4.4 out of 5 Customer Rating
Interceptor is rated 4.7 out of 5 by 604.
  • y_2021, m_1, d_25, h_17
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.13
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_6, tr_598
  • loc_en_US, sid_prod100142, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_1800petmeds
  • bvseo_sdk, dw_cartridge, 18.2.0, p_sdk_3.2.0
  • CLOUD, getAggregateRating, 11ms
  • reviews, product
1. We'll ask for your vet's info during checkout.
2. We verify your prescription and ship your order!
Close
Starts $57.13 $39.99
Most orders ship the same day
prod100142 product detail number 1.0
Interceptor

Interceptor

4.4 out of 5 Customer Rating
Interceptor is rated 4.7 out of 5 by 604.
  • y_2021, m_1, d_25, h_17
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.13
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_6, tr_598
  • loc_en_US, sid_prod100142, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_1800petmeds
  • bvseo_sdk, dw_cartridge, 18.2.0, p_sdk_3.2.0
  • CLOUD, getAggregateRating, 11ms
  • reviews, product
Save with Generic
Starts $37.49 $26.24
Shop Now
Starts $57.13 $39.99
Most orders ship the same day
Dog
Cat
Please select all product options.
Save with Generic
Starts $37.49 $26.24
Shop Now

Reviews

Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great thus far! Our dog Morison has been on this heart worm medication for 2 years now! It’s doing the job and keeping him healthy! We got him late in life as he is a rescue dog! He turned out to be a great pet and we love him dearly! Very sociable and affectionate! Morison is 99% border Collie according to his vet!
Date published: 2019-05-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Interceptor My dog been taking this interceptor for 8-9 yrs. It really works, heart worm free!
Date published: 2019-03-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy to administer It's hard to say exactly how well this is working since we've had no reason to have our dog checked since starting on it. The prime factor for choosing Interceptor was the ease of giving it to our dog. We have a 6 pound Chorkie who is the pickiest eater we've eve had. He will not take the chewable brand of heart worm meds at all and since the interceptor pills are small, I can give it to him easily.
Date published: 2019-02-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product We need to be able to protect our pets from heartworm, but Willow is a knucklehead and won't stop trying to lick the topical applications off until she throws up. Yuck. But the pill is great She wolfs it right down; I guess it tastes good, not that it is in her mouth long enough for her to know it.
Date published: 2018-12-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great solution Our 6 lb Chorkie is a very picky eater and he refused to eat the chewable heart worm medication. Our vet did not have pills but offered to authorize them if I found them on line. Pet Meds had the Interceptor pills which were perfect for giving to our Chorkie. He took the pill fairly easily and has had no bad side effects and I've had some peace of mind!
Date published: 2018-11-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Dogs think it’s a treat! My dogs have been taking this for quite a while, maybe a year or so, and they love it! Does the job and they think it’s a treat which we all love :)
Date published: 2018-11-01
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Seizure Switched from Heartgard Plus to Interceptor and my dog had a seizure back to Heartgard
Date published: 2018-10-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great I just started this for my puppy. She took it and had no issues. Looking forward to a healthy dog for her life.
Date published: 2018-10-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Lily doing great My Lily is doing great on Interceptor. She has been on it for 2 years now.
Date published: 2018-09-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Jackson is doing great on his interceptor meds. He has been on for years from pet med.
Date published: 2018-09-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from No gagging, vomiting or scratching. Our new vet switched us to Incepetor and like to keep my heartwork separated from flea control due to vomiting , gagging and her extreme allergies. She ate the pill with her regular food with zero reaction. Very pleased.
Date published: 2018-09-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great for my chihuahua! My precious heart worm medication was too big and I had to find different ways to administer it to my dog. Interceptor is so tiny, I was able to slide it in a tiny piece of meat. Within, a few minutes of opening the package, Bella had taken her pill. Thanks to Petmeds for working with me to find the right medication.
Date published: 2018-08-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good so far.... Just gave my dog her first pill... usually she just spits them out even if I coat it with cheese or whatever she likes... she's smart... eats the cheese of then spits out the pill... I then have to sort of force it down which can be traumatic. These pills obviously taste good as she will chew them up and ask for more... I just say... "next month" :)
Date published: 2018-08-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Reliable product Been using this generic alternative for a few years for all my dogs. No issues or side effects from product. I put it in cream cheese to make it palatable for them to swallow, other wise they spit it out
Date published: 2018-08-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My dog loves it My dog is pretty picky with her food, even human food, but she eats these like they’re a yummy treat. This site makes it easy to order and they ship fast too.
