4.1 out of 5 Customer Rating
Hydroxyzine Pamoate is rated 4.3 out of 5 by 16.
  • y_2020, m_11, d_27, h_16
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.12
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_16
  • loc_en_US, sid_prod10598, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_1800petmeds
  • bvseo_sdk, dw_cartridge, 18.2.0, p_sdk_3.2.0
  • CLOUD, getAggregateRating, 6ms
  • reviews, product
1. We'll ask for your vet's info during checkout.
2. We verify your prescription and ship your order!
Close
Starts $0.61 $0.43
Most orders ship the same day
prod10598 product detail number 1.0
Hydroxyzine Pamoate
SOLD PER TABLET

Hydroxyzine Pamoate

4.1 out of 5 Customer Rating
Hydroxyzine Pamoate is rated 4.3 out of 5 by 16.
  • y_2020, m_11, d_27, h_16
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.12
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_16
  • loc_en_US, sid_prod10598, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_1800petmeds
  • bvseo_sdk, dw_cartridge, 18.2.0, p_sdk_3.2.0
  • CLOUD, getAggregateRating, 6ms
  • reviews, product
Starts $0.61 $0.43
Most orders ship the same day
Please select all product options.

Reviews

Rated 4 out of 5 by from Helpful Relief After using otc allergy medication, my vet changed me to Hydroxyzine. The first two weeks were like a miracle; after that Zoe became accustomed to it and began scratching and licking again, but it definitely does cut down on the amount of her itching. The sensitive skin shampoo and frequent baths also help. I have found that boredom also contributes to more licking.
Date published: 2010-10-17
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Almost a success I have a two year old Husky mix with airborne allergies, I used benadryl last year for her allergies but this year it wasn't working, her vet gave her hydroxyzine and it makes her more comfortable but doesn't completely relieve her of her itchiness.
Date published: 2010-06-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Major Improvement My dog has been taking hydroxyzine for about a year. She has severe allergies, scratching and chewing her paws constantly. This medicine really helps with these issues. We also have to use a medicated shampoo to control her itching. If we run out of it, we can sure tell the difference in her itching. The medicine does seem to make her sleep quiet a bit, and she drinks plenty of water. We make sure she gets to play and exercise for a good amount each day so she doesn't just lay around. I would recommend this medicine for allergy symptoms.
Date published: 2010-06-02
Rated 3 out of 5 by from It works! My 2 yr old Beagle/Plott Hound mix has terrible allergies year round and is worse in the winter (go figure). We use Hydroxyzine and it has improved her symptoms some. In the winter she has to take 3 pills since she has such a flair up.
Date published: 2010-01-08
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Works well My Jack Russell has allergies year around and I was using an otc antihistimine with limited success when my vet suggested hydroxyzine. It works much better, Newtie is much more comfortable and much happier. 1-800-PetMeds price is good too.
Date published: 2009-11-01
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Itchy Puppy Relief We have two Jack Russell Terriers who have allergies year round. They are worse in the summer months and are highly allergic to flea bites. Our puppy's allergies are much more severe. Hydroxyzine has been a much need relief. It doesn't totally get rid of his allergies, but it allows him to sleep and operate a bit more normally. It also helps to calm him down which is a bonus for a rambunctious JRT puppy who also is super itchy. We ran out for about 4 days and could tell a huge difference. He became really red again, pulled out tail hair, chewed up his paws and scratched sores onto his face. As soon as he was back on, they all started going away and he was back to being his sweet self. The only side effect I've noticed is that when he's on it he is more thirsty and retains more water weight.
Date published: 2009-10-13
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Waiting to see Zeke had a rash on his belly and the vet advised he had an airborne allergy..probably seasonal for the summer. So we've been on the meds for 2 days. He's had some diarrhea and I definitely don't like that it might cause him to be drowsy or dizzy. The dosage is slightly over what is recommended -- Zeke is 41 pounds and he's on 50 mg. I'm watching to see if it will be a problem. He's too lovable a guy to have him walking around in a confused state!
Date published: 2009-07-13
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good stuff My dog had a lot of small bumps on his back and was very flaky and dry. My vet prescribed this and his allergies have almost completely subsided. He is still flaky sometimes but the bumps now only come up rarely.
Date published: 2008-10-28
  • y_2020, m_11, d_27, h_16
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.12
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_16
  • loc_en_US, sid_prod10598, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_1800petmeds
  • bvseo_sdk, dw_cartridge, 18.2.0, p_sdk_3.2.0
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 6ms
  • reviews, product

Questions

Can I give Benadryl with hydroxyzine.

