Drontal for Cats

4.9 out of 5 Customer Rating
Drontal for Cats is rated 4.6 out of 5 by 81.
  • y_2020, m_8, d_12, h_15
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.10
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_2, tr_79
  • loc_en_US, sid_prod10073, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_1800petmeds
  • bvseo_sdk, dw_cartridge, 18.2.0, p_sdk_3.2.0
  • CLOUD, getAggregateRating, 6ms
  • reviews, product
Starts $8.81 $6.17
Most orders ship the same day
prod10073 product detail number 1.0
Drontal for Cats

Drontal for Cats

4.9 out of 5 Customer Rating
Drontal for Cats is rated 4.6 out of 5 by 81.
  • y_2020, m_8, d_12, h_15
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.10
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_2, tr_79
  • loc_en_US, sid_prod10073, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_1800petmeds
  • bvseo_sdk, dw_cartridge, 18.2.0, p_sdk_3.2.0
  • CLOUD, getAggregateRating, 6ms
  • reviews, product
Starts $8.81 $6.17
Most orders ship the same day

Reviews

Rated 1 out of 5 by from Need liquid I wasted money on 6 of these pills. I never did get one down the cat! You canNot disguise it in food either. It must taste & smell terrible.
Date published: 2020-07-15
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Didn't work Purchased 3 based on both cats weight. Didn't work even after the second dose. Poor cats ended up in worse condition.
Date published: 2020-06-13
Rated 3 out of 5 by from My cats are spoiled and detected it My cats typically eat Fancy Feast every night. After I got Larva Cutaneous Migrans, basically hookworms that you cants see but feel biting you, it was necessary to treat all the cats to keep from getting reinfected. I crushed the tablets and put the recommended amounts into each dinner. The cats started eating but after a few seconds they stopped and looked around. I could tell they didn’t like it. They tried changing bowls and took a few licks of other bowls. No one cat got a full dose. I would recommend small amounts of this medicine into frequent meals and snacks. My cats were too smart for this. Alternatively, you could spend hundreds of dollars to have the vet look at your cat and maybe agree to Revolution. Monthly treatment would be optimal.
Date published: 2020-06-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fast and effective Fast delivery and seems to have worked. Haven't seen any signs of worms since!
Date published: 2020-06-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from He is doing great. He is definitely more active now.
Date published: 2020-05-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love the convenience. I'm an experienced cat mom with a busy schedule, I found once again one of my cats had tape worms even though I had started flea treatments for all my cats a month before (we have lots of visiting rescues) I called and spoke with my Vet and due to scheduling she suggested I purchase an over-the-counter product. I immediately remembered 1-800-pet-meds and went online to research. My cats have always been given Drontal by my Vet so I went by my cats weight and ordered the appropriate amount. Received it when they said I would and took care of my fur baby with no issues. This will always be my go-to when I'm unable to get to my Vet in a timely manner. Thank you!
Date published: 2020-03-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Worked great Cat kept puking and losing weight so I used drontal. She has now stopped puking and is putting weight back on.
Date published: 2020-03-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent This product worked exactly how it said it would. My cats feel better, it was quick and effective.
Date published: 2020-03-01
  • y_2020, m_8, d_12, h_15
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.10
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_2, tr_79
  • loc_en_US, sid_prod10073, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_1800petmeds
  • bvseo_sdk, dw_cartridge, 18.2.0, p_sdk_3.2.0
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 6ms
  • reviews, product

Questions

Is it bitter or tasteless

Asked by: Tnoelre
Drontal tablets can be crushed and mixed in with food for easy feeding. Some customers find that this tablet is a little bitter.
Answered by: Cherley Petmeds Pro
Date published: 2020-07-29

Is it okay to crush these up and place them in the cat food?

Asked by: Spam
Thank you for your question. Drontal for cats come in scored tablets so it should be fairly easy to cut a tablet in half. It can be given directly into your pet's mouth. Alternatively, the tablet can be crushed or pulverized and then mixed with cat food.
Answered by: Crystal RPTechnician
Date published: 2020-06-25

What do the pills drontal for cats look like exactly?

Asked by: Sandi48
Thank you for your question. The drontal tablet is a white tablet about the size of a dime, and the tablet is scored.
Answered by: Crystal RPTechnician
Date published: 2020-06-23

How frequent can Drontal de-wormer be given to my cats? I dosed them in April (was not instructed to give 2nd dose two weeks later). Can I give them another dose now - 2 months later as I suspect at least one still has worms?

Asked by: KTB58
It is not mandatory to treat after 2 weeks but you can retreat them now.
Answered by: Shari PetMed Pro
Date published: 2020-06-15

How often do i worm him

Asked by: Jack
Thanks for your question! For adult cats, the typical recommendation for deworming is every 6 months. It is recommended that you consult with a vet to discuss what is most appropriate for your cat specifically.
Answered by: Linda Pharmacy Intern
Date published: 2020-06-14

How many tablets come in the bottle?

