Heartgard Plus Chewables

5 out of 5 Customer Rating
Heartgard Plus Chewables is rated 4.9 out of 5 by 1789.
  • y_2020, m_8, d_4, h_15
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.10
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_20, tr_1769
  • loc_en_US, sid_prod10002, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_1800petmeds
  • bvseo_sdk, dw_cartridge, 18.2.0, p_sdk_3.2.0
  • CLOUD, getAggregateRating, 50ms
  • reviews, product
1. We'll ask for your vet's info during checkout.
2. We verify your prescription and ship your order!
Close
Starts $52.13 $36.49
Most orders ship the same day

Heartgard Plus Chewables

5 out of 5 Customer Rating
Heartgard Plus Chewables is rated 4.9 out of 5 by 1789.
  • y_2020, m_8, d_4, h_15
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.10
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_20, tr_1769
  • loc_en_US, sid_prod10002, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_1800petmeds
  • bvseo_sdk, dw_cartridge, 18.2.0, p_sdk_3.2.0
  • CLOUD, getAggregateRating, 50ms
  • reviews, product
Save with Generic
Starts $28.56 $19.99
Shop Now
Starts $52.13 $36.49
Most orders ship the same day
Dog
Save with Generic
Starts $28.56 $19.99
Shop Now

Reviews

Rated 5 out of 5 by from Heart guard chewable I bought this for my dog Jay and I am very glad that I did.
Date published: 2020-05-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Service I highly recommend 1-800-pet meds for anything needed for your fur babies. They are reliable and very helpful. I ordered the Heartgard chewie for my pet and were delivered in a timely fashion along with a giant dog bone that “Sammie” carried around for exercise, he is a 10 pound little dog, but ate the bone all up after a while. Thanks Pet Meds
Date published: 2020-05-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from No fuss Heartgard is a pet parent must-have. We provide our pup with one every month and it's the only med we don't have to hide in peanut butter. She eats it like a treat. As for efficacy, her bloodwork for heartworm always come up negative. Ordering is easy; petmeds contacts my vet for me when scripts need refilling, coupons are always available and prices are better than those box services. My girl loves her special treat as well. Takes the fuss out of administering medication.
Date published: 2020-05-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fast, Cheaper than Vet, BUT! Everything is great except I was contacted by my bet & they said I needed to go up to the next weight on the Heartgard. So I called & left a message & a couple days later I received the order but @ the wrong weight. I was confused, any ideas of how to handle this the next time?
Date published: 2020-05-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Heart Guard Chewables 1-800 PetMeds was great at working with me and my vet to provide a prescription.
Date published: 2020-05-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Quick and easy They came as ordered. The only problem was waiting on the vet to send off the Rx 800petmeds.
Date published: 2020-05-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Loves the taste She loves the taste. Just like giving her a treat.
Date published: 2020-05-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product My little Yorkshire terrier has been on this ever since he was a puppy and old enough to get on it although like some meds there is some problems from what the vet at told me they might get sicker and a few other things for whatever reason he never had gotten sick off this heated up like a regular treat and he has no problems afterwards I trust this he's never used anything other than this product
Date published: 2020-05-05
Rated 3 out of 5 by from NEW TO HEARTGARD Since Latte has only had her first dosage of the HeartGard it is really hard to tell how she is doing with it, She did find the chew dosage quite likeable. Ony problem I have is the picture you have associated with her name. She is a long haired chihuahua not a short hair. I do not have a current photo to add at thsi time.
Date published: 2020-05-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great protection This is the best product on the market
Date published: 2020-05-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A Real Treat Desi started years ago with a heart worm pill. He would not take the pill. I had to crush it into a powder, and stick it to a slice of cheese for him to take it. My vet suggested a heart worm vaccine that would be good for 6 months. This worked well for a few years until we moved and changed vets. The new vet did not have the vaccine available, so we switched to Heartgard Plus Chewables. Desi loves the Heargard Plus Chewables, and looks forward to this monthly treat.
Date published: 2020-05-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from MISS COCOA APPROVES HELLO, I AM MISS COCOA AND MY CHOICE IS HEARTGUARD FROM 1-800-PET-MEDS. THE ARE VERY PROMPT AND I DO LIKE SERVICE AND FRIENDLY AND I CAN REST ASSURED WHEN I CALL THEM MY MEDICINE WILL BE AT MY DOOR FAST. NOW IF YOU WILL EXCUSE ME I NEED MY BEAUTY REST. DIVA'S MUST AVOID WRINKLES. NIGHTY NITE ALL.
