Epakitin Powder

3.8 out of 5 Customer Rating
Epakitin Powder is rated 4.7 out of 5 by 17.
  • y_2020, m_10, d_26, h_16
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.12
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_1, tr_16
  • loc_en_US, sid_prod11134, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_1800petmeds
  • bvseo_sdk, dw_cartridge, 18.2.0, p_sdk_3.2.0
  • CLOUD, getAggregateRating, 74ms
  • reviews, product
Starts $89.41 $62.59
Most orders ship the same day
prod11134 product detail number 1.0
Epakitin Powder

Epakitin Powder

3.8 out of 5 Customer Rating
Epakitin Powder is rated 4.7 out of 5 by 17.
  • y_2020, m_10, d_26, h_16
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.12
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_1, tr_16
  • loc_en_US, sid_prod11134, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_1800petmeds
  • bvseo_sdk, dw_cartridge, 18.2.0, p_sdk_3.2.0
  • CLOUD, getAggregateRating, 74ms
  • reviews, product
Starts $89.41 $62.59
Most orders ship the same day
Please select all product options.

Reviews

Rated 4 out of 5 by from So Far, So Good When No-No, ~15 year old boy cat wasn't eating or drinking, we took him to the vet to find the problem. We found that he had renal failure and the prognosis was bleak, at best. So far, 4 weeks later, he is back to his "abnormal" self and all is working. The Epakitin is working! Also found out that after all these years of feeding my cats only dry food....they are really living in a constant state of dehydration, as they age. We've added wet food to the daily diet.
Date published: 2012-02-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Really works in extending life This product has really worked well for us. My Cat is 17 yrs old and one of her kidneys was bad a few yrs ago so we started using Epakitin everyday. All of the other Cats from her litter have passed away. Even some from the yr after. We feel really blessed to still have her and we really believe if we had not used Epakitin she would not be here now.
Date published: 2011-09-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Feline HCM We are using this product as a support med for kitty with enlarged heart (Hypertrophic cardio myopathy). Taking heart med and diuretic. Epakitin is to help kidneys working over time w diuretic. I believe the heart will go before renal failure. Prognosis was 6 months-we're going on 2 1/2 years. Kitty is really getting frail, but leaves proof every day that the kidneys are working fine!
Date published: 2011-07-27
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Doesn't Work - Don't Bother Even with Azodyl, this product didn't work for me....Extended the life of my Himi for 3 weeks. Then stopped Well the three additional weeks were wonderul and she did perk up, so I have fond memories of what a happy little himi this cat once was., For that I am great. LOng-TERM FIX/SOLUTION...FORGET IT But to PetMeds Credit, they are completely honoring the 100% refund Policy for which I am also greatful. They are a company that is honest and keeps their word
Date published: 2011-05-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A must for feline renal failure My cat, Kato is 18 years old. He has had diabetes for 5 years which affected his kidneys. My vet recommended this product. I have been using it for the past 4 mos. Kato's blood tests have been holding steady. I would recommend this product to any cat that has early to n stage renal failure.
Date published: 2010-12-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Still Alive & Kickin' My siamese cat, Maeling, is 20 human years old which translates into 100 cat years. She was going downhill fast, losing weight and energy when she was dignosed with renal failure and prescribed Epakitin. She has been on the medication 6 months has gained weight and has more energy. This medication has worked great for us!
Date published: 2010-09-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Keeping me alive My cat has been on this product for 4 years. Her kidneys have been failing for the last 6 years. She is now 18 years old and doing very well for an old cat.
Date published: 2010-07-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from worked wonders My mixed 12 year old dog was dx with renal failure during blood work for teeth cleaning. It was the very early stage so we started him on Prescription k/d canned and dry food and epakitin. He is doing great! Forgot to give him the e for a few days and he got lethargic. After a few days back on it, he was acting like his usual self. I think the combo of k/d food and epakitin is keeping him comfortable and healthy.
Date published: 2010-07-20
  • y_2020, m_10, d_26, h_16
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.12
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_1, tr_16
  • loc_en_US, sid_prod11134, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_1800petmeds
  • bvseo_sdk, dw_cartridge, 18.2.0, p_sdk_3.2.0
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 8ms
  • reviews, product

Questions

Is this the same Epakitin my vet prescribed? Mine says "Chitosan-based phosphate binder", not "nutritional supplement". Mine also specifies it has 180mg calcium carbonate and 80mg chitosan. Thanks. 