I have a 5month old Jack Rat and she has sever allergies. She is taking 10 mg of hydroxyzine according to her weight and it is helping, but still has rashes and itching.
Asked by: Teacher
No. Both Benadryl and Hydroxyzine are anti-histamines. Your pet could experience severe side effects such as dry mouth, a rapid heart rate and increased blood pressure well as trouble urinating. Please consult with your veterinarian to report your pet is still itching and has a rashes.
Answered by: Lilli Pharmacist
Date published: 2016-11-09

What foods/ food types should be avoided when taking Hydroxyzine HCl?

Cheese? Foods that increase tryptophan enzyme?
Asked by: VAFarm12
There are no known food interactions with hydroxyzine.
Answered by: Janine M./Pharmacist
Date published: 2016-09-26

Hydroxzyzine & pregnancy

My dog was taking Hydroxzyzine 50mg 2 x a day- We bred her at the end of July, todate we can only assume she Is pregnant....I seen the warning and am wondering if Ipossible I've caused damage to pups possibily developing....I will stop giving her allergy med but now Im concerned, as she's been taking for the past three weeks in which she may have become pregnant It should not be used in pregnant or nursing animals. Hydroxzyzine may cause drowsiness. Be sure to tell your veterinarian about any health conditions or other drugs your dog or cat may be taking.
Asked by: sharkerisme
You need to call your veterinarian about this. He can determine if there is any damage that may have occured if in fact your dog is pregnant. Thanks for your question.
Answered by: Marty Pharm D Rph
Date published: 2013-10-22

can I give hydroxyzine and tramadol to my dog

Asked by: pete
Yes, it is fine to give these 2 medications together.
Answered by: Kelly P
Date published: 2016-09-26

why is my do trembling

Are one of the side affect of Hydroxyzine or prednisolone trembling or shaking? He was givenprednisolone for ear infection and Hydroxyzine for his allergies I notice that after starting these medicatin he starts trembling like he is cold but the medication help his problems. Also his behaivor has changed he won't listen and he run away from me which he has neved done before.
Asked by: Tito
Thank you for your question. Hydroxyzine, like many antihistamines, can cause side effects such as nervousness, restlessness or irritability. Also, although it is rare, antihistamine overdose (hydroxyzine is an antihistamine) has been reported to cause tremors and seizures. It is recommended that you contact your veterinarian and report your pet's symptoms, to be safe and rule out these causes. After all, there may be other reasons that explain your dog's symptoms.
Answered by: Maggie - Student Pharmacist
Date published: 2016-09-26

Atopica with Hydroxyzine pamoate can they be used together?

Yokie is 4 yrs old and has bad allergies and red patches on stomach. Has been taking Atopica for several months, but still has flare ups. Can she take both Atopica and Hydroxyzine Pamoate10mg?
Asked by: Donna
Yes, Atopica and Hydroxyzine Pamoate may be given together.
Answered by: Lisa M
Date published: 2013-10-22

my pills look a little different, are they the same?

the pills that i have (and are looking for a refill) are called Hydroxyzine 25 mg. they pill is two green colors, but says "Watson 800 and 25mg" on them, they aren't identical to the ones you show, and there is no "proxxxx", (whatever your site shows after Hydroxyzine) on them. Are these the same medication?
Asked by: linda
Yes, they are the same medication. The ones you see on the site are manufactured by Eon Labs, a division of Sandoz.
Answered by: Rich, Pharmacy Intern
Date published: 2013-10-22

does it interfer with insulin in diabetic dogs

Asked by: snickers mom
I am not aware of any reason why a diabetic dog being given insulin injections cannot also be given hydroxyzine pamoate.
Answered by: Gary, Dir. of Pharmacy Services
Date published: 2013-10-22

she also takes generic rymadol. Is this ok?

