Amoxicillin

5 out of 5 Customer Rating
Amoxicillin is rated 4.2 out of 5 by 13.
  • y_2020, m_8, d_7, h_15
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.10
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_13
  • loc_en_US, sid_prod2445, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_1800petmeds
  • bvseo_sdk, dw_cartridge, 18.2.0, p_sdk_3.2.0
  • CLOUD, getAggregateRating, 49ms
  • reviews, product
1. We'll ask for your vet's info during checkout.
2. We verify your prescription and ship your order!
Close
Starts $0.31 $0.22
Most orders ship the same day
prod2445 product detail number 1.0
SOLD PER TABLET

Amoxicillin

5 out of 5 Customer Rating
Amoxicillin is rated 4.2 out of 5 by 13.
  • y_2020, m_8, d_7, h_15
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.10
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_13
  • loc_en_US, sid_prod2445, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_1800petmeds
  • bvseo_sdk, dw_cartridge, 18.2.0, p_sdk_3.2.0
  • CLOUD, getAggregateRating, 49ms
  • reviews, product
Starts $0.31 $0.22
Most orders ship the same day

Reviews

Rated 3 out of 5 by from Amoxicillin 100mg tabs I ordered these because it is easier to pill Roberto than to administer liquid meds. It didn't work out as hoped. After three or four days on the tabs, he regressed, with blood once again showing in his urine. I switched him back to liquid amoxicillin and he is once again on the upswing. I think he can't absorb the tablets as easily as the liquid.
Date published: 2011-08-19
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Note In response to Slovakian: Yes, pets can be allergic to certain medicines, too. Amoxicillin is a penicillin-based broad-spectrum antibiotic, so it is possible your pet was penicillin intolerant, just as some humans are. (This is the same medicine given to humans, btw.) This is generally an extremely safe antibiotic - unless one is allergic to the penicillin family of drugs Be sure and tell your vet about this reaction so they can flag your pets records as to this allergy.
Date published: 2011-05-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from AMOXYCILLIN WORKED WELL FOR SNOWY, THANKS SO MUCH, BUT I MUST SAY, ALL OF THE MED MUST BE TAKEN TO ABATE THE KENNEL COUGH HE CONTRACTED WHILE BEING BOARDED OVER THE HOLIDAYS.
Date published: 2011-03-06
Rated 1 out of 5 by from be careful Hi, I gave the same prodact AMOXYCARE to my puppy he is 7month old, and after the first capsule he was vomiting, and after the second he was vomiting blood, pretty much! He was vomiting fesh blood first, many times and later he was vomiting dark brown, which mean he started digest the blood, he was sick, blunt, he didnt eat and drink, but when we stoped he recover quicly so be careful, maybe your pet has allergic reaction aswell.
Date published: 2010-12-04
Rated 4 out of 5 by from i know my sweet Schotzie has a terminal condition,but the amoxicillin has helped prolong his life a little longer. thanx
Date published: 2010-03-23
  • y_2020, m_8, d_7, h_15
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.10
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_13
  • loc_en_US, sid_prod2445, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_1800petmeds
  • bvseo_sdk, dw_cartridge, 18.2.0, p_sdk_3.2.0
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 6ms
  • reviews, product

Questions

Do I need a prescription for amoxicillin

Asked by: Sandi
No u don't whair I live I went to my local feed store and 10 min and 20 $ later I got a bottle of 500 mg
Answered by: 1 sick cat
Date published: 2019-05-01

Can dogs take human amoxicillin, if so what is the dose per pound

Asked by: Katkins
Thank you for your question. Yes , dogs can take human Amoxicillin. The dosage for dogs is Give 5-10 mg/lb of pet's body weight every 12-24 hours. Your veterinarian will determine the actual dose based on the type of infection being treated.
Answered by: Crystal RPTechnician
Date published: 2020-03-11

My dog has Mastitis, she weighs inbetween 10-15, how many Amoxicillin tablets should I get to treat this? & how many Mg?

