Chlorpheniramine 4 Mg Tabs

4.4 out of 5 Customer Rating
  • bvseo_sdk, dw_cartridge, 18.2.0, p_sdk_3.2.0
  • CLOUD, getAggregateRating, 75ms
  • reviews, product
  • bvseo-msg: Unsuccessful GET. status = 'ERROR', msg = 'Not Found.';
Starts $9.11 $6.38
Most orders ship the same day
10471 product detail number 1.0
Chlorpheniramine 4 mg Tabs 100 ct

Chlorpheniramine 4 Mg Tabs

4.4 out of 5 Customer Rating
  • bvseo_sdk, dw_cartridge, 18.2.0, p_sdk_3.2.0
  • CLOUD, getAggregateRating, 75ms
  • reviews, product
  • bvseo-msg: Unsuccessful GET. status = 'ERROR', msg = 'Not Found.';
Starts $9.11 $6.38
Most orders ship the same day
Please select all product options.

Reviews

  • bvseo_sdk, dw_cartridge, 18.2.0, p_sdk_3.2.0
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 7ms
  • reviews, product
  • bvseo-msg: Unsuccessful GET. status = 'ERROR', msg = 'Not Found.'; Unsuccessful GET. status = 'ERROR', msg = 'Not Found.';

Questions

If my dog is better can I stop the drug right away. He’s been taking it for two weeks.

Asked by: Tibet
Yes, you can discontinue use. This medication is for temporary relief of allergy symptoms.
Answered by: Crystal RPTechnician
Date published: 2019-04-11

Can chlorpheniramine be taken with proin and carprofen

Asked by: Pixie
Thank you for your question. Yes, it can unless otherwise directed by your DVM.
Answered by: Crystal RPTechnician
Date published: 2019-03-05

Can this be used with prednisone? My cat is currently taking predisone for another issue but may have caught a cold from our other cat.

Asked by: Greta
Thank you for your question. Yes, unless otherwise advised by your veterinarian you can use this medication with prednisone.
Answered by: Crystal RPTechnician
Date published: 2020-01-29

My dog suffers from red itchy eyes and they look sore. My vet prescribed Apoquel which worked well. Would Chlorpheniramine work for this ailment too? Thanks

Asked by: Denise
Thank you for your question. Chlorpheniramine is effective however it is meant for temporary relief of allergy symptoms in pets. Apoquel is extremely effective, it is safe for short and long term use.
Answered by: Crystal RPTechnician
Date published: 2019-02-22

How do I get my cat to take it? She won't take a pill even in a treat. Can I crush it?

Asked by: Mom of wee panther
Thank you for your question. These tablets should not be crushed. We offer Greenies Pill pockets. Greenies Pill Pockets are a nutritious treat for dogs and cats that contain a built-in pocket, perfect for hiding a tablet or capsule. Pets love the taste so much they won't even notice there's medication inside!
Answered by: Crystal RPTechnician
Date published: 2019-10-02

Do I need prescription for this pills ? I need to get something for flash's itching and this seems like the best option.

Asked by: Leo2234
Thank you for your question. Chlorpheniramine does not require a prescription.
Answered by: Crystal RPTechnician
Date published: 2018-09-17

How many pills for a 60 Pound dog

Asked by: Donna
Thank you for your question. The usual dose for dogs is 2-8mg every 8-12 hours or 1/2 - 2 tablets every 8-12 hours.
Answered by: Crystal RPTechnician
Date published: 2020-05-21

How many pills are in one bottle and is the cost per pill or per bottle

Asked by: Sharon
Thank you for your question. You get a 100ct bottle of Chlorpheniramine 4mg, so the cost shown is per bottle.
Answered by: Crystal RPTechnician
Date published: 2018-08-14

Can i use water to brake down Chlorpheniramine Maleate for oral application

Asked by: Dale
Thank you for your question. The product can be mixed in water however it will not dissolve and will most likely clog the dropper.
Answered by: Crystal RPTechnician
Date published: 2019-10-23

Can i use water to brake down tablet of chlorpheniramine maleate to use in a eye droper

Asked by: Dale
Thank you for your question. The product can be mixed in water however it will not dissolve and will most likely clog the dropper.
Answered by: Crystal RPTechnician
Date published: 2018-07-26

I have 10 mg tabs. Is 1/2 of that ok, for my 15 lb cat?

