Interceptor Plus

3.8 out of 5 Customer Rating
Interceptor Plus is rated 3.4 out of 5 by 44.
  • y_2020, m_8, d_3, h_15
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.10
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_1, tr_43
  • loc_en_US, sid_prod11710, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_1800petmeds
  • bvseo_sdk, dw_cartridge, 18.2.0, p_sdk_3.2.0
  • CLOUD, getAggregateRating, 70ms
  • reviews, product
1. We'll ask for your vet's info during checkout.
2. We verify your prescription and ship your order!
Close
Starts $54.27 $37.99
Most orders ship the same day

Interceptor Plus

3.8 out of 5 Customer Rating
Interceptor Plus is rated 3.4 out of 5 by 44.
  • y_2020, m_8, d_3, h_15
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.10
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_1, tr_43
  • loc_en_US, sid_prod11710, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_1800petmeds
  • bvseo_sdk, dw_cartridge, 18.2.0, p_sdk_3.2.0
  • CLOUD, getAggregateRating, 70ms
  • reviews, product
Starts $54.27 $37.99
Most orders ship the same day
Dog

Reviews

Rated 5 out of 5 by from Reliable I have been using this for the past 15 years with all of my digs in several climates to include very humid states and my dogs have never had an issue. It is my go-to for safe protection for my fur-babies.
Date published: 2020-02-02
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Dogs dislike - hard to give We have two dogs who were prescribed Interceptor Plus. The packaging has multiple layers so not the easiest to open and my dogs hate this medication. We have to resort to breaking the huge "chewable" into multiple pieces and hiding in other food (cheese, hot dogs, pill pockets). Gave this two stars because we assume it works, but not worth the hassle and it's not the most innovative product on the market. Can't wait to finish 6-month purchase and switch to something else!!
Date published: 2020-01-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Effective and Affordable Heartworm Preventative We have used Interceptor Plus for two years now after swapping over from Advantage Multi which, while effective, I hated putting on and my large dogs absolutely hated it when I had to put it on them. We live in a very mosquito dense area in Arkansas and heartworms are prevalent in our area but this seems very effective in preventing heartworms which is my priority when using it. Our dogs have been on heartworm preventative their whole lives and are tested annaully but it is important to note after reading some reviews on the effectiveness of this product. Heartworms have a long incubation period of up to 7 months before they could show on a heartworm test which means that your dog could already have heartworms when you start preventative and then show positive at your next annual visit. Vet's in my area are all very good at explaining how the parasites work, what they do, and the risks to pets but I know heartworms aren't encountered as much in other areas of the country so many may not know about them. I trust this preventative to do what I need it to and since we have tested negative for two years I would say it is an effective product.
Date published: 2019-10-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works Great Our dog stopped eating after moving to the country, which was unusual behavior for him. Took him for a walk and noticed worms in his stool. Took him to the vet and sure enough he had tapeworms (which can be transmitted by fleas even if they are on flea control they can still get bitten). My gf dog was on interceptor and was 100% worm free. The vet gave him one dosage of interceptor and he was back to normal within a few days.
Date published: 2019-08-06
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I have a 3 yr old Scottish terrier Sir. Winston and at first he didn’t seem to like this pill but he seems fine now and I’m so happy about that
Date published: 2019-06-27
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Diarrhea, literally! I can't verify the efficacy of this drug but I know I will never give this to my dog(s) ever again, we are on day 6 of side effects, Pepper (our dog) has been having severe diarrhea since we gave her a dose of Interceptor Plus last Thursday, it started with vomiting just about a couple hours later, and since then we have to clean her crate every morning (SHE IS POTTY/CRATE TRAINED!) due to diarrhea, we are having to keep her outdoors until we have time to bathe her so she can be around us, she keeps salivating, it is terrible condition, this ended up bringing us a TON of work and sickness to our dog! Never again! I had no idea this could happen, I was familiar with other brand that we used on our other dog but I didn't think it could be this bad! I am immediately going back to the other brand for Pepper's next dose!
Date published: 2019-06-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Tasty? Seems so Okay, honestly I can't proclaim this product works to prevent anything, all I can do is proclaim that we have had no issues with worms of any sort while using this product. And we have been using it for a few years, both on our previous dog and our current one. I will say that neither dog has had any issues of worms of any kind, but whether that is luck or the product I can't 100% say, but I wouldn't bet that we are THAT lucky, so I think this stuff is working. Haha. As for the taste, my dog loves it. I tell him its "time to take your medicine" and he comes a runnin' and if I wait too long, don't give it too him immediately, the drool is abundant
Date published: 2019-05-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fast shipping! Ordered on Saturday and received Monday! Faster than Amazon! Our service dog, Rocky, was on these when he was placed with us. The organization he is from uses this on all their dogs. With the dogs being 25k a piece, protection against these parasites is vital! Good product! It’s nice to have peace of mind about heart worms.
Date published: 2019-02-25
Rated 1 out of 5 by from HEARTWORM POSITIVE - USELESS PREVENTATIVE My dog tested heartworm negative a year ago when I started this preventative. Now a year later, with no missed doses, he is HEARTWORM POSITIVE. Elanco will not help pay for treatment, my vet reached out for financial support. I should have saved the money I spent in this preventative and used it on his treatment. DO NOT WASTE YOUR MONEY ON THIS BRAND.
Date published: 2018-12-14
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Interceptor Plus We we not impressed with this product. We ordered it because the Interceptor was out of stock. We used them because we had spent our budget for the month. The preventative part is probably good, but our dogs were not impressed with the texture or the smell of them. We had to "trick" them to get them to eat them. We will not order this Interceptor Plus again. Just saying we have used the regular Interceptor since they were puppies. thanks
Date published: 2018-11-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My dog loves the taste My dog is a picky eater, but she gobbles these up like a treat. So far (and she's almost 13), she has not had any worms, and we are in an urban area with lots of other dogs.
