Skip to Main Content ›
FREE Shipping on orders over $49
15% OFFCoupon Code:
SAVE15
100% Satisfaction Guaranteed
 15% OFF w/code
SAVE15
FREE Shipping $49+
100% Satisfaction Guaranteed
My Account
Errors:

Heartgard Plus Chewables

Rx Info
1. We'll ask for your vet's info during checkout.
2. We verify your prescription and ship your order!
Close
Starts $44.99 $32.29 
Ships in one business day or less
1
Select Pet's Weight:
Dog
01-25 lbs
26-50 lbs
51-100 lbs
Save with Generic
4.5 Star Rating
$25.92
Shop Now
Save with Generic
Shop Now
2
Select a Supply:
6 pack
$44.99
$37.99
$32.29
Price w/coupon SAVE15
12 pack
$83.73
$69.98
$59.48
Price w/coupon SAVE15
Free Shipping
Save $5 over 6 pk
Starts $44.99 $32.29 
Ships in one business day or less
Please select all product options.
3
Select a Quantity:
Quantity
Please select all product options.
Save with Generic
4.5 Star Rating
$25.92
Shop Now
Save with Generic
Shop Now
Product Info
How to Use
Ingredients
Customer Reviews
Q&A
Product Info

What are Heartgard Plus Chewables?

Heartgard Plus Chewables provide protection against heartworms, and treat and control roundworms and hookworms. These tasty chewables are made with real beef, making them easy to give your dog like a treat. Heartgard Plus Chewables are given monthly and require a prescription from your veterinarian.

For:

Dogs (6+ weeks of age, no weight requirement)

Benefits:

  • Effectively prevent heartworms
  • Treat and control roundworms & hookworms
  • Only given once a month
  • Delicious beef flavor makes them easy to administer

How do Heartgard Plus Chewables work?

Heartgard Plus Chewables contain ivermectin, a broad-spectrum antiparasitic medication used to prevent heartworms. They also contain Pyrantel Pamoate, an anthelminthic, used to prevent roundworms and hookworms.

Studies have indicated that certain dogs of the herding breeds are more sensitive to the effects of ivermectin administered at elevated dose levels due to the MDR1 gene. Dog breeds that may be affected include Australian Shepherd, Australian Shepherd Mini, Border Collie, Collie and English Shepherd.

Cautions:

Heartgard Plus Chewables may cause sensitivities in herding dog breeds. Heartgard Plus Chewables should be chewed, not swallowed whole. The chewables may be broken into pieces and fed to dogs that normally swallow treats whole. Make sure that your dog eats the entire dose. It is important to give your dog Heartgard Plus Chewables every month, year round. Do not skip winter months, as your dog may become infected if left unprotected. If you miss more than two months of dosage, please consult with your veterinarian as to whether to continue medication.

Brand Name:

Heartgard Plus (Merial), Iverhart Plus (Virbac), Tri-Heart Plus (Intervet)

Generic Name:

Ivermectin, pyrantel pamoate

What is the most important thing I should know about Heartgard Plus Chewables?

The active ingredients in Heargard Plus Chewables are ivermectin and pyrantel pamoate. Use with caution, as Collies and other herding dog breeds have been known to have adverse reactions to ivermectin administered at elevated dose levels. Heartworm testing should be performed prior to the start of prevention therapy. If your pet is off Heartgard Plus Chewables for 6 months or less, start the medication and test after 6 months since microfilaria, that take 6 months to mature, will result in a positive test result. In addition, Heartgard Plus Chewables have shown a wide margin of safety at the recommended dose level in dogs including pregnant or breeding dogs, stud dogs and puppies aged 6 or more weeks.

What should I discuss with my veterinarian before giving Heartgard Plus Chewables to my pet?

Tell your veterinarian if your pet has ever had an allergic reaction to the medication, any of its individual ingredients, or to beef.

How should Heartgard Plus Chewables be given?

