Methimazole

3.6 out of 5 Customer Rating
Methimazole is rated 4.7 out of 5 by 127.
  • y_2020, m_8, d_8, h_15
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.10
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_127
  • loc_en_US, sid_prod10491, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_1800petmeds
  • bvseo_sdk, dw_cartridge, 18.2.0, p_sdk_3.2.0
  • CLOUD, getAggregateRating, 30ms
  • reviews, product
1. We'll ask for your vet's info during checkout.
2. We verify your prescription and ship your order!
Close
Starts $0.36 $0.25
Most orders ship the same day
10491 product detail number 1.0
Methimazole 5 mg (sold per tablet)
SOLD PER TABLET

Methimazole

3.6 out of 5 Customer Rating
Methimazole is rated 4.7 out of 5 by 127.
  • y_2020, m_8, d_8, h_15
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.10
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_127
  • loc_en_US, sid_prod10491, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_1800petmeds
  • bvseo_sdk, dw_cartridge, 18.2.0, p_sdk_3.2.0
  • CLOUD, getAggregateRating, 30ms
  • reviews, product
Starts $0.36 $0.25
Most orders ship the same day

Reviews

Rated 5 out of 5 by from Cat looks and feels great at ag 16 My cat has been on this medicine for 2years and per her checkup in March the vet said she w as in perfect health.. and keep up with the medicine.. i crush the pill in am and pm with meat mallet, and cover with half a teaspoon of tuna with water and she gobbles it up..
Date published: 2018-06-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Noticeable difference This is the second cat I had diagnosed with hyperthyroid. The 'gold standard' in treatment is radioactive iodine to destroy the thyroid tumor tissue. Second in line is surgical removal, but with my cat at age 17, both of these seemed too costly and traumatic for his advanced age, so I opted for daily medication. Since he has been taking meds (crushed pills mixed in baby food), there has been a noticeable difference in his hyperactive behavior and his weight loss despite a voracious appetite. He has calmed considerably and is back to sleeping quietly and comfortably daily. He has also put back on some of his weight though I attribute some of his weight loss to his advanced age. His appetite is still frequent, but he is not as vocal about seeking food and I find smaller portions throughout the day work best (and yes, anything he will eat - he has turned finicky in his old age). Still not sure why older cats develop this condition, but I'm happy there is treatment for it and this one has seemed to work very well.
Date published: 2018-01-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Saved my cat's life After our vet diagnosed my cat with thyroid disease, he was prescribed the liquid form of methimazole. This caused digestive problems, so the vet switched to pills. My cat is back to the cuddly sweet pet I know. The medicine has made a huge difference. And 1800PetMeds helped me save money on the medicine.
Date published: 2017-12-10
Rated 4 out of 5 by from .. It helps .... was put on this by my vet for my 13 yr old kittty....first was a half twice a day...but now after a recent blood test, have to give whole tab. twice a day...breakfeast and dinner is when I give it....I crush it to a powder, which I don't think the vet says to do it, but as we all know how hard it is for cats to take pills....this is the only way that works best for us...I then put it into baby food - chicken is her fav. made of only cornstarch and water, if its good for a baby its good for pets too...and she loves it and never notices the meds...yes they want routine blood tests, which I just can't bare to do to her, makes me queasy for her..have done it twice already....so I say no to that....and the only cure for this thyroid problem is to remove the thing....which at this point in her senior years, I just won't do to her....she does not have much time left and is doing well.....though she is still always hungry and I do try to feed her as needed and what ever she wants - heck I even give her a big steak bone to chew on for her frustrations...I also bought her an electronic water fountain which she is OBSESSED with....for she is always thirsty....she was a big kitty at one time....but has lost weight and was very hyper....she has calmed down alot since the meds. though her weight is still low and her numbers are a little high still....but I know there's a difference since the meds...not perfect...but its something to help her with this condition....thank god that's all it is....
Date published: 2017-12-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Life changer Since my cat is taking it daily (hidden in Greenies Pill Pockets)my cat is a happy healthy 18 year old. His fur is shiney again and he's generally a more relaxed cat. He was off the wall before.
Date published: 2017-10-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Relieves Symptoms We started my cat on 1/2 of 5mg. twice a day, to help with his hyperactive thyroid. That raised his T3 slightly. Bumped script up to 1/2 tab 3x day. That helped slightly more. Now he's on 1 full tab at morning and 1 full at evening. His level is up to a low normal reading. When cats have hyperactive thyroid they are constantly hungry. We discovered you NEED to feed them. They are not being annoying, they are literally starving to death! Some days my cat eats 3 cans of Fancy feast but averages 2 cans a day. He had lost over 3 lbs. and continued to loose until we fed him whenever he asked. He has gained almost 2 lbs back, looks great and got a good vet report. I feel both vets ( Mi and FL) would have helped my cat more had they told me to FEED him when he asks, as well as raised the dose of Methlimazole.
