Diphenhydramine (Generic Benadryl)

3.4 out of 5 Customer Rating
Diphenhydramine (Generic Benadryl) is rated 4.1 out of 5 by 64.
  • y_2020, m_9, d_25, h_15
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.12
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_1, tr_63
  • loc_en_US, sid_prod10834, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_1800petmeds
  • bvseo_sdk, dw_cartridge, 18.2.0, p_sdk_3.2.0
  • CLOUD, getAggregateRating, 14ms
  • reviews, product
Starts $10.31 $7.22
Most orders ship the same day
prod10834 product detail number 1.0
Diphenhydramine (Generic Benadryl)

Diphenhydramine (Generic Benadryl)

3.4 out of 5 Customer Rating
Diphenhydramine (Generic Benadryl) is rated 4.1 out of 5 by 64.
  • y_2020, m_9, d_25, h_15
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.12
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_1, tr_63
  • loc_en_US, sid_prod10834, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_1800petmeds
  • bvseo_sdk, dw_cartridge, 18.2.0, p_sdk_3.2.0
  • CLOUD, getAggregateRating, 14ms
  • reviews, product
Starts $10.31 $7.22
Most orders ship the same day
Please select all product options.

Reviews

Rated 1 out of 5 by from Not only sneezing, but now drooling! The product help Annabelle with a seasonal allergy/cold, but getting it down, forget it! Why can these be gel caps that can be syringed and shot in the back of her mouth. Because of her size I can't giver her the entire pill, so has to be crumbled in laxitone which never helps! The taste is apparently so bad she salivates and spits out whats left for 20 minutes!! What a mess and then she won't eat for a day b/c the taste is still in her mouth!
Date published: 2016-08-24
Rated 4 out of 5 by from It does the job. This product does seem to help relieve the allergy problems my dog was having and it does calm him down and makes him a little sleepy. I don't like the capsules though, I have to open them and put the powder in a spoon with a little water to give them to him, he is wise to all the other tricks. All in all, I would purchased this product again.
Date published: 2015-06-10
Rated 3 out of 5 by from This medication is not helpful in my dog's itching, so I have found big relief in Piriton and Zyrtec.
Date published: 2015-03-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from For cats, place it far back in throat Giving Benadryl to my dogs has always been easy---just hide it in a spoon of peanut butter, and it's gone down the hatch, easy peasy. But cats don't believe in gulping down a glob of peanut butter, and Benadryl apparently tastes pretty horrendous to a cat. After some trial and error, I have deduced that it is taste-induced nausea which leads to vomiting (and of course the foaming). So I experienced the same thing as many of the other cat owners here when giving Benadryl---the result is lots of foaming and vomiting. I switched to Zyrtec, since it doesn't seem to taste as bad to a cat, but after Zyrtec failed to help with her symptoms, and by this time having had lots of practice pilling my cat, I decided to give Benadryl another try. I have found that I CAN dose my cat with Benadryl without making her sick. The trick is to place the pill far back in the throat. With the cat's head back and the mouth open, drop the pill in---aiming for the back of the throat---while trying to avoid the tongue altogether. If it lands on the tongue (even the back part) rather than in the throat, quickly push the pill back with a finger. Getting it as far back as possible without ever hitting the tongue keeps the cat from being able to eject the pill back up into the mouth, and thus never tastes the pill. Now that I am preventing her from tasting the Benadryl, there has been no more vomiting, no more foaming, and best of all, no more chewiing off her fur and sneezing fits (at least so far).
Date published: 2015-01-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from very effective Buster takes one 50mg pill before bed. His sleep cycle had been disturbed but he now sleeps his regular hours and is more active when he wakes up. If I notice his breathing during the day indicates some congestion when the wind is blowing dust and pollen around, one pill relieves it within 30 minutes. His vet has examined him and agrees he has occasional allergies and diphenhydramine is the perfect solution.
Date published: 2014-12-23
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Not as Effective As I Thought! When I purchased this product, I was hoping for it to be a little more effective. It really hasn't helped with his constant itching, but it stopped my dog from constantly biting on his paws. It does somewhat have a calming effect on him though, and I find that they help him sleep.