Asked by: BeameupJesus78
2. The recommended dose of chlorpheniramine 4mg for cats for all weights is 1/4 - 1/2 tablet every 8-12 hours. If you have 10mg tablets, start with a dose of 1/4 tablet.
Answered by: Crystal RPTechnician
Date published: 2019-10-23

Do the tablets have a flavor or smell?  My cat won’t take anything if she doesn’t like the smell or flavor.

Asked by: Deb52
This product is not flavored.
Answered by: Cherley Petmeds Pro
Date published: 2019-10-23

My dog was put on it yesterday for allergies, but I'm going it helps with his wheezing and losing his voice when he barks.

Asked by: Sunshine
Thank you for your question. Chlorpheniramine is an antihistamine in tablet form meant to be used for the temporary relief of allergy symptoms in pets. Chlorpheniramine works to remedy contact, inhaled, or drug-induced allergies in dogs and cats by blocking the effects of histamine in the body.
Answered by: Crystal RPTechnician
Date published: 2019-10-23

Hi, can this medication be used in place of Apoquel? My pitbull does well with Apoquel but it's way too costly. I was wondering if this is a generic form of it. Thank You.

Asked by: nono
Thank you for your question. There is no generic available for Apoquel at this time. Chlorpheniramine is an antihistamine in tablet form meant to be used for the temporary relief of allergy symptoms in pets. Both products contain different ingredients. Apoquel requires a prescription from a veterinarian.
Answered by: Crystal RPTechnician
Date published: 2019-10-23

Any info on use of this medication in cats for possible asthmatic allergies?

Asked by: Marcy L
Thank you for your question. Chlorpheniramine is an antihistamine used in the treatment of contact, inhaled or drug-induced allergies in dogs and cats.
Answered by: Crystal RPTechnician
Date published: 2018-04-16

What are the side effects for small dogs

Asked by: Sherry
Thank you for your question. The potential side effects of the medication may include drowsiness, vomiting, diarrhea, and lack of appetite. Dry mouth and urinary retention can also occur.
Answered by: Crystal RPTechnician
Date published: 2019-10-23

Hi bindi is 11years old, weighs 2.7kg. We have move to another place and now bindi just itches and scratches all the time. We have always noticed this when she is around grass. I have iramine 4mg. Could you tell me how often I can give for size? Caz 

Asked by: Bindi
Thanks for your question. Bindi should receive 1/2 to 2 tablets every 8 to 12 hours for her allergies. It is recommended to start at the lower dose of 1/2 tablet every 12 hours to see how she tolerates the medication. If she tolerates the medication but is still itching and scratching the next day, you may increase her dose, up to 2 tablets every 8 hours at the maximum.
Answered by: Adriane
Date published: 2019-10-23

My shih tzu has dry skin and groomer suggested nova pheniram 4 mg twice daily. She is not on any other medicine. Has anyone used this for dry skin? She is currently scratching. How long should I use this? Thanks. 

Asked by: Bailey
Hi I have been using it on my sheet sue for about a month now and it really helps the allergies. She no longer scratches and her nose is no longer runny. It does make them a little sleepy though
Answered by: Lani 72
Date published: 2019-10-23

Can I give this product to my cat for her allergies and if so how much??

Asked by: Becky
Thank you for your question. The product can be used for cats. The recommended dose is 1/4-1/2 tablets every 8-12lbs no matter how many pounds your cat weighs. Do not open or crush the long-acting capsules.
Answered by: Crystal RPTechnician
Date published: 2019-10-23

Why does the bottle have human dosage on it?

Asked by: Kim
This product is used for people as well as animals
Answered by: Becky
Date published: 2019-10-23

I have a 25 lb min  schnauzer who keeps licking his paws. I gave him one 4 mg pill. Is that too much and if so what should I do?

