KetoChlor Shampoo

4 out of 5 Customer Rating
KetoChlor Shampoo is rated 4.4 out of 5 by 28.
  • y_2020, m_10, d_23, h_16
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.12
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_28
  • loc_en_US, sid_prod10498, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_1800petmeds
  • bvseo_sdk, dw_cartridge, 18.2.0, p_sdk_3.2.0
  • CLOUD, getAggregateRating, 56ms
  • reviews, product
1. We'll ask for your vet's info during checkout.
2. We verify your prescription and ship your order!
Close
Starts $36.00 $25.20
Most orders ship the same day
prod10498 product detail number 1.0

KetoChlor Shampoo

4 out of 5 Customer Rating
KetoChlor Shampoo is rated 4.4 out of 5 by 28.
  • y_2020, m_10, d_23, h_16
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.12
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_28
  • loc_en_US, sid_prod10498, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_1800petmeds
  • bvseo_sdk, dw_cartridge, 18.2.0, p_sdk_3.2.0
  • CLOUD, getAggregateRating, 56ms
  • reviews, product
Starts $36.00 $25.20
Most orders ship the same day
Please select all product options.

Reviews

Rated 4 out of 5 by from My dachshund had broken out with red bumbs on her belly and eventually it was all over her. I took her took the doctor and they did test after test. They ended up putting her on allergy pills and hyperallergenic food. None of that worked and I was about to take her to a dermatoligist when I decided to look around for something to help her. I found KetoChlor on 1800PetMeds and she has been bump free now for 3 years. She also is off all the allergy meds and back on regular food. The only thing is that I wished that it came in a bigger bottle. I would recommend this to anyone's dog who is suffering from something like this.
Date published: 2012-11-21
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Overpowering Scent I had high hopes for this, but its overpowering scent made it impossible for me to use. I spoke to the vet about this before she prescribed it. We have allergies at our house and if the people can't function (go to work, etc.) , the dog doesn't eat. I wish that they would make a version without the added perfume. Lots of dogs for which this is prescribed have allergies. Not a smart move to put a strong scent in a product intended for use on sensitive animals. Medicinal smell would be better than this. Smell aside, it was somewhat helpful, but not earth-shattering.
Date published: 2012-01-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Stinking, Horrible Odor GONE For 4 years my poor little Shih Tzu had chewed her paws til she had blood dripping. She smelled horrible, and her belly and legs were black with fungus. I took her to 2 different Vets and neither one could figure out what to do other than charge me hundreds of $$$$, for nothing to work. I asked my vet to prescribe Keto Chlor Shampoo as a last resort before putting her down. I couldn't bear to watch her chew her body, it was everywhere in her eyes and ears, she had chewed her body almost hairless She was miserable, she would chew herself all night long. I felt so sorry for her, I would sit and hold her to make her stop chewing. I tried everything on the market, changed her foods, kept her away from other pets Keto Chlor Shampoo took care of all her problems along with an antibiotic, and steriods occasionally. I would pay $50.00 for a bottle to keep her comfortable. Take my advice ask your Vet for a prescription and get it online, it's a MIRACLE!!!
Date published: 2011-12-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great prduct Since Maleceb went off the market i have been using this shampoo on my boxer who has skin conditions once or twice a week and it makes a big difference, smells great. I do this weekly and his coat looks beautiful.
Date published: 2011-06-28
Rated 4 out of 5 by from keto chlor my dog ashley has had a skin infection since 2007. she broke out in little red bumps all on her belly and the inside of her legs. she was on all types of medication from the vet, and after all that i still had to take her to a dermatogolist. until this day i still dont know why she scratches so much. i give her the ketochlor bathes and even after that she still scratches. i dont know what to do, i hate to see her suffer like that. i know it must be so uncomfortable for her. i was told by the derm office that i could give her shots every 3 months for the rest of her life... i dont think i can do that...so i just stick with the pills. i hope she does get better as time goes along...
Date published: 2011-03-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from BUDDY MY DOG BUDDY HAS HAD A SKIN INFECTION FOR APROX 6 YEARS. HE BREAKS OUT IN DIME SIZE SCABS AND FLAKING SKIN. I'VE HAD HIM TO SEVERAL VETS AND NONE HAVE BEEN ABLE TO GET RID OF THE INFECTION NOR HAVE THEY BEEN ABLE TO DIAGNOSE THE PROBLEM. BY CHANCE I TRIED THE KETO CHLOR SHAMPOO AND I'M HAPPY TO SAY BUDDY IS NOW FREE OF THE INFECTION. I STARTED WITH BATHING HIM EVERY OTHER DAY FOR 3 BATHINGS AND DROPPED IT TO EVERY 4 DAYS FOR ABOUT ANOTHER 3 BATHINGS. NOW I BATHE HIM ABOUT ONCE A WEEK.
Date published: 2011-01-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Bailee Our sweetheart Bailee a Westie has been plagued with allergies from the beginning. She gets shots once a week and a weekly bath. This product has been great and there is very little flaking. Despite her problems she is a very happy dog.
Date published: 2011-01-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Templeton I just started using this on my shitzu he seems to be improving he is itching less weve been using this twice a week and an oatmeal bath after each use
Date published: 2011-01-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great fungal shampoo, smells good!! I use this on my boxer, his feet get red and he gets little sores. Between this shampoo bathing him twice a week especially his feet, washing them really good between toes and on the bottom paw pad, and him taking CIPRO 500 MG. for one week 2 x day has really been a miracle worker for my pet. This shampoo doesn;t lather much so I tend to use more of it but it works really well and I highly recommend it.
Date published: 2010-11-09
