15% OFFCoupon Code:
SAVE15
Expires in:
days hrs min secs
 15% OFF w/code
SAVE15
Expires in:
days hrs min secs
My Account
Errors:

Sentinel

Rx Info
1. We'll ask for your vet's info during checkout.
2. We verify your prescription and ship your order!
Close
Starts $53.74 $37.64 
Ships in one business day or less
1
Select Pet's Weight:
Dog
02-10 lbs
11-25 lbs
26-50 lbs
51-100 lbs
2
Select a Supply:
6 pack
$53.74
$44.28
$37.64
Price w/coupon SAVE15
12 pack
$99.98
$82.38
$70.02
Price w/coupon SAVE15
Free Shipping
Save $5 over 6 pk
Starts $53.74 $37.64 
Ships in one business day or less
Please select all product options.
3
Select a Quantity:
Quantity
Please select all product options.
Product Info
How to Use
Ingredients
Customer Reviews
Q&A
Product Info

What is Sentinel?

Sentinel is the only monthly oral preventive that guards against heartworms, adult roundworms, adult hookworms, whipworms, and prevents the development of flea eggs. Sentinel requires a prescription from your veterinarian.

NOTE: Sentinel does not kill adult fleas. If you see fleas on your pet, use Capstar Flea Treatment Tablets to quickly kill adult fleas within 30 minutes of administration.

For:

Dogs and Puppies (4+ weeks of age, weighing 2+ lbs)

Benefits:

  • Comes in palatable flavored tabs
  • Easy to administer just once a month

How does Sentinel work?

Milbemycin oxime eliminates the tissue stage of heartworm larvae and the adult stage of hookworm, roundworm, and whipworm infestations. Lufenuron, the other active ingredient, is an insect development inhibitor that breaks the flea life cycle by inhibiting egg development. Lufenuron prevents most flea eggs from hatching or maturing into adults and thus prevents and controls flea populations by breaking the life cycle. Sentinel may be given along with Capstar Flea Treatment Tablets, which treats flea infestation and kills adult fleas.

Cautions:

Side effects are rare, though some pets may exhibit vomiting, depression, drowsiness, itching, hives, loss of appetite, diarrhea, or seizures, hypersalivation, and weakness. If these or other symptoms develop contact your veterinarian. It's important to maintain good personal hygiene, since humans can contract hookworms and roundworms. It's also important to eliminate fleas and to not feed your pet rodents or uncooked meat or fish. To prevent re-infection, clean up stools on a daily basis. Consult your veterinarian for pregnant or lactating dogs.

Brand Name:

Sentinel (Virbac)

Generic Name:

Milbemycin Oxime (mil-beh-my-sin ox-eem) and Lufenuron (lew-fen-your-on)

What is the most important information I should know about Sentinel?

Sentinel is a prescription medication FDA-approved for use in dogs. Sentinel is available as artificial beef flavored (derived from pork and soy protein) chewable tablets. This medication should be given once a month year-round.

What should I discuss with my veterinarian before giving Sentinel to my pet?

Tell your veterinarian if your pet has ever had an allergic reaction to the medication.

How should Sentinel be given?

Give Sentinel exactly as directed by your veterinarian. If you do not understand the directions ask your pharmacist or veterinarian to explain them to you. The usual dose of Sentinel for dogs 2 to 10 pounds is 1 Flavor Tab every month (Brown Box), 11 to 25 pounds is 1 Flavor Tab every month (Green Box), 26 to 50 pounds is 1 Flavor Tab every month (Yellow Box) and 51 to 100 pounds is 1 Flavor Tab every month (White Box). For dogs over 100 pounds give the appropriate combination of tablets. To ensure adequate absorption, always administer Sentinel to dogs immediately after or in conjunction with a normal meal. Heartworm testing should be performed prior to the start of prevention therapy. If your pet is off Sentinel for 6 months or less, re-start the medication and test after 6 months since microfilaria, that take 6 months to mature, will result in a positive test result. Store Sentinel in a dry place at controlled room temperature, between 59-77F (15-25 C). Do not remove the tablet from its wrapper until ready to give the medicine. Keep this medication away from children and pets. Consult your veterinarian for pregnant or lactating dogs.

What are the possible side effects of Sentinel?

Side effects of Sentinel are rare although some pets may exhibit vomiting, depression, drowsiness, itching, hives, loss of appetite, diarrhea, or seizures, hypersalivation, and weakness. If these or other symptoms develop contact your veterinarian.

