obviously does not work, even though recommended by my vet.
Date published: 2018-02-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Highly recommend I bought simparica after many failed attempts at getting rid of the fleas on Blue. It is very fast acting, by the next day most if not all of the fleas were gone and by the end of the week he was flea free and has been since we started on it!
Date published: 2018-01-18
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Less harsh than other brands but..... I went with this brand b cause it had the best reviews, Little to no side effects as compared to others, and cheaper! Sounded too good to be true. It wasn’t really. I’m pleased overall. We are at the 48 hour mark after dosing and no vomiting or bloody diarrhea like the others seem to cause BUT we do have some mild diarrhea and a touch of lethargy today. Nothing alarming though. Not sure exactly how long it’s suppose to take to be completely effective, we definitely have a decrease in scratching but still some scratching none the less. I’m trying to remain hopeful that after the 72 hour mark we should be flea free....fingers crossed. The shipping however was outstanding! Ordered on Thursday with the standard free shipping which was the slowest option and received it on Saturday! Very surprised!
Date published: 2017-11-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best flea medication by far!!!! I have been a big fan of Revolution until the vet switched us to this new flea medication. The fleas are gone!!! I have also found that one of my pups USE to chew/bite himself so badly that he would rip out his hair, get sores and scabs, and form bundles of hair between his teeth from ripping out his hair-This problem has been rectified after using Simparica!!! I am extremely satisfied and highly recommend this product!!
Date published: 2017-11-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome!! A little expensive but this is the only pill that works for my dog's flea allergy. I crush it into some wet food. Great product!
Date published: 2017-10-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Saved by Simparica I used Advantage but my 1 year old Boston kept scratching. Told Vet and she recommended Simparica. Great news.. .no more fleas, no more scratches. Did find a dead tick. Vet said as soon as the tick bites they die instantly.No side effects. No scratching.
Date published: 2017-10-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome! My little Pennelope had been covered in fleas. I usually give her advantage, but it wasn't working anymore, so my vet gave my pup this chewable. Works GREAT! No fleas at all!
Date published: 2017-09-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Relief at last Our poor Bassett hound has suffered from fleas for his entire life ( 1 year) We literally tried everything and it didn't work at all or it only partially worked. Either way, it always made him sick. We were very reluctant to give him an oral med with his history, but this summer he suffered so badly we felt we had no choice. I gave him the chew and he loved it. Then I watched him like a hawk. All I saw was dead fleas in a few hours! He never got sick at all! I'm so glad we tried this! It is the best solution for our dog.
Date published: 2017-08-30
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Does not work We switched out dogs to Simparica and a few weeks later the are flea in the house! This product does not work plain and simple.
Date published: 2017-08-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Product I've been using advantex for my Yorkie for years and it was great until this year. He started scratching all the time and when I gave him a bath fleas would fall off into the water. My vet suggested Simparica for him and I started using it and he hasn't scratched since. When I give him a bath no fleas. I would highly recommend this product.
Date published: 2017-08-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Lots of scary stuff online about this There is ton of bad things online about this product and others like it..i hve 2 dogs, who were prescribed different oral flea meds.. We tried everything we could buy OTC and could not kill the fleas on our dogs, so we took the dogs to the vet where 1 got simparica the other nexgaurd.. Both worked great, with no side effects..i litterally saw dead fleas around both dogs within an hour of them being dosed! These were supper resistant/bionic fleas we hd this year..I was on the more natural side of treating dogs for fleas until this year.. If you have given ur dog these chews, and then went online to look this medicine up, try not to worry yourself..most dogs have very little side effects, except dead fleas and tics!
Date published: 2017-08-16
Rated 1 out of 5 by from No good Pup has more fleas than ever . Not happy!!!!
Date published: 2017-08-15