Give Heartgard Plus Chewables exactly as directed by your veterinarian. If you do not understand the directions, ask your pharmacist or veterinarian to explain them to you. Heartgard Plus Chewables must be chewed. They should not be swallowed whole.

What are the potential side effects of Heartgard Plus Chewables?

Side effects of Heartgard Plus Chewables are rare at the recommended heartworm prevention dose. Higher doses in dogs may cause tremors, dilated pupils, loss of body weight and/or death.

What happens if I miss giving a dose of Heartgard Plus Chewables?

Give the missed dose as soon as you remember. Do not give a double dose of the medication.

What happens if I overdose my pet on Heartgard Plus Chewables?

Seek emergency veterinary medical treatment.

What should I avoid while giving Heartgard Plus Chewables to my pet?

Because humans can contract hookworm from animals, it is important to maintain good personal hygiene. It is also important to eliminate fleas on your pet and in the household and to not feed your pet rodents or uncooked meat or fish. To prevent reinfection, daily cleanup of stools is recommended.

What other drugs will affect Heartgard Plus Chewables?

Do not give Heartgard Plus Chewables to your pet if he or she is already taking another heartworm medication.

How to Use

Heartgard Plus Chewables Directions:

  • Give Heartgard Plus Chewables once a month on the same day of each month year round.
  • Heartgard Plus Chewables are for dogs only. Do not give to cats.
  • Heartgard Plus Chewables should not be swallowed whole.
  • Chewables may be broken and fed to dogs as pieces, or crumbled and mixed with food.
  • Watch your dog closely following dosing to be sure the entire dose has been swallowed. If it is not completely swallowed, give one more full recommended dose as soon as possible.
Tip:

Do not remove chewable from its wrapper until you are ready to give it to your pet.

Heartgard Plus Chewables Dosage for Dogs/Puppies: (6+ weeks of age)

Dogs/Puppies: (6+ weeks of age)
WeightDosage
Up to 25 lbsGive 1 chewable every month (Blue Box)
26-50 lbsGive 1 chewable every month (Green Box)
51-100 lbsGive 1 chewable every month (Brown Box)
Over 100 lbsGive combination of chewables based on weight
Heartgard Plus Chewables Dosage for Cats:
Cats
Do not use!
Heartgard Plus Chewables Dosage for Horses:
Horses
Do not use!
Storage:

Store between 68°F-77F (20°-25°C). Excursions between 59°F-86°F (15°-30°C) are permitted. Protect Heartgard Plus Chewables from light. Do not remove the chewable from its wrapper until you are ready to give the medicine to your pet. Keep this medication away from children and pets.

Ingredients

Heartgard Plus Chewables Ingredients:

Heartgard Plus Chewables Blue (for Dogs Up to 25 lbs):
Active IngredientAmount
Ivermectin68 mcg
Pyrantel57 mg
Heartgard Plus Chewables Green (for Dogs 26-50 lbs):
Active IngredientAmount
Ivermectin136 mcg
Pyrantel114 mg
Heartgard Plus Chewables Brown (for Dogs 51-100 lbs):
Active IngredientAmount
Ivermectin272 mcg
Pyrantel227 mg
Customer Reviews
Heartgard Plus Chewables is rated 4.8 out of 5 by 1296.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I bought this product and am extremely pleased with the service. My puppy look and feel much better.
Date published: 2017-12-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Never had a problem I've been giving Heartguard Plus Chewables to my present dog and previous dogs for many years. I've never had any issues with side effects and all of my dogs have taken the medication as treats. All except my most recent dog who has to have them with peanut butter, but then I can't get her to eat her dinner and any other pills I have to give her, however tasty they claim to be!
Date published: 2017-12-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great I bought it for the first time almost 5 year ago and I am still buying it on a regular basis. Thanks to it my Dog is always Happy and Healthy.
Date published: 2017-12-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I love 1800 petmeds 1800petmeds are so easy to order... Hassle free and very quick shipping :)
Date published: 2017-12-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product My dog is very fussy and she gobbles this up! Don’t change it!
Date published: 2017-12-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from It works. Heartgard Plus Chewables are the only ones that our dog Toby will eat!! The other ones we got from our vet, our dog would not eat. We had to break them into small pieces and hide them in chicken or cheese. Even then he would sometimes manage to spit them out. Thanks for these chewables, they make it so much easier to get Toby to take his medication.
Date published: 2017-12-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Heartguard I’m happy with the product as it is the same as provided by my vet but better priced! Just a side note...I ordered multiple medications for my 2 dogs & only received 1 treat in the box, although, appreciated!
Date published: 2017-12-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product We have had our labs on this product along with Frontline Plus for years. No fleas or parasites! One of our labs had a tendency to eat the chewable too fast without chewing it and would throw it up. We started breaking it up in smaller pieces and putting it in his food. No more issues.
Date published: 2017-12-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Can you help/ I just received my order. It came while I was at a work event, so my dog walker put it on the hall table. When I returned home a few hours later, my dog Callie had chewed up the box and eaten all 6 of the heart worm meds. Luckily she did not eat any of the frontline_-only one of those was slightly punctured. We called an emergency vet and Callie is ok, thank goodness. But I wondered if you could replace at a discount. She won't need heartworm mess til late January, but she will need them eventually. I have asked my son and the dog walker to always put Ned's up high in the future. Please let me know? I can send a photo. Thank you.
Date published: 2017-12-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome! I’d never stop giving my two dogs their Heartgard Plus Chewables!! It works great, & they love the taste!
Date published: 2017-12-02
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Easy to give For the most part my bulldog has no problem eating her chewable every month. She is a tad picky with food though so sometimes we have to hide it in her food
Date published: 2017-12-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Break it up first My fur baby looove the flavor of her heartgaurd we have to break it in to smaller pieces so she will actually chew it rather than inhale it in one bite. She is an older gal and has become a little picky with what she eats but she has no issues with taking her medication. I’m very pleased because I’d like to keep her around for a long time.
Date published: 2017-11-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Heartgard Plus Thanks to Heartgard Plus Jake is happy and healthy.
Date published: 2017-11-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Heartgard fan My Rotties love heartgard. They look forward to taking them. They think it is a treat.
Date published: 2017-11-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works as advertised My dog doesn't get heart worms, so it works like it says it does. They say it's beef flavored (I wouldn't know since I haven't tried it) so she eats them right up without protest (I usually use it as a reward after applying flea and tick juice because she hates that). Now if it could just teach her how to use the dog door...
Date published: 2017-11-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fast service and great products...can't beat it
Date published: 2017-11-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I have always had good luck with Heartgard with my dogs and since I now order my meds through petmeds.com I save about $15.00 for the two meds that I use. Also appreciate the fact that you contacted my vet for me for the prescription.
Date published: 2017-11-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product I would recommend it, it's very good.
Date published: 2017-11-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love the fact of saving money I bought this over a month ago and saved a lot of money compared to what I paid for it with other places. I loved the fact that Butterscotch Candi takes this once a month just like it was a treat.
