NexGard Chewables

5 out of 5 Customer Rating
NexGard Chewables is rated 4.7 out of 5 by 910.
  • y_2020, m_8, d_3, h_15
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.10
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_9, tr_901
  • loc_en_US, sid_prod10356, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_1800petmeds
  • bvseo_sdk, dw_cartridge, 18.2.0, p_sdk_3.2.0
  • CLOUD, getAggregateRating, 48ms
  • reviews, product
1. We'll ask for your vet's info during checkout.
2. We verify your prescription and ship your order!
Close
Starts $84.27 $58.99
Most orders ship the same day

NexGard Chewables

5 out of 5 Customer Rating
NexGard Chewables is rated 4.7 out of 5 by 910.
  • y_2020, m_8, d_3, h_15
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.10
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_9, tr_901
  • loc_en_US, sid_prod10356, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_1800petmeds
  • bvseo_sdk, dw_cartridge, 18.2.0, p_sdk_3.2.0
  • CLOUD, getAggregateRating, 48ms
  • reviews, product
Starts $84.27 $58.99
Most orders ship the same day
Dog

Reviews

Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product. Vet recommended.
Date published: 2020-05-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great service I bought the chewables because Mistys coat is so thick that I worried the liquid wasn’t getting into her skin. She took the chewable just fine and I’m more confident that it will work. I plan on using PetMeds for all of Misty’s health needs.
Date published: 2020-05-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from It works I’ve used this product for a long time and it’s the best thing on the market to get rid of fleas and ticks. They will not tolerate this medicine
Date published: 2020-05-22
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Happy dogs! We just moved and I found a tick on my dog!. I always used NexGard, but we stopped 4 moth ago. Now I know way I love nexgard, the easy way of protecting them.
Date published: 2020-05-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great price Bought for my German Shepherd and am very happy that I checked this out. Cheapest I found.
Date published: 2020-05-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from
Date published: 2020-05-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good stuff I have a four pound yorkie who has a reaction to spot flea medicine. I started using NexGard and she tolerates it wonderfully, no reaction.
Date published: 2020-05-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works great I bought this a few weeks ago after trying the otc drops. Nothing worked. This is great worked right away and no side effects either. They all had the seresto collar unfortunately it doesn’t work anymore against the fleas here.
Date published: 2020-05-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Second order This is the second time using these. My dog got Lyme disease. Terrible thing to watch. When she got better I Put her on these and have never seen a tick or flea on her since. I love 1800 pet meds.
Date published: 2020-05-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Always very good and on time Recommend it
Date published: 2020-05-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from So much better I used to swear by the seresto collar for my 6yr old black lab until all of his hair around his eye and muzzle began to fall out he became miserable. A vet recommended nextgaurd so I tried because I couldn’t keep paying for meds that weren’t helping him. He and I are so happy now his hair grew back beautifully and no more itching thanks to the one vet my baby is a health happy boy again.
Date published: 2020-05-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Have bought these for 3 years now and they are the best! No other product works this good and is so easy.
Date published: 2020-05-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from First time trying this product after asking advice of my Vet. So far, so good. No adverse reactions from any of the 5 Huskies taking NexGard.
Date published: 2020-05-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fast and friendly I ordered from other companies and you just sit and wait. With 1800petmeds they did all the hard work for me. I have been telling my friends and family about them.
Date published: 2020-05-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nexgard chewables Love these..easy ...effective...and no greasiness to deal with .
Date published: 2020-05-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Worth it’s weight in gold! NexGard is the BEST tick prevention on the market. It is expensive but I would pay twice the price because it works! If my yorkie does get a tick, it dies before it can do its damage. I have peace of mind having my dog outside with me. I only wish there was a human tick prevention that worked as good.
