5 out of 5 Customer Rating
Heartgard Plus Chewables is rated 4.9 out of 5 by 1788.
  • y_2021, m_1, d_15, h_17
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.12
  • cp_3, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_20, tr_1768
  • loc_en_US, sid_prod10002, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_1800petmeds
  • bvseo_sdk, dw_cartridge, 18.2.0, p_sdk_3.2.0
  • CLOUD, getAggregateRating, 36ms
  • reviews, product
1. We'll ask for your vet's info during checkout.
2. We verify your prescription and ship your order!
Close
Starts $52.13 $36.49
Most orders ship the same day

Heartgard Plus Chewables

5 out of 5 Customer Rating
Heartgard Plus Chewables is rated 4.9 out of 5 by 1788.
  • y_2021, m_1, d_15, h_17
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.12
  • cp_3, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_20, tr_1768
  • loc_en_US, sid_prod10002, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_1800petmeds
  • bvseo_sdk, dw_cartridge, 18.2.0, p_sdk_3.2.0
  • CLOUD, getAggregateRating, 36ms
  • reviews, product
Starts $52.13 $36.49
Most orders ship the same day
Dog
Please select all product options.
Customers Also Viewed
Starts $28.56 $19.99
Shop Now
Customers Also Viewed
Starts $28.56 $19.99
Shop Now