Asked by: Rudy1
This product is safe for dogs and puppies of all weights 1/2 - 2 tablets every 8-12 hours.
Answered by: Cherley Petmeds Pro
Date published: 2019-10-23

Can I get one bottle of 1000 tablets of Chlorpheniramine? Or is price same as 10 bottles of 100?

Asked by: IslandLabs3
Thank you for your question. Unfortunately the Chlorpheniramine is sold only as a 100ct bottle. You would need to order a quantity of 10 bottles to get 1000 tablets total.
Answered by: Crystal RPTechnician
Date published: 2019-10-23

Will chlortab help with nasal congestion? My 46 lb pup has year round allergies, Apoquel, Benadryl, and Temaril P doesn't help with nasal congestion.

Asked by: Missy
According to the labeling of this product, Do not use chlorpheniramine when it is in combination with other medications such as acetaminophen or caffeine such as found in various cold and sinus products. We advise to please speak to your veterinarian to make sure this would be okay for your furry pet.
Answered by: Amy Petmed Pro
Date published: 2019-10-23

I have been giving my cat 5mg of Loratadine for his allergies and they have completely cleared his sores he was developing. My question is, would  Chlorpheniramine be comparable and or safer to give my cat?

Asked by: OzziesMom
Unfortunately since Customer Service Representatives are not a licensed medical professional we are not able to answer your question. We would have to advise you to consult your veterinarian.
Answered by: Amy Petmed Pro
Date published: 2017-04-03

can this be taken with phenobarbital?

Asked by: Cheryll
Antihistamines, such as Chlorpheniramine, may increase the effects of Phenobarbital. Speak with your veterinarian first before giving Chlorpheniramine to your pet.
Answered by: Christine
Date published: 2017-05-11

My dog was taking Chlorpheniramine given by the vet I was using at the time. I moved and changed vets and read where it was the same as Chlorotrimentin. I bought the generic Chlor tabs. Is that the same as Chlorpheniramine ? Can I give it to my dog?

Asked by: Demi14
Yes, Chlor-Trimeton is the brand of Chlorpheniramine Maleate.
Answered by: Christine
Date published: 2019-10-23

Can I crush this pill and mix it with water to use a syringe to get my cat to take it?

My cat is having a hard time taking pills. He fights so hard against taking it, it turns into a very stressful situation. I'd like to crush it up. mix it with water and syringe shoot it into his mouth. Is there any issues with getting it into him this way? He is an 18lb cat and the vet said to take an entire 4mg pill.
Asked by: Jenn
I got this from my veterinarian. They gave me a pill shooter. You put it inbetween their side teeth and the pill lands on the back of the tongue. It takes seconds and your cat won't know what happened. 
Answered by: Junet
Date published: 2019-10-23

Alermine 4mg

I have a Pomerian and she has had a bad cough I found some pills but not sure what they are I want to check before I give them to her. It's Alermine 4mg I want to make sure these are what I need to give her. they have a pyramin and 016 on them and yellow in color is this just a different pharmacy brand or something else.
Asked by: Chizzy
Please contact your local Poison Information Center to help identify the tablet in your possession.
Answered by: Lilli Pharmacist
Date published: 2014-10-27

How soon will side effects show?

I have a mini dachshund with allergies. I have been giving her .25 of a tablet twice a day for the past 5 days. She has vomited twice today and was wondering if this could be a side effect of the medicine. Could she begin to have side effects on her 5th day of taking the medication?
Asked by: Andrea
Side effects are usually seen sooner; however, it may be possible. Consult your veterinarian to rule out other causes.
Answered by: Lisa M
Date published: 2015-05-14

what is identifying number on pill

Asked by: Boo
Thank you for your question. The identifying number is 44 194.
Answered by: Maureen PetMeds Pro
Date published: 2014-06-29
  • y_2020, m_10, d_27, h_16CST
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvqa, vn_bulk_3.0.12
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasquestionsanswers, tq_112
  • loc_en_US, sid_prod10471, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=LAST_APPROVED_ANSWER_SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_1800petmeds
  • bvseo_sdk, dw_cartridge, 18.2.0, p_sdk_3.2.0
  • CLOUD, getContent, 73ms
  • questions, product

What is Chlorpheniramine?

