5 out of 5 Customer Rating
Mometamax Otic Suspension is rated 3.8 out of 5 by 88.
  • y_2021, m_1, d_16, h_17
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.12
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_88
  • loc_en_US, sid_prod10821, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_1800petmeds
  • bvseo_sdk, dw_cartridge, 18.2.0, p_sdk_3.2.0
  • CLOUD, getAggregateRating, 78ms
  • reviews, product
1. We'll ask for your vet's info during checkout.
2. We verify your prescription and ship your order!
Close
Starts $38.56 $26.99
Most orders ship the same day
Note: Manufacturer excludes this item from promotional offers
prod10821 product detail number 1.0
Mometamax Otic Suspension

Mometamax Otic Suspension

5 out of 5 Customer Rating
Mometamax Otic Suspension is rated 3.8 out of 5 by 88.
  • y_2021, m_1, d_16, h_17
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.12
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_88
  • loc_en_US, sid_prod10821, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_1800petmeds
  • bvseo_sdk, dw_cartridge, 18.2.0, p_sdk_3.2.0
  • CLOUD, getAggregateRating, 78ms
  • reviews, product
Save with Generic
Starts $18.06 $12.64
Shop Now
Starts $38.56 $26.99
Most orders ship the same day
Note: Manufacturer excludes this item from promotional offers
Please select all product options.
Save with Generic
Starts $18.06 $12.64
Shop Now

