Skip to Main Content ›
FREE Shipping on orders over $49
15% OFFCoupon Code:
SAVE15
100% Satisfaction Guaranteed
 15% OFF w/code
SAVE15
FREE Shipping $49+
100% Satisfaction Guaranteed
My Account
Errors:

Interceptor

Rx Info
1. We'll ask for your vet's info during checkout.
2. We verify your prescription and ship your order!
Close
Starts $44.99 $32.29 
Ships in one business day or less
1
Select Pet's Weight:
Dog
02-10 lbs
11-25 lbs
26-50 lbs
51-100 lbs
Cat
02-06 lbs
06-12 lbs
12-25 lbs
2
Select a Supply:
6 pack
$44.99
$37.99
$32.29
Price w/coupon SAVE15
12 pack
$84.99
$71.98
$61.18
Price w/coupon SAVE15
Free Shipping
Save $3 over 6 pk
Starts $44.99 $32.29 
Ships in one business day or less
Please select all product options.
3
Select a Quantity:
Quantity
Please select all product options.
Product Info
How to Use
Ingredients
Customer Reviews
Q&A
Product Info

What is Interceptor?

Interceptor Flavor Tabs are a palatable once-a-month tablet that prevents heartworm disease, controls adult hookworms, and removes and controls adult roundworms and whipworm infections in dogs. Interceptor for cats is the only oral monthly preventative that protects against heartworms and removes adult roundworms and adult hookworms. Interceptor requires a prescription from your veterinarian.

For:

Dogs (4 weeks of age and weighing over 2 lbs), Cats (6 weeks of age and weighing over 1.5 lbs)

Benefits:

  • Given once a month
  • Easy to administer
  • Broad spectrum activity

How does Interceptor work?

Interceptor Flavor Tabs eliminate the tissue stage of heartworm larvae and the adult stage of hookworm, roundworm, and in dogs, whipworm infestations. The anthelmintic activity (destroying parasitic worms) of the active ingredient milbemycin oxime is believed to be a result of interfering with the invertebrates' neurotransmission.

Cautions:

Side effects of Interceptor are rare, but some animals may show signs of depression, drowsiness, vomiting, loss of appetite, diarrhea, hypersalivation, seizures, and weakness. If these or other symptoms develop, contact your veterinarian. Since humans can contract hookworm and roundworm from animals, you should maintain good personal hygiene. To prevent reinfection, cleaning up stool daily is recommended. Don't give your pet Interceptor if you are already administering another heartworm preventative.

Brand Name:

Interceptor (Elanco Animal Health)

Generic Name:

Milbemycin Oxime (mil-beh-my-sin ox-eem)

What is the most important information I should know about Interceptor?

Interceptor is a prescription medication FDA approved for use in dogs and cats. Interceptor is available as artificial beef (derived from pork and soy protein) flavored chewable tablets. The usual dose of Interceptor for dogs 2 to 10 pounds is 2.3mg (brown box), 11 to 25 pounds is 5.75mg (green box), 26 to 50 pounds is 11.5mg (yellow box) and 51 to 100 pounds is 23mg (white box) given once a month year round. The usual dose of Interceptor for cats 1.5 to 6 pounds is 5.75mg (green box), 6.1 to 12 pounds is 11.5mg (yellow box) and 12.1 to 25 lbs is 23mg (white box) given once a month year round.

What should I discuss with my veterinarian before giving Interceptor to my pet?

Tell your veterinarian if your pet has ever had an allergic reaction to Interceptor or milbemycin.

How should Interceptor be given?

Give Interceptor exactly as directed by the veterinarian. If you do not understand the directions ask the pharmacist or veterinarian to explain them to you. Heartworm testing should be performed prior to the start of prevention therapy. If your pet is off Interceptor for 6 months or less, start the medication and test after 6 months since microfilaria, that take 6 months to mature, will result in a positive test result. Store Interceptor at room temperature. Do not remove the tablet from its wrapper until ready to give the medicine. Keep this medication away from children and pets. Interceptor is safe for pregnant or lactating pets at a normal dose level.

What are the possible side effects of Interceptor?

