Arthritis
Allergies
Anxiety
Ear Infections
Flea & Tick
Heart Problems
Heartworm
Hot Spots
Hyperthyroidism
Hypothyroidism
Incontinence
Shedding Control
Skin Irritation
Tear Stains
Urinary Infections
Vomiting/Diarrhea
Weight Management
Worms
See All A-Z
Arthritis
Allergies
Anxiety
Ear Infections
Flea & Tick
Heart Problems
Heartworm
Hot Spots
Hyperthyroidism
Hypothyroidism
Incontinence
Shedding Control
Skin Irritation
Tear Stains
Urinary Infections
Vomiting/Diarrhea
Weight Management
Worms
See All A-Z
Breath Fresheners
Chews & Treats
Rinses & Water Additives
Toothpaste & Toothbrushes
Ear Cleansers
Ear Infection Remedies
Ear Mite Treatments
Antibiotic Anti-Infective
Artificial Tears & Lubricants
Eye Inflammation
Glaucoma
Tear Stain Removers
Flea & Tick Prevention
Heartworm & Flea Control
Home Flea & Tick Treatment
Oral Flea Treatments
Pet Flea & Tick Control
Canned Pet Food
Dry Pet Food
Raw Pet Food
Adult Pet Food
Hypoallergenic
Glucose Balance
Digestive Health & Support
Grain Free
Joint Support
Kitten Food
Puppy Food
Senior Pet Food
Skin Support
Small Breed Dog Food
Weight Loss & Management
Treats
Pet Food Storage
Joint Pain
Joint Supplements
Lifting Harness
Orthopedic Beds
Steps & Ramps for Mobility
Allergy Relief
Antibiotics
Antifungal
Anxiety
Asthma
Compound Medications
Cough Relief
Digestive Health & Enzymes
Diuretics
High Blood Pressure
Hormonal Endocrine
Insulin & Glucose Balance
Motion Sickness & Nausea
Pain
Seizure Disorder
Thyroid
Urinary Tract & Kidneys
Wormers
Beds
Bowls & Elevated Feeders
Carriers
Car Seats & Pet Carriers
Cat Litter
Cesar Millan Training Aids
Crates & Kennels
Drinking Fountains
Elizabethan Collars
First Aid
Furniture
Furniture Protectors
Gates
Grooming Tools
Leashes & Harnesses
Life Jackets
Outdoor Cat Pens
Pet Food Storage
Shampoos
Stain Removers
Steps & Ramps
Strollers
Toys
Training Aids
Treats
Wireless Dog Fences
Antibacterials
First Aid
Fish Oils & Omega 3
Fly Control
Grooming Tools
Hairball Remedies
Itch Relief
Ringworm Treatments
Shampoos
Shedding Control
Skin Care Supplements
Skin Medications
Antioxidants
Calcium
Dietary
Digestive Enzymes
Fish Oils & Omega 3
Liver Support
Multivitamins
Potassium
Senior Support
Whole Food Supplements
 
   
 
 
    100% Guaranteed
 
 

Seresto


 
Q & A
 
Ships in one business day or less
 
                         
 
 
  Product Info   How to use   Ingredients   Customer Reviews   Q & A  

What is Seresto? 

Seresto is an effective, reliable alternative to monthly flea and tick topicals that lasts for 8 months. Seresto is a flea and tick collar for dogs and cats that uses exciting, innovative technology to release the active ingredients in controlled doses over an extended period of time. This means effective long-term flea and tick control without the inconvenience of monthly applications. Seresto protects your pet from fleas, flea eggs, flea larvae and ticks for eight months. It is available in three formulation, small dogs, large dogs, and cats. It is non-greasy and odorless.

Not available in Puerto Rico or Canada.

 

Find Seresto for cats and dogs at 1-800-PetMeds
For:
Dogs (7 weeks of age or older)
Cats (10 weeks of age or older)
 
Benefits:
Begins working immediately after the collar is applied
Provides effective flea and tick control for eight months
Kills fleas before they can lay eggs
Prevents ticks infestations within 48 hours after application
Water-resistant and will continue to work even if wet or dirty
Odor-free compared to older-generation flea and tick collars
Safety release mechanism prevents strangulation if the collar becomes caught or tangled
Safe if chewed on by your dog or cat

How it works:

The flea and tick collar releases the two active ingredients in low doses over an extended period of time. The ingredients are then absorbed through the fatty layer of your pet's skin and distributed throughout your pet's body to protect against fleas and ticks for eight months. Seresto can be worn alongside your pet's regular collar.

