3.7 out of 5 Customer Rating
  • bvseo_sdk, dw_cartridge, 18.2.0, p_sdk_3.2.0
  • CLOUD, getAggregateRating, 68ms
  • reviews, product
  • bvseo-msg: Unsuccessful GET. status = 'ERROR', msg = 'Not Found.', code = '404';
Starts $44.99 $36.99
Most orders ship the same day

Frontline Plus

3.7 out of 5 Customer Rating
  • bvseo_sdk, dw_cartridge, 18.2.0, p_sdk_3.2.0
  • CLOUD, getAggregateRating, 68ms
  • reviews, product
  • bvseo-msg: Unsuccessful GET. status = 'ERROR', msg = 'Not Found.', code = '404';
Starts $44.99 $36.99
Most orders ship the same day
Dog
Cat
Please select all product options.
Customers Also Viewed
Starts $35.70 $24.99
Shop Now
Customers Also Viewed
Starts $35.70 $24.99
Shop Now

Questions

Does Frontline work for heartworm

Asked by: Gemma
Frontline Plus kills 100% of adult fleas on your pet within 12 hours and 100% of all ticks and chewing lice within 48 hours. This product is not effective against heartworm.
Answered by: Cherley Petmeds Pro
Date published: 2020-03-26

What’s the expiration date and how many in a pack?

Asked by: Robbie
There isn't an expiration date.
Answered by: Shari PetMed Pro
Date published: 2020-05-04

My dog is 154lbs do you carry any other that would equal his size?

Asked by: Lmbates
There are a few such as Vectra 3D or the Seresto collar. You can give us a call and we will be glad to go over what we have with you. 1-800-738-6337
Answered by: Shari PetMed Pro
Date published: 2020-04-21

My cats were just exposed to a kitten with a bad case of Mange.I put Advantage on them 17 days ago. Can I put Frontline Plus on them right now for the Mange exposure since they are now scratching?

Asked by: Deb M
Yes. It is safe to apply the Frontline Plus on your furry baby since it has been at least two weeks.
Answered by: Cherley Petmeds Pro
Date published: 2020-04-14

I have Frontline plus Lot No: H67906 is this the right product for a 24 lb small dog

Asked by: Ingie
If it states for 23-44lbs dog it will be correct for you furry baby's weight.
Answered by: Shari PetMed Pro
Date published: 2020-02-24

Is Frontline/Fipronil made in China?

Asked by: Jecca
The manufacturer is Merial which is located in Georgia.
Answered by: Shari PetMed Pro
Date published: 2020-02-08

Is there an factory embossed expiration date on Frontline Packages? I ordered from another online pet supply company and was told that the USA does not require expiration dates on Frontline Plus. I am curious if that is accurate information I was given.

Asked by: Debbie
Thank you for your question. No Frontline Plus does not expire. As long as you keep it at room temperature and sealed in its original packaging, FRONTLINE Plus will remain ready for battle.
Answered by: Shari PetMed Pro
Date published: 2020-03-10

I just got frontline a few days ago and applied as per directions. He had a mark were the solution was applied and the he chewed a bald spot on his leg. Is this a reaction? Didn't bother my other cat, a lot of scratching today dead fleas

Asked by: Jean4
It sounds like your furry baby had a reaction. We do stand behind our products and have a 100% satisfaction guarantee. Please give us a call for assistance 1-800-738-6337.
Answered by: Shari PetMed Pro
Date published: 2020-02-16

We put frontline plus on our lab puppies five days ago. Our dogs still have live fleas and are scratching like crazy. What can we do? 

Asked by: Fayard7982
We are so sorry to hear that. We do have a 100% satisfaction guarantee. Please give us a call 800-738-6337 and we will be happy to look into this for you.
Answered by: Shari PetMed Pro
Date published: 2020-01-23

Why doesn’t Front line Plus work anymore?i have been using Frontline plus for years on my dogs , it’s been a nightmare ,can’t get rid of fleas now!!i smelled the pack of Frontline plus it don’t smell the same , is there a new  ingredient in The  Frontline

Asked by: Debbie
The active ingredient in Frontline Plus has not changed. Since you have been using it for years, you may have run into fleas that have become resistant to Frontline Plus. I recommend that you switch to a different product, such as K9 Advantix, Comfortis, Simparica, NexGard or Bravecto to see if that is the case. The only other issue I can think of as to why your furry friends still have fleas is that the environment is repeatedly being reinfested with fleas from another source, such as raccoons living in your attic or strays going on your property every day.
Answered by: SuzyCVT
Date published: 2020-01-12

Can you use half of a dose for a large dog on a smaller dog

Asked by: Cfran
Thank you for your question. We do not recommend using the large dog dose on a smaller dog since there is no way to know if your pet is receiving the correct amount of medication. We recommend using the size that is equivalent to your pets weight.
Answered by: Sarah B PetMed Pro
Date published: 2020-01-12

What are chewing lice?