Asked by: Brianna S
Thank you for your question. Give 5-10 mg/lb of pet's body weight every 12-24 hours. Your veterinarian will determine the actual dose based on the type of infection being treated.
Answered by: Crystal RPTechnician
Date published: 2019-01-01

Amoxicillin dose for 6-10 lbs dog?

Asked by: Dee Hal
Thank you for your question. The usual dose would be 5-10 mg/lb of pet's body weight every 12-24 hours. However as this medication requires a prescription your veterinarian will determine the actual dose based on the type of infection being treated.
Answered by: Crystal RPTechnician
Date published: 2019-06-07

If a cat is less than 2month-old, can I still give her amoxicillin and whatbis the dosage pls?

Asked by: Naomi
Amoxicillin is a prescription medication that is prescribed by a veterinarian only. Please consult with your veterinarian so he/she can prescribe the proper dosage for your furry baby.
Answered by: Cherley Petmeds Pro
Date published: 2019-06-07

How treat parvo at home

Asked by: Donna
Parvo is not something to treat at home. Please take your furry baby to the vet immediately. If your pet develops parvo, immediate veterinary care is critical to your pet's survival. And the longer you delay that care, the lower your pet’s chances of survival become.
Answered by: Cherley Petmeds Pro
Date published: 2019-06-07

My cat weigh around 5 pounds at the most , i believe he need A T B because his foot is swollen and he has a sore on it if I get amoxicillin how much and hows oven do I give it to him

Asked by: Dottie
Please consult with your veterinarian for proper dosing.
Answered by: Cherley Petmeds Pro
Date published: 2019-06-07

Do you have to have to have and order from a vet to buy this?

Asked by: Sheila5460
Amoxicillin requires a veterinarian's prescription approval or an actual prescription prior to shipment.
Answered by: Cherley Petmeds Pro
Date published: 2018-05-04

Can my dogs amoxicillin tablet be crushed?

Asked by: Wondering 101
Yes
Answered by: CorkysMommy
Date published: 2018-04-04

Are the amoxil 100 mg tablets chewable?

Asked by: Weasel
Thank you for your question. The Amoxicillin is not a chewable tablet.
Answered by: Crystal RPTechnician
Date published: 2018-03-22

I have amoxicillin 400mg. Do I give my Chihuahua a whole pill.

Asked by: Patty
You should give Amoxicillin according to the directions prescribed by your veterinarian. Your doctor will determine the appropriate dose for your pet's infection.
Answered by: Lisa M
Date published: 2018-01-27

Can a human take it and it help

Asked by: Himself
This product is formulated for cats and dogs only. You may want to consult with your doctor to have them prescribe the correct medication for you.
Answered by: Cherley Petmeds Pro
Date published: 2017-11-30

What if you don't have a vet?

Asked by: kelly48
The Amoxicillin requires either a veterinarian's prescription approval or an actual written prescription provided by a veterinarian. Unfortunately, we are unable to dispense the medication without a prescription approval.
Answered by: Cherley Petmeds Pro
Date published: 2018-02-14

Should the initial dose of amoxicillin be doubled?

Asked by: Kemo
Thank you for your question. The usual dosage is 5-10mg per pound of pet's body weight every 12-24 hours. Amoxicillin is a medication that requires a prescription from your veterinarian, and they will determine the actual dose based on the type of infection being treated.
Answered by: leanniejo
Date published: 2017-09-17

What dose do I need for my cat he's an adult cat 2yrs old and has an abscess on he's head 

Asked by: Brian
I would recommend contacting your veterinarian for your cats exact dose based on his diagnosis.
Answered by: Megan Student Pharmacist
Date published: 2017-07-04

Can a cat take amoxicillin for a upper respiratory infection while takeing topical tresaderm for a ear infection? Or would this not be safe?

Asked by: Dave209
Other drugs may interact with amoxicillin. Talk to your veterinarian before giving any prescription or over-the-counter medicines, including vitamins, minerals, and herbal products.
Answered by: Crystal RPTechnician
Date published: 2017-05-25

my new vet just prescribed 1000mg of amoxicillin twice a day for a mouth infection in an 80 lb. golden retriever. Doesn't that seem like too much?