Date published: 2020-05-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product Been using this for years without issues. Set reminder in my phone once a month so I don’t forget to give to my pet. They love the taste and think it is a treat. Have not seen any fleas or ticks ever and we live on an acre with lots of trees/woods. Love this product!
Date published: 2020-05-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good product good product. I always give this product chunky and it works 100%.
Date published: 2020-05-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best tick and flea med for our dog Our groomer called us to ask what our dog took. she had been at the lake and had about 18 ticks on her. All were dead and not bite marks from ticks. Nex Gard chewables are the best.
Date published: 2020-05-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent product I've been buying this product works great!
Date published: 2020-05-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product I've been using this product for over a year with great results. I have 3 dogs and they all gobble them down like their getting a treat. The constant scratching is over and I couldn't be happier. With this product, fleas are a thing of the past.
Date published: 2020-05-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Loved by my fur baby I am so happy with NexGard for my Oreo. The tiny chews are the right size that he thinks it is a treat. I am a very happy customer and so is my fur baby. No fleas or ticks and that is awesome for the both of us.
Date published: 2020-05-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I used to have to wrap her pills in peanut butter but she gobbles the Nexgards right down.
Date published: 2020-05-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Protection I tried other flea medications but nothing works as good or fast as the NexGard. It's worth the money, it works as described, but my Lab chews it right down, the Chow Chow hates it so I have to break it in four pieces and give it that way, but at least it's effective and plus the Chow is stubborn anyway.
Date published: 2020-05-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Quick and Convenient It reached out to my vet and the process was quick and convenient especially the fact that covid wasnt allowing regular vet visits, petmeds picked up real good and resolved it
Date published: 2020-04-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My dogs love Nexgard! I discovered NEXGARD after my Australian Cattle Dog, Blue, and Dachshund mix pup, Pride, came down with the absolute worst case of fleas I had ever seen. My vet recommended it, and it was amazing how quickly the medication worked. From that moment on, it's only always been NEXGARD. Blue has since passed and Priss is a grumpy old lady to my newer ACDs, Roscoe and GG. They all receive NEXGARD monthly and love it. It will be the only flea and tick protection I use on my babies!
Date published: 2020-04-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Peace of mind, she's never gotten sick from this. When I was a beginner pet owner I used the liquid stuff and June would lick it even though I did my best to put it where she couldn't get to it. Tried another brand and it had many reviews of dogs getting sick. I buy a 3 pack during tick season or if I think she may have one and not let anyone get to it as she is very sensitive and I know it will kill it. Worth the $.
Date published: 2020-04-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Mitzi ATE these :) I have been using BRAVECTO for quite some time, however, recently Mitzi has completely refused to eat it. We tried everything and no matter how we gave it to her, hid it in the food, etc. she would find it and spit it out. Needed a replacement Flea & Tick med so just tried Nexgard. I gave it to Mitzi on Saturday and she ATE IT! So I'm giving a good rating just in case any other pet owner had this same problem.
Date published: 2020-04-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I got nexgard for my dog he loves it
Date published: 2020-04-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works fast and well! After three different prescription flea medications Nexguard Chewables finally did the trick! Withing 24 hours there is not a flea in sight! She ate it like it was a delicious treat ... that was a major plus! No messy gunk in her fur. Will continue using this for now on!
Date published: 2020-04-26
  • y_2020, m_8, d_3, h_15
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.10
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_9, tr_901
  • loc_en_US, sid_prod10356, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_1800petmeds
  • bvseo_sdk, dw_cartridge, 18.2.0, p_sdk_3.2.0
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 7ms
  • reviews, product

Questions

How many in pack

Asked by: Dixierebel
There are 3 doses in a 3-pack, 6 doses in a 6-pack and 12 doses in a 12-pack. NexGard is given once a month.
Answered by: SuzyCVT
Date published: 2020-06-29

How fast does NexGaed start to work after giving to my dog?