Date published: 2014-11-14
Rated 4 out of 5 by from We started to give Lily the pills about two weeks ago and she is much better now. She was constantly sneezing. Now it is only occasionally. Appeared to work. Didn't do anything for her itching and scratching. Will work on that one
Date published: 2014-11-05
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Disappointed with effectiveness My lab mix has terrible skin allergies and her vet suggested giving her generic Benadryl. It worked marginally for awhile and then it eventually didn't seem to help. I was hoping this product was stronger or different from Benadryl, but it is not. It has exactly the same ingredients and dosage as the Benadryl. It was a waste of my money.
Date published: 2014-09-27
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Generic Benadryl ROCK, my (Pitbull) has allergy issues. He is given his antihistamine every moring and he is feeling so much bettet. The runny nose, itching and over all allergy discomfort is 100% better. I highly recommend this product.
Date published: 2014-09-16
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Capsules are a high dose This dose is to high for a 17 Lbs dog, spoke with my Vet and she said this dose should be broken up into 3 doses. So If you have a 50 Lbs+ pet this is fine otherwise you are over medicating you pet. 17 Lbs. = 1 tsp. benadryl
Date published: 2014-05-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Helps control sneezing and coughing from allergies Spunky is a small (17 lbs.) Cairn Terrier/Poodle mix. Without antihistamine he develops sneezing as well as nasal congestion, followed by coughing. Taken twice daily, one Diphenhydramine works so sneezes are productive to help clear his nose and chest. The tablet works quickly to clear the mucous. I have seen no bad side effects for Spunky
Date published: 2014-05-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This product works!!!! I am very happy with the results of this product. My dog is finally with her beutiful coat again! Love this product.
Date published: 2014-03-03
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Cat Allergies My vet suggested I give my cat benedryl OTC so I bought this and have tried numerous times to get him to swallow it. I am successful 10% of the time. If it doesn't go right down, he foams and then vomits a lot of whatever is in his stomach....or if his stomach is empty, he vomits gastric juices. I wish I knew how to relieve his extreme allergies which cause him to bite, lick and chew himself and result in bleeding hairless areas all over his body. He is also covered with scabs. Any suggestions? I recommend the product bkz hopefully it will help others and it certainly is recommended by my vet.
Date published: 2014-01-12
Rated 1 out of 5 by from NOT FOR CATS My cat has allergies, and thought this would help him, being it is a generic form of benadryl. I felt so bad after I gave it to him, it just made him heave, and foam at the mouth, and made him vomit.
Date published: 2014-01-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent product…easy to access My Rottie is allergic to the world. It was so inconvenient to break the seals on drug store products as well as expensive. Thank you for providing a good allergy med that is easy to access and works!
Date published: 2013-11-15
Rated 1 out of 5 by from I have been using product for 2 & a half weeks and my dog has continue to scratch. The product does help @ a minimum due to it does make dog groggy.
Date published: 2013-10-20
Rated 1 out of 5 by from FOAMING i tried desperately to give 1/4 tab to my cat. she foamed at the mouth and ran off. the second day, same reaction. i ordered a liquid format, but couldn't purchase it without my vet's approval Rx.
Date published: 2013-08-26
Rated 2 out of 5 by from disappointed To be honest . . . I had higher expectations for results and not seeing them. But sophi is allergic to 225 substances . . . so maybe her problems are to extensive. Wheat has been eliminated from diet and that made an impact. Bugs and bug bites are being dealt with. So thought the benedryl would support the problem with inhallants. Any thoughts out there on different solutions?????????????????????????
Date published: 2013-07-25
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Noticeable Results My dog's not scratching nearly as much as she was before and I'm seeing less red patches on her skin. It does make her a little tired, but I'd rather her be a little drowsy than be itchy and uncomfortable. I'm very happy with this product.