Asked by: frippster
Hello, thank you for your question. Amoxicillin is typically dosed 11mg/kg twice daily for dogs, but it can vary based on the type and extent of infection. That would be about 400 mg twice a day for your dog. I recommend reaching out to your vet and expressing your concerns with them. I hope this helps!
Answered by: Roseanna Pharmacy Intern
Date published: 2017-07-02

My dog is 7 months old with parvo he has bloody diareah vomiting he won't eat or drink is it safe to give him human amoxicillin liquid for kids? Its 250mg

Asked by: Brittany123
I would not advise giving this to your dog. You should only use prescriptions for whom they are prescribed for. Consult with your veterinarian for the right drug for your dog, as your dog may not need an antibiotic.
Answered by: Ben B
Date published: 2017-11-26

Side effects

Asked by: Janet
Hello Janet, Thanks for your question. Amoxicillin antibiotic is usually well tolerated. Some side effects that can happen are mild nausea, vomiting, diarrhea, or abdominal pain. A yeast or fungal infection can also occur. You should contact your veterinarian immediately if your pet develops any severe or bloody diarrhea, an allergic reaction (shortness of breath, hives, swelling), seizures, or any unusual bleeding/bruising as these are serious but rare side effects. Hope this helps. Thanks, Pharmacy student intern
Answered by: Trey W
Date published: 2017-02-16

I just ordered this without a prescription from my vet. Now I see it says I need a prescription?? Will I still receive the medicine? I already paid.

Asked by: Becca21
You will not be charged until the medication is shipped. We cannot ship out the medication without a valid prescription.
Answered by: S Duesler PharmD MBA
Date published: 2017-09-01

My dog has an ear infection, for how long more or less should I put him under antibiotics? She's 50 lbs

Asked by: Rosa
Antibiotics may be prescribed for several days to several weeks. The length of treatment depends on several factors. Your veterinarian will determine the proper duration of therapy for your specific pet.
Answered by: Lisa M
Date published: 2018-05-01

Amoxicillin

can humans take this? Is this the same as human Amoxicillin?
Asked by: river
Humans do take amoxicillin. However, the dosage and inactive ingredients may be different for humans. Humans and pets should not share medications.
Answered by: Christine
Date published: 2017-09-01

Do you have to have a prescription for this??

Asked by: bobo72
Yes, Amoxicillin requires a prescription from your veterinarian.
Answered by: Christine
Date published: 2017-01-27

How many ml of amoxicillin should a 14 pound cat get a doseage?

Asked by: Sam17
Typical doses of amoxicillin are 5-10mg per pound of pet's body weight every 12-24 hours. For a 14 lb cat, this is 70-140 mg every 12-24 hours. Your veterinarian will determine the actual dose based on the type of infection being treated.
Answered by: Christine
Date published: 2016-10-14

Can you open an amoxicillin capsule and sprinkle on cat food for an upper respiratory infection 

Asked by: Charlie
Yes, you can open the amoxicillin capsule and sprinkle on food.
Answered by: Christine
Date published: 2018-05-01

My dog missed a dose, but the dose itself was crushed up in his food and he refused to eat it. I had to throw the food out. What should I do? 

Asked by: Shay
If your dog missed a dose, give him that dose as soon as possible. If it is close to the next dose, skip that dose and give the next dose when it is due. If you are having trouble getting your pet to take the pill, you may want to try something like Greenies Pill Pockets to stick the pill in. Pets love them! If your dog misses another dose let your vet know; the medication may not be as effective if he does not take all of the doses.
Answered by: Christine
Date published: 2016-09-29

HI my vet prescribed my cat that weighs about 20 pounds amoxillin. He said to give him half a 250mg capsule a day mix in a bit of wet cat food. And to give it to him for 10 days. It's for his ear infection. Does this sound like a correct dose for him.