Asked by: Forrest
Thank you for your question. This medication begins to kill fleas after 4 hours and it takes at least 12 hours to start to kill ticks.
Answered by: Crystal RPTechnician
Date published: 2020-06-19

What if a dog eats more than his weight.  We had them on the table for both our dogs and somehow they got to them, we have no idea how much each ingested 

Asked by: Heppe
Please contact your vet or an emergency clinic to be sure your fur baby is ok.
Answered by: Shari PetMed Pro
Date published: 2020-06-17

Can I still order the next card without a prescription from the vet

Asked by: Curls
Unless the prescription contained refills, you will need a prescription every time you order.
Answered by: SuzyCVT
Date published: 2020-06-10

Does this medication also prevent worms?

Asked by: Connor
No. NexGard only treats for fleas and ticks.
Answered by: SuzyCVT
Date published: 2020-06-10

Do this medication require a prescription from veterinarian??

Asked by: Jake
Yes
Answered by: Shari PetMed Pro
Date published: 2020-06-04

What is the safest tick medicine for small dogs?

Asked by: Jojo
I feel the safest tick products are the topicals such as Frontline Plus and K-9 Advantix. Unfortunately, I also feel that they are not as effective as they were 20 years ago. As long as your baby has no history of seizures, a monthly fleas and tick product such as NexGard or Simparica would be my recommendation. Bravecto is also good, but I don't care to use a product that would last 3 months in my dog's system, especially if I was concerned about safety.
Answered by: SuzyCVT
Date published: 2020-06-04

My little chihuahua had her pill 4 days ago. Today she had 8 ticks on her. We pulled them off. Should we have done that or leave them till they eventually die and fall off?? 

Asked by: Jass
It was OK to pull the ticks off your little one since you did see them.
Answered by: SuzyCVT
Date published: 2020-06-04

Can I put a flea collar with nexgard on my dog he is 22lbs

Asked by: Joyce
A flea collar would not be needed if you use NexGard every month.
Answered by: SuzyCVT
Date published: 2020-06-05

I have a 150 pound Great Pyrenees, do I need to give him two pills (60-120 and the 10-24)?

Asked by: Angie
Actually, your large furry friend would need a 60-121 pound dose plus a 24-60 pound dose to cover the remaining 30 pounds not covered by the other pill.
Answered by: SuzyCVT
Date published: 2020-06-05

Does next guard include might infestations

Asked by: Anonymous
NexGard is not labeled for treating for mites.
Answered by: SuzyCVT
Date published: 2020-05-30

What is in a 3-pack? Is that just three pills to cover 3 months? I can't find product information about it on your site. Thanks.

Asked by: Captain
Yes, there are 3 tablets in a 3-pack, just like there are 6 cans of soda in a 6-pack.
Answered by: SuzyCVT
Date published: 2020-05-30

Hello - can we give our dog the lymes vaccine shot and Nexgard at the same time??

Asked by: LeeAnnC
It is OK to vaccinate and administer NexGard at the same time.
Answered by: SuzyCVT
Date published: 2020-05-30

Do I need a prescription?

Asked by: Kathie
Yes
Answered by: Shari PetMed Pro
Date published: 2020-05-28

My puppy vomited an hour after taking nextguard. Does that mean that it won’t be effective ?

Asked by: Ana14
Please contact your veterinarian.
Answered by: Shari PetMed Pro
Date published: 2020-05-28

I thought u were here to save people money I have 4 dogs at the vet it costs me 75.00 a month which equals out to 18.25 a pill. This is at your mark down price. 

Asked by: Michelle14
Veterinarians set their prices due to a variety of reasons. If your vet charges the same as PetMeds, consider yourself lucky. For many people, PetMeds is less expensive, but they still need to charge enough to cover their cost of the medication and to stay in business.
Answered by: SuzyCVT
Date published: 2020-05-22

Do I need a vet prescription ?

Asked by: Abby01
Nexgard requires a prescription approval or an actual prescription prior to dispensing this medication to you. Our pharmacy can contact your veterinarian to obtain the prescription for you prior to shipment.
Answered by: Cherley Petmeds Pro
Date published: 2020-05-20

I have a refill left on my Nexgard prescription. Is there a way to do that on line, or do I need to call it in?

