4.6 out of 5 Customer Rating
Medicated Shampoo is rated 4.9 out of 5 by 97.
  • y_2021, m_1, d_26, h_17
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.13
  • cp_4, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_1, tr_96
  • loc_en_US, sid_prod11132, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_1800petmeds
  • bvseo_sdk, dw_cartridge, 18.2.0, p_sdk_3.2.0
  • CLOUD, getAggregateRating, 7ms
  • reviews, product
Starts $17.40 $12.18
Most orders ship the same day
prod11132 product detail number 1.0

Medicated Shampoo

4.6 out of 5 Customer Rating
Medicated Shampoo is rated 4.9 out of 5 by 97.
  • y_2021, m_1, d_26, h_17
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.13
  • cp_4, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_1, tr_96
  • loc_en_US, sid_prod11132, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_1800petmeds
  • bvseo_sdk, dw_cartridge, 18.2.0, p_sdk_3.2.0
  • CLOUD, getAggregateRating, 7ms
  • reviews, product
Starts $17.40 $12.18
Most orders ship the same day
Please select all product options.

Reviews

Rated 5 out of 5 by from No More sleepless nights I just got this product and gave my 3 dogs their bath.I used the 10 minute time line for product to be left on and for the first time in weeks we all got a good nights sleep.This product works great and i would suggest it to anyone who has a pet that suffers from scratching and chewing themselves to death.Believe me when i say they will love you and you will love this product and the relief it will give your pets.
Date published: 2014-11-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Life Saver My Devon Rex cat developed a combination of Malassezia Dermatitis and Ringworm after being treated for months with antibiotics and unsuccessful antiviral medication for eye conjunctivitis, chest congestion and eye herpes. She began to loose fur (this breed of cat is usually shedless but we began to see clouds of fur all over the house), scratch herself, develop a yellow glue-like substance that clung to her skin and fur and a black fungus that clung to her face, neck and stained her white fur dark brown. She looked like she was dying, like she was being eaten alive by fungus. I would spend more than an hour daily trying to clean her, using a plastic eyelash comb to remove the glue like substance-but the symptoms returned. The topical 1% Micazole Lotion prescribed by the Vet that I applied to cotton squares and rubbed into my pet's fur was helpful but was not enough. It took more than 3 weeks for the Vet's office to get back to me with the results of the positive Ringworm test. In the mean time, I had done my own research and started my pet on Malapet Medicated Shampoo. Her condition promptly improved, and I was able to get her symptoms under control. She stopped loosing fur. This shampoo leaves my pet looking clean and smelling nice. I trimmed my cat's fur as short as possible in the affected areas to make it easier to eradicate the fungus. As per my Vet's recommendation, my pet is also currently being treated with oral anti fungal medication and will need to be re-tested for ringworm once the course of treatment is completed. I also switched my pet to Halo sensitive formula cat food and am giving her Be Well Omega 3 Organic whole food supplement. I will continue to bathe her periodically with this shampoo as a preventive measure since her immune system seems to be compromised.
Date published: 2014-09-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Only thing that works! My dogs condition was going on for months, ring worm, real bad irritation, hair loss, I tried about a dozen different things, nothing worked. Got the malapet shampoo, and in 2 days it`s almost cleared up, this stuff is great. Worked fantastic, I was shocked, I tried everything, my dog is feeling great again!!!! And in a couple days will be looking great!!!
Date published: 2014-08-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Just wonderful My cocker has had lumps and bumps, crusty scabs. and chronic ear infections. She has been allergy tested and eats only what she not allergic to. After many many trips to the vet several rounds of antibiotics and steroid pills and using their special shampoo the vet gave me..It kept returning. Now she's on another dog food ( Which she likes better) and using Malapet Medicated shampoo ( mind you I have only used it twice) she's almost 100% back..no more itching and she's happier. I will continue using this shampoo every other day until she's totally clear. I would highly recommend Malapet Medicated shampoo and I will re buy.