No matter if you have a cat or a dog, the collars come with a rachet release mechanism that releases when your pet is under pressure, which enables your pet to free himself or herself. It also has a pre-determined breaking point if your pet's head and neck get trapped, which allows your pet's strength to break the collar and get out of a sticky situation.

Cautions:
The collar should not be used on puppies younger than seven weeks old or on kittens younger than ten weeks old. If ticks are present on your pet when the collar is applied, they will not die within the first forty-eight hours and should be removed manually. If your dog or cat shows any sign of skin irritation or other reaction to the collar, remove immediately and consult your veterinarian.


More Information:
 
Brand Name
Seresto
Generic Name
Flumethrin 4.5%, Imidacloprid 10.0%
What is Seresto used for: Seresto is an effective alternative to topical flea and tick control. It is an innovative new flea and ticks collar that releases continuous active ingredients for 8 months, ensuring your pet is protected against harmful conditions that fleas and ticks can transmit. Seresto kills existing fleas on dogs in 24 hours, and reinfesting fleas within 2 hours with protection against further infestations lasting eight months. Ticks already on your pet prior to treatment may not be killed immediately and may remain visible and attached. The prevention of infestations with new ticks starts within 48 hours after application of the collar. Seresto kills lice on dogs for one month, and aids in the treatment and control of sarcoptic mange.

Availability: Seresto is an OTC product.

How should Seresto be used:
For Small Dogs up to 18 lbs, for Large Dogs 18 lbs and over, and for Cats of all weights:

  • Remove the collar from the tin and laminated bag
  • Place the collar around your pet's neck
  • Push one end of the collar through the loop
  • Adjust the collar for correct fit.
  • Snip off the excess collar
  • What special precautions are there: Do not allow children to play with collar or reflectors, or allow to put them in their mouths. Avoid contact with eyes, skin or clothing. Wash thoroughly with soap and water after fitting the collar. People with sensitivity reactions to the ingredients of the collar should avoid contact with the collar. Choking hazard. Contains small parts. Do not place reflectors in mouth. Not intended for use on humans.

    How should I store this product: Store in a cool, dry place inaccessible to children and pets.

    Directions:
    Remove the collar from the tin and laminated bag.
    Place the collar around your pet's neck.
    Push one end of the collar through the loop.
    Adjust the collar for correct fit.
    Snip off the excess collar.
    Tip: When fitting your pet's collar, make sure you can slip two fingers in between the collar and your pet's neck.
    Dosage:
    Pet Weight Dosage
    Dogs/puppies: (7 weeks of age or older)
    Up to 18 lbs One small dog collar per 8 months