Date published: 2018-11-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from It works My vet told me recently that a dog could still get worms even though the dog is being given this medication. Why? Because it works like a wave. When you give the medication on lets say on the first day of the month (any month) it wipes out any worms your dog may have. By the next week or so, your dog could still possibly get a parasite. The medication wipes them out but it does not retain the medication in the dog. I have been giving this medication to my shepherd for over 2 years now and he is doing fine... My vet also told me that one called Advantage does retain the medication and the dog builds up an immunity to the parasite. I have not yet decided as to whether or not I want to change medications at this time. This one protects against more parasites as far as I can tell. I hope this helps.... God bless you!
Date published: 2018-10-23
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Doesn't protect against all hookworms! I had been giving Interceptor Plus monthly for the past 9 months and yet my dog tested positive for hookworm. I have since learned that there are 3 types of hookworm...this product only protects against 1. I wanted to know which type of hookworm she got but I was told by my vet that there is no test to determine species. Bottom line: we do not know whether it protects against any hookworm. Before you buy, please google "parasite prevalence map" and drill down to your county to see if you need more hookworm protection. If so, buy Heartgard.
Date published: 2018-09-18
Rated 3 out of 5 by from If swallowed If the dog does swallow it hole and doesn’t chew what are the recommendations?
Date published: 2018-05-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works fine Both dogs eat it plain and haven’t had an issue for the months we’ve been using it
Date published: 2018-04-18
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Disappointing Was sad when Sentinel Spectrum was gone for a while. Used this Interceptor. My Yorkie would not eat for a couple days and he just laid around. Plus nothing for fleas.
Date published: 2018-04-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great for a picky eating dog Tried other brands. My dog would not touch those brands no matter how I split, crush or even mix with food or treats. However, with Interceptor it has no smell & am able to mix with his food which he now gobbles up.
Date published: 2018-04-13
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Interceptor Plus - my pup won't eat them My pup won't eat these either! She hates the smell and taste. Even if I break it up and put in her food she spits it out. Going to ask the vet for something that tastes better.
Date published: 2018-04-06
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Dogs don't like the taste. I have 3 dogs, none of them like the taste of this. Try to mix it with their food in small pieces and eventually they eat it but sort of a pain to cut it up.
Date published: 2018-03-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Safe and effective I started using Interceptor Plus on my 9-week-old, 9-pound puppy at the recommendation of my vet. He gobbled it up as if it were the best treat ever and spent the next few minutes sniffing around the floor looking for more. I monitored him all day, and he was happy and full of energy, as always. I especially like Interceptor Plus because it does not include flea prevention.
Date published: 2018-02-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Safe for my Collie I have a collie with the MDR1 gene mutation.This product is the only one you can use.For a while you couldn't get them in the US. He is soon to be 6 yrs and I've had him since he was 11 mos. He was on Interceptor with Collie Rescue, as a puppy, and is still taking it today. No problems and he thinks he's getting a cookie
Date published: 2018-02-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from 1 year in and we are happy Jax’s vet sold us his first 6 months and we bought our 2nd 6 months from Petmed. I’m on here ordering our 3rd 6 month pack and I’m shocked at the bad reviews. Jax (Brittany Spaniel) eats them like treats and he’s worm free.
Date published: 2018-01-25
Rated 1 out of 5 by from My Dogs have been on this for about a year, and I just found out today they both have Round and Hook worms. I set an alarm to make sure they receive the medicine every month as prescribed but apparently that doesn't matter. Switching medicines ASAP.
Date published: 2018-01-18
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Dont will not eat ! I dont know why my dogs will not eat this ...even if I break it up they spit them out .
Date published: 2017-11-25
Rated 2 out of 5 by from did not like My dog refused to eat these. I had to chop up among food.
Date published: 2017-10-17
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Did not like Gave to my dog for 3 months and that was it. Threw the remaining pills away.
Date published: 2017-09-02
Rated 2 out of 5 by from "Chew" is too hard I always keep the chews sealed until use, yet they feel so hard; it doesn't give when you try to squish it between your fingers. My dog will not eat it. I stuffed it in a hotdog, in mushed up american cheese, in peanut butter, even finely diced it with a knife (on a disposable plate & knife) and mixed it with a tablespoon of the kids mac & cheese and some of his kibble. He ate everything but left the interceptor bits. I wish I hadn't purchased the 6 month supply from the vet as I have 4 month supply left but I'll be looking for something else. I believe it's a great and effective product but my dog won't take it and I think it's because for a "chew" it's too hard. I would recommend this to a friend but with a warning that her dog might not accept it.
Date published: 2017-05-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from So far so good I have a Standard Poodle girl. She is now 18 mo. at 45 lbs. Have been using Interceptor Plus since she was a pup. I also use BraVetco every 10-12 wks.
Date published: 2017-03-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Oliver loves it! My vet put my GSD/husky puppy mix on this. He's only had two months worth so far, but he takes them no problem. Takes it just as if it were a treat. I can't speak to the efficacy of it, but my dog is in great health.
Date published: 2017-03-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Creepy Crawly Killer! I wanted a product with high efficacy for killing most if not all the nasty creepy crawlies my dog could have and pass on to me, her grateful owner, minus or with a low possibility for side effects. Thankfully, all is well after having used this product. We are both very happy.
Date published: 2017-01-30
  • y_2020, m_8, d_3, h_15
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.10
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_1, tr_43
  • loc_en_US, sid_prod11710, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_1800petmeds
  • bvseo_sdk, dw_cartridge, 18.2.0, p_sdk_3.2.0
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 7ms
  • reviews, product