Date published: 2017-05-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Happy Kitty Again My 16 year old cat is hyperthyroid and had lost a few pounds despite her voracious appetite. She stopped purring and was lethargic and ill. The doctor put her on 5 mg twice a day, and in just one month she has gained a whole pound and her blood test numbers are much better! She is acting more like her old self too. I crush the pill and mix it with Fancy Feast and she doesn't even seem to notice it. Love this stuff!
Date published: 2016-06-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works well I was originally getting the "mini-melt" variety from my vet, but a friend told me about 1800petmeds. Even though this isn't the mini-melts, they still work well. I soften it in a little bit of warm, lactose-free milk then crush it and mix it up and Oreo thinks it's his special treat. The only downside is that they come in 5mg pills, which mean I have to cut one in half for his evening dose. But it's working well and he's gaining weight and looking healthy again.
Date published: 2016-05-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Worked Fast Kitty started losing weight and was diagnosed with hyperthyroid. The pill treatment was the best option for us and it has worked really well. She started gaining weight within a week. The delivery was very quick, I had the medication within 3 days with very little effort on my part. This is also a lot cheaper then buying though the vet office.
Date published: 2016-02-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Effective, but lifetime solution? My beloved kitty of 15 years was just diagnosed with hyperthyroidism. I was devastated to learn I had to give her a pill twice a day most likely for the rest of her life... 5 years? Adding the cost of that and the trauma for her and I, I looked into other options. Surgery - with easy post op period. Radioactive treatment - a one time dose then 7 days in hospital isolation. Has anyone done this? For now this medication is working. 5 mg in the am and 2.5 mg in the pm -pill popped into her mouth which half the time I find laying around later on. She's been on it for a month and her level has come down to 7 from 11 with the goal level at 2.0 I'm going to try the pill pocket or the cat sip stuff while waiting for the cat pharmacy locally to compound this into a liquid which would be much easier . We travel allot though and my cat sitter has already let me know she won't be caring for our Bebe if she has to give meds.
Date published: 2016-01-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I tried to avoid it, but.... Nikita's veterinarian is holistic so of course we first tried homeopathic remedies, but they didn't work for Nik's hyperthyroid. As a last resort we put him on Methimazole. He has vastly improved, stopped his screaming, is happy and looks great. They're also easy to administer. The crew at 1-800petmeds is also wonderful and very caring. Thank you.
Date published: 2015-12-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy to give,m cat loves it Sandie takes half a pill in her favorite tuna am and pm
Date published: 2015-11-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fast and Effective results Kringle has been on Methimazole for 6 mo. When diagnosed she only weighed 6 lbs and her fur was thinning terribly. She could not keep any food down, our Vet said she was failing fast. On this medication, within a couple weeks she started putting on weight and her fur was already starting to thicken. Now she looks and acts like another cat. You would never know she has a health problem. She is 13 years old, and acts like a kitten, full of energy, Appetite is normal, and no more throwing up food. I dissolve the 1/2 pill she is prescribed twice daily in a table spoon of Cat Sip, and she laps it up. She actually cries for her medication now, she wants it, which is fantastic.
Date published: 2015-08-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from EXCELLENT RESULTS My sweet little "kitty" turned 19 last week. She's been diagnosed with hyperthyroidism for 6 years, so has been using Methimazole for those 6 years. Yesterday we took her to the vet for her annual blood work and check up. All the vet could say, was "WOW" as her blood work couldn't have come out better. She's on two pills a day which we give with her food in the am. And with the kidney food, she even came out pretty good on that. I'm hoping to see her into her 20's.
Date published: 2015-07-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy To Use and Is Working This pill is easy to use, as it splits in half easily, when my cat needs only 1/2 pill every 12 hours. It fits into a "pill pocket" treat and my cat gobbles it right down, no problem. He is getting better, since starting on this medication, a week ago. His appetite is more normal, he is less lethargic and more alert - acting more normal. It is a great relief, to find something that is helping him, that I can actually afford, through PetMeds. Thank you.
Date published: 2015-04-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from great feature Our cat has been on this medicine for 2 years and it wasn't until recently we discovered this pill (white, no coating) that has an indentation down the middle that makes it easy to divide when he only needs 1/2 pill. We were not able to get this from our vet.
Date published: 2014-12-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My cat was eating everything in site that he could before I found out he had a thyroid problem and was put on Methimazole, he is a normal eater now so must be feeling better. He is 17 and going strong.
Date published: 2014-12-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Terrific product My cat was diagnosed with a hyperactive thyroid recently and after getting her on these meds, she's like a new cat! Spry, happy. exploring a lot more, and even nicer to my other meows. You can tell she definitely feels better and I'm thankful my vet prescribed her this medication.