Date published: 2017-11-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I love Thai place I been getting these heart worms medicine for awhile and I like they give a doggie bone he knows the box and when he sees it like he wants me to open up So he can have it I been getting the year supplies I love and the emails they send and with coupons specials
Date published: 2017-11-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Heartgard plus Heartgard Plus has been very good and reliable for many many years with several dogs and multiple dog breeds. I wouldn't use anything else! !!
Date published: 2017-11-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent product! I buy the Heartguard once year for our beloved dog Milo. I’m so happy, because the vet tells me he’s in good health because this product helps to treat and control ascarid and hookworms!
Date published: 2017-11-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Heartgard is what I have always used! I love my pets, 2 dogs and would never be without Heartgard. This was my first order from 1-800-PetMeds and they did an awesome job. They had to call my Vet and I thought I would have to wait a couple of weeks for the chewables. But nope! I got them so quickly, I was very surprised! I will definitely by my pets stuff from here again.
Date published: 2017-11-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Working Product!!! This product works very well to prevent heart worm and is very easy to administer to one"s pet. The flavor is well liked by my dog.
Date published: 2017-10-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Effective product I have 2 pomeranians, both have been on Heartgard Plus since their first vet visit. Great product that I recommend to friends all the time.
Date published: 2017-10-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great I purchased this from this company, and I am delighted by the way I was treated as a customer. Great product too.
Date published: 2017-10-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from AWESOME !!! Great product, always maintaining high quality. The delivery is quick and customer service is the best !!!
Date published: 2017-10-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from GREAT IVE BEEN GIVING MY ROCKY THIS FOR 4 YEARS NOW AND HE LIKES THEM NO PROBLEM WITH TAKING THEM. I BOUGHT GENERIC BRAD ONE TIME AND HE WOULD NOT TAKE THEM HE WAS 4 YEARS OLD ON SEPT 21 2017
Date published: 2017-10-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I have both of my dogs on it and they like it real well. The male is 11 yrs. old and I was afraid that he would have trouble eating it as he doesn't have many teeth.
Date published: 2017-10-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I had both my dogs on this last year no reactions to it.....then my vet gave them another brand ,,and they got very nauseated.. soooo, glad this one is great!!!! And it came SUPER QUICK!¡!!. It was supposed to take up to 7 days with the delivery I picked and I got it in two days
Date published: 2017-10-24
  • y_2018, m_1, d_11, h_10
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.3
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_13, tr_1283
  • loc_en_US, sid_prod10002, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_1800petmeds
Q&A
Heartgard Plus Chewables is rated 4.8 out of 5 by 1296.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I bought this product and am extremely pleased with the service. My puppy look and feel much better.
Date published: 2017-12-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Never had a problem I've been giving Heartguard Plus Chewables to my present dog and previous dogs for many years. I've never had any issues with side effects and all of my dogs have taken the medication as treats. All except my most recent dog who has to have them with peanut butter, but then I can't get her to eat her dinner and any other pills I have to give her, however tasty they claim to be!
Date published: 2017-12-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great I bought it for the first time almost 5 year ago and I am still buying it on a regular basis. Thanks to it my Dog is always Happy and Healthy.
Date published: 2017-12-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I love 1800 petmeds 1800petmeds are so easy to order... Hassle free and very quick shipping :)
Date published: 2017-12-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product My dog is very fussy and she gobbles this up! Don’t change it!
Date published: 2017-12-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from It works. Heartgard Plus Chewables are the only ones that our dog Toby will eat!! The other ones we got from our vet, our dog would not eat. We had to break them into small pieces and hide them in chicken or cheese. Even then he would sometimes manage to spit them out. Thanks for these chewables, they make it so much easier to get Toby to take his medication.
Date published: 2017-12-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Heartguard I’m happy with the product as it is the same as provided by my vet but better priced! Just a side note...I ordered multiple medications for my 2 dogs & only received 1 treat in the box, although, appreciated!
Date published: 2017-12-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product We have had our labs on this product along with Frontline Plus for years. No fleas or parasites! One of our labs had a tendency to eat the chewable too fast without chewing it and would throw it up. We started breaking it up in smaller pieces and putting it in his food. No more issues.
Date published: 2017-12-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Can you help/ I just received my order. It came while I was at a work event, so my dog walker put it on the hall table. When I returned home a few hours later, my dog Callie had chewed up the box and eaten all 6 of the heart worm meds. Luckily she did not eat any of the frontline_-only one of those was slightly punctured. We called an emergency vet and Callie is ok, thank goodness. But I wondered if you could replace at a discount. She won't need heartworm mess til late January, but she will need them eventually. I have asked my son and the dog walker to always put Ned's up high in the future. Please let me know? I can send a photo. Thank you.