Questions

The ingredient list has only 2 ingredients on it, are there any other ingredients, including non-medicinal ingredients?

Asked by: krys
The 2 listed ingredients are the active ingredients. There are other ingredients that actually make the chewable tablet part. Other than real chicken, I can not find a list that shows everything else that goes into making the tablet.
Answered by: SuzyCVT
Date published: 2020-03-12

Can my dog have her next dose of Interceptor Plus 3 days earlier than usual?

Asked by: Bogey
Yes. It is safe to give your furry friend's next dose 3 days early.
Answered by: SuzyCVT
Date published: 2020-03-12

 Vet prescribed this for my 8 week old puppies  They have a really lose stools for three days now . Should I be concerned?

Asked by: Dia hinson
While diarrhea is a potential side-effect of Interceptor Plus, if the condition does not improve, I recommend that you have your puppies seen by your vet as there may be something else going on.
Answered by: SuzyCVT
Date published: 2020-01-28

My dog's weight floats between 49 and 51 pounds. Is it better to get the higher dose and be sure shes protected or lower dose and be sure she's not over-doseing

Asked by: Copper
Most veterinarians recommend the higher dose to ensure complete protection.
Answered by: Lisa M
Date published: 2020-01-09

Can you give this yo pregnant dogs?

Asked by: Sherri
Thank you for your question. The safety of Interceptor Plus has not been evaluated in dogs used for breeding or in lactating females.
Answered by: Crystal RPTechnician
Date published: 2019-12-18

My cocker weighs 24 lbs and my schnauzer weighs 26 lbs. What weight nexgard and interceptor should they take? I get a 6 mo supply?