Date published: 2013-04-23
Rated 4 out of 5 by from My 12 year old Rag Doll Cat, Casey, suffers from spring allergies and scratches himself causing rashes and loss of fur around eyes and on neck. Have been giving 1/2 tablet each night for about a week. It seems to be helping. I see no new rashes and the old ones seem to be healing. The down side is that he hates the taste and tries to spit it out even when I coat it with his hair ball jell that he loves the taste of. It seems, however, to be worth the struggle.
Date published: 2013-04-17
Rated 4 out of 5 by from good product we have used diphenhydramine for some time now it was reccommended by her vet
Date published: 2012-12-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works great!!! Having such a weak winter and strong summer, Shy, my 7lb Chihuahua/Cavalier mix was dying with allergies, her nose and eyes ran, she itched, she sneezed and coughed, and when she was outside for extended periods of time, she would vomit! This worked perfectly, her eyes and nose stopped running, her cough has considerably lessened, and her sneezes have almost completely stopped and she's been on this for only a little over a week! I give her just half a pill a day in a lump of peanut butter, and she's good to go within 30 minutes! If your dog has bad allergies I would most definitely try this!
Date published: 2012-05-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from stop the itch Sebastian is a 14yr, old 5# pomerian, We live in Key Largo with all kinds of allergens all year. We also frequent the mangroves in search of treasures, with just 1/2 a pill a day the scratching seems to be under control. Have anything to keep the crocs away?
Date published: 2012-04-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from SO glad you carry this!! When I found my Great Dane puppy had allergies, I was buying Benadryl from the drug store, since he's over 100lbs, I was giving him more than 4+ tablets 2x a day (though my dr. suggested 3x a day). I am SO happy to find this product, not only because I can give him less pills (thanks to the 100mg bottle), but because i don't have to pop each pill out of those annoying foil packages!! THANK YOU for having this product, my puppy's allergies are SO much better, and now, that I got your product, I've been able to give it to him the recommended 3x a day! I've recommended you to a couple other large dog owners that have allergies as well :D
Date published: 2012-04-04
Rated 4 out of 5 by from GENERIC BENADRYL WORKS Boo takes 1/2 tablet twice a day along with generic pepcid ac in a half chicken pill pocket in her dry dog food. Everything combined has reduced her scratching and sensitive stomach.
Date published: 2012-04-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from It works After extensive vet tests (and $) and expressions and flushing for anal issues, and a diet change; these sometimes didn't work or only lasted for several weeks, we tried 25mg/day (2 1/2pills) for 25# pug and the next day all the itching stopped. Has been several weeks and no itch reoccurance. Give three grape size chunky peanut butter globs, first just plain, second with 1/2 pill imbedded and third for a "chaser". Hope there are no long term effects.
Date published: 2012-02-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works for 110 lb Dobie Dobie has some allergies. 1 in the am & 1 after dinner works for him.
Date published: 2011-10-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Itchy Dog Only a few days of using.It's helping our Zoe :)
Date published: 2011-10-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from It works! My 3 yr old Westie Sam was miserable with constantly licking his feet and shaking his head.. It seemed like allergins were everywhere. I tried the Generic Benadryl one a day in a pill pocket and Sam is a different little guy now. He's happy and so am I.
Date published: 2011-09-10
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Works .... This really had stopped his itching along with the shampoo I purchased.
Date published: 2011-09-09
  • y_2020, m_9, d_25, h_15
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.12
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_1, tr_63
  • loc_en_US, sid_prod10834, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_1800petmeds
  • bvseo_sdk, dw_cartridge, 18.2.0, p_sdk_3.2.0
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 7ms
  • reviews, product

