3.8 out of 5 Customer Rating
Interceptor Plus is rated 3.3 out of 5 by 48.
  • y_2020, m_11, d_23, h_16
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.12
  • cp_3, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_1, tr_47
  • loc_en_US, sid_prod11710, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_1800petmeds
  • bvseo_sdk, dw_cartridge, 18.2.0, p_sdk_3.2.0
  • CLOUD, getAggregateRating, 6ms
  • reviews, product
1. We'll ask for your vet's info during checkout.
2. We verify your prescription and ship your order!
Close
Starts $54.27 $37.99
Most orders ship the same day
prod11710 product detail number 1.0
Interceptor Plus
Interceptor Plus
Interceptor Plus
Interceptor Plus

Interceptor Plus

3.8 out of 5 Customer Rating
Interceptor Plus is rated 3.3 out of 5 by 48.
  • y_2020, m_11, d_23, h_16
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.12
  • cp_3, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_1, tr_47
  • loc_en_US, sid_prod11710, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_1800petmeds
  • bvseo_sdk, dw_cartridge, 18.2.0, p_sdk_3.2.0
  • CLOUD, getAggregateRating, 6ms
  • reviews, product
Starts $54.27 $37.99
Most orders ship the same day
Dog
Please select all product options.

Reviews

Rated 2 out of 5 by from "Chew" is too hard I always keep the chews sealed until use, yet they feel so hard; it doesn't give when you try to squish it between your fingers. My dog will not eat it. I stuffed it in a hotdog, in mushed up american cheese, in peanut butter, even finely diced it with a knife (on a disposable plate & knife) and mixed it with a tablespoon of the kids mac & cheese and some of his kibble. He ate everything but left the interceptor bits. I wish I hadn't purchased the 6 month supply from the vet as I have 4 month supply left but I'll be looking for something else. I believe it's a great and effective product but my dog won't take it and I think it's because for a "chew" it's too hard. I would recommend this to a friend but with a warning that her dog might not accept it.
Date published: 2017-05-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from So far so good I have a Standard Poodle girl. She is now 18 mo. at 45 lbs. Have been using Interceptor Plus since she was a pup. I also use BraVetco every 10-12 wks.
Date published: 2017-03-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Oliver loves it! My vet put my GSD/husky puppy mix on this. He's only had two months worth so far, but he takes them no problem. Takes it just as if it were a treat. I can't speak to the efficacy of it, but my dog is in great health.
Date published: 2017-03-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Creepy Crawly Killer! I wanted a product with high efficacy for killing most if not all the nasty creepy crawlies my dog could have and pass on to me, her grateful owner, minus or with a low possibility for side effects. Thankfully, all is well after having used this product. We are both very happy.
Date published: 2017-01-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product My one year old labradoodle was on a heartworm medication that looked like a horse pill. I rescued a 10 year old black lab mix a few months ago and the vet in the town where I adopted her, had her on this. I ended up switching the labradoodle to this because it is so much easier to give. My dogs do really well on it. So grateful to not have to give the horse pills anymore. My dogs take these with no problem. I rescued a dog a few years ago then found out she had heartworms. I wouldn't want that for any dog. So glad I can treat these dogs easily.
Date published: 2016-10-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works for me! I switched to this product when one of my dogs was having a reaction to Trifexis. I now give Interceptor Plus once a month and Bravecto every three months. Interceptor has the same heartworm medication as Trifexis but also controls tapeworms. Between the two products I never have to worry about fleas, heartworm or any other intestinal parasites. Other than one or two loose stools, my two 17 lb dogs have not had any adverse reactions to these meds.
Date published: 2016-10-03
Rated 1 out of 5 by from PROCEED WITH CAUTION Young 2 year old very healthy Labrador developed severe tremors within hours of taking this drug.....I would NOT recommend....
Date published: 2016-10-02
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Makes dog too agressive. Our husky takes these and immediately starts freaking out more than usual. The day we started doing this medication, she would bite the leash in public, which she never does. It says there's a chance of neurological side effects in dogs, not sure if other brands are safer.
Date published: 2016-09-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Never seen a flea on my outside dogs! I have two labs that stay outside. With this pill I have had only 1 tick in 6 months and have never seen a flea on my girls! Very much worth it!
Date published: 2016-07-02
  • y_2020, m_11, d_23, h_16
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.12
  • cp_3, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_1, tr_47
  • loc_en_US, sid_prod11710, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_1800petmeds
  • bvseo_sdk, dw_cartridge, 18.2.0, p_sdk_3.2.0
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 6ms
  • reviews, product

Questions

What is the difference between interceptor and interceptor plus? My dog is currently taking interceptor.