Side effects of Interceptor are rare although some animals may exhibit depression, drowsiness, vomiting, loss of appetite, diarrhea, hypersalivation, seizures and weakness. If these or other symptoms develop contact your veterinarian.

What happens if I miss giving a dose of Interceptor?

Give the missed dose as soon as you remember. Do not give a double dose of the medication.

What happens if I overdose my pet on Interceptor?

Contact your veterinarian immediately.

What should I avoid while giving Interceptor to my pet?

Because humans can contract hookworm and roundworm from animals, it is important to maintain good personal hygiene. It is also important to eliminate fleas on your pet and in the household. To prevent reinfection, daily cleanup of stools is recommended.

What other drugs will affect Interceptor?

While Interceptor is safe to use in dogs at risk for MDRI-allele mutation (Australian Shepherds, Collies, Shelties, etc.), unless tested normal, caution is advised if your pet is also being given amiodarone (Cordarone), azole antifungals such as ketoconazole, carvedilol (Coreg), cyclosporine (Atopica), diltiazem (Cardizem), erythromycin (Ery-Tabs) or clarithromycin (Biaxin), quinidine, spironolactone (Aldactone), tamoxifen, and verapamil (Calan). Do not give Interceptor to your pet if your pet is already taking an alternate heartworm medication.

How to Use
Directions:
  • Give Interceptor Flavor Tabs once a month on the same day of each month year round.
  • Interceptor Flavor Tabs can be given to dogs and cats.
  • Watch pet closely following dosing to be sure the entire dose has been swallowed. If it is not completely swallowed, give one more full recommended dose as soon as possible.
Tip:

Do not remove from its wrapper until ready to give to pet.

Dosage:
Dogs/Puppies: (4 weeks of age or older)
Weight
Dosage
2-10 lbs
Give 1 Flavor Tab every month (Brown Box)
11-25 lbs
Give 1 Flavor Tab every month (Green Box)
26-50 lbs
Give 1 Flavor Tab every month (Yellow Box)
51-100 lbs
Give 1 Flavor Tab every month (White Box)
Over 100 lbs
Give combination of Flavor Tabs based on weight
Cats/Kittens: (6 weeks of age or older)
Weight
Dosage
1.5-6 lbs
Give 1 Flavor Tab every month (Green Box)
6.1-12 lbs
Give 1 Flavor Tab every month (Yellow Box)
12.1-25 lbs
Give 1 Flavor Tab every month (White Box)
Over 25 lbs
Give combination of Flavor Tabs based on weight
Horses:
Do not use!
Storage:

Should be stored at room temperature between 59° and 77° F.

