Apoquel

5 out of 5 Customer Rating
Apoquel is rated 4.4 out of 5 by 89.
  • y_2020, m_8, d_4, h_15
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.10
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_89
  • loc_en_US, sid_prod11700, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_1800petmeds
  • bvseo_sdk, dw_cartridge, 18.2.0, p_sdk_3.2.0
  • CLOUD, getAggregateRating, 42ms
  • reviews, product
1. We'll ask for your vet's info during checkout.
2. We verify your prescription and ship your order!
Close
Starts $3.27 $2.29
Most orders ship the same day
prod11700 product detail number 1.0
Apoquel
SOLD PER TABLET

Apoquel

5 out of 5 Customer Rating
Apoquel is rated 4.4 out of 5 by 89.
  • y_2020, m_8, d_4, h_15
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.10
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_89
  • loc_en_US, sid_prod11700, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_1800petmeds
  • bvseo_sdk, dw_cartridge, 18.2.0, p_sdk_3.2.0
  • CLOUD, getAggregateRating, 42ms
  • reviews, product
Starts $3.27 $2.29
Most orders ship the same day

Reviews

Rated 1 out of 5 by from very expensive! I bought the Apoquel for my chihuahua. I read the reviews and tried it. It doesn't even help Brutus! This is more costly than my medications! He stills licks, scratches and rubs his body. It's also driving me crazy and I feel so bad for him. I'm trying a couple different ones to see if it helps him. It's in a liquid form and he does well with liquids on food.
Date published: 2020-01-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Really works! Our dog was constantly getting these horrible patches on his skin. We washed him every week to keep it somewhat contained but the vet recommended Apoquel and he has had zero outbreaks...he is a 7-year old Akita and has had these skin issues practically since birth. It is pricey but if you shop around the online vets you can find it more reasonably priced. It is a med that can be used long term. We also give him the Grizzly Salmon oil which makes his coat amazing.
Date published: 2019-11-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Scruff We put scruff on this medicine and all I do is make a marble size ball of liver sausage or peanut butter on the tip of my finger and he swallows it right down. Scruff doesn't scratch any more. Before he was scratching so hard he was causing scabs.
Date published: 2019-11-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from German Shepherd constantly nibbles on paws and scratches due to various environmental allergies. Put her on this and saw same day relief. After I ran out of pills and didn’t give to her for a few weeks she started her symptoms right back up. Going back on pills!
Date published: 2019-10-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Miraculous! Was so close to taking my dog to see an expensive "Allergist" ,after trying and doing all i thought was possible. One day just watching tv and the commercial fir this medicine came on and ever since it was the best thing i ever seen on tv . My dog now is back his old self again .
Date published: 2019-09-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Apoquel is best anti-itch My Phoebe has used Apoquel for about 4 years and it's amazing. Without it she has numerous scabs. Once she is on it the scabs disappear.
Date published: 2019-08-14
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Helped so much We rescued diesel from a shelter and he got allergies about a year later. He was miserable for two years and NOTHING worked apoquel was our last option
Date published: 2019-08-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from MIRACLE MEDICATION My babies name is Falcor. He has this odd genetically inherited itching disorder, (his momma had it as well), its unknown what it is if infact its an allergy, he's been tested for demodex, mange you name it. Its not anything his vet nor myself can identify. He's spent the majority of his 4year life on Benadryl, antibiotics & Prednisone. Changed foods, no dyes, natural, Ive spent hundreds of dollars on every special type & kind of shampoo they make! Ive tried EVERYTHING! As mentioned earlier his Mommy Shadow had this condition so torridly bad, eventually she succumbed to it & she passed in September 2018, she was 6 years old. I did everything in my power to help her & it just wasnt enough. There was just no more I could do for her. It broke my heart! And his as well. I took Falcor to the vet in January 2019, when as you can see from his Jan pic, how bad he had gotten during the winter months. Nothing I threw at this made it better for him more than a week or two at a time. Falcor had spent 4 years of his life suffering & I was at the end of my rope, almost ready to make the heartwrenching decision to have him put down. His vet recommend Apoquel. I had never heard of it & I was willing to do everything that I possibly could to FINALLY get my baby the relief he so desperately needed! 1 week into his 1st round of Apoquel, for the 1st time in his little life, he was fullly OFF the Benadryl! He's had a minor set back, due to this summer months heat, but its NOTHING in comparison to how bad he once was. My baby IS getting better! I only wished Shadow was able to have gotten the chance to have taken it. Because if I had only known, about the Apoquel, Im 100% sure she would still be here if she had. As you all can see Ive gotten my baby Falcor back! ❤ He will be on the Apoquel for the rest of his life. But he IS worth it! I recommend this Apoquel AKA MIRACLE medication for ANYONE, who has tried EVERYTHING in their power to help their own fur kids. God Bless! Love Falcor & Rachel!