Asked by: Pamt
Both of your dogs would take the 24-60 pound NexGard but they would need different sizes of Interceptor...the cocker taking the 8-25 pound dose and the schnauzer taking the 25-50 pound dose.
Answered by: SuzyCVT
Date published: 2019-11-06

Is a prescription necessary

Asked by: Mike
Yes, Interceptor Plus requires a veterinarian's prescription.
Answered by: SuzyCVT
Date published: 2019-09-25

If I order the 12 pk is the price for all 12 months or is that a monthly charge ? 

Asked by: Cinder
The price is for 12 months of medication. There is no monthly charge.
Answered by: Lisa M
Date published: 2020-01-08

This does not control fleas or flea larvae. So if i put my dog on this what would i use for fleas. At the moment she is on revolution.

Asked by: Mszakman
Interceptor Plus is a monthly, broad spectrum parasiticide used to prevent heartworm disease, as well as treat and control common intestinal parasites including roundworms, hookworms, whipworms and tapeworms. To protect your dog from fleas and ticks, try Credelio.
Answered by: Lisa M
Date published: 2019-08-08

Is the interceptor plus for heartworms safe for corgis

Asked by: Bryl
While Interceptor is safe to use in dogs at risk for MDRI-allele mutation (Australian Shepherds, Collies, Shelties, etc.), unless tested normal, caution is advised if your pet is also being given amiodarone (Cordarone), azole antifungals such as ketoconazole, carvedilol (Coreg), cyclosporine (Atopica), diltiazem (Cardizem), erythromycin (Ery-Tabs) or clarithromycin (Biaxin), quinidine, spironolactone (Aldactone), tamoxifen, and verapamil (Calan).
Answered by: Cherley Petmeds Pro
Date published: 2019-08-02

If i buy 12 pack.what is epiration date

Asked by: JELOVIC
This product has about a two to three year shelf life.
Answered by: Cherley Petmeds Pro
Date published: 2019-08-02

How do I cancel an order just placed?

Asked by: Denise
Please call us at 1-800-738-6337 to cancel your order.
Answered by: Lisa M
Date published: 2019-06-28

How long does it take to make sure it has been safely absorbed for a 10 lb dog? He vomited it up after 7 hours.

Asked by: annie
The Interceptor Plus tablet was absorbed and will be effective if your pet vomited 7 hours after administration.
Answered by: Lisa M
Date published: 2019-06-17

Is a prescription necessary for me nexguard plus?

Asked by: Abbey
Both Interceptor Plus and Nexgard require a prescription from your veterinarian.
Answered by: Lisa M
Date published: 2019-05-15

My female is still sporadically nursing a litter of 5wk 2day old puppies ( 8.5 # ) rottweilers is this safe to use now ?

Asked by: betty
The safety of Interceptor Plus has not been evaluated in dogs used for breeding or in lactating females.
Answered by: Cherley Petmeds Pro
Date published: 2019-05-14

Does it also help with fleas

Asked by: Susie
No, Interceptor Plus prevents heartworms and controls hookworms, roundworms, whipworms and tapeworms. You will need an additional product for flea control.
Answered by: SuzyCVT
Date published: 2019-05-14

Do you require the script to be mailed in?

Asked by: Carrin
Mailing the prescription is not necessary. When you place your order, provide your veterinarian's information and they will contact your vet for prescription approval.
Answered by: SuzyCVT
Date published: 2019-04-24

After giving my dog interceptor plus,how long does it take to start working

Asked by: KymPoSlice
It starts working well within the first 24 hours after administration.
Answered by: SuzyCVT
Date published: 2019-04-08

What's the difference between interceptor and interceptor-plus

Asked by: richard
Interceptor prevents heartworms and treats for hookworms, roundworms and whipworms. Interceptor Plus does all that as well a treats for tapeworms.
Answered by: SuzyCVT
Date published: 2019-07-23

If my dog has been on heartworm meds constantly for over a year, does she need a blood test to ensure efficiency of meds and to keep guarantee of treatment in case she is infected with heart worms?

