4.9 out of 5 Customer Rating
Sentinel is rated 4.5 out of 5 by 919.
  • y_2021, m_1, d_15, h_17
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.12
  • cp_3, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_15, tr_904
  • loc_en_US, sid_prod10118, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_1800petmeds
  • bvseo_sdk, dw_cartridge, 18.2.0, p_sdk_3.2.0
  • CLOUD, getAggregateRating, 31ms
  • reviews, product
1. We'll ask for your vet's info during checkout.
2. We verify your prescription and ship your order!
Close
Starts $68.70 $48.09
Most orders ship the same day

Sentinel

4.9 out of 5 Customer Rating
Sentinel is rated 4.5 out of 5 by 919.
  • y_2021, m_1, d_15, h_17
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.12
  • cp_3, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_15, tr_904
  • loc_en_US, sid_prod10118, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_1800petmeds
  • bvseo_sdk, dw_cartridge, 18.2.0, p_sdk_3.2.0
  • CLOUD, getAggregateRating, 31ms
  • reviews, product
Starts $68.70 $48.09
Most orders ship the same day
Dog
Please select all product options.

Reviews

Rated 5 out of 5 by from Joey is able to tolerate this product . He suffers from GI problems from time to time and sentinel is easy on his stomach
Date published: 2019-08-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Healthy with no side affects It is so good to find something we can use that doesn’t make our Little Bear sick. And he actually took it without a fight!
Date published: 2019-08-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fast service, easy to give pills with food. Both dogs test negative for heart worms, no problem with ticks or fleas.
Date published: 2019-08-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good product Dogs continue to test negative. No problem with stomach upset or anything else.
Date published: 2019-08-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Product is great but pet med employees are the best to deal with!!!
Date published: 2019-07-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I love the product! I am very happy with my purchase. Works like a charm. Will purchase again soon.
Date published: 2019-07-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Product We have two labs and have used Sentinel since they were pups. They are now 13 years old. The product is very effective as there have been no positive tests for heartworms or flea infestations. Sentinel kills flea larva which is worth its cost in gold. Everyone hates fleas!
Date published: 2019-07-11
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Sentinel Customer been giving Sentinel to my pup since our first pup 9 years ago. Four pups later, still on Sentinel, never experience any problems since : ) Has always been effective and never any issue on them.
Date published: 2019-06-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fast delivery. No fleas Been using this 2 years and no fleas or heartworms
Date published: 2019-06-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from works great Maggie has been taking Sentinel since she was a puppy--for 13 years now! No sign of heart worm or fleas. This is a great product!
Date published: 2019-06-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Sentinel Review I purchase a 6-Pack of Sentinel Flavor Tabs every three months to split between my two dogs. They have been taking Sentinel for years and have had no problems whatsoever with this product. My girls will be 13 in July. I also find it to be affordable.
Date published: 2019-06-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product Convenient and easy to use! Keeps our fur baby safe. Barkley is 13yrs old and has not problems tolerating this medication.
Date published: 2019-05-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Effect and they even like to take it! We’ve used it before and was very satisfied with the protection it provides. Glad it is available again!
Date published: 2019-05-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Stuff We just started our greyhounds on Sentinel. Easy to administer & offers the protection we’re looking for.
Date published: 2019-05-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Safe and Effective Having worked as a Vet Tech for 34 yrs., Sentinel is the only internal flea product combo with hw prevention that I believe is safe for my dog(s) to take. The flea control part is Program (which has been around a very long time), it renders a flea sterile if/when it bites the dog. The hw is Interceptor. If your dog lives in a controlled environment, I have found this product safe and effective.
Date published: 2019-05-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Always easy and efficient! Thank you!
Date published: 2019-05-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Sentinel Missy is back on sentinel and it works great
Date published: 2019-04-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product! I’ve had my dogs on Sentinel for years and its worked great! It’s a little pricey, but you are getting heartworm prevention as well as flea and tick protection all in one. I just wished they’d come out with a cheaper generic version. And 1-800 petmeds makes refills very easy and convenient.
Date published: 2019-04-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Sentinel tabs Paris, my toy poodle and nine years old has been on Sentinel tabs for a couple years now. He handles this med well without any side effects. 1800 pet meds makes this an affordable purchase and with fast delivery.
Date published: 2019-04-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Flea free I purchased this the first of the month and it has been great. Recommended by the vet so that makes it ever better.
Date published: 2019-04-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from These are great products! I've been using Sentinel for years no problem also Seresto for tick & fle protection Absolutely recommend it for dogs. I'm a pet sitter around dogs all the time. These are great products.
Date published: 2019-04-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy to take for the pups and no side effects Easy to take for the pups and no side effects
Date published: 2019-04-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Sentinel Have used on all my dogs for years and have had no problems.
Date published: 2019-04-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Sentinel - Help Your Pet Fight Whip Worm We used to buy Heartgard from 1800Petmeds but both of our dogs contracted whipworm. It comes from contaminated soil (like dog poo in the yard). Our vet told us we need to have another medicine to kill these worms. She recommended Sentinel as one of the products that has ingredient in it to kill whipworms. So buy Sentinel and it will cover heart worms and whipworms too.
Date published: 2019-03-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good product Great product. Fast delivery from Pet Meds! Im always satisfied with my orders.
Date published: 2019-03-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Heartworm meds disguised as a tasty treat. I have bought the Sentinel 51-100lb for my dogs for years. The flavored tablets make it really easy to give to them. Our pets have been problem free since we've started using the product! I would definitely recommend them.
Date published: 2019-02-27
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Not a flea cure at all My dogs took this for one month and that's all we could stand.The flea infestation continues. We will be returning to our original RX.
Date published: 2019-02-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Roscoe likes Sentinel I've had Roscoe, Sophie, and Lucy all on Sentinel a few months during the colder months. We will see when they go for heartworm testing this go around. I'm pleased with the product so far.
Date published: 2019-02-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I trust Sentinel I've been using this since I got her as a puppy ( she's 6 now). I trust this brand to protect my pup.
Date published: 2019-01-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Sentinel is best for ticks and fleas
Date published: 2019-01-18
  • y_2021, m_1, d_15, h_17
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.12
  • cp_3, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_15, tr_904
  • loc_en_US, sid_prod10118, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_1800petmeds
  • bvseo_sdk, dw_cartridge, 18.2.0, p_sdk_3.2.0
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 9ms
  • reviews, product