Rated 4 out of 5 by from GREAT SHAMPOO, LOW LATHER THis shampoo gel is great but expensive! However my Boxer developed skin allergies at age 6 and I have tried, chaning food, steam cleaning my tile, getting rid of certain door mats, several antibiotics!!! However, between this and CIPRO which is an antibiotic, my dog, thank God, has not had red inflamed feet!!! I am so happy. CIPRO was the best booster in my opinion.
Date published: 2010-11-01
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good Shampoo We live in the South and the hot, humid weather does not agree with our Corgi. The previous shampoo we were using was discontinued, so we started using this one. It works good for him, but doesn't really lather very well. We bathe him once and week and try to keep him cool and he's doing very well.
Date published: 2010-07-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Shampoo Pricing and Effectiveness After struggling with my pit bull/boxer's many skin issues, her newest veterinarian prescribed ketochlor shampoo. The first time it was issued to us, I was to return in 3 days if there was no relief to her underbelly, and she was to be given an antibiotic shot and pills..previously, she had also been given steroids to control her itching. Alice had immediate results and her issues entirely cleared up within a week. A Miracle shampoo and well worth the money, in our estimation. I returned to the vet today to purchase more product, to the tune of $25 for 8 oz, so imagine my pleasure when I discovered you carried the product, unavailable at the two largest pet product chain stores! She will be on constant maintenance of course, but we are encouraged that we can prevent future uncontrollable outbreaks. Our 16 going on 17 year old girl can remain comfortable in her golden years and without the expensive office visits.
Date published: 2010-07-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from awesome product My dog had major skin issues, rashes, allergies, itching ,irritated, red skin. After using keto-chlor all of these problems are solved. After the first shampoo we noticed a marked difference and have been using this product for several years. Follow the directions and it will work on your dog. Great product and has saved us a fortune in vet bills and has made our dog a happy pet.
Date published: 2010-05-30
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Helpful to manage skin breakouts from allergies Cosmo has had atopica dermatitis since he was a puppy, I've been trying everything imaginable for 8 years now and am relieved that Keto Chlor helps me manage Cosmo's skin bumps and itching. I have to bathe him 2-3 x's a week, but it's keeps him fairly comfortable. The shampoo doesn't lather well and it takes quite a bit of shampoo to cover his skin. You also have to apply twice each shampooing, it's pricey. It would be nice if larger bottles were available and you could get more lather.
Date published: 2010-04-08
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Helpful at keeping itching down My vet had us using a similar product which has been discontinued. I think the old product worked better but the Keto Chlor has still been very effective at keeping the itching down on my shih tzu. He has seasonal allergies and goes to lots of parks/hikes so we are constantly trying to keep him from having the itchies. I only wish this product lathered a bit better. I go through them so fast!
Date published: 2010-01-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Keto Chlor My Baby is feeling alot better since i have used this shampoo on her. she is not icthing as much olny gave her 3 baths so far, she is 80 percent better looking on the skin and not swoolen knots on her as she had before i used Keto Chlor Shampoo on my 5 yr old ShihTzu.
Date published: 2009-11-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great for Ring Worms I had a Vet tell me to use this Item on four kittens I had rescued and it worked really fast. The kittens were over it with in two weeks. Now I have a Dog, my dog was just fine but the people I got her from- two and half months later dropped off one of her sister's (most of these people's animals die-I had already rescued two kittens that were near death-they looked like 2 week olds and they were 3 month old maybe you understand what kind of people they are now)) the sister to my dog was really very sick and had ring worm so very bad- I knew I had to bring her back to full health before finding a good home for her. I use this product on her and she is doing better her ring worms are just about done, and every thing else that was wrong we took care of she is a very healthy dog. Now my dog has ring worms bad... so here we go again. I just wanted to let everyone out there know that KetoCHLOR is the best shampoo for RING WORM, and ResiCHLOR LOTION is what you put on after shampooing they are the very best for getting rid of ring worm in a animal. My Vet charged $$16.95 & $11.98 but he also knows I rescue animals that is why he gives me the wholesale price. I just wanted you to know that this is the greatest product!
Date published: 2008-11-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Miracle Shampoo My Dobie has had problems with dandruf and bumps on her coat since she was a puppy. I use Keto Chlor on her weekly and her coat is just beautiful. This stuff is really expensive but I love the results. She smells great too!
Date published: 2008-10-27
Rated 4 out of 5 by from order here My home town vet charges $25.00 for 8 oz. just get the Rx. and save the $$$. Also use a main & tail shampoo first then your more expensive wash will last longer DO NOT USE TICK, FLEA ,OR PERFUMED SHAMPOO AS THIS CAN IRRITATE YOUR PETS COAT EVEN MORE. ALWAYS ASK YOUR VET!!
Date published: 2008-10-15
Rated 3 out of 5 by from vet ripoff went to the vet today and they cahrged me $40 for a 8oz bottle of this. just to let you know its a big rippoff at the vet.
Date published: 2008-10-08
  • y_2020, m_10, d_23, h_16
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.12
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_28
  • loc_en_US, sid_prod10498, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_1800petmeds
  • bvseo_sdk, dw_cartridge, 18.2.0, p_sdk_3.2.0
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 7ms
  • reviews, product