Date published: 2020-04-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Heartgard Plus My Rocco has been using Heartgard Plus for years, then my Vet stopped carrying the product. They sold us a different brand which Rocco would not eat! We would need to hide the soft pill in food, but we would need to cut the pill up and it would take about 5 pc of meat to finish! Not good for his diet!
Date published: 2020-04-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Heart guard I bought this Heartgard and received it in about 7 days which was great. I had given Buddy the last one and it was not time for him to take the other one, but his new ones came on time. It was about 20.00 dollars cheaper.
Date published: 2020-04-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My dog loves the taste 1800 petmeds is amazing at following up with your Vets to ensure your dog gets the medications as quick as possible. Plus my pup loves the taste, I had no problem getting him to eat it.
Date published: 2020-04-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Price! Price of meds always the best! Contacts the vet right away! However vet isn't great in THEIR response time!! Thank you!
Date published: 2020-04-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from 13 yr.old.dog all our dogs have used this over the last 45 yrs. it has worked great for them
Date published: 2020-04-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product My dog has been taking these for a few years now and we have had no issues
Date published: 2020-04-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fast shipping! I purchased this recently and I’m so happy I did. The price, product and shipping were spot on. I’ll be a return customer for sure!
Date published: 2020-04-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My puppy loves to eat the treat, I love that he is protected ; ).. Safe puppy, happy summer!
Date published: 2020-04-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Like a tasty treat, but good for dog's health! This product obviously is doing what it is intended to do as my dog has been healthy, but they must be tasty to her too because she eats the chewable and swallows it down in a split second! Great product!!!
Date published: 2020-04-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Reasonable, healthy and timely delivery
Date published: 2020-04-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Miracle Chews My dog Elsa, just loves the Heartgard chews, she looks forward to having it every month. She eats it like a treat and that makes me happy. Great flavor, happy dog, and it keeps her heart worm free.
Date published: 2020-04-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great! Great service at a great price.
Date published: 2020-04-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome My girl thinks she’s getting a treat. Love it !
Date published: 2020-04-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy and tasty Our Jack Russell is pretty fussy but he takes this Chewable heart medicine like a treat! We were thrilled as he can be pretty fussy! Nice and easy to give him-such a relief !
Date published: 2020-04-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Thank you for the great service. These times are bad and we can’t go out. Ordering on line with your professionals , made it so Easy.
Date published: 2020-04-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from it's like a treat to my dog i had a mini dashound that lived 16 years and he was on heartgard plus and my border collie of 12 1/2 years also on heartgard plus and never tested positive for heartworms. ill stay with this product.
Date published: 2020-04-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from He thinks he's getting a treat! Easy to administer because he loves the taste! I like the monthly reminders on the back of the box too!
Date published: 2020-04-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Reliable and easy! Heart guard Plus Chewables have been keeping my 10# Maltese Winston well for many years. 1-800-PetMeds have been so easy to use and very convenient. Thanks from our grateful family!
Date published: 2020-04-17
  • y_2020, m_8, d_4, h_15
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.10
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_20, tr_1769
  • loc_en_US, sid_prod10002, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_1800petmeds
  • bvseo_sdk, dw_cartridge, 18.2.0, p_sdk_3.2.0
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 7ms
  • reviews, product

Questions

Do I need a script from my vet?

Asked by: Debbie
Yes. If you provide your vet's information, PetMeds will contact him/her for approval.
Answered by: SuzyCVT
Date published: 2020-06-04

Can diabetic dogs take Heart Guard Plus

Asked by: Lynn67
Yes, HeartGard Plus is safe to use in diabetic dogs.
Answered by: SuzyCVT
Date published: 2020-05-30

My dog weighs approximately 145 pounds do I need 2 different Heart worm chewables for him?

