Clavamox

3.6 out of 5 Customer Rating
Clavamox is rated 4.6 out of 5 by 73.
  • y_2020, m_7, d_11, h_15
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.10
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_73
  • loc_en_US, sid_prod3319, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_1800petmeds
  • bvseo_sdk, dw_cartridge, 18.2.0, p_sdk_3.2.0
  • CLOUD, getAggregateRating, 7ms
  • reviews, product
1. We'll ask for your vet's info during checkout.
2. We verify your prescription and ship your order!
Close
Starts $0.89 $0.62
Most orders ship the same day
prod3319 product detail number 1.0
Clavamox
SOLD PER TABLET

Clavamox

3.6 out of 5 Customer Rating
Clavamox is rated 4.6 out of 5 by 73.
  • y_2020, m_7, d_11, h_15
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.10
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_73
  • loc_en_US, sid_prod3319, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_1800petmeds
  • bvseo_sdk, dw_cartridge, 18.2.0, p_sdk_3.2.0
  • CLOUD, getAggregateRating, 7ms
  • reviews, product
Starts $0.89 $0.62
Most orders ship the same day

Reviews

Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wonder Med at a Great Price! My Beagle suffers from sinus infections, this product works perfectly to clear them up. MUCH less expensive on this site than through my vet, who I love dearly, but see much to often. Needless to say, getting the meds here saves me about half of what I'd pay at my vets office.
Date published: 2017-07-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Always gets the job done My dog gets UTIs a lot. I have used a generic medication for them and while it clears up the infection and is much less expensive, it also takes longer for the medicine to work and the UTI tends to come back quickly. With Clavamox, I see an improvement after 2 pills and it seems to kill the infection for much longer. It is more expensive but it just works faster and longer which ends up saving me a few dollars in the long run.
Date published: 2017-03-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Clavamox Great product & works very well for my baby~ She has no side affects & they do the job ~Staff at Pet-Meds is great and very helpful~ Couldn't be any better!!! Thank you for all of your help and concerns~
Date published: 2014-12-12
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Clavamox and stomach issues I have three cocker spaniels and two of them tend to have bladder problems where they get something similar to bladder infections and they wet all over the place,. with one dose this medicine helps! It is cheaper through pet meds than at the vet......
Date published: 2014-07-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from amazing antibiotic! I highly recommend this antibiotic to any one that has to absolutely-positively needs to rid their animal, <whether cat or dog>, of any nasty- "ooey-gooeyies." I had two experiences with this this pill. First, was for a major surgery for my tabby cat, Pippen, where he was recovering and on Clavamox for several weeks. I believe the quality of this rx, helped minimize down time for his recovery. He was back to normal in no time. The second was for my elderly rescue, Chula, whom I inherited a lot of malnutrition problems, <due to prior neglect> Her tummy was a size of a basketball, which earned her the nickname " HeffeLump", Well after testing she was found to have severe liver infection and was 800 over 120, so in comes Clavamox. She has been on the pill fro appx 2 months and her tummy has gone down 3/4ths already. Clavamox is not he cheapest pill, at 0.89$++ per pill, but the first experience w Pip , made me go with it again. I highly recommend this pill. It is worth the extra$$$
Date published: 2014-05-07
Rated 2 out of 5 by from I had gotten this from our vet and she had to use it three times and still didn't get rid of it. She has herpies. It also was cheaper at the vet 24.50 here it's 29.50 plus 9 dollars in shipping. I went back to the vet and she gave us Baytril and that seemed to work much better. It was liquid and chicken flavored here they have the tablets which is ok too and this is cheaper on here to get.
Date published: 2014-05-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from We are very satisfied with all of the services that were rendered to us. Sassy is very happy. Thanks Pet meds.
Date published: 2014-04-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I have used Clavamox for years and the results have always been great. There is no stomach upset or other side effects from this drug.
Date published: 2014-02-03
  • y_2020, m_7, d_11, h_15
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.10
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_73
  • loc_en_US, sid_prod3319, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_1800petmeds
  • bvseo_sdk, dw_cartridge, 18.2.0, p_sdk_3.2.0
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 6ms
  • reviews, product

Questions

Do I have to have a prescription to order Lisinopril and Lasix

Asked by: Arooke
Thank you for your question. Yes, both medications require a prescription. Once an order is placed our pharmacy will contact your veterinarian for the prescription.
Answered by: Crystal RPTechnician
Date published: 2020-06-19

Can I give this medicine to my 6 week old kitten

Asked by: Jooe
Please consult your veterinarian for proper medication and dosing for your kitten.
Answered by: SuzyCVT
Date published: 2020-05-16

My cat won&rsquo;t eat the medication any recommendations?