Reviews

Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Product for my Canine This product has worked in the past and it still works now!
Date published: 2017-04-29
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Caused deafness DO NOT USE PRODUCT Vet recommended for 5 drops each ear for 7 days. On day 6, noticed hearing lost. Vet from Banfield or Petsmart There are 75 reviews with 25 saying "causes deafness" DO NOT USE PRODUCT
Date published: 2017-02-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Thankfully something that worked! I have a 2yr old Sharpie/black lab mix. For the past 6mo. YES, 6mo! My dog has had an ongoing ear infection. He had been on 3 different oral antibiotics. 2 of which they tried treatment twice. He had to be placed on steroids a few times because the swelling was so bad. On two separate occasions they had to give him pain medication just so I could clean the ear. A friend told me about mometamax and swore by it. At this point I was willing to try anything. I asked my vet and they finally agreed to try it. The first 4 days on treatment I didn't see any changes but almost over night his ear cleared up. Little to no drainage, ear wasn't red and inflamed, I could clean it without him crying. By the end of treatment his ear cleared up. The only difficult part of the medication was the applicators tip. Because his ear was so inflamed it hurt him to have the tip go into the ear. Making it impossible to count 8 drops. Hopefully one day they can provide prefilled tubes for easy administration. Otherwise, I definitely recommend this product!
Date published: 2016-05-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The best product we've tried yet! My poor pitbull Apollo gets ear infections quite frequently. We've tried all kinds of ear drops and cleansers and nothing seemed to be working. When I started working at a Veterinary Hospital, I decided to bring my pup to work with me one day to have a doctor check out his ear. I told them about all the different things we had tried and they prescribed Mometamax. I asked them to compare Mometamax to what we had used previously and they said that the Mometamax has a certain steroid in it (which is why you need an Rx for it). It was a little pricey but SO worth it because it cleared my baby's ears up in about a week! Besides the fact that it works, my favorite part about the product is the bottle it comes in. All of the cleansers we tried would have these small, wide nozzles that would make a mess and we were never sure if the drops were applied properly. The tip of this bottle is super thin and long and slides right into the ear canal. Since its so small, your dog won't be as irritated by it and hopefully won't squirm around as much! I highly recommend this product!
Date published: 2015-11-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome I highly recommend this product. My dog Dakota, has reoccurring yeast infections, and this works wonders for her itching and digging at her ears.
Date published: 2015-02-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product best ear infection product for my dogs!
Date published: 2015-01-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from have used this product in the past and have always had great results.administered drops as suggested by our vet and ear infection cleared up quickly.
Date published: 2014-08-13
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very effective My vet gave Mometamax for my Shitzu for an ear infection & said to treat both ears. Worked very fast, but noticed loss of hearing. I have stopped treatment, is this temporary?
Date published: 2014-03-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The utmost best product dogs ask for I have tried a lot of products, and this one product out does every item recomended for dogs.When my baby's need help with their ears, they will tell me they want Momentamax . They go the the shelf I keep it on and look at it and look at me.
Date published: 2014-03-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best I have ever had and clears up infections right away!! use this for both dogs and works fast.
Date published: 2013-12-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Use on Hot Spots My Maltese has hot spots on his body and it has been impossible to diagnose the cause of this problem. My Vet recommended using Mometamax on the hot spots and it works! So although this product is recommended for ear infections placing a small amount on hot spots on my Maltese has worked to clear up the hot spot in a day.
Date published: 2013-10-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I have a Maltese x shitzu, who gets ear infections probably 5 x a year, momenta max is a standard item in our fridge. Both dogs, one 3yrs old and one is 12yrs old, boo the older one has them frequently and Tilly has just got her first. They have a regular hair appt every 6 - 8 weeks so I'm beginning to think its an issue with the breed but both dogs respond to mometamax. Ear infections are painful and I wouldn't be without this product.
Date published: 2013-09-19
Rated 1 out of 5 by from WARNING: Causes deafness!!! My 11 year old miniature schnauzer was prescribed Mometamax for a bacterial ear infection and I dutifully put drops in her ears once a day for 7 days. When I told the vet that she seems like she still had an ear infection because she can't hear (I thought perhaps her ears were clogged with fluid) I learned of the potential side effect of partial or complete deafness caused by use of this drug. She is also almost totally blind so she is completely disoriented and lost. It is amazing to me that this product is still available and prescribed after the vast number of posts warning pet owners about this product. Shame on the drug manufacturer for continuing to sell this product.
Date published: 2013-05-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from great stuff mometamax I just had my dog to the vet for a recheck for her ears and just using this meds mometamax two times and you know never use qtips in a dogs ears . always use cotton swaps and a wash and later your meds this helps .. I did have other meds I did use that I got from the vet but it never work until I got this mometamax from 1-800-meds if your dog has problems with there ears your should try it ... I have a begal and with those ears she has ears problems all the time
Date published: 2013-03-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Product I have a 155 lb Mastiff (5yrs old) that gets ear infections 1-2 times a year and I have to say this product works very well. My dog's ear clears up the next day and she has never had any problems with hearing loss or disorientation. I have been using this product for at least 2 yrs now and I will keep using it. Like all medications, there will be possible side effects but I'm happy to say my dog does not experience any from this medicine. Maybe because she is BIG?