Reviews

Rated 5 out of 5 by from My dog considers these to be treats! My dogs always enjoy these monthly chewables. And they work.
Date published: 2020-04-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Feeling good. I am at ease knowing that my best friend is safely being taken care of.
Date published: 2020-04-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Simple and Reliable Couldn't be easier to get medication. Shipping is fast, prices are cheaper and re-filling is super easy with reminders sent through email. Love the bonus coupons and treats shipped too!
Date published: 2020-04-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from heartgard I have always use this product and always have good luck with it. and she will take it without fears.
Date published: 2020-04-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Product I bought this heart guard earlier in the month and my dog ate it without any problems. Also want to add I am pleased with PetMeds they delivered the product free of charge in several days cause my pet was past due.
Date published: 2020-04-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Rowdy enjoys when dad can order from home! Grateful and blessed for low price, along with fast free shipping to house during stay-at-home order! 1800petmeds has a list of vets to choose from and they contact for verification of prescription. After conformation from vet on my heartworm medication, purchase of Heartgard Plus Chewables was verified and shipped. Customer service on the phone helps, answers questions, and explains during entire process! Will order again from website.
Date published: 2020-04-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product I’ve been giving my dog this medication for years. I love the way it keeps him heart worm free. He loves the tastes so he doesn’t turn his nose up when he sees me getting it out.
Date published: 2020-04-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Outstanding Product!!! I have been using this product for my dog’s entire 8 1/2 year life so far. He has never had any problems with it. Heartworm tests are always negative, and never have had any signs of worms.
Date published: 2020-04-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great I get all 4 of my dogs there heart guard and they have no problem taking it
Date published: 2020-04-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Rapid prescription acquisition...and easy. Great communication. Rapid shipping.
Date published: 2020-04-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Medicine Shipment I am happy with the expediency in getting the order shipped so quickly. Also, I compared prices and found they have the most competitive. Great service +better prices = SWEET!
Date published: 2020-04-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Duke and Baby Duke and Baby love them and they keep them health that's important to me.
Date published: 2020-04-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product and Murphy loves them. I have been giving Murphy, my 9 year old boxer, heartgard chewables for years. I wouldn’t give her anything else. She loves them.
Date published: 2020-04-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Must be Flavorful! My dog, Penny, 6 years old, thinks these are treats! When she sees me opening the monthly tablet, she gets very excited! She will sit for as many minutes as it takes me to open the packet. She is healthy as welll.
Date published: 2020-04-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Blue loves to eat this. Blue is age 11 and goes to Vet each year for this, etc. Had to do it this way as Vet too far away To visit due to pandemic.
Date published: 2020-04-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product I’ve used this product for about 20 years now on all of my rescued dogs. Never an issue and they eat it as it’s a “special treat.” Recently tried the generic brand and loved it and loved the price. It was more like a harder large pill and my Staffordshire has dental issues and it’s difficult for her to eat. I had to cut it up and I was worried she wasn’t getting all of the medication as she’s short, stocky and about 60lbs. Great price, however, and I would use it in a heartbeat if my dogs teeth were better.
Date published: 2020-04-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great customer service. My dog loves the heartguard.
Date published: 2020-04-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from It’s time buyer Wow! Y’all are great! I placed a first time order on a Friday and you contacted my vet and I had my meds my Monday. Extremely please with the price and service. Missy loved the treat! Thank you
Date published: 2020-03-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent I love this product and the best part was that you guys safe me a an hour trip to my vet. You guys did it all contacted my vet and made the purchase so easy for me. I will definitely keep buying it from you all. Thank you.
Date published: 2020-03-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fast and friendly The price was good and after I mailed in the prescription I received them in a few days. It is a nice touch to include a dog bone with the meds. I love that and so does my dog!!
Date published: 2020-03-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Proactive Health Guard I enjoy the savings we get on all our buddies meds and we proactively keep him healthy.
Date published: 2020-03-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Saved money Saved 35.00 buying our heartgard on this site
Date published: 2020-03-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from TEDDY LOVES HIS HEARTGUARD these are great since teddy thinks they are a treat margo
Date published: 2020-03-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from easy to use and Pupper likes the taste I must say my Pup usually is a picky eater he will eat what he like and reject everything else but he does like the taste and it dose comes with a marked month to keep track of you gave him his monthly dose or not or if another family member already gave him his dose which is helpful.
Date published: 2020-03-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Value Bought 12 pack of heartgard for my small dog. Fast delivery and product is as advertised and cheaper than vet.
Date published: 2020-03-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from First time order I was happy with the customer service, fast shipping, product and treat for our dog. Thank you!
Date published: 2020-03-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from biglou easy to give and dogs love taste. its like a treat for them.
Date published: 2020-03-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good Product He was tested for heartworm yesterday, and the results were negative! He's been on Heartgard for almost a year now.
Date published: 2020-03-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My dog loves his Heartguard!! He’s been on it since I rescued home ten yrs ago!!
Date published: 2020-03-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Always Works! The best pricing and incredible service!
Date published: 2020-03-09
  • y_2021, m_1, d_15, h_17
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.12
  • cp_3, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_20, tr_1768
  • loc_en_US, sid_prod10002, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_1800petmeds
  • bvseo_sdk, dw_cartridge, 18.2.0, p_sdk_3.2.0
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 19ms
  • reviews, product

Questions

My dog's weight exceeds 100 pounds. Would I also need an additional 01-25 lbs dose?

Asked by: Cindy
Heartgard® Plus Chewables (ivermectin and pyrantel pamoate) is a prescription-only medication. Consult your Veterinarian to discuss if this medication is appropriate for your dog. For dogs weighing over 100lbs, it will be a combination of appropriate chewables.
Answered by: Joshua T
Date published: 2020-04-07

I understand that the Heartgard doses only include dogs up to 100 lbs, however my pup is already 130+ lbs. What would I do for my pup? Double the dose?

Asked by: Smiles311
You will give your furry friend a 51-100 pound dose plus a dose to cover the remainder of your dog's weight...for the 30 pounds, give a 26-50 pound dose. If you pet goes over 150 pounds, then give 2 of the 51-100 pounds chews.
Answered by: SuzyCVT
Date published: 2020-04-03

I have a 165 lb bullmastiff. How.many Heartgards would.i need to give him?