Questions

Ketochlor Shampoo

My dog's vet gave me a prescription for a gallon of Ketochlor Shampoo but I don't see this size on your site.. I don't like ordering meds online and I want to use someone reputable.. Do in carry this shampoo in a gallon size ?
Asked by: Stormy
We only have the keto-cholr shampoo in an 8 ounce bottle.
Answered by: Janine M./Pharmacist
Date published: 2013-10-22

How many bottles do you need to treat a horse?

I have a horse who has ringworm. Vet says to bath him twice per week for 4 weeks with the KetoChlor. He is a standard sized horse roughly 1000 lbs. How many bottles do I need to treat him?
Asked by: Becky
You will need to ask your veterinarian if this medication is appropriate to treat your horse and also how often you will need to apply it. Each bottle contains 8 ounces of shampoo so you may need quite a bit for a horse.
Answered by: Janine M./Pharmacist
Date published: 2013-10-22

After the fungi is gone do I keep how long do I keep using this product, it is the Ketochlor shampoo?

Asked by: linda
After the fungus problem has been resolved you should check with your veterinarian to see if he/she thinks its necessary to continue using. If this is a recurring problem you can use it once a week to help prevent it from returning. However,since this is a prescription item, you would need to consult with your veterinarian and follow the directions that were given.Thanks for your question.
Answered by: Marty Pharm D Rph
Date published: 2013-10-22

Is there a spray available?