Asked by: Jean4
Thank you for your question. Chewing lice are tiny, flat, wingless insects that feed on the dead skin of pets. Unlike ticks and fleas, they are species-specific, so different species of lice will attack cats, dogs, and humans with no risk of cross-species transmission. Cat or dog lice are very different from human lice—they are 6-legged, and tend to stay in one place at the base of the fur. In addition to causing irritation, they can carry diseases or transmit tapeworms to pets.
Answered by: Crystal RPTechnician
Date published: 2020-01-12

What r the side effects to this frontline plus?

Asked by: Clementine1
Thank you for your question. Pets may experience some temporary irritation at the site of product application. If signs persist or become more severe within a few days of application, consult a veterinarian immediately.
Answered by: Crystal RPTechnician
Date published: 2020-01-12

Do i need a prescription for frontline plus for cats?

Asked by: Dollar cat
Frontline Plus is over the counter and does not require a prescription.
Answered by: Cherley Petmeds Pro
Date published: 2020-01-12

Does frontline kill ear mites

Asked by: Louise 63
Frontline does not kill ear mites.
Answered by: SuzyCVT
Date published: 2020-01-12

can I give both my cat and dog the sameadvantage flea treatment

Asked by: rosa
No, you should not use the same size of Advantage or Frontline on both your dog and cat as each is dosed by weight plus dogs and cats use a different strength per pound.
Answered by: SuzyCVT
Date published: 2020-01-12

If my dog is 80lbs and has a long body so do I have to apply the treatment in more than one spot on the back like K9 Advantix II and Vectra 3D or do I only apply in one spot between the shoulder blades?

Asked by: KitKat123
You should apply the product in several places along the back.
Answered by: SuzyCVT
Date published: 2020-01-12

Applied orange Frontine for small dogs (Shitzu).  Her hair turned purple where Front line was applied.  This has never happened before

Asked by: Bailey
Please contact our customer service department by phone, email, or chat so we can further assist you.
Answered by: Cherley Petmeds Pro
Date published: 2019-12-07

How much should be applied to a 220lb rottweiler?

Asked by: Jonathan Bear
The correct dosage to apply on a 220lbs dog would be one tube for dogs 89-132lbs and also a tube for dogs 44-88lbs.
Answered by: Cherley Petmeds Pro
Date published: 2020-01-12

How quickly does frontline plus work we put frontline on our new puppy last night and she is still scratching this morning.

Asked by: Annie
Frontline kills fleas within the first 12 hours and ticks and lice within the first 2 hours. Please be aware that flea bites have a delayed reaction and your puppy is scratching from bites that occurred a couple of days ago.
Answered by: SuzyCVT
Date published: 2019-12-07

My dog is 155 lbs. what is the correct dosage to give him?

Asked by: Leosinmass
You will give one tube for extra large 89-132 lbs and an additional tube for 4-22 lbs.
Answered by: Cherley Petmeds Pro
Date published: 2019-12-07

I applied Frontline Plus 5 - 22 pds. on my 14 pd. Rat Terrier 2 weeks ago and I'm starting to see fleas again. Is it safe to reapply this soon?

Asked by: Rita
I do not recommend reapplying Frontline after only 2 weeks. Check the size of the fleas you are seeing. They may be the smaller, newly hatched fleas getting on your Rat Terrier for their first meal and then to die.
Answered by: SuzyCVT
Date published: 2019-12-07

Does Frontline require a veterinarian prescription?

Asked by: Roy250
No. Frontline Plus does not require a veterinarian's prescription.
Answered by: SuzyCVT
Date published: 2019-12-07

I have 2 cats 9.5 lbs and 21 lbs. They currently are on revolution but was looking to switch to frontline plus, but I don't know if safe to switch. Frontline has different ingredients then revolution.

Asked by: lynn
It is safe to switch from Revolutuon to Frontline Plus. Please be aware that FrontlinePlus only controls fleas and ticks. You will lose the heartworm prevention and intestinal parasite control that you get with the use of Revolution.
Answered by: SuzyCVT
Date published: 2019-12-07

I have 2 black labs that play daily by grabbing each other on the fur all around the neck area. We have a large tick population this spring, pulling ticks off them each day. Is it safe to use the Frontline Plus on them.