Date published: 2014-10-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Med good, service mixed I've been using PetMeds to get my cat's Methimazole because it was less expensive than drugstores, and it always arrives promptly, so in that sense it's good. At first I was pleasantly surprised to find they enclosed a cat treat with my orders. However, for some reason they started sending a dog biscuit instead of catnip, and after notifying them 3 or 4 times, I got an email from customer service. They apologized and said a cat treat was on its way. It never arrived, and on this latest order, there was no pet treat of any kind enclosed. So the meds come in a timely manner, but my cat gets slighted - that's why I say service is mixed.
Date published: 2014-08-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Thyroid problems Methimazole seem to keep My cat in check. Every now & Then, she'll not do well, but at 17, She still acts like a kitten.
Date published: 2014-07-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from better price! Thanks for offering a less expensive option for my cat's medications. She is 16 years old and needs 2 meds twice a day now and forever. It's expensive! This company has reduced the cost by almost half! I submitted a prescription release to my vet and, because one of the meds needs to be refrigerated, you shipped it overnight at still much less than it cost thru my vet's office!
Date published: 2014-07-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from this product is equally effective to $$$$scrips Now that she is on 'maintain level' meds,this site offers us the best price out there for our household budget.The communication between petmeds,our vet and us,is phenominal. Plus,finding a little 'treat' for her in each shipment is nice surprise! Highly recommend petmeds!
Date published: 2014-06-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from tiger has perked up and is eating more food and is more lively now since being on the medication. I'm very happy with it.
Date published: 2014-05-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from she is doing well on it As much as I do not like drugs, I can say Kiwi is doing well on it...she has gained weight and spry. She is 16 this year and still acting like a younger cat, so far. I would recommend this, as I have seen the improvement it brings with two cats, now
Date published: 2014-03-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing changes Jack lost several pounds; he look frail and his coat was flat. Methimazole allows him to keep weight on. It has improved his coat. He is healthy and looks handsome, just like his old self!
Date published: 2014-01-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent fast acting med My brother Boo was losing weight, grumpy as all get out (to ME, imagine, the soul of sweetness) and losing weight. Our owners took him to the vet and he has gained weight, is his usual self (he's bore) and he looks almost as gorgeous as I do -- but that is impossible!
Date published: 2014-01-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works great At the end of August, my cat Candy was diagnosed with Hyperthyroidism. Her thyroid level was 4X what it should be, she had lost 2.5lbs. she had elevated liver enzymes & a heart murmur. After six weeks on Methimazole 1/2 a pill every 12hrs. Candy's thyroid level & liver enzymes are back down to normal, she gained back the 2.5lbs. she lost & her heart murmur is gone. Candy looks great & is acting like her old self. My vet was shocked by how quickly she responded to treatment. I use pill pockets Candy loves the taste & that makes giving her the medication much easier for me.
Date published: 2013-11-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very successful My cat, Twtan, was an indoor-outdoor cat, before we got a dog last May. He then took a great dislike to coming back to the house when the dog never went away (in his experience, visiting dogs all eventually went home! But this one didn't! As a result, Twtan went rogue, and refused to come home, although we once caught him and brought him home - he was ravenous. Neighbors were asked NOT to feed him(which they'd done) in the hopes that the cat would return. NO such luck. Eventually caught him and found he was just a bundle of bones with fur - so thin. Ate like a horse, but put on no weight. Took him to the vet and found he had severe thyroid condition, and had gone down from 11lbs, to under 7. Given this med (5 mg.3x a day) and it soon began to work wonders. Now down to 2x a day and cat has regained his weight and fur looks great. By the way, I use a "pill popper" plunger device to get the pill to the back of his throat, and it works great. Heartily recommend it. Saves me from scratches and saves having to buy Pill Pockets or suchlike. Cat doesn't care for it but puts up with it. Used to wrap him in a towel to stop him wriggling, now no need. Thanks, Methimazole!
Date published: 2013-10-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from great Soon as our kitty-Jumping Jack started using Methimazole he started to gain some of the weight back.He weighed 7lbs before the meds. now he weighs 12lbs. & is doing great. Jumping Jack is 13 yrs old his brother Flash is 16lbs -on a diet! I would recomend this to any one who's cat is dignosed with a thirod condition.
Date published: 2013-10-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from So Far So Good!!! The methimazole has worked great so far for Mr. Fuzz (a.k.a. Slicky) who has been taking them for about two weeks now with no nasty side effects. He seems calmer now. He still has a voracious appetite, but does not seem so desperate and frantic. I LOVE THE PILL POCKETS!!! and can not praise them enough. He scarfs them down like there's no tomorrow.
Date published: 2013-09-13
  • y_2020, m_8, d_8, h_15
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.10
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_127
  • loc_en_US, sid_prod10491, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_1800petmeds
  • bvseo_sdk, dw_cartridge, 18.2.0, p_sdk_3.2.0
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 6ms
  • reviews, product