Date published: 2019-07-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My dog stopped scratching in 1 day! Same with chewing his back feet! It starts every spring for the last 3 years. He chews the top of his feet raw and scratches the top of his head putting lacerations on his brow. One day it all stops. It is expensive but not as much as Vet visits.
Date published: 2019-07-09
Rated 4 out of 5 by from It works Our boxer-pit has been on apoquel for about three years. During a recent move we ran out, and decided to see if he really needs it. He chewed his paws until they were bleeding. Once he was back on apoquel, the chewing stopped. He refuses to swallow any pill, so we crush it in his bowl and mix it with his kibble for breakfast. He licks the bowl clean!
Date published: 2019-06-28
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Won't Swallow My dog has a terrible time with allergies. Our veterinarian put him on 1/2 of a 16mg tablet twice a day. It is just impossible to get him to swallow it. When I think he has swallowed it, I see it on the side of his hairy chin. I have tried lots of ways that work with other meds he takes, but this one has me beat. I can't really say if it is working or not.
Date published: 2019-04-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My pug has severe allergies. We were giving her steroids which helped but she lost hair and eventually almost died from it. My vet told me about Apoquel, we started her on it, her hair grew back her no scratching or chewing, she well be on it the rest of her life.
Date published: 2019-04-01
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Didn't Help My Pit Bull My vet prescribed this because my pit bull mix chewed his arm pits raw. This wasn't helping, so they tested for a fungal infection which was negative. The vet ordered an antibiotic and cortisone spray, so I got those and decided to try the Apoquel again. He still licks and chews and he's still raw. Ugh. This probably works well for some dogs, but not mine. I just wasted a lot of money.
Date published: 2019-03-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Consistency is key. My Scottie was tested for contact allergies and has been on 5.4mg Apoquel per day for 5 years now. I found it worked best for him 1/2 in the AM and 1/2 in the PM. According to the manufacturer each tablet is only designed to last 8 hrs. Splitting the dose in to 2x day helped keep him good for 24 hrs. With a grain free dog food and 2x weekly baths he was almost down to no itching at all. Until, a couple of months ago when he had to switch to a Veterinary diet which is not grain free. Now he's back to itching and chewing to the point of losing hair. Vet has suggested adding another med. So, all this to say, it may work great for your pup or it may work for just for a while.
Date published: 2019-02-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Product Completely stopped scratching and licking of the paws until bleeding. Took a couple days to get in his system and from there on he's been a happy boy. Very well worth it.
Date published: 2019-01-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good I have two dogs - both Wire fox terriers. Both are rescues and are 11 yrs and 14 yrs old. They both are taking Apoquel once a day. It really makes a big difference. My female dog I took to an Animal Dermatologist a few years ago. That was costly and required shots and pills. She began fighting me with the shots and the pills were making her sick to her stomach. I stopped and took her to the regular vet and now she is on Apoquel daily. I'm happy she has finally some relief! Yes these pills are costly......esp for two dogs......but more affordable than a vet dermatologist.
Date published: 2018-09-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from AMAZING! My dog has been taking this for quite sometime and it stops her itching, skin irritation and redness. Yes it is quite costly but it is worth it so my little dog isn't in misery from her allergies.
Date published: 2018-06-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Rash gone in 3 days My English bulldog has had allergies pretty much her entire life she’s almost 10. I’ve tried everything. We took her to the vet on a Saturday, today is Tuesday and her rash is gone and her coat is beautiful again. She’s not scratching or chewing her feet. This has worked out well for her. It’s well worth the money.
Date published: 2018-06-13
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Not adequete for my dog Was prescribed to help my dog who gets spring/summer itch. She ends up scratching and chewing patches of hair away and can reach the point of going raw. We started apoquel early before it began noticing hair loss but noticed no change in her itching. Was disappointed given how expensive it is that it didn't even work for my dog. Wish it would have.
Date published: 2018-05-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Saved my Gizzie My little Shitz/Bichon mix was born with a lot of fluffy hair, then at about 1 yr old he started scratching an was miserable. He looked terrible, his hair all came out. We tried switching food, benadryl everything. He was being treated for low thyroid. After 3 years we went to a different vet, who took him off of thyroid meds an put him on Apoquel. His hair has grown back an he looks more like his two brothers now. This is amazing. He is so much happier now, an so are we.