Asked by: kathy
You can do it online. While placing the order online it will still ask for your pet and vet information. That is ok.
Answered by: Shari PetMed Pro
Date published: 2020-05-19

How should I give my dog this product ??? Have tried EVERYTHING I can think of!! HELP PLEASE !! She takes HeartGard like a treat ! LIMITED budget and physical limitations, I must find her another med that prevents the heartworm disease. Thank you!

Asked by: Jane
If your dog readily takes HeartGard, continue using that product for heartworm prevention. If your dog will not take the NexGard, which is for fleas and ticks only, not heartworms, try mixing it with something yummy. Cheese, peanut butter or liverwurst (my personal favorite) are often used to hide medications in.
Answered by: SuzyCVT
Date published: 2020-05-15

How many come in a pack?

Asked by: Dawn
A 3 pack has 3 monthly doses, a 6 pack has 6 monthly doses and a 12 pack has 12 monthly doses.
Answered by: SuzyCVT
Date published: 2020-05-10

My dog is 12 lbs. Do I go with the under 10 or over 10?

Asked by: Jessagogo
Since your dog is 12 pounds (which is over 10 pounds), you need to use the 10-24 pound dose.
Answered by: SuzyCVT
Date published: 2020-05-10

My dog’s weight fluctuates between 9-11 lbs- which should I purchase?

Asked by: Bryanrene
We suggest consulting with your veterinarian. Your veterinarian will have the last say so due to they have to approve the prescription.
Answered by: Shari PetMed Pro
Date published: 2020-05-06

I would like to order NexGard and I have a prescription how do I get this prescription to you?

Asked by: Potter
You can provide your veterinarian’s contact information online for verification purposes or you may mail your pet's prescription to: 1-800-PetMeds® Pharmacy 420 S. Congress Ave Suite 100 Delray Beach, FL 33445 Thank you.
Answered by: Joshua T
Date published: 2020-04-28

Doex Nexguard have a flea only monthly pill? Do not need the tick portion.

Asked by: Ouida 24
Only chewable that only do fleas is Comfortis.
Answered by: Shari PetMed Pro
Date published: 2020-04-28

Is NexGard approved for cats?

Asked by: Nana
Nexgard is only for Dogs.
Answered by: Shari PetMed Pro
Date published: 2020-04-28

Can this be crushed up and given to the dog? My dog won't eat them.

Asked by: tlaw
Yes, it is OK to crush the tablet and mix it with something yummy.
Answered by: SuzyCVT
Date published: 2020-04-24

I'm not sure if i gave my dog NexGard this month. If i did, it would have been 6 days ago. Is it better to give another dose and risk him having 2 in one month or should i wait until next month and potentially skip this month's dose?

Asked by: iforgetliz17
I recommend that you not potentially repeat a dose. Wait until your dog's next scheduled treatment day to give again.
Answered by: SuzyCVT
Date published: 2020-04-25

Can an individual w/a kennel order w/o prescription?

Asked by: Bert
NexGard requires a veterinarian's prescription in all cases.
Answered by: SuzyCVT
Date published: 2020-04-24

Does this repel fleas

Asked by: April
No. It is not a repellent but it is a preventative.
Answered by: Shari PetMed Pro
Date published: 2020-04-23

Where is Nexgard manufactured?  Is it in the United States?

Asked by: Mo20
Manufacture is Merial which is in Georgia.
Answered by: Shari PetMed Pro
Date published: 2020-04-23
  • y_2020, m_8, d_3, h_15CST
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvqa, vn_bulk_3.0.10
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasquestionsanswers, tq_882
  • loc_en_US, sid_prod10356, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=LAST_APPROVED_ANSWER_SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_1800petmeds
  • bvseo_sdk, dw_cartridge, 18.2.0, p_sdk_3.2.0
  • CLOUD, getContent, 55ms
  • questions, product

What are NexGard Chewables?

