Interceptor Plus

3.8 out of 5 Customer Rating
Interceptor Plus is rated 3.3 out of 5 by 43.
  • y_2020, m_7, d_9, h_15
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.10
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_1, tr_42
  • loc_en_US, sid_prod11710, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_1800petmeds
  • bvseo_sdk, dw_cartridge, 18.2.0, p_sdk_3.2.0
  • CLOUD, getAggregateRating, 105ms
  • reviews, product
1. We'll ask for your vet's info during checkout.
2. We verify your prescription and ship your order!
Close
Starts $54.27 $37.99
Most orders ship the same day

Interceptor Plus

3.8 out of 5 Customer Rating
Interceptor Plus is rated 3.3 out of 5 by 43.
  • y_2020, m_7, d_9, h_15
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.10
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_1, tr_42
  • loc_en_US, sid_prod11710, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_1800petmeds
  • bvseo_sdk, dw_cartridge, 18.2.0, p_sdk_3.2.0
  • CLOUD, getAggregateRating, 105ms
  • reviews, product
Starts $54.27 $37.99
Most orders ship the same day
Dog

Reviews

Rated 5 out of 5 by from Dog loves and stays healthy! I've been using this with my 5 year old black lab mix for a year now. She sits for it like it's a really special treat! Just took her to the vet and she tested negative for heartworm and her fecal test was clean. No side effects noticed.
Date published: 2020-07-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from our 14 year old lab loves these our 14 year old black lab snaps these right up. no problems noted.
Date published: 2020-06-14
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Would not recommend Vet switched our pups to this meds - our french bulldog started having sezuires within 24 hours of taking it. She's never had a problem with meds before, her brothers and sisters have never had a problem and no history of sezuires from parents. By far the scariest thing I've ever witnessed!
Date published: 2020-06-04
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Really made my dog sick! My poor dog has been sick for 3 days now. Diarrhea , lethargic. I feel so sorry for her!! The first night she wouldn't move or reI thought she passed away. I'll never give this terrible drug again !!!
Date published: 2020-05-27
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Not Tasty to my dog My dog has to be force fed. Tried stuffing it in a cheese ball. Chopping it up in her food, she leaves the crumbs of Interceptor Plus in the bowl.... Crumbs!!! Never seen anything like this for her and medication.
Date published: 2020-05-04
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Poor CoCoa My poor fur baby has vomiting and what seems like she’s choking. It’s hard to watch her suffer. She also has depression where as she’s normally a happy playful puppy she just lays in odd places like under the bed in a corner or in the hallway. She’s a fiddler so for her to not want to be under us is heart breaking. The first dosage we thought the side effects were from the shots she received so we skipped a month to see if it was this meds unfortunately it is. This is my first fur baby I’m not sure what else to do other than watch her suffer.
Date published: 2020-04-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Dog Loves It! My Wire Fox Terrier loves these to the point that she thinks she's getting a treat when she sees the box. I've never noticed any side effects like the other comments have mentioned, and she's been using this since she was a puppy for the last 2.5 years. This brand was recommended to me by my Vet, and honestly I've never had a reason to try anything else out. My dog has a habit of eating anything she feels like which includes feces and grass that may have been peed on. She's always tested negative for parasites during her checkups.
Date published: 2020-04-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Reliable I have been using this for the past 15 years with all of my digs in several climates to include very humid states and my dogs have never had an issue. It is my go-to for safe protection for my fur-babies.
Date published: 2020-02-02
  • y_2020, m_7, d_9, h_15
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.10
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_1, tr_42
  • loc_en_US, sid_prod11710, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_1800petmeds
  • bvseo_sdk, dw_cartridge, 18.2.0, p_sdk_3.2.0
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 7ms
  • reviews, product

Questions

My vet will not give me a prescription for  this heart medication, and he stopped selling it, what can I do!