Date published: 2013-02-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from awesome stuff my cat, Coal, has pseudomona in one of her ears. it has been HORRIBLE. pills haven't helped, not much of anything has helped, just calmed it a little. her poor ear was a mess. well, we started using this for a couple weeks and her ear is now really calmed down and doing so much better. we'll never really get rid of this nasty little bug, but it's good to know we can keep it at bay with the mometamax. thank you!
Date published: 2013-01-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This stuff works wonders - I have two Cocker Spaniels they alwyas hace problem with their ears.
Date published: 2013-01-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Mometamax He is doing real good on this medicine. Responded great his ears look alot better.
Date published: 2012-11-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This product worked well for Honey's ear infection. She has bad allergies to chicken, beef, lamb, grain ingredients in dog food, whcih caused her ear infection. My Vet. gave me Mometamax. Hopefully, this will not happen again, but I want keep Mometamax on hand, just in case. Honey & Peggy
Date published: 2012-09-30
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Hearing Loss I used Mometamax, as prescribed, on my 7 year old, very healthy yellow lab after the vets gave it me me tafter tehy cleanuout her ears. After about 1-2 week I noticed she was not hearing she is now practically deaf. Took her back to the vets and they said her ears drums look okay but she is virtually deaf!!!! her hearing was amazing prior to this. Now she is all freaked out and nervous becasue she can't hear until things are right on top of her.
Date published: 2012-09-24
Rated 1 out of 5 by from DEAFNESS as a side effect PLEASE DON'T USE THIS PRODUCT...esp. on senior dogs! I had no clue that this product could cause deafness and after only 2 application our 12 yo dog lost ALL hearing!!!... thankfully I stopped using it immediately (in case) and he has regain a little bit of hearing if we talk REALLY LOUD... not sure what will happen for him...but this product should be taken off the market! After research, I've found NUMEROUS complaints dating back 4-5 years...this is absurd and at the least shouldn't be prescribed w/o a warning from your vet!!! :( (ps I did not get my Rx thru 1800petmeds, but wanted to warn consumers if I can spare them what we experienced)
Date published: 2012-09-07
Rated 1 out of 5 by from WARNING!!!! PLEASE READ OTHER REVIEWS REGARDING THIS MED CAUSING DEAFNESS!! I used Mometamax for only 3 days when my dog went deaf. He was being treated for a yeast infection on his outer ears, canals and eardrums were fine. NO prior hearing loss, now he can't hear me yelling right next to him! He was fine Tuesday, totally deaf on Friday. I started looking around the internet and found story after story of dogs loosing their hearing from this medication.. Mine is 10 years old and it can cause deafness in geriatric dogs. The company said hearing usually returns in two weeks, but can be permanent. Many people who were complaining said their dog's hearing never returned. I am hoping my dog is one of the lucky ones and this is only temporary!
Date published: 2012-07-29
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Made my dog sick, unable to walk, huge hives I used this on my dog and the reaction he had was sosevere I had to run him straight back to the vet. He had huge hives all over his head, he was walking like a drunk, until he collapsed unable to move. It looked like he had marbles under the skin of his head. I thought it was a reaction to his vaccines, until it happened the 2nd time the next day. I threw the medicine out and did not finish it. There are many people on the site that say this med made their dogs deaf. I totally thought this was baloney - until my dog had such a bad reaction. Then I read the huge long list of side effects, you know, that paperwork we all throw away.... Sure enough, it says it can cause deafness in "some sensitive dogs". Anybody care to define sensitive? My dog is an 80 pound, young healthy, crazy maniac, that barrels through the woods and has infinate energy. Don't take the risk of illness or deafness - just get the stuff you use twice a day, and deal with the additional daily treatment.
Date published: 2012-03-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Doing Great! Sol's ears are the best they have been in a long long time...She is much happier, and the ear smell has disappeared! I very pleased with Mometamax and the quick and caring service I have received from PetMeds...Thank you!
Date published: 2012-03-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Mometamax Did the job Autumns ears are all better. Great product.
Date published: 2012-03-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Stuff I have used this product in the past and found it to be marvelous. Five years and no ear problems but now I have one for my Westie. My Vet gave me Mometamax and instructed me how to administer it. '(Did not know about the deafness possible side affect but glad I am informed with your forum. I am happy for your Q&A forum here because I have to call my vet and find out why he wants 8 drops for my Westie who is 22 lbs. This forum has been very helpful. I buy all my regular products from 1-800-PetMeds.
Date published: 2012-02-07
Rated 4 out of 5 by from He just fine! Wow thank you so much but Apache is doing just great no more ear problem.
Date published: 2012-02-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from GOOD MED I HAD ORDERED SOME EYE MED FOR SULYN AND GOT IT MIXED UP WITH MOMETAMAX AFTER READING THE REVIEWS I FOUND OUT IT'S NOT FOR THE EYES. BUT LET ME TELL YOU IT CLEAREDUP SULYNS EYES AND THEY LOOK GREAT JUST THOUGHT YOU WOULD LIKE TO KNOW THIS THANKS ERNIE
Date published: 2011-11-09
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Buster (shih-tzu) I have long ears that are covered all the time and my ears start to stink due to persperation this is the only thing that makes my ears feel better , I get my ears cleaned every 2-3 days and then the mediceine it works.
Date published: 2011-10-19
Rated 1 out of 5 by from WARNING! This product made my dog deaf. The warnings state that this product may cause deafness in older dogs. (my dog is a 9 year old Aussie shepherd mix) My vet didn't disclose this to me. If you are ordering this product for an older dog PLEASE PLEASE PLEASE find another option. I am heart broken. Otomax has similar side effects.
Date published: 2011-10-11
  • y_2021, m_1, d_16, h_17
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.12
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_88
  • loc_en_US, sid_prod10821, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_1800petmeds
  • bvseo_sdk, dw_cartridge, 18.2.0, p_sdk_3.2.0
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 9ms
  • reviews, product