My cat will not tolerate a bath... Is there some sort of spray or other topical alternative?
Asked by: Valerie
Thank you for your question Valerie. Since your feline buddy will not tolerate a bath and KetoChlor Medicated Shampoo has to remain on the coat for at least 5 minutes; you should consult with your veterinarian on either an oral or a transdermal medication.
Answered by: Chris B PetMed Pro
Date published: 2013-10-22

Is there a generic alternative to virbac ketochlor for which I would not need a prescription?

Asked by: Beethoven
Thank you for your question, due to the anti bacterial and anti fungal active ingredients contained within this shampoo, there is no generic alternative for this particular shampoo.
Answered by: Chris B PetMed Pro
Date published: 2013-10-22

Can ketochlor be used for cat acne?

Asked by: teri
Hello Teri, Ketochlor is an anti-bacterial medication, so it may not be effective in treating your cat's acne unless it is a result of some underlying infection. Thanks for your question.
Answered by: Rich - Student Pharmacist
Date published: 2013-10-22

can Keto Chlor be used on my cat with skin cancer?

My Sassy age 15 has an agressive nasal/skin cancer that she's had since May 2011.. Nothing can be done for her as far as treatment anymore since her cancer has spread across her upper mouth. Sassy doesn't seem to be in pain and eats well but she has this horrible odor from her cancer that I wash each day with mild soap and water. Would I be able to use Keto Chlor on her cancerous areas of her skin to help with the ordor and possible heal this? The photo of Sassy was taken in July 2011 after her biospy and her cancer diagnosis
Asked by: frassysassy1
Thank you for your question. KetoChlor is a medicated shampoo that contains a medication used specifically for fungal infections. Unless the areas of skin in question are odorous due to a fungal infection, the use of this shampoo might not be as helpful as hoped. It is recommended that you go to the vet and have those areas inspected to see if it is a fungal infection.
Answered by: Maggie - Student Pharmacist
Date published: 2013-10-22

I have been ordering this from you and had a perscription to begin with. Why do I need another?

Please let me know.
Asked by: Ginette
Prescriptions are only refillable to the extent that your veterinarian has authorized refills. Depending on how many refills were authorized, once these have been dispensed, a new prescription is required. This is the same process as for the medications you use yourself.
Answered by: Gary, Dir. of Pharmacy Services
Date published: 2013-10-22

How should I dilute Ketochlor?

My vet says Ketochlor can be diluted for application, but didn't have any other information.
Asked by: mikehampen
I am not familiar with diluting KetoChlor. If your veterinarian is suggesting you dilute the product you should ask him/her how much to dilute it by.
Answered by: Gary, Dir. of Pharmacy Services
Date published: 2013-10-22

can this be used on black spots

my dog has some black spots on his and body
Asked by: cocomo
Keto Chlor cleanses, treats, and heals fungal and bacterial diseases of the skin. If the black spots are caused by infection it aids in the healing process.
Answered by: Mac, PetMed Pro
Date published: 2013-10-22

Can it be used on hot spots?

My cat has been licking herself incessantly until she has now created open wounds/hot spots. Can this product be used on an animal with hot spots?
Asked by: Libby
My dog had hot spots as well and this really worked. Follow the directions and you will be surprised how well it works and gives relief to your pet. Keep using it and it will prevent all skin issues.
Answered by: fly me
Date published: 2013-10-22

Effective for dog warts?

Doberman Pincher, 1 1/2 years old, started to get warts in his ears, one on the side of his face and one on his chest. We are stumped as to what's causing it, would this be a good treatment? Or should we see an animal dermatologist?
Asked by: Knight
I don't know that you need to see a veterinary dermatologist. I would start by having your veterinarian examine the pet. He/she can refer you to a dermatologist if necessary.
Answered by: Gary, Dir. of Pharmacy Services
Date published: 2013-10-22

Does Virbac still make Hexadene Medicated Shampoo Antiseptic and does Pet Meds carry it ?