Asked by: Kyle
Your large furry friend will require 2 chews of the 50-100 pound size each month...one to cover the first 100 pounds and the second to cover the remaining 65 pounds.
Answered by: SuzyCVT
Date published: 2020-04-02

Do you still need a RX if you have been getting it from the same vet for years? The only give a 6mo supply 'cos they want that new vet visit. I have friends who get a year's worth

Asked by: Gertie
A prescription is required even if your pet has been getting the medication for years. A yearly exam and yearly heartworm test is what most vet's require. Many will authorize the prescription for the remainder of the year if the first script was only for the first 6 months after the visit and test. If your vet requires a 6 month visit, talk to him/her about this requirement.
Answered by: SuzyCVT
Date published: 2020-04-02

Do I need a vet script

Asked by: Gail55
Yes.
Answered by: Shari PetMed Pro
Date published: 2020-03-28

My dog is 52#. 2 pounds lighter she'd get a dose of Ivermectin of 136 but cuz of the 2 extra #s, she will get double that amount (272).Same with Pyrantel Pamoate ( 227 vs 114). Should I cut the pill into quarters and give her 3/4 of a pill?

Asked by: Dog momma
The dose range for the medications have been formulated for the weight sizes indicated and the amount for your furry friend is what is required. It is not recommended to split the chew tablets as the active ingredients may not be evenly distributed throughout the chew which could result in incorrect dosing. Give the full chew to your dog. He/she will be fine. :)
Answered by: SuzyCVT
Date published: 2020-03-26

Do I need a prescription from my vet for heartguard?

Asked by: DENNIS
Yes.
Answered by: Shari PetMed Pro
Date published: 2020-04-02

does this medicine have an expiration date?

Asked by: Jojo
Yes. If you would like the current expiration date please call 800-738-6337.
Answered by: Shari PetMed Pro
Date published: 2020-03-24

Can i use two 25lbs two 50lbs chewables to treat my 54lbs dog

Asked by: Alan
We don't recommend that. Please speak with your veterinarian.
Answered by: Shari PetMed Pro
Date published: 2020-03-24

Does this product also cover misquitos

Asked by: Taz2015
No.
Answered by: Shari PetMed Pro
Date published: 2020-03-20

Is the generic *TRULY* the same as the name brand?  I’ve had issues (both animal and human) in the past with generic vs name brand where there was a difference - not good.

Asked by: Bec044
The generic has the same ingredients only difference is the name and format of the chewable. If you are unhappy with the product after ordering the generic you can contact us and we will happily replace it for the brand for you.
Answered by: Shari PetMed Pro
Date published: 2020-03-11

I have proof of a heart worm test with negative results. Is that all I need to buy from you?

Asked by: Marylou
This medication requires a prescription approval. Our pharmacy can contact your veterinarian to obtain the prescription for you prior to shipment.
Answered by: Cherley Petmeds Pro
Date published: 2020-03-05

Is the an unflavored Heartguard plus?

Asked by: Creminj
No.
Answered by: Shari PetMed Pro
Date published: 2020-02-27

What happens if I accidentally gave my 10 lbs yorkie the 45 to 80 pound dose

Asked by: Pamela
Seek emergency veterinary medical treatment.
Answered by: Cherley Petmeds Pro
Date published: 2020-02-03

My dog is 106#s. Will I need both the 51-100 and the 1-25 for him?

Asked by: Jim H
Yes. Combing both doses will keep your furry baby fully protected since your furry baby is over 100 lbs.
Answered by: Cherley Petmeds Pro
Date published: 2020-02-03

How do you get the prescriptions for Heartguard & Nexguard

Asked by: Bob4259
Our pharmacy contact your veterinarian to obtain the prescription for you prior to shipment.
Answered by: Cherley Petmeds Pro
Date published: 2020-01-14

What, if any, are the side effects of a single dose of Heartgard?