Asked by: Sonya
It is safe to use FrontlinePlus on your furry friends. I would recommend that you apply it at bedtime so that it has spread and dried by the time they get up in the morning and start playing.
Answered by: SuzyCVT
Date published: 2019-05-08

I have one dog who goes outside and another small dog that prefers to stay inside along with a cat. Am I putting the inside animals at risk if I only treat the dog who goes outside? Should I be treating all the animals?

Asked by: soarinslm
Since fleas only spend about 2 hours each day on a pet and the rest of the time in the environment, it is recommended to treat every pet in the house to give the best possible control of fleas. That way, no matter which pet a flea bites, it will be killed to prevent it from reproducing and adding more fleas to the environment.
Answered by: SuzyCVT
Date published: 2019-05-01

Are my cats safe to be around product on our dog?

Asked by: Heather
Yes. It is completely safe for a cat to be around a dog using Frontline Plus.
Answered by: Cherley Petmeds Pro
Date published: 2020-05-11

Can you put frontline on a pregnant cat?

Asked by: Diane
Yes. Frontline is a gentle spot-on medication that is 100 percent safe to use on pregnant and nursing felines. The medication also is appropriate for cats that breed frequently, in between gestation. However, always play it safe.
Answered by: Cherley Petmeds Pro
Date published: 2019-04-29

What is the difference between this product and Frontline Gold?

Asked by: Annette
Frontline Gold has a new ingredient, pyriproxyfen, which helps kill the next generation of flea eggs and larvae before they have a chance to develop into adult fleas. Frontline Gold starts killing fleas in just 30 minutes. Frontline Plus kills 100% of adult fleas on your pet within 12 hours and 100% of all ticks and chewing lice within 48 hours.
Answered by: Cherley Petmeds Pro
Date published: 2019-10-26

My dog had puppies one day ago and I noticed fleas. Can I put Frontline in the mom?

Asked by: Mommyto5kids
Yes, frontline is safe on both pregnant and nursing dogs.
Answered by: Cherley Petmeds Pro
Date published: 2019-04-16
  • y_2021, m_1, d_21, h_17CST
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvqa, vn_bulk_3.0.13
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasquestionsanswers, tq_1526
  • loc_en_US, sid_prod10459, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=LAST_APPROVED_ANSWER_SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_1800petmeds
  • bvseo_sdk, dw_cartridge, 18.2.0, p_sdk_3.2.0
  • CLOUD, getContent, 10ms
  • questions, product

What is Frontline Plus?

Frontline Plus is a monthly topical flea and tick preventative for dogs and cats. Frontline Plus kills 100% of adult fleas on your pet within 12 hours and 100% of all ticks and chewing lice within 48 hours. Frontline Plus contains an insect growth regulator, S-methoprene, which kills flea eggs and larvae. It's effective against all stages of the brown dog tick, the American dog tick, the lone star tick and the deer tick (the major carrier of Lyme disease). (3 Pack = 3 doses which lasts 3 months.)

For:

Cats/Kittens and Dogs/Puppies (8 weeks of age and older)

Benefits:

  • Kills all existing fleas on your pet within 12 hours
  • Each application provides a full month of protection
  • Also aids in the control of sarcoptic mange infections in dogs
  • Great for pets that swim since it's waterproof
  • Kills ticks and chewing lice

How does Frontline Plus work?

Frontline Plus contains fipronil, a broad-spectrum insecticide and slow-acting poison that disrupts the central nervous system of fleas and ticks and S-Methoprene, an insect growth regulator that kills flea eggs and larvae. The active ingredients are stored in the sebaceous glands and are wicked out of the hair follicles and continuously re-applied to the coat for long-lasting, waterproof protection.

Cautions:

Your pet may experience some temporary irritation at the site of application. If signs persist or become severe within a few days of application, consult your veterinarian immediately.

Brand Name:

Frontline Plus (Merial)

Generic Name:

Fipronil, S-methoprene

What is the most important thing I should know about Frontline Plus?

Frontline Plus provides convenient and effective flea and tick control in dogs and cats, puppies and kittens. It is effective against all stages of the brown dog tick, the American dog tick, lone star tick and deer ticks (the major carrier of Lyme disease). It also kills flea eggs and flea larvae. Frontline Plus rapidly eliminates infestations with chewing lice. Frontline Plus for Dogs and Puppies also aids in the control of sarcoptic mange infections.

How should Frontline Plus be applied?