Date published: 2018-08-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Interceptor for heart worm I was so happy to see the interceptor are very small tablets .. my last hear worm medication was a large square that my small dog refused to take even in small pieces but this was easy to hide in something and gone in an instant:)
Date published: 2018-07-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Grest results This medicine works really well
Date published: 2018-07-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from great product. great product...our grandpuppy takes this no problem....thanks so much ..fast shipment when ordered. ...
Date published: 2018-07-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy to get dog to eat it We have tried several heart worm pills and one of my boxer would not take the pill. We would put it in all different foods or treats but still he would not take it. However, when Interceptor arrived , we put it inside a treat and he ate it right away. We couldn’t believe it and were so relieved. Interceptor is great!!
Date published: 2018-07-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Interceptor This is a very good product and Petmeds is a very reliable source for ur pets needs!!!
Date published: 2018-06-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Product I tried another heartworm preventative when I could not purchase Interceptor. The other product made Toby sick - he would vomit after taking it. I am so glad to be able to get Interceptor once again.
Date published: 2018-06-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Interceptor is great Interceptor is my top choice for heart worm medication for my dogs. They have had upset stomachs using other heart worm products. With Interceptor, they are always fine after giving.
Date published: 2018-05-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My dog loves Interceptor Before I rescued my dog, she was heartworm positive. The vet put her on Interceptor after she was cleared of heartworm. 2 years later, I wouldn't chose any other product. It has kept her strong, healthy, and heartworm negative.
Date published: 2018-05-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Essential Med In south GA we have mosquitos with their heartworm larvae threat all 12 months. Since 1993 I have kenneled 11 labs in my outside kennel and Interceptor has provided complete protection for my dogs. I even ordered it from Australia while it temporarly stopped sales in the US. The best field trial judging gift I ever received was several packs of Interceptor ! Use as directed and you will not let your dogs down with a case of heartworms plus you get the added protection from whipworms.
Date published: 2017-11-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love the Inteceptor! We live in the country and our dogs are all over the place! One is an Airedale Terrier and eats everything she kills. She constantly had worms so we switched to Interceptor and she has been worm free ever since!
Date published: 2017-10-03
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Bad Moved from the country, where my Lab was an outside dog to the city where he became an inside dog. Changed vets, took him in and he had round worms. The vet suggested Interceptor to prevent both heart and round worm. I changed him at age 6 to interceptor. He just turned 7 had his vet visit and now he tested positive for heart worm. Obviously Interceptor doesn't work!
Date published: 2017-09-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great I have four fur babies and they all have been on Interceptor their whole lives, except for the short time it was not available. Two are 15 yo. So no problems. This is a great product.
Date published: 2017-08-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Other brands made my dog sick, but this is great! My vet recommended another heartworm medicine that made my dog very ill - vomitting and lethargy. I was very concerned to try another brand, but my dog has had no problems with this Interceptor at all and he will even eat the pill on his own - it is flavored - without me having to hide it in food, which is crazy, because he is very leary of pills. The most important part is, it doesn't make him sick.
Date published: 2017-08-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very Pleased! I've used this product on all my dogs, since they were puppies. I've always been pleased with it, and would highly recommend it.
Date published: 2017-07-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from So much better than Trifexis I was hesitant to change my Australian Shepherd's meds from Trifexis to anything else considering the possibility of issues with reactions to meds whether or not he has the gene mutation was unknown. When we got Pirate in 2013, interceptor was not available in the market whatsoever so we started off with Trifexis. We always struggled with vomiting after he took it and tried different times of the day (with a meal, hour after, etc) to no avail. I didn't want to make him sick anymore and to be honest, he didn't suffer from fleas anyway even though we are in Florida... We treat our lawns for that. I decided to look online for alternatives and noticed interceptor was available again and the name sounded familiar from his paperwork when we got him. I gave it to him without any issue, no vomiting, no lethargy. I couldn't be happier for us and him. Thanks for coming back on the market, I am never going back!
Date published: 2017-06-20
  • y_2021, m_1, d_25, h_17
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.13
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_6, tr_598
  • loc_en_US, sid_prod100142, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_1800petmeds
  • bvseo_sdk, dw_cartridge, 18.2.0, p_sdk_3.2.0
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 6ms
  • reviews, product