Date published: 2018-03-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Worked like a charm on our GSD 10 yr old Jasper's self inflicted hot spots disappeared with daily Apoquel and a short course of antibiotics. He's been on it three months with no indicated side effects. We will monitor for long term side effects but so far we are very pleased.
Date published: 2018-02-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The ladt thing we tried... because we finally found something that works! After years of suffering, allergy tests, shots, steroids, cyclosporine, benedryl, and wrapping our poor puppy with a coat to stop him from scratching himself raw, Apoquel worked. This is the only thing that has helped, and continues to provide relief.
Date published: 2018-01-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from So happy we tried this stuff I have a 2 year old Dalmatian girl and she suffers from horrible skin allergies, constant ear infections, scratches herself raw and was losing hair. We tried apoquel because i saw some ads for it and looked into it. Until then we had tried Benadryl , steroids, and some antibiotics from the vet. Since staring apoquel her hair is growing back and no more itching. Luckily we have pet insurance because it is a bit pricy but man is it worth it. If your considering it and have a dog with any of those issues you really should try it out
Date published: 2018-01-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from It actually works My poor Lucy is allergic to grass, as a 6 pound chihuahua being close to the ground and grass on walks becomes a full on contact sport. She also has a heart murmur and several other health conditions, so I’m wary of new meds. Apoquel hit the market and our vet kept ranting and raving about how it was perfect for her and was not a steroid, therefore her heart and other pressing conditions were at a low risk of being triggered/ made worse. It’s a bit pricy, but it really works and my sweet girl isn’t itchy from head to toe.
Date published: 2017-11-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from So thankful Have been using apoquel for about 8 months on our 7 year old doberman. We moved from arid Utah to Illinois and he had alot of skin problems following the move. Switching foods, pulling back treats... nothing worked and he wasnt himself. Apoquel was prescribed form his vet and it gave him his life back!
Date published: 2017-11-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from No more scratching or shaking My baby Kisha was itching so much I started itching . But since I gave her the allergy pill she is doing just fine.
Date published: 2017-11-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Saved my Rescue Lab! A year and a half ago, my fiancé and I rescued a yellow lab that was roaming near our neighborhood. Since the day we got her, she had open wounds on all 4 paws, and all across her belly. She was constantly gnawing, licking and biting, and scratching her face with her paws or living room rug. After having zero luck with trying benedryl and zyrtec, we decided to take her to the vet. Our vet recommended Apoquel and our girl can FINALLY live a pain free, happy, and playful life! A few things to note that may help others with the COST: she is a pure yellow lab, about 2.5 - 3 years old, 63ish pounds. Our vet prescribes her 1 - 100mg tablet ONCE per day. I just read on 1800 pet meds that the recommended dosage for that weight is 2 -100mg tablets a day. Our dog is doing just fine with 1 - 100mg tablet/day. It costs us around $60/month for her Apoquel from our vet (which as of this review, its cheaper than on 1800petmeds). So if anyone is giving 2/day, you may be able to save some money by lowering the dosage to once a day; especially if your dog has been on the meds for a little while and their skin has healed.
Date published: 2017-10-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Finally found something that works for my corgi/lab mix who suffers from allergies. Durring the late summer and through the fall he suffers from allergies and is constantly biting licking and scratching his skin. His first day on the med he started licking n biting himself less and slept through the night. What a miracle drug.
Date published: 2017-10-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Apoquel is a Miracle drug I bought Apoquel, from my Vet's office the first. Then started to purchase Apoquel from 1-800 petmeds. This a Miracle drug my Lhasa Apso Raggs has terrible allergies when I started giving the medication I noticed during the day he was just scratching or chewing his paws any longer. Raggs is 13 years old An had the problem all his life. Where was drug 8 years ago all the money I've spent over the years with other medication. I would be rich
Date published: 2017-10-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from 100% Improvement. My 7yo Australian Shepherd has an unknown fall/spring allergy and will lose clumps of hair constantly and chews his legs and feet bald. Antihistamines didn't help and Temaril (steroid) gave him tremors. Apoquil completely stopped the itching, hair loss (from itching?), and red skin. My dog is so much happier and can finally get some sleep. 0 side effects. I wish I'd discovered this MIRACLE drug when it first came out a couple years ago. It is pricey so I'm glad we don't need it year round.
Date published: 2017-10-17
  • y_2020, m_8, d_4, h_15
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.10
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_89
  • loc_en_US, sid_prod11700, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_1800petmeds
  • bvseo_sdk, dw_cartridge, 18.2.0, p_sdk_3.2.0
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 9ms
  • reviews, product