Asked by: Jeff1987
Thank you for your question. Interceptor Plus is a chicken flavored chewable tablet. Interceptor is a artificial beef flavored chewable tablet . Also Interceptor Plus covers one additional intestinal parasite which is tapeworms. Otherwise both medications prevent Heartworm disease , as well as treat and control common intestinal parasites including roundworms, hookworms and whipworms.
Answered by: Crystal RPTechnician
Date published: 2019-02-02

Does interceptor kill fleas and ticks?

Asked by: Monica
Thank you for your question. Interceptor Plus is a monthly, broad spectrum parasiticide used to prevent heartworm disease, as well as treat and control common intestinal parasites including roundworms, hookworms, whipworms and tapeworms.
Answered by: Crystal RPTechnician
Date published: 2019-01-22

Is there a less expensive generic version of Interceptor Plus available

Asked by: tom624
Thank you for your question. There is no generic available for Interceptor Plus. We do however offer Tri-heart Plus which is the generic to Heartgard Plus.
Answered by: Crystal RPTechnician
Date published: 2018-08-14

My dog is exactly 50 lbs. She is 1 year 3 months old. I'm not sure which one to buy the one that goes up to 50 lb or the 50.1 lb and higher?

Asked by: Lily
Thank you for your question. The medication is to be dosed based on your furry friends exact weight. Since this medication requires a veterinarian approval your vet will determine the appropriate dose of medication.
Answered by: Crystal RPTechnician
Date published: 2018-08-08

Is interceptor plus safe for collies?

Asked by: Robomom
Thank you for your question. Yes it is, this medication requires a prescription so your veterinarian will determine if it is suitable for your furry friend.
Answered by: Crystal RPTechnician
Date published: 2018-08-01

Interceptor plus vs Sentinel Spectrum ???

Asked by: Cyndi
Thank you for your question. Interceptor Plus is a monthly, broad spectrum parasiticide used to prevent heartworm disease, as well as treat and control common intestinal parasites including roundworms, hookworms, whipworms and tapeworms. It is a chicken-flavored chewable. Sentinel Spectrum prevents heartworms and prevents and controls fleas. Each chew also treats and controls whipworms, hookworms, roundworms and tapeworms. The medication is given monthly and is beef flavored chewable.
Answered by: Crystal RPTechnician
Date published: 2018-07-17

is this good for my cats also

Asked by: bdette
Regular Interceptor (not the Plus) can be used to prevent heartworms in cats.
Answered by: SuzyCVT
Date published: 2018-07-11

my interceptor plus is pass the date can I still give it to her and cause no harm?

Asked by: Bev323
For the past couple of years, Elanco, the manufacturer of Interceptor and Interceptor Plus, has provided us with a letter that states that the expiration dates of these products are extended a full year past what the date shown on the package...ie, if it says expires in Nov 2018, it is extended to Nov 2019.
Answered by: SuzyCVT
Date published: 2018-07-04

What breed is the one on 2 to 8 lbs. package front?

Asked by: Dixie
The dog on the front of the package for the 2-8 pound size looks like a Chihuahua to me.
Answered by: SuzyCVT
Date published: 2018-06-20

My pup is allergic to chicken and I never realized this was chicken flavored. I tried looking to see how much chicken or what specifically you use to flavor the chews but was unsuccessful finding any information. Is it hydrolized chicken? Or not?

Asked by: Marbles0726
Thank you for your question. The product is made by Elanco who advised the product is flavored with real chicken.
Answered by: Crystal RPTechnician
Date published: 2018-05-30

Why don’t you offer rebates on heartworm medication? Without it you are not competitive with veterinarians offering the rebate

Asked by: Jw1007
The rebates are restricted by the manufacturers to ensure the doctor-patient relationship. Many veterinarians rely heavily on product sales to stay in business. Some manufacturers do not even allow their product to be sold through on-line pharmacies. Any veterinarian that allows their license to be used for the purchase of products to be sold through on-line pharmacies and are "caught" by the manufacturer by tracing special codes on the products will not be allowed to purchase any product from that manufacturer again.
Answered by: SuzyCVT
Date published: 2018-03-23

 This product usually comes with a rebate, do you provide the rebate code upon purchase?