Asked by: Isabel
Yes. Your big baby would need 1 of the 50-100 pound size to cover the first 100 pounds plus 1 of the 25-50 pound size to cover the remaining 45 pounds each month.
Answered by: SuzyCVT
Date published: 2020-05-22

Why can't I fax a prescription from my Vet. You ask to have it mailed.

Asked by: Janet
We are sorry but by law the pharmacy needs the original prescription to process an order for a prescription medication.
Answered by: Shari PetMed Pro
Date published: 2020-05-22

My dog is exactly 50#. Which size range should I select?

Asked by: lino2
Please consult your veterinarian for his/her recommendation for your particular dog.
Answered by: SuzyCVT
Date published: 2020-05-19

are these manufactured in China?

Asked by: kathy
No. HeartGard Plus is made in the USA.
Answered by: SuzyCVT
Date published: 2020-05-19

Do I need a vet prescription to purchase flea prevention/heart worm prevention?Zoesmom

Asked by: Zoemom
All heartworm prevention requires a veterinarian's prescription. Some flea medications require a prescription (NexGard, Bravecto, Simparica for example) and others do not (Frontline, Advantage II for example).
Answered by: SuzyCVT
Date published: 2020-05-19

Is this ok for puppies

Asked by: Ssjet
It is but your veterinarian will need to prescribe it. Your vet may give you single doses until your fur baby is fully grown.
Answered by: Shari PetMed Pro
Date published: 2020-05-13

Do I have to pay duty, gst, on the u.s. $ converted to Canadian $?

Asked by: Mjane
We can't ship prescription medications to Canada. But the amount on the price online are US currency.
Answered by: Shari PetMed Pro
Date published: 2020-05-06

Do I need a veterinarian prescription to buy heart guard for my dog?

Asked by: Murphy
Yes. Heartgard® Plus Chewables (ivermectin and pyrantel pamoate) is a prescription-only medication. Consult your veterinarian to discuss if this medication is appropriate for your dog. Thank you.
Answered by: Joshua T
Date published: 2020-04-30

I have 3 dogs, i need to get some heart guard for them 2 of them are in the large weight and other in the middle weight but i can't do all 3 on the one order, is there a way to do that?

Asked by: Cindy
There is. Please give us call for assistance 800-738-6337.
Answered by: Shari PetMed Pro
Date published: 2020-04-28

Can i fax the rx over?

Asked by: Shanette
No. Only the vet can. You can only mail in the prescription.
Answered by: Shari PetMed Pro
Date published: 2020-04-23

My dog had a prescription for Heartguard  Plus from September 16-February 16. But did not take in March, need a new rx.  Will they provide another script with me missing a month and a couple days without taking a test to prove negative? 

Asked by: Margo
That would be something you will have to consult with your veterinarian.
Answered by: Shari PetMed Pro
Date published: 2020-04-23

I have tiny dogs, 4 - 10 pounds. Is it safe for them to have dose that goes to 25 pounds?

Asked by: Windy
There is no guarantee that any drug is 100% safe in all patients. Heartgard® Plus (ivermectin and pyrantel pamoate) is a prescription-only medication. Consult your veterinarian to discuss if this medication is appropriate for your dog. Your veterinarian should discuss with you any specific concerns about using this medication in your dogs. Thank you.
Answered by: Joshua T
Date published: 2020-04-22

How do I get a script , with Covid19 closures in affect ?