Questions

My dog was diagnosed with yeast in her ear. She shakes her ears and scratches all the time. Will this product help?

Asked by: Carmela
Thank you for your question. Mometamax Otic Suspension is a once-a-day treatment for ear infections. It is used in dogs for the treatment of otitis externa when caused by susceptible fungi or bacteria. Mometamax Otic Suspension may be used for purposes other than those listed here. It is a prescription medication and your vet would determine if this medication is appropriate for your pet.
Answered by: Crystal RPTechnician
Date published: 2018-04-10

My Norwich terrier is so defiant when I try to put the drops in her ears. What can I do to make it easier?

Asked by: Deemcg
Try to wait until your dog is lying down. Rub the head and slowly move to the bad ear. Try administering the drops when he or she is nice and calm. You can also try using the leash to ease administration. If all else fails, consult your veterinarian to discuss an oral antibiotic. .
Answered by: Lisa M
Date published: 2018-08-12

My vet only prescribed 1 drop every 24 hours for 10 days. Is this normal the bottle says 8 drops he is 63lbs. Also can you use prednisone and mometamax at the same time?

Asked by: RowdyRoo
The recommended dosage per the manufacturer of the medication for dogs over 30lbs is Place 8 drops into the ear canal once daily for 7 consecutive days. Use this medication for the full amount of time prescribed by your veterinarian, even if your pet appears to be better. Symptoms may improve before the infection is completely healed. Also it is best to advise your vet if the Prednisone was not prescribed by said veterinarian if your pet is taking any other medications before giving your furry friend multiple medications at the same time.
Answered by: Crystal RPTechnician
Date published: 2017-10-25

What if my dog swallows some of this medicine ?

Asked by: Paul
Thank you for your question. If your pet ingested this medication we recommend seeking an emergency vet or contacting poison control.
Answered by: Crystal RPTechnician
Date published: 2017-08-28

My vet prescribed this for my cat. Is it safe to use on her

Asked by: Laura
Mometamax Otic Suspension is a prescription medication FDA approved and is safe for use as directed by a licensed veternarian. As with any other medication there may be potential side effects you would need to look out for.
Answered by: Crystal RPTechnician
Date published: 2017-06-30

Do I need a prescription for to get this from you guys?? The vet prescribed it twice, it's miracle medicine, but I don't have the money for the office visit and the medicine so I don't know how this works! First time being on here. Thank you

Asked by: Katy bug
Thank you for your question. This medication does require a prescription and cannot be dispensed without a veterinarians authorization. Once an order is placed we contact your vet for the prescription and once approved the medication is shipped directly to you.
Answered by: Crystal RPTechnician
Date published: 2018-06-17

My grandmas dog seems to have had this ear infection for awhile. He is older - so he might have hearings Loss due toage or maybe this ear infection... Is it ok/safe to use the momentamax with amoxicillin or clindamycin? 

Asked by: Irina
Hello, there are no noted drug interactions with mometamax and amoxicillin or clindamycin; however, Mometamax requires a prescription from your veterinarian. Please speak to your vet to determine the best option for your grandmas dog.
Answered by: Roseanna Pharmacy Intern
Date published: 2018-08-12

Do you ship this product to Canada?

Asked by: Jeff
Yes, we ship to Canada.
Answered by: Ben B
Date published: 2017-02-27

My dog is experiencing hearing loss, how long does that side effect last?

Asked by: kelly
These ear drops are used to treat ear infections. If your dog is experiencing noted ear loss, you should discontinue the product and talk with your Vet about further options. Make sure your Vet thoroughly checks your dogs ears/ear drum. Hope this helps.
Answered by: Trey W
Date published: 2018-07-19

Does the 15g bottle Only have a small Amount in it or should the bottle be full?

Asked by: Tshank86
This would not be full and should last for the prescribed amount of time.
Answered by: Ben B
Date published: 2017-02-21

If by accident I put it in my dogs eyes 

Asked by: Lucy
You should flush your dogs eyes out with water and take your dog to the vet in order to be examined.
Answered by: Ben B
Date published: 2017-02-21

I accidentally poured most of the bottom into my dogs ear ..should i be concern

Asked by: Moose
If you notice your dog acting strangely, contact your veterinarian right away.
Answered by: paulpharmacistintern
Date published: 2016-08-17

Dosage question

My vet prescribed Mometamax 30g drops twice daily for 14 days for an ear infection. Everything I've read says once daily for 7 days...I'm concerned with this dosage...
Asked by: Amy
It would be best to ask your veterinarian about the dosing. The type of infection or the type of bacteria may be the reason your vet wants to treat for 14 days.
Answered by: Kelly P
Date published: 2018-01-09

Middle ear infections of dogs?

My Boston Terrier had a yeast infection but 4 antibiotics seemed to clear a middle ear infection. But she seems to be chasing something in her head at night. She'll looks left and right seeming to be intrigued by whatever it is. She appears going off balance as she "chases" this. No fever but what will help? This medicine? I make her quit as I know it can't be good for her to do that.
Asked by: BTsR1
Please consult a veterinarian for a diagnosis.
Answered by: S Duesler PharmD MBA
Date published: 2016-06-11

reocurring ear infection

My dog had a ear infection with a bad smell used mometamax and she was better now the smell is back after a month can I use some more of the mometamax, thanks
Asked by: Ann
Yes, of course. Its what your Vet give you in the first place. My little doggie has the same problem. My Vet pulled all the hair out of his ears and told me to keep his hair in his ears cleaned out. It just pulls a little and it really didn't bother him. I've noticed since I do that he isn't getting infections as much.
Answered by: Sandy
Date published: 2014-08-30

she is on dexamethasone o.5 is it ok to give her the drop in her ear while takeing that other med???