Asked by: Jw1007
Thank you for your question. We do not offer Rebates , the rebate is only good for products purchased directly at the veterinarians office. Rebates are generally not needed online as the prices are in many cases lower.
Answered by: Crystal RPTechnician
Date published: 2018-05-18

Do I need a prescription to order interceptor plus?

Asked by: Jannn
Yes. Our pharmacy contacts your vet to obtain the prescription for you prior to shipment. We can also accept the original written prescription by mail.
Answered by: Cherley Petmeds Pro
Date published: 2018-05-18

My dog is 6lbs but I only have the 8.1-25lb pills. Is there a way I can still give them to my dog if i give her a small piece of the 8.1lbs?

Asked by: Katie22
Thank you for your question. The correct dose of the medication for a 6lbs dog would be the 2-8lbs to avoid your pet overdosing. You should not give split a larger dose unless otherwise directed by a licensed veterinarian to do so.
Answered by: Crystal RPTechnician
Date published: 2018-06-25

Why is interceptor rated 5 and interceptor plus only 3.5

Asked by: Pebbles
The ratings are rated from our customer's reviews.
Answered by: Cherley Petmeds Pro
Date published: 2018-06-25

Have Interceptor not the plus. Expiration date was 8/17. Is it still safe to use.

Asked by: CrockettsMom
Double check with Elanco, the manufacturer at 1-877-352-6261, as we have received notifications for the past few years that say the expiration dates have been extended by 12 months for Interceptor and Interceptor Plus.
Answered by: SuzyCVT
Date published: 2018-02-23

I don’t think I gave my puppy her interceptor plus but I might have. What should I do? 

Asked by: Lovemyfurbabies
Give your puppy the Interceptor Plus if you are unsure if the dose was administered. It is important to ensure that your pet is properly protected.
Answered by: Lisa M
Date published: 2018-06-25

Our puppy has grown quickly to 75lbs. We gave her 1 25-50 lb Interceptor Plus 6 days ago. After 3 days of vomiting our vet determined she has roundworms. Is it too soon to give her a 50.1-100 lbs chewable? The roundworms are still making her vomit.

Asked by: Chris
Thank you for your question. Generally the heartworm preventative is given monthly , unless otherwise directed by a vet. We recommend consulting with your veterinarian before using the next dose if your furry friend is still vomiting to be safe.
Answered by: Crystal RPTechnician
Date published: 2017-12-28

If unsure of my dogs weight should my dog have a lower or higher dose of Interceptor?  Example: it has been at least 6 months since my beagle was weighed. At that time she weighed 25lbs. So should I order the lesser dose of interceptor or the higher dose?

Asked by: Fran
Thank you for your question. It is important to get a accurate weight on your furry friend to be sure you are giving the right dose. The right dose will ensure the medication is effective.
Answered by: Crystal RPTechnician
Date published: 2017-12-11

Will the Interceptor Plus help with fleas as well?

Asked by: Sarah
Thank you for your question. Interceptor Plus does not help with fleas.Interceptor Plus is used to prevent heartworm disease, as well as treat and control common intestinal parasites including roundworms, hookworms, whipworms and tapeworms.
Answered by: Crystal RPTechnician
Date published: 2017-12-08

Hi there, my dog is 55 lbs but we are working on losing some weight to get him back to his previous 40-45 lbs weight. Given these circumstance should we go for the 25-50 lbs or 50-100 lbs dosage options?

Asked by: DevynR
Thanks for your question. At his current weight he should receive the 50 - 100 lbs dosage. Once he weighs less than 50 lbs it would be okay to give him the lower dosage.
Answered by: Adriane
Date published: 2017-11-30

What to do if your dog got a double dose 

Asked by: Lorrie
Thank you for your question. In the case of an overdose contact your veterinarian immediately!
Answered by: Crystal RPTechnician
Date published: 2017-11-22

My puppy is 8 weeks with round worm. He’s received 1 chewable, and within 24 hours 3 adult round worms appeared in his stool. How long could it take for him to be fully cured?