Protecting your dog from harmful fleas and ticks has never been so easy! NexGard Chewables are a brand new, revolutionary flea and tick preventative from the makers of Frontline®, the #1 choice of veterinarians. It is the first flea and tick killer of its kind because it comes in a yummy, beef-flavored soft chew that protects your dog from a flea and tick infestation for a full 30 days. That means, you don't have to worry anymore about messy topicals, or accidentally washing your dog's preventative off while bathing! Also, it can be taken alongside your dog's heartworm medication, without interruption. NexGard Chewables keep your pet protected from adult fleas by killing them before they have a chance to lay eggs, which reduces the possibility of a flea infestation. Plus, they kill 3 types of ticks (the American dog tick, the black-legged (Deer) tick and the Lone Star tick), which decreases the risk of your pet developing a deadly tick-borne disease. NexGard Chewables require a prescription from your veterinarian.

For:

Dogs and Puppies 8 weeks of age and older

Benefits:

  • First ever flea and tick preventative from the makers of Frontline that comes in a tasty beef-flavored chew
  • No more messy topical preventatives, and no more worrying about washing off your dog's flea protection
  • Safe, effective, FDA-approved, and lasts for 30 days
  • Can be taken alongside heartworm medication

How do NexGard Chewables work?

NexGard Chewables contains a brand new ingredient not used in any other flea and tick protection. Afoxolaner, the ingredient in NexGard Chewables, works by absorbing rapidly and safely into your pet's bloodstream and causes uncontrolled activity the fleas' and ticks' central nervous systems, which causes death. Afoxolaner is slowly excreted through your pet's metabolism, which allows NexGard Chewables to continue to provide effective treatment for a full 30 days. This means amazing protection in a tasty morsel! NexGard Chewables is a prescription-only medication, so talk to your vet.

Cautions:

NexGard Chewables is for use in dogs only. Not for use in humans. Keep this and all drugs out of the reach of children. In case of accidental ingestion, contact a physician immediately. The most frequently reported adverse reactions include vomiting, dry/flaky skin, diarrhea, lethargy, and lack of appetite.

Brand Name:

NexGard Chewables

What is the most important thing I should know about NexGard Chewables?

The active ingredient in NexGard Chewables is Afoxolaner. NexGard Chewables kill adult fleas and are indicated for the treatment and prevention of flea infestations (Ctenocephalides felis), and the treatment and control of the American dog tick (Dermacentor variabilis), black-legged (deer) tick (Ixodes scapularis) and Lone star tick (Amblyomma americanum) infestations in dogs and puppies 8 weeks of age and older, weighing 4 pounds of body weight or greater, for one month.

What should I discuss with my veterinarian before giving NexGard Chewables to my pet?

Tell your veterinarian if your dog is pregnant, lactating or has a history of seizures. The safe use of NexGard Chewables in breeding, pregnant or lactating dogs has not been evaluated. Use with caution in dogs with a history of seizures.

How should NexGard Chewables be given?

NexGard Chewables require a prescription. Give the appropriate dosage based on your dog's weight. (See How to Use). If it is suspected that any of the dose has been lost or if vomiting occurs within two hours of administration redose with another full dose. NexGard Chewables can be administered with or without food. NexGard Chewables should be administered all year round. Treat all the pets in your home to reduce the risk of a flea infestation.

What are the potential side effects of NexGard Chewables?

The most frequently reported adverse reactions include vomiting, dry/flaky skin, diarrhea, lethargy, and lack of appetite. The occurrence of vomiting was generally self-limiting and of short duration and tended to decrease with subsequent doses. There are no known contraindications for the use of NexGard Chewables.

What happens if I miss giving a dose of NexGard Chewables?

If a dose is missed, administer the usual dose of NexGard Chewables and resume a monthly dosing schedule.

What happens if I overdose my pet on NexGard Chewables?

Seek emergency veterinary medical treatment.