Asked by: Priscilla
Thank you for your question. Epakitin is a nutritional supplement powder for dogs and cats that helps support kidney function and also limits phosphorus absorption from the intestines. It is a highly palatable and safe chitosan-based phosphate binder that is recommended as a supplement to a low-phosphorus diet for dogs and cats that have impaired kidney function. The active ingredients are Lactose, Calcium Carbonate, Chitosan, Hydrolyzed Soy Protein.
Answered by: Crystal RPTechnician
Date published: 2018-06-04

Hi my vet gave me a sample bag. I did look at the dosage. I gave him a pinch of it in his food.  He is 61/2 pd Pomerania.  Al title worried.  Thanks

Asked by: Theff
The dosing instructions on the product is 1g/5Kg body weight given orally in the morning and the evening mixed with food. One level dosing spoon (provided) contains 1 gram of Epakitin.
Answered by: Crystal RPTechnician
Date published: 2020-03-21

Is it ok to heat epakitin? Sometimes my doghter only eats a small portion of her food mixed with epakitin so I refrigerate and reheat for her next meal. Is this ok?

Asked by: RTKi
Thank you for your question. Depending on the temperature, heat can alter the physiologic properties. The best option is to reheat the food first, then add Epakitin, and stir mixture together. Fresh water should always be available.
Answered by: leanniejo
Date published: 2017-07-25

A friends dog just passed away from CKD. She was on this plus a couple of other supplements. This friend sent me what is leftover and Epakitin is one of them. The scoop is missing from the jar, what is the equal in using regular measuring spoons?

Asked by: Edie
The equivalent would be 1/4 teaspoon
Answered by: Amy Petmed Pro
Date published: 2016-12-17

Can the Epakitin be mixed with a tiny bit of water and given with a syringe? Would that affect the product's effectiveness? Sometimes, my cat avoids the food with the Epakitin and I thought I could give it this way if it was the only way to get it in him.

Asked by: CathyV
If this is the only way to get your cat to take the medication, that should be fine. It should not affect the product by mixing it with water.
Answered by: Christine
Date published: 2019-05-22

Does the Epakitin stay in the cat's system throughout the day? My cat eats frequent small meals, so I was wondering if the Epakitin just binds with the meal its sprinkled on or does it stay in the cat's system throughout the day to reduce phosphorus load.

Asked by: ChrisB
Epakitin is generally dosed twice a day as 1g/5Kg (1g/11lbs) body weight given orally in the morning and the evening mixed with food. One level dosing spoon (provided) contains 1 gram of Epakitin. It should work throughout the day and stay in your cats system if you are giving it in the morning and at night.
Answered by: Christine
Date published: 2018-01-26

What country is this product produced in? 

Asked by: Love animals
Epakitin is produced in the U.S.A. The manufacturer for this product is Vetoquinol.
Answered by: Cherley Petmeds Pro
Date published: 2016-06-27

Epakitin and Azodyl?

My cat has stage 1 kidney disease. Can I give him both Epakitin and Azodyl?
Asked by: Jem
Hi there, Sorry to hear the issue your cat is having. When it comes to kidney disease you would need to consult with your vet before changing any medication/supplements that you give to your Furry Friend. The vet would be able to give you the proper medical advice since they know your pet the best.
Answered by: James PetMeds Pro
Date published: 2016-06-27

Use with k/d food?