Questions

My 15 lb dog is taking 3.6 mg can I cut dose in half bid

Asked by: MoMA zu
That is something you will have to consult with you veterinarian about.
Answered by: Shari PetMed Pro
Date published: 2020-05-28

Is Apoquel safe for cats?

Asked by: mommy
Right now it is only prescribed for dogs.
Answered by: Shari PetMed Pro
Date published: 2020-05-19

I have a yorkie about 10 to 12 pounds. What milligram to I order for her.

Asked by: Karen
For dogs 10-14.9 pounds, 1/2 tablet of the 5.4mg is give twice daily for the first 2 weeks, then decreased to 1/2 tablet once daily.
Answered by: SuzyCVT
Date published: 2020-05-16

I have a 6lb dog which size tablets should I order.

Asked by: John
You will need to consult with your veterinarian. The Apoquel is a prescription and has to be prescribed.
Answered by: Shari PetMed Pro
Date published: 2020-05-13

Howling does this control itching?

Asked by: Anonymous
Itching is caused by a skin reaction but we do suggest consulting with your veterinarian to find out what your dog is allergic to.
Answered by: Shari PetMed Pro
Date published: 2020-05-06

Is there a generic

Asked by: Anonymous
No, there is currently not generic Apoquel® (oclacitinib maleate) available. Thank you.
Answered by: Joshua T
Date published: 2020-04-22

My dog weighs 6 lbs. What dosage does she need?

Asked by: Bellarose
Apoquel® (oclacitinib maleate) is a prescription-only medication. Consult your veterinarian to discuss if this medication is appropriate for your dog. Manufacturer labeling only provides dosages for dogs weighing over 6.6lbs. Thank you.
Answered by: Joshua T
Date published: 2020-04-21

How many mg of apoquel for a 65lb dog

Asked by: Michal Showalter
Apoquel® (oclacitinib maleate) is a prescription-only medication. Consult your veterinarian to discuss if this medication is appropriate for your dog. Typically a dog weighing 65lbs will receive an initial dose of one 16mg tablet twice daily for up to 14 days, and then one 16mg tablet daily as a maintenance dose. Thank you.
Answered by: Joshua T
Date published: 2020-04-20

Does Anyone know if Apoquel for dogs requires a prescription from a veterinarian to purchase from PetMeds ? ? ?

Asked by: LJ1019
Yes. Apoquel® (oclacitinib maleate) is a prescription-only medication. Consult your veterinarian to discuss if this medication is appropriate for your dog. Thank you.
Answered by: Joshua T
Date published: 2020-04-14

if I get a prescription of 16 MG pills and crush up a pill and use a third every day ?   Normally my dog takes 1 5.4 mg pill a day.   But since a 16MG pill is same cost as a 5.4 MG pill. I can save money if I can get 16MG and use 2/3 perDay.is crushing ok

Asked by: Baxter 379
No, crushing the Apoquel® (oclacitinib maleate) 16mg tablet and splitting it into thirds is not recommended. There is no guarantee that each 1/3 would contain an accurate amount of active ingredient (drug).
Answered by: Joshua T
Date published: 2020-04-08

Do I need a prescription and do you post to Australia 

Asked by: Leeanne
Apoquel® (oclacitinib maleate) is a prescription-only medication. By law all pets must be seen by a licensed United States Veterinarian for all prescription medications. 1-800-PetMeds does NOT ship internationally, with limited exceptions to Canada.
Answered by: Joshua T
Date published: 2020-04-06

My dog will not swallow the pills, even with it hidden in food. Can we break it into a liquid and shoot it in his mouth with a plastic syringe??

Asked by: Bryna L
Yes, it is OK to crush the tablets and mix in a small amount of water to squirt it in your pet's mouth.
Answered by: SuzyCVT
Date published: 2020-04-02

Is 3.6 mg stronger than 16 mg of Apaquil?

Asked by: Daphne
No, the larger the milligram (mg), the stronger (more medication) is in each tablet, so the 16 mg tablet has more than 4 times the medication than the 3.6 mg tablet.
Answered by: SuzyCVT
Date published: 2020-04-02

Is there a generic medication for apoquel that might cost less. It really helps with my dogs itching but it's so expensive

Asked by: Michele
Yes, there is a generic form. It’s called Oclacitinib, it’s what my vet has been prescribing and it works wonderfully. I can’t seem to find it on this site, but I may just be looking in the wrong place. Or maybe they’re not aware of the generic form yet. Hope that helps.
Answered by: Woot
Date published: 2020-03-30

Do you need a prescription? For apoquel?