Questions

Very aggravated cut off on chat!! The indications are very confusing!! You’d probably sell more if you clarified!! .5-2mg per body pd  # means nothing!! Do u start at .5 and work up till you get the the results.-(relief) I’ve seen this asked repeatedly!!

Asked by: Fletch
Thank you for your question. We are very sorry the dosing instructions are confusing and that your were disconnected via chat. Start at the lowest dose & frequency & increase as needed. Goal is the lowest effective dose. If you have any additional questions please give us a call at 1-800-738-6337 for immediate assistance.
Answered by: Crystal RPTechnician
Date published: 2018-07-31

My dog is 17 pounds. We want to give a 25 mg tab. 

Asked by: Melodie
Thank you for your question. Give 0.5-2 mg/lb of pet's body weight every 8-12 hours.
Answered by: Crystal RPTechnician
Date published: 2018-07-17

my bulldog puppy has allergies and is extremely congested. Can this be given every day?

Asked by: Robin
Please consult with your veterinarian before giving this to your furry baby every day.
Answered by: Cherley Petmeds Pro
Date published: 2019-10-24

My cat Buddy has an allergy to milk. Unfortunately he got into some the other day and vomits everyone he tries to eat. The vet had used cerenia. Has anyone had this problem and has anyone used Benadryl (generic) to help with vomiting?

Asked by: Buddysdad
Thank you for your question. Diphenhydramine is an antihistamine over the counter used to relieve allergy symptoms, insect stings, motion sickness, travel anxiety, and other conditions. Cerenia is indicated for the prevention of acute vomiting and prevention of vomiting due to motion sickness in dogs. Cerenia requires a prescription from your veterinarian.
Answered by: Crystal RPTechnician
Date published: 2018-03-05

Is this safe for cats?

Asked by: Denise
Yes, it is safe to administer diphenhydramine to cats.
Answered by: Lisa M
Date published: 2018-01-21

I give my dog Apoquel 5.4mg twice a day for allergies. This is costing me so much I can’t afford it anymore. Is there anything else I can give my dog that’s not so costly. 

Asked by: Brenda
There are less expensive treatment regimens for allergies. Consult your veterinarian for an appropriate alternative for your pet.
Answered by: Lisa M
Date published: 2018-01-16

Can the 25mg pills be cut or would that affect the release of it once ingested?

Asked by: DianaR
Thank you for your question. The pills can be cut however they are not scored. The pills should be dosed according to dosing instructions.
Answered by: Crystal RPTechnician
Date published: 2019-04-16

Is apoquel 16 mg the same as benadryl What's the difference?

Asked by: Rebecca
Thank you for your question. The Apoquel is a prescription medication and requires a veternarians approval. Apoquel is used to treat and control itching and inflammation in dogs resulting from a variety of causes, including flea allergy, food allergy, contact allergy and atopic dermatitis. The Diphenhydramine (Generic Benadryl) is an over the counter non-prescirption medication used to relieve allergy symptoms, insect stings, motion sickness, travel anxiety, and other conditions.
Answered by: Crystal RPTechnician
Date published: 2018-07-13

Can I give my 8 week old German Shepherd puppy benedryl? He has dry skin from being given a bath.

Asked by: Sully 55
Diphenhydramine is an antihistamine used to relieve allergy symptoms, insect stings, motion sickness, travel anxiety, and other conditions. As you mentioned your puppy has dry skin we would recommend instead using Super Pure Omega 3 and our Oatmeal & Aloe Vera Shampoo.
Answered by: Crystal RPTechnician
Date published: 2018-06-22

I have a 40lb. Muscular Boston terrier and an overweight 75 lb. Labrador mix and the vet had prescribed Apoquel 16 mg. - 1 tab/day to the Lab and 1/2 tab /day for the Boston Terrier. Would the Diphenhydramine be an equivalent ? If so, what strength and do

Asked by: Neil
The equivalence would be a question for your veterinarian based on the severity of your pets' needs; however, since you already have the Apoquel, would suggest to continue that use for ease rather than switching medications.
Answered by: leanniejo
Date published: 2018-02-11

My weighs 110lbs what dose do you recommend 

Asked by: Chas
As per the manufacturer, give 0.5 - 2mg per lb. of pets body weight every 8 -12 hours.
Answered by: Megan Student Pharmacist
Date published: 2018-07-11

Does this come in liquid form?

Asked by: Tootsie
Diphenhydramine only comes in 25mg minitabs or 50mg capsules.
Answered by: Cherley Petmeds Pro
Date published: 2018-06-22

For my boxer that weighs 59.9 lbs what dose would you recommend? 

Asked by: Tilesetter83
Hello, thank you for your question. For this product you give 0.5 - 2mg per lb of pets body weight every 8 -12 hours. For your pet it would be 29.95 - 119.8 mg every 8-12 hours. Hope this helps!
Answered by: Roseanna Pharmacy Intern
Date published: 2018-07-31

Is it good for nasal Sign us

Asked by: Geear
Diphenhydramine is an antihistamine used to relieve allergy symptoms, insect stings, motion sickness, travel anxiety, and other conditions. As an antihistamine, it counteracts the effect of histamine, which causes symptoms like itching and sneezing.
Answered by: Amy Petmed Pro
Date published: 2018-06-22