Date published: 2014-08-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works - NO more corn chip smell! I'm not a reviewer-type but after spending a lot of time researching how to get rid of a canine yeast infection I hope someone else can benefit from my experience. First off, let me say this shampoo WORKS. My terrier had an awful awful AWFUL (did I mention awful?) "corn chip" smell stemming from a yeast infection/skin condition that even the vet couldn't cure. My pup had the smell all over his body, not just the typical "Frito Foot." After a LOT of trial and error, I found a combo of solutions that worked. First, I switched from a natural/no filler dog food to a no-grain, lo carb food made by Evo (pink bag). I also drizzle Grizzly Salmon Oil (or whatever fish oil is available) over the food once a day. And what really helped was the Malapet shampoo. It's miraculous. My best advice after using it for several months is to FOLLOW THE DIRECTIONS AND LEAVE THE SHAMPOO ON FOR THE FULL 10 MINUTES. Let it soak in and work. I've tried at least half a dozen expensive pet store shampoos and none of them even comes close to Malapet. The food and oil work to attack the problem from the inside and the shampoo attacks it from the outside. He's happy, healthy, energetic, and NOT smelly. And most importantly, not on medication.
Date published: 2014-06-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from please buy this for your pet Hi, my little girl Sabel has had skin problems since I got her.She was used for a breed dog until I got her.I have tried lots of your shampoos but this did what I needed it to do , no more itching or breakouts on her. We love this shampoo
Date published: 2014-04-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Finally, clear skin and no stink! I tried diet changes and other shampoos for 4 years and my Westie still had bad skin and smelled like a stinky old sleeping bag within 2 days of every bath. I have used Malapet as directed for less than 2 weeks now and my little buddy has clear skin and smells great. I'm ordering more right now, so I never run out!!
Date published: 2014-01-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from No more stinky dog! Our elderly dog has had a smelly coat for a couple of years. We would shampoo him and he would still smell bad. This shampoo has cured the stink!!! IT REALLY WORKS.
Date published: 2013-12-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fantastic!!!!! Like all of the other reviews have stated, I went in search for a shampoo that would be relief to my poor lil' dog! A neighbor's dog had some kind of skin infection and ended up giving it to my little dog, SamMaGee. He was itching, licking so much, it was keeping us awake at night. I tried several products to no avail. I went on the internet and realized this was a type of yeast infection and decided to give this shampoo a try, so glad I did. I got the shampoo in today and gave him a bath. His itching has calmed down over 80% and he is now resting comfortably. His little eyes were so tired looking, I felt so bad for him. He is now back to being a happy little dog. Thank you!! This is one product I will keep on hand!
Date published: 2013-10-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Malapet work quickly I'm a dog rescuer, a 6week pup that had been tortured & partly peeled down to the muscle was in a drainage ditch. I tried many things some burned gave no releif.I looked up different shampoos Malapet had a different ingredient, price was good. First use he got so much relief he started playing. He was like a pup again after the second treatment real healing physically & emotionally best was it did not burn.His skin grew back not the hair but he was a beautiful dog. It's the only shampoo I use and I tell everyone about it
Date published: 2013-09-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great My Docker had a yeast infection in her blood system. Which gives her sores on her boby from certain foods, this is the only shampoo I have found that works! After the 1st shampoo, 80% of her sores went away! 2nd they were gone! make sure you let it sit on them for the full 10 minutes! I use this every 2 to 3 days, along with her special diet. Thanks to this product she itches no more!!
Date published: 2013-06-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My dog quit scratching! Be sure to follow the directions on the bottle. My poor dog used to scratch so much it wore her out - you could see it in her eyes. I only use this shampoo now and she doesn't scratch and sleeps through the night.
Date published: 2013-05-29
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I just washed my dog. he has thick scabs on his back and tail. he is constantly digging and licking and he has a bad odor. also his hair gets oily. will this remove these thick scabs and help his itching?
Date published: 2013-04-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works Great I just got this product in the mail yesterday. So I said lets give it a try and WOW. I have a 2 year old American Bulldog and with Bulldogs comes skin problems. I will say for the first go around I did what the directions say and his skin cleared right up. I will do it twice week and see how it goes. I will update later.