Asked by: Ruby
Yes
Answered by: Hope
Date published: 2020-03-29

My vet recommended 3.6 mg with #42. Is that the number of pills? Or what is meant by #42.

Asked by: Bosco
42 would most likely be the number of tablets your veterinarian recommended. That is the usual number of tablets for the first month of treatment when the initial dosage is 1 tablet twice daily for 14 days (#28 tablets) then 1 tablet once daily (another 2 weeks would be another 14 tablets), so 28 + 14 = 42.
Answered by: SuzyCVT
Date published: 2020-03-13

What is the shelf life of this medicine? 

Asked by: CMick
Shelf life is usually 12-18 months. As of today (3/4/20) the expiration date is 3/30/2022. If you need further information please give us a call 1-800-738-6337.
Answered by: Shari PetMed Pro
Date published: 2020-03-04

It is 2.29$ one tablet?

Asked by: Sandy123
Yes
Answered by: Shari PetMed Pro
Date published: 2020-02-17

Can it be administered every other day after your dog has been on it for awhile?

Asked by: Kel20
Yes. Administer this medication to your dog orally twice daily for up to 14 days according to the weight chart below, then administer once daily for maintenance dose.
Answered by: Cherley Petmeds Pro
Date published: 2020-01-31

My vet just prescribed Apoquel for allergies! Your info says do not use for cats! Why?

Asked by: Marsha
Apoquel® is not currently FDA approved for cats. However, this medication has been prescribed to cats with allergies anecdotally and it appears that cats have had a mixed efficacy response. As a licensed pharmacy, we recommend consulting with your veterinarian to ensure this product is safe for your furry baby.
Answered by: Cherley Petmeds Pro
Date published: 2020-01-15

Can these pills be cut in 1/2 or quarters..apaquel

Asked by: Jackv
Apoquel tablets are scored which allow to be easily cut them in half. Cutting the tablet in quarters is not recommended and you should speak with your veterinarian if you are considering to do so.
Answered by: TMPE
Date published: 2020-04-01

What are the risk factors for dogs on Apoquel, or the adverse reactions?

Asked by: Kat7
Apoquel may increase susceptibility to infection, including demodicosis. It may also exacerbate neoplastic conditions. Adverse reactions reported in a masked field study included diarrhea, vomiting, anorexia, new cutaneous or subcutaneous lumps, and lethargy. In most cases, diarrhea, vomiting, anorexia, and lethargy spontaneously resolved with continued dosing.
Answered by: Lilli Rph
Date published: 2020-01-25

Can apoquel cause a dogs sugar to rise if the dog is a diabetic?

Asked by: Gammy
Apoquel suppresses the immune system and should not affect the blood glucose level of diabetics.
Answered by: SuzyCVT
Date published: 2019-12-30

is apoquel better than Benadryl ? My dog had staff twice in 5 wks. 2nd time her food. Was changed to rachael ray and taken off benadryl and staff returned but as couple hot spots. Need help

Asked by: Lazybones
Apoquel helps with allergies much better than Benedryl. Your veterinarian can help determine if Apoquel is what your dog needs. There are other options, such as Cytopoint, which is an injection. You may also consider having your dog allergy tested to determine what she is actually allergic to.
Answered by: SuzyCVT
Date published: 2019-12-30

Do I need Veterinarian prescription? 

Asked by: Nancy
Yes, Apoquel requires a prescription from a licensed veterinarian.
Answered by: Lisa M
Date published: 2020-01-18

Do you need a Prescription from Doctor for this? My Dog was on it and I didn't see a huge difference until I took him off this summer. It helps more than anything else I have used but nothing so far has been 100%.

Asked by: CherylT
Yes, Apoquel requires a prescription from a licensed veterinarian.
Answered by: Lisa M
Date published: 2019-08-29

Sadie has been diagnosed with atopic dermatitis. As I'm reading instructions I see she would need to take 2x daily for 14 days then 1x daily for matinence. She only gets her itch during the summer. Does she take 365 days or only summer?

Asked by: Martech2014
Most pets require Apoquel on a seasonal or as needed basis. Your veterinarian will determine the treatment duration for your pet's allergy condition.
Answered by: Lisa M
Date published: 2019-08-27

I don't know how many lbs. my dog is so how much will i gave him

Asked by: Judy
The dose of Apoquel is 0.18 to 0.27 mg/lb given twice daily for up to 14 days, then once daily thereafter for maintenance. Your veterinarian will determine the appropriate dose for your pet's specific condition.
Answered by: Lisa M
Date published: 2019-08-24

I have refills of this  medication can you refill it. What information would you need 

Asked by: Kevin J
You can place an order for your refill by calling us at 1-800-738-6337 or on our website.
Answered by: Lisa M
Date published: 2019-08-20

Can my vet fax over the script?