    Over 18 lbs One large dog collar per 8 months
    Cats/kittens: (10 weeks of age or older) One cat collar per 8 months
    Horses:
    Storage: Store in a cool, dry place away from children.
    Seresto: (for small dogs, large dogs and cats)
    Active Ingredient (per collar) Amount
    Flumethrin* 4.5%
    Imidacloprid 10.0%
    Other ingredients 85.5%
    *Trans Z-1/trans Z-2 ratio: max 66% trans Z-1 and min 34% trans Z-2
    Seresto 4.2 5 1521 1521
    easy to use Worked fast and efficient I would recommend this product. 08/05/2013
    Thumbs up I have two dogs, a lab and a McNab X. The collars have been a nice change from the monthly topicals. It is nice not having to remember to apply it every month. The eight month collars, with the reminder, make it brainless. We seem to be flea free, but there has been some extra itching from my McNab, that I am not sure what its from. Nothing has changed. Is it wearing out sooner then expected? 08/04/2013
    Great idea! We have had no insect problems since using Seresto. For that reason we are extremely satisfied with the product. It does seem to flatten the dogs hair where it sits around the neck but that is a minor cosmetic detail. I wish there was a way to remove it from time to time like for a photo. I don't think it is visually very appealing. Also it should come in different colors than gray. Like black or tan. Some other colors go better with a dogs coloring. As you can see all my complaints are superficial so i say great job! Thanks! 08/04/2013
    Expensive for how long it lasted Collar seemed to really help with the fleas for about two months, but my dog is scratching and chewing himself again. Maybe we have super-strength fleas or I am not doing it right... Maybe I need to do more than the collar. I found the collar to be quite expensive, but if it actually worked for the 8 months, it would be great. 08/04/2013
    Did not stay on.. We bought Seresto for our 100+ pound Rottweiler. We did not see any fleas or ticks the whole time he was wearing it. But, it was hard to keep the collar on him, and it wasn't because he was pulling it off. He would just stand up or move a certain way and it would fall off. If there was a more secure way to keep it on, such as a buckle or fastener, I would have rated this product a little higher. 08/04/2013
    absolutely great We have used the Seresto Collar since April and it is working great. NO ticks and NO fleas The colar has many great features. Our dog can get in the pond, No waiting, and it last for 8 months. 08/04/2013
    Seresto has worked for us We got a collar for our mostly indoor kitty at the height of flea season this summer, and she has quit scratching. Haven't seen any fleas on her at all. It is great not to have to think about monthly application of flea medicine...the investment is worthwhile and actually saves you money in the long run. 08/04/2013
    It really works! The Seresto collar has been successful in protecting my 10 yr. old golden retriever from ticks and fleas. I would recommend this product to anyone! It's easy to put on and is removable for brushing and bathing. Great product! 08/03/2013
    Good product My dog had a couple of ticks on her before i got this product. Since I have had it on her I have not seen any ticks on her at all! 08/03/2013
    Seems to be working We are having a bumper year for fleas in south Texas after the non-existent winter last year. I tried Frontline (waste of time and $). My vet suggested I try this collar for my 100# Akbash. For the first time, the dog got a whole night of sleep after we put this collar on. Before that, he had been waking every hour or 2 and scratching/chewing. I have my house professionally sprayed monthly, but the dog was picking up fleas when he went outside to do his business. We have a fair amount of wildlife in the area, so fleas became a huge problem pretty quickly. I am impressed with this collar. So far, so good. 08/03/2013
    I like the idea that it will last for 8 months. This is the first time that I have used the collar on my little dog. She has been wearing it for a few months and so far there have been no signs of ticks or fleas. She does not go for walks in the woods so I cannot vouch for no ticks no fleas if a dog does go walking in the woods. I do like the idea that I do not have to remember to apply the other type of anti flea and tick products that I used to use. I will write another review if there are any changes. 08/03/2013
    Love it! Awesome! I found one tick on one of our dogs ears and was a little angry but when I looked closer it was dead. Love it and would highly recommend your product. One down fall, when I went to fill out my rebate form I realized I needed the product number off of the tins that the collars came in and I had already thrown them away. 08/03/2013
    Product did not provide tick production I used this collar on my dog and then took her to our family farm. After she was home for about a couple days, my husband found a tick on her. After checking her further, there were 14 ticks on her which were all still alive and embedded. 08/03/2013