This is the only relief I have found for my maltese bichon mix that has worked. And I have tried literally everything.
Asked by: scooter
To my knowledge they do. However, we do not carry this product.
Answered by: Gary, Dir. of Pharmacy Services
Date published: 2013-10-22

Chlorketo

Does it have a steroid in it. Safe for a dog being treated for mites and secondary skin infections?
Asked by: Jim
There is no steroid in KetoChlor. There is an antifungal and an antibacterial.
Answered by: Gary, Dir. of Pharmacy Services
Date published: 2013-10-22

resicort

leave on lotion for dogs,cats,horses. made by virbac
Asked by: kitten 5302
1-800-PetMeds does not carry Resicort Lotion.
Answered by: Gary, Dir, of Pharmacy Services
Date published: 2013-10-22

where do I find corticare shampoo

Asked by: Muttc
Excel Hydrocortisone Shampoo sold by 1-800-PetMeds, is the same formulation as Corti-Care Shampoo
Answered by: Gary, Dir, of Pharmacy Services
Date published: 2013-10-22

how will i know if my dog is allergic to this products or not?

my dog is suffering from pyoderma. my vet suggested me to use ketochlor shampoo 7 weeks interval.its been a month i m using this product but she condition is still same.no improvement no deterioration.what should i do? plz suggest me some thing..
Asked by: tanima mukherjee
  • y_2020, m_10, d_23, h_16CST
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvqa, vn_bulk_3.0.12
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasquestionsanswers, tq_25
  • loc_en_US, sid_prod10498, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=LAST_APPROVED_ANSWER_SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_1800petmeds
  • bvseo_sdk, dw_cartridge, 18.2.0, p_sdk_3.2.0
  • CLOUD, getContent, 44ms
  • questions, product

What is KetoChlor Shampoo?

KetoChlor Shampoo is an antiseptic medicated shampoo used to treat fungal and bacterial diseases of the skin. KetoChlor Shampoo requires a prescription from your veterinarian.

For:

Dogs, Cats and Horses

Benefits:

  • Cleanses, treats, and heals fungal and bacterial diseases of the skin
  • Pleasant fragrance
  • Lathers well, rinses easily

How does KetoChlor Shampoo works?

KetoChlor Shampoo contains ketoconazole, an antifungal medication, and chitosanide, a biopolymer that acts as a protective barrier for the skin and hair. Also contains spherulites that slow release the ingredients long after application.

Cautions:

Tell your veterinarian about any prescription or over-the-counter medications you are giving your pet.

Brand Name:

KetoChlor (Virbac)

Generic Name:

Chlorhexidine Gluconate (2%), Ketoconazole (1%) Shampoo

What is the most important thing I should know about KetoChlor Shampoo?

KetoChlor Shampoo is a combination shampoo available by prescription used in the treatment of fungal and bacterial diseases of the skin (dermatitis, pyoderma). It can be used on dogs, cats and horses. KetoChlor Shampoo is a combination of Chlorhexidine Gluconate (2%), an antibacterial, and ketoconazole (1%), an antifungal and is used for bacterial and fungal infections of the skin. KetoChlor Shampoo may be used for purposes other than those listed here.

What should I discuss with my veterinarian before applying KetoChlor Shampoo to my pet?

Tell your veterinarian if your pet is allergic to KetoChlor Shampoo or any of the individual ingredients.

How should KetoChlor Shampoo be applied?

Shake well before using the shampoo. Wet the coat with warm water and apply a sufficient amount of shampoo to create a rich lather, and massage into the wet coat. Rinse well and repeat. Allow the lather to remain on the coat for at least 5 to 10 minutes, and then rinse thoroughly with clean water. May be used initially 2 to 3 times a week for four weeks, then reduced to once a week, or as directed by your veterinarian.

What are the potential side effects of KetoChlor Shampoo?

There should be no side effects if used according to directions. However, if skin irritation develops or increases, discontinue use and contact your veterinarian. Talk to your veterinarian about any side effect that is unusual or seems especially bothersome to your pet.

What happens if I miss an application of KetoChlor Shampoo?

Resume regular application schedule.

What happens if I overdose my pet on KetoChlor Shampoo?

If ingestion of KetoChlor Shampoo is suspected, consult your veterinarian or emergency veterinary clinic immediately.

What should I avoid while using KetoChlor Shampoo?