Questions

What happens if my cat misses a dose?

Asked by: Sher
Thank you for your question. If your pet has missed a dose give the missed dose as soon as you remember during the same day. However, if you don't remember until the next day, skip the dose you missed and give only the next regularly scheduled dose. Do not give a double dose of the medication.
Answered by: Crystal RPTechnician
Date published: 2018-03-08

My 14 Y/O male cat was just put on methimazole for hyperthyroidism.  2 questions:  1,he is only 8 lbs, is the dose still 5mg.? 2, he will be staying with an elderly care giver who will be unable to give him his dosage for 4 days. Is this a problem?

Asked by: Seven
The usual initial dose varies from 2.5-5mg 2 or 3 times a day. The dosing and frequency is determined by the veterinarian. Methimazole is generally needed for the life of the pet. If the medication is stopped, the symptoms will reappear. We recommend consulting with the veterinarian before going days without the medication.
Answered by: Crystal RPTechnician
Date published: 2017-10-25

Does this medicine make you gain weight

Asked by: Kathy
Weight gain is not listed in the side effects.
Answered by: Cherley Petmeds Pro
Date published: 2017-08-30

My cat just started this medication. I give her half a pill in morning and another half 12 hours later. My vet told me to wear gloves because this medicine can affect my thyroid! Is that right? And if so, how careful do I have to be?

Asked by: Lena37
Thank you for your question. Methimazole inhibits the production of thyroid hormones. Listen to your veterinarians instructions.
Answered by: leanniejo
Date published: 2019-06-02

How much is tuna flavored liquid?

Asked by: Poppyphil
We have the medication available compounded and we do offer the tuna flavor. You are not charged additional for flavoring the medication. The cost however is determined by the dosage needed.
Answered by: Crystal RPTechnician
Date published: 2017-08-20

Can I take biotin with methimazole

Asked by: Maumau
Hello, there are no reported drug interactions with biotin and methimazole. However, it is best to speak to your Vet before giving your pet any over the counter products, such as biotin.
Answered by: Roseanna Pharmacy Intern
Date published: 2017-05-03

Within minutes of my giving my cat her 5 mg pill, she ate the 5 mg pill I had put in a pill pouch treat that I had been trying to get her to eat for 20 minutes. So, she ended up with 2 pills or 10 mg. What should I do?

Asked by: Scooter
Your cat should be ok. Higher doses have been used in cats that are safe. Stop giving methimazole and contact your veterinarian at once if your pet develops any of these serious side effects; fever, chills, body aches; easy bruising or bleeding, unusual weakness; blood in the urine or stools; severe blistering, peeling, and skin rash; nausea, low fever, loss of appetite, dark urine, jaundice.
Answered by: Ben B
Date published: 2017-09-23

I am giving my cat the gel of methimazole. Is there any side effects to me if I get the med on my skin? Thank you

Asked by: Mellowmayo
In order to reduce any possibilities of side effects you can wear gloves to apply. Pregnant or nursing women should wear gloves as side effects are a possibility, but are less than the pill form. This could cause vomiting.
Answered by: Ben B
Date published: 2017-11-03

Hello. Im giving my pet 2.5 mg transdermal pen twice a day. Do you have that amount? And my vet said if i did pills i could not crush them up. Although im reading alot of reviews that say they crushed em up. 

Asked by: Kmbr93
We do carry a transdermal dosage form of this medication that can be dosed out for 2.5mg
Answered by: S Duesler PharmD MBA
Date published: 2017-11-03

Need this medicine compounded.. cost ??? Need 30 day supply...  giving 2 ml per day..

Asked by: chip
Below is the link to our compounded Methimazole. It comes as a liquid for oral use, chewable tablets, or as a transdermal gel. http://www.1800petmeds.com/Methimazole+Compounded+-prod90110.html
Answered by: Christine
Date published: 2017-08-20

Does the thyroid med come in 2.5 tablets. Breaking them up they dont get the correct dose.

Asked by: hoop
Unfortunately, we only dispense 5mg tablets, but perhaps a pill cutter might make it easier.
Answered by: paulpharmacistintern
Date published: 2017-12-19

Overdose symptoms for cats

Asked by: tricia
If your cat is experiencing an allergice reaction, fever, chills, body aches; easy bruising or bleeding, unusual weakness; blood in the urine or stools; severe blistering, peeling, and skin rash; nausea, low fever, loss of appetite, dark urine, contact your vet right away adn stop giving Methimazole. Less threatening side effects could be headache, drowsiness, dizziness; mild nausea, or vomiting; itching; muscle, joint, or nerve pain; swelling; hair loss.
Answered by: paulpharmacistintern
Date published: 2016-12-30

Felimazole and Methimazole

Hello, My cat has been on Felimazole. Can I get Methimazole with the prescription for Felimazole that my vet has written?
Asked by: H
Felimazole tablets are coated. Methimazole is just a regular tablet, with no coating on it. The methimazole from us would require a new prescription from your vet written out for methimazole.
Answered by: Kelly P
Date published: 2017-02-15

THYROID MEDICATION 4 ROSE

MY CAT ROSE IS TAKING METHIMAZOLE TRANSDERMAL GEL PEN IN EARS(OCT 2014) DOSE 1.5 ML...PAYING $40 A MONTH...WHAT REPLACEMENT OF YOURS CAN I GIVE ROSE INSTEAD? PLEASE EMAIL INFO. THX.NANCY
Asked by: TIGERGAL
HI Nancy. We do not have a pen. We have methimazole transdermal gel syringes in 100mg/ml 1 ml size and also 50mg/ml 1 ml size. Please call our customer care department and tell us the dose in mg's you give your kitty a day. We will be happy to help you figure out the price per month. Thank you !
Answered by: Linda petmeds pharmacist
Date published: 2015-04-29

Can you recomend a very good supplement that I can give my high thyroid kitty? been on Methizamole about 2 years.