Ingredients
Interceptor Brown (Dogs 2-10 lbs):
Active Ingredients (per flavor tab)
Amount
Milbemycin Oxime
2.3 mg
Interceptor Green (Dogs 11-25 lbs, Cats 1.5-6 lbs):
Active Ingredients (per flavor tab)
Amount
Milbemycin Oxime
5.75 mg
Interceptor Yellow (Dogs 26-50 lbs, Cats 6.1-12 lbs):
Active Ingredients (per flavor tab)
Amount
Milbemycin Oxime
11.5 mg
Interceptor White (Dogs 51-100 lbs, Cats 12.1-25 lbs):
Active Ingredients (per flavor tab)
Amount
Milbemycin Oxime
23 mg
Customer Reviews
Interceptor is rated 4.7 out of 5 by 572.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from NO SIDE EFFECTS Interceptor was recommended to me by Susanna's breeder. This is the 3rd summer I've been giving it to Susanna & she has never had a problem......no side effects, etc.
Date published: 2017-05-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works well for both my dogs Interceptor does a good job of keeping both my dogs free of heartworm and other parasites. They always get a clean bill of health at the vet. Good value at 1-800-Petmeds.
Date published: 2017-05-06
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good product This is a good product and our dog has no ill effects from its use. It's easy to administer and it's more like a treat than a medicine. The only thing that keeps it from 5 stars is the price.
Date published: 2017-05-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Product!!! Use on both my Maltese and very pleased!!!
Date published: 2017-05-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great service We love 1800petmeds, fast delivery and very good customer service.
Date published: 2017-05-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I got this for my 3 dogs never had a problem they are doing great would highly recommend this! When I first got my pup he had whip worms would not clear up my vet put him on this and it killed them instantly !
Date published: 2017-05-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from So glad to find Petmeds Nipsey has been taking this for two years now and it works great
Date published: 2017-04-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My dog is been using this product for all most 2 years think the product is very
Date published: 2017-04-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this product. I get this from my vet, but could not use this same product from permed because it does not come in single pack. My vet will not ok the but because my pup is still growing and he may out grow this 6 pack before it runout.
Date published: 2017-04-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from IT WORKS WITHOUT SIDE EFFECTS! I HAVE BEEN USING INSEPTER FOR MANY YEARS UNTIL IT WENT OFF THE MARKET FOR A WHILE. NOW THAT IT IS NOW AVALIBLE I FEEL MY DOGS ARE SAFER! AND I DO RECOMEND IT TO ANYONE WHO WILL LISTEN.
Date published: 2017-04-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy to give. These pills are small and easy to give...thats what I was looking for.
Date published: 2017-04-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great overall product We use this on our Labrador-mix and American Bulldog and have never had an issue with fleas or ticks on them or or us. We also have not had problems with mosquitos or biting flies bothering them.
Date published: 2017-03-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Product My little dog just loves them.
Date published: 2017-02-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Life saver for my Greyhound! My vet recommended Interceptor as I was convinced my sweet Greyhound became ill every month when I gave her Heart Guard. She would have an upset stomach and diarrhea for days after receiving it. My vet explained I wasn't crazy, some dogs were indeed allergic to the main ingredient in Heart Guard but still need protected from heart worms so suggested Interceptor as it did not possess the ingredient making my dog ill. He was right! Six months now on Interceptor and she happily takes it burried in a piece of cheese (it is a hard chew instead of a soft chew like Heart Guard), and remains ill/symptom free. Wonderful product for a dog with allergies to Heart Guard!!
Date published: 2017-02-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very happy !!! I'm very happy with this product. Other ones were suggested but not has good as interceptor!
Date published: 2017-01-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Does so much good Our vet recommended this product to get rid of the worms our dog gets, and also to protect her from heart worms. We live in an area where the mosquitos are healthy and abundant. Protecting our littler girl from heart worms is very important to us.
Date published: 2017-01-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Product. I love this product. It works great with no side effects. My dogs love it too.
Date published: 2016-12-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good results Scarlett was started on this product this past summer. Now that we live in Florida in the winter she especially needs it.
Date published: 2016-12-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Interceptor is the only product I will use!~ The main reason why i love Interceptor is b/c it covers the Whip worm, which most products don't.. Since my babies have been on this stuff for over 9 years this is teh only product I will continue you to use.
Date published: 2016-11-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from So glad it's back and for dog and cat! So happy to see Interceptor back and use for dog, as well as cat! I was concerned I wouldn't be successful getting our cat to take a pill, but, no problem, he gulped this one down in a flash! Both our dog (Golden Retriever) and our cat had gotten sick and lethargic from other brands. Also very pleased with the ease in purchasing our pet meds here with super fast service and shipping!
Date published: 2016-11-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from It Really Works! I have a 6 month old black lab. She recently became infected with whipworms. The heart worm preventative that she was taking was not helping her at all, so the vet prescribed us Interceptor to help fight the whipworms. With in 2 weeks I noticed a difference in her fecal samples I brought to the vet. I recommend Interceptor to anyone who wants complete protection for the dogs from any kind of worms.