Questions

does my puppy needs to take Heartguard also or just Sentinel will do the job?

Asked by: Shaggy
Sentinel is a monthly oral preventive that guards against heartworms, adult roundworms, adult hookworms, whipworms, and prevents the development of flea eggs. There is no need to administer Heartgard as well.
Answered by: Lisa M
Date published: 2019-06-17

Hiw quickly does medicine start to protect and work?

Asked by: LOTX
Sentinel is the only monthly oral preventive that guards against heartworms, adult roundworms, adult hookworms, whipworms, and prevents the development of flea eggs. It begins to work within 3 hours of administration.
Answered by: Lisa M
Date published: 2020-03-12

Is a prescription needed for easy refills?

Asked by: Cyndi
If you have refills available from the prior prescription, your order ships out immediately. Otherwise, we contact your vet to obtain a new prescription approval for your easy refill reminder.
Answered by: Cherley Petmeds Pro
Date published: 2019-07-13

my dog weights 121lbs what dosage amount would he take

Asked by: mavericksmom
For a dog over 100lbs you are to give a combination of flavor tabs based on your pets weight. So for a 121lb dog you would give 1 flavor tablet every month for the 51-100lbs dose as well as the 11-25lb dose. Otherwise you would dose the medication as advised by your DVM.
Answered by: Crystal RPTechnician
Date published: 2019-04-09

Do I need a veterinarian prescription for this product?

Asked by: Chris 454
Yes, a veterinarian's prescription is required to purchase Sentinel or any heartworm prevention.
Answered by: SuzyCVT
Date published: 2019-03-30

My dog won’t chew this whole. The only way to take is if I push down her throat. Is it ok to take whole?

Asked by: Singfan
Yes.
Answered by: SuzyCVT
Date published: 2019-03-23

My dog is between 10 and 11 lbs what dose should I use?

Asked by: Pumpkinsmom
My vet said to always go with the higher dosage.
Answered by: Renee4
Date published: 2019-03-14

My dog weighs btw 130 and140 lbs. Which combination of tabs does he need?

Asked by: Booggie1
Your dog should take 1 tablet of the 52-100 lb size and 1 tablet of the 26-50 lb size.
Answered by: SuzyCVT
Date published: 2019-01-30

My vet has prescribed Sentinel for cats, but I'm having a very hard time finding anything marketed that way. Is this product safe for cats if the correct weight dosage is administered?