What should I avoid while giving NexGard Chewables to my pet?

Avoid giving NexGard Chewables if your pet is pregnant, lactating or has a known history of seizures.

What other drugs will affect NexGard Chewables?

There are no known contraindications for the use of NexGard Chewables.

NexGard Chewables Directions:

  • Administer appropriate dosage per month based on your pet's weight.
  • Talk to your veterinarian for his or her dosage recommendation for your pet.
  • Treatment may begin at any time of the year, and should continue the entire year without interruption.
  • Can be administered with or without food.
  • To reduce the risk of a flea reinfestation, you must treat all pets within your household with NexGard Chewables or an approved flea control product (for cats).
Tip:

For best results, make sure that your dog eats entire chew.

NexGard Chewables Dosage for Dogs:

Dogs/Puppies: (over 8 weeks of age)
Weight Dosage
4-10 lbs Administer one chew
10.1-24 lbs Administer one chew
24.1-60 lbs Administer one chew
60.1-121 lbs Administer one chew
Over 121 lbs Administer the appropriate combination of chewables
NexGard Chewables Dosage for Cats:
Cats
Do not use!
NexGard Chewables Dosage for Horses:
Horses
Do not use!
Storage:

Store at or below 30°C (86°F) with excursions permitted up to 40°C (104°F).

NexGard Chewables Ingredients:

NexGard Chewables for Small Dogs 4-10 lbs Ingredients:
Active Ingredient (per chew) Amount
Afoxolaner 11.3 mg
NexGard Chewables - For Medium Dogs 10.1-24 lbs Ingredients:
Active Ingredient (per chew) Amount
Afoxolaner 28.3 mg
NexGard Chewables - For Large Dogs 24.1-60 lbs Ingredients:
Active Ingredient (per chew) Amount
Afoxolaner 68 mg
NexGard Chewables - For Extra Large Dogs 60-121 lbs Ingredients:
Active Ingredient (per chew) Amount
Afoxolaner 136 mg

What are NexGard Chewables?

Protecting your dog from harmful fleas and ticks has never been so easy! NexGard Chewables are a brand new, revolutionary flea and tick preventative from the makers of Frontline®, the #1 choice of veterinarians. It is the first flea and tick killer of its kind because it comes in a yummy, beef-flavored soft chew that protects your dog from a flea and tick infestation for a full 30 days. That means, you don't have to worry anymore about messy topicals, or accidentally washing your dog's preventative off while bathing! Also, it can be taken alongside your dog's heartworm medication, without interruption. NexGard Chewables keep your pet protected from adult fleas by killing them before they have a chance to lay eggs, which reduces the possibility of a flea infestation. Plus, they kill 3 types of ticks (the American dog tick, the black-legged (Deer) tick and the Lone Star tick), which decreases the risk of your pet developing a deadly tick-borne disease. NexGard Chewables require a prescription from your veterinarian.

For:

Dogs and Puppies 8 weeks of age and older

Benefits:

  • First ever flea and tick preventative from the makers of Frontline that comes in a tasty beef-flavored chew
  • No more messy topical preventatives, and no more worrying about washing off your dog's flea protection
  • Safe, effective, FDA-approved, and lasts for 30 days
  • Can be taken alongside heartworm medication

How do NexGard Chewables work?

NexGard Chewables contains a brand new ingredient not used in any other flea and tick protection. Afoxolaner, the ingredient in NexGard Chewables, works by absorbing rapidly and safely into your pet's bloodstream and causes uncontrolled activity the fleas' and ticks' central nervous systems, which causes death. Afoxolaner is slowly excreted through your pet's metabolism, which allows NexGard Chewables to continue to provide effective treatment for a full 30 days. This means amazing protection in a tasty morsel! NexGard Chewables is a prescription-only medication, so talk to your vet.