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Does not work for fleas! I have a 7 year old Springer/cocker mix. She was on nexgaurd the last few years until her vet switched her to Simparica last fall because it was suppose to work better, even though we had zero complaints with nexguard, she had never had a flea or tick I didn't mind switching to a more effective product and as a bonus it was a bit cheaper. It seemed to work just as well but that was over the fall, winter and spring. As soon as summer hit, flea season hit, hard and suddenly for the first time ever we noticed fleas in the house. I couldn't believe it and thought they must have come in from another source, not from her, we've been battling them the last couple of weeks but they just keep coming back. I just took her in a gave her a bath and at least 20 fleas washed off of her. She isn't due for her chewable again until the 7th of next month so no way it's worn off yet, it simply isn't working. I'm calling the vet and switching her back, even though I still have over $75 worth of Simparica left in there it's useless if it doesn't work.
Date published: 2017-07-22
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Do not use! After the first time using, my dog had terrible diarrhea. After the second use he had seizures! After looking up side effects, apparently seizures are a common side effect from Simperica. Please do not give this to your dog, it could be deadly.
Date published: 2017-07-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works great We've given our 12 lb dog this medicine since December of last year and have not seen 1 flea. This is a flavored tablet, not chewy, but my dog likes the flavor and takes it well. One could hide it in a treat if needed.
Date published: 2017-02-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from highly recommend We had a particularly bad flea infestation. My husband eats all organic food and is against pesticide or insecticides of any kind so he wouldn't allow me to use flea preventative treatment on our animals (2 dachshunds and a cat). We tried all sorts of holistic treatments without success. I finally convinced him to try Revolution; which worked well. However, my vet recommended Simperica for my dogs as a chewable is much more convenient then a spot on treatment and just as effective. I agree completely. Now, I just wish they had Simperica for cats. However, Revolution is a very effective treatment for cats and much less messy then other spot-ons. So, I highly recommend Simperica for dogs and Revolution for cats.
Date published: 2016-12-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy to give-works great! In the past I found ticks on my Lab and tried Bravecto! Unfortunately Gracie wouldn't eat the larger pill very well and I have pulled some ticks of her early this summer. I also usually had to break it up and do whatever possible to "trick" her into eating it. I asked my vet for an alternative and switched to Simparica and she eats it up great- you have to give monthly so I just put it in my phone - I have yet to see any ticks so it seems to work great! No side effects- recommend!
Date published: 2016-09-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Product Available. Fast and Relentless. I bought this product in April to eradicate a flea infestation but my dogs frequently have ticks also. It knocked out the fleas in just a few hours and I've yet to see a tick. One of my fur babies is very allergic to the flea bites. Simparica killed them so quickly that Max stopped scratching and his hair grew back quickly. It worked better than the other oral products I've used in the past and it cost less! I would always see fleas or those ticks with the white dot at the end of the month. I always forget to give it. I'm always a few days late, so an extra bonus feature of the product is that it has some cushioning so my pups are still protected against nasty fleas and ticks when I forget a few days! It's super tasty too and one of my pups is particular. I wish they sold it without the medicine so I could give them as treats. I love this stuff and my pups love it more.
Date published: 2016-09-24
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Terrible I'm a veterinarian tech I was given this product by a Simparica representative. I live in Texas where fleas are abundant and I gave my dog this preventative a couple weeks ago for the first time and he has a flea allergy so if he does get them he becomes very itchy. Well low and behold he has fleas. I watched him eat the entire tablet so I know he took the medication with no vomiting afterwards so he got it! And now he has fleas. Some bad flea preventatives like Frontline will stop working over time bc fleas build up immunity but Simparica just straight does not work!!!! Do not waste your time and money on this product please! Use Bravecto or Nexgard if you don't want your dog to have fleas.
Date published: 2016-08-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works great! We live in a place with lots of high grass and fleas and ticks are a problem. I had been using pet armour drops. It worked well but you would still see an occasional flea. We tried these from the vew and they are awesome! Haven't even seen 1 flea and it didn't have any side effects.
Date published: 2016-07-11
  • y_2021, m_1, d_15, h_17
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.12
  • cp_3, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_63
  • loc_en_US, sid_prod11716, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_1800petmeds
  • bvseo_sdk, dw_cartridge, 18.2.0, p_sdk_3.2.0
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 7ms
  • reviews, product