Asked by: Erinlivi
You can try pill pocket.
Answered by: Shari PetMed Pro
Date published: 2020-05-06

Is Clavamox for dogs the same as Clavamox for cats? Vet gave me med for my cat but packaging clearly says &quot;for dogs.&quot;

Asked by: Cherylder
Clavamox is a broad-spectrum antibiotic, a combination of amoxicillin and clavulanic acid, used for infections caused by bacteria. This medication is formulated for both Cats and Dogs.
Answered by: Cherley Petmeds Pro
Date published: 2020-04-28

Do I need a script for this item

Asked by: Karen
Yes, Clavamox&reg; (amoxicillin/clavulanic acid) is a prescription-only medication. Consult your veterinarian to discuss if this medication is appropriate for your pet. Thank you.
Answered by: Joshua T
Date published: 2020-04-10

Is there anything I can give to get rid of kennel cough without a prescription.

Asked by: Zorah
No, medications used to treat kennel cough do require a prescription. It is important to have your dog evaluated by your veterinarian for proper treatment.
Answered by: TMPE
Date published: 2020-02-06

Do i need a prescription for clavamox?

Asked by: Feefee1962
Yes, Clavamox requires a veterinarian's prescription.
Answered by: SuzyCVT
Date published: 2020-02-25

Is this medication safe to give to your pet when they are using NexGaurd?

Asked by: sleeper boy
Clavamox and NexGaurd can be used at the same time. Currently there are no known drug interactions regarding this combination. It's important to always monitor your pet when taking a new medication and report any side effects or allergic reactions if they occur.
Answered by: TMPE
Date published: 2020-01-24
  • y_2020, m_7, d_11, h_15CST
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvqa, vn_bulk_3.0.10
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers, tq_311
  • loc_en_US, sid_prod3319, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=LAST_APPROVED_ANSWER_SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_1800petmeds
  • bvseo_sdk, dw_cartridge, 18.2.0, p_sdk_3.2.0
  • CLOUD, getContent, 7ms
  • questions, product

What is Clavamox?

Clavamox is a broad-spectrum antibiotic, a combination of amoxicillin and clavulanic acid, used for infections caused by bacteria. It is available as chewable tablets or regular tablets. Clavamox is sold by the tablet, and requires a prescription from your veterinarian.

NOTE: Clavamox Drops are also available in a 15 ml bottle.

For:

Cats and Dogs

Benefits:

  • Good for skin and soft tissue infections such as wounds, abscesses, and cellulitis
  • Effective for first-time skin infections and persistent pyodermas (skin inflammation marked by pus-filled lesions)
  • Proven to generally be a safe antibacterial treatment
  • Sold per tablet

How does Clavamox work?

Clavamox combines the broad-spectrum antibiotic activity of amoxicillin with the unique beta-lactamase inhibiting effect of clavulanic acid which makes this product effective against beta-lactamase and non-beta-lactamase producing organisms.

Cautions:

Contact your veterinarian immediately if your pet experiences diarrhea that is severe and lasts longer than three days, or if he or she has an allergic reaction (e.g., shortness of breath, hives, swelling of the lips, tongue, or face, rash, or fainting).

Brand Name:

Clavamox (Zoetis)

Generic Name:

Amoxicillin along with clavulanic acid.

What is the most important thing I should know about Clavamox?

Clavamox is a broad spectrum antibiotic that fights bacteria in the body. Clavamox is a prescription medication available as regular tablets or chewable tablets in four different strengths: 62.5 mg, 125 mg, 250 mg, and 375 mg. Clavamox is also available as Clavamox Drops. When mixed with 14 ml of water, each ml contains 62.5 mg of Clavamox.

What should I discuss with my veterinarian before giving Clavamox to my pet?

Tell your veterinarian if your pet has ever had an allergic reaction to another penicillin or to a cephalosporin. Tell your veterinarian if your pet has liver or kidney disease. Tell your veterinarian if your pet is pregnant or lactating or if your pet could become pregnant during treatment.

How should Clavamox be given?

Give this medication exactly as directed by your veterinarian. Clavamox should be given with food. Keep water available for your pet. The usual dose of Clavamox in dogs is 6.25 mg/lb of dog's body weight twice a day, and in cats it is 62.5 mg (1 ml) twice a day. Clavamox can be used to treat many different types of bacterial infections such as respiratory, ear, urinary tract, and skin. Clavamox may also be used for purposes other than those listed. Give all of the Clavamox that is prescribed for your pet. Symptoms may improve before the infection is completely treated.

What are the potential side effects of Clavamox?