Asked by: Dave
The FDA labeled dosage for cats is 5-10 mg/lb daily. For a 20 lb cat this is 100-200 mg daily. You are giving 125 mg daily, which is in the range approved by the FDA.
Answered by: Christine
Date published: 2018-05-01

Can i order amoxicillin without vet

Asked by: Quig2009
No to order Amoxicillin, you will need a prescription.
Answered by: paulpharmacistintern
Date published: 2017-09-01

Do I need to have s prescription to get some amoxicillin for my dog?????

Asked by: Mary
Yes Amoxicillin requires a prescription.
Answered by: paulpharmacistintern
Date published: 2016-08-03

my dog is 54 pounds . how much amoxicillin should he take for a cut under his eye?

Asked by: mogli
An estimated dose could range from 250-500mg but your veterinarian will determine the actual dose based on the type of infection being treated.
Answered by: paulpharmacistintern
Date published: 2016-08-13
  • y_2020, m_8, d_8, h_15CST
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvqa, vn_bulk_3.0.10
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasquestionsanswers, tq_113
  • loc_en_US, sid_prod2445, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=LAST_APPROVED_ANSWER_SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_1800petmeds
  • bvseo_sdk, dw_cartridge, 18.2.0, p_sdk_3.2.0
  • CLOUD, getContent, 37ms
  • questions, product

What is Amoxicillin?

Amoxicillin is a broad-spectrum penicillin antibiotic used to treat various infections caused by susceptible strains of bacteria. Amoxicillin is sold per capsule or per tablet and requires a prescription from your veterinarian.

NOTE: Amoxicillin is also available in a suspension as Amoxicillin Drops.

For:

Cats and Dogs

Benefits:

  • Broad-spectrum antibiotic that treats a wide array of bacterial infections
  • Treats ear infections, urinary tract infections, and skin infections (infected bite wounds)
  • Also effective against upper respiratory, bladder, and dental infections
  • Sold per capsule or per tablet

How does amoxicillin work?

Amoxicillin works by inhibiting the formation of bacterial cell walls.

Cautions:

Tell your veterinarian if your pet is being given another antibiotic. Also tell your veterinarian if your pet has allergies, or kidney, stomach or intestinal disease. While symptoms may subside early, use all of the prescribed medicine.

Brand Name:

Amoxil (GlaxoSmithKline), Biomox (Delmarva), Robamox-BV (Fort Dodge), Trimox (Apothecon)

Generic Name:

amoxicillin

What is the most important thing I should know about Amoxicillin?

Amoxicillin is a prescription medication available as 100 mg and 400 mg tablets, 250 mg and 500 mg capsules. Amoxicillin Drops suspension is also available in a 15 ml bottle. The usual dose of amoxicillin in dogs and cats is 5-10 mg/lb every 12-24 hours. Contact your veterinarian immediately if your pet develops severe or bloody diarrhea. Give all of the amoxicillin that is prescribed for your pet, since symptoms may begin to improve before the infection is completely treated.

What should I discuss with my veterinarian before giving amoxicillin to my pet?

Tell your veterinarian if your pet has ever had an allergic reaction to another penicillin or to a cephalosporin. Tell your veterinarian if your pet has kidney disease or stomach or intestinal disease.

How should amoxicillin be given?

Give this medication exactly as directed by your veterinarian. Amoxicillin can be given with or without food. Give all of the amoxicillin even if your pet appears to be better. Symptoms may improve before the infection is completely treated.

What are the potential side effects of amoxicillin?

Contact your veterinarian immediately if the pet experiences severe or bloody diarrhea during treatment. Stop giving amoxicillin and seek emergency veterinary medical care in the event of an allergic reaction (shortness of breath; hives; swelling of the lips, tongue, or face; rash; or fainting), seizures, unusual bleeding, or bruising. Other less serious side effects such as mild nausea, vomiting, diarrhea or abdominal pain, or yeast or fungal infection may be more likely to occur. Continue to give amoxicillin and notify your veterinarian if these symptoms occur. Talk to your veterinarian about any side effect that seems unusual or bothersome to your pet.

What happens if I miss giving a dose of amoxicillin?

Give the missed dose as soon as you remember unless it is almost time for the next regularly scheduled dose. Do not give a double dose unless otherwise directed by your veterinarian.