Questions

Does this have heart guard in it

Asked by: Debby
No. Simparica controls fleas and ticks only. You need another product for heartworm prevention.
Answered by: SuzyCVT
Date published: 2019-03-26

My dog’s weight fluctuates around the 11lb mark. Sometimes he weighs a bit more and sometimes a bit less. Which dosage should I go with?

Asked by: Jmp9212
Thank you for your question. Most DVM's recommend higher dosage, consult with your DVM.
Answered by: Crystal RPTechnician
Date published: 2019-02-27

Do I need a prescription for this product 

Asked by: Sandra
Thank you for your question. Yes, Simparica requires a prescription from your veterinarian. Once an order is placed our pharmacy staff will obtain that directly from your veterinarian for you.
Answered by: Crystal RPTechnician
Date published: 2019-02-20

Does this help prevent heart worm

Asked by: Allene
Thank you for your question. Simparica is an oral flea and tick preventative, it does not prevent heartworms.
Answered by: Crystal RPTechnician
Date published: 2019-02-06

Why do I need a prescription?

Asked by: Sierrera
Thank you for your question. The FDA determines which medications can be sold over the counter / non-prescription and the medications that require a prescription. Having particular drugs available as prescription-only medications ensures that they are used appropriately. Many prescription drugs are only effective for specific problems, and may actually be harmful to your pet if used without that critical veterinary examination and diagnosis.
Answered by: Crystal RPTechnician
Date published: 2019-02-11

What are the side effects? Will this make my dog aggressive towards other dogs ?

Asked by: Par2956
Thank you for your question. The most frequently reported adverse reactions were vomiting and diarrhea. Simparica may cause abnormal neurologic signs such as tremors, decreased conscious proprioception [awareness of body position and movement], ataxia [loss of full control of bodily movements], decreased or absent menace [blinking reflex], and/or seizures. If you notice any other adverse reactions or unusual behavior after using the medication contact your DVM.
Answered by: Crystal RPTechnician
Date published: 2018-11-29

Do you have to wait to give the dog a bath fir certain time?

Asked by: Deborah
Thank you for your question. No , you do not have to wait to give your pet a bath as Simparica is an oral flea and tick preventative.
Answered by: Crystal RPTechnician
Date published: 2018-11-26

What happens if my pup didn't chew the pill? I put it in cheese because she spits out her anti itch pill. I wasn't aware that this was a chewable.

Asked by: Mollie
Thank you for your question. This product is more effective when your furry baby chews it or you break it into pieces. Simparica may be offered by hand or broken into pieces and fed to dogs that normally swallow treats whole. Simparica chewables should be administered in a manner that encourages your dog to chew, rather than to swallow without chewing.
Answered by: Crystal RPTechnician
Date published: 2018-11-15

Is it safe if pets may have seizures

Asked by: Sweetie
Thank you for your question. Simparica requires a veterinarian's prescription , consult with the your DVM whom will determine if this medication is appropriate for your furry friend. Be sure to mention any history of seizures. The most frequently reported adverse reactions were vomiting and diarrhea. Simparica may cause abnormal neurologic signs such as tremors, decreased conscious proprioception [awareness of body position and movement], ataxia [loss of full control of bodily movements], decreased or absent menace [blinking reflex], and/or seizures.
Answered by: Crystal RPTechnician
Date published: 2018-11-06

Do you have to have prescription for simparica ? 

Asked by: Jeremy73
Do I have to have a prescription for simparica?
Answered by: Donna
Date published: 2018-10-16

Is this flavored with beef or chicken? My dog is allergic to beef. Thank you

Asked by: sweetee
Thank you for your question. Simparica is a pork liver flavored chewable tablet.
Answered by: Crystal RPTechnician
Date published: 2018-09-17

I have two dogs one is a 125 pounds and the other is 85 can I give them both the 88.1-132 tablet.

Asked by: Reddcloud
Thank you for your question. Yes , you can give a 125lb and 85lbs dog the 88.1-132lbs dose. There weights fall within the specified weight range for the dosage.
Answered by: Crystal RPTechnician
Date published: 2018-08-20

how do you treat the side effects from simparica

Asked by: Jcarton1218
Thank you for your question. Side effects are treated symptomatically. Please consult your DVM.
Answered by: Crystal RPTechnician
Date published: 2018-07-31

how do I treat the side effects from simparica

Asked by: Jcarton1218
Thank you for your question. Side effects are treated symptomatically. Please consult your DVM.
Answered by: Crystal RPTechnician
Date published: 2018-07-31

Can this product be used on cats? 

