4.9 out of 5 Customer Rating
K9 Advantix II is rated 4.1 out of 5 by 918.
  • y_2021, m_1, d_14, h_16
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.12
  • cp_3, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_10, tr_908
  • loc_en_US, sid_prod10631, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_1800petmeds
  • bvseo_sdk, dw_cartridge, 18.2.0, p_sdk_3.2.0
  • CLOUD, getAggregateRating, 7ms
  • reviews, product
Starts $41.40 $28.98
Most orders ship the same day
prod10631 product detail number 1.0
K9 Advantix II
K9 Advantix II
K9 Advantix II

K9 Advantix II

4.9 out of 5 Customer Rating
K9 Advantix II is rated 4.1 out of 5 by 918.
  • y_2021, m_1, d_14, h_16
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.12
  • cp_3, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_10, tr_908
  • loc_en_US, sid_prod10631, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_1800petmeds
  • bvseo_sdk, dw_cartridge, 18.2.0, p_sdk_3.2.0
  • CLOUD, getAggregateRating, 7ms
  • reviews, product
Starts $41.40 $28.98
Most orders ship the same day
Dog
Please select all product options.

Reviews

Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product I have never seen a flea, tick or mosquito on my pets while using this product.
Date published: 2020-05-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works great only thing my dog can use that really works for her, and doesn't make her act weird. We love it.
Date published: 2020-05-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent product Keeps fleas, ticks, mosquitoes off my dogs. Tried frontline years ago but it didn't work, this K9 Advantix works !!! I have used it for years on different types of doggies. Super fast shipping too
Date published: 2020-05-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Rescue I work in rescue and get in dogs of all hair types. This product has never disappointed me, caused any type of reaction, etc. it is the only flea and tick product we use due to cost and effectiveness:
Date published: 2020-05-08
Rated 1 out of 5 by from disappointed I applied this product and have found two ticks on my dog. One had bitten him and was still alive.
Date published: 2020-05-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product!! I have tried many flea & tick medicine. My neighbor told me about Advantage II so why not try it what would I lose. I love it, my dogs love it, no more scratching, no more fleas nothing. My dogs and I are very happy!!
Date published: 2020-05-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I have 8 German Shepherds in NC and this is the only product that controls the fleas, ticks and biting flies!
Date published: 2020-05-04
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Disappointed I bought this product a almost 3 weeks ago and applied it to my puppy. He still has fleas. Very disappointed in this product.
Date published: 2020-05-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from works great i have been using this product for many years, havent seen a flea yet. ticks, yes, but i check her regularly.i am happy with this im afraid to switch. thank you petmeds for making it affordable!
Date published: 2020-05-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome This is the best product & works like it should. Have been using this brand for years and will not use anything else.
Date published: 2020-05-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Product I've been using this on my 3 dogs for 5 years and it works great. We have over an acre and alot of wildlife that carry ticks and my girls are fully protected even when they go swimming.
Date published: 2020-05-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works well!! This is my favorite flea & tick prevention. Works exactly as it should without fail. My dogs don’t do well with the oral preventions so Advantix is our best option. Pro tip-brush it through your dogs coat to help it move around & keep the goo off your couch,etc.
Date published: 2020-05-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Pricing is great! I have tried many flea and tick prevention products on my dogs. This is the only one that works for my pit. All other products causes hair loss and skin irritation or just does not repel the ticks like K9 Advantix II.
Date published: 2020-04-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Does the work at a great price! My local vet switched me to Seresto when the product I had been using, Vectra, became way too expensive. Seresto didn't work because it didn't kill the fleas right away and we found live ones in our bed. Once I found K9 Advantix II with the same ingredients as Vectra at a reasonable price, this is my go to product for both of my Shih Tzu's.
Date published: 2020-04-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fair price Advantix 2 is the best kills fleas really good
Date published: 2020-04-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great price! I’ve always liked this product over the others. my go to for my lab and boxers.
Date published: 2020-04-22
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Very disappointed I recently purchased this as well as the 6-pack large dog and all of my dogs are still covered in fleas. So much money waisted!!!
Date published: 2020-04-20
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Advantix II I just started using it for my dog and it appears to be a great product.
Date published: 2020-04-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I’ve been using the HeartGuard and/or Advantix II,( it didn’t exist 25 years ago, did it?). for more than two decades - a Chow Chow, a Westie, and a ‘boutique mutt’, 1/2 ‘n ’ 1/2 Yorkie/Maltese. In 2012, I got rid of all the barberry, put out Damminix tubes, and have been using the above year-round. Not a single tick has since been found on man nor beast, even after working in the woods!! You bet I give five stars to you for keeping me supplied in the battle against Lyme disease⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️.
Date published: 2020-04-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Advantix ii I’ve been using this for about a year on my dogs recommend it to friends it seems to be the only thing that works up in the north east for the ticks. I use to use Frontline but The ticks built up a resistance.
Date published: 2020-04-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good bye bugs It's a bad year in northern California for flees and ticks. So far so good. No systems have shown any signs of bites. We have been using K9 advantix for 2 years and it works. Happy dog, happy parents .
Date published: 2020-03-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this I have been using K-9 Advantix II on my pets for almost 20 years. Works wonderful for fleas, ticks and a bonus, mosquitoes! My dogs have never had a flea or tick on this treatment. I know their are new ones that have come along, but I wouldn’t think of changing. I would recommend to everyone!
Date published: 2020-03-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Been using for years With living in Florida and due to our continuous tropic weather, one of the main issues is mosquitoes and fleas. Due to having various breeds over the years, the only product that works in not only repelling mosquitoes (which can cause heart worms) and is also very effective in flea and tick is the K9 Advantix II. Since Zoya is a new member to our family, our vet is pleased with our choice in her flea and tick prevention.
Date published: 2020-03-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Keeps fleas away! I have used K9 Advantix II on Bandit for the last 10 plus years and never had a flea problem. I walk Bandit twice every day, at the park and throughout the neighborhood, NO FLEAS!
Date published: 2020-03-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product!! My Boston is 12 years old and had never had a problem with fleas. This year I couldn't get rid of them so I ordered Advantix and no more fleas!!! Worked right away and would recommend Advantix to anyone.
Date published: 2020-03-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Effective product My brother recommended this to me. It works great. I'm glad he recommended it.
Date published: 2020-03-18
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Advantix is awful I bought this 2 weeks ago I have a German Shepherd. She still scratches like crazy from flees,blubber ticks fall off her but small ticks still attach to her.
Date published: 2020-03-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome I brought this stuff for my dog and it absolutely works and I would recommend it.
Date published: 2020-02-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works great! I have been using this product for over 10 years and could not be happier with it. No fleas or ticks.
Date published: 2020-02-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works great This is the best flea and tick prevention I have found. I have been using it on my dog for 5 years and am very happy with the results. No fleas or ticks!
Date published: 2020-02-17
  • y_2021, m_1, d_14, h_16
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.12
  • cp_3, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_10, tr_908
  • loc_en_US, sid_prod10631, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_1800petmeds
  • bvseo_sdk, dw_cartridge, 18.2.0, p_sdk_3.2.0
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 6ms
  • reviews, product