Asked by: Ruby3
Thank you for your question. Yes, most veterinarian do require a heartworm test every 6 months - 12 months. Testing is necessary even when dogs are on heartworm prevention year-round, to ensure that the prevention program is working. Heartworm preventives are highly effective, but not 100 percent effective. If you don’t get your dog test, you won’t know your dog needs treatment. In regards to our product guarantee on the heartworm preventatives. We require 9 months of continuous use of heartworm product purchased from 1-800-PetMeds on the pet for whom the medication was prescribed. Monetary limitations apply).
Answered by: Crystal RPTechnician
Date published: 2019-10-11

Made where & by

Asked by: jules
Thank you for your question. Interceptor Plus is manfactured for Elanco , product of Japan.
Answered by: Crystal RPTechnician
Date published: 2019-02-22

Do you need a prescription for this?

Asked by: Pickles
Thank you for your question. Interceptor Plus is a prescription medication. Once an order is placed our Pharmacy will contact your veterinarians office for the prescription authorization.
Answered by: Crystal RPTechnician
Date published: 2019-01-09

Can I order less than 6 pack? My puppy is growing and he will need different dose later on. There is no option to order 1or 2 pack. Or can I order different dose mixed?

Asked by: Kell
Thank you for your question. The Interceptor Plus only comes in 6 or 12 doses.
Answered by: Sarah B PetMed Pro
Date published: 2018-11-06

Where do i get coupon

Asked by: Henrietta
Thank you for your question. The offer code / coupon code can be found on our site at the top of the page advertised in the yellow banner. Otherwise we email or mail out mailers with any current discounts or offers. There is always a discount available.
Answered by: Crystal RPTechnician
Date published: 2018-09-17

How quickly does interceptor work on worms other then heartworms

Asked by: Sis 66
Interceptor kills adult intestinal worms within 24 hours. Just remember that many intestinal parasites can have a 2 week life cycle so you may have adults again in 2 weeks which would require deworming with another medication may be necessary with heavy infection.
Answered by: SuzyCVT
Date published: 2018-09-05

What is the difference between interceptor and interceptor plus? My dog is currently taking interceptor.

Asked by: Jeff1987
Thank you for your question. Interceptor Plus is a chicken flavored chewable tablet. Interceptor is a artificial beef flavored chewable tablet . Also Interceptor Plus covers one additional intestinal parasite which is tapeworms. Otherwise both medications prevent Heartworm disease , as well as treat and control common intestinal parasites including roundworms, hookworms and whipworms.
Answered by: Crystal RPTechnician
Date published: 2019-02-02

Does interceptor kill fleas and ticks?

Asked by: Monica
Thank you for your question. Interceptor Plus is a monthly, broad spectrum parasiticide used to prevent heartworm disease, as well as treat and control common intestinal parasites including roundworms, hookworms, whipworms and tapeworms.
Answered by: Crystal RPTechnician
Date published: 2019-01-22

Is there a less expensive generic version of Interceptor Plus available

Asked by: tom624
Thank you for your question. There is no generic available for Interceptor Plus. We do however offer Tri-heart Plus which is the generic to Heartgard Plus.
Answered by: Crystal RPTechnician
Date published: 2018-08-14

My dog is exactly 50 lbs. She is 1 year 3 months old. I'm not sure which one to buy the one that goes up to 50 lb or the 50.1 lb and higher?

Asked by: Lily
Thank you for your question. The medication is to be dosed based on your furry friends exact weight. Since this medication requires a veterinarian approval your vet will determine the appropriate dose of medication.
Answered by: Crystal RPTechnician
Date published: 2018-08-08

Is interceptor plus safe for collies?

Asked by: Robomom
Thank you for your question. Yes it is, this medication requires a prescription so your veterinarian will determine if it is suitable for your furry friend.
Answered by: Crystal RPTechnician
Date published: 2018-08-01
  • y_2020, m_8, d_4, h_15CST
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvqa, vn_bulk_3.0.10
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasquestionsanswers, tq_92
  • loc_en_US, sid_prod11710, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=LAST_APPROVED_ANSWER_SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_1800petmeds
  • bvseo_sdk, dw_cartridge, 18.2.0, p_sdk_3.2.0
  • CLOUD, getContent, 12ms
  • questions, product

What is Interceptor Plus (milbemycin oxime/praziquantel)?