Contact your veterinarian immediately if your pet experiences diarrhea that is severe and lasts longer than 3 days. Stop giving Clavamox and seek emergency veterinary medical care in the event of an allergic reaction (shortness of breath, hives, swelling of the lips, tongue, or face, rash, or fainting). Other less serious side effects such as mild diarrhea, nausea, vomiting, or yeast or fungal infection may be more likely to occur. Continue to give Clavamox and notify your veterinarian if these symptoms occur. Talk to your veterinarian about any side effect that seems unusual or bothersome to your pet.

What happens if I miss giving a dose of Clavamox?

Give the missed dose as soon as you remember unless it is almost time for the next regularly scheduled dose. Do not give a double dose unless otherwise directed by your veterinarian.

What happens if I overdose my pet on Clavamox?

Seek emergency veterinary medical treatment if an overdose is suspected. Symptoms of Clavamox overdose may include nausea, vomiting, rash, drowsiness, hyperactivity, or kidney problems.

What should I avoid while giving Clavamox to my pet?

There are no restrictions on food or activity during treatment with Clavamox unless otherwise directed by your veterinarian.

What other drugs will affect Clavamox?

Before giving Clavamox, tell your veterinarian if your pet is being given another antibiotic (for the same or a different infection), allopurinol or probenecid. You may not be able to give Clavamox or you may need to have the dosage adjusted. Drugs other than those listed here may also interact with Clavamox. Talk to your veterinarian or pharmacist before giving any prescription or over-the-counter medicines, including vitamins, minerals, and herbal products.

Clavamox Directions:

  • Clavamox is a prescription broad spectrum penicillin antibiotic that fights bacteria in the body, and comes in the form of chewable tablets, regular tablets or drops.
  • Clavamox can be used to treat many different types of bacterial infections such as respiratory, ear, urinary tract, and skin infections.
  • Give Clavamox tablets with food. Do not remove tablets from the foil until ready to use.
Tip:

Clavamox should be given with food. Give all of the Clavamox that was prescribed for your pet. Symptoms may begin to improve before the infection is completely treated.

Clavamox Dosage:

Clavamox Dosage for Dogs:
WeightDosage
All weightsThe usual dose for dogs is 6.25 mg/lb of pet's body weight given by mouth twice a day. The duration of treatment depends on the type of infection and the response to treatment. The maximum duration of treatment should not exceed 30 days.
Clavamox Dosage for Cats:
WeightDosage
All weightsThe usual dose for cats is 62.5 mg (1 ml) given by mouth twice a day. The duration of treatment depends on the type of infection and the response to treatment. The maximum duration of treatment should not exceed 30 days.
Clavamox Dosage for Horses:
Horses
Do not use!
Storage:

Store the tablets at room temperature, away from moisture and heat.

Clavamox Ingredients:

Clavamox 62.5 mg Chewable Tablet or Regular Tablet
Active IngredientsAmount
Amoxicillin Trihydrate50 mg
Clavulanic Acid12.5 mg
Clavamox 125 mg Chewable Tablet or Regular Tablet
Active IngredientsAmount
Amoxicillin Trihydrate100 mg
Clavulanic Acid25 mg
Clavamox 250 mg Chewable Tablet or Regular Tablet
Active IngredientsAmount
Amoxicillin Trihydrate200 mg
Clavulanic Acid50 mg
Clavamox 375 mg Chewable Tablet or Regular Tablet
Active IngredientsAmount
Amoxicillin Trihydrate300 mg
Clavulanic Acid75 mg

What is Clavamox?

Clavamox is a broad-spectrum antibiotic, a combination of amoxicillin and clavulanic acid, used for infections caused by bacteria. It is available as chewable tablets or regular tablets. Clavamox is sold by the tablet, and requires a prescription from your veterinarian.

NOTE: Clavamox Drops are also available in a 15 ml bottle.

For:

Cats and Dogs

Benefits:

  • Good for skin and soft tissue infections such as wounds, abscesses, and cellulitis
  • Effective for first-time skin infections and persistent pyodermas (skin inflammation marked by pus-filled lesions)
  • Proven to generally be a safe antibacterial treatment
  • Sold per tablet

How does Clavamox work?

Clavamox combines the broad-spectrum antibiotic activity of amoxicillin with the unique beta-lactamase inhibiting effect of clavulanic acid which makes this product effective against beta-lactamase and non-beta-lactamase producing organisms.

Cautions:

Contact your veterinarian immediately if your pet experiences diarrhea that is severe and lasts longer than three days, or if he or she has an allergic reaction (e.g., shortness of breath, hives, swelling of the lips, tongue, or face, rash, or fainting).

Brand Name:

Clavamox (Zoetis)

Generic Name:

Amoxicillin along with clavulanic acid.

What is the most important thing I should know about Clavamox?