Asked by: Gan
Speak with your veterinarian before starting your pet on any supplements to determine if your cat could benefit from its use and which one would be most appropriate. 1800Petmeds does carry an Endocrine Package however it is recommended for dogs. It is an ideal set of supplemental products for any dog with an endocrine-related illness (Diabetes, Hypothyroidism, Hyperthyroidism, Addison's Disease, and Cushing's Disease). The products included are Proanthozone which helps maintain your pet's health against cell damage, especially in the liver and kidneys that may be caused by long term medication use; NaturVet Enzymes and Probiotics which helps to maintain digestive health and strengthen your pet's immune system; and Super Pure Omega 3 which restores your dog's coat and skin health.
Answered by: Cheryl-Pharmacist
Date published: 2018-09-06

Can I get the Methimazole in a gel instead of a tablet for my cat?

We have 3 elderly cats and I want to make sure she gets it instead of the other two. The ear application seems like a good way. It is working so far but is a bit pricey. I was curious to see if you offered it and what the cost is. Thanks!
Asked by: Smokey
Yes, we do carry the transdermal methimazole !! Please call our customer service department for prices.
Answered by: Linda petmeds pharmacist
Date published: 2015-03-30

medications

is this the same type of Methimazole that I take (as a person) for hyperthyroidism?
Asked by: Lu
Methimazole tablets are used in both humans and cats in the treatment of hyperthyroidism.
Answered by: Cheryl-Pharmacist
Date published: 2017-11-03

medicine

does it come in 6mg liquid?
Asked by: jan
The concentration of the liquid methimazole we carry is 5mg/mL. This can be purchased in 15, 30, 60, 90, and 120 mL bottles.
Answered by: Cheryl-Pharmacist
Date published: 2014-11-03

Can Methimazole cause red bumps on my cat's neck?

My cat Snowy was put on 2.5 mg of Methimazole twice a day. His blood was tested after one month and his T4 levels were back to normal. He became more active with a better appetite and didn't act at all like the 19 year old that he is. Now almost 2 months on the medication he is getting red raised spots in several places on the back of his neck. Some have scabs so I think he must be scratching them. Could this be a reaction to the Methimazole and if so why would it take so long to show itself?
Asked by: Snowy'sDad
Considering that your pet only started having this problem now and he's been on the medication for awhile it may not be a result of the medication. However, contact your veterinarian as they may want to examine your pet to determine the cause and if treatment is necessary.
Answered by: Cheryl-Pharmacist
Date published: 2014-09-27

Can Methimazole make my cats utine have a very strong odor?

Sine my can started taking methimazole his litter bis has an extremely pungent odor. The whole house stinks. Could this be a side effect?
Asked by: Karadono
I would mention this to your veterinarian
Answered by: Linda petmeds pharmacist
Date published: 2016-06-20

What form is the methimazole in?

I currently give my cat one chewy tablet (chicken or seafood flavor) per day. Is this chewy tablet available through your website?
Asked by: nancy
Methimazole chewtabs are a compounded medication that is available in a 5mg and 10mg dose. They come in a 30 count and 90 count bottle.
Answered by: Cheryl-Pharmacist
Date published: 2014-08-15

Can this be used for my dog?

My dog has the rare hyperthyroidism and I would like to know if this can be used.
Asked by: lucky
In these rare cases Veterinarians may prescribe methimazole but this is something you would need to discuss with your veterinarian first.
Answered by: Pharmacist
Date published: 2014-05-12

tapazole 5 mg

I am to give my cat a half a pill of tapazole 5mg every 12 hours which is 2 times a day. I gave it to him about 45 minutes early can he have a reaction due to giving it to him early. I ask because we set our clocks ahead today and usually I give it to him at 6am and 6pm so this morning it would technically have been like at 5:15 am. He vomited 6 hours after taking the pill 2 times. I did call an emergency vet and they said that it probably wasn't the meds but I wanted to check with you. What are the guidelines as far as following the dosage time exactly. Can it hurt if given an hour early even though my vet said every 12 hours.I don't plan on doing this again but then we have the time changes it messes things up a bit.
Asked by: Diane Floyd
No , it wont hurt to give it a little bit early.
Answered by: Linda petmeds pharmacist
Date published: 2014-03-11

Can Methimazole affect the kidneys?