Asked by: Anonymous
Side effects of Heartgard Plus Chewables are rare at the recommended heartworm prevention dose. Higher doses in dogs may cause tremors, dilated pupils, loss of body weight and/or death.
Answered by: Lilli Rph
Date published: 2020-01-14

Do I need. Vet script to order the heart worm meds for my mini doxie?

Asked by: Judy
All heartworm medications require a prescription from a licensed veterinarian. You may place an order and we will be happy to contact your veterinarian for an approval.
Answered by: Lilli Rph
Date published: 2020-01-14

My dog weighs 155 pounds what is the dose of this  ivermectin for him 

Asked by: Peter
A 155 pound dog would require not only the 50-100 pound dose to cover the first 100 pounds, but another 50-100 pound dose to cover the next 55 pounds each month.
Answered by: SuzyCVT
Date published: 2020-01-08

Why is an Rx required?

Asked by: Old guizzer
Because the FDA requires it. Dogs must be examined and tested for heartworms by a veterinarian before being put on any prevention as there is a potential for anaphylactic reactions if heartworm prevention is given to a dog that already has heartworms.
Answered by: SuzyCVT
Date published: 2020-01-10

Do i need a prescription for this product

Asked by: Jaxson
Thank you for your question. Yes, all heartworm preventatives require a prescription.
Answered by: Crystal RPTechnician
Date published: 2020-01-10

Will Heartgard Plus be used as a treatment for Heartworms? Or is it only a preventative medication?

Asked by: Randy 54
HeartGard Plus is a preventative but some veterinarians will put a heartworm positive dog on this medication to prevent further infection and wait the 2-3 years for the current adult heartworms to die off, at which point, the dog will no longer be infected. This is often done when the actual treatment would be to risky due to the dog's physical condition. HeartGard Plus does NOT kill adult heartworms and the dog would be at risk of the complications associated with heartworm disease during the years it takes for the adult worms to die with potential permanent damage done to the heart and lungs as a result.
Answered by: SuzyCVT
Date published: 2020-01-10

Will the heart guard plus kill my dogs demodex mite?

Asked by: Joshua
Ivermectin, the active ingredient in HeartGard Plus can be used to treat demodectic mange, but not at the monthly dose. It is usually given daily for 30-60 days and at a higher strength per pound. Milbemycin, the ingredient in Interceptor (MilbeGuard is generic) can also be used, but again , it is given daily for 30-60 days. Please talk to your vet about proper treatment.
Answered by: SuzyCVT
Date published: 2020-01-10

Does the pill prevent intestinal worms

Asked by: Sherry
Heartgard Plus does not prevent intestinal parasite but is does treat for hookworms and roundworms monthly.
Answered by: SuzyCVT
Date published: 2019-11-23

Where is heartgard manufactured?

Asked by: Sablephae
Heartgard is manufactured by Merial here in the United States.
Answered by: Lisa M
Date published: 2019-10-26

Can I order by single pill?

Asked by: Jacl
We do offer Heartgard Plus in single tablets. Please call us at 1-800-738-6337 for more information.
Answered by: Lisa M
Date published: 2020-01-23

Does this treatment also protect against fleas and flea infestation

Asked by: Sadie
No, HeartGard Plus prevents heartworms and treats and controls hookworms and roundworms. You will need another product for flea and tick control.
Answered by: SuzyCVT
Date published: 2019-10-18

What is the difference between The Heartguard Plus compared to the generic one?  Is it just as safe and effective?

Asked by: Lexie11
The active ingrediants are the same for HeartGard Plus and TriHeart Plus. Both are equally effective. the only difference is that HeartGard Plus is a soft chew tablet while TriHeart Plus is a hard chew tablet.
Answered by: SuzyCVT
Date published: 2019-12-21

Is a vet's prescription required for heartworm meds? 

Asked by: Susan
Yes, all heartworm prevention requires a veterinarian's prescription. You may provide your vet's information when you order and PetMeds will contact your vet for approval.
Answered by: SuzyCVT
Date published: 2019-10-09

How can I apply my Hearthuard debit card of $12 to this order?