Questions

My cavilier is 25# which one should I go with?

Asked by: Diane
Your furry baby should take the 11-25 pound size unless he/she tends to vary in weight and go over 25 pounds. It would be best to ask your vet which size he/she recommends as your vet knows your particular dog better than we do.
Answered by: SuzyCVT
Date published: 2019-08-21

I have tried everything to get my small dog take this. Can I cook it up in meatloaf

Asked by: Markus
Interceptor tablets should not be exposed to extreme hot or cold temperatures. You may hide the tablet in a small piece of cooked meatloaf or other palatable food.
Answered by: Lisa M
Date published: 2019-07-16

I don't understand how the same dose I would use on my 100lb dog, is the same dose I would use on my 15lb cat??

Asked by: Rjos
While cats do require a higher dosage than dogs per pound of body weight, a 15 pound cat would not take the same dose as a 100 pound dog, but rather would take the 26-50 pound dog size.
Answered by: SuzyCVT
Date published: 2020-07-31

I have 3 dogs and 1 I just rescued has tested positive for heartworms. Why can she take Advantage Multi but not Interceptor Plus? Thank you.

Asked by: Lisa
Thank you for your question. Though both medication are heartworm preventatives they are two different drugs with different active ingredients. Not all drugs are safe to give to dogs positive for heartworms.
Answered by: Crystal RPTechnician
Date published: 2019-02-01

My dog is currently on Interceptor. Interceptor isn't available on 1-800petmeds. Its on back order. Can I switch to Interceptor Plus or should I wait till Interceptor comes back into stock? I don't want to switch medicines if that isn't a healthy option.

Asked by: Jeff1987
Thank you for your question. It is fine to switch to Interceptor Plus in the interim unless otherwise advised by your veterinarian.
Answered by: Crystal RPTechnician
Date published: 2019-02-01

Interceptor for dogs weight 51-100lbs is out of stock. Is it on back order from your supplier and if so, when are they indicating it will be available again?

Asked by: becklen
Thank you for your question. The expected back to stock date on the Interceptor 51-100lbs is 9/5/2018.
Answered by: Crystal RPTechnician
Date published: 2019-02-01

What if your dog swallows the chew whole rather than chews it up. Is that still Ok?

Asked by: Jenswa
Thank you for your e-mail. medication is to be chewed. You may break the tablet into pieces and do whatever is necessary to get your dog to swallow it.
Answered by: Crystal RPTechnician
Date published: 2018-10-13

If I order a large dose of interceptor now for my four dogs when with the expiration date be. Also if the dogs are kept on the medicine year-round is it necessary to do a heartworm test every year

Asked by: Mimi
Thank you for your question. The expiration date varies depending on the size of Interceptor. Please call us at 1-800-738-6337 for an exact date. We recommend a yearly heartworm test as though rare , the medication is not always 100% effective.
Answered by: Crystal RPTechnician
Date published: 2018-10-13

What's the difference between interceptor and interceptor plus? Why does the plus have a lower star rating? Thanks, Philip

Asked by: Phil
Thank you for your question. Both products prevent heartworm disease, treat and control common intestinal parasites such as hookworms, roundworms and whipworms. However Interceptor Plus provides additional protection as it treats and controls tapeworms as well. The star rating is based on real customer reviews of the product.
Answered by: Crystal RPTechnician
Date published: 2018-12-11

Can I use Inceptor Plus with a Soresto collar? My puppy is about 16 weeks old. 