Questions

My puppy is 4 months old and weighs 39 pounds, is it safe for her ( 21 -55 pounds) flea treatment?

Asked by: A123
Yes.
Answered by: Shari PetMed Pro
Date published: 2020-03-02

Does this require a prescription from my vet?

Asked by: Luke
No.
Answered by: Shari PetMed Pro
Date published: 2020-02-12

I applied this while my dog was still damp. Should I worry that it will not work? Can I reapply the medication?  

Asked by: Maggie
If your furry baby was only damp you should be fine. If you do start seeing them itching due to fleas you can reapply after 7 days.
Answered by: Shari PetMed Pro
Date published: 2020-02-10

Is this product safe to use on a dog with skin allergy

Asked by: Betsy
If your furry baby has a skin allergy we will suggest confirming with your veterinarian first to check it if will be ok.
Answered by: Shari PetMed Pro
Date published: 2020-01-29

What is an example of a “soap free” shampoo to use 48 hours after application? 

Asked by: Brandi
Please see the link below to view the examples of our soap free shampoos. Here is the link: https://www.1800petmeds.com/search.jsp?Ns=product.salesvolume%7C1&Ntt=soap+free&_requestid=1333589
Answered by: Cherley Petmeds Pro
Date published: 2020-01-22

What is maximum weight with 55 and up

Asked by: Aj Smith
The maximum weight goes up to 200 lbs.
Answered by: Cherley Petmeds Pro
Date published: 2020-01-17

Can this product be used on an 8 to 10 week old puppy ?

Asked by: Peggy
Yes. This product is safe for Dogs and Puppies (7+ weeks of age, weighing 4+ lbs)
Answered by: Cherley Petmeds Pro
Date published: 2020-01-03

Hi. Does anyone know of any contraindications between the K9 Advantix II and CBD oil? I have one dog on CBD for arthritis- which works great, but am still seeing ticks with her natural flea and tick collar. Thanks!

Asked by: NS21
Thank you for your question. When mixing medication always consult your DVM.
Answered by: Crystal RPTechnician
Date published: 2019-12-19

I used FLEX5Xplus and my dog got fleas for the first time. Will not use it again. Will stick to name brands. this is your brand flex5Xplus.

Asked by: justine
Thank you for your question. We are very sorry you found this medication to be ineffective for your fur baby. Please give us a call at 1-800-738-6337 and we would be happy to either exchange the product for something else or provide you with a refund.
Answered by: Crystal RPTechnician
Date published: 2019-12-14

Does your product repel against Chiggers? There is no mention of it that I can find.

Asked by: EFeland
Thank you for your email. No, this product does not repel chiggers.
Answered by: Crystal RPTechnician
Date published: 2019-12-14

After application, when and how often can I shower my dog?