Date published: 2013-03-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best shampoo anywhere!! I have a 6 year old pug that developed skin problems when he was about 3 years old. I tried everything, including a prescription (very expensive) from the vet. Some products would ease the itching, but he had no hair in the effected areas and the smell was bad. Within one to two weeks the odor went away, his coat looks great and his hair has grown back in. I would recommend this shampoo to anyone!
Date published: 2012-10-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works fast I have a large breed Great Pyrnese and Bernese Mountain with skin issues yeast infections from time to time, Malapet worked fast and really soothed her very irritated skin. I would recommend this to anyone who has a dog with these issues. My Vet told me it was safe to use 1 or 2 weekly as needed. I was glad to hear that.
Date published: 2012-08-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Shampoo of the Year!!! We have an 8 year old cocker spaniel who has suffered with skin problems for years. Crusty spots, itching and flaking. She keeps us all awake licking and scratching at night. It is so sad. We have tried yogurt (for her yeast issues), changing her diet, prednisone, and several other medications- all have been temporary fixes and have taken a while to show results. I stumbled upon this shampoo after a "Google search" and THERE IS A REASON IT HAS SO MANY GREAT REVIEWS!!!! We used it once about a week ago, but I can't wait to try it again. She wants to cuddle at night instead of stay up licking all the time- her coat is SO SHINY and she smells like....nothing-haha. Usually she smelled like....feet? Words cannot describe the stench. I am keeping my fingers crossed that this product continues to work over time. Usually we get excited and then she has a flare up again that lasts for weeks/months. She just got a hair cut, but the fur on her ears is still a little long. My husband and I say she looks (and ACTS) like a cheerleader with pigtails! :) She is so peppy and wild now! I was hesitant because this product is a bit expensive, but my advice is to just bite the bullet and get it. I would even pay more if I had to-haha! Thank you malapet!!! It's as if you've given us a new dog.
Date published: 2012-08-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from SOO Glad I Found This Product! My Yorkie has been suffering from crusty, itchy sores on his back for the past month since his last grooming. At first, I thought maybe the groomer nicked his with the clippers and it caused a sore. A few days later, my poor dog was constantly chewing at his back non-stop. I bathed him with flea and tick shampoo, baby shampoo, even dandruff shampoo, but the sores only spread and caused him even more grief. Last Saturday, I ordered Malapet, and to my surprise, it was in my mailbox the following Wednesday. As soon as it arrived, I bathed my beloved Gucci in it and crossed my fingers. I will say, the shampoo is very thick, but it lathered fine for me. I made sure I wet my dog thoroughly before applying it, just to be sure. At any rate, The next day, I checked my dog's back and about 80% of the scabby sores were gone! I immediately noticed his scratching had almost completely stopped withing the first 24 hrs. Here it is 3 days later and I can feel maybe 1 or 2 small scabs on my dog, but the majority of the sores have healed. I couldn't be happier with these results after just one use! The bottle says to use twice a week til you get the skin condition under control, so I'm sure that after I bathe him with Malapet today, he'll be pretty much cured of that nasty skin infection...I'd HIGHLY recommend this to anyone whose pet has skin issues and you're not quite sure whether its a fungus, bacteria or allergic reaction causing it. $13 verses $100 at the vet is worth trying on any day!
Date published: 2012-08-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good Stuff After three weeks of sneaking antibiotics into his food, he still had crusty, itchy spots on his belly, legs, and tail. About two weeks later I bought this stuff and now he's looking great. It seemed to clear up the bad stuff within about 48 hours (still some bare skin, but not crusty like before). This stuff may save you a vet visit if you have a dog with skin problems. Highly recommended at this point - only used once, but loving it.
Date published: 2012-07-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Cured her skin! My 16 yr old pug mix has had skin problems all her life, hot spots, scaling, constant itching, and she smelled like a corn chip. After bathing her just once with this shampoo, she had relief, after the second bath, she has absolutely no skin problems. All the years of prednisone, medicated shampoos, endless remedies have never given her the complete relief that this product has. I am so thankful she can finally be comfortable. This shampoo, does not lather like other shampoos, but gets her coat very clean, and more importantly cleans and remedies her skin.