What happens if I miss giving a dose of Sentinel?

If a dose is missed and a 30-day interval between dosing is exceeded, administer Sentinel immediately and resume the monthly dosing schedule. If Sentinel replaces daily diethylcarbamazine (DEC) for heartworm prevention, the first dose must be given within 30 days after the last dose of DEC.

What happens if I overdose my pet on Sentinel?

Contact your veterinarian immediately.

What should I avoid while giving Sentinel to my pet?

Because humans can contract hookworms and roundworms from pets, it is important to maintain good personal hygiene. It is also important to eliminate fleas on your pet and in the household.

What other drugs will affect Sentinel?

While Sentinel is safe to use in dogs at risk for MDRI-allele mutation (Australian Shepherds, Collies, Shelties, etc.), unless tested normal, caution is advised if your pet is also being given amiodarone (Cordarone), azole antifungals such as ketoconazole, carvedilol (Coreg), cyclosporine (Atopica), diltiazem (Cardizem), erythromycin (Ery-Tabs) or clarithromycin (Biaxin), quinidine, spironolactone (Aldactone), tamoxifen, and verapamil (Calan). Do not give Sentinel to your pet if already giving an alternate heartworm medication.

How to Use
Directions:
  • Give Sentinel Flavor Tabs once a month on the same day of each month year-round.
  • Sentinel Flavor Tabs is for use in dogs only. Do not give to cats.
  • Watch your dog closely following dosing to be sure the entire dose has been swallowed. If it is not completely swallowed, give one more full recommended dose as soon as possible.
  • To ensure adequate absorption, always administer Sentinel to dogs immediately after or in conjunction with a normal meal.
  • Sentinel has no effect on adult fleas, but controls flea populations by breaking the flea life cycle at the egg stage.
  • To speed control of flea infestation, products that kill adult fleas like Capstar Flea Treatment Tablets may be used temporarily with Sentinel depending on the severity of the infestation.
  • Treatment may begin at any time of the year.
  • It is important to treat all dogs in the household for fleas. Cats in the same household should be treated with approved products for heartworm prevention for cats.
Tip:

Do not remove Sentinel from its wrapper until ready to give to your pet.

Dosage:
Dogs/puppies: (4+ weeks of age, weighing 2+ lbs)
Weight
Dosage
2-10 lbs
Give 1 Flavor Tab every month (Brown Box)
11-25 lbs
Give 1 Flavor Tab every month (Green Box)
26-50 lbs
Give 1 Flavor Tab every month (Yellow Box)
51-100 lbs
Give 1 Flavor Tab every month (White Box)
Over 100 lbs
Give combination of Flavor Tabs based on weight
Cats:
Do not use!
Horses:
Do not use!
Storage:

Should be stored at room temperature between 59° and 77° F.