Date published: 2016-10-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very happy I was paying a fortune for Trifexis when Penny did not need flea or parasite protection. As an Amish Aussie, she cannot take Heartgard due to the Ivermectin in it so I was thrilled when Interceptor was once again available. Penny is doing very well and takes her meds without any difficulty.
Date published: 2016-10-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from So glad they went back to the original I was so happy to get notified last year that the flea protection was not in this anymore. My dog already had something for fleas and I didn't want to double dose her. She doesn't like pills so this small pill is easier to make her take.
Date published: 2016-08-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I love this product. It works great with no side effects. My dogs love it too.
Date published: 2016-08-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product First, the product apparently tastes great because my dog eats it's whole by itself! I don't have to hide it in cheese or anything!! Second, my dog has a super super sensitive stomach and this gave him no problems at all :) I've already reccomended it to some friends!
Date published: 2016-06-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love it! My puppy has used this medication for two months! Very easily to give, chews it all up and then goes about his day! No negative side effects & im sure he thinks he is getting a treat, great way to give medicine !
Date published: 2016-06-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Happy to use this product I give this to my Australian shepherd puppy. I do not know if she has the MDR1 gene that causes sensitivity to ivermectin which is in most heartworm meds, but why take the chance? She has had no side effects. I also like this because I prefer to give topical flea medicine and do not like the idea of combo products.
Date published: 2016-06-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Order process went through quick in a professional way.
Date published: 2016-06-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Effective and Easily Tolerated I've given my dogs Interceptor for years. It's gentle and effective. My late dog, Benjamin, had several allergies and sensitivities to different foods and medications, but he could take Interceptor without any ill effects at all. My current dog, Bodhi, takes it with no problem. He loves the taste of the pills and actually gets excited when he sees me open the box.
Date published: 2016-05-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good results I like to keep Halo in as good a shape as I possibly can and Interceptor seems to be helping me to achieve that goal. I've been using it for almost a year now and have seen no adverse reactions to this med.
Date published: 2016-04-09
  • y_2018, m_1, d_11, h_9
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.3
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_5, tr_567
  • loc_en_US, sid_prod100142, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_1800petmeds
Q&A
Interceptor is rated 4.7 out of 5 by 572.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from NO SIDE EFFECTS Interceptor was recommended to me by Susanna's breeder. This is the 3rd summer I've been giving it to Susanna & she has never had a problem......no side effects, etc.
Date published: 2017-05-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works well for both my dogs Interceptor does a good job of keeping both my dogs free of heartworm and other parasites. They always get a clean bill of health at the vet. Good value at 1-800-Petmeds.
Date published: 2017-05-06
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good product This is a good product and our dog has no ill effects from its use. It's easy to administer and it's more like a treat than a medicine. The only thing that keeps it from 5 stars is the price.
Date published: 2017-05-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Product!!! Use on both my Maltese and very pleased!!!
Date published: 2017-05-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great service We love 1800petmeds, fast delivery and very good customer service.
Date published: 2017-05-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I got this for my 3 dogs never had a problem they are doing great would highly recommend this! When I first got my pup he had whip worms would not clear up my vet put him on this and it killed them instantly !
Date published: 2017-05-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from So glad to find Petmeds Nipsey has been taking this for two years now and it works great
Date published: 2017-04-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My dog is been using this product for all most 2 years think the product is very
Date published: 2017-04-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this product. I get this from my vet, but could not use this same product from permed because it does not come in single pack. My vet will not ok the but because my pup is still growing and he may out grow this 6 pack before it runout.
Date published: 2017-04-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from IT WORKS WITHOUT SIDE EFFECTS! I HAVE BEEN USING INSEPTER FOR MANY YEARS UNTIL IT WENT OFF THE MARKET FOR A WHILE. NOW THAT IT IS NOW AVALIBLE I FEEL MY DOGS ARE SAFER! AND I DO RECOMEND IT TO ANYONE WHO WILL LISTEN.
Date published: 2017-04-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy to give. These pills are small and easy to give...thats what I was looking for.
Date published: 2017-04-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great overall product We use this on our Labrador-mix and American Bulldog and have never had an issue with fleas or ticks on them or or us. We also have not had problems with mosquitos or biting flies bothering them.
Date published: 2017-03-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Product My little dog just loves them.
