4.6 out of 5 Customer Rating
Medicated Shampoo is rated 4.9 out of 5 by 97.
  • y_2020, m_11, d_22, h_16
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.12
  • cp_3, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_1, tr_96
  • loc_en_US, sid_prod11132, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_1800petmeds
  • bvseo_sdk, dw_cartridge, 18.2.0, p_sdk_3.2.0
  • CLOUD, getAggregateRating, 62ms
  • reviews, product
Starts $17.40 $12.18
Most orders ship the same day
prod11132 product detail number 1.0

Medicated Shampoo

4.6 out of 5 Customer Rating
Medicated Shampoo is rated 4.9 out of 5 by 97.
  • y_2020, m_11, d_22, h_16
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.12
  • cp_3, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_1, tr_96
  • loc_en_US, sid_prod11132, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_1800petmeds
  • bvseo_sdk, dw_cartridge, 18.2.0, p_sdk_3.2.0
  • CLOUD, getAggregateRating, 62ms
  • reviews, product
Starts $17.40 $12.18
Most orders ship the same day
Please select all product options.

Reviews

Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Shampoo My dog has a bad skin infection, he was on antibiotics but needed something more so I tried this shampoo. Within one time of using I could already see the improvement in my dogs fur!
Date published: 2016-12-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from PERFECT ONLY BEEN USING FOR TWO WEEKS NOW. MY POODLE HAS A SKIN CONDITION THAT WHEN IT REALLY ACTS UP SMELLS THIS WONDERFUL SHAMPOO HAS REALLY HELPED. SHE ISN'T SMELLING AS STRONG AND IT IS HELPING HER SKIN.
Date published: 2016-12-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works! I bought this shampoo for our itchi yorkie. We tried many product for her long time condition, even antibiotics from the vet, and this product works!
Date published: 2016-11-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome shampoo!!! This shampoo makes my dog look great. We used Baby shampoo the first couple of months for my rescue dog and this shampoo is great. My dog looks like a show dog. It smells great and am really happy with this product. I bought with the ear wash and his bath time is so fun. He prances and is just worth a million bucks.
Date published: 2016-10-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from AWESOME STUFF!!! My fiancé dog had been itching for 3yrs, smelled so bad you almost didn't want to be in the same room with her, she had lost hair and the vet said it was allergies! Was given allergy shots which didn't help but cost ALOT! I got to looking online about her symptoms and came across this site and looked the reviews and to my surprise she had a Yeast infection! Why didn't her vet know this I'm not quite sure ... After 1 week she has improved so much and the smell is going away and for the first time in 3 years she is feeling so much better and is even playing now! This stuff has done wonders for Cocoa!!!
Date published: 2016-10-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from amazing first application, cleared a lot, no smell either, great stuff
Date published: 2016-10-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works Great!!! My poor little buddy was so itchy, even after 3 visits ti the Vet. After one bath with malapet he wasnt itchy at all!
Date published: 2016-09-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Such a relief! No more prescription antibiotics or prednisone now. He is on a special food for skin sensitivities and we've been bathing him with this shampoo every 1 to 2 weeks. What a relief, his itchy skin has cleared up, he doesn't smell bad and we are saving on less vet bills.
Date published: 2016-07-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from It really works! I have never posted a review of a product. After finding Malapet, I had to do so. My dog, Merlin, is going on 14 years old. He is an Australian Shepard and Golden Retriever mix. Several years ago I noticed a small patch of black on his belly. It didn't seem to bother him at the time. The vet was't concerned and recommended an oatmeal shampoo. Over time, it grew worse and Merlin developed a horrible odor. The smell was like corn chips. He was hard to be around and that was sad for us all! Our dogs are a part of our family. They are my babies! The odor at times was unbearable. The carpets smelled, his bed smelled... He scratched excessively, he lost patches of hair, and he was miserable. I took