Use Frontline Plus for Dogs (fipronil 9.8% and S-methoprene 8.8%) on dogs and puppies 8 weeks or older. Frontline Plus for Dogs is available as 0.67 ml applicators for use on dogs and puppies up to 22 lbs, 1.34 ml applicators for dogs 23-44 lbs, 2.68 ml applicators for dogs 45-88 lbs and 4.02 ml applicators for dogs 89-132 lbs. Wait 24 hours to fully dry before swimming or bathing. Do not reapply for 30 days. Use Frontline Plus for Cats (fipronil 9.8% and S-methoprene 11.8%), available as 0.5 ml applicators, on cats and kittens 8 weeks or older. Place the applicator tip through the animal's hair to the skin level between the shoulder blades. Apply the entire contents of the applicator in a single spot to the animal's skin. Use only one applicator per treatment.

What are the potential side effects of Frontline Plus?

Pets may experience some temporary irritation at the site of product application. If signs persist or become more severe within a few days of application, consult a veterinarian immediately.

What happens if I miss giving a dose of Frontline Plus?

Give the missed dose as soon as you remember. Do not give a double dose of the medication.

What happens if I overdose my pet on Frontline Plus?

Contact your veterinarian immediately.

What should I avoid while giving Frontline Plus to my pet?

Keep away from heat and open flame. This product is harmful to humans if swallowed. Call a physician or poison control center for advice. Have patient sip water do not induce vomiting unless advised to and patient is conscious. This product can cause eye injury. Flush eyes with plenty of water. Call a physician if irritation persists. Avoid contact with skin, eyes or clothing. Wash thoroughly with soap and water after handling.

Frontline Plus Directions:

  • Remove the Frontline Plus applicator from the child-resistant package. You can use scissors to snip the foil, or pull the tab to remove the applicator.
  • Snap open the tip of the Frontline applicator - away from your body and face.
  • Part your pet's hair between the shoulder blades until you can see the skin, and place the tip of the applicator on the skin.
Tip:

Wait until application site is fully dry (usually 24 hours) before bathing your pet or letting your pet go swimming.

Frontline Plus Dosage for Dogs/Puppies: (8 weeks of age or older)

Dogs/Puppies: (8 weeks of age or older)
WeightDosage
Up to 22 lbsApply contents of 1 applicator once a month (0.67 ml)
23-44 lbsApply contents of 1 applicator once a month (1.34 ml)
45-88 lbsApply contents of 1 applicator once a month (2.68 ml)
89-132 lbsApply contents of 1 applicator once a month (4.02 ml)
All weightsApply contents of 1 applicator once a month (0.5 ml)
Frontline Plus Dosage for Horses:
Horses
Do not use!
Storage:

Should be stored at room temperature.

Frontline Plus Ingredients:

Frontline Plus for Dogs & Puppies 8 weeks or older and up to 22 lbs
Active ingredients (per 0.67 ml applicator)Amount
Fipronil9.8%
(S)-methoprene8.8%
Frontline Plus for Dogs 23-44 lbs:
Active ingredients (per 1.34 ml applicator)Amount
Fipronil9.8%
(S)-methoprene8.8%
Frontline Plus for Dogs 45-88 lbs
Active ingredients (per 2.68 ml applicator)Amount
Fipronil9.8%
(S)-methoprene8.8%
Frontline Plus for Dogs 89-132 lbs
Active ingredients (per 4.02 ml applicator)Amount
Fipronil9.8%
(S)-methoprene8.8%
Frontline Plus for Cats & Kittens 8 weeks or older:
Active ingredients (per 0.50 ml applicator)Amount
Fipronil9.8%
(S)-methoprene11.8%

What is Frontline Plus?

Frontline Plus is a monthly topical flea and tick preventative for dogs and cats. Frontline Plus kills 100% of adult fleas on your pet within 12 hours and 100% of all ticks and chewing lice within 48 hours. Frontline Plus contains an insect growth regulator, S-methoprene, which kills flea eggs and larvae. It's effective against all stages of the brown dog tick, the American dog tick, the lone star tick and the deer tick (the major carrier of Lyme disease). (3 Pack = 3 doses which lasts 3 months.)

For:

Cats/Kittens and Dogs/Puppies (8 weeks of age and older)

Benefits:

  • Kills all existing fleas on your pet within 12 hours
  • Each application provides a full month of protection
  • Also aids in the control of sarcoptic mange infections in dogs
  • Great for pets that swim since it's waterproof
  • Kills ticks and chewing lice

How does Frontline Plus work?