Asked by: RPQ671
Thank you for your question. It is recommended to wait to give a pet a bath for about 48 hours after applying any topical medications such as K-9 Advantix. I would also recommend that you use a soap-free shampoo as this product bonds to the skin with the aid of the natural oils on the pet's skin. Bathing with a soap will strip those oils as well as the product.
Answered by: Crystal RPTechnician
Date published: 2019-12-13

Where is this product manufactured ?

Asked by: dick
Thank you for your question. K9 Advantix II is made in Germany.
Answered by: Crystal RPTechnician
Date published: 2019-12-13

If I bathe my dog once a week will the shampoo deactivate the advantix

Asked by: Charlene
Thank you for your question. We recommend bathing your pet in a soap free shampoo so it does not deactivate the medication.
Answered by: Sarah B PetMed Pro
Date published: 2020-03-19

How may doses are in each ‘pack’?

Asked by: Robin
There are 2 monthly doses in a 2-pack, 4 doses in a 4-pack and 6 doses in a 6-pack.
Answered by: SuzyCVT
Date published: 2019-12-11

My dog is 22lbs. Is it safe to use 21-55 lb. Size.

Asked by: Susie
Yes, that is the recommended size for your pet.
Answered by: SuztCVT
Date published: 2019-11-17

How soon can they bath after a treatment 

Asked by: Amanda
It is recommended to wait to give a pet a bath for about 48 hours after applying any topical medications such as K-9 Advantix. I would also recommend that you use a soap-free shampoo as this product bonds to the skin with the aid of the natural oils on the pet's skin. Bathing with a soap will strip those oils as well as the product.
Answered by: SuztCVT
Date published: 2019-11-17

Do you apply advantix II to just between shoulder blades or carry it all way down to tail like other brands ? 

Asked by: Debryb121
The directions tell me only to APPLY BETWEEN THE SHOULDER BLADES. Nothing about going down the spine to the tail. 
Answered by: Joy2019
Date published: 2019-10-11

I have a 140lb dog what advantage product do u sell

Asked by: Bonnie
Use may use either K-9 Advantix for flea and tick control or Advantage II for flea control. One tube of the largest size (55pounds and over) will be enough for your large furry friend. Both are carried by PetMeds as well as Advantage Multi which also prevents heartworms and intestinal parasite. Advantage Multi does require a veterinarian's prescription. Your dog would need both the 88-110 pound dose plus the 20-55 pound dose each month.
Answered by: SuzyCVT
Date published: 2019-10-11

How do I add 0.01 to total to avoid shipping charge?

Asked by: Karen
Unfortunately, there has to be a cut-off of some sort. I know that one cent is hard to understand, but to avoid shipping charges, you will need to order an additional product. Perhaps your furry baby would like some treats or a new toy?
Answered by: SuzyCVT
Date published: 2019-10-10

Should I treat my pet during winter months ?

Asked by: Lorna
I recommend treating all pets year round for fleas and ticks. Living in a southern state, I see both parasites year round despite the occasional cold spell, and up north, even if fleas and ticks are dormant outside, inside, it is still warm enough for them live, lay eggs that will hatch and bite your furry friend.
Answered by: SuzyCVT
Date published: 2019-08-28

Im in denial to give up at your product, how soon can you repeat the dosis?. Im in Florida. I did apply it to my dosg two weeks ago...

Asked by: Wookie
I live in Florida as well so know your dilemma. Despite what the manufacturers may say, some products have been on the market long enough for resistant flea populations to appear, making these products not as effective as they were 20 years ago. You may repeat K-9 Advantix after 3 weeks, but it is not recommended to do so more often. You may need to switch to another product for better results if consistent monthly treatments are no longer working. I recommend that you check your house and property just to make sure there are no other sources of new fleas coming into your environment. I remember a client that had a bad problem only to finally discover a family of raccoons living in their attic. Closed up the hole, got rid of the raccoons and the flea problem cleared up dramatically. Good luck!
Answered by: SuzyCVT
Date published: 2019-12-02

I do not see an expiration date on the box     I’d there a shelf life on this product

Asked by: Sugar
K9 Advantix II does not expire.
Answered by: Cherley Petmeds Pro
Date published: 2019-07-18

Can this medicine cause dogs to have  seizures? Or uninary tract infection

Asked by: Debbie
Seizures or urinary tract infections are not listed as a side effect. Call Bayer Emergency Support Line at 1-800-422-9874. Let Bayer know your dog is having an adverse reaction to K9 Advantix by calling 1-800-422-9874. This line is staffed 24 hours a day, 7 days a week.
Answered by: Cherley Petmeds Pro
Date published: 2019-07-25

Does this require a prescription for my vet to puchase

Asked by: Fran70
K9 Advantix II is over the counter and does not require a prescription.
Answered by: Cherley Petmeds Pro
Date published: 2019-06-14

Is this product safe for dogs that suffer from seizures. (A commercial for a different product actually states if the dog has seizures, do not use it) I just want to be sure this would be safe with him having seizures.  