him back to the vet and he prescribed an antibacterial shampoo. I noticed that his skin was better in the winter than in the summer. I wasn't sure what was going on. I even changed his diet. I was at a point where I was desperate to help our beloved pet. Going to the vet didn't seem to be helping us any. I began to research his symptoms and quickly learned he had a yeast infection of his skin. I'm not sure why a vet wouldn't know this. The oatmeal shampoo was horrible for this condition and the antibacterial did nothing either. I looked around and found Malapet on this website. I ordered it and used it just as directed. I could not believe the difference after even 1 shampoo. He smelled, well, normal, for lack of a better word! It really works. I don't need to use it in the winter, only the summer when the heat and humidity increase. Be sure to leave it on for 10-15 minutes once it's lathered up. I blow dry Merlin afterwards to make sure there's no wet areas on him. You have to keep moisture at bay. I hope this works for you and your pet like it did for us!
Date published: 2016-06-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Thank you pet owners Just like the reviews say, THIS WORKS! My dachshund had a severe rash under his front armpit. He would use his back paw and scratch the front pitt like a monkey! He was MISERABLE. Hes been on many meds, vet said, fungus, bacterial, yeasty etc. One even said he has ingrown hairs and I should squeeze his pitts to get the hair to come out! huh? really? pfft! I read the reviews and I thought wow, there are people saying key words, pet smelled swampy, like a skunk, smelled even after being washed. It was music to my ears, someone understood what my pet was going through. I use to buy all the ODOR smelly gets your pet clean and fresh guaranteed bottles of shampoo, which NEVER WORKED, I spent $$$ on vet bills. My dog would have to washed everyday because he smelled so bad, I put him in the tub, and he would cry like Lucille Ball on I love Lucy show, when she got in trouble, whaaaaaaaaaa! haha poor guy FINALLY SOMETHING THAT WORKS. IT WORKS BEAUTIFULLY, by the 2nd wash, I could see the rash going away, the SMELL IS GONE. I wash him about every 2-3 days during allergy season, to prevent the rash from revealing its ugly head, but hes Not on any medications. Thanks to malapet shampoo! thank you pet owners for sharing your honest positive reviews!
Date published: 2016-05-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great, notice an improvement. Awesome, notice an improvement on less scratching. will continue will tried another shampoo. that I purchase from here.
Date published: 2016-04-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I have seen a difference in less then a week ! I bought the shampoo last week. I was totally surprised it arrived so quickly (thank you). I have bath my pug 2x since and I see a difference. It is like a magic eraser. I am totally shocked at how well it works. The darkness under her belly really was concerning. We have changed her food To a starch free kibble as well. We fed her the best food (orjen) and what we thought was a healthy treat, carrots. unfortunately we caused the yeasty belly and pits. Strongly suggest you get the bottle!!
Date published: 2016-04-23
Rated 1 out of 5 by from ??Little Help?? I have been using this as directed by my vet and have found little positive effect. I will keep using it, but for the cost I expected better results.
Date published: 2016-03-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I bought this for my dog about 2 weeks ago.I used it 1 time and wow !!what a big difference my dog is so happy no more scratching.. My poor baby was scratching so much and I used oatmeal shampoo but it didn't help..I would highly recommend anyone to use this on there dog if it is scratching it might be a little pricey but worth it !
Date published: 2016-03-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing! I washed my 2 year old pittie with this and 5 days later the horrible odor he had all the time is completely gone! The odor was terrible and it always came back just 2-3 days after bathing him. This REALLY REALLY works!
Date published: 2016-03-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works great! I purchased the shampoo to clear up her irritated skin, worked with first application and she feels better.