Do not use KetoChlor Shampoo on a pet that is allergic to it or to similar products.

What other drugs will affect KetoChlor Shampoo?

Tell your veterinarian about prescription and over the counter medications that are given to your pet. This includes vitamins, minerals, herbal products.

KetoChlor Shampoo Directions:

  • KetoChlor Shampoo is a combination of Chlorhexidine gluconate (2%), an antibacterial, and Ketoconazole (1%), an antifungal, and is used in the treatment of fungal and bacterial diseases of the skin such as dermatitis and pyoderma.
  • KetoChlor Shampoo can be used on dogs, cats, and horses.
Tip:

In households with cats, separate the treated dog for about one hour until the product is thoroughly dry.

KetoChlor Shampoo Dosage:

KetoChlor Shampoo Dosage for Cats
Weight Dosage
All weights Shake well before using the shampoo. Wet the coat with warm water and apply a sufficient amount of shampoo to create a rich lather, and massage into the wet coat. Rinse well and repeat. Allow the lather to remain on the coat for at least 5 to 10 minutes, and then rinse thoroughly with clean water. May be used initially 2 to 3 times a week for four weeks, then reduced to once a week, or as directed by your veterinarian
KetoChlor Shampoo Dosage for Dogs
Weight Dosage
All weights Shake well before using the shampoo. Wet the coat with warm water and apply a sufficient amount of shampoo to create a rich lather, and massage into the wet coat. Rinse well and repeat. Allow the lather to remain on the coat for at least 5 to 10 minutes, and then rinse thoroughly with clean water. May be used initially 2 to 3 times a week for four weeks, then reduced to once a week, or as directed by your veterinarian
KetoChlor Shampoo Dosage for Horses
Weight Dosage
All weights Shake well before using the shampoo. Wet the coat with warm water and apply a sufficient amount of shampoo to create a rich lather, and massage into the wet coat. Rinse well and repeat. Allow the lather to remain on the coat for at least 5 to 10 minutes, and then rinse thoroughly with clean water. May be used initially 2 to 3 times a week for four weeks, then reduced to once a week, or as directed by your veterinarian

Storage:

Store at room temperature.

KetoChlor Shampoo Ingredients:

KetoChlor Shampoo
Active Ingredients Amount
Chlorhexidine Gluconate 2.3%
Ketoconazole 1%
Other Ingredients: Purified Water, Sodium Olefin Sulfonate, Cocomidopropyl Betaine, Lauryl Glucoside, Oxetal VD92, Hydroxypropyl Methyl Cellulose, Acrylate c10-30 Alkyl Acrylate Crosspolymer, A00067 Betapur, Dernaoyr HP 0 P, Fragrance, Lactic Acid, Polyquaternium-7, I-Rhamnose, d-Galactose, d-Mannose, Kathon CG, FD&C Red#4.

What is KetoChlor Shampoo?

KetoChlor Shampoo is an antiseptic medicated shampoo used to treat fungal and bacterial diseases of the skin. KetoChlor Shampoo requires a prescription from your veterinarian.

For:

Dogs, Cats and Horses

Benefits:

  • Cleanses, treats, and heals fungal and bacterial diseases of the skin
  • Pleasant fragrance
  • Lathers well, rinses easily

How does KetoChlor Shampoo works?

KetoChlor Shampoo contains ketoconazole, an antifungal medication, and chitosanide, a biopolymer that acts as a protective barrier for the skin and hair. Also contains spherulites that slow release the ingredients long after application.

Cautions:

Tell your veterinarian about any prescription or over-the-counter medications you are giving your pet.

Brand Name:

KetoChlor (Virbac)

Generic Name:

Chlorhexidine Gluconate (2%), Ketoconazole (1%) Shampoo

What is the most important thing I should know about KetoChlor Shampoo?

KetoChlor Shampoo is a combination shampoo available by prescription used in the treatment of fungal and bacterial diseases of the skin (dermatitis, pyoderma). It can be used on dogs, cats and horses. KetoChlor Shampoo is a combination of Chlorhexidine Gluconate (2%), an antibacterial, and ketoconazole (1%), an antifungal and is used for bacterial and fungal infections of the skin. KetoChlor Shampoo may be used for purposes other than those listed here.