Asked by: Jayne
In many states, veterinarians are required by law to provide a written prescription if asked. Check your state laws to see if that is the case in your state.
Answered by: SuzyCVT
Date published: 2020-07-08

My dog has seizures, is this safe to give him

Asked by: Donna
Yes. Interceptor Plus is safe for dogs that have seizures.
Answered by: SuzyCVT
Date published: 2020-06-04

Do I need a script from my vet to get this? He is too expensive.

Asked by: Marianne
yes
Answered by: Shari PetMed Pro
Date published: 2020-06-04

Does it also prevent hookworm and round worm?

Asked by: Dini
Yes roundworms, hookworms, whipworms and tapeworms.
Answered by: Shari PetMed Pro
Date published: 2020-05-29

Can interceptor be given to a dogwho tested positive for heartworms and will be going through the treatment plan

Asked by: Lorraine
Cherley is correct, but some vets will put heartworm positive dogs on a monthly heartworm prevention as part of the treatment process, often starting with a lower dose. Please consult your vet for his/her recommendation as to the use of any monthly heartworm prevention during this time.
Answered by: SuztCVT
Date published: 2020-04-20

Do I need vet Prescription?

Asked by: Buxxdo
Interceptor Plus™ (milbemycin oxime/praziquantel) is a prescription-only medication. Consult your veterinarian to discuss if this medication is appropriate for your pet. Thank you.
Answered by: Joshua T
Date published: 2020-04-08

Is this medication ok to give with a seresto collar? 

Asked by: Ninas0818
Yes.
Answered by: Shari PetMed Pro
Date published: 2020-03-23

The ingredient list has only 2 ingredients on it, are there any other ingredients, including non-medicinal ingredients?

Asked by: krys
The 2 listed ingredients are the active ingredients. There are other ingredients that actually make the chewable tablet part. Other than real chicken, I can not find a list that shows everything else that goes into making the tablet.
Answered by: SuzyCVT
Date published: 2020-03-12
  • y_2020, m_7, d_9, h_15CST
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvqa, vn_bulk_3.0.10
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers, tq_91
  • loc_en_US, sid_prod11710, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=LAST_APPROVED_ANSWER_SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_1800petmeds
  • bvseo_sdk, dw_cartridge, 18.2.0, p_sdk_3.2.0
  • CLOUD, getContent, 6ms
  • questions, product

What is Interceptor Plus (milbemycin oxime/praziquantel)?

Interceptor Plus is a monthly, broad spectrum parasiticide used to prevent heartworm disease, as well as treat and control common intestinal parasites including roundworms, hookworms, whipworms and tapeworms. Interceptor Plus offers long-lasting protection in the convenience of a tasty, easy-to-administer chewable. The chewable tablets are chicken flavored, which is an added benefit for dogs suffering from beef allergies. Most dogs love the taste, and you can rest assured that your best friend will be protected against heartworms for a full month. Interceptor Plus requires a prescription from your veterinarian. It is available as a 6-pack, which provides six months of heartworm protection or as a 12-pack which provides 12 months of protection.

NOTE: To protect your dog from flea and ticks, try Credelio.

For:

Dogs and Puppies over 6 weeks of age and weighing more than 2 pounds

Benefits:

  • Each tablet provides a full month of protection against heartworms, roundworms, hookworms, whipworms and tapeworms
  • Tasty, chicken-flavored chewable is easy to administer
  • Chewables can be given directly to your dog or broken up and mixed with food
  • Available in four weight categories: 2-8 lbs, 8.1-25 lbs, 25.1-50 lbs, and 50.1-100 lbs
  • Package includes calendar reminder stickers to help make sure you never miss a dose

How does Interceptor Plus work?

Interceptor Plus contains the active ingredient milbemycin oxime to prevent heartworm disease caused by Dirofilaria immitis as well as treat and control roundworms, hookworms, and whipworms. It also contains praziquantel, which treats tapeworm infection.