Ingredients
Sentinel Brown for Dogs 2-10 lbs:
Active Ingredient (per tablet)
Amount
Milbemycin Oxime
2.3 mg
Lufenuron
46 mg
Sentinel Green for Dogs 11-25 lbs:
Active Ingredient (per tablet)
Amount
Milbemycin Oxime
5.75 mg
Lufenuron
115 mg
Sentinel Yellow for Dogs 26-50 lbs:
Active Ingredient (per tablet)
Amount
Milbemycin Oxime
11.5 mg
Lufenuron
230 mg
Sentinel White for Dogs 51-100 lbs:
Active Ingredient (per tablet)
Amount
Milbemycin Oxime
23 mg
Lufenuron
460 mg
Customer Reviews
Sentinel is rated 4.4 out of 5 by 717.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product! My dog has been on this for 3 years now, and has no side affects.
Date published: 2017-02-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My chihuahua has been on Sentinel for many years and is doing well on it. It is difficult to give him pills and since Sentinal is a small pill I can cut it in half and hide it in his food.
Date published: 2017-02-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great, cost effective product I love Sentinel and have used it for years with my other dogs. It is much more inexpensive than other products and works great for our fur family!
Date published: 2017-02-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Ruff on fleas! No fleas on my dog since we've been using Sentinel once every month. It's easy to give - I wrap Papillon's in a bit of his favorite cheese, and down it goes. It's a joy not to see him scratching anymore. And Sentinel takes care of heart worms too!
Date published: 2017-02-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great doing business with 1-800 PetMeds..... We have used Sentinel with our pups for several years when my Vet stopped carrying it. We ordered from 1-800 PetMeds and were pleasantly surprised that not only did they carry it, it was significantly less expensive. Better yet,the staff is cordial and easy to work with.
Date published: 2017-02-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Product. Great service from PetMeds We have used Sentinel for years for our mini Schnauzer with success. Recently it was time for her refill and vet's heart worm exam while we were moving from NC to SC. her 15th each month application for Sentinel was quickly approaching. By the time we had moved and found our baby's new vet it was the 14th. The prescription was called into Pet Meds. They contacted me to let me know they would FedEx overnight the med so we could maintain our baby's med schedule. Folks, Pet Meds is as dedicated to our K9 babies as much as we are.
Date published: 2017-01-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very satisfactory product. I have used Sentinel for many years. I am pleased with the product, but in the summer months I usually use another product that contains a tick med along with the flea meds in sentinel. The price is right and results are super. Haven't had a flea for years. Thank you.
Date published: 2017-01-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Product Sentinel is a great product it covers more than heart worms I have tried others and prefer sentinel over the rest as I have 5 dogs. Would highly recommend it to others. My small dogs don't eat pills, sentinel is mall enough to force them to take. Big dogs swallow them like there candy.
Date published: 2017-01-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Sentinel I have been using Sentinel for a while now. I really like this product as it covers more than a prevention for heartworms, but it covers worms and flea's as well. This product gets rid of most worms except for tape worms. It is very easy to give to your pet, they usually love the flavor and it is done monthly. I recommend this product to any pet owner.
Date published: 2017-01-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Sentinel does it's job. We have used Sentinel since it first became available. All four dogs have never had a flea or heart worm. We will continue to buy.
Date published: 2017-01-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from the best this is the best cheap flea prevention I've found yet
Date published: 2016-12-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy to use, so far don't see side effects My 4month maltipoo has been on it for a month now there haven't been any side effects so huge sigh of relief. It was easy to give i gave it along with some of his food during mealtime.
Date published: 2016-12-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fast shipping. Easy shopping. Friendly Buying RX on line was easy. Worked with my Vet quickly preventing me from bad weather driving. Product keep my dogs free from heart worms and many other pesky parasites. Easy to use. Palatable they think they are treats. Can't think of another product that offers better protection. Thanks Pet Meds.
Date published: 2016-12-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I have been using Sentinel for over a year now. Our Marley does great with it. When we got her she had heart worm and had to be treated for it, she is has been heart worm free. I strongly suggest that you have your furry one on Sentinel. 1800petmed is great in keeping you updated when renewal is needed. Sincerely The Merrills
Date published: 2016-12-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Sentinel and 1800 Pet Meds Bruce has always been on Sentinel, so I know no different, but my vet recommended it and Bruce hasn't had any issues since. We're happy!
Date published: 2016-12-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Izzy They don't carry this at our vets in Beaufort, SC. So we get it off line.
Date published: 2016-11-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product! My dog loves it! It works great and using 800-Pet-Meds makes it so affordable! I will recommend it to all my friends.
Date published: 2016-11-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy ordering and way better prices! My dogs have never had any problems with worms because they take this. Quick and reliable service! Prices are better than the vets office and fast shipping. They also stay on it when needing the vets prescription!
Date published: 2016-11-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Flea free I have used Sentinal on my two Schnauzers for 3 to 4 years now. It works great to prevent heartworms & keeps them & our home flea free. If you have a flea 'infestation,' you will need a different approach.
Date published: 2016-11-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy Ordering Process and Fast Shipping First time ordering for PetMeds. Mailed in my prescription, and item was packaged and shipped the day it arrived. I also received it several days earlier than expected. The kicker is I payed almost $15 dollars less than it would have cost me at the vet.