What should I discuss with my veterinarian before applying KetoChlor Shampoo to my pet?

Tell your veterinarian if your pet is allergic to KetoChlor Shampoo or any of the individual ingredients.

How should KetoChlor Shampoo be applied?

Shake well before using the shampoo. Wet the coat with warm water and apply a sufficient amount of shampoo to create a rich lather, and massage into the wet coat. Rinse well and repeat. Allow the lather to remain on the coat for at least 5 to 10 minutes, and then rinse thoroughly with clean water. May be used initially 2 to 3 times a week for four weeks, then reduced to once a week, or as directed by your veterinarian.

What are the potential side effects of KetoChlor Shampoo?

There should be no side effects if used according to directions. However, if skin irritation develops or increases, discontinue use and contact your veterinarian. Talk to your veterinarian about any side effect that is unusual or seems especially bothersome to your pet.

What happens if I miss an application of KetoChlor Shampoo?

Resume regular application schedule.

What happens if I overdose my pet on KetoChlor Shampoo?

If ingestion of KetoChlor Shampoo is suspected, consult your veterinarian or emergency veterinary clinic immediately.

What should I avoid while using KetoChlor Shampoo?

Do not use KetoChlor Shampoo on a pet that is allergic to it or to similar products.

What other drugs will affect KetoChlor Shampoo?

Tell your veterinarian about prescription and over the counter medications that are given to your pet. This includes vitamins, minerals, herbal products.

KetoChlor Shampoo Directions:

  • KetoChlor Shampoo is a combination of Chlorhexidine gluconate (2%), an antibacterial, and Ketoconazole (1%), an antifungal, and is used in the treatment of fungal and bacterial diseases of the skin such as dermatitis and pyoderma.
  • KetoChlor Shampoo can be used on dogs, cats, and horses.
Tip:

In households with cats, separate the treated dog for about one hour until the product is thoroughly dry.

KetoChlor Shampoo Dosage:

KetoChlor Shampoo Dosage for Cats
Weight Dosage
All weights Shake well before using the shampoo. Wet the coat with warm water and apply a sufficient amount of shampoo to create a rich lather, and massage into the wet coat. Rinse well and repeat. Allow the lather to remain on the coat for at least 5 to 10 minutes, and then rinse thoroughly with clean water. May be used initially 2 to 3 times a week for four weeks, then reduced to once a week, or as directed by your veterinarian
KetoChlor Shampoo Dosage for Dogs
Weight Dosage
All weights Shake well before using the shampoo. Wet the coat with warm water and apply a sufficient amount of shampoo to create a rich lather, and massage into the wet coat. Rinse well and repeat. Allow the lather to remain on the coat for at least 5 to 10 minutes, and then rinse thoroughly with clean water. May be used initially 2 to 3 times a week for four weeks, then reduced to once a week, or as directed by your veterinarian
KetoChlor Shampoo Dosage for Horses
Weight Dosage
All weights Shake well before using the shampoo. Wet the coat with warm water and apply a sufficient amount of shampoo to create a rich lather, and massage into the wet coat. Rinse well and repeat. Allow the lather to remain on the coat for at least 5 to 10 minutes, and then rinse thoroughly with clean water. May be used initially 2 to 3 times a week for four weeks, then reduced to once a week, or as directed by your veterinarian

Storage:

Store at room temperature.

KetoChlor Shampoo Ingredients:

KetoChlor Shampoo
Active Ingredients Amount
Chlorhexidine Gluconate 2.3%
Ketoconazole 1%
Other Ingredients: Purified Water, Sodium Olefin Sulfonate, Cocomidopropyl Betaine, Lauryl Glucoside, Oxetal VD92, Hydroxypropyl Methyl Cellulose, Acrylate c10-30 Alkyl Acrylate Crosspolymer, A00067 Betapur, Dernaoyr HP 0 P, Fragrance, Lactic Acid, Polyquaternium-7, I-Rhamnose, d-Galactose, d-Mannose, Kathon CG, FD&C Red#4.