My vet suggested 1/2 of a 25mg tab ( weighs 16.5 lbs. Are the tabs easy to split

Asked by: Bailey1017
We are very sorry, the 25mg tabs are not scored for easy cutting.
Answered by: Amy Petmed Pro
Date published: 2017-02-17

Cat weight approximate 4 pounds. How much and how often in the liquid form

Asked by: Malinda
The liquid form is a compounded drug that would require a prescription from your veterinarian, who would instruct the use of this medication.
Answered by: Amy Petmed Pro
Date published: 2017-12-07

We have a 130 lb Boerboel who bites the pads on her feet.  She has tried several medications that don't work or affect her. Would Benadryl help?  She is 8 yrs old

Asked by: Lucy
It should...Diphenhydramine is an antihistamine used to relieve allergy symptoms, insect bites or stings and other causes of itching.
Answered by: Amy Petmed Pro
Date published: 2017-07-23

I have a small pavilion mix puppy that right now is 3 lbs and get car sick almost every time we go for a drive. Will this medication help her?

Asked by: Kass
Diphenhydramine is an antihistamine used to relieve allergy symptoms, insect bites or stings and other causes of itching. It is also used for its sedative and antiemetic effects in the treatment of motion sickness and travel anxiety.
Answered by: Amy Petmed Pro
Date published: 2017-02-01

What length of time should this medication be given for? Will daily use pose problems?

Asked by: Judy41
As per the manufacturer you will give 0.5 - 2mg per lb of pets body weight every 8 -12 hours.
Answered by: Carolyn Petmed Pro
Date published: 2018-06-22

I have a Yorkie he weighs 11lbs and he is sneezing a lot could I give him children Benadryl and if so how much he's 4yrs old?

Asked by: Missy47
You should NOT give children's Benadryl to your dog, as it has considerably more sodium than regular Benadryl. Buy the regular Benadryl and give the appropriate dosage, which would probably be approximately half of a 25 mg pill two or three times a day given the size of your dog.
Answered by: jtjavins
Date published: 2018-06-22

I have two cats that are extremely anxious about travel. I am moving 5 hours away so it would help if they slept through the ride. Would this help? And how long does it take to be effective?

Asked by: Alli95
You can use this product as a sedative to treat motion sickness or travel anxiety. It depends on the pet's body type on when it starts to take effect.
Answered by: Carolyn Petmed Pro
Date published: 2018-06-22

My Jack Russell mix is about 15-16 yrs old and weighs approx. 15lbs. What is the correct dose for her? We use to give her liquid Benadryl, but I don't see it here in this store. Her Doctor was telling us to give her 5ml twice daily as needed.

Asked by: Princess
Typical doses are 0.5 - 2 mg per lb of pets body weight every 8 -12 hours. For your 15 lb Jack Russel Mix, this would be about 7.7-30 mg every 8-12 hours. One of the 25 mg tabs falls into this range, and can be given 2-3 times daily as needed.
Answered by: Christine
Date published: 2018-06-22

how long has this drug been in use and how was it developed?

Asked by: Lovely
Diphenhydramine is the generic of Benadryl. It has been around for decades and is very commonly used in both humans and pets for allergies and rash. Diphenhydramine was discovered by George Rieveschl, in 1943 at the University of Cincinnati. He was investigating potential muscle-relaxant drugs by screening several compounds that his team had synthesized, one of which was diphenhydramine (beta dimethyl-aminoethyl benzhydryl ether). He discovered that diphenhydramine was not only a potent muscle-relaxant, but also had a potent anti-histamine effect.
Answered by: Christine
Date published: 2018-06-22

Is it safe to give banophen 25mg safe for dogs? 

Asked by: Cownie
Yes, Banophen (diphenhydramine) is safe for dogs. The dose is based on weight, as follows: give 0.5-2mg per lb of pets body weight every 8 -12 hours.
Answered by: Christine
Date published: 2017-01-27

My Maltese is very smart. If I give him a pill in a pill pocket or cheese or whatever he knows it and will not touch it. It's impossible to get a pill down his throat. He bites his feet and scratches all the time. Any suggestions? 