Asked by: Rosalee
Thank you for your question. Simparica is for dogs (6+ months of age, weighing 2.8+ lbs).
Answered by: Crystal RPTechnician
Date published: 2018-07-26

Is it safe to use this product in conjunction with sentenel?

Asked by: Sdtk
Yes, since the flea control part of Sentinel works differently (sterilizes fleas instead of killing them), using a product such as Simparica to actually kill the fleas is fine.
Answered by: Crystal RPTechnician
Date published: 2020-06-12

Will this product kill mites? My puppies were abandoned and are now recovering from Demodectic mange. This is a medicine they were taking but I don't see where it kills mites. Thank you

Asked by: Andrea
This product has been prescribed by veterinarians to treat demodectic mange. Please consult with your veterinarian.
Answered by: Cherley Petmeds Pro
Date published: 2020-04-11

If I can walk into a vet's office and ask for Simparica, why would I need a prescription?

Asked by: dogfreak61
Thank you for your question. Simparica is a prescription medication and must be authorized by a veterinarian. As a licensed pharmacy we do not have veterinarians on staff so we must obtain approval from your vet to dispense the medication. We offer the convenience of having the medication shipped directly to your home as well as great savings.
Answered by: Crystal RPTechnician
Date published: 2019-09-01

I just started simparica with my dog. My question is can I give him tri-Heart plus too at the same time I gave him simparica or do I have to wait for the next day to give it to him

Asked by: Jessi
It is safe to administer both products at the same time.
Answered by: SuzyCVT
Date published: 2018-08-09

Is Simparica use for treatment of dog lice?

Asked by: Bane75
Thank you for your question. Simparica is a flea and tick preventative . It is indicated for the treatment and prevention of flea infestations (Ctenocephalides felis), and the treatment and control of tick infestations [Amblyomma americanum (Lone Star tick), Amblyomma maculatum (Gulf Coast tick), Dermacentor variabilis (American dog tick), Ixodes scapularis (deer tick/black-legged tick), and Rhipicephalus sanguineus (brown dog tick).
Answered by: Crystal RPTechnician
Date published: 2018-08-09

My dog has been on Advantix and I want to switch her to Simparica. Would I just wait 30 days from her last dose of Advantix to begin Simparica? Thank you

Asked by: Ladyreader0
Thank you for your question. Yes , you would wait 30 days from the last dose of K9 Advantix II to begin Simparica.
Answered by: Crystal RPTechnician
Date published: 2018-06-19

Just came from my vet, noticed that the 80mg dosage is only $0.52 more than the 40mg dosage. It would be cost effective for me to buy the larger dose and divide it. What are your thoughts?

Asked by: Roxknox
Thank you for your question. The medication should be dosed based on your pets weight. The medication should not be divided/ split unless advised to do by your veterinarian.
Answered by: Crystal RPTechnician
Date published: 2018-06-14

My dog is right on the cusp for weight at 22 pounds. Would I order the 11-22 pounds or the 22-44pounds?

Asked by: Ladyreader0
Thank you for your question. We offer the 11.1-22.0lbs dose as well as 22.1-44lbs. Simparica requires a prescription so the appropriate dose will be determined by the vet.
Answered by: Crystal RPTechnician
Date published: 2018-06-11

Hi, how long do the side effects usually last after administration? Are they usually temporary?

Asked by: Stacie95
Thank you for your question. Side effects are temporary but the length of time will vary based on numerous factors.
Answered by: Crystal RPTechnician
Date published: 2018-07-25

Curious on the biting of ticks on my dog with this medication. Is my dog still at risk of Lyme disease after being bit? I have found 3 dead ticks on him while taking simparica!!!