My cat was on Methimazole for about a month. She stopped eating and drinking and when the vet ran tests, discovered she was in kidney failure. After 11 days of fluids, meds, etc. she did bounce back, however I haven't put her back on the Methimazole as I'm afraid it caused the kidney failure. Vet says "no" it was most likely a bacterial infection. What do you think?
Asked by: KittyKattLover
What the vet is saying makes sense. If you do not treat your cats hyperthyroidism, the end result could likely be more kidney damage. Its unlikely that the methimazole caused kidney failure, if anything, it will help preserve kidney function and even possibly reverse some damage. I recommend having more discussion with your vet to explain the pros and cons of treating hyperthroidism. Perhaps you can obtain a second opinion to help you decide what is best for your pet. Also, do your own research on the matter. Good luck to you and your pet !!
Answered by: Linda petmeds pharmacist
Date published: 2017-08-09

Why does my hyperthyroidism cat on again and off again struggle with urinary problems?

We give her the Azmira herbs for it (vet approved it with her Methimazole) and it helps her but I wish we did not have to be dependent on the herbs as well.
Asked by: willowbrooke
I have a hyperthyroid cat with this problem. My vet thinks in my cat's case that dental disease causes the periodic infections. Unfortunately my cat also has some heart disease that precludes having her teeth worked on (too dangerous to put the cat under anesthesia), so we are giving her antibiotics periodically (on for two weeks, off for a month, on for two weeks, etc.) which seems to work so far. My vet didn't think the hyperthyroidism had anything to do with my cat's urinary tract infections.
Answered by: James
Date published: 2014-02-03

Do you offer 2.5mg tables of methimazole *or* felimazole?

Previously you said it wasn't available, but it's been over a year, so I thought I'd ask again, even though I don't see it online. I'm currently getting 2.5mg coated tablets of felimazole through my vet, but I'm hoping to find an online resource (to save both time and money).
Asked by: winegirl1973
If you can use the uncoated tabs,they can be broken in half. Not sure if that would be a nuisance every day, but I know I have broken the 5 mgs in half sometimes to hide them better in our cat's food.
Answered by: Jack the cat
Date published: 2014-08-28

Why would methimazole 5mg. be prescribed for only 10 days?

Cat has been losing weight, hungry all the time, using the cat pan all the time, and vocalizing alot. After the first few days the cat was acting more normally. Now he is still losing weight, using the kitty pan alot, and hungry all the time.
Asked by: Nana
Your veterinarian may want to reevaluate your pet to see if it is necessary for your pet to be on the medication long term. Contact your veterinarian if your pet's condition has not improved.
Answered by: Cheryl-Pharmacist
Date published: 2013-10-22

With too much of Methimazole medication, can the cat get a bleeding ulcer & ultimately die from?

Began w/ 2.5-NG, 5.0-NG, 7.5 worked & doing fine. Then a refill they messed up & gave me 2.5 pills instead of 5's so she wasn't even getting 4 mg. They realized when she was so hungry always again & put to 7.5 again & wasn't showing affecting labs anymore so they upped to 10 mg even tho she had side affects of vomiting. Now she threw up blood for 2 days & after 3 days of fluids, she cannot even get up to go potty, and is like a limp ragdoll, occasionally w/ a cry. Is there any chance for her to rebound now or should I put her out of her misery? Help-can't watch this much longer, but vet thinks there's hope (sadly, don't see it any longer)...
Asked by: Debi
Yes, there is much hope for your kitty. Listen to your vet and may just take time. My kitty gets better and than not so good, but more days that she is still enjoying life. They are like people. Will take time for her. Vet for her care for sure. Best to you and kitty.
Answered by: Ronni
Date published: 2013-10-22

Meds comparison

What is the difference between Methimazol & Tapazol? Is one med & other generic & actually the same?
Asked by: L'il Debi
Methimazole is the generic available on the market for the brand drug Tapazole
Answered by: Lilli Pharmacist
Date published: 2013-10-22

current use is twist a pencil-like container in cream form. can you supply ? (and cost)

Asked by: jerry
I think you are referring to Methimazole in a compounded form. We do provide Methimazole 50mg/ml and 100mg/ml, in a transdermal gel form. This comes in 1ml syringes ,not the twist type that you are reffering to. Ask your veterinarian if this will be compatable with what you are currently using. Thank you for your question.
Answered by: Marty Pharm D Rph
Date published: 2013-10-22
  • y_2020, m_8, d_8, h_15CST
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvqa, vn_bulk_3.0.10
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasquestionsanswers, tq_131
  • loc_en_US, sid_prod10491, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=LAST_APPROVED_ANSWER_SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_1800petmeds
  • bvseo_sdk, dw_cartridge, 18.2.0, p_sdk_3.2.0
  • CLOUD, getContent, 30ms
  • questions, product

What is Methimazole?

Methimazole is used to treat hyperthyroidism in cats. Methimazole is used to treat overactive thyroid (hyperthyroidism). It is also used before thyroid surgery or radioactive iodine treatment. It has largely replaced propylthiouracil in this treatment process since it has a lower incidence of adverse side effects. Methimazole requires a prescription from your veterinarian, and is sold per tablet.

For:

Cats

Benefits:

  • Effectively treats hyperthyroidism in cats
  • Rapid results
  • Affordably sold per tablet

How does Methimazole work?