Asked by: Pat44
You can crush diphenhydramine and try putting it in his food if this will help.
Answered by: Christine
Date published: 2018-06-22

Can it be used on cats

Asked by: Sue27
Yes! Diphenhydramine can absolutely be used in cats. The typical dosing is 2-4 mg/kg (0.9-1.8 mg/lb) 2-3 times a day.
Answered by: Christine
Date published: 2018-06-22

Does this make the dogs lethargic or sleepy?  I would like to try this for my dog who scratches constantly and we've not been able to determine the allergy causing it. But I don't want her to end up groggy and sleeping all day.

Asked by: Mozek
Although the sedative effects may diminish over time, lethargy is one of the most common side effects of diphenhydramine.
Answered by: paulpharmacistintern
Date published: 2018-06-22

How much Benadryl should I give my cat, she is only 7 pounds, very tiny.  Was going to give it before bed since it will probably cause her to be sleepy 

Asked by: kitty21
An estimate would be a 5-10mg dose, however consult your veterinarian for a more specific dose for you cat.
Answered by: paulpharmacistintern
Date published: 2016-08-06

Can I give my adult cat a 1/4 of a Benedryl pill if she's sneezing and has a stuffy nose

Asked by: Carri
Hi there, you can give 0.5 - 2mg per lb of pets body weight every 8 -12 hours
Answered by: James PetMeds Pro
Date published: 2017-04-01

My 16lb. 12 year old ShihTzu is terrified of the fireworks. Will the Benadryl help calm him down

Asked by: Danicantone
Yes, it is safe to use this product as a sedative.
Answered by: Cherley Petmeds Pro
Date published: 2017-04-01
  • y_2020, m_9, d_26, h_15CST
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvqa, vn_bulk_3.0.12
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasquestionsanswers, tq_184
  • loc_en_US, sid_prod10834, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=LAST_APPROVED_ANSWER_SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_1800petmeds
  • bvseo_sdk, dw_cartridge, 18.2.0, p_sdk_3.2.0
  • CLOUD, getContent, 11ms
  • questions, product

What is Diphenhydramine (Generic Benadryl)?

Diphenhydramine is an antihistamine used to relieve allergy symptoms, insect stings, motion sickness, travel anxiety, and other conditions.

For:

Cats and Dogs

Benefits:

  • Effectively relieves allergy symptoms and itching caused by insect bites
  • Can be used as a sedative to treat motion sickness or travel anxiety
  • Relieves coughing

How does Diphenhydramine (Generic Benadryl) work?

Diphenhydramine comes in 25 mg minitabs or 50 mg capsules, and is a generic version of Benadryl. As an antihistamine, it counteracts the effect of histamine, which causes symptoms like itching and sneezing.

Cautions:

This medication should not be used in pregnant or nursing animals. Do not use the diphenhydramine available in combination with sinus or cold medicines in your pet.

Brand Name:

Benadryl (Warner Lambert), Histacalm (Virbac)

Generic Name:

Diphenhydramine (dye-fen-hy'-dra-meen)

Manufacturer:

Various

What is the most important thing I should know about Diphenhydramine (Generic Benadryl)?

Diphenhydramine is an antihistamine used to relieve allergy symptoms, insect bites or stings and other causes of itching. It is also used for its sedative and antiemetic effects in the treatment of motion sickness and travel anxiety. It is also used for its antitussive effect. Diphenhydramine is a non-prescription (OTC) product available as 25 mg minitabs and 50 mg capsules.

What should I discuss with my veterinarian before giving Diphenhydramine (Generic Benadryl) to my pet?

Tell your veterinarian if your pet is allergic to diphenhydramine or other antihistamines. Also tell your veterinarian if your pet is pregnant or lactating, or has history of glaucoma, prostate disease, urinary obstruction, or high blood pressure. Always tell your veterinarian and pharmacist what other medications your pet is taking.

How should Diphenhydramine (Generic Benadryl) be given?

Oral diphenhydramine is not FDA-approved for use in veterinary medicine; however, it is a commonly accepted practice to use this medication in dogs and cats. The usual dose in dogs and cats is 0.5-2 mg/lb every 8-12 hours. The slow release capsule should not be mixed or dissolved in food.

What are the potential side effects of Diphenhydramine (Generic Benadryl)?

Side effects of diphenhydramine include drowsiness, dry mouth and urinary retention. Rarely, vomiting and diarrhea can occur.