Asked by: Jody07
Thank you for your question. Sentinel is FDA approved for use in dogs only.
Answered by: Crystal RPTechnician
Date published: 2019-01-30

Is this product safe for a dog that get actively groomed by a cat?

Asked by: Tsigner
Thank you for your question. Yes, the medication is taken orally not topically.
Answered by: Crystal RPTechnician
Date published: 2019-01-29

I just gave my dog a tropical dose of flea treatment (Hartz), would I be able to use them together. My dog changes from 25-27 pounds which weight would be best to use.

Asked by: shelbs
Thank you for your question. Yes , you can use the products together. And the dose needed would be 25-50lbs.
Answered by: Crystal RPTechnician
Date published: 2019-03-14

My dog is 45lbs. Is it ok to give her the 51lb to 100lb Sentinel?

Asked by: Bryan65129
Thank you for your question. The correct dose of Sentinel for a 45lbs dog would be the 26-50lb dose unless otherwise prescribed by your vet.
Answered by: Crystal RPTechnician
Date published: 2018-12-04

I have two toy chihuahuas the are very finicky eaters and will not eat treats.  Is Sentinel a tablet or capsule?  They are currently using Revolution and have been on it for three years.  Thank you.

Asked by: Candy
Thank you for your question. Sentinel is available as artificial beef flavored (derived from pork and soy protein) chewable tablets.
Answered by: Crystal RPTechnician
Date published: 2018-10-08

In my house right now I am short 1 extra large sentinel. Can I give my 90lb dog 2 large sentinels 25-50lb? We go to the vet to get more this weekend, I just dont want him without we have 5 dogs hes the biggest. Thank you

Asked by: Amanda
Thank you for your question. Yes, you can give your 90lb dog two Sentinels tabs of the 25-50lbs dose.
Answered by: Crystal RPTechnician
Date published: 2019-03-14

1st time user of sentinel heartworm & flea prevention. Can I use another flea prevention along with this because sentinel isn't working? My dogs still has flea dirt on them.

Asked by: Nette
Thank you for your question. It is perfectly safe to use a flea control product such as Advantage II, Frontline Plus, Cheristin or Comfortis with Sentinel.
Answered by: Crystal RPTechnician
Date published: 2019-03-14

Does sentinel protect from ticks

Asked by: mbake
Thank you for your question. Sentinel does not protect against fleas. Sentinel guards against heartworms, adult roundworms, adult hookworms, whipworms, and prevents the development of flea eggs.
Answered by: Crystal RPTechnician
Date published: 2019-05-07

What do you do Give if my dog is 110 pounds and the highest dose goes too 100?

Asked by: Chelsea
For a dog that is only 110 lbs. I would give the 100 pound dose. In my research I personally would go this way.
Answered by: Cindy
Date published: 2018-10-11

Can sentinal be givin in conjunction with bravecto?

Asked by: Amber
Thank you for your question. Bravecto and Sentinel may be used concurrently.
Answered by: Crystal RPTechnician
Date published: 2018-10-11

My dog does not eat beef and pork. Does Sentinel white has beef or pork meat as flavor? 

Asked by: Raj14
Thank you for your question. Sentinel is flavored with artificial beef (derived from pork and soy protein). We do offer an alternative heartworm preventative Interceptor Plus which is chicken flavored.
Answered by: Crystal RPTechnician
Date published: 2018-09-05

if my dog is 50.5# can I use the large size?

Asked by: ch1111
Thank you for your question. Most veterinarian will recommend the 5-100lbs dose. As the medication requires DVM approval we recommend consulting you DVM to determine the appropriate dose for your dog.
Answered by: Crystal RPTechnician
Date published: 2018-08-20

I have a 4 pound puppy and ordered the Sentinel brown box for 2-10 lbs dogs. When I begin to give the monthly dose, can I continue to use a regular flea and tick collar on her and/or a monthly topical flea treatment?

Asked by: bmoore
Thank you for your question. Since Sentinel sterilizes fleas and does not kill them, per the manufacturer, it is safe to use another product such as K-9 Advantix II or the Seresrto to help control fleas and ticks. You may also consult with your veterinarian for other recommendations.
Answered by: Crystal RPTechnician
Date published: 2018-08-15

Hello, just got back from vacation and finding some ticks on my large breed dog after he stayed at my parents and had fun in the backyard. How fast Can i expect this to work after consumption? Ive washed him but his coat is to thick! Thanks!