Asked by: Cindy
Thank you your question. Simparica treats and controls Lone Star. American dog and Deer/black kegged tick. Deer Ticks most commonly carry lyme disease. If you are finding ticks on your pet and are not sure of the species of ticks found we recommend consulting with your veterinarian. If the medication was purchased with us we can process an exchange for another product.
Answered by: Crystal RPTechnician
Date published: 2020-04-11

Do you need a prescription to order simparica

Asked by: No Nick name
Yes. Our pharmacy contacts your veterinarian to obtain the prescription for you prior to shipment.
Answered by: Cherley Petmeds Pro
Date published: 2018-06-28

Does it kill flea eggs?

Asked by: Tracy
Simparica prevents and controls home infestations, killing fleas before they can lay eggs.
Answered by: Cherley Petmeds Pro
Date published: 2018-05-31

I gave my dog Simparica  for the first time since I just discovered he have some fleas . My question is , since he swallowed the pill rather than chew , will it be effective? 

Asked by: Annabella
Simparica may be offered by hand or broken into pieces and fed to dogs that normally swallow treats whole. This product is more effective when your furry baby chews it or you break it into pieces.
Answered by: Cherley Petmeds Pro
Date published: 2018-06-04

My 12 lb dog took some rica in 4 pieces at 9am. Vomited at 1pm due to rocking of boat. Did she digest enough Simperica to be effective?

Asked by: Charlie
Yes. As long as any vomiting occurred later than 1-2 hours after administration, the medication has already been absorbed.
Answered by: SuzyCVT
Date published: 2018-05-29

Does this treat tapeworm 

Asked by: Tom3456
Thank you for your question. Simparica is a oral flea and tick preventative that kills fleas and ticks. We do offer dewormer's separately such as Dog Worms 3 ( pill form) , Panacur C ( powder), etc.
Answered by: Crystal RPTechnician
Date published: 2018-05-27
  • y_2021, m_1, d_15, h_17CST
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvqa, vn_bulk_3.0.12
  • cp_3, bvpage2n
  • co_hasquestionsanswers, tq_124
  • loc_en_US, sid_prod11716, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=LAST_APPROVED_ANSWER_SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_1800petmeds
  • bvseo_sdk, dw_cartridge, 18.2.0, p_sdk_3.2.0
  • CLOUD, getContent, 59ms
  • questions, product

What is Simparica?

Simparica is a fast-acting oral flea and tick preventative that begins killing fleas and ticks within hours of administration and remains effective for one month to prevent re-infestations. It is indicated for the treatment and prevention of flea infestations (Ctenocephalides felis), and the treatment and control of tick infestations [Amblyomma americanum (Lone Star tick), Amblyomma maculatum (Gulf Coast tick), Dermacentor variabilis (American dog tick), Ixodes scapularis (deer tick/black-legged tick), and Rhipicephalus sanguineus (brown dog tick)]. Simparica begins to kill adult fleas within 3 hours and ticks within 8 hours of administration. Treatment with Simparica may begin at any time of the year and is safe to use year-round without interruption. Simparica is given monthly and requires a prescription from your veterinarian.

For:

Dogs (6+ months of age, weighing 2.8+ lbs)

Benefits:

  • Each tablet provides a full month of protection against fleas and ticks
  • Tasty, liver-flavored chewable tablet is easy to administer
  • Chewable tablets can be given directly to your dog or broken up and mixed with food
  • Available in six weight categories: 2.8-5.5 lbs, 5.6-11 lbs, 11.1-22.0 lbs, 22.1-40 lbs, 44.1-88.0 lbs and 88.1-132 lbs

How does Simparica work?

Simparica contains the active ingredient sarolaner, which inhibits the function of the neurotransmitter gamma aminobutyric acid (GABA) receptor and glutamate receptor, and works at the neuromuscular junction in insects. This results in uncontrolled neuromuscular activity leading to death in insects or acarines. Simparica is administered once a month directly by mouth or can be crumbled and mixed with food. To minimize the likelihood of flea re-infestation, it is important to treat all dogs and cats within a household with an approved flea control product.

Cautions:

Not for use in humans. Keep this and all drugs out of reach of children and pets. For use in dogs only. Do not use Simparica in cats. Simparica should not be used in dogs less than 6 months of age weighing less than 2.8 lbs. The safe use of Simparica has not been evaluated in breeding, pregnant, or lactating dogs.