What happens if I miss giving a dose of Diphenhydramine (Generic Benadryl)?

Give the missed dose as soon as possible. If it is almost time for the next dose, skip the missed dose, and continue with the regular schedule. Do not give your pet two doses at once.

What happens if I overdose my pet on Diphenhydramine (Generic Benadryl)?

Contact your veterinarian or veterinary emergency room. Symptoms of overdose can include seizures, extreme drowsiness, coma, respiratory depression, and death.

What should I avoid while giving Diphenhydramine (Generic Benadryl) to my pet?

Do not give other sinus or cold medicines containing diphenhydramine to your pet while giving Diphenhydramine (Generic Benadryl).

What other drugs will affect Diphenhydramine (Generic Benadryl)?

Use with caution when given with other CNS (central nervous system)-depressant drugs such as tranquilizers or barbiturates.

Diphenhydramine (Generic Benadryl) Directions:

  • Diphenhydramine is an antihistamine used to relieve allergy symptoms, insect stings, motion sickness, travel anxiety and other conditions.
  • It is available over-the-counter (OTC) as 25 mg tablets and 50 mg capsules.
  • Diphenhydramine should not be used in dogs or cats that are pregnant or nursing.
Tip:

The slow release capsule should NOT be mixed or dissolved in food. Do not use sinus or cold medications containing diphenhydramine in your pet.

Diphenhydramine (Generic Benadryl) Dosage:

Diphenhydramine (Generic Benadryl) Dosage for Cats
Weight Dosage
All weights Give 0.5-2 mg/lb of pet's body weight every 8-12 hours
Diphenhydramine (Generic Benadryl) Dosage for Dogs
Weight Dosage
All weights Give 0.5-2 mg/lb of pet's body weight every 8-12 hours
Diphenhydramine (Generic Benadryl) Dosage for Horses
Horses
Do not use!

Storage:

Store this medication at room temperature, away from excess heat, light and moisture. Keep this medication in the container it came in, tightly closed. Store this medication at room temperature, away from excess heat, light, and moisture. Do not store in the bathroom. Throw away any medication that is outdated or no longer needed. Keep medication away from children and pets.

Diphenhydramine (Generic Benadryl) Ingredients:

Diphenhydramine HCl 25 mg Minitabs
Active Ingredients (per minitab) Amount
Diphenhydramine Hydrochloride 25 mg
Other Ingredients: Corn starch, D&C red #27, Dicalcium Phosphate, Magnesium Stearate, Microcrystalline Cellulose, Polyethylene Glycol, Polyvinyl Alcohol, Silicon Dioxide, Stearic Acid, Talc, Titanium Dioxide.
Diphenhydramine HCl 50 mg Capsules
Active Ingredients (per capsule) Amount
Diphenhydramine Hydrochloride 50 mg
Other Ingredients: Colloidal Silicon Dioxide, Croscarmellose Sodium, D&C Red #28, FD&C Blue #1, FD&C Red #3, FD&C Red #40, Gelatin, Lactose, Magnesium Stearate. May also contain Polysorbate 80 and iron oxide.

What is Diphenhydramine (Generic Benadryl)?

Diphenhydramine is an antihistamine used to relieve allergy symptoms, insect stings, motion sickness, travel anxiety, and other conditions.

For:

Cats and Dogs

Benefits:

  • Effectively relieves allergy symptoms and itching caused by insect bites
  • Can be used as a sedative to treat motion sickness or travel anxiety
  • Relieves coughing

How does Diphenhydramine (Generic Benadryl) work?

Diphenhydramine comes in 25 mg minitabs or 50 mg capsules, and is a generic version of Benadryl. As an antihistamine, it counteracts the effect of histamine, which causes symptoms like itching and sneezing.

Cautions:

This medication should not be used in pregnant or nursing animals. Do not use the diphenhydramine available in combination with sinus or cold medicines in your pet.

Brand Name:

Benadryl (Warner Lambert), Histacalm (Virbac)

Generic Name:

Diphenhydramine (dye-fen-hy'-dra-meen)

Manufacturer:

Various

What is the most important thing I should know about Diphenhydramine (Generic Benadryl)?