Frontline Plus contains fipronil, a broad-spectrum insecticide and slow-acting poison that disrupts the central nervous system of fleas and ticks and S-Methoprene, an insect growth regulator that kills flea eggs and larvae. The active ingredients are stored in the sebaceous glands and are wicked out of the hair follicles and continuously re-applied to the coat for long-lasting, waterproof protection.

Cautions:

Your pet may experience some temporary irritation at the site of application. If signs persist or become severe within a few days of application, consult your veterinarian immediately.

Brand Name:

Frontline Plus (Merial)

Generic Name:

Fipronil, S-methoprene

What is the most important thing I should know about Frontline Plus?

Frontline Plus provides convenient and effective flea and tick control in dogs and cats, puppies and kittens. It is effective against all stages of the brown dog tick, the American dog tick, lone star tick and deer ticks (the major carrier of Lyme disease). It also kills flea eggs and flea larvae. Frontline Plus rapidly eliminates infestations with chewing lice. Frontline Plus for Dogs and Puppies also aids in the control of sarcoptic mange infections.

How should Frontline Plus be applied?

Use Frontline Plus for Dogs (fipronil 9.8% and S-methoprene 8.8%) on dogs and puppies 8 weeks or older. Frontline Plus for Dogs is available as 0.67 ml applicators for use on dogs and puppies up to 22 lbs, 1.34 ml applicators for dogs 23-44 lbs, 2.68 ml applicators for dogs 45-88 lbs and 4.02 ml applicators for dogs 89-132 lbs. Wait 24 hours to fully dry before swimming or bathing. Do not reapply for 30 days. Use Frontline Plus for Cats (fipronil 9.8% and S-methoprene 11.8%), available as 0.5 ml applicators, on cats and kittens 8 weeks or older. Place the applicator tip through the animal's hair to the skin level between the shoulder blades. Apply the entire contents of the applicator in a single spot to the animal's skin. Use only one applicator per treatment.

What are the potential side effects of Frontline Plus?

Pets may experience some temporary irritation at the site of product application. If signs persist or become more severe within a few days of application, consult a veterinarian immediately.

What happens if I miss giving a dose of Frontline Plus?

Give the missed dose as soon as you remember. Do not give a double dose of the medication.

What happens if I overdose my pet on Frontline Plus?

Contact your veterinarian immediately.

What should I avoid while giving Frontline Plus to my pet?

Keep away from heat and open flame. This product is harmful to humans if swallowed. Call a physician or poison control center for advice. Have patient sip water do not induce vomiting unless advised to and patient is conscious. This product can cause eye injury. Flush eyes with plenty of water. Call a physician if irritation persists. Avoid contact with skin, eyes or clothing. Wash thoroughly with soap and water after handling.

Frontline Plus Directions:

  • Remove the Frontline Plus applicator from the child-resistant package. You can use scissors to snip the foil, or pull the tab to remove the applicator.
  • Snap open the tip of the Frontline applicator - away from your body and face.
  • Part your pet's hair between the shoulder blades until you can see the skin, and place the tip of the applicator on the skin.
Tip:

Wait until application site is fully dry (usually 24 hours) before bathing your pet or letting your pet go swimming.

Frontline Plus Dosage for Dogs/Puppies: (8 weeks of age or older)

Dogs/Puppies: (8 weeks of age or older)
WeightDosage
Up to 22 lbsApply contents of 1 applicator once a month (0.67 ml)
23-44 lbsApply contents of 1 applicator once a month (1.34 ml)
45-88 lbsApply contents of 1 applicator once a month (2.68 ml)
89-132 lbsApply contents of 1 applicator once a month (4.02 ml)
All weightsApply contents of 1 applicator once a month (0.5 ml)
Frontline Plus Dosage for Horses:
Horses
Do not use!
Storage:

Should be stored at room temperature.

Frontline Plus Ingredients:

Frontline Plus for Dogs & Puppies 8 weeks or older and up to 22 lbs
Active ingredients (per 0.67 ml applicator)Amount
Fipronil9.8%
(S)-methoprene8.8%
Frontline Plus for Dogs 23-44 lbs:
Active ingredients (per 1.34 ml applicator)Amount
Fipronil9.8%
(S)-methoprene8.8%
Frontline Plus for Dogs 45-88 lbs
Active ingredients (per 2.68 ml applicator)Amount
Fipronil9.8%
(S)-methoprene8.8%
Frontline Plus for Dogs 89-132 lbs
Active ingredients (per 4.02 ml applicator)Amount
Fipronil9.8%
(S)-methoprene8.8%
Frontline Plus for Cats & Kittens 8 weeks or older:
Active ingredients (per 0.50 ml applicator)Amount
Fipronil9.8%
(S)-methoprene11.8%