Brand Name

Simparica (Zoetis)

Generic Name

Sarolaner (sar-oh-lan-ur)

What is the most important thing I should know about Simparica?

Simparica is used for the treatment and prevention of flea infestations (Ctenocephalides felis), and the treatment and control of tick infestations [Amblyomma americanum (Lone Star tick), Amblyomma maculatum (Gulf Coast tick), Dermacentor variabilis (American dog tick), Ixodes scapularis (deer tick/black-legged tick), and Rhipicephalus sanguineus (brown dog tick)] in dogs over 6 months of age weighing 2.8 lbs and over. Simparica is available as a liver-flavored, chewable tablet. Simparica requires a prescription from your veterinarian.

What should I discuss with my veterinarian before giving Simparica to my pet?

Tell your veterinarian if your pet is breeding, pregnant, or lactating.

How Simparica should be given?

Simparica should be administered orally, once every month, at the minimum dosage of 0.91 mg/lb (2 mg/kg) sarolaner. Dogs weighing 2.8 to 5.5 lbs should be given one 5 mg Simparica chewable tablet monthly. Dogs weighing 5.6 to 11.0 lbs should be given one 10 mg Simparica chewable tablet monthly. Dogs weighing 11.1 to 22.0 lbs should be given one 20 mg Simparica chewable tablet monthly. Dogs weighing 22.1 to 44.0 lbs should be given one 40 mg Simparica chewable tablet monthly. Dogs weighing 44.1 to 88.0 lbs should be given one 80 mg Simparica chewable tablet monthly. Dogs weighing 88.1 to 132.0 lbs should be given one 120 mg Simparica chewable tablet monthly. Dogs weighing more than 132.0 lbs should be given appropriate combination of Simparica tablets monthly. Care should be taken that your dog consumes the complete dose, and treated pets should be observed for a few minutes to ensure that part of the dose is not lost or refused.

For flea treatment and prevention: Treatment may begin at any time of the year. In areas where fleas are common year-round, monthly treatment with Simparica can continue the entire year without interruption. To minimize the likelihood of flea re-infestation, it is important to treat all dogs and cats within a household with an approved flea control product.

For tick treatment and control: Treatment with Simparica can begin at any time of the year.

What are the potential side effects of Simparica?

The most frequently reported adverse reactions were vomiting and diarrhea. Simparica may cause abnormal neurologic signs such as tremors, decreased conscious proprioception [awareness of body position and movement], ataxia [loss of full control of bodily movements], decreased or absent menace [blinking reflex], and/or seizures.

What happens if I miss giving a dose of Simparica?

If a dose is missed, administer Simparica and resume a monthly dosing schedule.

What happens if I overdose my pet on Simparica?

Contact your veterinarian immediately.

What should I avoid while giving Simparica to my pet?

Do not use Simparica in cats. Simparica should not be used in dogs less than 6 months of age. The safe use of Simparica has not been evaluated in breeding, pregnant, or lactating dogs.

What other drugs will affect Simparica?

There are no known contraindications for the use of Simparica.

Simparica Directions:

  • Administer one Simparica chewable once every month.
  • Simparica may be offered by hand or broken into pieces and fed to dogs that normally swallow treats whole.
  • Simparica chewables should be administered in a manner that encourages your dog to chew, rather than to swallow without chewing. Care should be taken to be sure that your dog consumes the complete dose.
  • Observe your dog for a few minutes after administration to ensure that no part of the dose is lost or rejected. If it is suspected that any of the dose has been lost, redosing is recommended.
Tip:

Always make sure ample water is available for your dog.

Simparica Dosage for Dogs:

Dogs/Puppies: (6+ months of age, weighing 2.8+ lbs)
WeightDosage
2.8-5.5 lbs One 5 mg chewable tablet monthly
5.6-11.0 lbsOne 10 mg chewable tablet monthly
11.1-22.0 lbsOne 20 mg chewable tablet monthly
22.1-44.0 lbsOne 40 mg chewable tablet monthly
44.1-88.0 lbs One 80 mg chewable tablet monthly
88.1-132.0 lbsOne 120 mg chewable tablet monthly
Over 132.1 lbsAdminister the appropriate combination of Simparica chewable tablets monthly
Simparica Dosage for Cats:
Cats
Do not use!
Simparica Dosage for Horses:
Horses
Do not use!
Storage:

Store at or below 86F (30C) with excursions permitted up to 104F (40C).