Clavamox is a broad spectrum antibiotic that fights bacteria in the body. Clavamox is a prescription medication available as regular tablets or chewable tablets in four different strengths: 62.5 mg, 125 mg, 250 mg, and 375 mg. Clavamox is also available as Clavamox Drops. When mixed with 14 ml of water, each ml contains 62.5 mg of Clavamox.

What should I discuss with my veterinarian before giving Clavamox to my pet?

Tell your veterinarian if your pet has ever had an allergic reaction to another penicillin or to a cephalosporin. Tell your veterinarian if your pet has liver or kidney disease. Tell your veterinarian if your pet is pregnant or lactating or if your pet could become pregnant during treatment.

How should Clavamox be given?

Give this medication exactly as directed by your veterinarian. Clavamox should be given with food. Keep water available for your pet. The usual dose of Clavamox in dogs is 6.25 mg/lb of dog's body weight twice a day, and in cats it is 62.5 mg (1 ml) twice a day. Clavamox can be used to treat many different types of bacterial infections such as respiratory, ear, urinary tract, and skin. Clavamox may also be used for purposes other than those listed. Give all of the Clavamox that is prescribed for your pet. Symptoms may improve before the infection is completely treated.

What are the potential side effects of Clavamox?

Contact your veterinarian immediately if your pet experiences diarrhea that is severe and lasts longer than 3 days. Stop giving Clavamox and seek emergency veterinary medical care in the event of an allergic reaction (shortness of breath, hives, swelling of the lips, tongue, or face, rash, or fainting). Other less serious side effects such as mild diarrhea, nausea, vomiting, or yeast or fungal infection may be more likely to occur. Continue to give Clavamox and notify your veterinarian if these symptoms occur. Talk to your veterinarian about any side effect that seems unusual or bothersome to your pet.

What happens if I miss giving a dose of Clavamox?

Give the missed dose as soon as you remember unless it is almost time for the next regularly scheduled dose. Do not give a double dose unless otherwise directed by your veterinarian.

What happens if I overdose my pet on Clavamox?

Seek emergency veterinary medical treatment if an overdose is suspected. Symptoms of Clavamox overdose may include nausea, vomiting, rash, drowsiness, hyperactivity, or kidney problems.

What should I avoid while giving Clavamox to my pet?

There are no restrictions on food or activity during treatment with Clavamox unless otherwise directed by your veterinarian.

What other drugs will affect Clavamox?

Before giving Clavamox, tell your veterinarian if your pet is being given another antibiotic (for the same or a different infection), allopurinol or probenecid. You may not be able to give Clavamox or you may need to have the dosage adjusted. Drugs other than those listed here may also interact with Clavamox. Talk to your veterinarian or pharmacist before giving any prescription or over-the-counter medicines, including vitamins, minerals, and herbal products.

Clavamox Directions:

  • Clavamox is a prescription broad spectrum penicillin antibiotic that fights bacteria in the body, and comes in the form of chewable tablets, regular tablets or drops.
  • Clavamox can be used to treat many different types of bacterial infections such as respiratory, ear, urinary tract, and skin infections.
  • Give Clavamox tablets with food. Do not remove tablets from the foil until ready to use.
Tip:

Clavamox should be given with food. Give all of the Clavamox that was prescribed for your pet. Symptoms may begin to improve before the infection is completely treated.

Clavamox Dosage:

Clavamox Dosage for Dogs:
WeightDosage
All weightsThe usual dose for dogs is 6.25 mg/lb of pet's body weight given by mouth twice a day. The duration of treatment depends on the type of infection and the response to treatment. The maximum duration of treatment should not exceed 30 days.
Clavamox Dosage for Cats:
WeightDosage
All weightsThe usual dose for cats is 62.5 mg (1 ml) given by mouth twice a day. The duration of treatment depends on the type of infection and the response to treatment. The maximum duration of treatment should not exceed 30 days.
Clavamox Dosage for Horses:
Horses
Do not use!
Storage:

Store the tablets at room temperature, away from moisture and heat.

Clavamox Ingredients:

Clavamox 62.5 mg Chewable Tablet or Regular Tablet
Active IngredientsAmount
Amoxicillin Trihydrate50 mg
Clavulanic Acid12.5 mg
Clavamox 125 mg Chewable Tablet or Regular Tablet
Active IngredientsAmount
Amoxicillin Trihydrate100 mg
Clavulanic Acid25 mg
Clavamox 250 mg Chewable Tablet or Regular Tablet
Active IngredientsAmount
Amoxicillin Trihydrate200 mg
Clavulanic Acid50 mg
Clavamox 375 mg Chewable Tablet or Regular Tablet
Active IngredientsAmount
Amoxicillin Trihydrate300 mg
Clavulanic Acid75 mg