Asked by: Vivian
Your veterinarian can fax a prescription to us at 800-600-8285.
Answered by: Lisa M
Date published: 2019-08-20
  • y_2020, m_8, d_4, h_15CST
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvqa, vn_bulk_3.0.10
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasquestionsanswers, tq_205
  • loc_en_US, sid_prod11700, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=LAST_APPROVED_ANSWER_SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_1800petmeds
  • bvseo_sdk, dw_cartridge, 18.2.0, p_sdk_3.2.0
  • CLOUD, getContent, 15ms
  • questions, product

What is Apoquel?

Apoquel is used to treat and control itching and inflammation in dogs resulting from a variety of causes, including flea allergy, food allergy, contact allergy and atopic dermatitis. Apoquel delivers onset of relief within 4 hours. It effectively controls itching within 24 hours. Apoquel requires a prescription from your veterinarian, and is sold per tablet.

For:

Dogs over 12 months in age and weighing more than 6.6 lbs.

Benefits:

  • Provides onset of relief within 4 hours
  • Effectively controls itch within 24 hours
  • Safe for short term and long term usage
  • Can be used along with many other common medications, including parasiticides, antibiotics, and vaccines
  • Uniquely targeted to stop the itch with minimal negative impact on immune function
  • Controls pruritus associated with allergic dermatitis and controls atopic dermatitis
  • Sold per tablet

How does Apoquel work?

Apoquel is a selective janus kinase (JAK) inhibitor, which targets pruritogenic (itch creating) cytokines. It effectively controls itching due to food allergies, flea allergies, contact dermatitis, and atopic dermatitis. Apoquel works to control pruritus for fast-acting relief, and provides significant short-term and long-term reduction of itching and inflammation.

Cautions:

This product is not for human use. Keep this and all drugs out of the reach of children. For use in dogs only. Do not give to dogs younger than 12 months or those with serious infections. Apoquel is not for use in breeding dogs, or pregnant or lactating bitches. Wash hands immediately after handling the tablets. In case of accidental eye contact, flush immediately with water or saline for at least 15 minutes and then seek medical attention. In case of accidental ingestion, seek medical attention immediately.

Brand Name

Apoquel

Generic Name

oclacitinib (ah-clas-eh-tee-nib)

Manufacturer:

Zoetis

What is the most important thing I should know about Apoquel?

Apoquel is used to relieve itching and inflammation caused by a variety of diagnoses, including allergic dermatitis and atopic dermatitis.

What should I discuss with my veterinarian before giving Apoquel to my pet?

Tell your veterinarian if your pet has ever had an allergic reaction to the medication.

How should Apoquel be given?

The dose of Apoquel tablets is 0.18 to 0.27 mg/lb of body weight. Therefore, the recommended initial dosage for dogs 6.6-9.9 lbs is ½ of a 3.6 mg tablet twice daily. The dosage for dogs 10-14.9 lbs is ½ of a 5.4 mg tablet twice daily. The dosage for dogs 15-19.9 lbs is one 3.6 mg tablet twice daily. The dosage for dogs 20-29.9 lbs is one 5.4 mg tablet twice daily. The dosage for dogs 30-44.9 lbs is ½ of a 16 mg tablet twice daily. The dosage for dogs 45-59.9 lbs is two 5.4 mg tablets twice daily. The dosage dogs 60-89.9 lbs is one 16 mg table twice daily. The dosage dogs 90-129.9 lbs is 1½ 16 mg tablets twice daily. The dosage for dogs 130-175.9 lbs is two 16 mg tablets daily.

What are the potential side effects of Apoquel?

Apoquel may increase susceptibility to infection, including demodicosis. It may also exacerbate neoplastic conditions. Adverse reactions reported in a masked field study included diarrhea, vomiting, anorexia, new cutaneous or subcutaneous lumps, and lethargy. In most cases, diarrhea, vomiting, anorexia, and lethargy spontaneously resolved with continued dosing.

What happens if I miss giving a dose of Apoquel?

Give the missed dose with food as soon as you remember and resume a regular dosing schedule.

What happens if I overdose my pet on Apoquel?

Contact your veterinarian immediately.