Simparica Ingredients:

Simparica for Dogs 2.8-5.5 lbs:
Active Ingredient (per tablet)Amount
Sarolaner5 mg
Simparica for Dogs 5.6-11 lbs:
Active Ingredient (per tablet)Amount
Sarolaner10 mg
Simparica for Dogs 11.1-22.0 lbs:
Active Ingredient (per tablet)Amount
Sarolaner20 mg
Simparica for Dogs 22.1-44.0 lbs:
Active Ingredient (per tablet)Amount
Sarolaner40 mg
Simparica for Dogs 44.1-88.0 lbs:
Active Ingredient (per tablet)Amount
Sarolaner80 mg
Simparica for Dogs 88.1-132.0 lbs:
Active Ingredient (per tablet)Amount
Sarolaner120 mg

What is Simparica?

Simparica is a fast-acting oral flea and tick preventative that begins killing fleas and ticks within hours of administration and remains effective for one month to prevent re-infestations. It is indicated for the treatment and prevention of flea infestations (Ctenocephalides felis), and the treatment and control of tick infestations [Amblyomma americanum (Lone Star tick), Amblyomma maculatum (Gulf Coast tick), Dermacentor variabilis (American dog tick), Ixodes scapularis (deer tick/black-legged tick), and Rhipicephalus sanguineus (brown dog tick)]. Simparica begins to kill adult fleas within 3 hours and ticks within 8 hours of administration. Treatment with Simparica may begin at any time of the year and is safe to use year-round without interruption. Simparica is given monthly and requires a prescription from your veterinarian.

For:

Dogs (6+ months of age, weighing 2.8+ lbs)

Benefits:

  • Each tablet provides a full month of protection against fleas and ticks
  • Tasty, liver-flavored chewable tablet is easy to administer
  • Chewable tablets can be given directly to your dog or broken up and mixed with food
  • Available in six weight categories: 2.8-5.5 lbs, 5.6-11 lbs, 11.1-22.0 lbs, 22.1-40 lbs, 44.1-88.0 lbs and 88.1-132 lbs

How does Simparica work?

Simparica contains the active ingredient sarolaner, which inhibits the function of the neurotransmitter gamma aminobutyric acid (GABA) receptor and glutamate receptor, and works at the neuromuscular junction in insects. This results in uncontrolled neuromuscular activity leading to death in insects or acarines. Simparica is administered once a month directly by mouth or can be crumbled and mixed with food. To minimize the likelihood of flea re-infestation, it is important to treat all dogs and cats within a household with an approved flea control product.

Cautions:

Not for use in humans. Keep this and all drugs out of reach of children and pets. For use in dogs only. Do not use Simparica in cats. Simparica should not be used in dogs less than 6 months of age weighing less than 2.8 lbs. The safe use of Simparica has not been evaluated in breeding, pregnant, or lactating dogs.

Brand Name

Simparica (Zoetis)

Generic Name

Sarolaner (sar-oh-lan-ur)

What is the most important thing I should know about Simparica?

Simparica is used for the treatment and prevention of flea infestations (Ctenocephalides felis), and the treatment and control of tick infestations [Amblyomma americanum (Lone Star tick), Amblyomma maculatum (Gulf Coast tick), Dermacentor variabilis (American dog tick), Ixodes scapularis (deer tick/black-legged tick), and Rhipicephalus sanguineus (brown dog tick)] in dogs over 6 months of age weighing 2.8 lbs and over. Simparica is available as a liver-flavored, chewable tablet. Simparica requires a prescription from your veterinarian.

What should I discuss with my veterinarian before giving Simparica to my pet?

Tell your veterinarian if your pet is breeding, pregnant, or lactating.

How Simparica should be given?