Asked by: Jcollins
K-9 Advantix is safe for use on dogs that have seizures, but I would recommend that you ask your veterinarian as well to ease your mind.
Answered by: SuzyCVT
Date published: 2019-06-05

My chihuahua weighs 2.8 lbs - is the 4-10 lb okay for him?

Asked by: Marg
No. K-9 Advantix has not bee approved for dogs under 4 pounds. If your tiny friend is over 6 months old, you can use Simparica as the smallest approved weight range is 2.8 - 5.5 pounds. PetMeds has that size marked as a generalization of "3-6 pounds", but the label and other listed information says 2.8-5.5#. https://www.1800petmeds.com/Simparica-prod11716.html
Answered by: SuzyCVT
Date published: 2019-06-05

How many tubes do I use on a 100lb+ dog?

Asked by: Anna
Just 1 tube of the 55 pound and Over is all you need for your large furry friend. There is no upper weight limit for K-9 Advantix.
Answered by: SuzyCVT
Date published: 2019-06-05

Will a bath make the product stop working? I gave my beagle a bath two weeks after I applied your product. 3 days later I found an engorged tick on him. Since it was a deer tick, we had to give him shots for Lyme disease. Do you think I should switch prod

Asked by: Miss gloria
K9 Advantix II is waterproof and remains effective following a shampoo treatment, swimming or after exposure to rain or sunlight.
Answered by: Cherley Petmeds Pro
Date published: 2019-05-27

I have a 1.2Ibs and 3 months old pomeranian puppy, is this safe for him?

Asked by: Allison
No. The K9 Advantix is safe for dogs at least 4 lbs.
Answered by: Cherley Petmeds Pro
Date published: 2019-05-17

I have a 4lbs yorkie is this safe for her ?

Asked by: Zoey1956
Yes, you can use the smallest size on your tiny friend.
Answered by: SuzyCVT
Date published: 2019-05-17
  • y_2021, m_1, d_15, h_17CST
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvqa, vn_bulk_3.0.12
  • cp_3, bvpage2n
  • co_hasquestionsanswers, tq_1218
  • loc_en_US, sid_prod10631, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=LAST_APPROVED_ANSWER_SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_1800petmeds
  • bvseo_sdk, dw_cartridge, 18.2.0, p_sdk_3.2.0
  • CLOUD, getContent, 8ms
  • questions, product

What is K9 Advantix II?

K9 Advantix II is a monthly preventative for dogs that offers comprehensive protection against ticks, fleas, mosquitoes, biting flies, and chewing lice. K9 Advantix II is a top veterinarian-recommended brand because it repels and kills all life stages of fleas (eggs, pupae, larvae, and adult fleas) and ticks (Deer ticks, American dog ticks, Brown dog ticks, and Lone Star ticks). K9 Advantix II kills 98-100 percent of fleas within 12 hours and continues working for one month to prevent infestations. Fleas and ticks are killed on contact with a treated dog, which means that fleas don't have to bite and ticks don't have to attach to die. This helps prevent transmission of flea-borne and tick-borne diseases such as tapeworms, Lyme disease, tick paralysis, ehrlichia, and Rocky Mountain spotted fever. Killing fleas before they bite may also help prevent skin allergies caused by flea saliva. As well, K9 Advantix II repels mosquitoes before they bite, which may help prevent transmission of heartworms. K9 Advantix II protects your pet before parasites have a chance to bite, not after.

For:

Dogs and Puppies (7+ weeks of age, weighing 4+ lbs)

Benefits:

  • Repels and kills disease-carrying fleas, ticks, and mosquitoes before they bite
  • Kills all life stages of fleas (eggs, pupae, larvae, and adult fleas) and ticks (Deer ticks, American dog ticks, Brown dog ticks, and Lone Star ticks)
  • Kills 98-100 percent of adult fleas within 12 hours
  • Ends flea life cycle by preventing flea offspring (eggs, pupae, and larvae) from maturing into adult fleas
  • Repels biting flies and kills chewing lice
  • Provides one month of protection against ticks, fleas, mosquitoes, biting flies
  • Waterproof - remains effective following a shampoo treatment, swimming or after exposure to rain or sunlight

How does K9 Advantix II work?

K9 Advantix II combines imidacloprid and permethrin to repel and kill fleas, ticks, and mosquitoes. Both ingredients work on contact, attacking parasite nerve cells at different sites. Together these ingredients overwhelm the nervous system killing the parasite. Pyriproxyfen is an insect growth regulator. K9 Advantix II topical solution also repels biting flies and kills lice.

Cautions:

DO NOT USE ON CATS. Cats cannot metabolize the ingredients used in this product. Cats must be separated from dogs during treatment. Do not allow your cat to come in contact with a treated dog for 24 hours. Some small and medium dogs may have an adverse skin reaction.

Brand Name:

K9 Advantix II (Bayer)

What is the most important thing I should know about K9 Advantix II?