Asked by: Ryan
Thank you for your question. Sentinel does not kill ticks. Sentinel is a preventative that guards against heartworms, adult roundworms, adult hookworms, whipworms, and prevents the development of flea eggs.
Answered by: Crystal RPTechnician
Date published: 2019-03-14

My dog has seizures and I gave him the sentinel medicine by mistake. What should I do?

Asked by: Boothomas
There are no listed cautions for Sentinel in dogs that have seizures.
Answered by: SuzyCVT
Date published: 2018-08-08

We gave our dog sentinel and she threw up some time afterwards from nausea from antibiotics she’s taking as well so she may/may not have gotten her monthly dose. How soon can we re dose her? My husband wants to give a regular dose at 2 weeks not 4 again.

Asked by: Carrie
Thank you for your question. Re-dose the following day if the pet vomited within 1 hour. There is no need to re-dose if pet vomited more than 1 hour after administration.
Answered by: Crystal RPTechnician
Date published: 2018-08-03

 How come my dog has been sentinel since she was a pup and she still got hookworms 

Asked by: Torch 7
Thank you for your question. Sentinel treats and controls adult hookworms, not the eggs or larvae. None of the products or methods of control and prevention are 100% effective, 100% of the time. We do offer a 100% guarantee however on all of our products. If you purchased the medication with us you may get a merchandise credit to use towards another product or refund.
Answered by: Crystal RPTechnician
Date published: 2018-08-02

I have cats, can I use this product on my dogs still? 

Asked by: MelL
Thank you for your question. This is an oral medication so the medication would not affect any cats in the household. This medication should not be given to cats.
Answered by: Crystal RPTechnician
Date published: 2018-07-31

My pet has been spitting up about twice a week could this be a side effect of sentinel thanks

Asked by: Mike
Thank you for your question. Side effects are rare, though some pets may exhibit vomiting, depression, drowsiness, itching, hives, loss of appetite, diarrhea, or seizures, hypersalivation, and weakness. If these or other symptoms develop contact your veterinarian.
Answered by: Crystal RPTechnician
Date published: 2018-07-25

When your dog is between 10 & 11 pounds what dose do you use?   Mine weighs 11# 2 oz and fluctuates in weight down to 10# 5oz

Asked by: JPEBBLES
Thank you for your question. Most DVM's will recommend the higher size. Consult your veterinarian for his/her opinion.
Answered by: Crystal RPTechnician
Date published: 2018-09-12

If one of my pets is found to have worms after proper use and dosage, will your company or distributor back the product and pay for needed treatment like they will at my vet?

Asked by: carissastahl25
Thank you for your question. If your pet contracts adult roundworms, hookworms or whipworms we would not pay for treatment but we would refund you for the amount paid for the product. If your pet contracts heartworms send us your bill for treatment of heartworms and we'll send you a check (requires 9 months of continuous use of heartworm product purchased from 1-800-PetMeds on the pet for whom the medication was prescribed. Monetary limitations apply).
Answered by: Crystal RPTechnician
Date published: 2018-07-20

Do i need heartworm prevention for housecats never go outside

Asked by: Nancy
Thank you for your question. Most veterinarians do recommend Heartworm Preventative for indoor cats. Consult with your DVM.
Answered by: Crystal RPTechnician
Date published: 2018-07-21
  • y_2021, m_1, d_15, h_17CST
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvqa, vn_bulk_3.0.12
  • cp_3, bvpage2n
  • co_hasquestionsanswers, tq_575
  • loc_en_US, sid_prod10118, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=LAST_APPROVED_ANSWER_SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_1800petmeds
  • bvseo_sdk, dw_cartridge, 18.2.0, p_sdk_3.2.0
  • CLOUD, getContent, 17ms
  • questions, product

What is Sentinel?

Sentinel is the only monthly oral preventive that guards against heartworms, adult roundworms, adult hookworms, whipworms, and prevents the development of flea eggs. Sentinel requires a prescription from your veterinarian.

For:

Dogs and Puppies (4+ weeks of age, weighing 2+ lbs)

Benefits:

  • Comes in palatable flavored tabs
  • Easy to administer just once a month

How does Sentinel work?