Date published: 2012-05-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from LOVE This worked instantly...after Deegie's first bath I could SMELL the difference! She was 'cooling' down all over her body within a wk of use. I will never use another shampoo!!!! Well...I MIGHT try the cucumber be smooth and alternate if i find that we like that one too. Who wouldnt want to smell like Cucumbers and Melons?? :D
Date published: 2012-05-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Exceptional Product During my search for ways to make my 'allergic to everything' Scotty stay comfortable during the height of allergy season my vet recommended Malapet Medicated Shampoo. This is the product that does the trick for us. Within a month of twice a week baths with this crystal clear, fresh scented shampoo my little Duffy's constant scratching and carpet rubbing were only an irritating memory. I even take this shampoo to the groomer when we go. It's been a godsend. This shampoo is quite thick and I've found wetting Duffy down and then applying the shampoo to my hands to rub in works better than applying it directly to his coat. I've now used this product for over a year, alternating it with a mild oatmeal shampoo for Duffy's weekly baths, with excellent results
Date published: 2012-05-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Product This stuff works great! I gave her a bath as soon as I got it and noticed right away that she stopped scratching. I felt so bad for her and have tried several different options and nothing worked. This shampoo is amazing! I wish I knew about it sooner.
Date published: 2012-04-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from MALAPET SHAMPOO WE HAVE A BLACK PUG WHO FOR YEARS HAS SUFFERED FROM ITCHY, SCALY, FLAKING PATCHES ON HER SKIN. THE VET HAD PRESCRIBED PREDNISONE, ANTIHISTAMINES & FISH OIL. ALTHOUGH THE TERRIBLE SCRATCHING LESSENED, THE SKIN NEVER CLEARED UP. WE TRIED MALAPET SEVERAL WEEKS AGO AND IN ONE SHAMPOO THE RESULTS WERE AMAZING. AFTER HER SECOND SHAMPOO, HER SKIN WAS CLEAR WITH NO MORE TERRIBLE DANDRUFF. A GREAT PRODUCT WHICH WE FOUND BY ACCIDENT. WHY AREN'T VETS AWARE OF IT?.
Date published: 2012-03-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from great on my dog My dog always had flakey skin even after baths. I used this shampoo and put apple cider vinegar in the last rinse water and no more dandruff. Plus she smells nice and clean and her coat shines. I recommend this shampoo and the vinegar rinse.I'll keep buying it. Worked great.
Date published: 2011-10-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Kramer (a.k.a. the idiot. . .just kidding) Let's begin with. . .this stuff really works! Kramer. who is an eleven year old Westie had the traditional problems associated with westies. . .the skin problems. It was so bad again this year we re-worked his diet completely, no fillers in his food thing and the most natural of food and. . . after much research ordered this wonderful shampoo. I don't know who Mr. Malapet is I just want him, or her to know this stuff really works. Kramer in a matter of days has had the best turn around and. . .he back to his old playful idiot self again. Did I say idiot? ! ? Just kidding. Besides that's another story. . .he really is a wonderful dog. Signed. . .Richard (a.k.a. Kramers. . . idiot owner) Thank you Malapet. Call anytime for an endorsement of your shampoo! Cuz this stuff reall works! ! !
Date published: 2011-09-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome product My precious Westie is 6 years old and every summer we have fought with her skin problems. This product along with a little Brewers Yeast and Garlic probably saved her life. This was her worst year by far. She was almost bald and very sick. After the first couple of uses her hair started to return. It has been about 4 weeks now and she needs a trim! Now that I know about this product, she will never lose her hair again!
Date published: 2011-08-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Malapet Medicated Shampoo this shampoo is the best shampoo as you can see in the video how it lathers and it really removes the crust on the skin and makes the coat smell clean and the coat looks shinny and clean i do recommend this shampoo to any that has yeas infection or fungal problems
Date published: 2011-04-24
  • y_2021, m_1, d_26, h_17
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.13
  • cp_4, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_1, tr_96
  • loc_en_US, sid_prod11132, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_1800petmeds
  • bvseo_sdk, dw_cartridge, 18.2.0, p_sdk_3.2.0
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 6ms
  • reviews, product