Asked by: debbie
Yes, the dexamethasone tablets can be given along with the ear drops
Answered by: Linda petmeds pharmacist
Date published: 2018-08-12

Other uses for Momentamax.

My dog has a couple itchy, irritated spots on his back. Can I use this as an antibotic-type ointment?
Asked by: AngelaMarie
It would most likely depend on the cause, I'd check with a vet first.
Answered by: Tilly
Date published: 2018-08-12

Can this product be used for cats?

Asked by: Chris
I would not use this on cats if it doesn't mention that it is safe for cats or if your vet does not recommend it.
Answered by: English Mastiff
Date published: 2013-10-22

can you only buy Mometamax with a vet perscription?

my dog is prone to allergys of the ear, hate going to vet each time this happens,same thing over and over again, this gets very expensive . Can you help me? This is the product given each time, or is there a generic version that I could buy?
Asked by: Isa
I am surprised your vet prescribes Mometamax for allergy related ear infections. This medecation is for fungal infections (per my vet) like yeast infection, so a different medication may be needed. I would talk to your vet again or seek a different one.
Answered by: English Mastiff
Date published: 2018-09-25

Is it safe to use more than 8-10 drops per day?

My 80 lb. dog still seems to be exhibiting some discomfort even though we've already given him his dose for the day. I'd like to ease his discomfort a bit by giving him maybe half a dose. Would this be okay?
Asked by: Jackson
If you are already using the recommended dosage prescribed by your vet, I would not give your dog any more because the discomfort may be due to the medicine or other condition. I know it may seem an easy fix and less costly but talk with your vet.
Answered by: English Mastiff
Date published: 2018-08-12

How much is 15 gm? I need to have 8 drops per ear, for at least 14 days.

Please advise if you have other size bottles, and what the ounces are. Thank you.
Asked by: Duckie
There are approximately 15-20 drops per gram. If you are careful 1 bottle of 15Gm will be sufficient for 14 days.(225 to300 drops.We only have one size bottle in stock.
Answered by: Bob S. Pharmacist
Date published: 2013-10-22

Is it normal for the area around eyes to become oily.

4 month old Maltese
Asked by: Paulap28
Sorry I meant Ears. I think the medicine is leaking out.
Answered by: Paulap28
Date published: 2013-10-22

can I use mometamax & animax at same time?

Asked by: phoebe
no u can't stop the animax and wait a day then start the mometamax it works alot better.
Answered by: jennifer
Date published: 2013-10-22

what if my vet says that they need to see the dog before they send the script? do i get my money back?

Asked by: brittany
This is very powerful medication, and a veterinarian should really check to see if this is the correct meds for your pet. There are a variety of ear conditions and this one may not be for what your dog needs.
Answered by: babesbarn
Date published: 2013-10-22

What is the DEA schedule class for this drug?

I, II, III, IV or V?
Asked by: Yana
The answer to your question is none of the above. While Mometamax does require a prescription, it is not classified as a controlled substance within the DEA regulations. As an FYI, chemicals within class I (such as heroin) are banned from sale due to their high probability of addiction and no accepted medical use. Drugs in class II include Ritalin and Dilaudid, Drugs in class III include Vicodin and Tylenol #3. Drugs in class IV includes Valium and Restoril. Drugs in class V include cough syrups containing small amounts of codeine and Lomotil.
Answered by: Gary, Dir. of Pharmacy Services
Date published: 2013-10-22

WHAT SIZE IS THE BOTTLE OF MOMETAMAX?

CAN YOU GET LARGER SIZE? DO YOU HAVE TO HAVE A PRESCRIPTION? THANK YOU
Asked by: CHEWY
it is 15g and I have only got it in this size for the last 2+ yrs for my dog.
Answered by: Fly
Date published: 2018-09-03

Has anyone had success reversing the deafness caused by the medication?