Asked by: sue
Yes. You can give your pet Rimadyl and hydroxyzine pamoate. Just be aware the combination may make your pet drowsy.
Answered by: Gary, Dir. of Pharmacy Services
Date published: 2013-10-22

what are the side effects

Asked by: megi101
The most common side effects that can occur in your pet while being given hydroxyzine pamoate include: dizziness, drowsiness, blurred vision, dry mouth, nausea or vomiting.
Answered by: Gary, Dir. of Pharmacy Services
Date published: 2013-10-22

Can my dog take this with Deramaxx 25 mg?

Asked by: Jo
Yes. Deramaxx and Hydroxyzine can be used together. There are no drug interactions between these products that I am aware off. Increased drowsiness may be a side effect.
Answered by: Gary, Dir. of Pharmacy Services
Date published: 2017-05-12

Dog constantly scratches her back

She will crawl under the deck and scratch her back on the bottom of the deck. When I scratch her back she loses strength in her back legs and goes down on the floor as soon as I stop she stands back up. Last year took to vet he gave her an allergy shot. and she was good for about 6-7 months. Is this product going to help her???
Asked by: Vanilla boy
I don't know. This product can be used for allergies but your veterinarian would need to decide if this is the best product for your pet.
Answered by: Gary, Dir. of Pharmacy Services
Date published: 2013-10-22

Will Hydroxyzine interfere with my dogs thyrozine 0.4mg daily? She has taken hydroxyine before but not with thyroid meds?

She's a white boxer with allergies....imagine that. Never met a boxer without allergies!
Asked by: Chelle
There are no drug interactions that I am aware of when giving hydroxyzie pamoate and thyrozine (levothyroxine).
Answered by: Gary, Dir. of Pharmacy Services
Date published: 2013-10-22

Dose this product work for a dog's foot allergies (sensitive feet)?

Asked by: Camila
Once again, not sure what you mean by a foot allergy. However, hydroxyzine pamoate is used for allergies but needs to be prescribed by a veterinarian.
Answered by: Gary, Dir. of Pharmacy Services
Date published: 2013-10-22

can you use it for a 14# cat to travel for anxiety?

Asked by: asia?india
If your veterinarian feels it's the best product for your pet's travel anxiety he/she could prescribe it.
Answered by: Gary, Dir, of Pharmacy Services
Date published: 2013-10-22

What do you do if your dog is around 5 lbs?

Im looking for something for a 16 yr old yorkie (aka. Scooby Doo)who is extremely anxious and impossible to groom w/o afull-blown doggy-style panic attack. :0 I dont trust prof groomers 'cause of his stress levels/age. He desperately needs his nails cut, (looking a bit like "Foo Man Chu") his face is matted and clumped from his tear/mouth stains (nervous crying and nervous/compulsive licking). :( I use SPA Lavish Pet Facial Scrub/Shamp/Cond/Cologne-great products!) and his pads on his paws are overgrown/matted. :{ Lately he has been jumping like he is startling or scaring himself w/o any external reason/noises, etc. Little things like a camera flash/tv flicker startles him. He doesnt jump on/off furn anymore sometimes falls off and is afraid of doggy steps, he sometimes gets confused and loses his sense of direction or gets lost in an apartment we lived in for 7yrs. He is trained to litter box/Pooch Pads(great products) but sometimes is to lazy? to get there(been using male doggy diaper with generic winged maxi pads-works great!). We try to keep an eye on him and take him to box/pad reg/when he wakes up. I have a 2yr old male yorkie (aka. TROUBLE! Doo)that lives to aggravate him! (divebombing included-tried "Good Behavior Collar"-NO CHANGE :[ also trained to box/pad and uses doggy diaper also to prevent marking-is extremely jealous and pushing for a regime change). :) Scooby is happy to eat/sleep/be loved(just wants his mommy)and loves to go for a ride in the car or outside to roam/sun bathe/take extremely slow walks. :) He is my baby, before my ACTUAL baby (Haylie 15yrs). HELP! PLEASE, if you can recomend the best supplements etc. for a dog this age(16) to help treat/prevent age related issues/improve his quality of life(he is basically healthy just old - only has a few teeth left and cataracts). :{ There are hundreds of products all claiming to be the best and I have spent literally hours comparing ingredients, but have no clue what the essentials are/quality of product/creditability of manufacturer! :O He currently takes "Ark Naturals Joint Rescue" and both dogs take "Authority" brand treats for" Heart and Immune System" and "Adult Health and Wellness". THANK YOU SO VERY MUCH! ANY and ALL advice apprechiated! ;]
Asked by: dee
This is quite a complex question. However, based on the information you've given me about your pet in the first few sentences, I would highly recommend that your pet be seen by a veterinarian.
Answered by: Gary, Dir, of Pharmacy Services
Date published: 2013-10-22