Questions

  • bvseo_sdk, dw_cartridge, 18.2.0, p_sdk_3.2.0
  • CLOUD, getContent, 32ms
  • questions, product
  • bvseo-msg: Unsuccessful GET. status = 'ERROR', msg = 'Not Found.', code = '404';

What is Medicated Shampoo?

Medicated Shampoo is an antifungal and antibacterial medicated shampoo for dogs and cats. It helps to remove fungus and bacteria on your pet's skin.

For:

Cats and Dogs

Benefits:

  • Removes bacteria and fungus on the skin
  • Kills odor
  • Lathers well, rinses easily

How it Works:

Medicated Shampoo's active ingredients work to cleanse and protect the skin against microorganisms and bacteria that can cause itching and skin irritation.

Cautions:

None.

Brand Name:

Medicated Shampoo

Active Ingredient(s):

Ketoconazole 1.0%, Chlorhexidine Gluconate 2.0%

What is Medicated Shampoo used for:

Medicated Shampoo is a medicated shampoo used on dogs and cats for dermatological conditions responsive to Ketoconazole and Chlorhexidine Gluconate.

Availability:

Medicated Shampoo is a non-prescription (OTC) product.

How should Medicated Shampoo be used:

Wet coat thoroughly. Apply and lather over entire body allowing 10 minutes of contact time. Rinse completely with water. Repeat twice weekly until symptoms subside. Then use weekly, or as directed by your veterinarian.

What are the side effects of Medicated Shampoo:

There should be no side effects if used according to directions. However, if skin irritation develops or increases, discontinue use and contact your veterinarian. Talk to your veterinarian about any side effect that is unusual or seems especially bothersome to your pet.

What special precautions are there?:

Do not use Medicated Shampoo on a pet that is allergic to it or to similar products. Avoid contact with eyes and mucous membranes. If Medicated Shampoo gets in eyes rinse thoroughly with water and contact your veterinarian. Medicated Shampoo is for use on dogs and cats only. Keep out of the reach of children.

In the event of an overdose:

Overdose as a result of using this shampoo are unlikely. If an overdose is suspected, or if you see any unusual signs, symptoms, or behaviors in your pet, contact your veterinarian immediately.

How should I store Medicated Shampoo:

Should be stored at room temperature. Protect from freezing.

Medicated Shampoo Directions:

  • Medicated Shampoo is for dermatologic conditions that are associated with fungal or bacterial infections responsive to Ketoconazole and Chlorhexidine Gluconate.
  • Do not allow your pet to lick the shampoo while bathing.
Tip:

You should wait at last 24 hours to bathe your pet after applying topical flea and tick preventatives.

Medicated Shampoo Dosage:

Medicated Shampoo Dosage for Cats
Weight Dosage
All weights Wet coat thoroughly. Apply and lather over entire body allowing 10 minutes of contact time. Rinse completely with water. Repeat twice weekly until symptoms subside. Then use weekly, or as directed by your veterinarian.
Medicated Shampoo Dosage for Dogs
Weight Dosage
All weights Wet coat thoroughly. Apply and lather over entire body allowing 10 minutes of contact time. Rinse completely with water. Repeat twice weekly until symptoms subside. Then use weekly, or as directed by your veterinarian.
Medicated Shampoo Dosage for Horses
Horses
Do not use!