Our boxer went deaf this spring from mometamax. They say in the leaflet that came with the medication it only happens in a small number of dogs who are sensitive. Then I read its about 1 in 200. That's not a small number to me. Especially when the condition seems irreversible. Time does not seem to be healing his ears, he is still deaf after 6 months. I have read steroids help. I am so furious with my veterinarian right now I can't stand the thought of giving her any more money. She actually made light of the situation and said she only had one other dog that it happened to. Well, if she had one other dog, why didn't she warn us about it? How incompetant some of these veterinarians are. I have lived on a farm my whole life and frankly, outside of surgery, I don't trust any vet, I'll do it myself.
Asked by: Red Baron
I'm very sorry to hear about your pet's hearing loss. Hearing loss due to Mometamax can be reversible or irreversible. After 6 months, it would appear unfortunately that your pet's hearing loss is irreversible. That being said, however, I am not a pharmacist not a veterinarian, and you may want to get a second opinion from another veterinarian in your home town to prove me wrong.
Answered by: Gary, Dir. of Pharmacy Services
Date published: 2013-10-22

Compatable to mometamax

Is there anything compatible with mometamax? Without a RX?
Asked by: ryazmom
Unfortunately there is nothing comparable to Mometamax available without a prescription. However, Zymox Otic is used to treat ear infections and is available without a prescription. You would use Zymox Otic once a day for 7 days. If there is no improvement, you will need a prescription medication.
Answered by: Gary, Dir. of Pharmacy Services
Date published: 2018-08-12

Doctor prescribed this for three weeks but I see the normal timeframe is 7 days. Is three weeks too long? Could this have been an accident?

This is for a mild infeciton.
Asked by: AND
The recommended dose is to use for at least 7 days. There is no caution I know of that prevents using for a longer period of time. Your veterinarian will determine the dose based on the type of infection and the severity of the infection. You can always question the veterinarian if you feel the dose is excessive.
Answered by: Gary, Dir. of Pharmacy Services
Date published: 2018-08-12

will mometamax harm my cat

will momertamax harm my cat
Asked by: kim
this kind is only for dogs i dont know if they make it for cats you might have to ask your vet
Answered by: shari
Date published: 2013-10-22
  • y_2021, m_1, d_15, h_17CST
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvqa, vn_bulk_3.0.12
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasquestionsanswers, tq_87
  • loc_en_US, sid_prod10821, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=LAST_APPROVED_ANSWER_SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_1800petmeds
  • bvseo_sdk, dw_cartridge, 18.2.0, p_sdk_3.2.0
  • CLOUD, getContent, 14ms
  • questions, product

What is Mometamax Otic Suspension?

Mometamax Otic Suspension is a once-a-day treatment for ear infections. It's an advanced formula that includes a combination of medications with antibacterial (gentamicin sulfate), anti-inflammatory (mometasone), and antifungal (clotrimazole) properties. It is used in dogs for the treatment of otitis externa when caused by susceptible fungi or bacteria. Mometamax Otic Suspension may be used for purposes other than those listed here. Mometamax requires a prescription from your veterinarian.

For:

Dogs

Benefits:

  • Treats ear infections caused by bacteria or fungus
  • Also used to reduce inflammation in the ear
  • Dropper bottle includes a long tip, which makes administration easier and less stressful

How does Mometamax Otic Suspension work?

The ingredient gentamicin sulfate is an antibiotic that is effective against a wide array of bacteria. Clotrimazole is an antifungal agent that is used for the treatment of dermal infections caused by various species. Mometasone is a synthetic hormone that treats inflammatory skin disorders and allergic reactions that your pet may have.

Cautions:

Avoid getting Mometamax in your dog's eyes, nose or mouth.

Brand Name:

Mometamax Otic Suspension (Merck)

Generic Name:

Gentamicin sulfate, Mometasone furoate, Clotrimazole

What is the most important information I should know about Mometamax Otic Suspension?

Mometamax Otic Suspension is a prescription medication FDA approved for use in dogs only. It is available in 7.5 gm, 15 gm, 30 gm, and 215 gm plastic dropper bottles. Use this medication for the full amount of time prescribed by your veterinarian, even if your pet appears to be better. Symptoms may improve before the infection is completely healed.

What should I discuss with my veterinarian before giving Mometamax Otic Suspension to my pet?

Tell your veterinarian if your dog is pregnant, allergic to any of the ingredients in Mometamax Otic Suspension, has perforated eardrums, or is currently taking any other medications, including over-the-counter medicines, vitamins, minerals, and herbal products.

How should Mometamax Otic Suspension be applied?

Shake well before use. The usual dose for dogs weighing less than 30 lbs is 4 drops into the ear canal once a day. For dogs weighing 30 lbs or more, place 8 drops into the ear canal once a day. Therapy should continue for 7 consecutive days. Avoid getting this medication in your pet's eyes, nose or mouth.

What are the potential side effects of Mometamax Otic Suspension?