Date published: 2016-03-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fresh Minty smell My Boston Terrier has really bad environmental skin allergies, taking meds & serum to control; Vet also recommends bathing him 1-2x week w anti fungal med shampoo. This clear shampoo has a nice fresh minty smell & does not stain clothing or towels. Have used it several years. Is also cheaper on this site & than other medicated shampoos.
Date published: 2016-02-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Malapet Medicated Shampoo This product is by far a great and best product to use for a dog on the skin yeast infection my shih Tzu dog was soooo stinky smell like a dead animal like a skunks odor which make me feel sick half the time, he would lick himself all over that I couldn't stand it any more, I couldn't afford to take him to the vet so after reseaching and doing home remedies that didn't even work I came across 1-800 petmeds and they had a list of great items for yeast infection and I read up on all of the product and that's were I read the review on the malapet medicated shampoo and decided to buy it, definitely a great decision in buy this product won't lose out on your money which help your pet feeling great and smelling a whole lot better, thanks for this awesome product
Date published: 2016-02-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Buy this! My dog has been dealing with skin problems for months and months. I spent hundreds of dollars at the vet for fancy treatments and medications, none of which helped much. Then I bought this and bam! Two washes later and she's basically back to normal! (And she smells great) I would very very highly recommend this.
Date published: 2016-02-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works Great I bought this shampoo as last resort to my dogs terrible itching and biting her feet. She had a yeasty smell to her skin. So far we have done the first shampoo and it is working and she is more comfortable. I am so glad I tried it.
Date published: 2016-02-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Tanner's Miracle We had a sick little boy for a while, so we took him to the Vet. He started losing his hair and scratching a lot. We noticed he wasn't eating like he should as well. The Vet gave him some pills to take and told us about some other treatment we could do. He said that Tanner had fungus infection. So I went on line to find some shampoo to treat him with. I found 1-800-petmeds and compared prices and found them to be very competive. So we ordered Malapet anti-fungal shampoo it started working from the very first bath. James from Arkansas
Date published: 2016-02-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Really good allergy shampoo I have a Maltese mix poodle little dog and recently he has develop some red itchy rashes in his belly and back legs. I decided to try this medicated shampoo before going to the more advance treatment which is going to the vet. I bought it over a month ago and have been using it once every week and WOW! His rashes are gone and he is not itchy at all. He has beautiful clean skin now. It smells good and it works. Right now I am using it every two weeks to keep him happy and comfortable.
Date published: 2016-02-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from WORKS SO WELL!! I am so glad I read the reviews on this and decided to try it prior to calling the vet. It saved me so much money. I have used it on my cat three times and he has gone from huge, itchy, scabby spots all over his body down to one pea size spot. I have no doubt that it will clear up within the next few days. I have no idea what caused his issue, but this fixed it fast.
Date published: 2016-01-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome product I ordered this product when I noticed my pug had a ringworm. Within a week he had 2 more! I bathed him with the Malapet medicated shampoo and used Clotrimazole Cream and after 1 use, I noticed the ringworms were already drying out and the redness subsiding. I even began using the Malipet shampoo on my Pekingese because he has itchy skin and it worked amazingly. I would definetly recommend this product if your pet has a fungal infection.
Date published: 2015-12-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I like it == So far--So good This stuff changed my dogs life--no more red spots, no more itching and smells great. Have been using it for the past year or more and no issues. Saved a lot on vet bills. Well worth the money.