Can vistaril be taken with fluoxitine?

Asked by: misspara
Yes. I cannot find any drug interaction that would prevent you from giving both medications to your pet. However, the combination of medications will increase drowsiness.
Answered by: Gary, Dir, of Pharmacy Services
Date published: 2013-10-22

NO VET IN AREA

We live high up in the Rocky Mtns. and have no veterinarian any where close to us. Is there any way I can purchase this product on-line without you contacting a vet? Do you have a in-house veterinarian that I could consult with? Thanks, Dwight Montana
Asked by: COCO
Sorry, we do not have a veterinarian on staff for you to consult with, and if we did, he/she would not be able to prescribe because there would be no client-patient-veterinarian relationship. As to getting hydroxzyzine pamoate without a prescription, I'm sorry, but we cannot do that. You don't say what you need this medication for, but there are over the counter products that we have available that can treat allergies or anxiety.
Answered by: Gary, Dir. of Pharmacy Services
Date published: 2013-10-22

Has anyone's dog experienced seizures on Hydroxyzine?

I have a 10 year old allergice lab and 2 weeks ago she was started on Hydroxyzine. She is now having frequent "Spasms" of 1 - 2 seconds long.
Asked by: kathy
Seizures could be a sign of overdose. I would contact your veterinarian to discuss these "spasms".
Answered by: Gary, Dir. of Pharmacy Services
Date published: 2013-10-22

Side effects of Hydroxyzine

Does this cause a Dog to pant like in the summer when they are hot?
Asked by: Donna
It is possible that this could be a side effect of the medication. I would suggest discussing this with your veterinarian.
Answered by: Gary, Dir, of Pharmacy Services
Date published: 2013-10-22

How many are in a package?

Asked by: pambo
These are sold per tablet.
Answered by: jenn
Date published: 2013-10-22

Hydroxzine

My dog an English Springer Spanial starts chasing his shadows ever time he is on this medication. Is there anything to this?
Asked by: Chuck
Talk to your veterinarian about any side effect that seems unusual or that is especially bothersome to your pet.
Answered by: jenn
Date published: 2013-10-22

what to give to your dog when there scared of fireworks

what would be good to give to my dog for the 4th of july we just found out she scared of fireworks
Asked by: sue
There is a product called Quiet Moments which is used for dogs that are scared of fireworks.
Answered by: Gary, Dir, of Pharmacy Services
Date published: 2016-09-26

what can we do for manic itching in our dog?

our female mix had a rough start--having a litter of pups while she was still a pup---she is very hyper and excitable. She has a terrible skin itch and never stops scratching. The vet. thought it was allergies but the pills he gave do nothing whatever---a friend asked their vet. and he suggested a yeast infection----she also spent time in the "pound' before we got her.
Asked by: grammie
You may want to see a veterinary dermatologist. In the interim, you may want to try Yucca Intensive which is an excellent product for allergy and itch.
Answered by: Gary, Dir, of Pharmacy Services
Date published: 2013-10-22

can you give Hydroxyzine Pamoate to a cat?