Date published: 2016-11-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works! We have used Sentinel for several years and there has never been a flea problem. Seems less toxic to Duke than some of the alternative flea medicines. Since heartworm would be fatal, we feel better including that protection.
Date published: 2016-11-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from So easy! My dog just takes it like a treat! It works great and using 800-Pet-Meds makes it so affordable!
Date published: 2016-10-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from So Great! I have a 1year old Terrier on Sentinel and our 13 year old Mini Schnauzer on it also. Have never had any problems with any worms, heart worms or fleas. Great results and great price.
Date published: 2016-10-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Product I have always kept all our Shihtzus on Sentinel. It works great. Have never had any problems, and not only does it work great to prevent heart worms, they have NEVER had fleas, etc. Sentinel does exactly what it says it will do. I purchase it through 1-800-PetMeds as our wonderful vet does not carry it anymore.
Date published: 2016-10-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great place! I am always satisfied purchasing from here
Date published: 2016-10-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great stuff and it's cheap Every time I go to the vet they try to talk me into some new more expensive retro heartworm medication that only takes care of heartworm and I always tell them sentinel has been around for years just like ibuprofen and it works. Also takes care of fleas too you can't beat that(not the ibuprofen of course). Great product I've been using it for over five years on all my animals and I've never had a problem and I think it works out to about eight dollars a dose for fleas and heartworm find something that beats that please let me know thanks sentinel!
Date published: 2016-10-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great price I bought this 3 weeks ago and it was a good choice as I have saved money. That's wonderful. I also bought thyroid mess too and saved money doing that too! Great place to buy what you need.
Date published: 2016-10-17
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Does not work! So this med promised to curb flea eggs by acting as birth control during a fleas cycle. That never happened. Returning the product. Will be switching to Revolution and give that a go.
Date published: 2016-10-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Missy Tiney an daisy I've had my dogs in sentinel for 20+ yrs and never once had fleas. Great product.
Date published: 2016-10-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works as it should! Trifexis isn't an option for our dog since she vomits right after we give it to her. She has no problems tolerating Sentinel. As other have noted, it's only effective at killing flea eggs. In the flea season, we use a topical treatment like K9 Advantix in addition to the Sentinel. Excellent combo.
Date published: 2016-09-30
  • y_2017, m_3, d_21, h_15
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_1.0.0
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_10, tr_707
  • loc_en_US, sid_prod10118, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_1800petmeds
Q&A
Sentinel is rated 4.4 out of 5 by 717.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product! My dog has been on this for 3 years now, and has no side affects.
Date published: 2017-02-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My chihuahua has been on Sentinel for many years and is doing well on it. It is difficult to give him pills and since Sentinal is a small pill I can cut it in half and hide it in his food.
Date published: 2017-02-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great, cost effective product I love Sentinel and have used it for years with my other dogs. It is much more inexpensive than other products and works great for our fur family!
Date published: 2017-02-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Ruff on fleas! No fleas on my dog since we've been using Sentinel once every month. It's easy to give - I wrap Papillon's in a bit of his favorite cheese, and down it goes. It's a joy not to see him scratching anymore. And Sentinel takes care of heart worms too!
Date published: 2017-02-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great doing business with 1-800 PetMeds..... We have used Sentinel with our pups for several years when my Vet stopped carrying it. We ordered from 1-800 PetMeds and were pleasantly surprised that not only did they carry it, it was significantly less expensive. Better yet,the staff is cordial and easy to work with.
Date published: 2017-02-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Product. Great service from PetMeds We have used Sentinel for years for our mini Schnauzer with success. Recently it was time for her refill and vet's heart worm exam while we were moving from NC to SC. her 15th each month application for Sentinel was quickly approaching. By the time we had moved and found our baby's new vet it was the 14th. The prescription was called into Pet Meds. They contacted me to let me know they would FedEx overnight the med so we could maintain our baby's med schedule. Folks, Pet Meds is as dedicated to our K9 babies as much as we are.
Date published: 2017-01-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very satisfactory product. I have used Sentinel for many years. I am pleased with the product, but in the summer months I usually use another product that contains a tick med along with the flea meds in sentinel. The price is right and results are super. Haven't had a flea for years. Thank you.
Date published: 2017-01-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Product Sentinel is a great product it covers more than heart worms I have tried others and prefer sentinel over the rest as I have 5 dogs. Would highly recommend it to others. My small dogs don't eat pills, sentinel is mall enough to force them to take. Big dogs swallow them like there candy.
Date published: 2017-01-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Sentinel I have been using Sentinel for a while now. I really like this product as it covers more than a prevention for heartworms, but it covers worms and flea's as well. This product gets rid of most worms except for tape worms. It is very easy to give to your pet, they usually love the flavor and it is done monthly. I recommend this product to any pet owner.