    Very easy to put on the dog. The collar is easy to put on. The dogs did not have a problem with the collar. 08/03/2013
    Since putting the flea collars on my 2 cats, I have not seen any fleas nor do I seem them scratching anywhere near as much as they used to. Thank you! Great product. No more fleas!! Also cats hardly are scratching themselves anymore. 08/03/2013
    thanks for bringing Tommy back in the houseagain Tommy is a in/out cat. got to be just out. until the collar, brought him back to me. We have found a very few fleas, but are weak and easy to get. The collar is a extra plus. A good investment, to have us together again. Thank-you, I am a long term buyer. 08/02/2013
    Fell off & lost within 2 weeks I purchased 2 of these collars. One for each of our dogs. I read a lot of reviews prior to purchasing these collars and was expecting good quality. However, within two weeks of putting them on my dogs one of them fell off and was lost outside. Not a good flea and tick preventative if it's not on. This was also the most expensive preventative I've used since it only lasted 2 weeks. 08/02/2013
    yes I liked the product my dog is very small and it was to big so he got it in his mouth and chewed it in half and it was on him for only one week so I lost out on the item and the price I paid and it wasn't that cheap $60. my doctor put it on him and I figured she should know how tight to get it. 08/02/2013
    Seems good so far This product seems to be working well for our dog. We have not noticed any fleas and it's nice not having to deal with the liquid products, which usually gets all over her fur. 08/02/2013
    Excellent Product I have placed collars on all five of my dogs and they have not had any flea or tick infestations. as a matter of fact, I haven't seen a flea all summer. We live in the woods and fleas and ticks are usually a big problem for us, however this year it has not been and I can only think it's due to your collars. 08/02/2013
    Great reflectors and no pests! Bought this for my dog. Seems to being the job. Wish I could it remove it for grooming. REALLY like the reflectors! 08/02/2013
    Works great for my small dog Our back yard sits right against a wooded area. Even though it is always mowed, the dog still picked up ticks frequently. I started using this collar and since then I haven't seen a tick or flea. 08/02/2013
    my three dogs I have three dogs so I got one for each . I love the price it is easy to put on i love that it will last 8 months I love that you can get it at the pet store my dogs are still are scratching but maybe that will stop in the next month. 08/02/2013
    Results of Seresto on golden retriever When I first put the collar on my dog, I discovered 2 live and attached ticks after the first couple of days. After wearing the collar for over a month, however, I have not found any more ticks. I like the fact that I don't have to apply the drops because my dog has very long hair and it was very difficult getting the drops on his skin. I am happy with the product and hope that it will continue to last the 8 months it has promised. We do take our dog out in woods and fields and it seems to be working quite well. 08/02/2013
    Love Love Love It! I purchased 4 collars for our dogs; a golden, yellow lab, black lab, and basset hound when they first arrived at our vet. Several months later they are still working perfectly. We haven't seen a single flea or tick! It's totally effortless, nothing to remember and completely reliable. We absolutely love the product! It's also easy to remove for bath time! 08/02/2013
    Great Product I have two dogs using the collars. We live in the country and have had trouble with ticks and fleas in the past. Since putting the Seresto collars on my dogs I have not seen any fleas and only one tick and it was dead. 08/01/2013
    So far so good We just put this on Pearl a month ago. we have noticed less scratching and no tics. Pearl likes to roll in dead things though, so am worried about this collars longevity since we have to bathe her more often then once a month. Sometimes way more then once a month! 08/01/2013
    So far, so good The collar is heavy duty and seems to work well. I don't like the fastening system of the sliding fasteners. I had to tape the end to keep it from sliding open. Sergeant is an 80 lb Chesapeake Bay Retriever who is very active. I do like the reflective clips. Maybe you could double the thickness of them so they would clip on and lock in position over the thickness of both where the collar overlaps to keep it from moving. 08/01/2013
    So far so good So far we are happy with using the product on our dogs. We wish it was a little cheaper, but in the end it still pays for itself in a couple of months depending on how many dogs you have. 08/01/2013
    good production for the cat bought the collar for my kitty which does a wonderful job. product not so good for my dog.....we noticed after 1 week her neck was getting red and started to bleed. we had to take the collar off and return it. we had the vet put the collar on so it wasn't due to us putting it on too tight. 08/01/2013
    Previous 16 17 18 19 20 ... 52 Next
    73 Questions · 97 Answers