Chlorpheniramine is an antihistamine in tablet form meant to be used for the temporary relief of allergy symptoms in pets. Chlorpheniramine Compounded is also available as a chewable tab, liquid, or transdermal.

For:

Cats and Dogs

Benefits:

  • Begins to work within 1 hour

How does Chlorpheniramine work?

Chlorpheniramine works to remedy contact, inhaled, or drug-induced allergies in dogs and cats by blocking the effects of histamine in the body.

Cautions:

While in 4mg strength it's over-the-counter, there are possible negative interactions with other medications. Consult with your veterinarian. Side effects may include drowsiness, vomiting, diarrhea, lack of appetite, dry mouth, and urinary retention. Do not store in the bathroom, as it's sensitive to moisture.

Brand Name:

Chlor-Trimeton (Schering-Plough)

Generic Name:

Chlorpheniramine

What is the most important thing I should know about Chlorpheniramine?

Chlorpheniramine is an antihistamine used in the treatment of contact, inhaled or drug-induced allergies in dogs and cats. It is also used to treat miliary dermatitis in cats.

How Chlorpheniramine be given?

Chlorpheniramine is not FDA approved for use in veterinary medicine; however, it is a commonly accepted practice to use this medication in dogs and cats. The usual dose for dogs is 2-8mg every 8-12 hours. For cats the usual dose is 1-2mg every 8-12 hours. Do not open or crush the long-acting capsules.

What are the potential side effects of Chlorpheniramine?

Side effects may include drowsiness, vomiting, diarrhea, and lack of appetite. Dry mouth and urinary retention can also occur.

What should I avoid while giving Chlorpheniramine to my pet?

This medication should not be used in animals allergic to chlorpheniramine or similar antihistamines. Do not use in patients with glaucoma, prostate disease or urinary obstruction, stomach or intestinal obstruction, high blood pressure or hyperthyroidism.

What happens if I overdose my pet on Chlorpheniramine?

Contact your veterinarian or veterinary emergency room. Symptoms of overdose may include excitement or seizure, drowsiness, coma, respiratory depression and death.

What other drugs will affect Chlorpheniramine?

Use caution when given with phenothiazines such as acepromazine and other central nervous system (CNS) depressant medications. Chlorpheniramine should not be used with monoamine oxidase inhibitors (MAOIs) such as selegiline and Preventic tick collar. Use caution when given with metoclopramide. Do not use chlorpheniramine when it is in combination with other medications such as acetaminophen or caffeine such as found in various cold and sinus products. Do not use in pregnant or lactating animals. Always tell your veterinarian and pharmacist what other medications your pet is taking.

Chlorpheniramine 4 mg Tabs Directions:

  • Chlorpheniramine 4mg tablets are an over-the-counter (OTC) product.
  • Chlorpheniramine 4mg tablets are an antihistamine used to treat allergies.
Tip:

Chlorpheniramine can interact with other medications. Check with your pharmacist or veterinarian before giving this medication to pets taking other medications.

Chlorpheniramine 4 mg Tabs Dosage:

Chlorpheniramine 4 mg Tabs Dosage for Cats/Kittens
Weight Dosage
All weights 1/4 - 1/2 tablet every 8-12 hours
Chlorpheniramine 4 mg Tabs Dosage for Dogs/Puppies
Weight Dosage
All weights 1/2 - 2 tablets every 8-12 hours
Chlorpheniramine 4 mg Tabs Dosage for Horses
Horses
Do not use!

Storage:

Should be stored at room temperature.

Chlorpheniramine 4 mg Tabs Ingredients:

Chlorpheniramine 4 mg Tabs
Active Ingredients (per tablet) Amount
Chlorpheniramine maleate 4 mg
Other Ingredients: D&C Yellow #10, lactose, magnesium stearate, microcrystalline cellulose, pregelatinized starch.