Date published: 2015-12-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works really well! I usually wait for a while before reviewing any products so see whether it actually works. In this case I can say with confidence that this shampoo works really good. My 14 years old Shih-Tzu used to have this awful swamp smell and lesions on his back, as well as flaky skin for years. I consulted with many vets and diets were changed left and right until 1 vet told me that he has a yeast problem. We were sent home with a medicated shampoo that was very expensive and it did work until they changed the formula. That's when my senior dog started to smelling again and having those lesions. I looked up on the internet and found Malapet Shampoo on here. I ordered 1 bottle right away because I got nothing to lose. What can I say? I'm a happy mom because my baby doesn't smell and isn't itchy and no more lesions. Sometimes he goes for a long time without a bath and still doesn't smell unless he choose to play in the dirt...dogs will be dogs. I'll order this shampoo as long as it's available and as long as they don't change the formula.
Date published: 2015-12-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good product my Boston terrier presented some lesions on his belly and very strong smell from his skin, he spend days without treats just eating solid healthy food and I gave him a bath with malapet medicated shampoo, Now hi is in perfect condition and smell nice.
Date published: 2015-11-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from It actually works Ok...so I have spent hundreds of $$ trying to help my stunning, ladylike, snow white German Shepherd to stop smelling like foot odor and scratching herself silly. Took her to the vet several times-allergies (right?) Numerous shots, steroids and antihistamines later and she still smelled like a swamp. I finally looked up her symptoms and saw that that she was suffering from something that looks mysteriously like a YEAST RASH! That's right-a simple yeast rash. So with my new VMD, I look up yeast rash shampoos and treatments on 1-800-PET-MEDS and found this product. Well, let's just say it works. NO IT REALLY WORKS! The first time I used it, she sighed in relief and this orange film of goo actually rinsed off of her (gross) and I had been bathing her twice a week! My beautiful baby girl is not only stunning, but smells like a rose and no more itching. I have ordered a new bottle and I'm ready for round two if I need it again. LOVE THIS STUFF!
Date published: 2015-11-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome My dog has had a fungus on her back feet for years. We have got to the vet several times for wipes and antibiotics. I found this shampoo and within 3 washes the fungus was gone. Instead of her back paws being a redish brown color, they are now white.
Date published: 2015-09-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Smells Amazing! My poor dog Samson ended up with a bacterial skin infection after scratching so much at his skin after dealing with fleas (ugh, that time of year...). I came across this shampoo and was in desperate need of something to help my poor itchy corn-chip smelling pup who had developed a pretty nasty red rash all over his body. I could tell that even after using it the first time there was some improvement and MAN did this stuff smell AWESOME! Most medicated shampoos don't usually smell very good, but this stuff smells great! The only downside of this stuff is that you have to leave it on for more than the 10 minutes they recommend (I recommend at minimum 15, and if possible, 20) and that you have to do at least 3-4 baths with this stuff for it to have full effect on your pup when they have a bacterial skin infection (can't tell you anything about a fungal infection as this wasn't my issue). But it did work and it smells great, so I definitely recommend! Just be prepared to spend a lot of time in the tub with your favorite pet...because you'll probably end up using the entire bottle if you have a 60lb dog!
Date published: 2015-09-07
  • y_2020, m_11, d_22, h_16
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.12
  • cp_3, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_1, tr_96
  • loc_en_US, sid_prod11132, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_1800petmeds
  • bvseo_sdk, dw_cartridge, 18.2.0, p_sdk_3.2.0
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 6ms
  • reviews, product