Interceptor Plus: once-a-month, tasty real-chicken chew that protects against five common parasites

Cautions:

For use in dogs and puppies over 6 weeks of age and weighing more than 2 pounds only. Do not use in cats or in humans. Keep this and all drugs out of the reach of children. Treatment with fewer than 6 monthly doses after the last exposure to mosquitoes may not provide complete heartworm prevention. The safety of Interceptor Plus has not been evaluated in dogs used for breeding or in lactating females.

Brand Name

Interceptor Plus

Generic Name

Milbemycin Oxime (mil-beh-my-sin ox-eem), praziquantel (pr'z-kwn'tl)

Manufacturer:

Elanco

What is the most important thing I should know about Interceptor Plus?

Interceptor Plus is used for the prevention of heartworm disease caused by Dirofilaria immitis, and for the treatment and control of adult roundworm (Toxocara canis, Toxascaris leonina), adult hookworm (Ancylostoma caninum), adult whipworm (Trichuris vulpis) and adult tapeworm (Taenia pisiformis, Dipylidium canium, Echinococcus multilocularis and Echinococcus granulosus) infections in dogs and puppies over 6 weeks in age and weighing over 2 lbs. Prior to administration of Interceptor Plus (milbemycin oxime/praziquantel), dogs should be tested for existing heartworm infections. See Interceptor Plus label for complete safety information.

How should Interceptor Plus be given?

Interceptor Plus should be administered orally, once every month, at the minimum dosage of 0.23 mg/lb (0.5 mg/kg) milbemycin oxime, and 2.28 mg/lb (5 mg/kg) praziquantel. For heartworm prevention, give once monthly for at least 6 months after exposure. Dogs weighing 2-8 lbs should be given one Interceptor Plus chewable tablet (Orange Box) monthly. Dogs weighing 8.1-25 lbs should be given one Interceptor Plus chewable tablet (Green Box) monthly. Dogs weighing 25.1-50 lbs should be given one Interceptor Plus chewable tablet (Yellow Box) monthly. Dogs weighing 50.1-100 lbs should be given one Interceptor Plus chewable tablet (Blue Box) monthly.

What are the potential side effects of Interceptor Plus?

The following adverse reactions have been reported in dogs after administration of milbemycin oxime or praziquantel: vomiting, diarrhea, depression/lethargy, ataxia, weight loss, convulsions, weakness, and salivation.

What happens if I miss giving a dose of Interceptor Plus?

Give the missed dose as soon as you remember. Do not give a double dose of the medication.

What happens if I overdose my pet on Interceptor Plus?

Contact your veterinarian immediately.

What other drugs will affect Interceptor Plus?

Do not give Interceptor to your pet if your pet is already taking an alternate heartworm medication.

Interceptor Plus protects against 5 worms in 1 monthly chew

Interceptor Plus Dosing Chart: 2-8 pounds, 8.1-25 pounds, 25.1-50 pounds, 50.1-100 pounds

 

Interceptor Plus Directions:

  • Administer one Interceptor Plus chewable once every month.
  • Interceptor Plus may be offered by hand or broken into pieces and fed to dogs that normally swallow treats whole.
  • Interceptor Plus chewables should be administered in a manner that encourages your dog to chew, rather than to swallow without chewing. Care should be taken to be sure that your dog consumes the complete dose.
  • Observe your dog for a few minutes after administration to ensure that no part of the dose is lost or rejected. If it is suspected that any of the dose has been lost, redosing is recommended.
Tip:

Place the treatment reminder stickers (included) on your calendar for each of the months following the date of the initial treatment to help prevent missing a dose.

Interceptor Plus Dosage for Dogs:

Dogs/Puppies (6 weeks of age or older, weighing more than 2 lbs):
Weight Amount
2-8 lbs One chewable tablet monthly (Orange)
8.1-25 lbs One chewable tablet monthly (Green)
25.1-50 lbsOne chewable tablet monthly (Yellow)
50.1-100 lbs One chewable tablet monthly (Blue)
Over 100 lbsUse the appropriate combination of Interceptor Plus chewable tablets monthly
Interceptor Plus Dosage for Cats:
Cats
Do not use!
Interceptor Plus Dosage for Horses:
Horses
Do not use!
Storage:

Store at controlled room temperature between 59-77 F.