Asked by: Bliz18
Thank you for your question. Seresto may be used concurrently with Interceptor.
Answered by: Crystal RPTechnician
Date published: 2018-06-12

I have a border collie and the last time I bought Interceptor from the vet, they said I needed Interceptor #53. They also said that the fact he has some white coloring in his feet affected the med type. He weighs about 55 lbs. Does that make sense? Thanks

Asked by: Andrea
Thank you for your question. The appropriate dose for a 55lbs dog would be Interceptor White 51-100lbs. If you have any additional questions we recommend you consult with your DVM.
Answered by: Crystal RPTechnician
Date published: 2018-06-12

My 12 year old poodle/mix is taking Tri-Heart Plus and Interceptor Plus. Seems to me they both are the same preventative. Should they both be taken monthly? Is there much of a difference between Interceptor and the Plus version?

Asked by: Beatie
Thank you for your question. Tri-Heart Plus and Interceptor Plus are both heartworm preventatives. Tri-Heart Plus is a beef flavored chewable tablet that also controls roundworms and hookworms. Interceptor Plus is a chickon flavored chewable tablet that also treats and controls common intestinal parasites including roundworms, hookworms, whipworms and tapeworms. It is not necessary to use both medications unless advised to do so by your veterinarian.
Answered by: Crystal RPTechnician
Date published: 2018-06-07

My dog is 106 pounds. Would you recommend the 51-100 pound dose or 2 doses? Thank you!! 

Asked by: Lavred
Your furry baby will need the 51-100 lbs dosage and the 2-10 lbs dosage given together to be protected.
Answered by: Cherley Petmeds Pro
Date published: 2018-05-22

Quincy (cat) is doing great with the interceptor medication. We ordered it online as our vet no longer stocks it, because she said it is no longer manufactured. Will we be able to get this medication long-term? If not, is there an oral alternative?

Asked by: Bobm77
Yes, we will have this available long term.
Answered by: Cherley Petmeds Pro
Date published: 2018-05-15

Who makes Interceptor?

Asked by: Valentine
Actually, Elanco recently purchased Novartis so recently made product will have Elanco's name on it, not Novartis.
Answered by: SuzyCVT
Date published: 2018-04-28

My dog weighs right around 50 lbs, some days a little more and some a little less. Which Interceptor should I get for her? Is it better to give her a little higher of a dosage than she might need, or a little lower dosage?

Asked by: Scott
Thank you for your question. Your pet should be weighed by your veterinarian before the medication is prescribed. The dose is determined by your pets weight. A 50lb dog would get the 26-50lbs dose and a dog over 51lbs and over would get the 51-100lb dose.
Answered by: Crystal RPTechnician
Date published: 2019-05-08

Do I need a prescription

Asked by: Mike
Thank you for your question. Interceptor requires a prescription from your veterinarian.
Answered by: Crystal RPTechnician
Date published: 2018-03-31

What is difference between Intercept and Intercept Plus?

Asked by: Sandy
Interceptor Flavor Tabs are a palatable once-a-month tablet that prevents heartworm disease, controls adult hookworms, and removes and controls adult roundworms and whipworm infections in dogs. Interceptor Plus has the added ingredient praziquantel which provides tapeworm protection.
Answered by: Lisa M
Date published: 2018-03-11

does it kill larvae of roundworm and whipworm

Asked by: mj18
Interceptor Flavor Tabs are a palatable once-a-month tablet that prevents heartworm disease, controls adult hookworms, and removes and controls adult roundworms and whipworm infections in dogs. Interceptor for cats is the only oral monthly preventative that protects against heartworms and removes adult roundworms and adult hookworms.
Answered by: Lisa M
Date published: 2018-01-27

Can I use interceptor with Bayer quad dewormer?

Asked by: Tina1969
Thank you for your question. It is not recommended to use two dewormers at the same time. Interceptor works to treat hookworm, roundworm, and whipworm. Bayer Quad works to prevent hookworm, roundworm, whipworm, and tapeworm. Your veterinarian should test your pet to determine which worms they are infected with and help you choose the best medication to treat your pet.
Answered by: Adriane
Date published: 2017-12-13

Does this cover Whip Worms??? Thanks.