Storage:

Should be stored at room temperature. Protect from freezing.

Medicated Shampoo Ingredients:

Medicated Shampoo
Active Ingredients Amount
Ketoconazole (Antifungal) 1.0%
Chlorhexidine Gluconate (Antibacterial) 2.0%
Other Ingredients: Fragrance, PEG-150 Distearate, Preservative, Surfactant Base.

What is Medicated Shampoo?

Medicated Shampoo is an antifungal and antibacterial medicated shampoo for dogs and cats. It helps to remove fungus and bacteria on your pet's skin.

For:

Cats and Dogs

Benefits:

  • Removes bacteria and fungus on the skin
  • Kills odor
  • Lathers well, rinses easily

How it Works:

Medicated Shampoo's active ingredients work to cleanse and protect the skin against microorganisms and bacteria that can cause itching and skin irritation.

Cautions:

None.

Brand Name:

Medicated Shampoo

Active Ingredient(s):

Ketoconazole 1.0%, Chlorhexidine Gluconate 2.0%

What is Medicated Shampoo used for:

Medicated Shampoo is a medicated shampoo used on dogs and cats for dermatological conditions responsive to Ketoconazole and Chlorhexidine Gluconate.

Availability:

Medicated Shampoo is a non-prescription (OTC) product.

How should Medicated Shampoo be used:

Wet coat thoroughly. Apply and lather over entire body allowing 10 minutes of contact time. Rinse completely with water. Repeat twice weekly until symptoms subside. Then use weekly, or as directed by your veterinarian.

What are the side effects of Medicated Shampoo:

There should be no side effects if used according to directions. However, if skin irritation develops or increases, discontinue use and contact your veterinarian. Talk to your veterinarian about any side effect that is unusual or seems especially bothersome to your pet.

What special precautions are there?:

Do not use Medicated Shampoo on a pet that is allergic to it or to similar products. Avoid contact with eyes and mucous membranes. If Medicated Shampoo gets in eyes rinse thoroughly with water and contact your veterinarian. Medicated Shampoo is for use on dogs and cats only. Keep out of the reach of children.

In the event of an overdose:

Overdose as a result of using this shampoo are unlikely. If an overdose is suspected, or if you see any unusual signs, symptoms, or behaviors in your pet, contact your veterinarian immediately.

How should I store Medicated Shampoo:

Should be stored at room temperature. Protect from freezing.

Medicated Shampoo Directions:

  • Medicated Shampoo is for dermatologic conditions that are associated with fungal or bacterial infections responsive to Ketoconazole and Chlorhexidine Gluconate.
  • Do not allow your pet to lick the shampoo while bathing.
Tip:

You should wait at last 24 hours to bathe your pet after applying topical flea and tick preventatives.

Medicated Shampoo Dosage:

Medicated Shampoo Dosage for Cats
Weight Dosage
All weights Wet coat thoroughly. Apply and lather over entire body allowing 10 minutes of contact time. Rinse completely with water. Repeat twice weekly until symptoms subside. Then use weekly, or as directed by your veterinarian.
Medicated Shampoo Dosage for Dogs
Weight Dosage
All weights Wet coat thoroughly. Apply and lather over entire body allowing 10 minutes of contact time. Rinse completely with water. Repeat twice weekly until symptoms subside. Then use weekly, or as directed by your veterinarian.
Medicated Shampoo Dosage for Horses
Horses
Do not use!

Storage:

Should be stored at room temperature. Protect from freezing.

Medicated Shampoo Ingredients:

Medicated Shampoo
Active Ingredients Amount
Ketoconazole (Antifungal) 1.0%
Chlorhexidine Gluconate (Antibacterial) 2.0%
Other Ingredients: Fragrance, PEG-150 Distearate, Preservative, Surfactant Base.