Questions

does this work on skin yeast infections on dogs?

Asked by: shay
Ketoconazole shampoo is effective in treating Malassezia dermatitis and ringworm. It works by destroying the cellular wall of fungus and yeast. Significance Applying ketoconazole shampoo delivers medication right to the source of the infection. Additionally, it alleviates the itching and inflammation associated with the infection while killing the organisms causing the condition. Instructions for Use Wet the dog's hair, massaging the shampoo into the dog's coat and rinsing. Apply the shampoo a second time, lathering and allowing it to sit for five to 10 minutes before rinsing thoroughly. Repeat two to three times weekly for four weeks or as instructed by a veterinarian.
Answered by: Chris B PetMed Pro
Date published: 2013-10-22

would this be safe for a guinea pig?

Asked by: tina
This medicated shampoo should only be used on dogs or cats.
Answered by: Chris B PetMed Pro
Date published: 2013-10-22

Does this product work well on cats with skin problems?

Asked by: Paul
Hi there, Malapet Shampoo is used for dermatological conditions associated with bacterial or fungal infections.So yes this would definitely help.
Answered by: James PetMeds Pro
Date published: 2014-01-10

DOES THIS SHAMPOO WORK WELL ON DOG PAWS?

Asked by: LOVEDOGS
Hello, Yes, Malapet (ketoconazole) is indicated for fungal infections of the skin (including dog paws); contact your veterinarian if symptoms do not resolve or if your dog has an adverse reaction to the medication. Thank you.
Answered by: Rich - Student Pharmacist
Date published: 2013-10-22

red yeast

My dog has terrible red yeast tear stains. will this help for that? If not, any suggestions??
Asked by: monica
Thank you for your question Monica, this will only help with cleaning the area, not lightening the red tear stains. Your best defense for this problem is to try either Angel Eyes or Bright Eyes Tear Stain Remover. These products help from within to help clear up tear staining. Also, you may want to check your pet's food and treats; some foods and treats contain dyes that will contribute to the tear staining problem.
Answered by: Chris B PetMed Pro
Date published: 2013-10-22

how long is the relief ...days or like weeks...or how often can i use it.

Also are ALL flea & tic meds safe while using this shampoo...my poor baby is suffering so much just don't want to make it worse
Asked by: Linda
You can repeat the shampooing process every 10 days but it does lessen the effectiveness of the flea/tick topicals. Also, you want to wait at least 48 hours before you apply the flea/tick topical to avoid overmedicating your dog. Lastly, if your pet is suffering from a flea infestation, you can always try Capstar, http://www.1800petmeds.com/Capstar+Flea+Treatment+Tablets-prod10325.html, this product is great for in between flea treatments when you are using flea/tick topicals.
Answered by: Chris B PetMed Pro
Date published: 2013-10-22

I was wondering if malapet will stop other flea meds from working like it dose with revolution?

We use Frontline on are dog and also going to be trying Capstar next month.
Asked by: Brooke
Brooke, You should wait at last 24 hours to bathe your pet after applying topical flea and tick preventatives. Malapet shampoo will not wash off the flea meds if this rule is followed.
Answered by: Jason Pet Med Pro
Date published: 2014-01-10

Do I need a prescription for this shampoo?

Asked by: Jeff
No, there is no prescription required for this product.
Answered by: Jayel
Date published: 2013-10-22

Is malapet shampoo effective on ringworm?

Asked by: geeta
Malapet Shampoo is used to treat fungal infections of the skin and ringworm is a fungal infection. However, it would be better to use Clotrimazole Cream 2 times a day for 14 days to treat this condition instead.
Answered by: Gary, Dir. of Pharmacy Services
Date published: 2013-10-22

Is this the same as Mal-a-ket

my vet just recommended Mal-A-Ket for my Cavalier King Charles, is this the same shampoo?
Asked by: KevinS
Malapet Shampoo contains ketoconazole 1%. Malaseb Shampoo contains miconazole 2% and chlorhexidine gluconate 2%. Malaket Shampoo contains ketoconazole 1%, chlorhexidine gluconate 2% and acetic acid 2%.
Answered by: Gary, Dir. of Pharmacy Services
Date published: 2013-10-22

Malapet shampoo

My cat has one long patch of hair that he has licked and pulled out, it is warm to touch and he doesn't seem to bothered, yet it bothers me. I was given one of those opened holed scratching houses from a neighbor, and it seemed after in he had gone in and alid down in it, I noticed the fur on the carpet. Is Malapet a good coice to use, he now has traveled in a long streak down his back.
Asked by: Susie
Yes Malapet would be your best bet for your cat. You may also want to give him some Omega 3 to fill that patch in.
Answered by: Christin-PetMed Pro
Date published: 2013-10-22

My dog gets revolution medication every month will this shampoo interfere with her meds?

Asked by: Doggie lover
Unfortunately yes. Malapet Medicated Shampoo will interfere with Revolution.
Answered by: Gary, Dir. of Pharmacy Services
Date published: 2013-10-22

I have been using malaseb. Is this the same medication

Asked by: kalliebug
No...My shampoo I got for my dog is Malapet, not Malaseb. =-) And the way I understand it this Malapet will help my dog with her dandruff. I looked shampoo's to clear up dandruff and this is what I got! I hope it works, because her dandruff is bad, it gets everywhere. =-(
Answered by: Pet Lover
Date published: 2013-10-22

is it ok to use an oatmeal and aloe conditioner after using this medicated shampoo? dont want to harm the effects of the shampoo or it be too much on my dog at once..