If a dog is already on food specifically for kidney health, such as Hill's k/d food, will using this product with that food have an added benefit?
Asked by: Alex
This is prescribed however you are using a prescription food so you would definitely need to speak to your vet prior to using.
Answered by: James PetMeds Pro
Date published: 2016-06-27

Dosage for Chihuahua

I have a 2 yr old that weighs between 10 to 13 bls....depends on the time of year. Can I use this as a preventative for renal failure and how much would I give her?
Asked by: Sknicker
Thank you for your question. Each container comes with a scoop which is equivalent to 1gram. 1 gram should be given per 11lbs of body weight. This is not used as a preventative so please consult your vet prior to using this if your furry pal does not have renal failure.
Answered by: Maureen PetMeds Pro
Date published: 2015-02-10

How long will a bottle last?

I was wondering how long would a bottle of Epakitin last for a 7 Pound cat?
Asked by: Amber60
Thank you for your question. One level dosing spoon (provided) contains 1 gram of Epakitin and this is to be given once in the morning and once in the evening; so it should last about 3 months.
Answered by: Maureen PetMeds Pro
Date published: 2016-06-27

Epakitine dosage

My cat has powder put into gel capsules and we give them twice a day, morning and evening. We are away overnight and wonder if we can give the 2nd capsule before we go instead of in the evening. We leave mid afternoon and and are home by 10.30 the next morning. She would have received her morning dose about 8am on the day we go away.. Thank you for your help
Asked by: Lily
Ideally, Epakitin powder should be administered in the morning and evening. Consult your veterinarian to see if the dosing regimen can be altered for your specific pet.
Answered by: Lisa M
Date published: 2014-10-13

Does Ipakitine affects antibiotics?

Do I have to separate ipakitine from antibiotics with about 2 hours, as it contains lactose?
Asked by: sysko
This would be dependent on the class of antibiotic your pet is on. Please contact your veterinarian.
Answered by: S Duesler PharmD MBA
Date published: 2014-09-29

Can Epakitin be used with Azodyl?

Hello - My cat has Renal Kidney Failure and has been on Azodyl for 8 months now and is doing fine. I was thinking on adding Epakitin to his diet and would like to know is it safe to do so and how much to give him. He is 7 1/2 years old weighs only about 6 1/2 lbs. -thank you
Asked by: Dee
Thank you for your question. Please consult with your vet prior to adding this into your furry pal's daily intake.
Answered by: Maureen PetMeds Pro
Date published: 2014-06-08

On raw food: any problem or none ?

Hi, Can Epakitin be given with raw food that can stay hours waiting for being eaten at room temperature ? Doesn't it create chemichal reactions that could produce bad molecules ? My vet says it is better to give the dose in small quantities all along the day than giving it in twice a day: that's why all the little meals have epakitin. Is this ok ? Thank you very much
Asked by: Cassandre
Thank you for your question. Yes, this can be given with raw food that sits out for a period of time. It does not create any chemical reactions.
Answered by: Maureen PetMeds Pro
Date published: 2016-06-27

12 yr old lab always drank lots of water and has always asked to go out pees alot always now went to vet for yearly visit has kidney

failer was put on meds but how do i know if its working until she gos back in 3 mo eats well asks to go out ? also has same vet for all 12 years she always drank lots of water from day 1
Asked by: worried mom
The only way to tell if the medications are working is to run tests to see how the kidney is functioning.
Answered by: Pharmacist
Date published: 2014-06-08

Can I give this to my cat he only weighs 8 lbs?

Asked by: momspetcavy
Absolutely! Mine is underweight at 4 lbs 2 oz. One piece of advice would be to ask your vet first, but my girl has no problems with it.
Answered by: kittykat55
Date published: 2018-09-03

Does Epakitin come in pill form. My dog doesn't like the power in his food.