I need to take some cats on a 20 hour drive and i would like to know if there is something i can give them to make the trip a little easy for them
Asked by: goobers1999
Hydroxyzine pamoate should not be given to cats. There is a natural remedy called 1-800-PetMeds Be Serene that is an excellent product ro relieve travel anxiety in cats and dogs.
Answered by: Gary, Dir, of Pharmacy Services
Date published: 2013-10-22
  • y_2020, m_11, d_27, h_16CST
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvqa, vn_bulk_3.0.12
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasquestionsanswers, tq_33
  • loc_en_US, sid_prod10598, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=LAST_APPROVED_ANSWER_SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_1800petmeds
  • bvseo_sdk, dw_cartridge, 18.2.0, p_sdk_3.2.0
  • CLOUD, getContent, 6ms
  • questions, product

What is Hydroxyzine Pamoate?

Hydroxyzine pamoate is an antihistamine used for the treatment of allergies in dogs and cats. Hydroxyzine pamoate is sold per capsule and requires a prescription from your veterinarian.

For:

Dogs and Cats

Benefits:

  • Effective against hives, itching, and rashes
  • Can be used as a mild sedative or tranquilizer for anxious dogs
  • Sold per capsule

How does hydroxyzine pamoate work?

Hydroxyzine pamoate blocks the effects of histamine in the body. Hydroxyzine pamoate also depresses activity of the central nervous system and is also used to treat anxiety disorders and tension in stressful situations.

Cautions:

It should not be used in pregnant or nursing pets. Hydroxyzine pamoate may cause drowsiness. Be sure to tell your veterinarian about any health conditions or other drugs your dog or cat may be taking.

Brand Name:

Vistaril (Pfizer)

Generic Name:

Hydroxyzine Pamoate

What is the most important thing I should know about hydroxyzine pamoate?

Hydroxyzine pamoate (generic for Vistaril) is not FDA approved for use in veterinary medicine; however, it is a commonly accepted practice for veterinarians to use this medication in dogs and cats. Hydroxyzine pamoate is available as 25 mg and 50 mg capsules.

What should I discuss with my veterinarian before giving hydroxyzine to my pet?

Tell your veterinarian if your pet has heart, liver or kidney disease. Tell your veterinarian if your pet is pregnant or lactating. Tell your veterinarian about all prescription (Rx) and non-prescription (OTC) medications, including vitamins and supplements.

How should hydroxyzine pamoate be given?

The usual dose of hydroxyzine pamoate in dogs is 1 mg per pound of pet's body weightevery 6 to 8 hours. The usual dose in cats is 5 to 10 mg per cat every 8 to 12 hours. Hydroxyzine pamoate may cause drowsiness or dizziness. Follow the instructions on the prescription label. If you do not understand these directions ask your pharmacist or veterinarian to explain them to you.

What are the potential side effects of hydroxyzine pamoate?

Seek emergency veterinary medical attention if your pet experiences any signs of an allergic reaction (hives, difficulty breathing; swelling of the face, lips, tongue, or throat). Keep giving hydroxyzine pamoate and talk to your veterinarian if your pet develops any of these less serious side effects: dizziness, drowsiness, or confusion; blurred vision or dry mouth; nausea or vomiting. Talk to your veterinarian about any side effect that seems unusual or that is especially bothersome to your pet.

What happens if I miss giving a dose of hydroxyzine pamoate?

Give the missed dose as soon as you remember. However, if it almost time for the next regularly scheduled dose, skip the missed dose and give the next one as directed. Do not give a double dose of the medication.

What happens if I overdose my pet on hydroxyzine pamoate?

If you suspect your pet has received an overdose of hydroxyzine pamoate, consult your veterinarian or emergency veterinary clinic. Overdose of hydroxyzine pamoate may cause nausea, vomiting, drowsiness, seizures, and/or slow breathing.

What should I avoid while giving hydroxyzine pamoate?

Hydroxyzine pamoate can cause drowsiness and dizziness.

What other drugs will affect hydroxyzine pamoate?

Hydroxyzine pamoate may interact with acepromazine, amitriptyline (Elavil), chlorpheniramine (Chlor-Trimeton), celmastine (Tavist), fluoxetine (Prozac), meperidine (Demerol), or Phenobarbital.