The active ingredients in K9 Advantix II are Imidacloprid (8.8%), Permethrin (44.0%), and Pyriproxyfen (0.44%). K9 Advantix II is for use on dogs and puppies weighing 4 lbs or more and 7 weeks of age or older. It is used for the topical prevention and treatment of ticks, fleas, mosquitoes, biting flies, and chewing lice on dogs. K9 Advantix II repels and kills ticks including deer ticks (the major carrier of Lyme disease), American dog ticks, Brown dog ticks and lone star ticks. Additionally, K9 Advantix II repels and kills all life stages of fleas, repels and kills mosquitoes, kills chewing lice, and repels biting flies. K9 Advantix II is a non-prescription (OTC) product available as 0.014 fl oz (0.4 ml) applicators for dogs 4-10 lbs (Green), 0.034 fl oz (1.0 ml) applicators for dogs 11-20 lbs (Teal), 0.084 fl oz (2.5 ml) applicators for dogs 21-55 lbs (Red), and 0.135 fl oz (4.0 ml) applicators for dogs over 55 lbs (Blue).

What should I discuss with my veterinarian before giving K9 Advantix II to my pet?

Consult a veterinarian before using on medicated animals and debilitated, aged, pregnant or nursing animals.

How should K9 Advantix II be applied?

For use only on dogs. Do not use on cats or on other animals. Have your dog stand for easy application. Part the hair on your dog's back between the shoulder blades, until the skin is visible. For dogs up to 20 lbs, apply the entire contents of the applicator tube to 2 or 3 spots on the top of the back from the shoulder to the base of the tail. For dogs 21 lbs and over, apply the entire contents of the applicator tube to 4 or 6 spots on the top of the back from the shoulder to the base of the tail. If your household has cats or other pets, separate them from the treated dog for 24 hours.

What are the potential side effects of K9 Advantix II?

Monitor your dog after application. Side effects may include signs of skin irritation such as redness, scratching, or other signs of discomfort. Gastrointestinal signs such as vomiting or diarrhea have also been reported. If these or other side effects (such as lethargy or agitation) occur, consult your veterinarian or call 1-800-422-9874. Individual sensitivities, while rare, may occur after using any pesticide product for pets. A small percentage of dogs have had adverse reactions to K9 Advantix II. A sensation of burning, tingling, itching, redness or numbness of the skin may occur after topical application. This sensation usually begins 1-2 hours after application. In addition, reactions have occurred in cats that have been exposed to a medicated dog. That is why it is important to separate your cat from a medicated dog for 24 hours. Bayer, the manufacturer of K9 Advantix II, indicates that some of these symptoms will dissipate within 48 hours; however, if your pet is experiencing adverse reactions, please complete the following steps:

  • Stop applying the medication
  • Wash your dog with a detergent based soap (Dawn or Palmolive dish detergents work best). Do not scrub the affected area, as this may cause more skin irritation. Please note: This process is applicable for both dogs and cats.
  • Call your veterinarian
  • Call Bayer Emergency Support Line at 1-800-422-9874. Let Bayer know your dog is having an adverse reaction to K9 Advantix by calling 1-800-422-9874. This line is staffed 24 hours a day, 7 days a week.

What happens if I miss giving a dose of K9 Advantix II?

If you miss a dose, apply the next dose as soon as possible and resume a monthly schedule.

What happens if I overdose my pet on K9 Advantix II?

Contact your veterinarian or veterinary emergency room.

What should I avoid while giving K9 Advantix II to my pet?

This product is for external use only on dogs and puppies 4 lbs or more and 7 weeks or older. Do not get this product in your dog's eyes or mouth. Do not use this product on animals other than dogs. In households with cats, separate the treated dog for about 24 hours. Due to their unique physiology and inability to metabolize certain compounds, this product must not be used on cats. If applied to a cat, or ingested by a cat which actively grooms a recently treated dog, this product may have serious harmful effects. If this occurs, contact your veterinarian immediately. It is important to apply this product no more than once a month and to use the correct strength for the weight of the dog. This product is harmful to humans if swallowed. Call a physician or poison control center for advice. Have the patient sip water. Do not induce vomiting unless advised to and the patient is conscious. This product can cause substantial but temporary eye injury. Do not get in eyes or on skin or clothing. Wash thoroughly with soap and water after handling and before eating, drinking, chewing gum, using tobacco or using the toilet. Remove and wash contaminated clothing before reuse..

What other drugs will affect K9 Advantix II?

If your pet is on medication, consult your veterinarian before using this or any other product.

K9 Advantix II Directions:

HOW TO OPEN

  1. Be sure the tube is at the bottom of the pouch.
  2. Using scissors, cut the pouch across the top and remove the tube.

HOW TO APPLY

  1. Use only on Dogs. DO NOT USE ON CATS or other animals.
  2. Do not apply to dogs weighing less than 4 lbs.
  3. Remove the applicator tube from the package. Use scissors to peel down foil.
  4. Hold the applicator tube in an upright position. Pull the cap off the tube.
  5. Turn the cap around and place the other end of the cap back on the tube.
  6. Your dog should be standing for easy application. Evenly apply the entire contents of the K9 Advantix II tube to two or three spots on the top of the back from the shoulder to the base of the tail. At each spot, part the hair until the skin is visible. Place the tip of the tube on the skin and gently squeeze to expel a portion of the solution on the skin. Do not apply an excessive amount of solution at any one spot that could cause some of the solution to run off the side of your dog. Do not get this product in your dog's eyes or allow your dog to ingest this product.
  7. Discard the empty tube as described in Storage and Disposal.
  8. In cases of severe pest infestations, retreatment is allowable earlier than four (4) weeks. Do not retreat more of often than once every seven (7) days. After pest control is attained, return to a monthly retreatment schedule.
Tip:

In households with cats, separate the treated dog for 24 hours until the product is thoroughly dry.

K9 Advantix II Dosage for Dogs:

Dogs/Puppies (7+ weeks of age, weighing 4+ lbs):
Weight Amount
1-3 lbs Do not use
4-10 lbs Apply contents of 1 applicator once a month (Green Box)
11-20 lbs Apply contents of 1 applicator once a month (Teal Box)
21-55 lbs Apply contents of 1 applicator once a month (Red Box)
Over 55 lbs Apply contents of 1 applicator once a month (Blue Box)
K9 Advantix II Dosage for Cats:
Cats
Do not use!
K9 Advantix II Dosage for Horses:
Horses
Do not use!

Storage:

Do not contaminate water, food or feed by storage or disposal.

Environmental Hazards:

This product is extremely toxic to aquatic organisms, including fish and invertebrates. Do not add directly to water. Do not contaminate water when disposing of product or packaging.

Pesticide Storage:

Store K9 Advantix II in a cool, dry place. Protect from freezing.

Pesticide Disposal and Container Handling:

Nonrefillable container.

If empty:

Do not reuse this container. Place in trash or offer for recycling, if available.

If partly filled:

Call your local solid waste agency or 1-800-422-9874 for disposal instructions. Never place unused product down any indoor or outdoor drain.

Do not refrigerate. Store in the original container only. Do not reu

K9 Advantix II Ingredients:

K9 Advantix II for Dogs 4-10 lbs (Small Dog - Green Box) (0.4 ml):
Active Ingredients (per applicator tube) % By Weight
Imidacloprid 8.80%
Permethrin* 44.0%
Pyriproxyfen 0.44%
Other Ingredients (not specified) 46.76%
*cis/trans ratio: Max 55% (+/-) cis and min 45% (+/-) trans
K9 Advantix II for Dogs 11-20 lbs (Medium Dog - Teal Box) (1.0 ml):
Active Ingredients (per applicator tube) % By Weight
Imidacloprid 8.80%
Permethrin* 44.0%
Pyriproxyfen 0.44%
Other Ingredients (not specified) 46.76%
*cis/trans ratio: Max 55% (+/-) cis and min 45% (+/-) trans
K9 Advantix II for Dogs 21-55 lbs (Large Dog - Red Box) (2.5 ml):
Active Ingredients (per applicator tube) % By Weight
Imidacloprid 8.80%
Permethrin* 44.0%
Pyriproxyfen 0.44%
Other Ingredients (not specified) 46.76%
*cis/trans ratio: Max 55% (+/-) cis and min 45% (+/-) trans
K9 Advantix II for Dogs over 55 lbs (Extra Large Dog - Blue Box) (4.0 ml):
Active Ingredients (per applicator tube) % By Weight
Imidacloprid 8.80%
Permethrin* 44.0%
Pyriproxyfen 0.44%
Other Ingredients (not specified) 46.76%
*cis/trans ratio: Max 55% (+/-) cis and min 45% (+/-) trans

What is K9 Advantix II?

K9 Advantix II is a monthly preventative for dogs that offers comprehensive protection against ticks, fleas, mosquitoes, biting flies, and chewing lice. K9 Advantix II is a top veterinarian-recommended brand because it repels and kills all life stages of fleas (eggs, pupae, larvae, and adult fleas) and ticks (Deer ticks, American dog ticks, Brown dog ticks, and Lone Star ticks). K9 Advantix II kills 98-100 percent of fleas within 12 hours and continues working for one month to prevent infestations. Fleas and ticks are killed on contact with a treated dog, which means that fleas don't have to bite and ticks don't have to attach to die. This helps prevent transmission of flea-borne and tick-borne diseases such as tapeworms, Lyme disease, tick paralysis, ehrlichia, and Rocky Mountain spotted fever. Killing fleas before they bite may also help prevent skin allergies caused by flea saliva. As well, K9 Advantix II repels mosquitoes before they bite, which may help prevent transmission of heartworms. K9 Advantix II protects your pet before parasites have a chance to bite, not after.

For:

Dogs and Puppies (7+ weeks of age, weighing 4+ lbs)

Benefits:

  • Repels and kills disease-carrying fleas, ticks, and mosquitoes before they bite
  • Kills all life stages of fleas (eggs, pupae, larvae, and adult fleas) and ticks (Deer ticks, American dog ticks, Brown dog ticks, and Lone Star ticks)
  • Kills 98-100 percent of adult fleas within 12 hours
  • Ends flea life cycle by preventing flea offspring (eggs, pupae, and larvae) from maturing into adult fleas
  • Repels biting flies and kills chewing lice
  • Provides one month of protection against ticks, fleas, mosquitoes, biting flies
  • Waterproof - remains effective following a shampoo treatment, swimming or after exposure to rain or sunlight

How does K9 Advantix II work?

K9 Advantix II combines imidacloprid and permethrin to repel and kill fleas, ticks, and mosquitoes. Both ingredients work on contact, attacking parasite nerve cells at different sites. Together these ingredients overwhelm the nervous system killing the parasite. Pyriproxyfen is an insect growth regulator. K9 Advantix II topical solution also repels biting flies and kills lice.

Cautions:

DO NOT USE ON CATS. Cats cannot metabolize the ingredients used in this product. Cats must be separated from dogs during treatment. Do not allow your cat to come in contact with a treated dog for 24 hours. Some small and medium dogs may have an adverse skin reaction.

Brand Name:

K9 Advantix II (Bayer)

What is the most important thing I should know about K9 Advantix II?

The active ingredients in K9 Advantix II are Imidacloprid (8.8%), Permethrin (44.0%), and Pyriproxyfen (0.44%). K9 Advantix II is for use on dogs and puppies weighing 4 lbs or more and 7 weeks of age or older. It is used for the topical prevention and treatment of ticks, fleas, mosquitoes, biting flies, and chewing lice on dogs. K9 Advantix II repels and kills ticks including deer ticks (the major carrier of Lyme disease), American dog ticks, Brown dog ticks and lone star ticks. Additionally, K9 Advantix II repels and kills all life stages of fleas, repels and kills mosquitoes, kills chewing lice, and repels biting flies. K9 Advantix II is a non-prescription (OTC) product available as 0.014 fl oz (0.4 ml) applicators for dogs 4-10 lbs (Green), 0.034 fl oz (1.0 ml) applicators for dogs 11-20 lbs (Teal), 0.084 fl oz (2.5 ml) applicators for dogs 21-55 lbs (Red), and 0.135 fl oz (4.0 ml) applicators for dogs over 55 lbs (Blue).

What should I discuss with my veterinarian before giving K9 Advantix II to my pet?

Consult a veterinarian before using on medicated animals and debilitated, aged, pregnant or nursing animals.

How should K9 Advantix II be applied?

For use only on dogs. Do not use on cats or on other animals. Have your dog stand for easy application. Part the hair on your dog's back between the shoulder blades, until the skin is visible. For dogs up to 20 lbs, apply the entire contents of the applicator tube to 2 or 3 spots on the top of the back from the shoulder to the base of the tail. For dogs 21 lbs and over, apply the entire contents of the applicator tube to 4 or 6 spots on the top of the back from the shoulder to the base of the tail. If your household has cats or other pets, separate them from the treated dog for 24 hours.

What are the potential side effects of K9 Advantix II?

Monitor your dog after application. Side effects may include signs of skin irritation such as redness, scratching, or other signs of discomfort. Gastrointestinal signs such as vomiting or diarrhea have also been reported. If these or other side effects (such as lethargy or agitation) occur, consult your veterinarian or call 1-800-422-9874. Individual sensitivities, while rare, may occur after using any pesticide product for pets. A small percentage of dogs have had adverse reactions to K9 Advantix II. A sensation of burning, tingling, itching, redness or numbness of the skin may occur after topical application. This sensation usually begins 1-2 hours after application. In addition, reactions have occurred in cats that have been exposed to a medicated dog. That is why it is important to separate your cat from a medicated dog for 24 hours. Bayer, the manufacturer of K9 Advantix II, indicates that some of these symptoms will dissipate within 48 hours; however, if your pet is experiencing adverse reactions, please complete the following steps:

  • Stop applying the medication
  • Wash your dog with a detergent based soap (Dawn or Palmolive dish detergents work best). Do not scrub the affected area, as this may cause more skin irritation. Please note: This process is applicable for both dogs and cats.
  • Call your veterinarian
  • Call Bayer Emergency Support Line at 1-800-422-9874. Let Bayer know your dog is having an adverse reaction to K9 Advantix by calling 1-800-422-9874. This line is staffed 24 hours a day, 7 days a week.

What happens if I miss giving a dose of K9 Advantix II?

If you miss a dose, apply the next dose as soon as possible and resume a monthly schedule.

What happens if I overdose my pet on K9 Advantix II?

Contact your veterinarian or veterinary emergency room.

What should I avoid while giving K9 Advantix II to my pet?