Milbemycin oxime eliminates the tissue stage of heartworm larvae and the adult stage of hookworm, roundworm, and whipworm infestations. Lufenuron, the other active ingredient, is an insect development inhibitor that breaks the flea life cycle by inhibiting egg development. Lufenuron prevents most flea eggs from hatching or maturing into adults and thus prevents and controls flea populations by breaking the life cycle.

Cautions:

Side effects are rare, though some pets may exhibit vomiting, depression, drowsiness, itching, hives, loss of appetite, diarrhea, or seizures, hypersalivation, and weakness. If these or other symptoms develop contact your veterinarian. It's important to maintain good personal hygiene, since humans can contract hookworms and roundworms. It's also important to eliminate fleas and to not feed your pet rodents or uncooked meat or fish. To prevent re-infection, clean up stools on a daily basis. Consult your veterinarian for pregnant or lactating dogs.

Brand Name:

Sentinel (Merck)

Generic Name:

Milbemycin Oxime (mil-beh-my-sin ox-eem) and Lufenuron (lew-fen-your-on)

What is the most important information I should know about Sentinel?

Sentinel is a prescription medication FDA-approved for use in dogs. Sentinel is available as artificial beef flavored (derived from pork and soy protein) chewable tablets. This medication should be given once a month year-round.

What should I discuss with my veterinarian before giving Sentinel to my pet?

Tell your veterinarian if your pet has ever had an allergic reaction to the medication.

How should Sentinel be given?

Give Sentinel exactly as directed by your veterinarian. If you do not understand the directions ask your pharmacist or veterinarian to explain them to you. The usual dose of Sentinel for dogs 2 to 10 pounds is 1 Flavor Tab every month (Brown Box), 11 to 25 pounds is 1 Flavor Tab every month (Green Box), 26 to 50 pounds is 1 Flavor Tab every month (Yellow Box) and 51 to 100 pounds is 1 Flavor Tab every month (White Box). For dogs over 100 pounds give the appropriate combination of tablets. To ensure adequate absorption, always administer Sentinel to dogs immediately after or in conjunction with a normal meal. Heartworm testing should be performed prior to the start of prevention therapy. If your pet is off Sentinel for 6 months or less, re-start the medication and test after 6 months since microfilaria, that take 6 months to mature, will result in a positive test result. Store Sentinel in a dry place at controlled room temperature, between 59-77F (15-25 C). Do not remove the tablet from its wrapper until ready to give the medicine. Keep this medication away from children and pets. Consult your veterinarian for pregnant or lactating dogs.

What are the possible side effects of Sentinel?

Side effects of Sentinel are rare although some pets may exhibit vomiting, depression, drowsiness, itching, hives, loss of appetite, diarrhea, or seizures, hypersalivation, and weakness. If these or other symptoms develop contact your veterinarian.

What happens if I miss giving a dose of Sentinel?

If a dose is missed and a 30-day interval between dosing is exceeded, administer Sentinel immediately and resume the monthly dosing schedule. If Sentinel replaces daily diethylcarbamazine (DEC) for heartworm prevention, the first dose must be given within 30 days after the last dose of DEC.

What happens if I overdose my pet on Sentinel?

Contact your veterinarian immediately.

What should I avoid while giving Sentinel to my pet?

Because humans can contract hookworms and roundworms from pets, it is important to maintain good personal hygiene. It is also important to eliminate fleas on your pet and in the household.

What other drugs will affect Sentinel?

While Sentinel is safe to use in dogs at risk for MDRI-allele mutation (Australian Shepherds, Collies, Shelties, etc.), unless tested normal, caution is advised if your pet is also being given amiodarone (Cordarone), azole antifungals such as ketoconazole, carvedilol (Coreg), cyclosporine (Atopica), diltiazem (Cardizem), erythromycin (Ery-Tabs) or clarithromycin (Biaxin), quinidine, spironolactone (Aldactone), tamoxifen, and verapamil (Calan). Do not give Sentinel to your pet if already giving an alternate heartworm medication.

Sentinel Directions:

  • Give Sentinel Flavor Tabs once a month on the same day of each month year-round.
  • Sentinel Flavor Tabs is for use in dogs only. Do not give to cats.
  • Watch your dog closely following dosing to be sure the entire dose has been swallowed. If it is not completely swallowed, give one more full recommended dose as soon as possible.
  • To ensure adequate absorption, always administer Sentinel to dogs immediately after or in conjunction with a normal meal.
  • Sentinel has no effect on adult fleas, but controls flea populations by breaking the flea life cycle at the egg stage.
  • To speed control of flea infestation, products that kill adult fleas like Capstar Flea Treatment Tablets may be used temporarily with Sentinel depending on the severity of the infestation.
  • Treatment may begin at any time of the year.
  • It is important to treat all dogs in the household for fleas. Cats in the same household should be treated with approved products for heartworm prevention for cats.
Tip:

Do not remove Sentinel from its wrapper until ready to give to your pet.