Asked by: Hannah
Drontal® for cats (18.2mg praziquantel/72.6mg pyrantel pamoate) is sold per tablet and dosed according to your cat’s weight. It is approved to treat tapeworms, hookworms, and roundworms in cats/kittens weighing more than 1.5lbs and one month of age and older. When appropriate, the typical dose is as follows: Cats 1.5-1.9lbs – ¼ tablet, cats 2-3lbs – ½ tablet, cats 4-8lbs – 1 tablet, cats 9-12lbs – 1 ½ tablets, cats 13-16lbs – 2 tablets. Drontal® should be given exactly as directed by your veterinarian. Thank you.
Answered by: Joshua T
Date published: 2020-04-28

My cat had kittens 4 weeks ago. I've noticed she has worms yesterday. She's still nursing. Can I give this to her AND her kittens?

Asked by: Cheeseball
Drontal® (praziquantel/pyrantel pamoate) is used to treat tapeworms, hookworms and roundworms in cats and kittens (1 month and older and weighing at least 1.5 pounds). Drontal® is a prescription-only medication. Consult your veterinarian to discuss if this medication is appropriate for your pets. Thank you.
Answered by: Joshua T
Date published: 2020-04-15

Do you need a vet's script to GET drontal for cats?

Asked by: AmyS
No. The Drontal for cats is now over the counter.
Answered by: Cherley Petmeds Pro
Date published: 2020-04-10
  • y_2020, m_8, d_11, h_16CST
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvqa, vn_bulk_3.0.10
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers, tq_170
  • loc_en_US, sid_prod10073, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=LAST_APPROVED_ANSWER_SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_1800petmeds
  • bvseo_sdk, dw_cartridge, 18.2.0, p_sdk_3.2.0
  • CLOUD, getContent, 5ms
  • questions, product

What is Drontal for Cats?

Drontal is a broad-spectrum dewormer for cats and kittens to treat tapeworms, hookworms, and roundworms. Drontal is sold per tablet.

For:

Cats (weighing more than 1.5 lbs and over 1 month old)

Benefits:

  • Proven to eradicate the most common intestinal parasites
  • An easy single-dose administration. Each tablet is scored for easy breakage.
  • Can be given directly by mouth or in a small amount of food
  • Side effects occur rarely

How does Drontal for Cats work?

Drontal's active ingredients are praziquantel and pyrantel pamoate. Praziquantel works by damaging the parasite's skin internally, so the parasite disintegrates and is removed by the pet's immune system. Pyrantel pamoate is active against hookworms and ascarids and acts as a blocking agent, causing paralysis. This results in the hookworm losing its grip in the intestinal wall and is removed from the pet's system by natural process.

Cautions:

Side effects are rare, but may include loss of appetite, increased salivation, vomiting and diarrhea. Other side effects may also occur. Talk to your veterinarian about any side effect that seems unusual or bothersome to your pet. Drontal tablets are not for use in kittens less than one month old or weighing less than 1.5 pounds.

Brand Name:

Drontal (Bayer)

Generic Name:

Praziquantel and pyrantel pamoate (pra-zee-kwan'-tell)

What should I discuss with my veterinarian before giving Drontal for Cats?

Tell your veterinarian if your cat has ever had an allergic reaction to the medication. Tapeworm is a zoonotic infection meaning humans can contract tapeworm from animals. Discuss the importance of maintaining good personal hygiene.

What is the most important information I should know about Drontal for Cats?

Drontal is FDA approved for use in cats and kittens. The usual dose of Drontal for cats and kittens at least 4 weeks old and 1.5-1.9 lbs is 1/4 tablet, 2-3 lbs is 1/2 tablet, 4-8 lbs is 1 tablet, 9-12 lbs is 1 1/2 tablets and 13-16 lbs is 2 tablets.

How should Drontal for Cats be given?

Give Drontal for Cats exactly as directed by your veterinarian. If you do not understand the directions ask the pharmacist or veterinarian to explain them to you. Drontal for Cats is given as a single dose. Store Drontal at room temperature away from moisture and heat. Keep out of the reach of children and pets.

What should I avoid while giving Drontal to my cat?

Because humans can contract tapeworm from animals, it is important to maintain good personal hygiene. It is also important to eliminate fleas on your pet and in the household and to not feed the pet rodents or uncooked meat or fish. To prevent reinfection, daily cleanup of stools is recommended.

What are the possible side effects of Drontal for Cats?

Side effects of Drontal for Cats are rare but may include loss of appetite, increased salivation, vomiting and diarrhea. Other side effects may also occur. Talk to your veterinarian about any side effect that seems unusual or bothersome to the animal.

What other drugs will affect Drontal for Cats?

Do not give Drontal to your cat if already giving an alternate dewormer medication unless directed to by your veterinarian.