What happens if I overdose my pet on amoxicillin?

Seek emergency veterinary medical treatment if an overdose is suspected. Symptoms of overdose may include muscle spasms or weakness, pain or twitching, seizures, confusion, coma, or agitation.

What should I avoid while giving amoxicillin to my pet?

There are no restrictions on food or activity during treatment with amoxicillin unless otherwise directed by your veterinarian.

What other drugs will affect amoxicillin?

Before giving amoxicillin, tell your veterinarian if your pet is being given another antibiotic (for the same or a different infection), allopurinol, or probenecid. You may not be able to give amoxicillin or you may need to have the dosage adjusted. Drugs other than those listed here may also interact with amoxicillin. Talk to your veterinarian or pharmacist before giving any prescription or over-the-counter medicines, including vitamins, minerals, and herbal products.

Amoxicillin Directions:

  • Amoxicillin is a broad-spectrum penicillin antibiotic available by prescription used to treat various infections caused by susceptible strains of bacteria.
  • Amoxicillin can be used to treat infections such as ear infections, urinary tract infections, and skin infections. Amoxicillin may also be used for purposes other than those listed.
  • Amoxicillin is available in tablet form in 100 mg and 400 mg strengths, and in capsule form in 250 mg and 500 mg strengths.
Tip:

Contact your veterinarian immediately if your pet develops severe or bloody diarrhea. Give all of the amoxicillin that is prescribed for your pet. Symptoms may begin to improve before the infection is completely treated.

Amoxicillin Dosage:

Amoxicillin Dosage for Cats
Weight Dosage
All weights Give 5-10 mg/lb of pet's body weight every 12-24 hours. Your veterinarian will determine the actual dose based on the type of infection being treated.
Amoxicillin Dosage for Dogs
Weight Dosage
All weights Give 5-10 mg/lb of pet's body weight every 12-24 hours. Your veterinarian will determine the actual dose based on the type of infection being treated.
Amoxicillin Dosage for Horses
Horses
Do not use!

Storage:

Store tablets and capsules at room temperature.

Amoxicillin Ingredients:

Amoxicillin 100 mg Tablets
Active Ingredient Amount
Amoxicillin 100 mg
Amoxicillin 250 mg Capsules
Active Ingredient Amount
Amoxicillin 250 mg
Amoxicillin 400 mg Tablets
Active Ingredient Amount
Amoxicillin 400 mg
Amoxicillin 500 mg Capsules
Active Ingredient Amount
Amoxicillin 500 mg
Amoxicillin 500 mg Tablets
Active Ingredient Amount
Amoxicillin 500 mg

What is Amoxicillin?

Amoxicillin is a broad-spectrum penicillin antibiotic used to treat various infections caused by susceptible strains of bacteria. Amoxicillin is sold per capsule or per tablet and requires a prescription from your veterinarian.

NOTE: Amoxicillin is also available in a suspension as Amoxicillin Drops.

For:

Cats and Dogs

Benefits:

  • Broad-spectrum antibiotic that treats a wide array of bacterial infections
  • Treats ear infections, urinary tract infections, and skin infections (infected bite wounds)
  • Also effective against upper respiratory, bladder, and dental infections
  • Sold per capsule or per tablet

How does amoxicillin work?

Amoxicillin works by inhibiting the formation of bacterial cell walls.

Cautions:

Tell your veterinarian if your pet is being given another antibiotic. Also tell your veterinarian if your pet has allergies, or kidney, stomach or intestinal disease. While symptoms may subside early, use all of the prescribed medicine.

Brand Name:

Amoxil (GlaxoSmithKline), Biomox (Delmarva), Robamox-BV (Fort Dodge), Trimox (Apothecon)

Generic Name:

amoxicillin

What is the most important thing I should know about Amoxicillin?

Amoxicillin is a prescription medication available as 100 mg and 400 mg tablets, 250 mg and 500 mg capsules. Amoxicillin Drops suspension is also available in a 15 ml bottle. The usual dose of amoxicillin in dogs and cats is 5-10 mg/lb every 12-24 hours. Contact your veterinarian immediately if your pet develops severe or bloody diarrhea. Give all of the amoxicillin that is prescribed for your pet, since symptoms may begin to improve before the infection is completely treated.