Asked by: Jason25
Interceptor Plus begins working within 24 to 48 hours; however, it may take up to 2 to 3 weeks to fully deworm.
Answered by: Lisa M
Date published: 2017-11-10

My dog is allergic to chicken.  It says it’s chicken flavored.  Does it have actual chicken in it?

Asked by: Sandyg851
Interceptor Plus is flavored with real chicken. You should consider another heartworm and parasite preventative if your dog is allergic. Consult your veterinarian for more information.
Answered by: Lisa M
Date published: 2017-10-16

What’s the difference between interceptor and interceptor plus? 

Asked by: Jessical4
Interceptor prevents heartworm disease, controls adult hookworms, and removes and controls adult roundworms and whipworm infections in dogs. Interceptor Plus, prevents heartworm disease, as well as treat and control common intestinal parasites including roundworms, hookworms, whipworms and tapeworms.
Answered by: Cherley Petmeds Pro
Date published: 2018-06-30

I bought 1.8-25lbs chewable, but my dog is 35lbs. Is it ok for him to have it?

Asked by: Aidan
Administering the correct size of Interceptor Plus for your pet's weight is recommended.
Answered by: Lisa M
Date published: 2017-09-20

I bought the 8.1-25lbs chewable. My puppy is 35lbs. Is it safe for him to have it? It won't be adequately covered, but would it still be better to give it to him then nothing? I don't just want to through it out, but I will if it won't really help.

Asked by: Aidan
Administering the correct size of Interceptor Plus is always recommended. Consult your veterinarian about administering 2 tablets of the 8-25 lbs size if your pet currently weighs 35 lbs.
Answered by: Lisa M
Date published: 2017-09-20

My pup acciedently got into one of my bags and it had the interceptor plus in it. He ate it and it was for dogs 8.1lbs-25lbs. He is 45lbs And it's been a few hours and he's whining to go outside and runs to eat a bunch of grass. He never does this. safe? 

Asked by: John123
Untoward effects are not expected but you should monitor your pet for adverse reactions such as vomiting, diarrhea, lethargy or ataxia. Also, inform your veterinarian of the accidental ingestion.
Answered by: Lisa M
Date published: 2017-09-20

I bought the 8.1-25lbs chewable. My puppy is 35lbs. Is it safe for him to have it?

Asked by: Aidan
Your 35 pound pet will not be adequately covered if using the 8.1-25 pound chewable. Please consult with your veterinarian to obtain a prescription for the correct weight range for your pet.
Answered by: Jessica
Date published: 2017-09-19

Can I give interceptor plus to my dog a week early? Just got a puppy and I'd like both of them to be on the same schedule.  Also,can I give it to him at the same time with Nexguard? Is it safe? Will it cancel out the other if i give them @ the same Time?

Asked by: ToriLee
Yes, it is safe to give Interceptor Plus to your furry baby a week early. You can simply give the next dose 4 weeks later to get back on track. It is also safe to give Interceptor Plus and Nexgard to your furry baby at the same time.
Answered by: Cherley Petmeds Pro
Date published: 2017-09-06
  • y_2020, m_11, d_22, h_16CST
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvqa, vn_bulk_3.0.12
  • cp_3, bvpage2n
  • co_hasquestionsanswers, tq_97
  • loc_en_US, sid_prod11710, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=LAST_APPROVED_ANSWER_SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_1800petmeds
  • bvseo_sdk, dw_cartridge, 18.2.0, p_sdk_3.2.0
  • CLOUD, getContent, 5ms
  • questions, product

What is Interceptor Plus (milbemycin oxime/praziquantel)?

Interceptor Plus is a monthly, broad spectrum parasiticide used to prevent heartworm disease, as well as treat and control common intestinal parasites including roundworms, hookworms, whipworms and tapeworms. Interceptor Plus offers long-lasting protection in the convenience of a tasty, easy-to-administer chewable. The chewable tablets are chicken flavored, which is an added benefit for dogs suffering from beef allergies. Most dogs love the taste, and you can rest assured that your best friend will be protected against heartworms for a full month. Interceptor Plus requires a prescription from your veterinarian. It is available as a 6-pack, which provides six months of heartworm protection or as a 12-pack which provides 12 months of protection.