Hyperthyroidism is a condition that occurs when the thyroid gland produces too much thyroid hormone. Methimazole inhibits the production of thyroid hormones.

Cautions:

Blood tests must be done to check for proper dosage. Do not use in pregnant or nursing animals. Do not give your pet a live vaccine while giving methimazole. Contact your veterinarian immediately if your pet develops signs of an infection.

Brand Name:

Tapazole (Jones)

Generic Name:

Methimazole

What should I discuss with my veterinarian before giving Methimazole to my pet:

Tell your veterinarian if your pet has an allergy to methimazole or if your pet has liver disease, a blood cell disorder, or a weak immune system. Tell your veterinarian if the pet is pregnant or nursing. Inform your veterinarian of any other medications, including vitamins and supplements your pet may be taking while receiving methimazole.

What is the most important information I should know about Methimazole?

Methimazole is a prescription medication not FDA approved for veterinary use; however, it is a commonly accepted practice for veterinarians to use this medication in cats. Methimazole is available as a 5mg scored tablet. The usual initial dose for cats is 5mg every 8 to 12 hours. Do not give methimazole to pregnant or nursing animals. Methimazole can increase the risk of bleeding. Methimazole can lower the blood cells that help fight infections. Your veterinarian will need to give blood tests on a regular basis to be sure these blood cells do not get too low. Do not give the pet a "live" vaccine while the pet is taking methimazole. Methimazole is needed for the life of the pet. If the medication is stopped, the symptoms will reappear.

How should Methimazole be given?

Give this medication exactly as directed by your veterinarian. Do not give in larger amounts, or give it for longer than recommended by your veterinarian. Follow the directions on the prescription label. If you do not understand the directions ask the pharmacist or veterinarian to explain them to you. Methimazole can be given with or without food. Allow plenty of water for the pet to drink. Store methimazole at room temperature away from moisture and heat. Keep this medication away from children and pets.

What are the possible side effects of Methimazole?

If any of the following serious side effects occur, stop giving methimazole and seek emergency veterinary medical attention; an allergic reaction (difficulty breathing; swelling of the lips; tongue or face; hives). Stop giving methimazole and contact your veterinarian at once if your pet develops any of these serious side effects; fever, chills, body aches; easy bruising or bleeding, unusual weakness; blood in the urine or stools; severe blistering, peeling, and skin rash; nausea, low fever, loss of appetite, dark urine, jaundice. Other less serious side effects may occur. Continue giving methimazole and talk to your veterinarian if your pet experiences headache, drowsiness, dizziness; mild nausea, or vomiting; itching; muscle, joint, or nerve pain; swelling; hair loss. Other side effects may also occur. Talk to your veterinarian about any side effect that seems unusual or bothersome to the animal.

What happens if I miss giving a dose of Methimazole?

Give the missed dose as soon as you remember during the same day. However, if you don't remember until the next day, skip the dose you missed and give only the next regularly scheduled dose. Do not give a double dose of the medication.

What should I avoid while giving Methimazole to my pet?

Do not give the pet a "live" vaccine while the pet is taking methimazole. Contact your veterinarian at once if your pet develops signs of an infection.

What other drugs will affect Methimazole?

Tell your veterinarian if your pet is taking theophylline (Theo-Dur), warfarin (Coumadin), digoxin (Lanoxin), a beta blocker such as atenolol (Tenormin), metoprolol (Lopressor), or propranolol (Inderal). Drugs other than those listed may also interact with Methimazole. Talk to your veterinarian or pharmacist before giving any prescription or over the counter medicines.

Methimazole Directions:

  • Methimazole is a prescription medication used by veterinarians to treat overactive (hyper) thyroid in cats.
  • Methimazole is not FDA approved for use in veterinary medicine; however, it is a commonly accepted practice for veterinarians to prescribe this medication for cats.
  • Methimazole is also used before thyroid surgery or radioactive iodine treatment.
  • Periodic blood tests will be necessary while the cat is taking this medication.
Tip:

Do not use in pregnant or nursing animals. Methimazole can be given with or without food.

Methimazole Dosage for Cats:

Cats:
WeightDosage
All weightsThe usual initial dose varies from 2.5-5mg 2 or 3 times a day. Periodic blood testing is required to monitor liver function and for any toxic effects on blood cells
Methimazole Dosage for Dogs:
Dogs
Do not use!
Methimazole Dosage for Horses:
Horses
Do not use!
Storage:

Store methimazole at room temperature, away from moisture and heat.

Methimazole Ingredients:

Methimazole
Active Ingredients (per tablet)Amount
Methimazole5 mg
Other Ingredients: Lactose Monohydrate, Povidone, Talc, Croscarmellose Sodium, Magnesium Stearate, Corn Starch.

What is Methimazole?

Methimazole is used to treat hyperthyroidism in cats. Methimazole is used to treat overactive thyroid (hyperthyroidism). It is also used before thyroid surgery or radioactive iodine treatment. It has largely replaced propylthiouracil in this treatment process since it has a lower incidence of adverse side effects. Methimazole requires a prescription from your veterinarian, and is sold per tablet.