What is Chlorpheniramine?

Chlorpheniramine is an antihistamine in tablet form meant to be used for the temporary relief of allergy symptoms in pets. Chlorpheniramine Compounded is also available as a chewable tab, liquid, or transdermal.

For:

Cats and Dogs

Benefits:

  • Begins to work within 1 hour

How does Chlorpheniramine work?

Chlorpheniramine works to remedy contact, inhaled, or drug-induced allergies in dogs and cats by blocking the effects of histamine in the body.

Cautions:

While in 4mg strength it's over-the-counter, there are possible negative interactions with other medications. Consult with your veterinarian. Side effects may include drowsiness, vomiting, diarrhea, lack of appetite, dry mouth, and urinary retention. Do not store in the bathroom, as it's sensitive to moisture.

Brand Name:

Chlor-Trimeton (Schering-Plough)

Generic Name:

Chlorpheniramine

What is the most important thing I should know about Chlorpheniramine?

Chlorpheniramine is an antihistamine used in the treatment of contact, inhaled or drug-induced allergies in dogs and cats. It is also used to treat miliary dermatitis in cats.

How Chlorpheniramine be given?

Chlorpheniramine is not FDA approved for use in veterinary medicine; however, it is a commonly accepted practice to use this medication in dogs and cats. The usual dose for dogs is 2-8mg every 8-12 hours. For cats the usual dose is 1-2mg every 8-12 hours. Do not open or crush the long-acting capsules.

What are the potential side effects of Chlorpheniramine?

Side effects may include drowsiness, vomiting, diarrhea, and lack of appetite. Dry mouth and urinary retention can also occur.

What should I avoid while giving Chlorpheniramine to my pet?

This medication should not be used in animals allergic to chlorpheniramine or similar antihistamines. Do not use in patients with glaucoma, prostate disease or urinary obstruction, stomach or intestinal obstruction, high blood pressure or hyperthyroidism.

What happens if I overdose my pet on Chlorpheniramine?

Contact your veterinarian or veterinary emergency room. Symptoms of overdose may include excitement or seizure, drowsiness, coma, respiratory depression and death.

What other drugs will affect Chlorpheniramine?

Use caution when given with phenothiazines such as acepromazine and other central nervous system (CNS) depressant medications. Chlorpheniramine should not be used with monoamine oxidase inhibitors (MAOIs) such as selegiline and Preventic tick collar. Use caution when given with metoclopramide. Do not use chlorpheniramine when it is in combination with other medications such as acetaminophen or caffeine such as found in various cold and sinus products. Do not use in pregnant or lactating animals. Always tell your veterinarian and pharmacist what other medications your pet is taking.

Chlorpheniramine 4 mg Tabs Directions:

  • Chlorpheniramine 4mg tablets are an over-the-counter (OTC) product.
  • Chlorpheniramine 4mg tablets are an antihistamine used to treat allergies.
Tip:

Chlorpheniramine can interact with other medications. Check with your pharmacist or veterinarian before giving this medication to pets taking other medications.

Chlorpheniramine 4 mg Tabs Dosage:

Chlorpheniramine 4 mg Tabs Dosage for Cats/Kittens
Weight Dosage
All weights 1/4 - 1/2 tablet every 8-12 hours
Chlorpheniramine 4 mg Tabs Dosage for Dogs/Puppies
Weight Dosage
All weights 1/2 - 2 tablets every 8-12 hours
Chlorpheniramine 4 mg Tabs Dosage for Horses
Horses
Do not use!

Storage:

Should be stored at room temperature.

Chlorpheniramine 4 mg Tabs Ingredients:

Chlorpheniramine 4 mg Tabs
Active Ingredients (per tablet) Amount
Chlorpheniramine maleate 4 mg
Other Ingredients: D&C Yellow #10, lactose, magnesium stearate, microcrystalline cellulose, pregelatinized starch.