Date published: 2017-01-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Sentinel does it's job. We have used Sentinel since it first became available. All four dogs have never had a flea or heart worm. We will continue to buy.
Date published: 2017-01-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from the best this is the best cheap flea prevention I've found yet
Date published: 2016-12-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy to use, so far don't see side effects My 4month maltipoo has been on it for a month now there haven't been any side effects so huge sigh of relief. It was easy to give i gave it along with some of his food during mealtime.
Date published: 2016-12-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fast shipping. Easy shopping. Friendly Buying RX on line was easy. Worked with my Vet quickly preventing me from bad weather driving. Product keep my dogs free from heart worms and many other pesky parasites. Easy to use. Palatable they think they are treats. Can't think of another product that offers better protection. Thanks Pet Meds.
Date published: 2016-12-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I have been using Sentinel for over a year now. Our Marley does great with it. When we got her she had heart worm and had to be treated for it, she is has been heart worm free. I strongly suggest that you have your furry one on Sentinel. 1800petmed is great in keeping you updated when renewal is needed. Sincerely The Merrills
Date published: 2016-12-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Sentinel and 1800 Pet Meds Bruce has always been on Sentinel, so I know no different, but my vet recommended it and Bruce hasn't had any issues since. We're happy!
Date published: 2016-12-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Izzy They don't carry this at our vets in Beaufort, SC. So we get it off line.
Date published: 2016-11-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product! My dog loves it! It works great and using 800-Pet-Meds makes it so affordable! I will recommend it to all my friends.
Date published: 2016-11-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy ordering and way better prices! My dogs have never had any problems with worms because they take this. Quick and reliable service! Prices are better than the vets office and fast shipping. They also stay on it when needing the vets prescription!
Date published: 2016-11-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Flea free I have used Sentinal on my two Schnauzers for 3 to 4 years now. It works great to prevent heartworms & keeps them & our home flea free. If you have a flea 'infestation,' you will need a different approach.
Date published: 2016-11-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy Ordering Process and Fast Shipping First time ordering for PetMeds. Mailed in my prescription, and item was packaged and shipped the day it arrived. I also received it several days earlier than expected. The kicker is I payed almost $15 dollars less than it would have cost me at the vet.
Date published: 2016-11-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works! We have used Sentinel for several years and there has never been a flea problem. Seems less toxic to Duke than some of the alternative flea medicines. Since heartworm would be fatal, we feel better including that protection.
Date published: 2016-11-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from So easy! My dog just takes it like a treat! It works great and using 800-Pet-Meds makes it so affordable!
Date published: 2016-10-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from So Great! I have a 1year old Terrier on Sentinel and our 13 year old Mini Schnauzer on it also. Have never had any problems with any worms, heart worms or fleas. Great results and great price.
Date published: 2016-10-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Product I have always kept all our Shihtzus on Sentinel. It works great. Have never had any problems, and not only does it work great to prevent heart worms, they have NEVER had fleas, etc. Sentinel does exactly what it says it will do. I purchase it through 1-800-PetMeds as our wonderful vet does not carry it anymore.
Date published: 2016-10-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great place! I am always satisfied purchasing from here
Date published: 2016-10-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great stuff and it's cheap Every time I go to the vet they try to talk me into some new more expensive retro heartworm medication that only takes care of heartworm and I always tell them sentinel has been around for years just like ibuprofen and it works. Also takes care of fleas too you can't beat that(not the ibuprofen of course). Great product I've been using it for over five years on all my animals and I've never had a problem and I think it works out to about eight dollars a dose for fleas and heartworm find something that beats that please let me know thanks sentinel!
Date published: 2016-10-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great price I bought this 3 weeks ago and it was a good choice as I have saved money. That's wonderful. I also bought thyroid mess too and saved money doing that too! Great place to buy what you need.
Date published: 2016-10-17
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Does not work! So this med promised to curb flea eggs by acting as birth control during a fleas cycle. That never happened. Returning the product. Will be switching to Revolution and give that a go.
Date published: 2016-10-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Missy Tiney an daisy I've had my dogs in sentinel for 20+ yrs and never once had fleas. Great product.
Date published: 2016-10-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works as it should! Trifexis isn't an option for our dog since she vomits right after we give it to her. She has no problems tolerating Sentinel. As other have noted, it's only effective at killing flea eggs. In the flea season, we use a topical treatment like K9 Advantix in addition to the Sentinel. Excellent combo.
Date published: 2016-09-30
  • y_2017, m_3, d_21, h_15
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_1.0.0
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_10, tr_707
  • loc_en_US, sid_prod10118, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_1800petmeds
Close
Share Website Feedback
Name:
Email:
Phone:
Feedback: