K9 Advantix II

4.9 out of 5 Customer Rating
K9 Advantix II is rated 3.8 out of 5 by 3865.
  • y_2020, m_8, d_4, h_15
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.10
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_38, tr_3827
  • loc_en_US, sid_prod10631, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_1800petmeds
  • bvseo_sdk, dw_cartridge, 18.2.0, p_sdk_3.2.0
  • CLOUD, getAggregateRating, 6ms
  • reviews, product
Starts $41.40 $28.98
Most orders ship the same day
prod10631 product detail number 1.0
K9 Advantix II
K9 Advantix II
K9 Advantix II

K9 Advantix II

4.9 out of 5 Customer Rating
K9 Advantix II is rated 3.8 out of 5 by 3865.
  • y_2020, m_8, d_4, h_15
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.10
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_38, tr_3827
  • loc_en_US, sid_prod10631, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_1800petmeds
  • bvseo_sdk, dw_cartridge, 18.2.0, p_sdk_3.2.0
  • CLOUD, getAggregateRating, 6ms
  • reviews, product
Starts $41.40 $28.98
Most orders ship the same day
Dog

Reviews

Rated 1 out of 5 by from Didn't work I bought this product And it did not work. My doggy has more fleas now than it did before.
Date published: 2020-05-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy to apply Dogs sniffed out the dog cookies even before I opened the box. She went crazy after I walked in the door with the box from1800 pet meds.
Date published: 2020-05-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works great I used to use Frontline plus, but I tried K9 Advantage, and it works just as well, and it's cheaper.
Date published: 2020-05-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from only fleas when hunting! have been using for years and am still really pleased with the results. thank you!
Date published: 2020-05-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect for tick magnets ;) I was having a lot of problems with my shepherd/bernese and ticks. She is so furry and its hard to check her. The only time id actually find a tick was when they've been munching on her for a while and became engorged. Since I put both of my dogs on Advantix I've never found a tick on either one of them, and we're always going hiking and back the woods.
Date published: 2020-05-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works great! Been using this for years and it works.
Date published: 2020-05-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best deal for Canadians A couple weeks ago, i purchased a 6 pk of Advantix II. It cost me approx $120 CND (including shipping and exchange on the US dollar). That exact same day, i found a tick on my neck, and panicked as my dog was not yet protected. I went to a pet supply store in Canada, and bought the smallest pack i could get, which was a 4 pk, just to hold me over.. it was $101cnd.. the 6 pack, which is what I ordered, was $170cnd (including tax).. this site was a huge savings for me..for the EXACT same product.
Date published: 2020-05-17
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Does not wk I purchased k9 advantix for 4 of my dogs all different sizes. I bathed them all with flea shampoo waited a few days and treated them with this product. 3 weeks later I notice fleas on my little white Chihuahua so I gave him a bath and pulled 8 very alive fleas off of him. The fleas where having a party. And where not affected at all by this so called flea treatment. I am very dissapointed in this product I spent over $200 on flea treatment and my dogs are covered in fleas. I will never order from this site again. Im a New customer this was my first purchase of flea treatment from this site never ever again.
Date published: 2020-05-15
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Adverse effects My Wheaton terrier Reacted terribly to this topical medication . He has been acting nervously all night and today after applying it. I think it causes his skin where applied to be tingly or irritated. He won’t let anyone near him. I think I’ll give him a bath next.
Date published: 2020-05-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product I have never seen a flea, tick or mosquito on my pets while using this product.
Date published: 2020-05-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works great only thing my dog can use that really works for her, and doesn't make her act weird. We love it.
Date published: 2020-05-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent product Keeps fleas, ticks, mosquitoes off my dogs. Tried frontline years ago but it didn't work, this K9 Advantix works !!! I have used it for years on different types of doggies. Super fast shipping too
Date published: 2020-05-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Rescue I work in rescue and get in dogs of all hair types. This product has never disappointed me, caused any type of reaction, etc. it is the only flea and tick product we use due to cost and effectiveness:
Date published: 2020-05-08
Rated 1 out of 5 by from disappointed I applied this product and have found two ticks on my dog. One had bitten him and was still alive.
Date published: 2020-05-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product!! I have tried many flea & tick medicine. My neighbor told me about Advantage II so why not try it what would I lose. I love it, my dogs love it, no more scratching, no more fleas nothing. My dogs and I are very happy!!
Date published: 2020-05-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I have 8 German Shepherds in NC and this is the only product that controls the fleas, ticks and biting flies!
Date published: 2020-05-04
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Disappointed I bought this product a almost 3 weeks ago and applied it to my puppy. He still has fleas. Very disappointed in this product.
Date published: 2020-05-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from works great i have been using this product for many years, havent seen a flea yet. ticks, yes, but i check her regularly.i am happy with this im afraid to switch. thank you petmeds for making it affordable!
Date published: 2020-05-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome This is the best product & works like it should. Have been using this brand for years and will not use anything else.
Date published: 2020-05-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Product I've been using this on my 3 dogs for 5 years and it works great. We have over an acre and alot of wildlife that carry ticks and my girls are fully protected even when they go swimming.
Date published: 2020-05-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works well!! This is my favorite flea & tick prevention. Works exactly as it should without fail. My dogs don’t do well with the oral preventions so Advantix is our best option. Pro tip-brush it through your dogs coat to help it move around & keep the goo off your couch,etc.
Date published: 2020-05-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Pricing is great! I have tried many flea and tick prevention products on my dogs. This is the only one that works for my pit. All other products causes hair loss and skin irritation or just does not repel the ticks like K9 Advantix II.
Date published: 2020-04-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Does the work at a great price! My local vet switched me to Seresto when the product I had been using, Vectra, became way too expensive. Seresto didn't work because it didn't kill the fleas right away and we found live ones in our bed. Once I found K9 Advantix II with the same ingredients as Vectra at a reasonable price, this is my go to product for both of my Shih Tzu's.
Date published: 2020-04-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fair price Advantix 2 is the best kills fleas really good
Date published: 2020-04-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great price! I’ve always liked this product over the others. my go to for my lab and boxers.
Date published: 2020-04-22
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Very disappointed I recently purchased this as well as the 6-pack large dog and all of my dogs are still covered in fleas. So much money waisted!!!
Date published: 2020-04-20
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Advantix II I just started using it for my dog and it appears to be a great product.
Date published: 2020-04-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I’ve been using the HeartGuard and/or Advantix II,( it didn’t exist 25 years ago, did it?). for more than two decades - a Chow Chow, a Westie, and a ‘boutique mutt’, 1/2 ‘n ’ 1/2 Yorkie/Maltese. In 2012, I got rid of all the barberry, put out Damminix tubes, and have been using the above year-round. Not a single tick has since been found on man nor beast, even after working in the woods!! You bet I give five stars to you for keeping me supplied in the battle against Lyme disease⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️.
Date published: 2020-04-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Advantix ii I’ve been using this for about a year on my dogs recommend it to friends it seems to be the only thing that works up in the north east for the ticks. I use to use Frontline but The ticks built up a resistance.
Date published: 2020-04-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good bye bugs It's a bad year in northern California for flees and ticks. So far so good. No systems have shown any signs of bites. We have been using K9 advantix for 2 years and it works. Happy dog, happy parents .
Date published: 2020-03-29
  • y_2020, m_8, d_4, h_15
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.10
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_38, tr_3827
  • loc_en_US, sid_prod10631, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_1800petmeds
  • bvseo_sdk, dw_cartridge, 18.2.0, p_sdk_3.2.0
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 6ms
  • reviews, product

Questions

Are the prices in American or Canadian funds ?

Asked by: Allan
American.
Answered by: Shari PetMed Pro
Date published: 2020-05-29

Can this be used on puppies she is 4 months old

Asked by: Sharon
7 weeks and older. Yes.
Answered by: Shari PetMed Pro
Date published: 2020-05-22

If I have been exposed on the skin with this product what symptoms should I be watching for

Asked by: Vickie
Might experience a slight burn, redness, and itching. Normal skin reactions. If you need help please contact your local Urgent care center.
Answered by: Shari PetMed Pro
Date published: 2020-05-19

My dog has been taking K-9 Advantage 4lb to 10lb.. Recently she started to become immune to the treatment. So I am going her to the next level 11lbs to 20lbs in hopes that this be better for her! She scratches and bites alot to herself but nothing there

Asked by: Bella Lu
It is not recommended to use more product. If you are seeing fleas before the next monthly treatment, it is safer to re-apply sooner than to over-dose. Dogs will usually scratch and chew for other reasons besides fleas. Most often it is due to an allergy to something else. Please consult your veterinarian as your itchy furry friend may benefit from allergy treatment, such as Apoquel.
Answered by: SuzyCVT
Date published: 2020-05-15

Does this product wash off after giving dog a bath?

Asked by: Sue2020
The manufacturer recommends bathing with a soap-free shampoo as other shampoos can strip the natural oils from the skin which will also remove some of the K-9 Advantix.
Answered by: SuzyCVT
Date published: 2020-05-15

Can o order from canada

Asked by: Noneofur
Yes. We can definitely send K9 Advantix II to Canada. You may place an order online or by calling us at 1-800-738-6337.
Answered by: Cherley Petmeds Pro
Date published: 2020-05-13

My son is fighting leukemia will this product harmful for him or any of my other children

Asked by: Steven
It should not be harmful at all to your kids but you can consult with your doctor or veterinarian before using.
Answered by: Shari PetMed Pro
Date published: 2020-05-06

I want store some for 1yr What kind of expired date does it have

Asked by: BBDx
This product doesn't expire.
Answered by: Shari PetMed Pro
Date published: 2020-04-23

Can I use this product if my dog has been given Heartworm medicine?

Asked by: Becb
You can. They don't interfere with each other. The K9 Advantix II is for fleas and ticks not heartworms.
Answered by: Shari PetMed Pro
Date published: 2020-04-23

Can a large tube of advatix be split between 2 dogs

Asked by: Reeva
No. You should apply the entire contents of one tube (based on your dog’s weight). See package label for detailed application directions. There is no gaurantee of an accurate (safe/effective) dose when splitting contents of tube. Thank you.
Answered by: Joshua T
Date published: 2020-04-20

My mastiff is 239 lbs neck size 29 will the blue one fit him?

Asked by: Kelly h
K9 Advantix II is not a collar. It is a topical medication used in dogs for the prevention of ticks, fleas, mosquitoes, biting flies, and chewing lice. It can be used in dogs the size of your pet (Blue color packaging). As with all medications, consult a veterinarian before using if your pet takes other medications, is debilitated, aged, pregnant or nursing. Thank you.
Answered by: Joshua T
Date published: 2020-04-16

Hi what other item can I order for my dog that is ok in Canada. I had to cancel orders before because of this

Asked by: Vicky66
1-800-PetMeds only ships non-prescription ("Over the Counter", OTC) medications to Canada. Thank you.
Answered by: Joshua T
Date published: 2020-04-20

How many do you need for one season

Asked by: Jmcn
It really depends upon your location. I live in Florida and flea and tick season is year round. Consult your vet for his/her recommendation.
Answered by: SuzyCVT
Date published: 2020-04-09

I use Sentinel for my puppy. Can I also use k9 advantix along with it to protect her from ticks?

Asked by: Reg57
Yes. It is safe to use both Sentinel and K-9 Advantix on your puppy.
Answered by: SuzyCVT
Date published: 2020-04-09

Are there any chewables that are equivalent to the K9 Advantage II which also kills mosquitoes, chewing lice, etc.?

Asked by: KIM U
We do not offer any oral chews that covers mosquitoes and chewing lice.
Answered by: Cherley Petmeds Pro
Date published: 2020-04-07

My dog weighs 140 pounds. Is the 55+ sufficient for him or do I have to buy two different sizes?

Asked by: kjschroeder
The 55 and up will be suffice.
Answered by: Shari PetMed Pro
Date published: 2020-03-21

How many are in a package?

Asked by: Linda
K9 Advantix II contains a package with 4 single doses, 6 single doses, or 12 single doses.
Answered by: Cherley Petmeds Pro
Date published: 2020-03-21

How soon after putting the treatment on my dog can I bathe him

Asked by: Leanne
Within 24-48 hours.
Answered by: Cherley Petmeds Pro
Date published: 2020-04-04

How many applications per pack?

Asked by: John
We offer K9 Advantix in a package of 4 single doses, 6 single doses and 12 single doses.
Answered by: Cherley Petmeds Pro
Date published: 2020-03-16

Can I use 21 to 55 lb. on my dogs that weigh.  14. ,    12.    ,8.   lbs

Asked by: Barbara
Please give your furry babies the appropriate dosage within their weight range. This prevents over or under medicating your furry babies.
Answered by: Cherley Petmeds Pro
Date published: 2020-03-11

Would you apply this after a fresh bath? 

Asked by: Sandi
It has been said that people see better result when applied to the dirty skin. But if you do bathe your fur baby right before please be sure the pet is completely dry before applying the topical.
Answered by: Shari PetMed Pro
Date published: 2020-03-07

Does this protect against ear mites?

Asked by: Lynn
It is one month of protection against ticks, fleas, mosquitoes, biting flies
Answered by: Shari PetMed Pro
Date published: 2020-03-06

Does this protect against ticks that cause Lyme disease

Asked by: Lindag
Yes.
Answered by: Shari PetMed Pro
Date published: 2020-03-02

My puppy is 4 months old and weighs 39 pounds, is it safe for her ( 21 -55 pounds) flea treatment?

Asked by: A123
Yes.
Answered by: Shari PetMed Pro
Date published: 2020-03-02

Does this require a prescription from my vet?

Asked by: Luke
No.
Answered by: Shari PetMed Pro
Date published: 2020-02-12

I applied this while my dog was still damp. Should I worry that it will not work? Can I reapply the medication?  

Asked by: Maggie
If your furry baby was only damp you should be fine. If you do start seeing them itching due to fleas you can reapply after 7 days.
Answered by: Shari PetMed Pro
Date published: 2020-02-10

Is this product safe to use on a dog with skin allergy

Asked by: Betsy
If your furry baby has a skin allergy we will suggest confirming with your veterinarian first to check it if will be ok.
Answered by: Shari PetMed Pro
Date published: 2020-01-29

What is an example of a “soap free” shampoo to use 48 hours after application? 

Asked by: Brandi
Please see the link below to view the examples of our soap free shampoos. Here is the link: https://www.1800petmeds.com/search.jsp?Ns=product.salesvolume%7C1&Ntt=soap+free&_requestid=1333589
Answered by: Cherley Petmeds Pro
Date published: 2020-01-22

What is maximum weight with 55 and up

Asked by: Aj Smith
The maximum weight goes up to 200 lbs.
Answered by: Cherley Petmeds Pro
Date published: 2020-01-17

Can this product be used on an 8 to 10 week old puppy ?

Asked by: Peggy
Yes. This product is safe for Dogs and Puppies (7+ weeks of age, weighing 4+ lbs)
Answered by: Cherley Petmeds Pro
Date published: 2020-01-03
  • y_2020, m_8, d_4, h_15CST
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvqa, vn_bulk_3.0.10
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasquestionsanswers, tq_1211
  • loc_en_US, sid_prod10631, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=LAST_APPROVED_ANSWER_SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_1800petmeds
  • bvseo_sdk, dw_cartridge, 18.2.0, p_sdk_3.2.0
  • CLOUD, getContent, 47ms
  • questions, product

What is K9 Advantix II?

K9 Advantix II is a monthly preventative for dogs that offers comprehensive protection against ticks, fleas, mosquitoes, biting flies, and chewing lice. K9 Advantix II is a top veterinarian-recommended brand because it repels and kills all life stages of fleas (eggs, pupae, larvae, and adult fleas) and ticks (Deer ticks, American dog ticks, Brown dog ticks, and Lone Star ticks). K9 Advantix II kills 98-100 percent of fleas within 12 hours and continues working for one month to prevent infestations. Fleas and ticks are killed on contact with a treated dog, which means that fleas don't have to bite and ticks don't have to attach to die. This helps prevent transmission of flea-borne and tick-borne diseases such as tapeworms, Lyme disease, tick paralysis, ehrlichia, and Rocky Mountain spotted fever. Killing fleas before they bite may also help prevent skin allergies caused by flea saliva. As well, K9 Advantix II repels mosquitoes before they bite, which may help prevent transmission of heartworms. K9 Advantix II protects your pet before parasites have a chance to bite, not after.

For:

Dogs and Puppies (7+ weeks of age, weighing 4+ lbs)

Benefits:

  • Repels and kills disease-carrying fleas, ticks, and mosquitoes before they bite
  • Kills all life stages of fleas (eggs, pupae, larvae, and adult fleas) and ticks (Deer ticks, American dog ticks, Brown dog ticks, and Lone Star ticks)
  • Kills 98-100 percent of adult fleas within 12 hours
  • Ends flea life cycle by preventing flea offspring (eggs, pupae, and larvae) from maturing into adult fleas
  • Repels biting flies and kills chewing lice
  • Provides one month of protection against ticks, fleas, mosquitoes, biting flies
  • Waterproof - remains effective following a shampoo treatment, swimming or after exposure to rain or sunlight

How does K9 Advantix II work?

K9 Advantix II combines imidacloprid and permethrin to repel and kill fleas, ticks, and mosquitoes. Both ingredients work on contact, attacking parasite nerve cells at different sites. Together these ingredients overwhelm the nervous system killing the parasite. Pyriproxyfen is an insect growth regulator. K9 Advantix II topical solution also repels biting flies and kills lice.

Cautions:

DO NOT USE ON CATS. Cats cannot metabolize the ingredients used in this product. Cats must be separated from dogs during treatment. Do not allow your cat to come in contact with a treated dog for 24 hours. Some small and medium dogs may have an adverse skin reaction.

Brand Name:

K9 Advantix II (Bayer)

What is the most important thing I should know about K9 Advantix II?

The active ingredients in K9 Advantix II are Imidacloprid (8.8%), Permethrin (44.0%), and Pyriproxyfen (0.44%). K9 Advantix II is for use on dogs and puppies weighing 4 lbs or more and 7 weeks of age or older. It is used for the topical prevention and treatment of ticks, fleas, mosquitoes, biting flies, and chewing lice on dogs. K9 Advantix II repels and kills ticks including deer ticks (the major carrier of Lyme disease), American dog ticks, Brown dog ticks and lone star ticks. Additionally, K9 Advantix II repels and kills all life stages of fleas, repels and kills mosquitoes, kills chewing lice, and repels biting flies. K9 Advantix II is a non-prescription (OTC) product available as 0.014 fl oz (0.4 ml) applicators for dogs 4-10 lbs (Green), 0.034 fl oz (1.0 ml) applicators for dogs 11-20 lbs (Teal), 0.084 fl oz (2.5 ml) applicators for dogs 21-55 lbs (Red), and 0.135 fl oz (4.0 ml) applicators for dogs over 55 lbs (Blue).

What should I discuss with my veterinarian before giving K9 Advantix II to my pet?

Consult a veterinarian before using on medicated animals and debilitated, aged, pregnant or nursing animals.

How should K9 Advantix II be applied?

For use only on dogs. Do not use on cats or on other animals. Have your dog stand for easy application. Part the hair on your dog's back between the shoulder blades, until the skin is visible. For dogs up to 20 lbs, apply the entire contents of the applicator tube to 2 or 3 spots on the top of the back from the shoulder to the base of the tail. For dogs 21 lbs and over, apply the entire contents of the applicator tube to 4 or 6 spots on the top of the back from the shoulder to the base of the tail. If your household has cats or other pets, separate them from the treated dog for 24 hours.

What are the potential side effects of K9 Advantix II?

Monitor your dog after application. Side effects may include signs of skin irritation such as redness, scratching, or other signs of discomfort. Gastrointestinal signs such as vomiting or diarrhea have also been reported. If these or other side effects (such as lethargy or agitation) occur, consult your veterinarian or call 1-800-422-9874. Individual sensitivities, while rare, may occur after using any pesticide product for pets. A small percentage of dogs have had adverse reactions to K9 Advantix II. A sensation of burning, tingling, itching, redness or numbness of the skin may occur after topical application. This sensation usually begins 1-2 hours after application. In addition, reactions have occurred in cats that have been exposed to a medicated dog. That is why it is important to separate your cat from a medicated dog for 24 hours. Bayer, the manufacturer of K9 Advantix II, indicates that some of these symptoms will dissipate within 48 hours; however, if your pet is experiencing adverse reactions, please complete the following steps:

  • Stop applying the medication
  • Wash your dog with a detergent based soap (Dawn or Palmolive dish detergents work best). Do not scrub the affected area, as this may cause more skin irritation. Please note: This process is applicable for both dogs and cats.
  • Call your veterinarian
  • Call Bayer Emergency Support Line at 1-800-422-9874. Let Bayer know your dog is having an adverse reaction to K9 Advantix by calling 1-800-422-9874. This line is staffed 24 hours a day, 7 days a week.

What happens if I miss giving a dose of K9 Advantix II?

If you miss a dose, apply the next dose as soon as possible and resume a monthly schedule.

What happens if I overdose my pet on K9 Advantix II?

Contact your veterinarian or veterinary emergency room.

What should I avoid while giving K9 Advantix II to my pet?

This product is for external use only on dogs and puppies 4 lbs or more and 7 weeks or older. Do not get this product in your dog's eyes or mouth. Do not use this product on animals other than dogs. In households with cats, separate the treated dog for about 24 hours. Due to their unique physiology and inability to metabolize certain compounds, this product must not be used on cats. If applied to a cat, or ingested by a cat which actively grooms a recently treated dog, this product may have serious harmful effects. If this occurs, contact your veterinarian immediately. It is important to apply this product no more than once a month and to use the correct strength for the weight of the dog. This product is harmful to humans if swallowed. Call a physician or poison control center for advice. Have the patient sip water. Do not induce vomiting unless advised to and the patient is conscious. This product can cause substantial but temporary eye injury. Do not get in eyes or on skin or clothing. Wash thoroughly with soap and water after handling and before eating, drinking, chewing gum, using tobacco or using the toilet. Remove and wash contaminated clothing before reuse..

What other drugs will affect K9 Advantix II?

If your pet is on medication, consult your veterinarian before using this or any other product.

K9 Advantix II Directions:

HOW TO OPEN

  1. Be sure the tube is at the bottom of the pouch.
  2. Using scissors, cut the pouch across the top and remove the tube.

HOW TO APPLY

  1. Use only on Dogs. DO NOT USE ON CATS or other animals.
  2. Do not apply to dogs weighing less than 4 lbs.
  3. Remove the applicator tube from the package. Use scissors to peel down foil.
  4. Hold the applicator tube in an upright position. Pull the cap off the tube.
  5. Turn the cap around and place the other end of the cap back on the tube.
  6. Your dog should be standing for easy application. Evenly apply the entire contents of the K9 Advantix II tube to two or three spots on the top of the back from the shoulder to the base of the tail. At each spot, part the hair until the skin is visible. Place the tip of the tube on the skin and gently squeeze to expel a portion of the solution on the skin. Do not apply an excessive amount of solution at any one spot that could cause some of the solution to run off the side of your dog. Do not get this product in your dog's eyes or allow your dog to ingest this product.
  7. Discard the empty tube as described in Storage and Disposal.
  8. In cases of severe pest infestations, retreatment is allowable earlier than four (4) weeks. Do not retreat more of often than once every seven (7) days. After pest control is attained, return to a monthly retreatment schedule.
Tip:

In households with cats, separate the treated dog for 24 hours until the product is thoroughly dry.

K9 Advantix II Dosage for Dogs:

Dogs/Puppies (7+ weeks of age, weighing 4+ lbs):
Weight Amount
1-3 lbs Do not use
4-10 lbs Apply contents of 1 applicator once a month (Green Box)
11-20 lbs Apply contents of 1 applicator once a month (Teal Box)
21-55 lbs Apply contents of 1 applicator once a month (Red Box)
Over 55 lbs Apply contents of 1 applicator once a month (Blue Box)
K9 Advantix II Dosage for Cats:
Cats
Do not use!
K9 Advantix II Dosage for Horses:
Horses
Do not use!

Storage:

Do not contaminate water, food or feed by storage or disposal.

Environmental Hazards:

This product is extremely toxic to aquatic organisms, including fish and invertebrates. Do not add directly to water. Do not contaminate water when disposing of product or packaging.

Pesticide Storage:

Store K9 Advantix II in a cool, dry place. Protect from freezing.

Pesticide Disposal and Container Handling:

Nonrefillable container.

If empty:

Do not reuse this container. Place in trash or offer for recycling, if available.

If partly filled:

Call your local solid waste agency or 1-800-422-9874 for disposal instructions. Never place unused product down any indoor or outdoor drain.

Do not refrigerate. Store in the original container only. Do not reu

K9 Advantix II Ingredients:

K9 Advantix II for Dogs 4-10 lbs (Small Dog - Green Box) (0.4 ml):
Active Ingredients (per applicator tube) % By Weight
Imidacloprid 8.80%
Permethrin* 44.0%
Pyriproxyfen 0.44%
Other Ingredients (not specified) 46.76%
*cis/trans ratio: Max 55% (+/-) cis and min 45% (+/-) trans
K9 Advantix II for Dogs 11-20 lbs (Medium Dog - Teal Box) (1.0 ml):
Active Ingredients (per applicator tube) % By Weight
Imidacloprid 8.80%
Permethrin* 44.0%
Pyriproxyfen 0.44%
Other Ingredients (not specified) 46.76%
*cis/trans ratio: Max 55% (+/-) cis and min 45% (+/-) trans
K9 Advantix II for Dogs 21-55 lbs (Large Dog - Red Box) (2.5 ml):
Active Ingredients (per applicator tube) % By Weight
Imidacloprid 8.80%
Permethrin* 44.0%
Pyriproxyfen 0.44%
Other Ingredients (not specified) 46.76%
*cis/trans ratio: Max 55% (+/-) cis and min 45% (+/-) trans
K9 Advantix II for Dogs over 55 lbs (Extra Large Dog - Blue Box) (4.0 ml):
Active Ingredients (per applicator tube) % By Weight
Imidacloprid 8.80%
Permethrin* 44.0%
Pyriproxyfen 0.44%
Other Ingredients (not specified) 46.76%
*cis/trans ratio: Max 55% (+/-) cis and min 45% (+/-) trans

What is K9 Advantix II?

K9 Advantix II is a monthly preventative for dogs that offers comprehensive protection against ticks, fleas, mosquitoes, biting flies, and chewing lice. K9 Advantix II is a top veterinarian-recommended brand because it repels and kills all life stages of fleas (eggs, pupae, larvae, and adult fleas) and ticks (Deer ticks, American dog ticks, Brown dog ticks, and Lone Star ticks). K9 Advantix II kills 98-100 percent of fleas within 12 hours and continues working for one month to prevent infestations. Fleas and ticks are killed on contact with a treated dog, which means that fleas don't have to bite and ticks don't have to attach to die. This helps prevent transmission of flea-borne and tick-borne diseases such as tapeworms, Lyme disease, tick paralysis, ehrlichia, and Rocky Mountain spotted fever. Killing fleas before they bite may also help prevent skin allergies caused by flea saliva. As well, K9 Advantix II repels mosquitoes before they bite, which may help prevent transmission of heartworms. K9 Advantix II protects your pet before parasites have a chance to bite, not after.

For:

Dogs and Puppies (7+ weeks of age, weighing 4+ lbs)

Benefits:

  • Repels and kills disease-carrying fleas, ticks, and mosquitoes before they bite
  • Kills all life stages of fleas (eggs, pupae, larvae, and adult fleas) and ticks (Deer ticks, American dog ticks, Brown dog ticks, and Lone Star ticks)
  • Kills 98-100 percent of adult fleas within 12 hours
  • Ends flea life cycle by preventing flea offspring (eggs, pupae, and larvae) from maturing into adult fleas
  • Repels biting flies and kills chewing lice
  • Provides one month of protection against ticks, fleas, mosquitoes, biting flies
  • Waterproof - remains effective following a shampoo treatment, swimming or after exposure to rain or sunlight

How does K9 Advantix II work?

K9 Advantix II combines imidacloprid and permethrin to repel and kill fleas, ticks, and mosquitoes. Both ingredients work on contact, attacking parasite nerve cells at different sites. Together these ingredients overwhelm the nervous system killing the parasite. Pyriproxyfen is an insect growth regulator. K9 Advantix II topical solution also repels biting flies and kills lice.

Cautions:

DO NOT USE ON CATS. Cats cannot metabolize the ingredients used in this product. Cats must be separated from dogs during treatment. Do not allow your cat to come in contact with a treated dog for 24 hours. Some small and medium dogs may have an adverse skin reaction.

Brand Name:

K9 Advantix II (Bayer)

What is the most important thing I should know about K9 Advantix II?

The active ingredients in K9 Advantix II are Imidacloprid (8.8%), Permethrin (44.0%), and Pyriproxyfen (0.44%). K9 Advantix II is for use on dogs and puppies weighing 4 lbs or more and 7 weeks of age or older. It is used for the topical prevention and treatment of ticks, fleas, mosquitoes, biting flies, and chewing lice on dogs. K9 Advantix II repels and kills ticks including deer ticks (the major carrier of Lyme disease), American dog ticks, Brown dog ticks and lone star ticks. Additionally, K9 Advantix II repels and kills all life stages of fleas, repels and kills mosquitoes, kills chewing lice, and repels biting flies. K9 Advantix II is a non-prescription (OTC) product available as 0.014 fl oz (0.4 ml) applicators for dogs 4-10 lbs (Green), 0.034 fl oz (1.0 ml) applicators for dogs 11-20 lbs (Teal), 0.084 fl oz (2.5 ml) applicators for dogs 21-55 lbs (Red), and 0.135 fl oz (4.0 ml) applicators for dogs over 55 lbs (Blue).

What should I discuss with my veterinarian before giving K9 Advantix II to my pet?

Consult a veterinarian before using on medicated animals and debilitated, aged, pregnant or nursing animals.

How should K9 Advantix II be applied?

For use only on dogs. Do not use on cats or on other animals. Have your dog stand for easy application. Part the hair on your dog's back between the shoulder blades, until the skin is visible. For dogs up to 20 lbs, apply the entire contents of the applicator tube to 2 or 3 spots on the top of the back from the shoulder to the base of the tail. For dogs 21 lbs and over, apply the entire contents of the applicator tube to 4 or 6 spots on the top of the back from the shoulder to the base of the tail. If your household has cats or other pets, separate them from the treated dog for 24 hours.

What are the potential side effects of K9 Advantix II?

Monitor your dog after application. Side effects may include signs of skin irritation such as redness, scratching, or other signs of discomfort. Gastrointestinal signs such as vomiting or diarrhea have also been reported. If these or other side effects (such as lethargy or agitation) occur, consult your veterinarian or call 1-800-422-9874. Individual sensitivities, while rare, may occur after using any pesticide product for pets. A small percentage of dogs have had adverse reactions to K9 Advantix II. A sensation of burning, tingling, itching, redness or numbness of the skin may occur after topical application. This sensation usually begins 1-2 hours after application. In addition, reactions have occurred in cats that have been exposed to a medicated dog. That is why it is important to separate your cat from a medicated dog for 24 hours. Bayer, the manufacturer of K9 Advantix II, indicates that some of these symptoms will dissipate within 48 hours; however, if your pet is experiencing adverse reactions, please complete the following steps:

  • Stop applying the medication
  • Wash your dog with a detergent based soap (Dawn or Palmolive dish detergents work best). Do not scrub the affected area, as this may cause more skin irritation. Please note: This process is applicable for both dogs and cats.
  • Call your veterinarian
  • Call Bayer Emergency Support Line at 1-800-422-9874. Let Bayer know your dog is having an adverse reaction to K9 Advantix by calling 1-800-422-9874. This line is staffed 24 hours a day, 7 days a week.

What happens if I miss giving a dose of K9 Advantix II?

If you miss a dose, apply the next dose as soon as possible and resume a monthly schedule.

What happens if I overdose my pet on K9 Advantix II?

Contact your veterinarian or veterinary emergency room.

What should I avoid while giving K9 Advantix II to my pet?

This product is for external use only on dogs and puppies 4 lbs or more and 7 weeks or older. Do not get this product in your dog's eyes or mouth. Do not use this product on animals other than dogs. In households with cats, separate the treated dog for about 24 hours. Due to their unique physiology and inability to metabolize certain compounds, this product must not be used on cats. If applied to a cat, or ingested by a cat which actively grooms a recently treated dog, this product may have serious harmful effects. If this occurs, contact your veterinarian immediately. It is important to apply this product no more than once a month and to use the correct strength for the weight of the dog. This product is harmful to humans if swallowed. Call a physician or poison control center for advice. Have the patient sip water. Do not induce vomiting unless advised to and the patient is conscious. This product can cause substantial but temporary eye injury. Do not get in eyes or on skin or clothing. Wash thoroughly with soap and water after handling and before eating, drinking, chewing gum, using tobacco or using the toilet. Remove and wash contaminated clothing before reuse..