Asked by: OC Jim
If your furry friend is current on it's exam and heartworm test, you can place your order on-line, provide your vet's information and PetMeds will contact your vet for approval. With the current situation, your vet may be lenient and approve the medication if your dog is only slightly over-due for the exam and test. I suggest you call him/her to find out. The vet I work for has remained open as we are considered an essential business.
Answered by: SuztCVT
Date published: 2020-04-20

My neighbors dog passed away sadly she gave me her dogs heart guard pills up to 25 pound weight with the dog my dog is 40 pounds but I really cannot afford the heart guard right now I’m waiting for a stimulus check can I give my dog two of the 25 pound ch

Asked by: Biscuit
Sorry to hear about your neighbor's dog. The recommendation is to NOT use your neighbor's Heartgard® Plus for your dog. Heartgard® Plus is a prescription-only medication and should only be used for the pet it was prescribed to. Consult your veterinarian to discuss if this medication is appropriate for your dog. Thank you. .
Answered by: Joshua T
Date published: 2020-04-15

Are expired treatments effective?

Asked by: Martha
There is no guarantee that expired medications will be safe and/or effective. The recommendation is to not use any expired medications and dispose of them properly. Thank you.
Answered by: Joshua T
Date published: 2020-04-14

Do I need a prescription for this

Asked by: Nancy
My vet is closed because of the epidemic but I have their last treatment papers will this work?
Answered by: Patroni
Date published: 2020-04-19

Where do I mail the Rx after I order the medication 

Asked by: Shana
You can either provide provide your veterinarian's contact information for verification purposes online, or if you prefer, you may mail in your pet's prescription to: 1-800-PetMeds® Pharmacy 420 S. Congress Ave Suite 100 Delray Beach, FL 33445 Thank you.
Answered by: Joshua T
Date published: 2020-04-11

At what age should you begin Heartgard

Asked by: Louie
Heartgard® Plus Chewables (ivermectin and pyrantel pamoate) is recommended for dogs 6 weeks of age and older. Heartgard® Plus is a prescription-only medication. Consult your veterinarian to discuss if this medication is appropriate for your dog.
Answered by: Joshua T
Date published: 2020-04-07

My dog's weight exceeds 100 pounds. Would I also need an additional 01-25 lbs dose?

Asked by: Cindy
Heartgard® Plus Chewables (ivermectin and pyrantel pamoate) is a prescription-only medication. Consult your Veterinarian to discuss if this medication is appropriate for your dog. For dogs weighing over 100lbs, it will be a combination of appropriate chewables.
Answered by: Joshua T
Date published: 2020-04-07

I understand that the Heartgard doses only include dogs up to 100 lbs, however my pup is already 130+ lbs. What would I do for my pup? Double the dose?

Asked by: Smiles311
You will give your furry friend a 51-100 pound dose plus a dose to cover the remainder of your dog's weight...for the 30 pounds, give a 26-50 pound dose. If you pet goes over 150 pounds, then give 2 of the 51-100 pounds chews.
Answered by: SuzyCVT
Date published: 2020-04-03

I have a 165 lb bullmastiff. How.many Heartgards would.i need to give him?

Asked by: Kyle
Your large furry friend will require 2 chews of the 50-100 pound size each month...one to cover the first 100 pounds and the second to cover the remaining 65 pounds.
Answered by: SuzyCVT
Date published: 2020-04-02

Do you still need a RX if you have been getting it from the same vet for years? The only give a 6mo supply 'cos they want that new vet visit. I have friends who get a year's worth

Asked by: Gertie
A prescription is required even if your pet has been getting the medication for years. A yearly exam and yearly heartworm test is what most vet's require. Many will authorize the prescription for the remainder of the year if the first script was only for the first 6 months after the visit and test. If your vet requires a 6 month visit, talk to him/her about this requirement.
Answered by: SuzyCVT
Date published: 2020-04-02

Do I need a vet script

Asked by: Gail55
Yes.
Answered by: Shari PetMed Pro
Date published: 2020-03-28

My dog is 52#. 2 pounds lighter she'd get a dose of Ivermectin of 136 but cuz of the 2 extra #s, she will get double that amount (272).Same with Pyrantel Pamoate ( 227 vs 114). Should I cut the pill into quarters and give her 3/4 of a pill?

Asked by: Dog momma
The dose range for the medications have been formulated for the weight sizes indicated and the amount for your furry friend is what is required. It is not recommended to split the chew tablets as the active ingredients may not be evenly distributed throughout the chew which could result in incorrect dosing. Give the full chew to your dog. He/she will be fine. :)
Answered by: SuzyCVT
Date published: 2020-03-26

Do I need a prescription from my vet for heartguard?