For:

Cats

Benefits:

  • Effectively treats hyperthyroidism in cats
  • Rapid results
  • Affordably sold per tablet

How does Methimazole work?

Hyperthyroidism is a condition that occurs when the thyroid gland produces too much thyroid hormone. Methimazole inhibits the production of thyroid hormones.

Cautions:

Blood tests must be done to check for proper dosage. Do not use in pregnant or nursing animals. Do not give your pet a live vaccine while giving methimazole. Contact your veterinarian immediately if your pet develops signs of an infection.

Brand Name:

Tapazole (Jones)

Generic Name:

Methimazole

What should I discuss with my veterinarian before giving Methimazole to my pet:

Tell your veterinarian if your pet has an allergy to methimazole or if your pet has liver disease, a blood cell disorder, or a weak immune system. Tell your veterinarian if the pet is pregnant or nursing. Inform your veterinarian of any other medications, including vitamins and supplements your pet may be taking while receiving methimazole.

What is the most important information I should know about Methimazole?

Methimazole is a prescription medication not FDA approved for veterinary use; however, it is a commonly accepted practice for veterinarians to use this medication in cats. Methimazole is available as a 5mg scored tablet. The usual initial dose for cats is 5mg every 8 to 12 hours. Do not give methimazole to pregnant or nursing animals. Methimazole can increase the risk of bleeding. Methimazole can lower the blood cells that help fight infections. Your veterinarian will need to give blood tests on a regular basis to be sure these blood cells do not get too low. Do not give the pet a "live" vaccine while the pet is taking methimazole. Methimazole is needed for the life of the pet. If the medication is stopped, the symptoms will reappear.

How should Methimazole be given?

Give this medication exactly as directed by your veterinarian. Do not give in larger amounts, or give it for longer than recommended by your veterinarian. Follow the directions on the prescription label. If you do not understand the directions ask the pharmacist or veterinarian to explain them to you. Methimazole can be given with or without food. Allow plenty of water for the pet to drink. Store methimazole at room temperature away from moisture and heat. Keep this medication away from children and pets.

What are the possible side effects of Methimazole?

If any of the following serious side effects occur, stop giving methimazole and seek emergency veterinary medical attention; an allergic reaction (difficulty breathing; swelling of the lips; tongue or face; hives). Stop giving methimazole and contact your veterinarian at once if your pet develops any of these serious side effects; fever, chills, body aches; easy bruising or bleeding, unusual weakness; blood in the urine or stools; severe blistering, peeling, and skin rash; nausea, low fever, loss of appetite, dark urine, jaundice. Other less serious side effects may occur. Continue giving methimazole and talk to your veterinarian if your pet experiences headache, drowsiness, dizziness; mild nausea, or vomiting; itching; muscle, joint, or nerve pain; swelling; hair loss. Other side effects may also occur. Talk to your veterinarian about any side effect that seems unusual or bothersome to the animal.

What happens if I miss giving a dose of Methimazole?

Give the missed dose as soon as you remember during the same day. However, if you don't remember until the next day, skip the dose you missed and give only the next regularly scheduled dose. Do not give a double dose of the medication.

What should I avoid while giving Methimazole to my pet?

Do not give the pet a "live" vaccine while the pet is taking methimazole. Contact your veterinarian at once if your pet develops signs of an infection.

What other drugs will affect Methimazole?

Tell your veterinarian if your pet is taking theophylline (Theo-Dur), warfarin (Coumadin), digoxin (Lanoxin), a beta blocker such as atenolol (Tenormin), metoprolol (Lopressor), or propranolol (Inderal). Drugs other than those listed may also interact with Methimazole. Talk to your veterinarian or pharmacist before giving any prescription or over the counter medicines.

Methimazole Directions:

  • Methimazole is a prescription medication used by veterinarians to treat overactive (hyper) thyroid in cats.
  • Methimazole is not FDA approved for use in veterinary medicine; however, it is a commonly accepted practice for veterinarians to prescribe this medication for cats.
  • Methimazole is also used before thyroid surgery or radioactive iodine treatment.
  • Periodic blood tests will be necessary while the cat is taking this medication.
Tip:

Do not use in pregnant or nursing animals. Methimazole can be given with or without food.

Methimazole Dosage for Cats:

Cats:
WeightDosage
All weightsThe usual initial dose varies from 2.5-5mg 2 or 3 times a day. Periodic blood testing is required to monitor liver function and for any toxic effects on blood cells
Methimazole Dosage for Dogs:
Dogs
Do not use!
Methimazole Dosage for Horses:
Horses
Do not use!
Storage:

Store methimazole at room temperature, away from moisture and heat.

Methimazole Ingredients:

Methimazole
Active Ingredients (per tablet)Amount
Methimazole5 mg
Other Ingredients: Lactose Monohydrate, Povidone, Talc, Croscarmellose Sodium, Magnesium Stearate, Corn Starch.