Interceptor Plus is a monthly, broad spectrum parasiticide used to prevent heartworm disease, as well as treat and control common intestinal parasites including roundworms, hookworms, whipworms and tapeworms. Interceptor Plus offers long-lasting protection in the convenience of a tasty, easy-to-administer chewable. The chewable tablets are chicken flavored, which is an added benefit for dogs suffering from beef allergies. Most dogs love the taste, and you can rest assured that your best friend will be protected against heartworms for a full month. Interceptor Plus requires a prescription from your veterinarian. It is available as a 6-pack, which provides six months of heartworm protection or as a 12-pack which provides 12 months of protection.

NOTE: To protect your dog from flea and ticks, try Credelio.

For:

Dogs and Puppies over 6 weeks of age and weighing more than 2 pounds

Benefits:

  • Each tablet provides a full month of protection against heartworms, roundworms, hookworms, whipworms and tapeworms
  • Tasty, chicken-flavored chewable is easy to administer
  • Chewables can be given directly to your dog or broken up and mixed with food
  • Available in four weight categories: 2-8 lbs, 8.1-25 lbs, 25.1-50 lbs, and 50.1-100 lbs
  • Package includes calendar reminder stickers to help make sure you never miss a dose

How does Interceptor Plus work?

Interceptor Plus contains the active ingredient milbemycin oxime to prevent heartworm disease caused by Dirofilaria immitis as well as treat and control roundworms, hookworms, and whipworms. It also contains praziquantel, which treats tapeworm infection.

Interceptor Plus: once-a-month, tasty real-chicken chew that protects against five common parasites

Cautions:

For use in dogs and puppies over 6 weeks of age and weighing more than 2 pounds only. Do not use in cats or in humans. Keep this and all drugs out of the reach of children. Treatment with fewer than 6 monthly doses after the last exposure to mosquitoes may not provide complete heartworm prevention. The safety of Interceptor Plus has not been evaluated in dogs used for breeding or in lactating females.

Brand Name

Interceptor Plus

Generic Name

Milbemycin Oxime (mil-beh-my-sin ox-eem), praziquantel (pr'z-kwn'tl)

Manufacturer:

Elanco

What is the most important thing I should know about Interceptor Plus?

Interceptor Plus is used for the prevention of heartworm disease caused by Dirofilaria immitis, and for the treatment and control of adult roundworm (Toxocara canis, Toxascaris leonina), adult hookworm (Ancylostoma caninum), adult whipworm (Trichuris vulpis) and adult tapeworm (Taenia pisiformis, Dipylidium canium, Echinococcus multilocularis and Echinococcus granulosus) infections in dogs and puppies over 6 weeks in age and weighing over 2 lbs. Prior to administration of Interceptor Plus (milbemycin oxime/praziquantel), dogs should be tested for existing heartworm infections. See Interceptor Plus label for complete safety information.

How should Interceptor Plus be given?

Interceptor Plus should be administered orally, once every month, at the minimum dosage of 0.23 mg/lb (0.5 mg/kg) milbemycin oxime, and 2.28 mg/lb (5 mg/kg) praziquantel. For heartworm prevention, give once monthly for at least 6 months after exposure. Dogs weighing 2-8 lbs should be given one Interceptor Plus chewable tablet (Orange Box) monthly. Dogs weighing 8.1-25 lbs should be given one Interceptor Plus chewable tablet (Green Box) monthly. Dogs weighing 25.1-50 lbs should be given one Interceptor Plus chewable tablet (Yellow Box) monthly. Dogs weighing 50.1-100 lbs should be given one Interceptor Plus chewable tablet (Blue Box) monthly.

What are the potential side effects of Interceptor Plus?

The following adverse reactions have been reported in dogs after administration of milbemycin oxime or praziquantel: vomiting, diarrhea, depression/lethargy, ataxia, weight loss, convulsions, weakness, and salivation.

What happens if I miss giving a dose of Interceptor Plus?

Give the missed dose as soon as you remember. Do not give a double dose of the medication.

What happens if I overdose my pet on Interceptor Plus?

Contact your veterinarian immediately.

What other drugs will affect Interceptor Plus?

Do not give Interceptor to your pet if your pet is already taking an alternate heartworm medication.