Asked by: DENNIS
Yes.
Answered by: Shari PetMed Pro
Date published: 2020-04-02

does this medicine have an expiration date?

Asked by: Jojo
Yes. If you would like the current expiration date please call 800-738-6337.
Answered by: Shari PetMed Pro
Date published: 2020-03-24

Can i use two 25lbs two 50lbs chewables to treat my 54lbs dog

Asked by: Alan
We don't recommend that. Please speak with your veterinarian.
Answered by: Shari PetMed Pro
Date published: 2020-03-24

Does this product also cover misquitos

Asked by: Taz2015
No.
Answered by: Shari PetMed Pro
Date published: 2020-03-20
  • y_2020, m_8, d_4, h_15CST
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvqa, vn_bulk_3.0.10
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasquestionsanswers, tq_1093
  • loc_en_US, sid_prod10002, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=LAST_APPROVED_ANSWER_SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_1800petmeds
  • bvseo_sdk, dw_cartridge, 18.2.0, p_sdk_3.2.0
  • CLOUD, getContent, 55ms
  • questions, product

What are Heartgard Plus Chewables?

Heartgard Plus Chewables provide protection against heartworms, and treat and control roundworms and hookworms. These tasty chewables are made with real beef, making them easy to give your dog like a treat. Heartgard Plus Chewables are given monthly and require a prescription from your veterinarian.

For:

Dogs (6+ weeks of age, no weight requirement)

Benefits:

  • Effectively prevent heartworms
  • Treat and control roundworms & hookworms
  • Only given once a month
  • Delicious beef flavor makes them easy to administer

How do Heartgard Plus Chewables work?

Heartgard Plus Chewables contain ivermectin, a broad-spectrum antiparasitic medication used to prevent heartworms. They also contain Pyrantel Pamoate, an anthelminthic, used to prevent roundworms and hookworms.

Cautions:

Heartgard Plus Chewables may cause sensitivities in herding dog breeds. Heartgard Plus Chewables should be chewed, not swallowed whole. The chewables may be broken into pieces and fed to dogs that normally swallow treats whole. Make sure that your dog eats the entire dose. It is important to give your dog Heartgard Plus Chewables every month, year round. Do not skip winter months, as your dog may become infected if left unprotected. If you miss more than two months of dosage, please consult with your veterinarian as to whether to continue medication.

Brand Name:

Heartgard Plus (Merial), Iverhart Plus (Virbac), Tri-Heart Plus (Merck)

Generic Name:

Ivermectin, pyrantel pamoate

What is the most important thing I should know about Heartgard Plus Chewables?

The active ingredients in Heartgard Plus Chewables are ivermectin and pyrantel pamoate. Use with caution, as Collies and other herding dog breeds have been known to have adverse reactions to ivermectin administered at elevated dose levels. Heartworm testing should be performed prior to the start of prevention therapy. If your pet is off Heartgard Plus Chewables for 6 months or less, start the medication and test after 6 months since microfilaria, that take 6 months to mature, will result in a positive test result. In addition, Heartgard Plus Chewables have shown a wide margin of safety at the recommended dose level in dogs including pregnant or breeding dogs, stud dogs and puppies aged 6 or more weeks.

What should I discuss with my veterinarian before giving Heartgard Plus Chewables to my pet?

Tell your veterinarian if your pet has ever had an allergic reaction to the medication, any of its individual ingredients, or to beef.

How should Heartgard Plus Chewables be given?

Give Heartgard Plus Chewables exactly as directed by your veterinarian. If you do not understand the directions, ask your pharmacist or veterinarian to explain them to you. Heartgard Plus Chewables must be chewed. They should not be swallowed whole.

What are the potential side effects of Heartgard Plus Chewables?

Side effects of Heartgard Plus Chewables are rare at the recommended heartworm prevention dose. Higher doses in dogs may cause tremors, dilated pupils, loss of body weight and/or death.

What happens if I miss giving a dose of Heartgard Plus Chewables?