Cautions:

NexGard Chewables is for use in dogs only. Not for use in humans. Keep this and all drugs out of the reach of children. In case of accidental ingestion, contact a physician immediately. The most frequently reported adverse reactions include vomiting, dry/flaky skin, diarrhea, lethargy, and lack of appetite.

Brand Name:

NexGard Chewables

What is the most important thing I should know about NexGard Chewables?

The active ingredient in NexGard Chewables is Afoxolaner. NexGard Chewables kill adult fleas and are indicated for the treatment and prevention of flea infestations (Ctenocephalides felis), and the treatment and control of the American dog tick (Dermacentor variabilis), black-legged (deer) tick (Ixodes scapularis) and Lone star tick (Amblyomma americanum) infestations in dogs and puppies 8 weeks of age and older, weighing 4 pounds of body weight or greater, for one month.

What should I discuss with my veterinarian before giving NexGard Chewables to my pet?

Tell your veterinarian if your dog is pregnant, lactating or has a history of seizures. The safe use of NexGard Chewables in breeding, pregnant or lactating dogs has not been evaluated. Use with caution in dogs with a history of seizures.

How should NexGard Chewables be given?

NexGard Chewables require a prescription. Give the appropriate dosage based on your dog's weight. (See How to Use). If it is suspected that any of the dose has been lost or if vomiting occurs within two hours of administration redose with another full dose. NexGard Chewables can be administered with or without food. NexGard Chewables should be administered all year round. Treat all the pets in your home to reduce the risk of a flea infestation.

What are the potential side effects of NexGard Chewables?

The most frequently reported adverse reactions include vomiting, dry/flaky skin, diarrhea, lethargy, and lack of appetite. The occurrence of vomiting was generally self-limiting and of short duration and tended to decrease with subsequent doses. There are no known contraindications for the use of NexGard Chewables.

What happens if I miss giving a dose of NexGard Chewables?

If a dose is missed, administer the usual dose of NexGard Chewables and resume a monthly dosing schedule.

What happens if I overdose my pet on NexGard Chewables?

Seek emergency veterinary medical treatment.

What should I avoid while giving NexGard Chewables to my pet?

Avoid giving NexGard Chewables if your pet is pregnant, lactating or has a known history of seizures.

What other drugs will affect NexGard Chewables?

There are no known contraindications for the use of NexGard Chewables.

NexGard Chewables Directions:

  • Administer appropriate dosage per month based on your pet's weight.
  • Talk to your veterinarian for his or her dosage recommendation for your pet.
  • Treatment may begin at any time of the year, and should continue the entire year without interruption.
  • Can be administered with or without food.
  • To reduce the risk of a flea reinfestation, you must treat all pets within your household with NexGard Chewables or an approved flea control product (for cats).
Tip:

For best results, make sure that your dog eats entire chew.

NexGard Chewables Dosage for Dogs:

Dogs/Puppies: (over 8 weeks of age)
Weight Dosage
4-10 lbs Administer one chew
10.1-24 lbs Administer one chew
24.1-60 lbs Administer one chew
60.1-121 lbs Administer one chew
Over 121 lbs Administer the appropriate combination of chewables
NexGard Chewables Dosage for Cats:
Cats
Do not use!
NexGard Chewables Dosage for Horses:
Horses
Do not use!
Storage:

Store at or below 30°C (86°F) with excursions permitted up to 40°C (104°F).

NexGard Chewables Ingredients:

NexGard Chewables for Small Dogs 4-10 lbs Ingredients:
Active Ingredient (per chew) Amount
Afoxolaner 11.3 mg
NexGard Chewables - For Medium Dogs 10.1-24 lbs Ingredients:
Active Ingredient (per chew) Amount
Afoxolaner 28.3 mg
NexGard Chewables - For Large Dogs 24.1-60 lbs Ingredients:
Active Ingredient (per chew) Amount
Afoxolaner 68 mg
NexGard Chewables - For Extra Large Dogs 60-121 lbs Ingredients:
Active Ingredient (per chew) Amount
Afoxolaner 136 mg