Asked by: Pegasus
Thank you for your question. Epakitin does not come in a pill form at this time.
Answered by: Maureen PetMeds Pro
Date published: 2014-01-28

How long does this supply of Epikitatan Last?

Asked by: Romeos Mommy
Hi there, depending on how much your Furry Friend weighs you will give 1 gram per 11 lbs of body weight in the morning and the evening mixed with food. One level dosing spoon (provided) contains 1 gram of Epakitin. There you can determine how long this product will last for you.
Answered by: James PetMeds Pro
Date published: 2016-06-27

Is there a Generic form or vitamine which would help with kidney problems?

This concerns my 13 yr. old Shepard Mix. She takes Epakitin and I do not have the money to buy any for at least a few weeks. I have at home, milk thistle, Omega 3 fish oil, Euchanasia, flax seed oil, Liv-52 (liver support). She has been having seizures and is taking phinabarbatol and a Thyroid medication (which I am almost out of).
Asked by: Kim
There is not a generic form of this. Please consult your veterinarian about alternative treatments. Since your pet has a few different medical conditions, it is best to have your vet advise on possible alternatives to hold you over for now.
Answered by: Kelly P. Pharmacist
Date published: 2013-10-22

Can I mix Epakitin with water and give orally?

My Lucky just won't eat either canned food or dry food with powder on it. I am able to give him pills and liquid without too much problem.
Asked by: jane
It is ok as long as you mix it well and no powder is left behind. Make sure fresh water is available for your pet.
Answered by: Yoliset, Student Pharmacist
Date published: 2016-08-23

Does this have to be kept in refrigerator ?

Asked by: Jennifer
To my knowledge, Epakitin does not need to be stored in the refrigerator.
Answered by: Gary, Dir. of Pharmacy Services
Date published: 2016-06-27

does this med come in different size pkg.

Asked by: max
Epakitin Powder does come in different sizes. However, we only carry the 150 Gm size.
Answered by: Gary, Dir. of Pharmacy Services
Date published: 2016-06-27

Is this accurate: THIS MEDICATION WAS NOT TO BE GIVEN WITH CR OVER 4.0

Is there anything else that CR could be referring to besides Creatinine Clearance
Asked by: chicas
It's possible. However, when referring to a kidney problem, Creatinine Clearance is a good guess. If you saw this number on a report of a blood test you can confirm this with your veterinarian.
Answered by: Gary, Dir. of Pharmacy Services
Date published: 2016-06-27

What is CR?

Someone posted that their animal was over 4.0 cr. What does this mean.
Asked by: Donna
Based on the product selected, they may have been referring to Creatinine (Cr) Clearance which is a measure of kidney health.
Answered by: Gary, Dir. of Pharmacy Services
Date published: 2016-06-27

What is DX with CFR

read the review for epakitin. would be helpful if I knew what DX and CFR was.
Asked by: sal
DX = diagnosed/diagnosis, CRF=chronic renal (kidney) failure
Answered by: andy
Date published: 2013-10-22

Do you sell in 50 gm package?

Asked by: Lisa
Hello Lisa, We hope you and your pet are doing well today. Unfortunately we only carry the Epakitin in the 150mg dosage. We look forward to helping you and your pet again.
Answered by: Sindy, Petmeds Pro
Date published: 2013-10-22
  • y_2020, m_10, d_26, h_16CST
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvqa, vn_bulk_3.0.12
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasquestionsanswers, tq_35
  • loc_en_US, sid_prod11134, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=LAST_APPROVED_ANSWER_SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_1800petmeds
  • bvseo_sdk, dw_cartridge, 18.2.0, p_sdk_3.2.0
  • CLOUD, getContent, 69ms
  • questions, product

What is Epakitin Powder?

Epakitin is a nutritional supplement powder for dogs and cats that helps support kidney function and also limits phosphorus absorption from the intestines.

For:

Dogs and Cats

Benefits:

  • Palatable easy-to-administer powder
  • Helps support kidney (renal) function

How does Epakitin work?