NOTE: To protect your dog from flea and ticks, try Credelio.

For:

Dogs and Puppies over 6 weeks of age and weighing more than 2 pounds

Benefits:

  • Each tablet provides a full month of protection against heartworms, roundworms, hookworms, whipworms and tapeworms
  • Tasty, chicken-flavored chewable is easy to administer
  • Chewables can be given directly to your dog or broken up and mixed with food
  • Available in four weight categories: 2-8 lbs, 8.1-25 lbs, 25.1-50 lbs, and 50.1-100 lbs
  • Package includes calendar reminder stickers to help make sure you never miss a dose

How does Interceptor Plus work?

Interceptor Plus contains the active ingredient milbemycin oxime to prevent heartworm disease caused by Dirofilaria immitis as well as treat and control roundworms, hookworms, and whipworms. It also contains praziquantel, which treats tapeworm infection.

Interceptor Plus: once-a-month, tasty real-chicken chew that protects against five common parasites

Cautions:

For use in dogs and puppies over 6 weeks of age and weighing more than 2 pounds only. Do not use in cats or in humans. Keep this and all drugs out of the reach of children. Treatment with fewer than 6 monthly doses after the last exposure to mosquitoes may not provide complete heartworm prevention. The safety of Interceptor Plus has not been evaluated in dogs used for breeding or in lactating females.

Brand Name

Interceptor Plus

Generic Name

Milbemycin Oxime (mil-beh-my-sin ox-eem), praziquantel (pr'z-kwn'tl)

Manufacturer:

Elanco

What is the most important thing I should know about Interceptor Plus?

Interceptor Plus is used for the prevention of heartworm disease caused by Dirofilaria immitis, and for the treatment and control of adult roundworm (Toxocara canis, Toxascaris leonina), adult hookworm (Ancylostoma caninum), adult whipworm (Trichuris vulpis) and adult tapeworm (Taenia pisiformis, Dipylidium canium, Echinococcus multilocularis and Echinococcus granulosus) infections in dogs and puppies over 6 weeks in age and weighing over 2 lbs. Prior to administration of Interceptor Plus (milbemycin oxime/praziquantel), dogs should be tested for existing heartworm infections. See Interceptor Plus label for complete safety information.

How should Interceptor Plus be given?

Interceptor Plus should be administered orally, once every month, at the minimum dosage of 0.23 mg/lb (0.5 mg/kg) milbemycin oxime, and 2.28 mg/lb (5 mg/kg) praziquantel. For heartworm prevention, give once monthly for at least 6 months after exposure. Dogs weighing 2-8 lbs should be given one Interceptor Plus chewable tablet (Orange Box) monthly. Dogs weighing 8.1-25 lbs should be given one Interceptor Plus chewable tablet (Green Box) monthly. Dogs weighing 25.1-50 lbs should be given one Interceptor Plus chewable tablet (Yellow Box) monthly. Dogs weighing 50.1-100 lbs should be given one Interceptor Plus chewable tablet (Blue Box) monthly.

What are the potential side effects of Interceptor Plus?

The following adverse reactions have been reported in dogs after administration of milbemycin oxime or praziquantel: vomiting, diarrhea, depression/lethargy, ataxia, weight loss, convulsions, weakness, and salivation.

What happens if I miss giving a dose of Interceptor Plus?

Give the missed dose as soon as you remember. Do not give a double dose of the medication.

What happens if I overdose my pet on Interceptor Plus?

Contact your veterinarian immediately.

What other drugs will affect Interceptor Plus?

Do not give Interceptor to your pet if your pet is already taking an alternate heartworm medication.

Interceptor Plus protects against 5 worms in 1 monthly chew

Interceptor Plus Dosing Chart: 2-8 pounds, 8.1-25 pounds, 25.1-50 pounds, 50.1-100 pounds

 

Interceptor Plus Directions:

  • Administer one Interceptor Plus chewable once every month.
  • Interceptor Plus may be offered by hand or broken into pieces and fed to dogs that normally swallow treats whole.
  • Interceptor Plus chewables should be administered in a manner that encourages your dog to chew, rather than to swallow without chewing. Care should be taken to be sure that your dog consumes the complete dose.
  • Observe your dog for a few minutes after administration to ensure that no part of the dose is lost or rejected. If it is suspected that any of the dose has been lost, redosing is recommended.
Tip:

Place the treatment reminder stickers (included) on your calendar for each of the months following the date of the initial treatment to help prevent missing a dose.