This product is for external use only on dogs and puppies 4 lbs or more and 7 weeks or older. Do not get this product in your dog's eyes or mouth. Do not use this product on animals other than dogs. In households with cats, separate the treated dog for about 24 hours. Due to their unique physiology and inability to metabolize certain compounds, this product must not be used on cats. If applied to a cat, or ingested by a cat which actively grooms a recently treated dog, this product may have serious harmful effects. If this occurs, contact your veterinarian immediately. It is important to apply this product no more than once a month and to use the correct strength for the weight of the dog. This product is harmful to humans if swallowed. Call a physician or poison control center for advice. Have the patient sip water. Do not induce vomiting unless advised to and the patient is conscious. This product can cause substantial but temporary eye injury. Do not get in eyes or on skin or clothing. Wash thoroughly with soap and water after handling and before eating, drinking, chewing gum, using tobacco or using the toilet. Remove and wash contaminated clothing before reuse..

What other drugs will affect K9 Advantix II?

If your pet is on medication, consult your veterinarian before using this or any other product.

K9 Advantix II Directions:

HOW TO OPEN

  1. Be sure the tube is at the bottom of the pouch.
  2. Using scissors, cut the pouch across the top and remove the tube.

HOW TO APPLY

  1. Use only on Dogs. DO NOT USE ON CATS or other animals.
  2. Do not apply to dogs weighing less than 4 lbs.
  3. Remove the applicator tube from the package. Use scissors to peel down foil.
  4. Hold the applicator tube in an upright position. Pull the cap off the tube.
  5. Turn the cap around and place the other end of the cap back on the tube.
  6. Your dog should be standing for easy application. Evenly apply the entire contents of the K9 Advantix II tube to two or three spots on the top of the back from the shoulder to the base of the tail. At each spot, part the hair until the skin is visible. Place the tip of the tube on the skin and gently squeeze to expel a portion of the solution on the skin. Do not apply an excessive amount of solution at any one spot that could cause some of the solution to run off the side of your dog. Do not get this product in your dog's eyes or allow your dog to ingest this product.
  7. Discard the empty tube as described in Storage and Disposal.
  8. In cases of severe pest infestations, retreatment is allowable earlier than four (4) weeks. Do not retreat more of often than once every seven (7) days. After pest control is attained, return to a monthly retreatment schedule.
Tip:

In households with cats, separate the treated dog for 24 hours until the product is thoroughly dry.

K9 Advantix II Dosage for Dogs:

Dogs/Puppies (7+ weeks of age, weighing 4+ lbs):
Weight Amount
1-3 lbs Do not use
4-10 lbs Apply contents of 1 applicator once a month (Green Box)
11-20 lbs Apply contents of 1 applicator once a month (Teal Box)
21-55 lbs Apply contents of 1 applicator once a month (Red Box)
Over 55 lbs Apply contents of 1 applicator once a month (Blue Box)
K9 Advantix II Dosage for Cats:
Cats
Do not use!
K9 Advantix II Dosage for Horses:
Horses
Do not use!

Storage:

Do not contaminate water, food or feed by storage or disposal.

Environmental Hazards:

This product is extremely toxic to aquatic organisms, including fish and invertebrates. Do not add directly to water. Do not contaminate water when disposing of product or packaging.

Pesticide Storage:

Store K9 Advantix II in a cool, dry place. Protect from freezing.

Pesticide Disposal and Container Handling:

Nonrefillable container.

If empty:

Do not reuse this container. Place in trash or offer for recycling, if available.

If partly filled:

Call your local solid waste agency or 1-800-422-9874 for disposal instructions. Never place unused product down any indoor or outdoor drain.

Do not refrigerate. Store in the original container only. Do not reu

K9 Advantix II Ingredients:

K9 Advantix II for Dogs 4-10 lbs (Small Dog - Green Box) (0.4 ml):
Active Ingredients (per applicator tube) % By Weight
Imidacloprid 8.80%
Permethrin* 44.0%
Pyriproxyfen 0.44%
Other Ingredients (not specified) 46.76%
*cis/trans ratio: Max 55% (+/-) cis and min 45% (+/-) trans
K9 Advantix II for Dogs 11-20 lbs (Medium Dog - Teal Box) (1.0 ml):
Active Ingredients (per applicator tube) % By Weight
Imidacloprid 8.80%
Permethrin* 44.0%
Pyriproxyfen 0.44%
Other Ingredients (not specified) 46.76%
*cis/trans ratio: Max 55% (+/-) cis and min 45% (+/-) trans
K9 Advantix II for Dogs 21-55 lbs (Large Dog - Red Box) (2.5 ml):
Active Ingredients (per applicator tube) % By Weight
Imidacloprid 8.80%
Permethrin* 44.0%
Pyriproxyfen 0.44%
Other Ingredients (not specified) 46.76%
*cis/trans ratio: Max 55% (+/-) cis and min 45% (+/-) trans
K9 Advantix II for Dogs over 55 lbs (Extra Large Dog - Blue Box) (4.0 ml):
Active Ingredients (per applicator tube) % By Weight
Imidacloprid 8.80%
Permethrin* 44.0%
Pyriproxyfen 0.44%
Other Ingredients (not specified) 46.76%
*cis/trans ratio: Max 55% (+/-) cis and min 45% (+/-) trans