Epakitin's active ingredient, chitosan, is a natural polysaccharide derived from shells of shrimp and crab. This ingredient naturally binds phosphorus, which limits the absorption of phosphorus from the intestines. This limitation helps pets with chronic kidney (renal) disease by slowing down damage caused by the disease.

Cautions:

Consult your veterinarian before using Epakitin. Tell your veterinarian if your pet is currently being given medications or supplements for kidney disease or calcium/phosphorus regulation, such as Calcitrol.

Epakitin Directions:

  • Epakitin is a nutritional supplement powder for dogs and cats that helps support kidney function and also limits phosphorus absorption from the intestines.
Tip:

Allow free access to fresh water during administration.

Epakitin Dosage:

Epakitin Dosage for Cats
Weight Dosage
All weights 1 g/5 kg of body weight given orally in the morning and the evening, mixed with food. One level dosing spoon (provided) contains 1 gram of Epakitin.
Epakitin Dosage for Dogs
Weight Dosage
All weights 1 g/5 kg of body weight given orally in the morning and the evening, mixed with food. One level dosing spoon (provided) contains 1 gram of Epakitin.
Epakitin Dosage for Horses
Horses
Do not use!

Storage:

Store in a cool dry place. Keep out of the reach of children.

Epakitin Ingredients:

Epakitin
Guaranteed Analysis Amount
Crude Protein (min) 4.6%
Crude Fat (max) 0.5%
Moisture (max) 1.35%
Crude Fiber (max) 0.5%
Ash (max) 10.5%
Calcium (min) 3.7%
Phosphorus (max) 0.01%
Potassium (min) 0.024%
Sodium (min) 0.015%
Ingredients: Lactose, Calcium Carbonate, Chitosan, Hydrolyzed Soy Protein.

What is Epakitin Powder?

Epakitin is a nutritional supplement powder for dogs and cats that helps support kidney function and also limits phosphorus absorption from the intestines.

For:

Dogs and Cats

Benefits:

  • Palatable easy-to-administer powder
  • Helps support kidney (renal) function

How does Epakitin work?

Epakitin's active ingredient, chitosan, is a natural polysaccharide derived from shells of shrimp and crab. This ingredient naturally binds phosphorus, which limits the absorption of phosphorus from the intestines. This limitation helps pets with chronic kidney (renal) disease by slowing down damage caused by the disease.

Cautions:

Consult your veterinarian before using Epakitin. Tell your veterinarian if your pet is currently being given medications or supplements for kidney disease or calcium/phosphorus regulation, such as Calcitrol.

Epakitin Directions:

  • Epakitin is a nutritional supplement powder for dogs and cats that helps support kidney function and also limits phosphorus absorption from the intestines.
Tip:

Allow free access to fresh water during administration.

Epakitin Dosage:

Epakitin Dosage for Cats
Weight Dosage
All weights 1 g/5 kg of body weight given orally in the morning and the evening, mixed with food. One level dosing spoon (provided) contains 1 gram of Epakitin.
Epakitin Dosage for Dogs
Weight Dosage
All weights 1 g/5 kg of body weight given orally in the morning and the evening, mixed with food. One level dosing spoon (provided) contains 1 gram of Epakitin.
Epakitin Dosage for Horses
Horses
Do not use!

Storage:

Store in a cool dry place. Keep out of the reach of children.

Epakitin Ingredients:

Epakitin
Guaranteed Analysis Amount
Crude Protein (min) 4.6%
Crude Fat (max) 0.5%
Moisture (max) 1.35%
Crude Fiber (max) 0.5%
Ash (max) 10.5%
Calcium (min) 3.7%
Phosphorus (max) 0.01%
Potassium (min) 0.024%
Sodium (min) 0.015%
Ingredients: Lactose, Calcium Carbonate, Chitosan, Hydrolyzed Soy Protein.