Interceptor Plus Dosage for Dogs:

Dogs/Puppies (6 weeks of age or older, weighing more than 2 lbs):
Weight Amount
2-8 lbs One chewable tablet monthly (Orange)
8.1-25 lbs One chewable tablet monthly (Green)
25.1-50 lbsOne chewable tablet monthly (Yellow)
50.1-100 lbs One chewable tablet monthly (Blue)
Over 100 lbsUse the appropriate combination of Interceptor Plus chewable tablets monthly
Interceptor Plus Dosage for Cats:
Cats
Do not use!
Interceptor Plus Dosage for Horses:
Horses
Do not use!
Storage:

Store at controlled room temperature between 59-77 F.

Interceptor Plus Ingredients:

Interceptor Plus for Dogs 2-8 lbs (Orange):
Active Ingredient (per tablet)Amount
Milbemycin Oxime 2.3 mg
Praziquantel 22.8 mg
Interceptor Plus for Dogs 8.1-25 lbs (Green):
Active Ingredient (per tablet)Amount
Milbemycin Oxime 5.75 mg
Praziquantel 57 mg
Interceptor Plus for Dogs 25.1-50 lbs (Yellow):
Active Ingredient (per tablet)Amount
Milbemycin Oxime 11.5 mg
Praziquantel 114 mg
Interceptor Plus for Dogs 50.1-100 lbs (Blue):
Active Ingredient (per tablet)Amount
Milbemycin Oxime 23 mg
Praziquantel 228 mg

What is Interceptor Plus (milbemycin oxime/praziquantel)?

Interceptor Plus is a monthly, broad spectrum parasiticide used to prevent heartworm disease, as well as treat and control common intestinal parasites including roundworms, hookworms, whipworms and tapeworms. Interceptor Plus offers long-lasting protection in the convenience of a tasty, easy-to-administer chewable. The chewable tablets are chicken flavored, which is an added benefit for dogs suffering from beef allergies. Most dogs love the taste, and you can rest assured that your best friend will be protected against heartworms for a full month. Interceptor Plus requires a prescription from your veterinarian. It is available as a 6-pack, which provides six months of heartworm protection or as a 12-pack which provides 12 months of protection.

NOTE: To protect your dog from flea and ticks, try Credelio.

For:

Dogs and Puppies over 6 weeks of age and weighing more than 2 pounds

Benefits:

  • Each tablet provides a full month of protection against heartworms, roundworms, hookworms, whipworms and tapeworms
  • Tasty, chicken-flavored chewable is easy to administer
  • Chewables can be given directly to your dog or broken up and mixed with food
  • Available in four weight categories: 2-8 lbs, 8.1-25 lbs, 25.1-50 lbs, and 50.1-100 lbs
  • Package includes calendar reminder stickers to help make sure you never miss a dose

How does Interceptor Plus work?

Interceptor Plus contains the active ingredient milbemycin oxime to prevent heartworm disease caused by Dirofilaria immitis as well as treat and control roundworms, hookworms, and whipworms. It also contains praziquantel, which treats tapeworm infection.

Interceptor Plus: once-a-month, tasty real-chicken chew that protects against five common parasites

Cautions:

For use in dogs and puppies over 6 weeks of age and weighing more than 2 pounds only. Do not use in cats or in humans. Keep this and all drugs out of the reach of children. Treatment with fewer than 6 monthly doses after the last exposure to mosquitoes may not provide complete heartworm prevention. The safety of Interceptor Plus has not been evaluated in dogs used for breeding or in lactating females.

Brand Name

Interceptor Plus

Generic Name

Milbemycin Oxime (mil-beh-my-sin ox-eem), praziquantel (pr'z-kwn'tl)

Manufacturer:

Elanco

What is the most important thing I should know about Interceptor Plus?