Simparica should be administered orally, once every month, at the minimum dosage of 0.91 mg/lb (2 mg/kg) sarolaner. Dogs weighing 2.8 to 5.5 lbs should be given one 5 mg Simparica chewable tablet monthly. Dogs weighing 5.6 to 11.0 lbs should be given one 10 mg Simparica chewable tablet monthly. Dogs weighing 11.1 to 22.0 lbs should be given one 20 mg Simparica chewable tablet monthly. Dogs weighing 22.1 to 44.0 lbs should be given one 40 mg Simparica chewable tablet monthly. Dogs weighing 44.1 to 88.0 lbs should be given one 80 mg Simparica chewable tablet monthly. Dogs weighing 88.1 to 132.0 lbs should be given one 120 mg Simparica chewable tablet monthly. Dogs weighing more than 132.0 lbs should be given appropriate combination of Simparica tablets monthly. Care should be taken that your dog consumes the complete dose, and treated pets should be observed for a few minutes to ensure that part of the dose is not lost or refused.

For flea treatment and prevention: Treatment may begin at any time of the year. In areas where fleas are common year-round, monthly treatment with Simparica can continue the entire year without interruption. To minimize the likelihood of flea re-infestation, it is important to treat all dogs and cats within a household with an approved flea control product.

For tick treatment and control: Treatment with Simparica can begin at any time of the year.

What are the potential side effects of Simparica?

The most frequently reported adverse reactions were vomiting and diarrhea. Simparica may cause abnormal neurologic signs such as tremors, decreased conscious proprioception [awareness of body position and movement], ataxia [loss of full control of bodily movements], decreased or absent menace [blinking reflex], and/or seizures.

What happens if I miss giving a dose of Simparica?

If a dose is missed, administer Simparica and resume a monthly dosing schedule.

What happens if I overdose my pet on Simparica?

Contact your veterinarian immediately.

What should I avoid while giving Simparica to my pet?

Do not use Simparica in cats. Simparica should not be used in dogs less than 6 months of age. The safe use of Simparica has not been evaluated in breeding, pregnant, or lactating dogs.

What other drugs will affect Simparica?

There are no known contraindications for the use of Simparica.

Simparica Directions:

  • Administer one Simparica chewable once every month.
  • Simparica may be offered by hand or broken into pieces and fed to dogs that normally swallow treats whole.
  • Simparica chewables should be administered in a manner that encourages your dog to chew, rather than to swallow without chewing. Care should be taken to be sure that your dog consumes the complete dose.
  • Observe your dog for a few minutes after administration to ensure that no part of the dose is lost or rejected. If it is suspected that any of the dose has been lost, redosing is recommended.
Tip:

Always make sure ample water is available for your dog.

Simparica Dosage for Dogs:

Dogs/Puppies: (6+ months of age, weighing 2.8+ lbs)
WeightDosage
2.8-5.5 lbs One 5 mg chewable tablet monthly
5.6-11.0 lbsOne 10 mg chewable tablet monthly
11.1-22.0 lbsOne 20 mg chewable tablet monthly
22.1-44.0 lbsOne 40 mg chewable tablet monthly
44.1-88.0 lbs One 80 mg chewable tablet monthly
88.1-132.0 lbsOne 120 mg chewable tablet monthly
Over 132.1 lbsAdminister the appropriate combination of Simparica chewable tablets monthly
Simparica Dosage for Cats:
Cats
Do not use!
Simparica Dosage for Horses:
Horses
Do not use!
Storage:

Store at or below 86F (30C) with excursions permitted up to 104F (40C).

Simparica Ingredients:

Simparica for Dogs 2.8-5.5 lbs:
Active Ingredient (per tablet)Amount
Sarolaner5 mg
Simparica for Dogs 5.6-11 lbs:
Active Ingredient (per tablet)Amount
Sarolaner10 mg
Simparica for Dogs 11.1-22.0 lbs:
Active Ingredient (per tablet)Amount
Sarolaner20 mg
Simparica for Dogs 22.1-44.0 lbs:
Active Ingredient (per tablet)Amount
Sarolaner40 mg
Simparica for Dogs 44.1-88.0 lbs:
Active Ingredient (per tablet)Amount
Sarolaner80 mg
Simparica for Dogs 88.1-132.0 lbs:
Active Ingredient (per tablet)Amount
Sarolaner120 mg