Sentinel Dosage for Dogs/puppies: (4+ weeks of age, weighing 2+ lbs)

Dogs/puppies: (4+ weeks of age, weighing 2+ lbs)
WeightDosage
2-10 lbsGive 1 Flavor Tab every month (Brown Box)
11-25 lbsGive 1 Flavor Tab every month (Green Box)
26-50 lbsGive 1 Flavor Tab every month (Yellow Box)
51-100 lbsGive 1 Flavor Tab every month (White Box)
Over 100 lbsGive combination of Flavor Tabs based on weight
Sentinel Dosage for Cats:
Cats
Do not use!
Sentinel Dosage for Horses:
Horses
Do not use!

Storage:

Should be stored at room temperature between 59° and 77° F.

Sentinel for Dogs Ingredients:

Sentinel Brown for Dogs 2-10 lbs:
Active Ingredient (per tablet)Amount
Milbemycin Oxime2.3 mg
Lufenuron46 mg
Sentinel Green for Dogs 11-25 lbs:
Active Ingredient (per tablet)Amount
Milbemycin Oxime5.75 mg
Lufenuron115 mg
Sentinel Yellow for Dogs 26-50 lbs:
Active Ingredient (per tablet)Amount
Milbemycin Oxime11.5 mg
Lufenuron230 mg
Sentinel White for Dogs 51-100 lbs:
Active Ingredient (per tablet)Amount
Milbemycin Oxime23 mg
Lufenuron460 mg

What is Sentinel?

Sentinel is the only monthly oral preventive that guards against heartworms, adult roundworms, adult hookworms, whipworms, and prevents the development of flea eggs. Sentinel requires a prescription from your veterinarian.

For:

Dogs and Puppies (4+ weeks of age, weighing 2+ lbs)

Benefits:

  • Comes in palatable flavored tabs
  • Easy to administer just once a month

How does Sentinel work?

Milbemycin oxime eliminates the tissue stage of heartworm larvae and the adult stage of hookworm, roundworm, and whipworm infestations. Lufenuron, the other active ingredient, is an insect development inhibitor that breaks the flea life cycle by inhibiting egg development. Lufenuron prevents most flea eggs from hatching or maturing into adults and thus prevents and controls flea populations by breaking the life cycle.

Cautions:

Side effects are rare, though some pets may exhibit vomiting, depression, drowsiness, itching, hives, loss of appetite, diarrhea, or seizures, hypersalivation, and weakness. If these or other symptoms develop contact your veterinarian. It's important to maintain good personal hygiene, since humans can contract hookworms and roundworms. It's also important to eliminate fleas and to not feed your pet rodents or uncooked meat or fish. To prevent re-infection, clean up stools on a daily basis. Consult your veterinarian for pregnant or lactating dogs.

Brand Name:

Sentinel (Merck)

Generic Name:

Milbemycin Oxime (mil-beh-my-sin ox-eem) and Lufenuron (lew-fen-your-on)

What is the most important information I should know about Sentinel?

Sentinel is a prescription medication FDA-approved for use in dogs. Sentinel is available as artificial beef flavored (derived from pork and soy protein) chewable tablets. This medication should be given once a month year-round.

What should I discuss with my veterinarian before giving Sentinel to my pet?

Tell your veterinarian if your pet has ever had an allergic reaction to the medication.

How should Sentinel be given?

Give Sentinel exactly as directed by your veterinarian. If you do not understand the directions ask your pharmacist or veterinarian to explain them to you. The usual dose of Sentinel for dogs 2 to 10 pounds is 1 Flavor Tab every month (Brown Box), 11 to 25 pounds is 1 Flavor Tab every month (Green Box), 26 to 50 pounds is 1 Flavor Tab every month (Yellow Box) and 51 to 100 pounds is 1 Flavor Tab every month (White Box). For dogs over 100 pounds give the appropriate combination of tablets. To ensure adequate absorption, always administer Sentinel to dogs immediately after or in conjunction with a normal meal. Heartworm testing should be performed prior to the start of prevention therapy. If your pet is off Sentinel for 6 months or less, re-start the medication and test after 6 months since microfilaria, that take 6 months to mature, will result in a positive test result. Store Sentinel in a dry place at controlled room temperature, between 59-77F (15-25 C). Do not remove the tablet from its wrapper until ready to give the medicine. Keep this medication away from children and pets. Consult your veterinarian for pregnant or lactating dogs.