Asked by: cindym

I'm desperately looking for a shampoo for my poor boxer who is itching and licking feet legs. Very itchy. Allergic to most foods. He's on TASTE OF Wild Lamb.  I WANT THE PHYTOVET CK SHAMPOO. NO ONE SEEMS TO WANT TO ORDER IT FOR  ME

Asked by: Griff

What is the preservative used in this ? I have chemical contact allergies and I need to know if this is safe for me to use on my pet. 

Asked by: Amy93
  • y_2020, m_11, d_22, h_16CST
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvqa, vn_bulk_3.0.12
  • cp_3, bvpage2n
  • co_hasquestionsanswers, tq_54
  • loc_en_US, sid_prod11132, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=LAST_APPROVED_ANSWER_SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_1800petmeds
  • bvseo_sdk, dw_cartridge, 18.2.0, p_sdk_3.2.0
  • CLOUD, getContent, 58ms
  • questions, product

What is Medicated Shampoo?

Medicated Shampoo is an antifungal and antibacterial medicated shampoo for dogs and cats. It helps to remove fungus and bacteria on your pet's skin.

For:

Cats and Dogs

Benefits:

  • Removes bacteria and fungus on the skin
  • Kills odor
  • Lathers well, rinses easily

How it Works:

Medicated Shampoo's active ingredients work to cleanse and protect the skin against microorganisms and bacteria that can cause itching and skin irritation.

Cautions:

None.

Brand Name:

Medicated Shampoo

Active Ingredient(s):

Ketoconazole 1.0%, Chlorhexidine Gluconate 2.0%

What is Medicated Shampoo used for:

Medicated Shampoo is a medicated shampoo used on dogs and cats for dermatological conditions responsive to Ketoconazole and Chlorhexidine Gluconate.

Availability:

Medicated Shampoo is a non-prescription (OTC) product.

How should Medicated Shampoo be used:

Wet coat thoroughly. Apply and lather over entire body allowing 10 minutes of contact time. Rinse completely with water. Repeat twice weekly until symptoms subside. Then use weekly, or as directed by your veterinarian.

What are the side effects of Medicated Shampoo:

There should be no side effects if used according to directions. However, if skin irritation develops or increases, discontinue use and contact your veterinarian. Talk to your veterinarian about any side effect that is unusual or seems especially bothersome to your pet.

What special precautions are there?:

Do not use Medicated Shampoo on a pet that is allergic to it or to similar products. Avoid contact with eyes and mucous membranes. If Medicated Shampoo gets in eyes rinse thoroughly with water and contact your veterinarian. Medicated Shampoo is for use on dogs and cats only. Keep out of the reach of children.

In the event of an overdose:

Overdose as a result of using this shampoo are unlikely. If an overdose is suspected, or if you see any unusual signs, symptoms, or behaviors in your pet, contact your veterinarian immediately.

How should I store Medicated Shampoo:

Should be stored at room temperature. Protect from freezing.

Medicated Shampoo Directions:

  • Medicated Shampoo is for dermatologic conditions that are associated with fungal or bacterial infections responsive to Ketoconazole and Chlorhexidine Gluconate.
  • Do not allow your pet to lick the shampoo while bathing.
Tip:

You should wait at last 24 hours to bathe your pet after applying topical flea and tick preventatives.

Medicated Shampoo Dosage:

Medicated Shampoo Dosage for Cats
Weight Dosage
All weights Wet coat thoroughly. Apply and lather over entire body allowing 10 minutes of contact time. Rinse completely with water. Repeat twice weekly until symptoms subside. Then use weekly, or as directed by your veterinarian.
Medicated Shampoo Dosage for Dogs
Weight Dosage
All weights Wet coat thoroughly. Apply and lather over entire body allowing 10 minutes of contact time. Rinse completely with water. Repeat twice weekly until symptoms subside. Then use weekly, or as directed by your veterinarian.
Medicated Shampoo Dosage for Horses
Horses
Do not use!