Drontal for Cats Directions:

  • Drontal is used to treat tapeworms, hookworms and roundworms in cats and kittens.
  • Each tablet is scored for easy breakage.
Tip:

Drontal tablets can be crushed and mixed in with food for easy feeding.

Drontal for Cats Dosage:

Drontal for Cats Dosage for Cats and Kittens
Weight Dosage
1.5-1.9 lbs 1/4 tablet
2-3 lbs 1/2 tablet
4-8 lbs 1 tablet
9-12 lbs 1 1/2 tablets
13-16 lbs 2 tablets
Drontal for Cats Dosage for Dogs
Dogs
Do not use!
Drontal for Cats Dosage for Horses
Horses
Do not use!

Storage:

Store at room temperature. Keep out of the reach of children.

Drontal for Cats Ingredients:

Drontal for Cats and kittens (1.5 to 16 lbs)
Active Ingredients (per tablet) Amount
Praziquantel 18.2 mg
Pyrantel Pamoate 72.6 mg

What is Drontal for Cats?

Drontal is a broad-spectrum dewormer for cats and kittens to treat tapeworms, hookworms, and roundworms. Drontal is sold per tablet.

For:

Cats (weighing more than 1.5 lbs and over 1 month old)

Benefits:

  • Proven to eradicate the most common intestinal parasites
  • An easy single-dose administration. Each tablet is scored for easy breakage.
  • Can be given directly by mouth or in a small amount of food
  • Side effects occur rarely

How does Drontal for Cats work?

Drontal's active ingredients are praziquantel and pyrantel pamoate. Praziquantel works by damaging the parasite's skin internally, so the parasite disintegrates and is removed by the pet's immune system. Pyrantel pamoate is active against hookworms and ascarids and acts as a blocking agent, causing paralysis. This results in the hookworm losing its grip in the intestinal wall and is removed from the pet's system by natural process.

Cautions:

Side effects are rare, but may include loss of appetite, increased salivation, vomiting and diarrhea. Other side effects may also occur. Talk to your veterinarian about any side effect that seems unusual or bothersome to your pet. Drontal tablets are not for use in kittens less than one month old or weighing less than 1.5 pounds.

Brand Name:

Drontal (Bayer)

Generic Name:

Praziquantel and pyrantel pamoate (pra-zee-kwan'-tell)

What should I discuss with my veterinarian before giving Drontal for Cats?

Tell your veterinarian if your cat has ever had an allergic reaction to the medication. Tapeworm is a zoonotic infection meaning humans can contract tapeworm from animals. Discuss the importance of maintaining good personal hygiene.

What is the most important information I should know about Drontal for Cats?

Drontal is FDA approved for use in cats and kittens. The usual dose of Drontal for cats and kittens at least 4 weeks old and 1.5-1.9 lbs is 1/4 tablet, 2-3 lbs is 1/2 tablet, 4-8 lbs is 1 tablet, 9-12 lbs is 1 1/2 tablets and 13-16 lbs is 2 tablets.

How should Drontal for Cats be given?

Give Drontal for Cats exactly as directed by your veterinarian. If you do not understand the directions ask the pharmacist or veterinarian to explain them to you. Drontal for Cats is given as a single dose. Store Drontal at room temperature away from moisture and heat. Keep out of the reach of children and pets.

What should I avoid while giving Drontal to my cat?

Because humans can contract tapeworm from animals, it is important to maintain good personal hygiene. It is also important to eliminate fleas on your pet and in the household and to not feed the pet rodents or uncooked meat or fish. To prevent reinfection, daily cleanup of stools is recommended.

What are the possible side effects of Drontal for Cats?

Side effects of Drontal for Cats are rare but may include loss of appetite, increased salivation, vomiting and diarrhea. Other side effects may also occur. Talk to your veterinarian about any side effect that seems unusual or bothersome to the animal.

What other drugs will affect Drontal for Cats?

Do not give Drontal to your cat if already giving an alternate dewormer medication unless directed to by your veterinarian.

Drontal for Cats Directions:

  • Drontal is used to treat tapeworms, hookworms and roundworms in cats and kittens.
  • Each tablet is scored for easy breakage.
Tip:

Drontal tablets can be crushed and mixed in with food for easy feeding.

Drontal for Cats Dosage:

Drontal for Cats Dosage for Cats and Kittens
Weight Dosage
1.5-1.9 lbs 1/4 tablet
2-3 lbs 1/2 tablet
4-8 lbs 1 tablet
9-12 lbs 1 1/2 tablets
13-16 lbs 2 tablets
Drontal for Cats Dosage for Dogs
Dogs
Do not use!
Drontal for Cats Dosage for Horses
Horses
Do not use!

Storage:

Store at room temperature. Keep out of the reach of children.

Drontal for Cats Ingredients:

Drontal for Cats and kittens (1.5 to 16 lbs)
Active Ingredients (per tablet) Amount
Praziquantel 18.2 mg
Pyrantel Pamoate 72.6 mg