Asked by: HRedick
Yes, Interceptor Flavor Tabs are a palatable once-a-month tablet that prevents heartworm disease, controls adult hookworms, and removes and controls adult roundworm and whipworm infections in dogs.
Answered by: Lisa M
Date published: 2017-11-11

I can/t find expiration dates of Interceptor online. the phone contact says "usually in one year to 16 months". In the past, not necessarily with PetMeds, I've had some problems with 6 month expiration dates. Ideas on how to find out???

Asked by: tennbarb
The expiration date varies depending on the size of Interceptor. Please call us at 1-800-738-6337 for an exact date.
Answered by: Lisa M
Date published: 2018-02-06

What is the difference between interceptor and interceptor plus? My vet was prescribing interceptor plus but I don't see this medication on here.

Asked by: Britt
Thank you for your question. We offer both the Interceptor and Interceptor Plus. Both products offer the same protection however Interceptor Plus also prevents Tapeworm while Interceptor does not. Also Interceptor is a beef flavored flavored chewable tablet. Interceptor Plus is a chicken flavored chewable tablet, , which is an added benefit for dogs suffering from beef allergies. Here is the link to the Interceptor Plus as you mentioned you could not find the product https://www.1800petmeds.com/Interceptor+Plus-prod11710.html.
Answered by: Crystal RPTechnician
Date published: 2018-05-06

My husband accidentally gave the second dose of Interceptor to our dog 2 days after I gave the first one. Would the dog have been overdosed already by just this one time incident? If so, what would be the symptoms of overdose?

Asked by: spicyfood
Thank you for your question. If you believe your pet has overdosed contact your veterinarian immediately. Side effects of Interceptor are rare although some animals may exhibit depression, drowsiness, vomiting, loss of appetite, diarrhea, hyper salivation, seizures and weakness. If these or other symptoms develop contact your veterinarian.
Answered by: Crystal RPTechnician
Date published: 2017-10-22

Does my dog really need heart worm pill 

Asked by: Queenb
It is important to protect your pet from heartworm disease which can be potentially life threatening. Fortunately, preventing heartworms is as easy as giving your pet a monthly preventative. Consult your veterinarian for the appropriate choice of preventative for your pet.
Answered by: Lisa M
Date published: 2017-09-26

it wont let me order

Asked by: mad amx
We are very sorry you were unable to complete your order online. Please give us a call at 1-800-738-6337 and we will be happy to help.
Answered by: Crystal RPTechnician
Date published: 2017-09-14

Does this medicine also help with fleas and or ticks?

Asked by: Momoney27
No. The Interceptor prevents heartworm disease, controls adult hookworms, and removes and controls adult roundworms and whipworm infections only. Interceptor is not effective against fleas and ticks. Please see the link below to view the Trifexis which kills fleas and prevents infestations, protects against heartworms, and treats and controls adult hookworm, roundworm, and whipworm infections. Here is the link: https://www.1800petmeds.com/Trifexis-prod11190.html?Ntt=trifexis
Answered by: Cherley Petmeds Pro
Date published: 2017-11-09

Is there a heart worm meds that don't need vet's prescription ?

Asked by: Eighty
No, all heartworm preventatives require a veterinarian's prescription.
Answered by: Lisa M
Date published: 2018-01-06

Do we need to send a prescription for heart worm medication?

Asked by: NJ and Mark
If you provide your veterinarian's information when you place your order, PetMeds will contact them for prescription approval (or denial), thus eliminating the need for an actual written prescription.
Answered by: SuzyCVT
Date published: 2017-08-15

Unfortunately my Doxie has tapeworms,I mean probably 8 in long tape worms are coming out,will this product get rid of these tapeworms?