Interceptor Plus Ingredients:

Interceptor Plus for Dogs 2-8 lbs (Orange):
Active Ingredient (per tablet)Amount
Milbemycin Oxime 2.3 mg
Praziquantel 22.8 mg
Interceptor Plus for Dogs 8.1-25 lbs (Green):
Active Ingredient (per tablet)Amount
Milbemycin Oxime 5.75 mg
Praziquantel 57 mg
Interceptor Plus for Dogs 25.1-50 lbs (Yellow):
Active Ingredient (per tablet)Amount
Milbemycin Oxime 11.5 mg
Praziquantel 114 mg
Interceptor Plus for Dogs 50.1-100 lbs (Blue):
Active Ingredient (per tablet)Amount
Milbemycin Oxime 23 mg
Praziquantel 228 mg

What is Interceptor Plus (milbemycin oxime/praziquantel)?

Interceptor Plus is a monthly, broad spectrum parasiticide used to prevent heartworm disease, as well as treat and control common intestinal parasites including roundworms, hookworms, whipworms and tapeworms. Interceptor Plus offers long-lasting protection in the convenience of a tasty, easy-to-administer chewable. The chewable tablets are chicken flavored, which is an added benefit for dogs suffering from beef allergies. Most dogs love the taste, and you can rest assured that your best friend will be protected against heartworms for a full month. Interceptor Plus requires a prescription from your veterinarian. It is available as a 6-pack, which provides six months of heartworm protection or as a 12-pack which provides 12 months of protection.

NOTE: To protect your dog from flea and ticks, try Credelio.

For:

Dogs and Puppies over 6 weeks of age and weighing more than 2 pounds

Benefits:

  • Each tablet provides a full month of protection against heartworms, roundworms, hookworms, whipworms and tapeworms
  • Tasty, chicken-flavored chewable is easy to administer
  • Chewables can be given directly to your dog or broken up and mixed with food
  • Available in four weight categories: 2-8 lbs, 8.1-25 lbs, 25.1-50 lbs, and 50.1-100 lbs
  • Package includes calendar reminder stickers to help make sure you never miss a dose

How does Interceptor Plus work?

Interceptor Plus contains the active ingredient milbemycin oxime to prevent heartworm disease caused by Dirofilaria immitis as well as treat and control roundworms, hookworms, and whipworms. It also contains praziquantel, which treats tapeworm infection.

Interceptor Plus: once-a-month, tasty real-chicken chew that protects against five common parasites

Cautions:

For use in dogs and puppies over 6 weeks of age and weighing more than 2 pounds only. Do not use in cats or in humans. Keep this and all drugs out of the reach of children. Treatment with fewer than 6 monthly doses after the last exposure to mosquitoes may not provide complete heartworm prevention. The safety of Interceptor Plus has not been evaluated in dogs used for breeding or in lactating females.

Brand Name

Interceptor Plus

Generic Name

Milbemycin Oxime (mil-beh-my-sin ox-eem), praziquantel (pr'z-kwn'tl)

Manufacturer:

Elanco

What is the most important thing I should know about Interceptor Plus?

Interceptor Plus is used for the prevention of heartworm disease caused by Dirofilaria immitis, and for the treatment and control of adult roundworm (Toxocara canis, Toxascaris leonina), adult hookworm (Ancylostoma caninum), adult whipworm (Trichuris vulpis) and adult tapeworm (Taenia pisiformis, Dipylidium canium, Echinococcus multilocularis and Echinococcus granulosus) infections in dogs and puppies over 6 weeks in age and weighing over 2 lbs. Prior to administration of Interceptor Plus (milbemycin oxime/praziquantel), dogs should be tested for existing heartworm infections. See Interceptor Plus label for complete safety information.