Side effects associated with this medication are related to the individual ingredients. Gentamicin, while absorbed poorly from the skin, when applied topically for long periods of time to large wounds, burns or denuded skin has a potential for reversible or irreversible ear and kidney toxicity. Hearing loss (usually temporary) may occur. Discontinue this medication and consult with your veterinarian if hearing loss, head tilting or dizziness are noticed. Redness of the skin, stinging, blistering, peeling, fluid retention, itching, hives and general irritation of the skin have been observed occasionally in humans following the use of clotrimazole. Other side effects may also occur. Talk to your veterinarian about any side effect that seems unusual or bothersome to your pet.

What happens if I miss giving a dose of Mometamax Otic Suspension?

Give the missed dose as soon as you remember. If it is nearly time for the next dose, skip the missed dose and resume the regular dosing schedule. Do not double the dose.

What happens if I overdose my pet on Mometamax Otic Suspension?

If you suspect that your pet has received an overdose of Mometamax Otic Suspension, consult your veterinarian or emergency veterinary clinic immediately.

What should I avoid while applying Mometamax Otic Suspension?

Avoid using any other medications in your pet's ear unless instructed to by your veterinarian. Do not use Mometamax Otic Suspension in dogs allergic to it or any of the individual ingredients. Use with caution in pregnant animals. Do not use in dogs with perforated eardrums. Discontinue use of this medication if hearing loss is noted during treatment. Use of this product beyond the recommended dose of 7 days may result in delayed wound healing.

What other drugs will affect Mometamax Otic Suspension?

Avoid using other ear medications without first talking to your veterinarian. Do not use concurrently with other corticosteroids or aminogylcoside antibiotics. Drugs other than those listed may also interact with Mometamax Otic Suspension. Talk to your veterinarian or pharmacist before taking or using any other prescription or over-the-counter medicines, including vitamins, minerals, and herbal products.

Mometamax Otic Suspension Directions:

  • Mometamax Otic Suspension is a prescription medication used in dogs for the treatment of otitis externa when caused by susceptible fungi or bacteria.
  • Mometamax Otic Suspension is a combination of medications with antibacterial, anti-inflammatory, and antifungal activity.
  • Mometamax Otic Suspension is used in dogs only. Do not use in cats.
Tip:

Prior to use, the external ear should be cleaned and dried, and excessive hair should be clipped from the treatment area.

Mometamax Otic Suspension Dosage:

Mometamax Otic Suspension Dosage for Dogs
Weight Dosage
Under 30 lbs Shake well before use. The external ear canal should be thoroughly cleaned and dried before treatment. Verify that the eardrum is intact. Place 4 drops into the ear canal once daily. Therapy should continue for 7 consecutive days.
Over 30 lbs Shake well before use. The external ear canal should be thoroughly cleaned and dried before treatment. Verify that the eardrum is intact. Place 8 drops into the ear canal once daily. Therapy should continue for 7 consecutive days.
Mometamax Otic Suspension Dosage for Cats
Cats
Do not use!
Mometamax Otic Suspension Dosage for Horses
Horses
Do not use!

Storage:

Store between 36-77F (2-25C).

Mometamax Otic Suspension Ingredients:

Mometamax Otic Suspension
Active Ingredients (per gram)
Gentamicin sulfate, USP equivalent to 3 mg gentamicin base; mometasone furoate monohydrate equivalent to 1 mg mometasone; and 10 mg clotrimazole, USP in a mineral oil-based system containing a plasticized hydrocarbon gel.

What is Mometamax Otic Suspension?

Mometamax Otic Suspension is a once-a-day treatment for ear infections. It's an advanced formula that includes a combination of medications with antibacterial (gentamicin sulfate), anti-inflammatory (mometasone), and antifungal (clotrimazole) properties. It is used in dogs for the treatment of otitis externa when caused by susceptible fungi or bacteria. Mometamax Otic Suspension may be used for purposes other than those listed here. Mometamax requires a prescription from your veterinarian.

For:

Dogs

Benefits:

  • Treats ear infections caused by bacteria or fungus
  • Also used to reduce inflammation in the ear
  • Dropper bottle includes a long tip, which makes administration easier and less stressful

How does Mometamax Otic Suspension work?

The ingredient gentamicin sulfate is an antibiotic that is effective against a wide array of bacteria. Clotrimazole is an antifungal agent that is used for the treatment of dermal infections caused by various species. Mometasone is a synthetic hormone that treats inflammatory skin disorders and allergic reactions that your pet may have.

Cautions:

Avoid getting Mometamax in your dog's eyes, nose or mouth.

Brand Name:

Mometamax Otic Suspension (Merck)

Generic Name:

Gentamicin sulfate, Mometasone furoate, Clotrimazole

What is the most important information I should know about Mometamax Otic Suspension?