Interceptor Plus protects against 5 worms in 1 monthly chew

Interceptor Plus Dosing Chart: 2-8 pounds, 8.1-25 pounds, 25.1-50 pounds, 50.1-100 pounds

 

Interceptor Plus Directions:

  • Administer one Interceptor Plus chewable once every month.
  • Interceptor Plus may be offered by hand or broken into pieces and fed to dogs that normally swallow treats whole.
  • Interceptor Plus chewables should be administered in a manner that encourages your dog to chew, rather than to swallow without chewing. Care should be taken to be sure that your dog consumes the complete dose.
  • Observe your dog for a few minutes after administration to ensure that no part of the dose is lost or rejected. If it is suspected that any of the dose has been lost, redosing is recommended.
Tip:

Place the treatment reminder stickers (included) on your calendar for each of the months following the date of the initial treatment to help prevent missing a dose.

Interceptor Plus Dosage for Dogs:

Dogs/Puppies (6 weeks of age or older, weighing more than 2 lbs):
Weight Amount
2-8 lbs One chewable tablet monthly (Orange)
8.1-25 lbs One chewable tablet monthly (Green)
25.1-50 lbsOne chewable tablet monthly (Yellow)
50.1-100 lbs One chewable tablet monthly (Blue)
Over 100 lbsUse the appropriate combination of Interceptor Plus chewable tablets monthly
Interceptor Plus Dosage for Cats:
Cats
Do not use!
Interceptor Plus Dosage for Horses:
Horses
Do not use!
Storage:

Store at controlled room temperature between 59-77 F.

Interceptor Plus Ingredients:

Interceptor Plus for Dogs 2-8 lbs (Orange):
Active Ingredient (per tablet)Amount
Milbemycin Oxime 2.3 mg
Praziquantel 22.8 mg
Interceptor Plus for Dogs 8.1-25 lbs (Green):
Active Ingredient (per tablet)Amount
Milbemycin Oxime 5.75 mg
Praziquantel 57 mg
Interceptor Plus for Dogs 25.1-50 lbs (Yellow):
Active Ingredient (per tablet)Amount
Milbemycin Oxime 11.5 mg
Praziquantel 114 mg
Interceptor Plus for Dogs 50.1-100 lbs (Blue):
Active Ingredient (per tablet)Amount
Milbemycin Oxime 23 mg
Praziquantel 228 mg

What is Interceptor Plus (milbemycin oxime/praziquantel)?

Interceptor Plus is a monthly, broad spectrum parasiticide used to prevent heartworm disease, as well as treat and control common intestinal parasites including roundworms, hookworms, whipworms and tapeworms. Interceptor Plus offers long-lasting protection in the convenience of a tasty, easy-to-administer chewable. The chewable tablets are chicken flavored, which is an added benefit for dogs suffering from beef allergies. Most dogs love the taste, and you can rest assured that your best friend will be protected against heartworms for a full month. Interceptor Plus requires a prescription from your veterinarian. It is available as a 6-pack, which provides six months of heartworm protection or as a 12-pack which provides 12 months of protection.

NOTE: To protect your dog from flea and ticks, try Credelio.

For:

Dogs and Puppies over 6 weeks of age and weighing more than 2 pounds

Benefits:

  • Each tablet provides a full month of protection against heartworms, roundworms, hookworms, whipworms and tapeworms
  • Tasty, chicken-flavored chewable is easy to administer
  • Chewables can be given directly to your dog or broken up and mixed with food
  • Available in four weight categories: 2-8 lbs, 8.1-25 lbs, 25.1-50 lbs, and 50.1-100 lbs
  • Package includes calendar reminder stickers to help make sure you never miss a dose

How does Interceptor Plus work?

Interceptor Plus contains the active ingredient milbemycin oxime to prevent heartworm disease caused by Dirofilaria immitis as well as treat and control roundworms, hookworms, and whipworms. It also contains praziquantel, which treats tapeworm infection.

Interceptor Plus: once-a-month, tasty real-chicken chew that protects against five common parasites

Cautions:

For use in dogs and puppies over 6 weeks of age and weighing more than 2 pounds only. Do not use in cats or in humans. Keep this and all drugs out of the reach of children. Treatment with fewer than 6 monthly doses after the last exposure to mosquitoes may not provide complete heartworm prevention. The safety of Interceptor Plus has not been evaluated in dogs used for breeding or in lactating females.

Brand Name

Interceptor Plus

Generic Name

Milbemycin Oxime (mil-beh-my-sin ox-eem), praziquantel (pr'z-kwn'tl)

Manufacturer:

Elanco

What is the most important thing I should know about Interceptor Plus?