Asked by: Newt
Using Interceptor Plus will give you the additional treatment for tapeworms.
Answered by: SuzyCVT
Date published: 2017-08-15
  • y_2021, m_1, d_25, h_17CST
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvqa, vn_bulk_3.0.13
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasquestionsanswers, tq_400
  • loc_en_US, sid_prod100142, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=LAST_APPROVED_ANSWER_SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_1800petmeds
  • bvseo_sdk, dw_cartridge, 18.2.0, p_sdk_3.2.0
  • CLOUD, getContent, 86ms
  • questions, product

What is Interceptor (milbemycin oxime)?

Interceptor Flavor Tabs are a palatable once-a-month tablet that prevents heartworm disease, controls adult hookworms, and removes and controls adult roundworms and whipworm infections in dogs. Interceptor for cats is the only oral monthly preventative that protects against heartworms and removes adult roundworms and adult hookworms. Interceptor requires a prescription from your veterinarian.

For:

Dogs (4 weeks of age and weighing over 2 lbs), Cats (6 weeks of age and weighing over 1.5 lbs)

Benefits:

  • Given once a month
  • Easy to administer
  • Broad spectrum activity

How does Interceptor work?

Interceptor Flavor Tabs eliminate the tissue stage of heartworm larvae and the adult stage of hookworm, roundworm, and in dogs, whipworm infestations. The anthelmintic activity (destroying parasitic worms) of the active ingredient milbemycin oxime is believed to be a result of interfering with the invertebrates' neurotransmission.

Cautions:

Side effects of Interceptor are rare, but some animals may show signs of depression, drowsiness, vomiting, loss of appetite, diarrhea, hypersalivation, seizures, and weakness. If these or other symptoms develop, contact your veterinarian. Since humans can contract hookworm and roundworm from animals, you should maintain good personal hygiene. To prevent reinfection, cleaning up stool daily is recommended. Don't give your pet Interceptor if you are already administering another heartworm preventative.

Brand Name:

Interceptor (Elanco Animal Health)

Generic Name:

Milbemycin Oxime (mil-beh-my-sin ox-eem)

What is the most important information I should know about Interceptor?

Interceptor is a prescription medication FDA approved for use in dogs and cats. Interceptor is available as artificial beef (derived from pork and soy protein) flavored chewable tablets. The usual dose of Interceptor for dogs 2 to 10 pounds is 2.3mg (brown box), 11 to 25 pounds is 5.75mg (green box), 26 to 50 pounds is 11.5mg (yellow box) and 51 to 100 pounds is 23mg (white box) given once a month year round. The usual dose of Interceptor for cats 1.5 to 6 pounds is 5.75mg (green box), 6.1 to 12 pounds is 11.5mg (yellow box) and 12.1 to 25 lbs is 23mg (white box) given once a month year round. Safety in heartworm-positive cats hasn't been established.

What should I discuss with my veterinarian before giving Interceptor to my pet?

Tell your veterinarian if your pet has ever had an allergic reaction to Interceptor or milbemycin.

How should Interceptor be given?

Give Interceptor exactly as directed by the veterinarian. If you do not understand the directions ask the pharmacist or veterinarian to explain them to you. Heartworm testing should be performed prior to the start of prevention therapy. If your pet is off Interceptor for 6 months or less, start the medication and test after 6 months since microfilaria, that take 6 months to mature, will result in a positive test result. Store Interceptor at room temperature. Do not remove the tablet from its wrapper until ready to give the medicine. Keep this medication away from children and pets. Interceptor is safe for pregnant or lactating dogs at a normal dose level. Safety in breeding, pregnant and lactating queens and breeding toms hasn't been established.

What are the possible side effects of Interceptor?

Side effects of Interceptor are rare although some animals may exhibit depression, drowsiness, vomiting, loss of appetite, diarrhea, hypersalivation, seizures and weakness. If these or other symptoms develop contact your veterinarian.

What happens if I miss giving a dose of Interceptor?

Give the missed dose as soon as you remember. Do not give a double dose of the medication.

What happens if I overdose my pet on Interceptor?

Contact your veterinarian immediately.

What should I avoid while giving Interceptor to my pet?

Because humans can contract hookworm and roundworm from animals, it is important to maintain good personal hygiene. It is also important to eliminate fleas on your pet and in the household. To prevent reinfection, daily cleanup of stools is recommended.