Mometamax Otic Suspension is a prescription medication FDA approved for use in dogs only. It is available in 7.5 gm, 15 gm, 30 gm, and 215 gm plastic dropper bottles. Use this medication for the full amount of time prescribed by your veterinarian, even if your pet appears to be better. Symptoms may improve before the infection is completely healed.

What should I discuss with my veterinarian before giving Mometamax Otic Suspension to my pet?

Tell your veterinarian if your dog is pregnant, allergic to any of the ingredients in Mometamax Otic Suspension, has perforated eardrums, or is currently taking any other medications, including over-the-counter medicines, vitamins, minerals, and herbal products.

How should Mometamax Otic Suspension be applied?

Shake well before use. The usual dose for dogs weighing less than 30 lbs is 4 drops into the ear canal once a day. For dogs weighing 30 lbs or more, place 8 drops into the ear canal once a day. Therapy should continue for 7 consecutive days. Avoid getting this medication in your pet's eyes, nose or mouth.

What are the potential side effects of Mometamax Otic Suspension?

Side effects associated with this medication are related to the individual ingredients. Gentamicin, while absorbed poorly from the skin, when applied topically for long periods of time to large wounds, burns or denuded skin has a potential for reversible or irreversible ear and kidney toxicity. Hearing loss (usually temporary) may occur. Discontinue this medication and consult with your veterinarian if hearing loss, head tilting or dizziness are noticed. Redness of the skin, stinging, blistering, peeling, fluid retention, itching, hives and general irritation of the skin have been observed occasionally in humans following the use of clotrimazole. Other side effects may also occur. Talk to your veterinarian about any side effect that seems unusual or bothersome to your pet.

What happens if I miss giving a dose of Mometamax Otic Suspension?

Give the missed dose as soon as you remember. If it is nearly time for the next dose, skip the missed dose and resume the regular dosing schedule. Do not double the dose.

What happens if I overdose my pet on Mometamax Otic Suspension?

If you suspect that your pet has received an overdose of Mometamax Otic Suspension, consult your veterinarian or emergency veterinary clinic immediately.

What should I avoid while applying Mometamax Otic Suspension?

Avoid using any other medications in your pet's ear unless instructed to by your veterinarian. Do not use Mometamax Otic Suspension in dogs allergic to it or any of the individual ingredients. Use with caution in pregnant animals. Do not use in dogs with perforated eardrums. Discontinue use of this medication if hearing loss is noted during treatment. Use of this product beyond the recommended dose of 7 days may result in delayed wound healing.

What other drugs will affect Mometamax Otic Suspension?

Avoid using other ear medications without first talking to your veterinarian. Do not use concurrently with other corticosteroids or aminogylcoside antibiotics. Drugs other than those listed may also interact with Mometamax Otic Suspension. Talk to your veterinarian or pharmacist before taking or using any other prescription or over-the-counter medicines, including vitamins, minerals, and herbal products.

Mometamax Otic Suspension Directions:

  • Mometamax Otic Suspension is a prescription medication used in dogs for the treatment of otitis externa when caused by susceptible fungi or bacteria.
  • Mometamax Otic Suspension is a combination of medications with antibacterial, anti-inflammatory, and antifungal activity.
  • Mometamax Otic Suspension is used in dogs only. Do not use in cats.
Tip:

Prior to use, the external ear should be cleaned and dried, and excessive hair should be clipped from the treatment area.

Mometamax Otic Suspension Dosage:

Mometamax Otic Suspension Dosage for Dogs
Weight Dosage
Under 30 lbs Shake well before use. The external ear canal should be thoroughly cleaned and dried before treatment. Verify that the eardrum is intact. Place 4 drops into the ear canal once daily. Therapy should continue for 7 consecutive days.
Over 30 lbs Shake well before use. The external ear canal should be thoroughly cleaned and dried before treatment. Verify that the eardrum is intact. Place 8 drops into the ear canal once daily. Therapy should continue for 7 consecutive days.
Mometamax Otic Suspension Dosage for Cats
Cats
Do not use!
Mometamax Otic Suspension Dosage for Horses
Horses
Do not use!

Storage:

Store between 36-77F (2-25C).

Mometamax Otic Suspension Ingredients:

Mometamax Otic Suspension
Active Ingredients (per gram)
Gentamicin sulfate, USP equivalent to 3 mg gentamicin base; mometasone furoate monohydrate equivalent to 1 mg mometasone; and 10 mg clotrimazole, USP in a mineral oil-based system containing a plasticized hydrocarbon gel.