Date published: 2017-02-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Life saver for my Greyhound! My vet recommended Interceptor as I was convinced my sweet Greyhound became ill every month when I gave her Heart Guard. She would have an upset stomach and diarrhea for days after receiving it. My vet explained I wasn't crazy, some dogs were indeed allergic to the main ingredient in Heart Guard but still need protected from heart worms so suggested Interceptor as it did not possess the ingredient making my dog ill. He was right! Six months now on Interceptor and she happily takes it burried in a piece of cheese (it is a hard chew instead of a soft chew like Heart Guard), and remains ill/symptom free. Wonderful product for a dog with allergies to Heart Guard!!
Date published: 2017-02-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very happy !!! I'm very happy with this product. Other ones were suggested but not has good as interceptor!
Date published: 2017-01-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Does so much good Our vet recommended this product to get rid of the worms our dog gets, and also to protect her from heart worms. We live in an area where the mosquitos are healthy and abundant. Protecting our littler girl from heart worms is very important to us.
Date published: 2017-01-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Product. I love this product. It works great with no side effects. My dogs love it too.
Date published: 2016-12-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good results Scarlett was started on this product this past summer. Now that we live in Florida in the winter she especially needs it.
Date published: 2016-12-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Interceptor is the only product I will use!~ The main reason why i love Interceptor is b/c it covers the Whip worm, which most products don't.. Since my babies have been on this stuff for over 9 years this is teh only product I will continue you to use.
Date published: 2016-11-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from So glad it's back and for dog and cat! So happy to see Interceptor back and use for dog, as well as cat! I was concerned I wouldn't be successful getting our cat to take a pill, but, no problem, he gulped this one down in a flash! Both our dog (Golden Retriever) and our cat had gotten sick and lethargic from other brands. Also very pleased with the ease in purchasing our pet meds here with super fast service and shipping!
Date published: 2016-11-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from It Really Works! I have a 6 month old black lab. She recently became infected with whipworms. The heart worm preventative that she was taking was not helping her at all, so the vet prescribed us Interceptor to help fight the whipworms. With in 2 weeks I noticed a difference in her fecal samples I brought to the vet. I recommend Interceptor to anyone who wants complete protection for the dogs from any kind of worms.
Date published: 2016-10-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very happy I was paying a fortune for Trifexis when Penny did not need flea or parasite protection. As an Amish Aussie, she cannot take Heartgard due to the Ivermectin in it so I was thrilled when Interceptor was once again available. Penny is doing very well and takes her meds without any difficulty.
Date published: 2016-10-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from So glad they went back to the original I was so happy to get notified last year that the flea protection was not in this anymore. My dog already had something for fleas and I didn't want to double dose her. She doesn't like pills so this small pill is easier to make her take.
Date published: 2016-08-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I love this product. It works great with no side effects. My dogs love it too.
Date published: 2016-08-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product First, the product apparently tastes great because my dog eats it's whole by itself! I don't have to hide it in cheese or anything!! Second, my dog has a super super sensitive stomach and this gave him no problems at all :) I've already reccomended it to some friends!
Date published: 2016-06-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love it! My puppy has used this medication for two months! Very easily to give, chews it all up and then goes about his day! No negative side effects & im sure he thinks he is getting a treat, great way to give medicine !
Date published: 2016-06-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Happy to use this product I give this to my Australian shepherd puppy. I do not know if she has the MDR1 gene that causes sensitivity to ivermectin which is in most heartworm meds, but why take the chance? She has had no side effects. I also like this because I prefer to give topical flea medicine and do not like the idea of combo products.
Date published: 2016-06-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Order process went through quick in a professional way.
Date published: 2016-06-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Effective and Easily Tolerated I've given my dogs Interceptor for years. It's gentle and effective. My late dog, Benjamin, had several allergies and sensitivities to different foods and medications, but he could take Interceptor without any ill effects at all. My current dog, Bodhi, takes it with no problem. He loves the taste of the pills and actually gets excited when he sees me open the box.
Date published: 2016-05-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good results I like to keep Halo in as good a shape as I possibly can and Interceptor seems to be helping me to achieve that goal. I've been using it for almost a year now and have seen no adverse reactions to this med.
Date published: 2016-04-09
  • y_2018, m_1, d_11, h_9
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.3
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_5, tr_567
  • loc_en_US, sid_prod100142, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_1800petmeds
Get 10% OFF Now Offer
Close
Live Chat Share Website Feedback