What other drugs will affect Interceptor?

Do not give Interceptor to your pet if your pet is already taking an alternate heartworm medication.

Interceptor Directions:

  • Give Interceptor Flavor Tabs once a month on the same day of each month year round.
  • Interceptor Flavor Tabs can be given to dogs and cats.
  • Watch pet closely following dosing to be sure the entire dose has been swallowed. If it is not completely swallowed, give one more full recommended dose as soon as possible.
Tip:

Do not remove from its wrapper until ready to give to pet.

Interceptor Dosage for Dogs/Puppies: (4 weeks of age or older)
WeightDosage
2-10 lbsGive 1 Flavor Tab every month (Brown Box)
11-25 lbsGive 1 Flavor Tab every month (Green Box)
26-50 lbsGive 1 Flavor Tab every month (Yellow Box)
51-100 lbsGive 1 Flavor Tab every month (White Box)
Over 100 lbsGive combination of Flavor Tabs based on weight
Interceptor Dosage for Cats/Kittens: (6 weeks of age or older)
WeightDosage
1.5-6 lbsGive 1 Flavor Tab every month (Green Box)
6.1-12 lbsGive 1 Flavor Tab every month (Yellow Box)
12.1-25 lbsGive 1 Flavor Tab every month (White Box)
Over 25 lbsGive combination of Flavor Tabs based on weight
Interceptor Dosage for Horses:
Horses
Do not use!
Storage:

Should be stored at room temperature between 59° and 77° F.

Interceptor Ingredients:

Interceptor Brown (Dogs 2-10 lbs)
Active Ingredients (per flavor tab)Amount
Milbemycin Oxime2.3 mg
Interceptor Green (Dogs 11-25 lbs, Cats 1.5-6 lbs)
Active Ingredients (per flavor tab)Amount
Milbemycin Oxime5.75 mg
Interceptor Yellow (Dogs 26-50 lbs, Cats 6.1-12 lbs)
Active Ingredients (per flavor tab)Amount
Milbemycin Oxime11.5 mg
Interceptor White (Dogs 51-100 lbs, Cats 12.1-25 lbs):
Active Ingredients (per flavor tab)Amount
Milbemycin Oxime23 mg

What is Interceptor (milbemycin oxime)?

Interceptor Flavor Tabs are a palatable once-a-month tablet that prevents heartworm disease, controls adult hookworms, and removes and controls adult roundworms and whipworm infections in dogs. Interceptor for cats is the only oral monthly preventative that protects against heartworms and removes adult roundworms and adult hookworms. Interceptor requires a prescription from your veterinarian.

For:

Dogs (4 weeks of age and weighing over 2 lbs), Cats (6 weeks of age and weighing over 1.5 lbs)

Benefits:

  • Given once a month
  • Easy to administer
  • Broad spectrum activity

How does Interceptor work?

Interceptor Flavor Tabs eliminate the tissue stage of heartworm larvae and the adult stage of hookworm, roundworm, and in dogs, whipworm infestations. The anthelmintic activity (destroying parasitic worms) of the active ingredient milbemycin oxime is believed to be a result of interfering with the invertebrates' neurotransmission.

Cautions:

Side effects of Interceptor are rare, but some animals may show signs of depression, drowsiness, vomiting, loss of appetite, diarrhea, hypersalivation, seizures, and weakness. If these or other symptoms develop, contact your veterinarian. Since humans can contract hookworm and roundworm from animals, you should maintain good personal hygiene. To prevent reinfection, cleaning up stool daily is recommended. Don't give your pet Interceptor if you are already administering another heartworm preventative.

Brand Name:

Interceptor (Elanco Animal Health)

Generic Name:

Milbemycin Oxime (mil-beh-my-sin ox-eem)

What is the most important information I should know about Interceptor?