What should I avoid while giving Apoquel to my pet?

Apoquel should not be given to dogs younger than 12 months or those with serious infections. Apoquel is not for use in breeding dogs, or pregnant or lactating bitches. The use of Apoquel has not been evaluated in combination with glucocorticoids, cyclosporine, or other systemic immunosuppressive agents. Dogs receiving Apoquel should be monitored for the development of infections, including demodicosis and neoplasia.

What other drugs will affect Apoquel?

Talk to your veterinarian before giving any prescription or over the counter medications.

Apoquel Directions:

  • Administer to your dog orally twice daily for up to 14 days according to the weight chart below, then administer once daily for maintenance dose.
Tip:

Apoquel may be administered with or without food.

Initial Dosage:

Dogs: (over 12 months of age)
Weight Amount
6.6-9.9 lbs 1/2 of a 3.6 mg tablet twice daily for up to 14 days
10-14.9 lbs 1/2 of a 5.4 mg tablet twice daily for up to 14 days
15-19.9 lbs One 3.6 mg tablet twice daily for up to 14 days
20-29.9 lbsOne 5.4 mg tablet twice daily for up to 14 days
30-44.9 lbs 1/2 of a 16 mg tablet twice daily for up to 14 days
45-59.9 lbs Two 5.4 mg tablets twice daily for up to 14 days
60-89.9 lbs One 16 mg table twice daily for up to 14 days
90-129.9 lbs 1 1/2 16 mg tablets twice daily for up to 14 days
130-175.9 lbs Two 16 mg twice daily for up to 14 days

Maintenance Dosage:

Dogs: (over 12 months of age)
Weight Amount
6.6-9.9 lbs 1/2 of a 3.6 mg tablet once daily
10-14.9 lbs 1/2 of a 5.4 mg tablet once daily
15-19.9 lbs One 3.6 mg tablet once daily
20-29.9 lbs One 5.4 mg tablet once daily
30-44.9 lbs 1/2 of a 16 mg tablet once daily
45-59.9 lbs Two 5.4 mg tablets once daily
60-89.9 lbsOne 16 mg table once daily
90-129.9 lbs 1 1/216 mg tablets once daily
130-175.9 lbs Two 16 mg once daily
Apoquel Dosage for Cats:
Cats
Do not use!
Apoquel Dosage for Horses:
Horses
Do not use!
Storage:

Store at controlled room temperature between 68-77 F, with excursions between 59-104.

Apoquel Ingredients:

Apoquel 3.6 mg tablet
Active IngredientAmount
Oclacitinib maleate3.6 mg
Apoquel 5.4 mg tablet
Active IngredientAmount
Oclacitinib maleate5.4 mg
Apoquel 16 mg tablet
Active IngredientAmount
Oclacitinib maleate16 mg

What is Apoquel?

Apoquel is used to treat and control itching and inflammation in dogs resulting from a variety of causes, including flea allergy, food allergy, contact allergy and atopic dermatitis. Apoquel delivers onset of relief within 4 hours. It effectively controls itching within 24 hours. Apoquel requires a prescription from your veterinarian, and is sold per tablet.

For:

Dogs over 12 months in age and weighing more than 6.6 lbs.

Benefits:

  • Provides onset of relief within 4 hours
  • Effectively controls itch within 24 hours
  • Safe for short term and long term usage
  • Can be used along with many other common medications, including parasiticides, antibiotics, and vaccines
  • Uniquely targeted to stop the itch with minimal negative impact on immune function
  • Controls pruritus associated with allergic dermatitis and controls atopic dermatitis
  • Sold per tablet

How does Apoquel work?

Apoquel is a selective janus kinase (JAK) inhibitor, which targets pruritogenic (itch creating) cytokines. It effectively controls itching due to food allergies, flea allergies, contact dermatitis, and atopic dermatitis. Apoquel works to control pruritus for fast-acting relief, and provides significant short-term and long-term reduction of itching and inflammation.

Cautions:

This product is not for human use. Keep this and all drugs out of the reach of children. For use in dogs only. Do not give to dogs younger than 12 months or those with serious infections. Apoquel is not for use in breeding dogs, or pregnant or lactating bitches. Wash hands immediately after handling the tablets. In case of accidental eye contact, flush immediately with water or saline for at least 15 minutes and then seek medical attention. In case of accidental ingestion, seek medical attention immediately.

Brand Name

Apoquel

Generic Name

oclacitinib (ah-clas-eh-tee-nib)

Manufacturer:

Zoetis

What is the most important thing I should know about Apoquel?