    Ask & Answer.

    Talk to other pet lovers about this product.

     
     
    « Back
     
     
    I live in the Northeast in the suburbs of NY. definitely in deer country. Our property is surrounded by high brush & in a wooded area. My dog does not run free, he is on a run or walked on a leash only. Previously we've tried the Frontline Plus but he broke out in oozing scabs & had hair loss in these areas. Would Seresto be a product that could benefit my dog?
    User submitted photo
    2 weeks, 4 days ago
    by
    kob
    Amenia, NY
    Answer this question
    0
    0

    Answers

    Answer: 
    I would not count on it being effective.
    1 week, 6 days ago
    by
    Colby
    Florida
    0
    0
    Vote as Best Answer
    Thanks for Voting

    Answer: 
    Thank you for your question. Yes, Seresto will help repel ticks from getting onto your furry pal.
    2 weeks, 4 days ago
    by
    Maureen PetMeds Pro
    Pompano Beach, FL
    0
    0
    Vote as Best Answer
    Thanks for Voting
    4 weeks ago
    by
    dee
    sc
    Answer this question
    0
    0

    Answers

    Answer: 
    Thank you for your question. No, you would have to purchase a separate collar for your Yorkie.
    3 weeks, 4 days ago
    by
    Maureen PetMeds Pro
    Pompano Beach, FL
    0
    0
    Vote as Best Answer
    Thanks for Voting
    1 month ago
    by
    Jobo
    South carolina
    Answer this question
    0
    0

    Answers

    Answer: 
    Thank you for your question. No, this does not repel mosquitoes.
    1 month ago
    by
    Maureen PetMeds Pro
    Pompano Beach, FL
    0
    0
    Vote as Best Answer
    Thanks for Voting
    If this safe for pregnant women to handle, put on, and touch their dog?
    1 month ago
    by
    Christina
    Answer this question
    0
    0

    Answers

    Answer: 
    I suggest putting gloves on when handling the collar if you are pregnant, to be on the
    safe side. You can pet the dog but avoid touching the collar if possible.
    1 month ago
    by
    Linda M 1800petmeds pharmacist
    0
    0
    Vote as Best Answer
    Thanks for Voting
    1 month ago
    by
    Jfowler
    Answer this question
    0
    0

    Answers

    Answer: 
    Thank you for your question. Possible side effects are as follows: possible hair thinning and mild skin reactions where the collar has been placed.
    1 month ago
    by
    Maureen PetMeds Pro
    Pompano Beach, FL
    0
    0
    Vote as Best Answer
    Thanks for Voting
    2 3 4 Next
    2 3 4 Next
    This information sheet is for educational purposes only and is intended to be a supplement to, and not a substitute for, the expertise and professional judgment of your veterinarian. The information is NOT to be used for diagnosis or treatment of your pet. You should always consult your own veterinarian for specific advice concerning the treatment of your pet. The information is not intended to cover all possible uses, directions, precautions, warnings, allergic reactions, drug interactions or adverse effects, nor should it be construed to indicate that use of a particular drug is safe, appropriate or effective for your pet. It is not a substitute for a veterinary exam, and it does not replace the need for services provided by your veterinarian.
    Note: Any trademarks are the property of their respective companies.
     
    Facebook Twitter Pin It
     
    You May Also Like
     
    Flea4X Plus 3pk Small 4-22lbs

    Flea4X PLUS for Dogs
    Flea4x Plus 3pk Small 4-22lbs

    $43.74
    $31.49
     
    Shop Now
     
    Also For Your Pet
     

    Kill Fleas Naturally:

     

     

    New-Outdoor Flea Killer:

     

     

    Immediate Flea Relief:

     

     

    Be Flea Free:

     

     

    Kill Fleas in the Home:

     

     

    Relief From Fleas When Nothing Else Works:

     

     
     
     
       
    Help / Customer Service
    My Account
    PetMeds® Sites
    PetMeds® Programs
    Our 100% Guarantee
    About Us
    Contact Us
    FAQs
    PetMeds® Help
    Privacy Policy
    Printable Order Form
    Site Map
    Testimonials
    Vet Directory
    Request a Catalog

    Home
    Login
    Email Preferences
    Reorder
    Easy refill
    Track my order
    My Account Page
    My pet has passed away
    PetMeds Blog
    PetHealth 101
    PetMeds Charitable Causes
    1-800-PetMeds Careers
    PetMeds® Investor Relations
    pet meds
    Pet Meds Photos
    Pet Meds News
    Pet Health Articles
    Affiliate Program
    Corporate Program
    Shelter & Rescue Program
     
    Join our Social Network
     
        PetMeds® on Facebook
        PetMeds® on Twitter
        PetMeds® on YouTube
        PetMeds® Google+
        PetMeds® LinkedIn
    Copyright 2014 PetMed Express, Inc. All Rights Reserved.
       
     
    Vet-VIPPSVETERINARY-VERIFIED INTERNET PHARMACY PRACTICE SITES(CM) Online Veterinary Pharmacy Services
     
    1800PetMeds.com has earned Veterinary-Verified Internet Pharmacy Practice Sites(CM) (Vet-VIPPS(CM)) accreditation through the National Association of Boards of Pharmacy® (NABP®).
    Verisign Secured Click for the BBB Business Review of this Pharmacies in Pompano Beach FL 1800PetMeds.com is rated ELITE by STELLAService.