Asked by: Larry
Please contact our customer service department by calling 1-800-738-6337 so we can take care of this for you.
Answered by: Cherley Petmeds Pro
Date published: 2019-09-06
  • y_2021, m_1, d_15, h_17CST
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvqa, vn_bulk_3.0.12
  • cp_3, bvpage2n
  • co_hasquestionsanswers, tq_1103
  • loc_en_US, sid_prod10002, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=LAST_APPROVED_ANSWER_SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_1800petmeds
  • bvseo_sdk, dw_cartridge, 18.2.0, p_sdk_3.2.0
  • CLOUD, getContent, 65ms
  • questions, product

What are Heartgard Plus Chewables?

Heartgard Plus Chewables provide protection against heartworms, and treat and control roundworms and hookworms. These tasty chewables are made with real beef, making them easy to give your dog like a treat. Heartgard Plus Chewables are given monthly and require a prescription from your veterinarian.

For:

Dogs (6+ weeks of age, no weight requirement)

Benefits:

  • Effectively prevent heartworms
  • Treat and control roundworms & hookworms
  • Only given once a month
  • Delicious beef flavor makes them easy to administer

How do Heartgard Plus Chewables work?

Heartgard Plus Chewables contain ivermectin, a broad-spectrum antiparasitic medication used to prevent heartworms. They also contain Pyrantel Pamoate, an anthelminthic, used to prevent roundworms and hookworms.

Cautions:

Heartgard Plus Chewables may cause sensitivities in herding dog breeds. Heartgard Plus Chewables should be chewed, not swallowed whole. The chewables may be broken into pieces and fed to dogs that normally swallow treats whole. Make sure that your dog eats the entire dose. It is important to give your dog Heartgard Plus Chewables every month, year round. Do not skip winter months, as your dog may become infected if left unprotected. If you miss more than two months of dosage, please consult with your veterinarian as to whether to continue medication.

Brand Name:

Heartgard Plus (Merial), Iverhart Plus (Virbac), Tri-Heart Plus (Merck)

Generic Name:

Ivermectin, pyrantel pamoate

What is the most important thing I should know about Heartgard Plus Chewables?

The active ingredients in Heartgard Plus Chewables are ivermectin and pyrantel pamoate. Use with caution, as Collies and other herding dog breeds have been known to have adverse reactions to ivermectin administered at elevated dose levels. Heartworm testing should be performed prior to the start of prevention therapy. If your pet is off Heartgard Plus Chewables for 6 months or less, start the medication and test after 6 months since microfilaria, that take 6 months to mature, will result in a positive test result. In addition, Heartgard Plus Chewables have shown a wide margin of safety at the recommended dose level in dogs including pregnant or breeding dogs, stud dogs and puppies aged 6 or more weeks.

What should I discuss with my veterinarian before giving Heartgard Plus Chewables to my pet?

Tell your veterinarian if your pet has ever had an allergic reaction to the medication, any of its individual ingredients, or to beef.

How should Heartgard Plus Chewables be given?

Give Heartgard Plus Chewables exactly as directed by your veterinarian. If you do not understand the directions, ask your pharmacist or veterinarian to explain them to you. Heartgard Plus Chewables must be chewed. They should not be swallowed whole.

What are the potential side effects of Heartgard Plus Chewables?

Side effects of Heartgard Plus Chewables are rare at the recommended heartworm prevention dose. Higher doses in dogs may cause tremors, dilated pupils, loss of body weight and/or death.

What happens if I miss giving a dose of Heartgard Plus Chewables?

Give the missed dose as soon as you remember. Do not give a double dose of the medication.

What happens if I overdose my pet on Heartgard Plus Chewables?

Seek emergency veterinary medical treatment.

What should I avoid while giving Heartgard Plus Chewables to my pet?