Interceptor is a prescription medication FDA approved for use in dogs and cats. Interceptor is available as artificial beef (derived from pork and soy protein) flavored chewable tablets. The usual dose of Interceptor for dogs 2 to 10 pounds is 2.3mg (brown box), 11 to 25 pounds is 5.75mg (green box), 26 to 50 pounds is 11.5mg (yellow box) and 51 to 100 pounds is 23mg (white box) given once a month year round. The usual dose of Interceptor for cats 1.5 to 6 pounds is 5.75mg (green box), 6.1 to 12 pounds is 11.5mg (yellow box) and 12.1 to 25 lbs is 23mg (white box) given once a month year round. Safety in heartworm-positive cats hasn't been established.

What should I discuss with my veterinarian before giving Interceptor to my pet?

Tell your veterinarian if your pet has ever had an allergic reaction to Interceptor or milbemycin.

How should Interceptor be given?

Give Interceptor exactly as directed by the veterinarian. If you do not understand the directions ask the pharmacist or veterinarian to explain them to you. Heartworm testing should be performed prior to the start of prevention therapy. If your pet is off Interceptor for 6 months or less, start the medication and test after 6 months since microfilaria, that take 6 months to mature, will result in a positive test result. Store Interceptor at room temperature. Do not remove the tablet from its wrapper until ready to give the medicine. Keep this medication away from children and pets. Interceptor is safe for pregnant or lactating dogs at a normal dose level. Safety in breeding, pregnant and lactating queens and breeding toms hasn't been established.

What are the possible side effects of Interceptor?

Side effects of Interceptor are rare although some animals may exhibit depression, drowsiness, vomiting, loss of appetite, diarrhea, hypersalivation, seizures and weakness. If these or other symptoms develop contact your veterinarian.

What happens if I miss giving a dose of Interceptor?

Give the missed dose as soon as you remember. Do not give a double dose of the medication.

What happens if I overdose my pet on Interceptor?

Contact your veterinarian immediately.

What should I avoid while giving Interceptor to my pet?

Because humans can contract hookworm and roundworm from animals, it is important to maintain good personal hygiene. It is also important to eliminate fleas on your pet and in the household. To prevent reinfection, daily cleanup of stools is recommended.

What other drugs will affect Interceptor?

Do not give Interceptor to your pet if your pet is already taking an alternate heartworm medication.

Interceptor Directions:

  • Give Interceptor Flavor Tabs once a month on the same day of each month year round.
  • Interceptor Flavor Tabs can be given to dogs and cats.
  • Watch pet closely following dosing to be sure the entire dose has been swallowed. If it is not completely swallowed, give one more full recommended dose as soon as possible.
Tip:

Do not remove from its wrapper until ready to give to pet.

Interceptor Dosage for Dogs/Puppies: (4 weeks of age or older)
WeightDosage
2-10 lbsGive 1 Flavor Tab every month (Brown Box)
11-25 lbsGive 1 Flavor Tab every month (Green Box)
26-50 lbsGive 1 Flavor Tab every month (Yellow Box)
51-100 lbsGive 1 Flavor Tab every month (White Box)
Over 100 lbsGive combination of Flavor Tabs based on weight
Interceptor Dosage for Cats/Kittens: (6 weeks of age or older)
WeightDosage
1.5-6 lbsGive 1 Flavor Tab every month (Green Box)
6.1-12 lbsGive 1 Flavor Tab every month (Yellow Box)
12.1-25 lbsGive 1 Flavor Tab every month (White Box)
Over 25 lbsGive combination of Flavor Tabs based on weight
Interceptor Dosage for Horses:
Horses
Do not use!
Storage:

Should be stored at room temperature between 59° and 77° F.

Interceptor Ingredients:

Interceptor Brown (Dogs 2-10 lbs)
Active Ingredients (per flavor tab)Amount
Milbemycin Oxime2.3 mg
Interceptor Green (Dogs 11-25 lbs, Cats 1.5-6 lbs)
Active Ingredients (per flavor tab)Amount
Milbemycin Oxime5.75 mg
Interceptor Yellow (Dogs 26-50 lbs, Cats 6.1-12 lbs)
Active Ingredients (per flavor tab)Amount
Milbemycin Oxime11.5 mg
Interceptor White (Dogs 51-100 lbs, Cats 12.1-25 lbs):
Active Ingredients (per flavor tab)Amount
Milbemycin Oxime23 mg