How should Interceptor Plus be given?

Interceptor Plus should be administered orally, once every month, at the minimum dosage of 0.23 mg/lb (0.5 mg/kg) milbemycin oxime, and 2.28 mg/lb (5 mg/kg) praziquantel. For heartworm prevention, give once monthly for at least 6 months after exposure. Dogs weighing 2-8 lbs should be given one Interceptor Plus chewable tablet (Orange Box) monthly. Dogs weighing 8.1-25 lbs should be given one Interceptor Plus chewable tablet (Green Box) monthly. Dogs weighing 25.1-50 lbs should be given one Interceptor Plus chewable tablet (Yellow Box) monthly. Dogs weighing 50.1-100 lbs should be given one Interceptor Plus chewable tablet (Blue Box) monthly.

What are the potential side effects of Interceptor Plus?

The following adverse reactions have been reported in dogs after administration of milbemycin oxime or praziquantel: vomiting, diarrhea, depression/lethargy, ataxia, weight loss, convulsions, weakness, and salivation.

What happens if I miss giving a dose of Interceptor Plus?

Give the missed dose as soon as you remember. Do not give a double dose of the medication.

What happens if I overdose my pet on Interceptor Plus?

Contact your veterinarian immediately.

What other drugs will affect Interceptor Plus?

Do not give Interceptor to your pet if your pet is already taking an alternate heartworm medication.

Interceptor Plus protects against 5 worms in 1 monthly chew

Interceptor Plus Dosing Chart: 2-8 pounds, 8.1-25 pounds, 25.1-50 pounds, 50.1-100 pounds

 

Interceptor Plus Directions:

  • Administer one Interceptor Plus chewable once every month.
  • Interceptor Plus may be offered by hand or broken into pieces and fed to dogs that normally swallow treats whole.
  • Interceptor Plus chewables should be administered in a manner that encourages your dog to chew, rather than to swallow without chewing. Care should be taken to be sure that your dog consumes the complete dose.
  • Observe your dog for a few minutes after administration to ensure that no part of the dose is lost or rejected. If it is suspected that any of the dose has been lost, redosing is recommended.
Tip:

Place the treatment reminder stickers (included) on your calendar for each of the months following the date of the initial treatment to help prevent missing a dose.

Interceptor Plus Dosage for Dogs:

Dogs/Puppies (6 weeks of age or older, weighing more than 2 lbs):
Weight Amount
2-8 lbs One chewable tablet monthly (Orange)
8.1-25 lbs One chewable tablet monthly (Green)
25.1-50 lbsOne chewable tablet monthly (Yellow)
50.1-100 lbs One chewable tablet monthly (Blue)
Over 100 lbsUse the appropriate combination of Interceptor Plus chewable tablets monthly
Interceptor Plus Dosage for Cats:
Cats
Do not use!
Interceptor Plus Dosage for Horses:
Horses
Do not use!
Storage:

Store at controlled room temperature between 59-77 F.

Interceptor Plus Ingredients:

Interceptor Plus for Dogs 2-8 lbs (Orange):
Active Ingredient (per tablet)Amount
Milbemycin Oxime 2.3 mg
Praziquantel 22.8 mg
Interceptor Plus for Dogs 8.1-25 lbs (Green):
Active Ingredient (per tablet)Amount
Milbemycin Oxime 5.75 mg
Praziquantel 57 mg
Interceptor Plus for Dogs 25.1-50 lbs (Yellow):
Active Ingredient (per tablet)Amount
Milbemycin Oxime 11.5 mg
Praziquantel 114 mg
Interceptor Plus for Dogs 50.1-100 lbs (Blue):
Active Ingredient (per tablet)Amount
Milbemycin Oxime 23 mg
Praziquantel 228 mg