Date published: 2017-12-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome! I’d never stop giving my two dogs their Heartgard Plus Chewables!! It works great, & they love the taste!
Date published: 2017-12-02
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Easy to give For the most part my bulldog has no problem eating her chewable every month. She is a tad picky with food though so sometimes we have to hide it in her food
Date published: 2017-12-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Break it up first My fur baby looove the flavor of her heartgaurd we have to break it in to smaller pieces so she will actually chew it rather than inhale it in one bite. She is an older gal and has become a little picky with what she eats but she has no issues with taking her medication. I’m very pleased because I’d like to keep her around for a long time.
Date published: 2017-11-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Heartgard Plus Thanks to Heartgard Plus Jake is happy and healthy.
Date published: 2017-11-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Heartgard fan My Rotties love heartgard. They look forward to taking them. They think it is a treat.
Date published: 2017-11-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works as advertised My dog doesn't get heart worms, so it works like it says it does. They say it's beef flavored (I wouldn't know since I haven't tried it) so she eats them right up without protest (I usually use it as a reward after applying flea and tick juice because she hates that). Now if it could just teach her how to use the dog door...
Date published: 2017-11-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fast service and great products...can't beat it
Date published: 2017-11-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I have always had good luck with Heartgard with my dogs and since I now order my meds through petmeds.com I save about $15.00 for the two meds that I use. Also appreciate the fact that you contacted my vet for me for the prescription.
Date published: 2017-11-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product I would recommend it, it's very good.
Date published: 2017-11-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love the fact of saving money I bought this over a month ago and saved a lot of money compared to what I paid for it with other places. I loved the fact that Butterscotch Candi takes this once a month just like it was a treat.
Date published: 2017-11-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I love Thai place I been getting these heart worms medicine for awhile and I like they give a doggie bone he knows the box and when he sees it like he wants me to open up So he can have it I been getting the year supplies I love and the emails they send and with coupons specials
Date published: 2017-11-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Heartgard plus Heartgard Plus has been very good and reliable for many many years with several dogs and multiple dog breeds. I wouldn't use anything else! !!
Date published: 2017-11-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent product! I buy the Heartguard once year for our beloved dog Milo. I’m so happy, because the vet tells me he’s in good health because this product helps to treat and control ascarid and hookworms!
Date published: 2017-11-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Heartgard is what I have always used! I love my pets, 2 dogs and would never be without Heartgard. This was my first order from 1-800-PetMeds and they did an awesome job. They had to call my Vet and I thought I would have to wait a couple of weeks for the chewables. But nope! I got them so quickly, I was very surprised! I will definitely by my pets stuff from here again.
Date published: 2017-11-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Working Product!!! This product works very well to prevent heart worm and is very easy to administer to one"s pet. The flavor is well liked by my dog.
Date published: 2017-10-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Effective product I have 2 pomeranians, both have been on Heartgard Plus since their first vet visit. Great product that I recommend to friends all the time.
Date published: 2017-10-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great I purchased this from this company, and I am delighted by the way I was treated as a customer. Great product too.
Date published: 2017-10-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from AWESOME !!! Great product, always maintaining high quality. The delivery is quick and customer service is the best !!!
Date published: 2017-10-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from GREAT IVE BEEN GIVING MY ROCKY THIS FOR 4 YEARS NOW AND HE LIKES THEM NO PROBLEM WITH TAKING THEM. I BOUGHT GENERIC BRAD ONE TIME AND HE WOULD NOT TAKE THEM HE WAS 4 YEARS OLD ON SEPT 21 2017
Date published: 2017-10-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I have both of my dogs on it and they like it real well. The male is 11 yrs. old and I was afraid that he would have trouble eating it as he doesn't have many teeth.
Date published: 2017-10-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I had both my dogs on this last year no reactions to it.....then my vet gave them another brand ,,and they got very nauseated.. soooo, glad this one is great!!!! And it came SUPER QUICK!¡!!. It was supposed to take up to 7 days with the delivery I picked and I got it in two days
Date published: 2017-10-24
  • y_2018, m_1, d_11, h_10
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.3
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_13, tr_1283
  • loc_en_US, sid_prod10002, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_1800petmeds
Get 10% OFF Now Offer
Close
Live Chat Share Website Feedback