What other drugs will affect K9 Advantix II?

If your pet is on medication, consult your veterinarian before using this or any other product.

K9 Advantix II Directions:

HOW TO OPEN

  1. Be sure the tube is at the bottom of the pouch.
  2. Using scissors, cut the pouch across the top and remove the tube.

HOW TO APPLY

  1. Use only on Dogs. DO NOT USE ON CATS or other animals.
  2. Do not apply to dogs weighing less than 4 lbs.
  3. Remove the applicator tube from the package. Use scissors to peel down foil.
  4. Hold the applicator tube in an upright position. Pull the cap off the tube.
  5. Turn the cap around and place the other end of the cap back on the tube.
  6. Your dog should be standing for easy application. Evenly apply the entire contents of the K9 Advantix II tube to two or three spots on the top of the back from the shoulder to the base of the tail. At each spot, part the hair until the skin is visible. Place the tip of the tube on the skin and gently squeeze to expel a portion of the solution on the skin. Do not apply an excessive amount of solution at any one spot that could cause some of the solution to run off the side of your dog. Do not get this product in your dog's eyes or allow your dog to ingest this product.
  7. Discard the empty tube as described in Storage and Disposal.
  8. In cases of severe pest infestations, retreatment is allowable earlier than four (4) weeks. Do not retreat more of often than once every seven (7) days. After pest control is attained, return to a monthly retreatment schedule.
Tip:

In households with cats, separate the treated dog for 24 hours until the product is thoroughly dry.

K9 Advantix II Dosage for Dogs:

Dogs/Puppies (7+ weeks of age, weighing 4+ lbs):
Weight Amount
1-3 lbs Do not use
4-10 lbs Apply contents of 1 applicator once a month (Green Box)
11-20 lbs Apply contents of 1 applicator once a month (Teal Box)
21-55 lbs Apply contents of 1 applicator once a month (Red Box)
Over 55 lbs Apply contents of 1 applicator once a month (Blue Box)
K9 Advantix II Dosage for Cats:
Cats
Do not use!
K9 Advantix II Dosage for Horses:
Horses
Do not use!

Storage:

Do not contaminate water, food or feed by storage or disposal.

Environmental Hazards:

This product is extremely toxic to aquatic organisms, including fish and invertebrates. Do not add directly to water. Do not contaminate water when disposing of product or packaging.

Pesticide Storage:

Store K9 Advantix II in a cool, dry place. Protect from freezing.

Pesticide Disposal and Container Handling:

Nonrefillable container.

If empty:

Do not reuse this container. Place in trash or offer for recycling, if available.

If partly filled:

Call your local solid waste agency or 1-800-422-9874 for disposal instructions. Never place unused product down any indoor or outdoor drain.

Do not refrigerate. Store in the original container only. Do not reu

K9 Advantix II Ingredients:

K9 Advantix II for Dogs 4-10 lbs (Small Dog - Green Box) (0.4 ml):
Active Ingredients (per applicator tube) % By Weight
Imidacloprid 8.80%
Permethrin* 44.0%
Pyriproxyfen 0.44%
Other Ingredients (not specified) 46.76%
*cis/trans ratio: Max 55% (+/-) cis and min 45% (+/-) trans
K9 Advantix II for Dogs 11-20 lbs (Medium Dog - Teal Box) (1.0 ml):
Active Ingredients (per applicator tube) % By Weight
Imidacloprid 8.80%
Permethrin* 44.0%
Pyriproxyfen 0.44%
Other Ingredients (not specified) 46.76%
*cis/trans ratio: Max 55% (+/-) cis and min 45% (+/-) trans
K9 Advantix II for Dogs 21-55 lbs (Large Dog - Red Box) (2.5 ml):
Active Ingredients (per applicator tube) % By Weight
Imidacloprid 8.80%
Permethrin* 44.0%
Pyriproxyfen 0.44%
Other Ingredients (not specified) 46.76%
*cis/trans ratio: Max 55% (+/-) cis and min 45% (+/-) trans
K9 Advantix II for Dogs over 55 lbs (Extra Large Dog - Blue Box) (4.0 ml):
Active Ingredients (per applicator tube) % By Weight
Imidacloprid 8.80%
Permethrin* 44.0%
Pyriproxyfen 0.44%
Other Ingredients (not specified) 46.76%
*cis/trans ratio: Max 55% (+/-) cis and min 45% (+/-) trans