Give the missed dose as soon as you remember. Do not give a double dose of the medication.

What happens if I overdose my pet on Heartgard Plus Chewables?

Seek emergency veterinary medical treatment.

What should I avoid while giving Heartgard Plus Chewables to my pet?

Because humans can contract hookworm from animals, it is important to maintain good personal hygiene. It is also important to eliminate fleas on your pet and in the household and to not feed your pet rodents or uncooked meat or fish. To prevent reinfection, daily cleanup of stools is recommended.

What other drugs will affect Heartgard Plus Chewables?

Do not give Heartgard Plus Chewables to your pet if he or she is already taking another heartworm medication.

Heartgard Plus Chewables Directions:

  • Give Heartgard Plus Chewables once a month on the same day of each month year round.
  • Heartgard Plus Chewables are for dogs only. Do not give to cats.
  • Heartgard Plus Chewables should not be swallowed whole.
  • Chewables may be broken and fed to dogs as pieces, or crumbled and mixed with food.
  • Watch your dog closely following dosing to be sure the entire dose has been swallowed. If it is not completely swallowed, give one more full recommended dose as soon as possible.
Tip:

Do not remove chewable from its wrapper until you are ready to give it to your pet.

Heartgard Plus Chewables Dosage for Dogs/Puppies: (6+ weeks of age)

Dogs/Puppies: (6+ weeks of age)
WeightDosage
Up to 25 lbsGive 1 chewable every month (Blue Box)
26-50 lbsGive 1 chewable every month (Green Box)
51-100 lbsGive 1 chewable every month (Brown Box)
Over 100 lbsGive combination of chewables based on weight
Heartgard Plus Chewables Dosage for Cats:
Cats
Do not use!
Heartgard Plus Chewables Dosage for Horses:
Horses
Do not use!
Storage:

Store between 68°F-77F (20°-25°C). Excursions between 59°F-86°F (15°-30°C) are permitted. Protect Heartgard Plus Chewables from light. Do not remove the chewable from its wrapper until you are ready to give the medicine to your pet. Keep this medication away from children and pets.

Heartgard Plus Chewables Ingredients:

Heartgard Plus Chewables Blue (for Dogs Up to 25 lbs):
Active IngredientAmount
Ivermectin68 mcg
Pyrantel57 mg
Heartgard Plus Chewables Green (for Dogs 26-50 lbs):
Active IngredientAmount
Ivermectin136 mcg
Pyrantel114 mg
Heartgard Plus Chewables Brown (for Dogs 51-100 lbs):
Active IngredientAmount
Ivermectin272 mcg
Pyrantel227 mg

What are Heartgard Plus Chewables?

Heartgard Plus Chewables provide protection against heartworms, and treat and control roundworms and hookworms. These tasty chewables are made with real beef, making them easy to give your dog like a treat. Heartgard Plus Chewables are given monthly and require a prescription from your veterinarian.

For:

Dogs (6+ weeks of age, no weight requirement)

Benefits:

  • Effectively prevent heartworms
  • Treat and control roundworms & hookworms
  • Only given once a month
  • Delicious beef flavor makes them easy to administer

How do Heartgard Plus Chewables work?

Heartgard Plus Chewables contain ivermectin, a broad-spectrum antiparasitic medication used to prevent heartworms. They also contain Pyrantel Pamoate, an anthelminthic, used to prevent roundworms and hookworms.

Cautions:

Heartgard Plus Chewables may cause sensitivities in herding dog breeds. Heartgard Plus Chewables should be chewed, not swallowed whole. The chewables may be broken into pieces and fed to dogs that normally swallow treats whole. Make sure that your dog eats the entire dose. It is important to give your dog Heartgard Plus Chewables every month, year round. Do not skip winter months, as your dog may become infected if left unprotected. If you miss more than two months of dosage, please consult with your veterinarian as to whether to continue medication.

Brand Name:

Heartgard Plus (Merial), Iverhart Plus (Virbac), Tri-Heart Plus (Merck)

Generic Name:

Ivermectin, pyrantel pamoate

What is the most important thing I should know about Heartgard Plus Chewables?