Because humans can contract hookworm from animals, it is important to maintain good personal hygiene. It is also important to eliminate fleas on your pet and in the household and to not feed your pet rodents or uncooked meat or fish. To prevent reinfection, daily cleanup of stools is recommended.

What other drugs will affect Heartgard Plus Chewables?

Do not give Heartgard Plus Chewables to your pet if he or she is already taking another heartworm medication.

Heartgard Plus Chewables Directions:

  • Give Heartgard Plus Chewables once a month on the same day of each month year round.
  • Heartgard Plus Chewables are for dogs only. Do not give to cats.
  • Heartgard Plus Chewables should not be swallowed whole.
  • Chewables may be broken and fed to dogs as pieces, or crumbled and mixed with food.
  • Watch your dog closely following dosing to be sure the entire dose has been swallowed. If it is not completely swallowed, give one more full recommended dose as soon as possible.
Tip:

Do not remove chewable from its wrapper until you are ready to give it to your pet.

Heartgard Plus Chewables Dosage for Dogs/Puppies: (6+ weeks of age)

Dogs/Puppies: (6+ weeks of age)
WeightDosage
Up to 25 lbsGive 1 chewable every month (Blue Box)
26-50 lbsGive 1 chewable every month (Green Box)
51-100 lbsGive 1 chewable every month (Brown Box)
Over 100 lbsGive combination of chewables based on weight
Heartgard Plus Chewables Dosage for Cats:
Cats
Do not use!
Heartgard Plus Chewables Dosage for Horses:
Horses
Do not use!
Storage:

Store between 68°F-77F (20°-25°C). Excursions between 59°F-86°F (15°-30°C) are permitted. Protect Heartgard Plus Chewables from light. Do not remove the chewable from its wrapper until you are ready to give the medicine to your pet. Keep this medication away from children and pets.

Heartgard Plus Chewables Ingredients:

Heartgard Plus Chewables Blue (for Dogs Up to 25 lbs):
Active IngredientAmount
Ivermectin68 mcg
Pyrantel57 mg
Heartgard Plus Chewables Green (for Dogs 26-50 lbs):
Active IngredientAmount
Ivermectin136 mcg
Pyrantel114 mg
Heartgard Plus Chewables Brown (for Dogs 51-100 lbs):
Active IngredientAmount
Ivermectin272 mcg
Pyrantel227 mg

What are Heartgard Plus Chewables?

Heartgard Plus Chewables provide protection against heartworms, and treat and control roundworms and hookworms. These tasty chewables are made with real beef, making them easy to give your dog like a treat. Heartgard Plus Chewables are given monthly and require a prescription from your veterinarian.

For:

Dogs (6+ weeks of age, no weight requirement)

Benefits:

  • Effectively prevent heartworms
  • Treat and control roundworms & hookworms
  • Only given once a month
  • Delicious beef flavor makes them easy to administer

How do Heartgard Plus Chewables work?

Heartgard Plus Chewables contain ivermectin, a broad-spectrum antiparasitic medication used to prevent heartworms. They also contain Pyrantel Pamoate, an anthelminthic, used to prevent roundworms and hookworms.

Cautions:

Heartgard Plus Chewables may cause sensitivities in herding dog breeds. Heartgard Plus Chewables should be chewed, not swallowed whole. The chewables may be broken into pieces and fed to dogs that normally swallow treats whole. Make sure that your dog eats the entire dose. It is important to give your dog Heartgard Plus Chewables every month, year round. Do not skip winter months, as your dog may become infected if left unprotected. If you miss more than two months of dosage, please consult with your veterinarian as to whether to continue medication.

Brand Name:

Heartgard Plus (Merial), Iverhart Plus (Virbac), Tri-Heart Plus (Merck)

Generic Name:

Ivermectin, pyrantel pamoate

What is the most important thing I should know about Heartgard Plus Chewables?