Interceptor Plus is used for the prevention of heartworm disease caused by Dirofilaria immitis, and for the treatment and control of adult roundworm (Toxocara canis, Toxascaris leonina), adult hookworm (Ancylostoma caninum), adult whipworm (Trichuris vulpis) and adult tapeworm (Taenia pisiformis, Dipylidium canium, Echinococcus multilocularis and Echinococcus granulosus) infections in dogs and puppies over 6 weeks in age and weighing over 2 lbs. Prior to administration of Interceptor Plus (milbemycin oxime/praziquantel), dogs should be tested for existing heartworm infections. See Interceptor Plus label for complete safety information.

How should Interceptor Plus be given?

Interceptor Plus should be administered orally, once every month, at the minimum dosage of 0.23 mg/lb (0.5 mg/kg) milbemycin oxime, and 2.28 mg/lb (5 mg/kg) praziquantel. For heartworm prevention, give once monthly for at least 6 months after exposure. Dogs weighing 2-8 lbs should be given one Interceptor Plus chewable tablet (Orange Box) monthly. Dogs weighing 8.1-25 lbs should be given one Interceptor Plus chewable tablet (Green Box) monthly. Dogs weighing 25.1-50 lbs should be given one Interceptor Plus chewable tablet (Yellow Box) monthly. Dogs weighing 50.1-100 lbs should be given one Interceptor Plus chewable tablet (Blue Box) monthly.

What are the potential side effects of Interceptor Plus?

The following adverse reactions have been reported in dogs after administration of milbemycin oxime or praziquantel: vomiting, diarrhea, depression/lethargy, ataxia, weight loss, convulsions, weakness, and salivation.

What happens if I miss giving a dose of Interceptor Plus?

Give the missed dose as soon as you remember. Do not give a double dose of the medication.

What happens if I overdose my pet on Interceptor Plus?

Contact your veterinarian immediately.

What other drugs will affect Interceptor Plus?

Do not give Interceptor to your pet if your pet is already taking an alternate heartworm medication.

Interceptor Plus protects against 5 worms in 1 monthly chew

Interceptor Plus Dosing Chart: 2-8 pounds, 8.1-25 pounds, 25.1-50 pounds, 50.1-100 pounds

 

Interceptor Plus Directions:

  • Administer one Interceptor Plus chewable once every month.
  • Interceptor Plus may be offered by hand or broken into pieces and fed to dogs that normally swallow treats whole.
  • Interceptor Plus chewables should be administered in a manner that encourages your dog to chew, rather than to swallow without chewing. Care should be taken to be sure that your dog consumes the complete dose.
  • Observe your dog for a few minutes after administration to ensure that no part of the dose is lost or rejected. If it is suspected that any of the dose has been lost, redosing is recommended.
Tip:

Place the treatment reminder stickers (included) on your calendar for each of the months following the date of the initial treatment to help prevent missing a dose.

Interceptor Plus Dosage for Dogs:

Dogs/Puppies (6 weeks of age or older, weighing more than 2 lbs):
Weight Amount
2-8 lbs One chewable tablet monthly (Orange)
8.1-25 lbs One chewable tablet monthly (Green)
25.1-50 lbsOne chewable tablet monthly (Yellow)
50.1-100 lbs One chewable tablet monthly (Blue)
Over 100 lbsUse the appropriate combination of Interceptor Plus chewable tablets monthly
Interceptor Plus Dosage for Cats:
Cats
Do not use!
Interceptor Plus Dosage for Horses:
Horses
Do not use!
Storage:

Store at controlled room temperature between 59-77 F.

Interceptor Plus Ingredients:

Interceptor Plus for Dogs 2-8 lbs (Orange):
Active Ingredient (per tablet)Amount
Milbemycin Oxime 2.3 mg
Praziquantel 22.8 mg
Interceptor Plus for Dogs 8.1-25 lbs (Green):
Active Ingredient (per tablet)Amount
Milbemycin Oxime 5.75 mg
Praziquantel 57 mg
Interceptor Plus for Dogs 25.1-50 lbs (Yellow):
Active Ingredient (per tablet)Amount
Milbemycin Oxime 11.5 mg
Praziquantel 114 mg
Interceptor Plus for Dogs 50.1-100 lbs (Blue):
Active Ingredient (per tablet)Amount
Milbemycin Oxime 23 mg
Praziquantel 228 mg