What should I discuss with my veterinarian before giving amoxicillin to my pet?

Tell your veterinarian if your pet has ever had an allergic reaction to another penicillin or to a cephalosporin. Tell your veterinarian if your pet has kidney disease or stomach or intestinal disease.

How should amoxicillin be given?

Give this medication exactly as directed by your veterinarian. Amoxicillin can be given with or without food. Give all of the amoxicillin even if your pet appears to be better. Symptoms may improve before the infection is completely treated.

What are the potential side effects of amoxicillin?

Contact your veterinarian immediately if the pet experiences severe or bloody diarrhea during treatment. Stop giving amoxicillin and seek emergency veterinary medical care in the event of an allergic reaction (shortness of breath; hives; swelling of the lips, tongue, or face; rash; or fainting), seizures, unusual bleeding, or bruising. Other less serious side effects such as mild nausea, vomiting, diarrhea or abdominal pain, or yeast or fungal infection may be more likely to occur. Continue to give amoxicillin and notify your veterinarian if these symptoms occur. Talk to your veterinarian about any side effect that seems unusual or bothersome to your pet.

What happens if I miss giving a dose of amoxicillin?

Give the missed dose as soon as you remember unless it is almost time for the next regularly scheduled dose. Do not give a double dose unless otherwise directed by your veterinarian.

What happens if I overdose my pet on amoxicillin?

Seek emergency veterinary medical treatment if an overdose is suspected. Symptoms of overdose may include muscle spasms or weakness, pain or twitching, seizures, confusion, coma, or agitation.

What should I avoid while giving amoxicillin to my pet?

There are no restrictions on food or activity during treatment with amoxicillin unless otherwise directed by your veterinarian.

What other drugs will affect amoxicillin?

Before giving amoxicillin, tell your veterinarian if your pet is being given another antibiotic (for the same or a different infection), allopurinol, or probenecid. You may not be able to give amoxicillin or you may need to have the dosage adjusted. Drugs other than those listed here may also interact with amoxicillin. Talk to your veterinarian or pharmacist before giving any prescription or over-the-counter medicines, including vitamins, minerals, and herbal products.

Amoxicillin Directions:

  • Amoxicillin is a broad-spectrum penicillin antibiotic available by prescription used to treat various infections caused by susceptible strains of bacteria.
  • Amoxicillin can be used to treat infections such as ear infections, urinary tract infections, and skin infections. Amoxicillin may also be used for purposes other than those listed.
  • Amoxicillin is available in tablet form in 100 mg and 400 mg strengths, and in capsule form in 250 mg and 500 mg strengths.
Tip:

Contact your veterinarian immediately if your pet develops severe or bloody diarrhea. Give all of the amoxicillin that is prescribed for your pet. Symptoms may begin to improve before the infection is completely treated.

Amoxicillin Dosage:

Amoxicillin Dosage for Cats
Weight Dosage
All weights Give 5-10 mg/lb of pet's body weight every 12-24 hours. Your veterinarian will determine the actual dose based on the type of infection being treated.
Amoxicillin Dosage for Dogs
Weight Dosage
All weights Give 5-10 mg/lb of pet's body weight every 12-24 hours. Your veterinarian will determine the actual dose based on the type of infection being treated.
Amoxicillin Dosage for Horses
Horses
Do not use!

Storage:

Store tablets and capsules at room temperature.

Amoxicillin Ingredients:

Amoxicillin 100 mg Tablets
Active Ingredient Amount
Amoxicillin 100 mg
Amoxicillin 250 mg Capsules
Active Ingredient Amount
Amoxicillin 250 mg
Amoxicillin 400 mg Tablets
Active Ingredient Amount
Amoxicillin 400 mg
Amoxicillin 500 mg Capsules
Active Ingredient Amount
Amoxicillin 500 mg
Amoxicillin 500 mg Tablets
Active Ingredient Amount
Amoxicillin 500 mg