The active ingredients in Heartgard Plus Chewables are ivermectin and pyrantel pamoate. Use with caution, as Collies and other herding dog breeds have been known to have adverse reactions to ivermectin administered at elevated dose levels. Heartworm testing should be performed prior to the start of prevention therapy. If your pet is off Heartgard Plus Chewables for 6 months or less, start the medication and test after 6 months since microfilaria, that take 6 months to mature, will result in a positive test result. In addition, Heartgard Plus Chewables have shown a wide margin of safety at the recommended dose level in dogs including pregnant or breeding dogs, stud dogs and puppies aged 6 or more weeks.

What should I discuss with my veterinarian before giving Heartgard Plus Chewables to my pet?

Tell your veterinarian if your pet has ever had an allergic reaction to the medication, any of its individual ingredients, or to beef.

How should Heartgard Plus Chewables be given?

Give Heartgard Plus Chewables exactly as directed by your veterinarian. If you do not understand the directions, ask your pharmacist or veterinarian to explain them to you. Heartgard Plus Chewables must be chewed. They should not be swallowed whole.

What are the potential side effects of Heartgard Plus Chewables?

Side effects of Heartgard Plus Chewables are rare at the recommended heartworm prevention dose. Higher doses in dogs may cause tremors, dilated pupils, loss of body weight and/or death.

What happens if I miss giving a dose of Heartgard Plus Chewables?

Give the missed dose as soon as you remember. Do not give a double dose of the medication.

What happens if I overdose my pet on Heartgard Plus Chewables?

Seek emergency veterinary medical treatment.

What should I avoid while giving Heartgard Plus Chewables to my pet?

Because humans can contract hookworm from animals, it is important to maintain good personal hygiene. It is also important to eliminate fleas on your pet and in the household and to not feed your pet rodents or uncooked meat or fish. To prevent reinfection, daily cleanup of stools is recommended.

What other drugs will affect Heartgard Plus Chewables?

Do not give Heartgard Plus Chewables to your pet if he or she is already taking another heartworm medication.

Heartgard Plus Chewables Directions:

  • Give Heartgard Plus Chewables once a month on the same day of each month year round.
  • Heartgard Plus Chewables are for dogs only. Do not give to cats.
  • Heartgard Plus Chewables should not be swallowed whole.
  • Chewables may be broken and fed to dogs as pieces, or crumbled and mixed with food.
  • Watch your dog closely following dosing to be sure the entire dose has been swallowed. If it is not completely swallowed, give one more full recommended dose as soon as possible.
Tip:

Do not remove chewable from its wrapper until you are ready to give it to your pet.

Heartgard Plus Chewables Dosage for Dogs/Puppies: (6+ weeks of age)

Dogs/Puppies: (6+ weeks of age)
WeightDosage
Up to 25 lbsGive 1 chewable every month (Blue Box)
26-50 lbsGive 1 chewable every month (Green Box)
51-100 lbsGive 1 chewable every month (Brown Box)
Over 100 lbsGive combination of chewables based on weight
Heartgard Plus Chewables Dosage for Cats:
Cats
Do not use!
Heartgard Plus Chewables Dosage for Horses:
Horses
Do not use!
Storage:

Store between 68°F-77F (20°-25°C). Excursions between 59°F-86°F (15°-30°C) are permitted. Protect Heartgard Plus Chewables from light. Do not remove the chewable from its wrapper until you are ready to give the medicine to your pet. Keep this medication away from children and pets.

Heartgard Plus Chewables Ingredients:

Heartgard Plus Chewables Blue (for Dogs Up to 25 lbs):
Active IngredientAmount
Ivermectin68 mcg
Pyrantel57 mg
Heartgard Plus Chewables Green (for Dogs 26-50 lbs):
Active IngredientAmount
Ivermectin136 mcg
Pyrantel114 mg
Heartgard Plus Chewables Brown (for Dogs 51-100 lbs):
Active IngredientAmount
Ivermectin272 mcg
Pyrantel227 mg