Interceptor Plus is used for the prevention of heartworm disease caused by Dirofilaria immitis, and for the treatment and control of adult roundworm (Toxocara canis, Toxascaris leonina), adult hookworm (Ancylostoma caninum), adult whipworm (Trichuris vulpis) and adult tapeworm (Taenia pisiformis, Dipylidium canium, Echinococcus multilocularis and Echinococcus granulosus) infections in dogs and puppies over 6 weeks in age and weighing over 2 lbs. Prior to administration of Interceptor Plus (milbemycin oxime/praziquantel), dogs should be tested for existing heartworm infections. See Interceptor Plus label for complete safety information.

How should Interceptor Plus be given?

Interceptor Plus should be administered orally, once every month, at the minimum dosage of 0.23 mg/lb (0.5 mg/kg) milbemycin oxime, and 2.28 mg/lb (5 mg/kg) praziquantel. For heartworm prevention, give once monthly for at least 6 months after exposure. Dogs weighing 2-8 lbs should be given one Interceptor Plus chewable tablet (Orange Box) monthly. Dogs weighing 8.1-25 lbs should be given one Interceptor Plus chewable tablet (Green Box) monthly. Dogs weighing 25.1-50 lbs should be given one Interceptor Plus chewable tablet (Yellow Box) monthly. Dogs weighing 50.1-100 lbs should be given one Interceptor Plus chewable tablet (Blue Box) monthly.

What are the potential side effects of Interceptor Plus?

The following adverse reactions have been reported in dogs after administration of milbemycin oxime or praziquantel: vomiting, diarrhea, depression/lethargy, ataxia, weight loss, convulsions, weakness, and salivation.

What happens if I miss giving a dose of Interceptor Plus?

Give the missed dose as soon as you remember. Do not give a double dose of the medication.

What happens if I overdose my pet on Interceptor Plus?

Contact your veterinarian immediately.

What other drugs will affect Interceptor Plus?

Do not give Interceptor to your pet if your pet is already taking an alternate heartworm medication.

Interceptor Plus protects against 5 worms in 1 monthly chew

Interceptor Plus Dosing Chart: 2-8 pounds, 8.1-25 pounds, 25.1-50 pounds, 50.1-100 pounds

 

Interceptor Plus Directions:

  • Administer one Interceptor Plus chewable once every month.
  • Interceptor Plus may be offered by hand or broken into pieces and fed to dogs that normally swallow treats whole.
  • Interceptor Plus chewables should be administered in a manner that encourages your dog to chew, rather than to swallow without chewing. Care should be taken to be sure that your dog consumes the complete dose.
  • Observe your dog for a few minutes after administration to ensure that no part of the dose is lost or rejected. If it is suspected that any of the dose has been lost, redosing is recommended.
Tip:

Place the treatment reminder stickers (included) on your calendar for each of the months following the date of the initial treatment to help prevent missing a dose.

Interceptor Plus Dosage for Dogs:

Dogs/Puppies (6 weeks of age or older, weighing more than 2 lbs):
Weight Amount
2-8 lbs One chewable tablet monthly (Orange)
8.1-25 lbs One chewable tablet monthly (Green)
25.1-50 lbsOne chewable tablet monthly (Yellow)
50.1-100 lbs One chewable tablet monthly (Blue)
Over 100 lbsUse the appropriate combination of Interceptor Plus chewable tablets monthly
Interceptor Plus Dosage for Cats:
Cats
Do not use!
Interceptor Plus Dosage for Horses:
Horses
Do not use!
Storage:

Store at controlled room temperature between 59-77 F.

Interceptor Plus Ingredients:

Interceptor Plus for Dogs 2-8 lbs (Orange):
Active Ingredient (per tablet)Amount
Milbemycin Oxime 2.3 mg
Praziquantel 22.8 mg
Interceptor Plus for Dogs 8.1-25 lbs (Green):
Active Ingredient (per tablet)Amount
Milbemycin Oxime 5.75 mg
Praziquantel 57 mg
Interceptor Plus for Dogs 25.1-50 lbs (Yellow):
Active Ingredient (per tablet)Amount
Milbemycin Oxime 11.5 mg
Praziquantel 114 mg
Interceptor Plus for Dogs 50.1-100 lbs (Blue):
Active Ingredient (per tablet)Amount
Milbemycin Oxime 23 mg
Praziquantel 228 mg