Hydroxyzine Pamoate Directions:

  • Hydroxyzine pamoate (available as capsules) is a prescription antihistamine that is useful to treat allergic conditions in dogs and cats that affect the skin such as hives, itching, and rashes.
  • Hydroxyzine pamoate is not FDA approved for use in veterinary medicine; however, it is a commonly accepted practice for veterinarians to prescribe this medication for dogs and cats.
  • Hydroxyzine pamoate depresses activity of the central nervous system so it is also used to treat anxiety disorders and tension in stressful situations.
Tip:

Hydroxyzine pamoate may cause drowsiness or dizziness.

Hydroxyzine Pamoate Dosage:

Hydroxyzine Pamoate Dosage for Cats
Weight Dosage
All weights Give 5 to 10 mg per cat every 8 to 12 hours or as directed by veterinarian.
Hydroxyzine Pamoate Dosage for Dogs
Weight Dosage
All weights Give 1 mg/lb of body weight every 6 to 8 hours or as directed by veterinarian
Hydroxyzine Pamoate Dosage for Horses
Horses
Do not use!

Storage:

Store this medication at room temperature away from moisture and heat.

Hydroxyzine Pamoate Ingredients:

Hydroxyzine Pamoate 25 mg Capsule
Active Ingredients (per capsule) Amount
Hydroxyzine Pamoate 25 mg
Other Ingredients: Colloidal Silicon Dioxide, D&C Yellow #10, D&C Yellow #10 Aluminum Lake, FD&C #1 Blue Aluminum Lake, FD&C Blue #2 Aluminum Lake, FD&C Green #3, FD&C Red #40 Aluminum Lake, FD&C Yellow #6, Gelatin, Hydroxypropyl Cellulose, Lactose Monohydrate, Magnesium Stearate, Sodium Lauryl Sulfate, Sodium Starch Glycolate, Titanium Dioxide.
Hydroxyzine Pamoate 50 mg Capsule
Active Ingredients (per capsule) Amount
Hydroxyzine Pamoate 50 mg
Other Ingredients: Colloidal Silicon Dioxide, D&C Yellow #10, D&C Yellow #10 Aluminum Lake, FD&C #1 Blue Aluminum Lake, FD&C Blue #2 Aluminum Lake, FD&C Green #3, FD&C Red #40 Aluminum Lake, FD&C Yellow #6, Gelatin, Hydroxypropyl Cellulose, Lactose Monohydrate, Magnesium Stearate, Sodium Lauryl Sulfate, Sodium Starch Glycolate, Titanium Dioxide.

What is Hydroxyzine Pamoate?

Hydroxyzine pamoate is an antihistamine used for the treatment of allergies in dogs and cats. Hydroxyzine pamoate is sold per capsule and requires a prescription from your veterinarian.

For:

Dogs and Cats

Benefits:

  • Effective against hives, itching, and rashes
  • Can be used as a mild sedative or tranquilizer for anxious dogs
  • Sold per capsule

How does hydroxyzine pamoate work?

Hydroxyzine pamoate blocks the effects of histamine in the body. Hydroxyzine pamoate also depresses activity of the central nervous system and is also used to treat anxiety disorders and tension in stressful situations.

Cautions:

It should not be used in pregnant or nursing pets. Hydroxyzine pamoate may cause drowsiness. Be sure to tell your veterinarian about any health conditions or other drugs your dog or cat may be taking.

Brand Name:

Vistaril (Pfizer)

Generic Name:

Hydroxyzine Pamoate

What is the most important thing I should know about hydroxyzine pamoate?

Hydroxyzine pamoate (generic for Vistaril) is not FDA approved for use in veterinary medicine; however, it is a commonly accepted practice for veterinarians to use this medication in dogs and cats. Hydroxyzine pamoate is available as 25 mg and 50 mg capsules.

What should I discuss with my veterinarian before giving hydroxyzine to my pet?

Tell your veterinarian if your pet has heart, liver or kidney disease. Tell your veterinarian if your pet is pregnant or lactating. Tell your veterinarian about all prescription (Rx) and non-prescription (OTC) medications, including vitamins and supplements.

How should hydroxyzine pamoate be given?

The usual dose of hydroxyzine pamoate in dogs is 1 mg per pound of pet's body weightevery 6 to 8 hours. The usual dose in cats is 5 to 10 mg per cat every 8 to 12 hours. Hydroxyzine pamoate may cause drowsiness or dizziness. Follow the instructions on the prescription label. If you do not understand these directions ask your pharmacist or veterinarian to explain them to you.