Apoquel is used to relieve itching and inflammation caused by a variety of diagnoses, including allergic dermatitis and atopic dermatitis.

What should I discuss with my veterinarian before giving Apoquel to my pet?

Tell your veterinarian if your pet has ever had an allergic reaction to the medication.

How should Apoquel be given?

The dose of Apoquel tablets is 0.18 to 0.27 mg/lb of body weight. Therefore, the recommended initial dosage for dogs 6.6-9.9 lbs is ½ of a 3.6 mg tablet twice daily. The dosage for dogs 10-14.9 lbs is ½ of a 5.4 mg tablet twice daily. The dosage for dogs 15-19.9 lbs is one 3.6 mg tablet twice daily. The dosage for dogs 20-29.9 lbs is one 5.4 mg tablet twice daily. The dosage for dogs 30-44.9 lbs is ½ of a 16 mg tablet twice daily. The dosage for dogs 45-59.9 lbs is two 5.4 mg tablets twice daily. The dosage dogs 60-89.9 lbs is one 16 mg table twice daily. The dosage dogs 90-129.9 lbs is 1½ 16 mg tablets twice daily. The dosage for dogs 130-175.9 lbs is two 16 mg tablets daily.

What are the potential side effects of Apoquel?

Apoquel may increase susceptibility to infection, including demodicosis. It may also exacerbate neoplastic conditions. Adverse reactions reported in a masked field study included diarrhea, vomiting, anorexia, new cutaneous or subcutaneous lumps, and lethargy. In most cases, diarrhea, vomiting, anorexia, and lethargy spontaneously resolved with continued dosing.

What happens if I miss giving a dose of Apoquel?

Give the missed dose with food as soon as you remember and resume a regular dosing schedule.

What happens if I overdose my pet on Apoquel?

Contact your veterinarian immediately.

What should I avoid while giving Apoquel to my pet?

Apoquel should not be given to dogs younger than 12 months or those with serious infections. Apoquel is not for use in breeding dogs, or pregnant or lactating bitches. The use of Apoquel has not been evaluated in combination with glucocorticoids, cyclosporine, or other systemic immunosuppressive agents. Dogs receiving Apoquel should be monitored for the development of infections, including demodicosis and neoplasia.

What other drugs will affect Apoquel?

Talk to your veterinarian before giving any prescription or over the counter medications.

Apoquel Directions:

  • Administer to your dog orally twice daily for up to 14 days according to the weight chart below, then administer once daily for maintenance dose.
Tip:

Apoquel may be administered with or without food.

Initial Dosage:

Dogs: (over 12 months of age)
Weight Amount
6.6-9.9 lbs 1/2 of a 3.6 mg tablet twice daily for up to 14 days
10-14.9 lbs 1/2 of a 5.4 mg tablet twice daily for up to 14 days
15-19.9 lbs One 3.6 mg tablet twice daily for up to 14 days
20-29.9 lbsOne 5.4 mg tablet twice daily for up to 14 days
30-44.9 lbs 1/2 of a 16 mg tablet twice daily for up to 14 days
45-59.9 lbs Two 5.4 mg tablets twice daily for up to 14 days
60-89.9 lbs One 16 mg table twice daily for up to 14 days
90-129.9 lbs 1 1/2 16 mg tablets twice daily for up to 14 days
130-175.9 lbs Two 16 mg twice daily for up to 14 days

Maintenance Dosage:

Dogs: (over 12 months of age)
Weight Amount
6.6-9.9 lbs 1/2 of a 3.6 mg tablet once daily
10-14.9 lbs 1/2 of a 5.4 mg tablet once daily
15-19.9 lbs One 3.6 mg tablet once daily
20-29.9 lbs One 5.4 mg tablet once daily
30-44.9 lbs 1/2 of a 16 mg tablet once daily
45-59.9 lbs Two 5.4 mg tablets once daily
60-89.9 lbsOne 16 mg table once daily
90-129.9 lbs 1 1/216 mg tablets once daily
130-175.9 lbs Two 16 mg once daily
Apoquel Dosage for Cats:
Cats
Do not use!
Apoquel Dosage for Horses:
Horses
Do not use!
Storage:

Store at controlled room temperature between 68-77 F, with excursions between 59-104.

Apoquel Ingredients:

Apoquel 3.6 mg tablet
Active IngredientAmount
Oclacitinib maleate3.6 mg
Apoquel 5.4 mg tablet
Active IngredientAmount
Oclacitinib maleate5.4 mg
Apoquel 16 mg tablet
Active IngredientAmount
Oclacitinib maleate16 mg