What are the possible side effects of Sentinel?

Side effects of Sentinel are rare although some pets may exhibit vomiting, depression, drowsiness, itching, hives, loss of appetite, diarrhea, or seizures, hypersalivation, and weakness. If these or other symptoms develop contact your veterinarian.

What happens if I miss giving a dose of Sentinel?

If a dose is missed and a 30-day interval between dosing is exceeded, administer Sentinel immediately and resume the monthly dosing schedule. If Sentinel replaces daily diethylcarbamazine (DEC) for heartworm prevention, the first dose must be given within 30 days after the last dose of DEC.

What happens if I overdose my pet on Sentinel?

Contact your veterinarian immediately.

What should I avoid while giving Sentinel to my pet?

Because humans can contract hookworms and roundworms from pets, it is important to maintain good personal hygiene. It is also important to eliminate fleas on your pet and in the household.

What other drugs will affect Sentinel?

While Sentinel is safe to use in dogs at risk for MDRI-allele mutation (Australian Shepherds, Collies, Shelties, etc.), unless tested normal, caution is advised if your pet is also being given amiodarone (Cordarone), azole antifungals such as ketoconazole, carvedilol (Coreg), cyclosporine (Atopica), diltiazem (Cardizem), erythromycin (Ery-Tabs) or clarithromycin (Biaxin), quinidine, spironolactone (Aldactone), tamoxifen, and verapamil (Calan). Do not give Sentinel to your pet if already giving an alternate heartworm medication.

Sentinel Directions:

  • Give Sentinel Flavor Tabs once a month on the same day of each month year-round.
  • Sentinel Flavor Tabs is for use in dogs only. Do not give to cats.
  • Watch your dog closely following dosing to be sure the entire dose has been swallowed. If it is not completely swallowed, give one more full recommended dose as soon as possible.
  • To ensure adequate absorption, always administer Sentinel to dogs immediately after or in conjunction with a normal meal.
  • Sentinel has no effect on adult fleas, but controls flea populations by breaking the flea life cycle at the egg stage.
  • To speed control of flea infestation, products that kill adult fleas like Capstar Flea Treatment Tablets may be used temporarily with Sentinel depending on the severity of the infestation.
  • Treatment may begin at any time of the year.
  • It is important to treat all dogs in the household for fleas. Cats in the same household should be treated with approved products for heartworm prevention for cats.
Tip:

Do not remove Sentinel from its wrapper until ready to give to your pet.

Sentinel Dosage for Dogs/puppies: (4+ weeks of age, weighing 2+ lbs)

Dogs/puppies: (4+ weeks of age, weighing 2+ lbs)
WeightDosage
2-10 lbsGive 1 Flavor Tab every month (Brown Box)
11-25 lbsGive 1 Flavor Tab every month (Green Box)
26-50 lbsGive 1 Flavor Tab every month (Yellow Box)
51-100 lbsGive 1 Flavor Tab every month (White Box)
Over 100 lbsGive combination of Flavor Tabs based on weight
Sentinel Dosage for Cats:
Cats
Do not use!
Sentinel Dosage for Horses:
Horses
Do not use!

Storage:

Should be stored at room temperature between 59° and 77° F.

Sentinel for Dogs Ingredients:

Sentinel Brown for Dogs 2-10 lbs:
Active Ingredient (per tablet)Amount
Milbemycin Oxime2.3 mg
Lufenuron46 mg
Sentinel Green for Dogs 11-25 lbs:
Active Ingredient (per tablet)Amount
Milbemycin Oxime5.75 mg
Lufenuron115 mg
Sentinel Yellow for Dogs 26-50 lbs:
Active Ingredient (per tablet)Amount
Milbemycin Oxime11.5 mg
Lufenuron230 mg
Sentinel White for Dogs 51-100 lbs:
Active Ingredient (per tablet)Amount
Milbemycin Oxime23 mg
Lufenuron460 mg