What are the potential side effects of hydroxyzine pamoate?

Seek emergency veterinary medical attention if your pet experiences any signs of an allergic reaction (hives, difficulty breathing; swelling of the face, lips, tongue, or throat). Keep giving hydroxyzine pamoate and talk to your veterinarian if your pet develops any of these less serious side effects: dizziness, drowsiness, or confusion; blurred vision or dry mouth; nausea or vomiting. Talk to your veterinarian about any side effect that seems unusual or that is especially bothersome to your pet.

What happens if I miss giving a dose of hydroxyzine pamoate?

Give the missed dose as soon as you remember. However, if it almost time for the next regularly scheduled dose, skip the missed dose and give the next one as directed. Do not give a double dose of the medication.

What happens if I overdose my pet on hydroxyzine pamoate?

If you suspect your pet has received an overdose of hydroxyzine pamoate, consult your veterinarian or emergency veterinary clinic. Overdose of hydroxyzine pamoate may cause nausea, vomiting, drowsiness, seizures, and/or slow breathing.

What should I avoid while giving hydroxyzine pamoate?

Hydroxyzine pamoate can cause drowsiness and dizziness.

What other drugs will affect hydroxyzine pamoate?

Hydroxyzine pamoate may interact with acepromazine, amitriptyline (Elavil), chlorpheniramine (Chlor-Trimeton), celmastine (Tavist), fluoxetine (Prozac), meperidine (Demerol), or Phenobarbital.

Hydroxyzine Pamoate Directions:

  • Hydroxyzine pamoate (available as capsules) is a prescription antihistamine that is useful to treat allergic conditions in dogs and cats that affect the skin such as hives, itching, and rashes.
  • Hydroxyzine pamoate is not FDA approved for use in veterinary medicine; however, it is a commonly accepted practice for veterinarians to prescribe this medication for dogs and cats.
  • Hydroxyzine pamoate depresses activity of the central nervous system so it is also used to treat anxiety disorders and tension in stressful situations.
Tip:

Hydroxyzine pamoate may cause drowsiness or dizziness.

Hydroxyzine Pamoate Dosage:

Hydroxyzine Pamoate Dosage for Cats
Weight Dosage
All weights Give 5 to 10 mg per cat every 8 to 12 hours or as directed by veterinarian.
Hydroxyzine Pamoate Dosage for Dogs
Weight Dosage
All weights Give 1 mg/lb of body weight every 6 to 8 hours or as directed by veterinarian
Hydroxyzine Pamoate Dosage for Horses
Horses
Do not use!

Storage:

Store this medication at room temperature away from moisture and heat.

Hydroxyzine Pamoate Ingredients:

Hydroxyzine Pamoate 25 mg Capsule
Active Ingredients (per capsule) Amount
Hydroxyzine Pamoate 25 mg
Other Ingredients: Colloidal Silicon Dioxide, D&C Yellow #10, D&C Yellow #10 Aluminum Lake, FD&C #1 Blue Aluminum Lake, FD&C Blue #2 Aluminum Lake, FD&C Green #3, FD&C Red #40 Aluminum Lake, FD&C Yellow #6, Gelatin, Hydroxypropyl Cellulose, Lactose Monohydrate, Magnesium Stearate, Sodium Lauryl Sulfate, Sodium Starch Glycolate, Titanium Dioxide.
Hydroxyzine Pamoate 50 mg Capsule
Active Ingredients (per capsule) Amount
Hydroxyzine Pamoate 50 mg
Other Ingredients: Colloidal Silicon Dioxide, D&C Yellow #10, D&C Yellow #10 Aluminum Lake, FD&C #1 Blue Aluminum Lake, FD&C Blue #2 Aluminum Lake, FD&C Green #3, FD&C Red #40 Aluminum Lake, FD&C Yellow #6, Gelatin, Hydroxypropyl Cellulose, Lactose Monohydrate, Magnesium Stearate, Sodium Lauryl Sulfate, Sodium Starch Glycolate, Titanium Dioxide.