Diphenhydramine is an antihistamine used to relieve allergy symptoms, insect bites or stings and other causes of itching. It is also used for its sedative and antiemetic effects in the treatment of motion sickness and travel anxiety. It is also used for its antitussive effect. Diphenhydramine is a non-prescription (OTC) product available as 25 mg minitabs and 50 mg capsules.

What should I discuss with my veterinarian before giving Diphenhydramine (Generic Benadryl) to my pet?

Tell your veterinarian if your pet is allergic to diphenhydramine or other antihistamines. Also tell your veterinarian if your pet is pregnant or lactating, or has history of glaucoma, prostate disease, urinary obstruction, or high blood pressure. Always tell your veterinarian and pharmacist what other medications your pet is taking.

How should Diphenhydramine (Generic Benadryl) be given?

Oral diphenhydramine is not FDA-approved for use in veterinary medicine; however, it is a commonly accepted practice to use this medication in dogs and cats. The usual dose in dogs and cats is 0.5-2 mg/lb every 8-12 hours. The slow release capsule should not be mixed or dissolved in food.

What are the potential side effects of Diphenhydramine (Generic Benadryl)?

Side effects of diphenhydramine include drowsiness, dry mouth and urinary retention. Rarely, vomiting and diarrhea can occur.

What happens if I miss giving a dose of Diphenhydramine (Generic Benadryl)?

Give the missed dose as soon as possible. If it is almost time for the next dose, skip the missed dose, and continue with the regular schedule. Do not give your pet two doses at once.

What happens if I overdose my pet on Diphenhydramine (Generic Benadryl)?

Contact your veterinarian or veterinary emergency room. Symptoms of overdose can include seizures, extreme drowsiness, coma, respiratory depression, and death.

What should I avoid while giving Diphenhydramine (Generic Benadryl) to my pet?

Do not give other sinus or cold medicines containing diphenhydramine to your pet while giving Diphenhydramine (Generic Benadryl).

What other drugs will affect Diphenhydramine (Generic Benadryl)?

Use with caution when given with other CNS (central nervous system)-depressant drugs such as tranquilizers or barbiturates.

Diphenhydramine (Generic Benadryl) Directions:

  • Diphenhydramine is an antihistamine used to relieve allergy symptoms, insect stings, motion sickness, travel anxiety and other conditions.
  • It is available over-the-counter (OTC) as 25 mg tablets and 50 mg capsules.
  • Diphenhydramine should not be used in dogs or cats that are pregnant or nursing.
Tip:

The slow release capsule should NOT be mixed or dissolved in food. Do not use sinus or cold medications containing diphenhydramine in your pet.

Diphenhydramine (Generic Benadryl) Dosage:

Diphenhydramine (Generic Benadryl) Dosage for Cats
Weight Dosage
All weights Give 0.5-2 mg/lb of pet's body weight every 8-12 hours
Diphenhydramine (Generic Benadryl) Dosage for Dogs
Weight Dosage
All weights Give 0.5-2 mg/lb of pet's body weight every 8-12 hours
Diphenhydramine (Generic Benadryl) Dosage for Horses
Horses
Do not use!

Storage:

Store this medication at room temperature, away from excess heat, light and moisture. Keep this medication in the container it came in, tightly closed. Store this medication at room temperature, away from excess heat, light, and moisture. Do not store in the bathroom. Throw away any medication that is outdated or no longer needed. Keep medication away from children and pets.

Diphenhydramine (Generic Benadryl) Ingredients:

Diphenhydramine HCl 25 mg Minitabs
Active Ingredients (per minitab) Amount
Diphenhydramine Hydrochloride 25 mg
Other Ingredients: Corn starch, D&C red #27, Dicalcium Phosphate, Magnesium Stearate, Microcrystalline Cellulose, Polyethylene Glycol, Polyvinyl Alcohol, Silicon Dioxide, Stearic Acid, Talc, Titanium Dioxide.
Diphenhydramine HCl 50 mg Capsules
Active Ingredients (per capsule) Amount
Diphenhydramine Hydrochloride 50 mg
Other Ingredients: Colloidal Silicon Dioxide, Croscarmellose Sodium, D&C Red #28, FD&C Blue #1, FD&C Red #3, FD&C Red #40, Gelatin, Lactose, Magnesium Stearate. May also contain Polysorbate 80 and iron oxide.