Storage:

Should be stored at room temperature. Protect from freezing.

Medicated Shampoo Ingredients:

Medicated Shampoo
Active Ingredients Amount
Ketoconazole (Antifungal) 1.0%
Chlorhexidine Gluconate (Antibacterial) 2.0%
Other Ingredients: Fragrance, PEG-150 Distearate, Preservative, Surfactant Base.

What is Medicated Shampoo?

Medicated Shampoo is an antifungal and antibacterial medicated shampoo for dogs and cats. It helps to remove fungus and bacteria on your pet's skin.

For:

Cats and Dogs

Benefits:

  • Removes bacteria and fungus on the skin
  • Kills odor
  • Lathers well, rinses easily

How it Works:

Medicated Shampoo's active ingredients work to cleanse and protect the skin against microorganisms and bacteria that can cause itching and skin irritation.

Cautions:

None.

Brand Name:

Medicated Shampoo

Active Ingredient(s):

Ketoconazole 1.0%, Chlorhexidine Gluconate 2.0%

What is Medicated Shampoo used for:

Medicated Shampoo is a medicated shampoo used on dogs and cats for dermatological conditions responsive to Ketoconazole and Chlorhexidine Gluconate.

Availability:

Medicated Shampoo is a non-prescription (OTC) product.

How should Medicated Shampoo be used:

Wet coat thoroughly. Apply and lather over entire body allowing 10 minutes of contact time. Rinse completely with water. Repeat twice weekly until symptoms subside. Then use weekly, or as directed by your veterinarian.

What are the side effects of Medicated Shampoo:

There should be no side effects if used according to directions. However, if skin irritation develops or increases, discontinue use and contact your veterinarian. Talk to your veterinarian about any side effect that is unusual or seems especially bothersome to your pet.

What special precautions are there?:

Do not use Medicated Shampoo on a pet that is allergic to it or to similar products. Avoid contact with eyes and mucous membranes. If Medicated Shampoo gets in eyes rinse thoroughly with water and contact your veterinarian. Medicated Shampoo is for use on dogs and cats only. Keep out of the reach of children.

In the event of an overdose:

Overdose as a result of using this shampoo are unlikely. If an overdose is suspected, or if you see any unusual signs, symptoms, or behaviors in your pet, contact your veterinarian immediately.

How should I store Medicated Shampoo:

Should be stored at room temperature. Protect from freezing.

Medicated Shampoo Directions:

  • Medicated Shampoo is for dermatologic conditions that are associated with fungal or bacterial infections responsive to Ketoconazole and Chlorhexidine Gluconate.
  • Do not allow your pet to lick the shampoo while bathing.
Tip:

You should wait at last 24 hours to bathe your pet after applying topical flea and tick preventatives.

Medicated Shampoo Dosage:

Medicated Shampoo Dosage for Cats
Weight Dosage
All weights Wet coat thoroughly. Apply and lather over entire body allowing 10 minutes of contact time. Rinse completely with water. Repeat twice weekly until symptoms subside. Then use weekly, or as directed by your veterinarian.
Medicated Shampoo Dosage for Dogs
Weight Dosage
All weights Wet coat thoroughly. Apply and lather over entire body allowing 10 minutes of contact time. Rinse completely with water. Repeat twice weekly until symptoms subside. Then use weekly, or as directed by your veterinarian.
Medicated Shampoo Dosage for Horses
Horses
Do not use!

Storage:

Should be stored at room temperature. Protect from freezing.

Medicated Shampoo Ingredients:

Medicated Shampoo
Active Ingredients Amount
Ketoconazole (Antifungal) 1.0%
Chlorhexidine Gluconate (Antibacterial) 2.0%
Other Ingredients: Fragrance, PEG-150 Distearate, Preservative, Surfactant Base.