The active ingredients in Heartgard Plus Chewables are ivermectin and pyrantel pamoate. Use with caution, as Collies and other herding dog breeds have been known to have adverse reactions to ivermectin administered at elevated dose levels. Heartworm testing should be performed prior to the start of prevention therapy. If your pet is off Heartgard Plus Chewables for 6 months or less, start the medication and test after 6 months since microfilaria, that take 6 months to mature, will result in a positive test result. In addition, Heartgard Plus Chewables have shown a wide margin of safety at the recommended dose level in dogs including pregnant or breeding dogs, stud dogs and puppies aged 6 or more weeks.

What should I discuss with my veterinarian before giving Heartgard Plus Chewables to my pet?

Tell your veterinarian if your pet has ever had an allergic reaction to the medication, any of its individual ingredients, or to beef.

How should Heartgard Plus Chewables be given?

Give Heartgard Plus Chewables exactly as directed by your veterinarian. If you do not understand the directions, ask your pharmacist or veterinarian to explain them to you. Heartgard Plus Chewables must be chewed. They should not be swallowed whole.

What are the potential side effects of Heartgard Plus Chewables?

Side effects of Heartgard Plus Chewables are rare at the recommended heartworm prevention dose. Higher doses in dogs may cause tremors, dilated pupils, loss of body weight and/or death.

What happens if I miss giving a dose of Heartgard Plus Chewables?

Give the missed dose as soon as you remember. Do not give a double dose of the medication.

What happens if I overdose my pet on Heartgard Plus Chewables?

Seek emergency veterinary medical treatment.

What should I avoid while giving Heartgard Plus Chewables to my pet?

Because humans can contract hookworm from animals, it is important to maintain good personal hygiene. It is also important to eliminate fleas on your pet and in the household and to not feed your pet rodents or uncooked meat or fish. To prevent reinfection, daily cleanup of stools is recommended.

What other drugs will affect Heartgard Plus Chewables?

Do not give Heartgard Plus Chewables to your pet if he or she is already taking another heartworm medication.

Heartgard Plus Chewables Directions:

  • Give Heartgard Plus Chewables once a month on the same day of each month year round.
  • Heartgard Plus Chewables are for dogs only. Do not give to cats.
  • Heartgard Plus Chewables should not be swallowed whole.
  • Chewables may be broken and fed to dogs as pieces, or crumbled and mixed with food.
  • Watch your dog closely following dosing to be sure the entire dose has been swallowed. If it is not completely swallowed, give one more full recommended dose as soon as possible.
Tip:

Do not remove chewable from its wrapper until you are ready to give it to your pet.

Heartgard Plus Chewables Dosage for Dogs/Puppies: (6+ weeks of age)

Dogs/Puppies: (6+ weeks of age)
WeightDosage
Up to 25 lbsGive 1 chewable every month (Blue Box)
26-50 lbsGive 1 chewable every month (Green Box)
51-100 lbsGive 1 chewable every month (Brown Box)
Over 100 lbsGive combination of chewables based on weight
Heartgard Plus Chewables Dosage for Cats:
Cats
Do not use!
Heartgard Plus Chewables Dosage for Horses:
Horses
Do not use!
Storage:

Store between 68°F-77F (20°-25°C). Excursions between 59°F-86°F (15°-30°C) are permitted. Protect Heartgard Plus Chewables from light. Do not remove the chewable from its wrapper until you are ready to give the medicine to your pet. Keep this medication away from children and pets.

Heartgard Plus Chewables Ingredients:

Heartgard Plus Chewables Blue (for Dogs Up to 25 lbs):
Active IngredientAmount
Ivermectin68 mcg
Pyrantel57 mg
Heartgard Plus Chewables Green (for Dogs 26-50 lbs):
Active IngredientAmount
Ivermectin136 mcg
Pyrantel114 mg
Heartgard Plus Chewables Brown (for Dogs 51-100 lbs):
Active IngredientAmount
Ivermectin272 mcg
Pyrantel227 mg